Submitted by Veritas Y. Aequitas
Royal Barbados Police Force under the spotlight

Well, the DPP said there was no case to answer and ordered the charge be withdrawn.

But, some recent news leaked out from the Police Force said there was a deliberate attempt to haul Mr Slinger over the fire and cause him embarrassment

[โ€ฆ]

โ€“ heโ€™s been accused of causing bad boy police Everton Gittens to be charged for Blues Knight killing โ€“ itโ€™s been described as the straw which broke the camelโ€™s back since Slingerโ€™s pen had been touching quite a few people including Speaker of the House Michael Carrington who should have been charged for keeping that poor man in the wheelchair money for over 14 years and Slinger has also been at the forefront of CLICOโ€™s Leroy Parris exposures.

In fact, Slingerโ€™s arrest and charging was orchestrated by Acting Assistant Superintendent Graham Husbands, one of the Commissioner of Police low-life cops who hail from St Lucy as well.

Husbands was heard telling some young detectives โ€“ go and bring his ass here, he like writing bout people, leh he write bout this.

Husbands also went on to curse and swear about Slingerโ€™s consistent writing about โ€œBluesโ€ death and even mentioned that the Nation newshound even started a day by day count-down on Bluesโ€™ death since no one had been charged.

He said this had caused a lot of pressure on the police to do something. Husbands even went on to say that it was Slinger who wrote story that police was trying to get Bluesโ€™ son who was shot as well to change his original statement.

The police investigations have been described by the DPP as shabby and without merit since close circuit video showed Slinger leaving the restaurant empty-handed. Also an inventory signed by Slinger and three other people showed clearly nothing was removed or stolen from the bar.

Apparently, Slinger was trying to assist Pizza Man Doc who owned the place against a bad tenant and fraud Jacqueline Proverbs who owed thousands of dollars in rent.

People who frequented the De Hype Bar said they have never even seen a long neck brandy or whisky as was reported stolen by her.

Another thing that went against the Nation Tim Slinger was that he is a personal friend of suspended commissioner Darwin Dottin who has been described as one of Husbandsโ€™ most hated people.

It all adds up, now we know what depth some police would sink to, to falsify charges.

Itโ€™s not the first time and it wouldnโ€™t be the last. You could be next.

124 responses to “Why was Nation Journalist Tim Slinger Charged for Burglary?”

1. These folks are so ignorant of modern technology they don’t realize. They can’t stop the Internet or hide the facts. Corruption is a big problem in Barbados Gangsters and their confederates in uniforms are destroying Barbados. The fools don’t know that every conversation they have is monitored. When the time is right the hammer will come down on them and they will end up in North American prisons. It’s part of a treaty our leaders signed years ago.

2. de Ingrunt Word Avatar

Police depts have the tendency to do this sort of thing when they feel the need to change the prevailing dynamic. It happens more frequently than we would like to admit.

Now, the big question is will Slinger and fellow journalists be intimidated as the author suggests is intended.

Although this is 2015 Barbadian authorities do not offer the protective shield of diligent investigations and harsh punishments for actions like this when warranted.

3. @ G Man
    Skippa, ….North American prisons may be the least of their worries…

Karma is a serious bitch hear??!!
    …and sometimes um does get REAL spiteful and save itself fuh yuh children….

Day could run. …but night does always catch um….

4. It appears the time is ripe for the public to know the true state of the management of the Royal Barbados Police Force which motto is To protect and serve.If you think it’s to protect and serve John Public,think again,based on this release.Its more like to protect and serve their own and blackmail and force confessions of the innocent.Perhaps we can hear from the two DLP enforcers now advising the office of the GG on matters administrative and managerial of the said Royal Barbados Police Force,and while they are at it tell the press what is the outcome of the court case involving a senior officer filed since the 90’s and still to be heard.The time is ripe for another Commission of Enquiry into the running of this important institution.Let the truth be told.Let all the political interference come out.And tell we bout the senior policeman who put way a man for a crime and turn round and sing a Dave Martin ….yuh think it is only goat dat have horn bai.

5. Why did the DPP intervene to dismissed the case some are asking?

6. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

A U.S prison might be too good for those dumb politicians who allow anything to happen to their own people and have a nerve to collude with the culprits.

7. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

These are the ties that bind. The connections of a system that have no overseer to scrutinize, condemn, punish and make public the extent of corruption that exist in Barbados. A bottle of brandy and the police force gone after a reporter for exposing the sham and wickedness orchestrated by rogue cops. Yet documents containing enough information to implicate and execute a charge against crown representatives and party statemen does not merit a single call for closer examination, investigation or apprehension. A country is only as good as its systems and extent of corruption.

8. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

I always felt that they went after Timmy for exposing the lowlife speaker of the Michael Carrington for stealing the property of the disabled gentleman in the wheelchair who believed a lawyer in B’dos is anyone’s friend. I believe Timmy is the one wrote the article, which is public knowledge from the supreme court, but the lawyers still feels that no one should speak of it, that’ why I take no prisoners where they are concerned, each and every one of them who are bent and corrupt wรฌll and should be exposed.

That was more than enough for politicians to retaliate, particularly when they have not yet felt the full might of the internet.

9. Why? It is quite simple.

This government goes after anyone who dares to be critical of it. I am waiting to see how long it would take them before they go after David here on BU. These morons cannot take criticism…………..quite evident by the ac consortium on BU.

The Nation is critical of the government as if anyone would not be judging from their incompetence. So they have it in for the Nation. Mr Morris wrote that top people were overheard in the VIP lounge at the Airport saying that the Nation reporters would be charged for the story on the two students engaging in sexual activity in a classroom.

And as overheard, they were charged………..the case was always flimsy……and after a long drawn out process to embarrass the Nation, the case was dismissed…..and what did the ACTING police do?……….they have re-flied the charges. Now tell me that there is not some form of agenda there!

I hope these same morons who think that they are so powerful realise that someday their power will be taken away and they too will feel how it is to be powerless……….as David Estwick told the DLP……………….time longer than twine!

10. @ prodigal ” I am waiting to see how long it would take them before they go after David here on BU. ”

Neva happen.

11. Hants October 15, 2015 at 10:44 AM #

@ prodigal โ€ I am waiting to see how long it would take them before they go after David here on BU. โ€ Neva happen.

The Advocate, in a recent editorial, was highly critical of BU, also implying that this forum’s facilitator lacked journalist skill (or he was pretending to be a journalist).

The traditional press, with their “professional journalists,” have refused to highlight acts perpetrated by politicians and the so called “society” people in Barbados, preferring to have front page articles and photographs of a man who shoplifted a tin of sardines, or some irrelevant speech or opinion presented by a politician.

The press has continued to enjoy “freedom of the press” because they have aligned themselves with the particular party that is “in power,” and are therefore obligated to protect that party’s interest.

How long do you think it will take before the politicians attempt to subdue BU, especially after the CAHILL issue has been exposed in this forum?

12. Same reason Leroy Parris has NOT been. That man has blood on his hands; people dying from stress, anxiety and depression, from the inability to pay for medical care, lives and families destroyed because of his mishandling of their pensions, and yet he struts around like a peacock when charges should have been brought by a Leacock ever since.

Same reason Town & Country sprang into action and closed down Anderson Cherry. If Town & Country operated at one hundredth of that response rate in the normal course of business, it would be a miracle.

13. are-we-there-yet Avatar

It seems to me that this incident, and I find it most believable, is just another of the long series of signposts that show where this Government has been leading us since 2009.

Such incidents as the allied campaign to bring the Nation to account for doing its job, the unbelievable excesses of the Cahill stupidity, the Speaker’s and the PM’s reluctance to do what was righteous when a Judge ordered the speaker to pay the old man the money he had withheld from him for many years, the unbelievably crass backlash against the private sector individuals who protested the solid waste tax and numerous other incidents, show that governance in this country has degenerated into such a state that even elections in 2018 are unlikely to save us from a continuance of the kind of mindset that has made these incidents possible unless those elections send a message that the electorate will not tolerate such behaviour any longer by removing all of them or the Government is summarily forced to demit office, because of its misdeeds, before 2018.

What they have been doing sets a toxic example and they cannot be allowed to continue in that vein without the people saying “so far and no further”. If they are allowed to continue without having to make a drastic course correction will act like a beacon of the apparently limitless excesses that can be perpetrated on docile Brass bowls.

The Timothy Slinger case always smelled to high heaven.

14. The Advocate newspaper is a rag for the DLP.That is known.The Advocate owner,according to reliable sources,’interferes’ with his female employees who allow him to.The Advocate owner’s son in on BU in the lawyers taken to court for dishonesty and who run to Canada to try to hold up his head as he was walking with it down,in Barbados.The Advocate owner should know that that newspaper was famous in the history of the growth of a modern Barbados and even Barrow at one time kick out the editor because he wielded a serious pen.Up to Neville Grosvenor’s time it was respected for its high standard of journalism.The Advocate is in the cellar of standards in journalism because it relies on government help here and there with its revenue stream and cannot tell the truth and the whole truth about the corruption in certain ministries for fear of losing its favored status.

15. There were early signs that when this DLP was elected that they were incompetent and things would go south soon.

David Thompson got sick, the dithering started as no one was in charge………. we later found out Fumble was in charge and by the time DT eventually passed away the rot had set in from which we cannot recover.

It would seem as if the low information voters who got the free stuff never understood what was happening and as a subsequence when the money was floated around for votes in 2013, they did not care, they received money to vote.

The Police Service Commission went after Dottin and installed whomever they wanted with disastrous results now! Soon after the DLP was elected, the blark one from up east was over heard loudly in Oistins saying that Dottin has to go, we dont want him…….and this is true. He did not seem to care who heard him, they had just won and felt they were now powerful. It all came to past.

My mother always told us if you start wrong, you can only end up wrong, so do the right thing. Good advice to this day.

Just remember the early signs of politics and the police with the young boy who was shot under mysterious circumstances and I remember DT involving himself in that!

Why does this police who went after the reporter not go after Leroy Parris? I have a friend whose dad has gone to the great beyond and could not get his money out of CLICO to help with his care during his last years when he needed a full time nurse. The family could no longer afford the nurse and this was very painful for his children as their dad was a man who saved his money so that he would not be a burden to his children in his old age. He invested his life savings in this company!

In the mean while Parris sits on his millions and DT left his millions to his wife. Justice will come one day!

16. Prodigal
    Parris got family and Thompson got 3 daughters.If I was de Wharton woman and de Thompson woman,I would pay back that stolen money to Clico,so me and the family can sleep peaceably at night.There is that thing called karma that stands outside your dwelling 24/7.

17. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

That is what everyone who takes an interest in Barbados keeps wondering, why don’t the police lock up these corrupt, criminals calling themselves insurance executives when all they do is steal money from their policyholders, launder money inside and outside Barbados and disrespect the supreme court.

What the hell does the DPP Leacock do besudes suck up to the minorities on the island. Why can’t he and the so called authorities lock up the vicious , corrupt lawyers, doctors and politicians, why are they all so corrupt and lacking a moral core. It’s repulsive and disgusting, a true banana republic, they only lock up who dares to expose their nastiness.

18. Should be “20 point planned”

19. @ Artaxerxes wrote “The Advocate, in a recent editorial, was highly critical of BU,”

He is just doing his job as required to serve the interests of the Government.

On BU we have loose cannons who will defend the right of Bajans to blog freely and will use the freedom of the press and freedom of information in the countries in which we reside.

http://www.cbc.ca/news/politics/canada-election-2015-liberal-co-chair-advised-transcanada-on-lobbying-1.3271175

20. Gabriel October 15, 2015 at 2:32 PM #
    The Advocate newspaper is a rag for the DLP.That is known
    XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX
    Only half right. That should read โ€œThe Advocate newspaper is a rag for the WPIP (Whatever Party In Power)โ€

21. Woman, dont you have anything better to do? You are nuisance!

22. Does anyone remember why the police did not go after the man who shot his son especially since it was reported that when they took the little boy to Sandy Crest rigormortis had already set in?

23. Borman post until your heart runneth over, rest assured however all your spam comments will be deleted.

24. HAMILTON A HILL Avatar

LONG LIVE SOCIAL MEDIA! LONG LIVE BU. Someone needs to tell those clowns that perhaps they should collaborate with the king pin here on BU, for often times some contributions on the Underground outmatch the piffle they sell to John Public on a daily basis. Disjointed and devoid of continuity are too many stories produced by so called Trained Mainstream Journalists, not to mention proof-reading…..or the lack thereof. Off the top of my bald head I could think of at least seven souls who post here on BU, whose contributions would give those young punks at the ADVOCATE goadies to match in terms of style, flair, color and attention to subject matter. Artaxerxes, you and the crew can teach them a thing or two…….or should that have been TO or TOO? I doubt that they know. In any event though Artaxerxes let me ask you this. DOES ANYBODY STILL READ THE ADVOCATE?

25. HAMILTON A HILL Avatar

If we get lucky the same question will be asked of The Nation a few years from now. Truthfully neither one serves a useful purpose where poor people are concerned.

26. Does any body READ the ADVOCATE

could not be possible that the Advocate which generates so much advertising does not have a loyal following in order to survive myself included

27. Listen guys THERE is NEWS !and THERE is NEWS that is newsworthy ./Salacious gossip is anything but news.
    Good reporting is consistent with the content from which the story originated therefore checking of the facts and the sources for reliability and consistency is crucial
    Which means the information given must be verified through different sources One source of information is not enough to substantiate for accuracy and truthfulness of the story
    With the arrival of social and with all and sundry hungry for a pound of flesh , News has now reached a low level of competitiveness where publishers believe that getting the word out at a fast pace is more important that delivering news that is truthful Factual and verified

28. Here is a story published in the BT that questioned the DPP’s decision to yank the case.

Bitter pill

Broome issues sweeping challenge to Proverbs
    Added by Neville Clarke on September 11, 2015.
    Saved under Local News

Give the public the true picture and avoid questioning the decision taken by Director of Public Prosecution Charles Leacock to discontinue the burglary case against veteran journalist Timothy Slinger and mini-bus conductor Don Harper.

Managing Director of Pizza Man Doc and owner of DeDiva Hype Bar on Baxters Road, The City Gray Brome threw out this challenge to tenant Jacqueline Proverbs.

Proverbs told Barbados TODAY yesterday that she was still in shock after turning up to court last Friday, only to hear that the office of the DPP had withdrawn the case in which she was the complainant. The resident of Oldbury Gardens, Gemswick, St Philip complained that up to now she had not been told why the case was thrown out.

Reacting to the story today Brome told Barbados TODAY that Proverbs owed him several thousands of dollars in rent arrears and that after sending her several eviction notices without any success, he retained the services of a bailiff to recover the arrears.

Brome added that he was forced to meet electricity costs for the property, and said he was disgusted at his tenantโ€™s โ€œfailure to accept her responsibilities and the financial strainโ€ it has placed on his resources.

โ€œI was forced to rush and pay the outstanding bills by last Friday because if I did not I would have to rewire the property because it has been closed for the past six months. Having rewired the property I would have to wait until officers of the Electrical Engineering Department carry out an inspection before the electricity supply is restored. I have had to shell out in excess of $2,500 to cover expenses that she should have undertaken,โ€ Broome alleged.

When contacted at his St Peter home this afternoon, the bailiff who was retained by Brome confirmed that over the past year he had been working to recover monies owed by Proverbs.

โ€œI have been working on this case for about a year. Every time I made an arrangement with her to pay some of the arrears she agreed but never paid the full amount. The last time I spoke to her she promised to pay $1 000, but she only mustered $50. There were other occasions she promised to pay but never paid,โ€ said the bailiff, who spoke to Barbados TODAY on condition of anonymity because of his status as a public servant.

The bailiff said that Proverbs was delinquent in the payment of rent, pointing out that between July 2014 and February 2015, she had only covered three monthsโ€™ rent.

According to the bailiff, Proverbs claimed that the property was broken into in December 2014 and the business has never recovered from the losses.

When contacted today Proverbs denied owing Bromes substantial sums money. Barbados TODAY obtained a copy of a letter dated December 20, 2014 and signed by Proverbs and the bailiff, in which the Lot #5, Oldbury Gardens, St Philip resident accepted that she and her business partner Ian Farley of Lower Carlton, St James would pay $2,400 for outstanding rent due for the months of October, November and December 2014.

Proverbs also committed to pay โ€œall outstanding moniesโ€ on her electricity bill, totaling over $1,500 for the property at Baxters Road, the City.

Barbados TODAY has also obtained a copy of a letter from Broome to Farley dated November 24, 2014, in which he advised Farley that the arrangement to rent the space would expire on December 28, 2014 and suggested that a written application for the renewal of the contract be forwarded to Brome two weeks prior to the expiry of the current contract.

โ€œFor some time I had asked Proverbs to vacate the property because I was experiencing major challenges in collecting the rent due. In addition, she failed to pay the Barbados Light & Power Co Ltd bills,โ€ Brome told Barbados TODAY. โ€œIn the end I found myself stuck with the utility bill.โ€

nevilleclarke@barbadostoday.bb

29. The only Advocate I can stomach is the Monday’s edition for the business section……..and I do not buy it……….You do not have to buy an Advocate……….every article from page three onwards is found on the internet.

Shoddy piece of rag!

30. David,

If this is the story, how the hell did Mr Slinger ended up being charged and not Pizza Man? It is quite true that in cases of monies owed, owners can hold on to goods to try to recoup some of their losses, not so?

Who look bad now, Mr “powful” police?

31. @prodigal Son

This story is just one example of the lie sore growing on the back of our justice system .

32. Violet C Beckles Avatar
    Violet C Beckles

http://nakeddeparture.com/richard-cheltenham-is-hiv-positive/

Did God or Beatrice Henry came after this crook ass lawyer , Oh God never sleeps on the wicked Massive Land Fraud Master , CLICO and First Caribbean Bank of laundering.

This man is the ROOT cause of all of Barbados Problems , If he drops dead May be then the Station Sgt Mark White will put out the FINDINGS ..

33. The Police brought a criminal case against three Nation newspaper employees one of whom, the publisher,the lone female in the trio,was made to suffer the indignity of exposure to the shenanigans of a police force,manipulated by the DLP hierarchy.The lady has since relinquished her position as publisher no doubt because of that bogus case.An oustanding Barbadian is brought down by enemies unknown for what!For being an outstanding scholar,giving back to her country,the product of hard working parents who sought to improve their lives and those of their offspring,to build a better Barbados.The DLP and the Police should be ashamed of their actions.

34. Yes, Gabriel…..this whole episode really had a dire effect on her.

Can you imagine the lady’s shame when they had a police officer holding on to her as she walked into court? This was meant to disgrace and shame the Nation. The lady did nothing wrong but worked hard and contributed to this country.

What was so wrong with the whole case that charges were brought against the editor and even though Roy Morris was not at the Nation when the story was written, he was charged as well.

But yet………there is clear evidence that Leroy Parris carry away the policyholders of CLICO monies aided and abetted by a man who went on to become a PM of this country and they would not touch Parris nor go after the dead king’s millions left behind for his wife who how sits as a deputy speaker in our Parliament………….what irony!

35. LT.HORATIO CAINE. Avatar
    LT.HORATIO CAINE.

Does this story posted here has any credibility?Can the author please tell us the portfolio of Detective inspector Graham Husbands and his area of specialized training,if you can then i would be more inclined to give some credence to this story,note i said story.

36. @ Veritas Y. Aequitas “In fact, Slingerโ€™s arrest and charging was orchestrated by Acting Assistant Superintendent Graham Husbands, one of the Commissioner of Police low-life cops who hail from St Lucy as well.”

Uncle Graham is this you?

37. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Prodigal Son October 15, 2015 at 9:21 PM #

But yetโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆthere is clear evidence that Leroy Parris carry away the policyholders of CLICO monies aided and abetted by a man who went on to become a PM of this country and they would not touch Parris nor go after the dead kingโ€™s millions left behind for his wife who how sits as a deputy speaker in our Parliamentโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆ.what irony!

Leroy Parris is able to walk free because of that bold face liar in the form of a non principle Prime Minister, who without shame, told the whole of Barbados that a crook who cause the suffering of many but enriched the lives of those who looked after his interest well, is his friend. He is interested in protecting interests personal to him, his party and the shitey image he is trying to portray as one having a moral stand. He is not interested in ruling a country with honour, dignity and honesty. That is why it is time those who know what is going on should speak out in the name of doing what is right for their island if they care what happens to it. If we do nothing we will we lose a lot more than we have already lost under these parasites and the blood suckers to whom they are obligated to continue giving. Men of honour know when to step down with grace and acknowledge their wrong. These pretenders will only do it unless shamed. The system has shamed us all yet it remains as it is because it suit these men fine.

38. Did I just read that the publisher, the lone female was made to suffer some indignity of exposure? Revisit the episode involving that poor little girl who no doubt has been scarred for life, then replace that whole phrase bout indignity with one word. KARMA.

39. Now it is starting to come to the Bajan people.Just like in Guatemala or in some parts of Mexico, you could buy a police bout here. Scary shit but we still willing to die for either the DLP or the BLP. We is strange people fa real.

40. @ Hamilton
    You can’t be serious.

That ‘poor little girl who …was scarred for life” was doing shiite …
    shiite that could create an unwanted baby that would be scarred for life…
    shiite that could cause STDs that could scar her for life…
    shiite that embarrassed a whole school, community, family, country….
    shiite man…she got off lightly in the circumstances.

The Nation people normally do NUFF shiite (in the interest of their Trickidadian owners) but in this case what did they do….?

NOT TELL THE DAMN STINKING TRUTH….?

Why should ANYONE, ANYWHERE, FOR ANY REASON….be penalised for telling the TRUTH? …especially a damn newspaper editor…?

That we would CHOOSE to harass someone for telling the truth while protecting a young person doing total shiite speaks to our level of brass bowlery ….

..no wonder our asses are cursed.

41. Always knew this case was bogus. Couldn’t they come up with something more credible? Steupsse. A further waste of the court’s precious time and resources. And to think of the backlog which we are facing. This is ridiculous.

42. Hamilton Hill
    You show your true colors you paedophile!

43. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Bush Tea

Dere is some who would say that you have the likes of the owners of the T&T Sunday Punch, The Smut Newspaper Tabloid of the Caribbean, taking control of Bulbados’ one time Smut newpaper (you remember Dear Christine in the 70″s) and trying a ting…

Dere is some who tink dat Vivianne should get lock up, she and Roy “I have my gun so give me de p**kie” Morris and Sankey!!

Dere is some who would argue dat dere gots to be a standard and procedure to follow when you gone home fuh de night.

You mean that you running a newspaper and de day dat you ent dey you employees feel so empowered dat dem cud broadcast “lascivious materials” all ovah de place as dem feel like?

Man dem behave like de Eager 11 do once Fumble get pun de plane and fly off de island, “he gone fellahs eveyting is we own”

You see de one where some woman performing fellatio in de daylight in a carpark in Broad Street??

Man we living in de Wild Wild West Bush Tea.

Finally DE BLACK DOT!!

Do you know that if de ingrunt Sankey had was did put a big black dot ovah de face uh de two minors so dat dem would not have been recognisable dat de whole article would have taken on a perspective of propriety and “I can’t believe this smut happening in we schools”

Jes a simple black dot blurring out de faces uh de “Innocents” and it would have had another hypocritical swing as opposed to de pervert Sankey getting he jollies offa a young ting cavorting in a school class room?

I bet he still calculating whu is de price uh dat digital ink blur and when Roy gine fire he scvnt…

44. @Gabriel, I do not know Mrs. Gittens, the Nation Publisher, but I am very familiar with the type of personality who aims for the top. Particularly a female who displays such passion and intelligence to get to the summit in a male dominated Bajan publishing industry.

With that in mind I have to believe that it would take a tad bit more to get her to relinquish “her position as publisher… because of that bogus case”. Your rhetoric sounds quite over the top to me.

Yes this episode may have shocked her but surely you don’t take on this position based on the history of the Nation as a ‘hard charging, in-your-face’ type journal and not expect to rub people in power wrong at some point.

And based on modern behaviour of litigation and rampant corruption (which she would have known existed for years now) she would have started this with a high degree of fortitude I expect. Thus, I would be disappointed if this itself drove her away.

And now to throw the grenade:

If this were a man would you have suggested this case affected him in the same way and caused him to leave his top post as publisher?

How come the Managing Editor (who was not there at the time of the story as you noted) but who himself was ‘disgraced’ with his own case of sexual infelicities didn’t feel such ‘shame’?

We all blog because we think we have the most astute thoughts so this is not a fight Mr Blogger, just a few questions on how your astuteness got so very extravagant.

And of course mine isn’t. LOLLL.

45. Ahhh, Mr Pieces. You are ofttimes so shockingly pellucid and detailed too.

So in a few words you assert that : two wrongs never may one right.

And it is okay for we bout here to lambaste the regular press about not being fearless and not printing the REAL news but you show clearly that in the REAL world there are REAL consequences for breaking one law while you accurately confirm that another was broken.

Life is strange in that way, ain’t it. And the frigging point is that the damn editors at the Nation KNOW the damn laws of publishing!

As you said , WHY did they show the faces of the kids, REGARDLESS of whether those faces were already all over the internet.

They rolled the die to test the legal boundaries and thus they are now answering that test in the courts of the law.

That was self-righteous, some may say callous, management decision making. They have insurance.

Are you really suggesting that Price made that decision all by his ‘lonesome’ and thus will be fired or that he would be fired as the management ‘scapegoat’ for the self-righteous management mind-set!!!

46. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ De Ingrunt Word

First of all I know dat you din went to de same school as 007 Sinckliar… (de double zero sven is de decimal pint dat he still ent know where to place dem.

How i know dat you ent went to de Garrison?? Causing you ent say ‘pellucidly clear” like dat idjit does say evey time he talking!!

Now dat compliment aside leh we discuss de meat uh de matter.

Sankey Price is a pervert!! Simple and plain. His action of unilaterally placing the pictures of minors, across de back page of a national newspaper, mindful of the rule of thumb regarding minors and defamation, which any good journalist would know, substantiates that point!!

Dem only waiting for de appropriate moment cause it would be insensitive uh de Trikidadians tuh fyah he scvunt in de middle uh de litigation, it would be heartless BUT DOAN FOOL YOUSELF, dem already discuss it at high management level and he goose cooked.

Roy “i gine use my gun pun you if you doan give up de P**kie” cyan tell he nuffin, but Roy, given dat he had was to lef Barbados Today under de Draconian Rule of dat fellow Peter Harris, cyan appear to be batting fuh Price “too hard”.

De way de ole man look at it is in dis philosophical vein:

“It is easier to print Pkie (KHVNT) and get sue, and possibly lock up, where you ent gine be able to drink no soup, dan to print bout de Pkie, annuder word for de KVUNT dat is getting do to we Bajans every day, but to be “a-bull” to walk bout Bulbados, “free” pun a day, being careful not to print de real news, how we P**kie getting drill daily, IN BLACK AND WHITE (but mostly Black 95% Black)

De Ingrunt Word, you ent know nuhbody at de Nation dat cud get de ole man a job now dat Vivianne and Harold gone home?

I cyan get a pick at de Advocate causing dat is the DLP Newspaper and dem doan like ME Clare Cowen Pieces (if you gets my drift)

47. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Piece……you are on point.

48. @ Piece
    “Do you know that if de ingrunt Sankey had was did put a big black dot ovah de face uh de two minors so dat dem would not have been recognisable dat de whole article would have taken on a perspective of propriety and โ€œI canโ€™t believe this smut happening in we schoolsโ€
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    Boss, you gone off on a tangent and lost Bushie long time…cause it is about time we all realise what is happening in our schools.

The bushman does see the faces of minors in the damn newspaper ALL THE TIME…and they are all recognisable… many in full colour…
    Shiite man…. when 11plus results and scholarships come out – Bushie is inundated with ‘minor’ faces; ..the faces of their teachers; their parents; step parents; neighbours …every shiite…
    …so what is this ‘law’ about not publishing the faces of minors bozie…?
    ..what is this convention of blurring faces so that they are not recognisable…???

…OH WAIT!!!! …you mean ONLY when they do shiite???!!!

NOW WAIT A MINUTE… explain that logic there for Bushie, Piece..
    …so what is good for the goose is NOT good for the gander after all…?

Well..
    Skippa, were it up to the Bushman, every one would be encouraged to own and carry a cell phone WITH a video camera, and a reward would be offered for any such footage which would then be broadcasted repeatedly on CBC and on You-Tube.
    …see how fast people would stop with the shiite…

It is no wonder the damn children are moved to do more and more shiite when we have this idea that we should cover their asses and treat them as ‘innocents’.
    Children in secondary school NEED to take responsibility for their actions and to understand that there is a PRICE to be paid for doing shiite…AND BE MADE TO PAY THAT PRICE….otherwise they will grow into politicians who also want to be on TV every damn day giving speeches and meeting big shots …. and who then expect to have a ‘dot’ on their faces when caught with their hands in CLICO/ CAHILL/ VECO/ Greenland cookie jars…

You may have a point re the scamps at the Nation, but the principle of telling the TRUTH cannot be disputed.

49. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Brother Bush Tea.

Your point is acceptable insofar as if de young girl and boy, “innocents” get catch doing big peeple tings” den they have to tek whu big people does tek.

Sankey works for the Nation which was never a standard bearer insofar as upholding the morals of this society in fact the only time that they are in the forefront of printing the salacious truth is when the parents are nobodies.

They did not run down to Queens College when that British paedophile was unfairing all the 4th formers.

They did not do a similar exposee when Shorey wid he handlebar moustache and de next two fellers run down to the school and help the pederast pack fuh Englant

Then wasnt when Dame Elsoe catch a certain big up in we society today muff diving at Queens College.

I will never support de Nation nor the Advocate with their bourgeoisie policies and practices and commensurately have no respect for witch hunts nor criminal investigations of journalists whose only sin is to be reporting the crime that the same people who are sworn to protect us, de police, are committing.

If Vivianne had had backbone for all the injustices that have traversed her desk when she was CEO and had done justice to each and every article, then I might have thrown a pich of salt her way but hers is a wishy washy type of gladiatrix act which, depending on the “innocents” being highlighted can rapidly disprove one’s belief in the cardinal point known as “true north”.

50. de Ingrunt Word Avatar

Wait Pieces you be hitting real, real hard hay recently.

Wha happen the madam returnest and you can’t be bombast in the house nah more so yah let loose pon BU… Wah lawd, bro. proper.

Keep de madam home, yes. Cause, yah got real talk and I would like to hear more here!!!!

And btw did the Min really say, ‘pellucidly clear’?

I mean I just say ‘real, real’ fah emphasis so maybe he was trying to be ‘clear, clear’. LOLL.

OH, but I still wasn’t clear re that Sanky Price ting. He was the man who mek de decision to publish the pics or that was an overall management decision???

Isn’t he just an editor of one the products! Just being clear, clear.