Jeff Cumberbatch - New Chairman of the FTC
Jeff Cumberbatch – New Chairman of the FTC
BU shares the Jeff Cumberbatch Barbados Advocate column – Senior Lecturer in law at the University of the West Indies since 1983, a Columnist with the Barbados Advocate

MUSINGS: On nearing fifty… (i)

10/18/2015
By Jeff Cumberbatch

[…]

As Barbados readies itself to celebrate the 49th anniversary, and thereby to enter its fiftieth year, of sovereign statehood at the end of next month, it is appropriate for us to conduct a self-assessment of its journey in all respects so far and to prepare for the next fifty years; despite the fatalistic certainty of those few who proclaim the imminent end-of-days and despite the fact that we are not a people ordinarily given to planning anything beyond a five-year period at most.

In the circumstances, this essay commences a non-sequential series of critical observations on Barbados as it is now and of those reforms that might be contemplated adequately to confront the challenges that lie ahead of us. Of course, given the nature of my alleged expertise, this examination will focus mainly on those legal issues encompassing governance, social relations and the resolution of disputes.

Concerning this last, a decision delivered last Thursday by our apical court, the Caribbean Court of Justice, that treated an assortment of matters touching our judicial system provides as good a starting point for this analysis as any other.

While the decision provides a useful forensic examination of technical legal issues such as the doctrine of proprietary estoppel, rights of pre-emption, the enforceability of contracts, unjust enrichment and the award of costs, thus providing ample material for the undergraduate syllabus in Law, their Lordships also took some time out to comment on less arcane and, perhaps, more populist matters such as the inordinate delays in the judicial resolution of disputes locally and the requirement of judicial self-recusal on the basis of apparent bias.

While the latter consideration is not an immediate national concern and more likely to be of immediate interest to the prurient, the text of the judgment does reveal, as it was termed by Saunders J, “a sorry affair” in this regard.

The matter of delay is much more integral to national development, especially if we are seeking to project and maintain our reputation as the ideal jurisdiction in which to effect commercial investment. The dilatory resolution of disputes scarcely comports with such a proud boast.

What makes last Thursday’s strictures even more chastening is that this is not the first, nor the second nor, indeed, the third occasion on which our highest court has had to make such an observation. As noted in the leading judgment of President Byron, this dispute had commenced some 17 years earlier, winding its way through the court of first instance and the Court of Appeal for seven years in each instance, including a five year delay in the delivery of judgment by the trial judge and a more than six year period between the filing of the appeal and the hearing in the court above.

Byron P was not sparing in his comments – “This type of delay imposes hardship on the litigants. This is a case where the hardship is obvious. The delay also reflects adversely on the reputation and credibility of the civil justice system as a whole, and reinforces the negative images which the public can have of the way judges and lawyers perform their roles…The unfortunate frequency of our lament suggests that the problem is systemic…”

And at paragraph 69 of the judgment he delineated the various occasions on which the court had earlier commented adversely on local delay in the administration of justice. One example should suffice. As many as ten years ago, de la Bastide P (as he then was) wrote, “We would be failing in our duty if we did not express our strong disapproval of judicial delays of this order. They deny parties the access to justice to which they are entitled and undermine public confidence in the administration of justice…”

As the learned former President notes, and as borne out by the epigraph to today’s column, the civic entitlement of the litigant to a speedy resolution of a legal dispute is of hoary vintage. Indeed, it is even a constitutionally guaranteed right of the citizen. According to section 18(8) of our supreme law, where relevant, “… where proceedings for such a determination [of the existence of any civil right or obligation] are instituted by any person before such court…the case shall be given a fair hearing within a reasonable time…”

Even a member of the local judiciary has had cause to highlight the phenomenon. In July 2014, then Justice of Appeal Peter Williams, commenting on the scenario of an accused that had served seven years in prison without ever having his appeal against sentence determined, observed that the law “does not countenance the lack of resources, systematic delays or existing court backlogs as exculpating the State from its constitutional and human rights obligations. The executive authority of Barbados therefore has an inescapable duty to organise and supervise its judicial system so that the fundamental constitutional right of the individual to a hearing within a reasonable time is not infringed…”

Having recognised that there is a seemingly intractable problem in satisfying this guarantee, at least currently, the logical next step should be intelligently to seek to identify the source (s) of the difficulty and to take effective measures to eliminate it (them). A most enlightening discussion recently with a member of the Utter Bar (Queen’s Counsel) persuades me that the matter is a rather complex one that will necessitate an elemental adjustment of mind-sets and a sea-change in functional relations between the Bench, Bar and the Registry. He argues quite cogently that the current state of affairs is owed principally to a sorry cocktail of the partisan politicisation of the system on more occasions than one; an enervating lack of trust between the major players; and the prevailing economic crunch that prevents adequate financial investment by the state in the justice system.

Given the fundamental nature of the matters he identifies as causative, it must be accepted that the description of the issue as probably “systemic” by Byron P may not be too far off the mark. It should be a urgent concern of the state that the matter is receiving such uninspiring notices so frequently from its highest court, apart from causing it to be in contravention of its constitutional undertaking as argued above by Peter Williams JA.

After all, potential investors are legally advised as a matter of course and I suspect that few would be willing to close their eyes and ears to the probability that a legal dispute involving substantial sums in a contemplated jurisdiction might not be too speedily resolved.

To be continued…

250 responses to “The Jeff Cumberbatch Column – On Nearing Fifty… (i)”

1. PhD – Pure horse Dung?

2. Donna October 20, 2015 at 9:03 AM #

“We still fight over the crumbs that drop from the white man’s table. We are still limited by straining to peer at the world from a white man’s perspective. Boy, have they done a good job on us!”

Hahahahaha, Donna, your above comments are very true.

I have noticed that when Black people are confronted by white people, their demeanor changes and they become “overly polite and submissive,” (especially the older folk), while changing their accent to that of an American.

I remember going to a government office to conduct business on behalf of a client. When I arrived there I found a number of people waiting for service. A white man came into the room without saying good afternoon and stood by the customer service desk. After a few minutes, without the common courtesy of saying “good afternoon” or “excuse me,” he proceeded to ask me a question. I refused to look in his direction, which drew the wrath of the other black people who were present. A woman touched me and told me “the GENTLEMAN talking to you,” while a Guyanese man cuss me.

Another time I had to “catch” the bus after taking my vehicle to be serviced. When I got into the bus I realized seating space was limited because some of the seats were wet, and had I sat next to a seat in which water had settled. Black people who boarded the bus either remained standing or wiped the seats dry to sit, WITH NO ASSISTANCE FROM ANYONE.

Low and behold some white peepull get pun de bus and all of a sudden nuff tissue paper start coming outta de Black peepull bags to wipe de seats. I feel this tapping pun my shoulder, when I look ‘round a Black man was giving me nuff tissue paper telling me to wipe the seats so these white peepull could sit down. I stupse and looked off.

If a black man and then a white man was to knock at the same house and ask for de muddah, in response to the black man yuh would hear, “Mummy a man out dey to you.” But in response to de white man, “Mummy, a white gentleman out dey to see you.”

Them is black peepull for yuh.

3. So true! Luckily I grew up for some years in an all white British household where I was treated like royalty. Hard to think of them as superior when they are changing your dirty diapers. I have no beef with white people. Just the racist ones.

4. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

There is still a way to go, the older uninformed generation will die out and the newer informed generations will handle situations better.

5. ZOE
    SEE HOW THEY MOCK YOU

I COULD COME HERE AND DISCUSS THE OLIVET DISCOURSE AND ITS SIGNIFICANCE, BUT WHY BOTHER?

THE BIBLE ILLITERATES WILL RESPOND WITH BOVINE EXCREMENT

LET THEM MOCK ME NOW AS I MOCK THEM

RE “We still fight over the crumbs that drop from the white man’s table. We are still limited by straining to peer at the world from a white man’s perspective.

I DEFINITELY DONT DO THAT BUT IT HAS A PRICE. I HAVE BEEN FIRED FOR NOT BOWING AND SCRAPING TO THEM

6. LOLLLL @ Artax. Fah real, though! In BIM which white peoples does catch bus other than tourists? If you had done that in NY or London or even in Santo Domingo, DR I would say ‘par score for that city course’ but in BIM!!!

I accept as gospel all you said about the psychological of we Bajans towards our pale skin fellow citizens. Happens as you said every day and every where.

Cha man, give the tourists dem a reason to come again to spend the money on the island, do! At least hand them the tissue to wipe the seat for demselves!!

And by the way as you surely know whether you like it or not you will need to skin ya teet in the white man face as you go forward in business. Maybe you have already experienced it but its quite ‘interesting’ (for want of a better word) to be in business or social environments where you are the only person of a dark hue.

As Ms Donna alluded to there should be “no beef with white people. Just the racist ones”.

Your post was quite funny to me…in a good way (so don’t get bent outta shape)!!!

7. Even more ‘interesting’ of course is where you are the only person of a ‘dark hue’ who is NOT a member of the service staff (waiter, security etc) and the pale faces want to treat you as such.

Ahh, life. We all deal or have dealt wid a lot of stuff!

I wudda still give them the tissue though… LOLLLL!

8. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Zoe October 20, 2015 at 9:10 AM
    “Eve was made from Adam’s rib and was thus a clone of Adam [Genesis 2:21-22]. They would therefore have had identical genes for melanin production. If they were both AABB, they would have been Negroid and produced children of only the darkest of Negroid coloration. If this were the case, the world’s population today would be entirely Negro. In fact, only about 10% of the world’s population is Negro, so we can be certain that our first parents were not of the AABB combination. By the same argument, if Adam and Eve had both been aabb, all their children would have been aabb meaning that all their descendants would be the lightest Caucasoid possible – there would be no other colors. Clearly, this is not the case, so by a process of deduction we can conclude that Adam and Eve were heterozygous, each having two dominant and two recessive genes, AaBb. They would thus have been middle-brown in color and from them, in one generation, the various shades of brown would have been produced.”

So you accept ‘scientifically’ that Adam and Eve (his clone) were ‘middle-brown”? You are prepared to accept the science underpinning genetics and DNA analyses but reject totally the same science that ‘confirms’ humans share 98% of their DNA structure with chimpanzees. You are willing to convict a man charged for a crime based on DNA evidence or to prove a child’s paternity using the same genetic or DNA principles but reject out of hand the theory of evolution’

What bogus ‘scientific’ analyses have you reproduced here, Zoe? What a laugh! Reference is made to the 10% Negro and the 20% Caucasian genetic connection to your prototype humanoids Adam & Eve. Not a word about the genetic relationship between these same prototypes and the largest ethnic or racial grouping found on the planet, namely Chinese and others of mongoloid extraction.
    All we can say that only in your eyes did it take less than 7,000 solar years for the Eskimo to move from being a child of Adam playing half-naked outside the Garden of Eden to building igloos in sub-zero temperatures.
    No wonder the dark skin son of Noah, Ham, was cursed by the El(o)him.

9. MILLER

AS HILARY CLINTON WOULD SAY
    AT THIS POINT, WHAT DIFFERENCE DOES IT MAKE?

FOR ME IT IS MORE FUN TO MOCK IN THE RUM SHOP THAN BE SERIOUS LOL LOL

10. @ De Word

“Bent out of shape?” Far from it.

You think this is funny?

I went to the 4th floor of the then Inland Revenue to collect a few TD5 income tax slips. After waiting for about 10 minutes, I saw a white man came in and immediately 4 people ran to the desk to ask him if they could help. All I could do was laugh.

He asked for some TD5 slips and the lady asked, “How many do you want, sir?” He told her and she gave him extra just in case. When they finally got to me and I told them I wanted the TD5s, the lady told me I cannot get any since they are posted to the employers. I had to tell this was a first time filing to get the amount I required.

I was in a restaurant in Rodney Bay, St. Lucia, waiting for about 15 minutes for a burger and fries. A white man came in and when he approached the counter, the server took his ticket and prepared a burger for him. He spent only about 5 minutes. I gave her my ticket, she looked at it and said I have to wait until they are prepared. My response was I have to get back my money, and I was refunded.

I don’t have a problem with white people, my problem is how black people treat other black people when whites are around.

11. @millertheanunnaki October 19, 2015 at 8:41 PM #

The only difference between the two specie(s) is ‘ART’ (not the ARK). I am sure our BU in-house zoologist Vincent Haynes will agree.
    ……………………………………………………………………………

Chuckle…..just saw this.

Skippah…..leff muh out of this……you should know that cockroach has no calling at Fowlcock party.

Let the blind continue to lead the blind.

12. zOE WHAT YOU SAID ABOUT BABEL ETC at 9:10 AM & 9:46# IS NOT PURE HORSE DUNG AT ALL
    IT IS REFRRED TO THE FOUNDER EFFECT

13. St George's Dragon Avatar

@ Zoe
    “Eve was made from Adam’s rib and was thus a clone of Adam [Genesis 2:21-22]. They would therefore have had identical genes for melanin production.”
    If Eve was a clone of Adam, she would have been a man.
    I thought the Bible was against homosexuality.

14. Bustopher Jones Avatar

GP, What is a bible illiterate? Someone that has not read the Bible? Someone that cannot read the Bible? Someone that is tired of you and your cult’s puerile condescension? I might argue that you are plain and simply illiterate based on your writing and your simple mindedness…but I shan’t

15. LOL
    I DONT BELONG TO ANY CULT SIR

GO READ THE KINGDOM OF THE CULTS………AND LEARN WHAT A CULT IS

YOU MAY ARGUE WHAT YOU WISH ………BUT YOU WOULD BE WRONG

I AM TIRED OF BIBLE ILLITERATES WHO COME ON BU MOCKING……….BUT YOU DONT LIKE FOLK TO MOCK BACK

YOU HAVE NOT SEEN ANY OF MY WRITING SIR YOU HAVE SEEN ONLY MY MOCKING IN THE RUM SHOP LOL LOL

IF YOU DONT LIKE IT LUMP IT LOL

16. MOCK THIS OUTLINE TOO BIBLE BRIMBLERS

THE SECOND COMING OF CHRIST IS
    • IMPORTANT
    • IMPERATIVE
    • IMMINENT
    • IMMUTABLE.
    IMMIGRATIONAL
    • IMMANUEL.
    • IMMORTALITY
    • IMMENSE
    • IMPLICATIONAL
    • IMPENDING

• The second coming of Christ is educational and informative. That’s IMPORTANT
    • The second coming of Christ is an exciting prospect because it can happen any time. That’s IMMINENT.
    • The second coming of Christ signals the going to our eternal home…That’s IMMIGRATIONAL.
    • The second coming of Christ teaches that we are going to be with God. That’s IMMANUEL
    • The second coming of Christ teaches that we are going to live with God for ever. That’s IMMORTALITY
    • When all the truths are taken together we must all agree that THE SECOND COMING OF CHRIST IS IMMENSE.

• THE SECOND COMING OF CHRIST IS IMMENSE
    • because thre will be according to Rev 22:3-5
    • PERFECT RESTORATION …. for there shall be no more curse
    • PERFECT ADMINISTRATION…. for the throne of god and the lamb shall be in it
    • PERFECT SUBORDINATION …. his servants shall serve him
    • PERFECT TRANSFORMATION …for they shall see his face
    • PERFECT IDENTIFICATION …. for his name shall be in there foreheads
    • PERFECT ILLUMINATION …. for there shall be no night there and they need no lamp neither light of the sun for the Lord God giveth them light
    • PERFECT EXALTATION ….. for they shall reign for ever and ever

The second COMING of Christ is
    • SURE as to its occurrence [IMMUTABLE] 2Peter 3:9, Rev 22:20
    • SELECT as to the individuals 1 Cor 15:23
    • SECRET as to its method 1 Thes 4 & 2 Peter 3:10
    • SUDDEN in its operation I Thes 5:2 & 2 Peter 3:10, Rev 22:7a
    • SAVING in its results I Cor 15:52-58 Romans 8:19-25 2 Cor 1:9-10

The second coming of Christ is
    • a word of comfort,
    • a word of encouragement,
    • a word of blessing and
    • a word of warning (I Thess 4:17-18)

For believers it will be
    • a glad surprise ,
    • a glorious resurrection and
    a grand reunion

They dont teach the Word like that at St Michael’s or Codrington tc.

Watch the mockers try to mock this exegesis now

17. @ Miller, Same Creator, does NOT = Common Descent!

Therefore, ‘Reason is necessary, even scientifically, in order for revelation, to be COHERENT!!!

Evolution proponents who insist that the chromosome 2 fusion event proves that humans and chimpanzees shared a common ancestor are employing a logical fallacy known as affirming the consequent. Affirming the consequent follows the pattern:

If P, then Q
    Q
    Therefore, P
    In other words,

If humans and chimpanzees share a common ancestor, then there will be evidence of chromosome fusion.

There is evidence of chromosome fusion.

Therefore, humans and chimpanzees share a common ancestor.

Here is why it is a logical fallacy: For the sake of the argument, let us assume that humans are descended from ancestors that had 48 chromosomes just like the apes, and that there was a common ancestor five million years ago. The alleged chromosome 2 fusion would have occurred after the human line split from that of chimpanzees and been passed to all humans on the planet.

Even in an evolutionary scenario, the chromosome fusion does not provide evidence for continuity between humans and chimps because it only links those individuals that share the fusion.22

In other words, there is no extra evidence for humans having an ancestor in common with chimpanzees provided by the fusion of chromosome 2. It is no more compelling than it would be if humans and chimpanzees had the same number—48. One could even argue that common ancestry with chimpanzees is less compelling because of the alleged fusion on chromosome 2.

Conclusion
    The similarity between human and chimpanzee DNA is really in the eye of the beholder. If you look for similarities, you can find them. But if you look for differences, you can find those as well. There are significant differences between the human and chimpanzee genomes that are not easily accounted for in an evolutionary scenario.

Creationists expect both similarities and differences, and that is exactly what we find. The fact that many humans, chimps, and other creatures share genes should be no surprise to the Christian. The differences are significant. Many in the evolutionary world like to discuss the similarities while brushing the differences aside. Emphasis on percent DNA similarity misses the point because it ignores both the magnitude of the actual differences as well as the significance of the role that single amino acid changes can play. http://www.answersingenesis.org

18. DNA is an information storage molecule. It stores digital data in Quaternary ( twice binary) so DENSELY, that a PINHEAD of DNA equals 2 MILLION 2-Terabyte HARD-DRIVES; and if the length of the double helix structure, were stretched out as a wire, it would circle the earth 30 times!

Miller, any fool, that believe this incredibly COMPLEX DNA could evolve, without an Omnipotent Designer, is a CHIMPANZEE!!!

19. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Ah…….that recessive gene, very potent stuff.

20. potent……………….and pertinent Well Well

any mockers to challenge the cell biology?

21. But – Is the Flood and Noah’s Ark story really believable?

Yes. For example, the Ark could have housed 125,280 sheep, all animals were small juveniles, most would have hibernated, and they came to the Ark themselves (Genesis 7:15 “Pairs of all creatures that have the breath of life in them came to Noah and entered the ark.”). Please read more here: Could Noah’s Ark really hold all the animals?

What about Cain’s wife, inbreeding, and modern human diversity?
    Three of the many objections to Biblical creation are where did Cain get his wife, inbreeding causing deformities, and the human diversity we see today.

The answer for inbreeding is easily answered. The most important factor for the negative effects of inbreeding is the number of genetic defects in the population. Deformities occur when both parents have the same defective gene. If organisms do not have any genetic defects, there is no problem with inbreeding.

Since Adam and Eve were created with perfect genomes with no genetic defects, their offspring would not have suffered from the ill effects of inbreeding like we would today, due to our very imperfect genetics we’ve inherited from generations of mutations. The same case would have been for the created animals and plants. Also, at the time of Noah’s Flood, human genomes were obviously less perfect, but at 4,500 years ago, much less mutated than they are today. Also, Noah’s sons’ three wives would have helped with genetic diversity.

Does this excuse incest? No. Initially, God permitted intermarriage between close relatives in order to commence humanity. Then, after about 2,500 years (after the Flood, and in the time of Moses) degenerative mutations in our DNA would have accumulated to a dangerous level so God brought in the laws forbidding close relative marriage (Leviticus 18-20).

Who was Cain’s wife? Even though only Cain, Abel and Seth are mentioned by name, the Bible clearly states that Adam and Eve had more sons and daughters: Genesis 5:4

“After Seth was born, Adam lived 800 years and had other sons and daughters.” So Cain’s wife was most likely his sister, and as mentioned above, this was okay both biologically and morally (and we are not talking about now).

Can today’s human diversity come from just three couples?

This is another common argument against the Biblical Flood, and is made without considering that humans were created with perfect genomes, rich in genetic diversity. The three couples on the Ark had a great deal more genetic information than we have today.

For proof of this, look no further than domestic dogs. All breeds of dogs have descended from a wolf-like ancestor, which had all the genetic information for all the dog breeds of today in its genome. Through breeding and artificial selection, information was lost, redistributed, and concentrated – not added to. From the Chihuahua to the Poodle to the Great Dane – all these traits were in the wolf-like ancestor, like all the traits in humans today were in the genomes of Adam and Eve. (By the way, evolution cannot explain why wolves had all this genetic diversity in the first place, but creation obviously can).

The creation model clearly explains where the genetic diversity in all plants, animals and humans came from, and why there were no problems with inbreeding. On the other hand, if evolution is true, and all organisms evolved “upwards” via mutations, what explanation can evolutionists give for why every organism’s offspring weren’t all deformed? The fact that organisms can produce offspring which are not mainly deformed is a testimony to creation, not evolution.

Summary

All humans today have virtually identical DNA, indicating a recent population bottleneck.

New (Jan 2013) genetic analysis found “recent explosive population growth”, “suggesting that many mutations arose recently”, which “arose in the past 5,000 to 10,000 years”. This logically dates the bottleneck to within the Biblical timeframe, rather than the evolutionary 70k+ years timeframe, otherwise there would have been virtually no mutations for at least 60,000 years, then suddenly almost all mutations. Illogical plus it’s contrary to the Molecular Clock idea.

The Y chromosomes in all humans worldwide are very similar, indicating a recent sole male ancestor – matching Noah, and before him, Biblical Adam.

There are three mtDNA lineages, perfectly matching the Bible’s record of the three wives on the Ark who repopulated the Earth.

These three mtDNA lineages are very similar, indicating they diverged from a single female ancestor who lived one to two thousand years before the Flood – matching Biblical Eve.

Eve’s mtDNA would have diverged down through Eve’s descendents for roughly 1,500 years (~75 generations), then at the Flood only three lineages were taken onto the Ark.

The life spans of Noah’s descendants decrease exponentially – on a graph, it’s a biological decay curve. This is expected if creation is true.

Humans have a high mutation rate, passing down over 100 mutations per generation. This is consistent with a human history of thousands, not millions, of years.

If we descended from apes millions of years ago, our DNA would have diverged considerably (1 million years = ~50,000 generations). Since all humans today have virtually identical DNA, evolutionists had to come up with an explanation for this, so a population bottleneck was proposed (actually two, for males and females) where only ONE female’s lineage AND ONE male’s lineage survived to today, while thousands of other males and females, living at the same time, lineages died out. One lineage dying out is very improbable; BOTH dying out – in an expanding, post-bottleneck population no less – is ridiculously improbable.

Discussion

You may be wondering why you haven’t heard about this overwhelmingly supportive proof of Noah’s Flood before. You would be right to wonder if it’s “too good to be true”.

To answer this, you need to know that one of the basic guiding principles of science is naturalism. This means that supernatural causes must be ruled out as scientific explanations. All proposed scientific explanations must be testable and repeatable, and obey physical laws. Scientists simply cannot explain an event by invoking divine intervention.

In short, even if the evidence points to supernatural causes (e.g. Biblical events), they won’t be able to make that conclusion. They will find the best “natural” explanation and run with that, no matter how improbable it is or how many unanswered questions it requires to work. Some might say if scientists are only allowed “natural” explanations, then they are not pursuing the truth; they are pursuing a natural explanation – even if a natural explanation is impossible.

Conclusion

What’s the point of all of this you ask. Please continue to read, it would be a shame for you to stop here.

Firstly, if the proof of Noah’s Flood is true, then the ramifications are obvious. It confirms the Bible and the reality of God’s judgment by the Flood in the past, which is a warning of the judgment to come – a judgment by fire: http://www.astirinch.com

22. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Not a one can challenge….GP

23. What is wrong with you two? You are ranting and raving like lunatics!

24. Jeff Cumberbatch post an article Musings on nearing 50 part 1.Out come the police of religion to add nothing meaningful to the discussion.The information age is thankfully an eyeopener to religion,the opiate of the oppressed.Zionism is 6 millenia.Humans about 80 to 100 millenia.What is the fate of those between the two.Where are they in the ‘hereafter’ scheme of things.

25. Jeff

“After all, potential investors are legally advised as a matter of course and I suspect that few would be willing to close their eyes and ears to the probability that a legal dispute involving substantial sums in a contemplated jurisdiction might not be too speedily resolved.”

Indeed

But, four Ministers of the Government of Barbados were willing to close their eyes and ears when M. E. Clare (Cahill) Cowan came calling with two agreements, on which she had legal advice, which commit the taxpayers of Barbados to an estimated $4 billion
    over 40 years; and to which there now appears a strong probability of a legal dispute involving substantial sums in the jurisdiction of Barbados (or the UK).

26. Gabriel October 20, 2015 at 4:57 PM #
    RE Jeff Cumberbatch post an article Musings on nearing 50 part 1.Out come the police of religion to add nothing meaningful to the discussion

not true gabriel
    zoe was mocked when he opined with respect to the next 50 years
    he has every right to defend his position

if nothing has been added that is meaningful to the discussion THAT IS THE NORM ON BU AND HAS BEEN SO SINCE 2007 NOTHING NEW

IT IS CALLED CHALLENGING ON BU
    YA IS SUPPOSED TO CHALLENGE ON BU
    CHALLENGE ZOE’S GENETICS
    BARE MOCK SPORT IN DE RUM SHOP

27. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

When will they start vetting these investors, because they come out of Europe, North America, Asia etc, does not make them kosher, what will it take for the politicians to learn that indepth investigations and rigorous research must be done before committing taxpayers funds or use of the island.

Nothing is the politician’s to give away.

I now see why Australia has had 4 prime ministers in the last 5 years, it’s detrimental to the country and people to allow politicians to take root, they immediately assume ownership.

28. WELL WELL
    ARE YOU SAYING THAT WE SHOULD CHALLENGE? LOL LOL

I QUOTE What is wrong with you ? You are ranting and raving like A lunatic! LOL LOL LOL

WELL WELL ONLY CERTAIN PEOPLE CAHN TALK PUN BU THESE DAYS AND YA HAVE TO SAY WHAT THEM TINK YOU SHOULD SAY LOL OTHERWISE YOU ARE A LUNATIC
    MURDAH

29. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

GP…? That’s what makes it so easy to get your point across, they are so predictable, then when they fall into their own trap, they call you dangerous, so go figure.

Then just to spice everything up they threaten to get arrest warrants for you because you are exposing criminal activities that have been for decades destroying the people on the islad, now mind you, they are not trying to have the criminals who are their owners, friends, clients locked up, but you, who dares to expose the criminal activity.

You cannot make this stuff up, it’s like a paradox….lol

30. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Honestly GP……….I would gladly see a bunch of them hauled off the island in handcuffs, they are destructive to the island, desructive to their own people and they refuse to let up or acknowledge the hurt they have caused the hardworking taxpayers, there is a price to pay for that type of viciousness.

I will be more than happy if they continue to jump into bed with whichever scam artist comes out of the industrialized countries until they finally find one that would earn them a hundred years in some prison somewhere, the long suffering people in Barbados deserve a break from these bands of criminals.

31. GP,

You can say what you want to say but you two go on and on and on ad nauseam. Recently your laughter has been “sounding” like the deranged laughter of a cartoon villain.

32. And to top it all off you are trying to be humorous which is definitely not your forte. A wit , sir, you are not. More like a bore.

33. Just want to point out two items in the media today.

BGIS http://gisbarbados.gov.bb/index.php?categoryid=9&p2_articleid=14915

“Synergies Between Certain Sectors Needed
    Published on October 19, 2015 by Sharon Austin

If Barbados is to become economically viable, there must be greater synergies between agriculture, tourism and manufacturing.

This view was expressed by Prime Minister Freundel Stuart over the weekend, as he delivered the feature address at the Barbados Agricultural Society’s (BAS) Annual General Assembly at the Radisson Aquatica Resort Barbados.”

BECOME economically viable?

Is the PM acknowledging the Barbados is not now economically viable.

Also, video of MOF on Nation News website shows him complaining about international financial markets demanding a risk premium if Barbados goes to borrow.

If Barbados is not now economically viable, it is a wonder it can borrow at any price.

34. Thanks for trying DD but it will not work. Just cut your loses and run.

35. Well Well,

Not one CARES to challenge.

36. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Good to hear that Donna.

37. who says I am trying to be humorous OR A WIT? NOT A BIT i challenging and mocking in de rum shop TO WHIT OH SHIT

and ad hominems just run off my back like war off a duck’s back LOL HA HA LOL HA HA LOL HA HA LOL HA HA LOL HA HA LOL HA HA LOL HA HA LOL HA HA LOL HA HA LOL HA HA LOL HA HALOL HA HA LOL HA HA LOL HA HA LOL HA HA

STOP MOCKING CERTAIN PEOPLE WHEN THY TELLING THE TRUT

AND I AM SPEAKING AS A JEW DAT BLACK LOL

38. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

These dudes fail to realize that they will be punished for a very long time if they do not clean up the corruption on the island, they can complain until the cows come home. If they love their criminal friends more than they love the people on the island, the country or the funding that allows them to keep the country afloat, then they will have to work 5 times as hard to govern.

Clean up the corruption and cut your criminal friends loose, fix the supreme court, or suffer the consequences.

Not one of these financial institutions owe them anything.

For educated people their heads are too damn hard.

39. ZOE

WHAT IS YOUR VIEW?

WILL GOD DESTROY THE RUSSIAN AND IRANIAN ARMIES IN THE MOUNTAINS OF ISRAEL AS PREDICTED IN EZEKIEL 38 BEFORE OR AFTER THE RAPTURE?

IS THE FULFILLMENT OF THIS PROPHECY IMMINENT ?

WILL DAMASCUS BE TAKEN OUT AT THIS TIME?

40. @ WW&C

One of Lex Carribean Lawyer, Richard Wheeler and wife hacked to death In Tobago,

41. another on for you Zoe

Mal. 4:2.

“But for you who revere my name the sun of righteousness will rise with healing in his wings.“

Can you explain the phrase “healing in his wings“?

42. @ GP, Malachi 4:2

Context
    The Great Day of the Lord

1″For behold, the day is coming, burning like a furnace; and all the arrogant and every evildoer will be chaff; and the day that is coming will set them ablaze,” says the LORD of hosts, “so that it will leave them neither root nor branch.”

2″But for you who fear My name, the SUN of righteousness will rise with healing in its wings; and you will go forth and skip about like calves from the stall.

3″You will tread down the wicked, for they will be ashes under the soles of your feet on the day which I am preparing,” says the LORD of hosts.…

GP, I believe, because I KNOW, that ‘Healing’ miracles, are still going on TODAY, in the Mighty Name of Jesus, in the POWER (Dunamis) of THE HOLY SPIRIT! Amen!

43. I pray for a healing miracle for GP because he obviously can’t heal himself.

44. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Watchman………..the Tobago police are leaning toward robbery as a motive, but with lawyers you just never know. Dude was a British expat and a very senior citizen.

45. Hants,

My son and I sing this all the time. Fun song to sing even with the serious subject matter. Really gets the message across!

46. Watchman,

You having pleasant dreams and visions or what?

47. @ Donna
    I am having a pleasant dream right now , do you want to know what it about ?

48. Watchman,

Heck, why not?

49. oh God. Lol