Dr. Maria Agard, Christ Church West M.P.

The Annual General Meeting of the Christ Church West Branch of the Barbados Labour Party, held September 20th 2015, was suspended on the instruction of the Political Leader Ms. Mia Mottley, who commanded the abortion of the Election of Officers mid process as a result of charges […]of discrepancies in the Membership List.

Read full text of Press Statement

84 responses to “Press Statement Issued by Dr. Maria M. Agard M.P.”

1. It is interesting to note the executive of the ch ch west was elected unopposed. Very interesting.

2. It is also interesting that while Mia integrity is being downplayed that Owen “steps up his game” in statesmanship fashion.
    If he continues in this same vein the calls for Mia to be ousted as leader might reignite not necessarily having Owen at the helm but a viable alternative the meets the moral equivalence of Barbados standards

3. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

On a most serious note, now that Hilary Beckles has researched and found that laws were indeed put in place to prevent the majority blacks on the island from using their skills and gifts as business people to forever bind them into the servitude of being consumers only; did he also research to see if those nauseating laws have been kept on the statute books by the black leaders of Barbados, to stagnate their own people’s prosperity.

I bet not one of those self-serving politicians saw it fit to remove those disgusting laws from the statute books.

AC……get a life..lol

4. Off topic BUT I just heard a Central Bank radio add again inviting the public to purchase bonds with a return of 5% on maturity. Now answer this – have you ever heard of government repaying money borrowed locally? Does the public know what are the repayment terms and conditions in relation to borrowings from the NIS? Even after a High Court order, Mr Barrack is still to receive his money with no settle my date in sight. Jamaican attorneys go unpaid. UWI government grants long overdue. I am told by insider staff that the Central Bank is unable to supply toilet tissue to the facilities because creditors are refusing to advance further credit ( just like in the case of the QEH) and you want me to believe that bond maturity will be met with prompt settlement? We Barbadians must be the smartest people in the Caribben!!!

5. @Fear Play

You should read Wild Coot’s article in today’s Nation.

6. WW&C

Must be hurting your guts to read my comment both truth is better and can serve up uncomfortable consequences. Lol .
    BTW it is my life keep yuh two cents worth of advice out of it none of your stinking business a hole

7. @David, I just read the suggested article by Wild Coot in today’s Nation. Anyone who reads that article and does not have a sense of foreboding needs to see a therapist. B or D, it is time to reflect on the alignment of the Sun, Earth and the Red Moon. I have never been and hope never to be superstitious but……

8. Mia has said and done absolutely nothing to be rewarded she is yet to prove that she can handle the reigns of good governance. Her verbosity simply dumfounds and runs afoul of what good governance entails.Listen to this tattle tale policies. ! Long winded marches
    What legislation has Mia tabled with sufficient agilty outside proposing measures to remove the PM and finance minister all of which failed.What an embarrassment .her last ditch effort now is to drive a stake in the WTE plant which too will fail

9. There was a call towards the end of today’s Brasstacks,Dr Agard to David Ellis.I did not hear the entire discussion but gleaned that the person who “engineered” the halt to the voting process does not live in the ch ch w constituency any longer,indeed his name appears on the voting list in another riding and therefore he had no locus standi in the proceedings.That the voting was underway and 70 members had already cast their votes when a called was made by the party leader to stop the proceedings and that the presiding officer Cynthia Forde did as told.That after members had dispersed another vote was taken,that is,in the absence of many who had left,therefore it was not a proper process.Dr Agard posits that the list used was legit and the objection by the “disenfranchised”voter should not have given rise to cancellation of the proceedings,since it could be proved that his name is listed on the current list of electors in another constituency,but for reasons unknown the party leader called a halt.Perhaps someone can post a more accurate assessment of the call to David Ellis.

10. It does not reflect the BLP leadership in a positive light to have moved forward with the vote and with such haste.

It smacks of arrogance. Cynthia Forde was jettisoned from chairing the meeting or did she refuse.

11. Henry Forde must be crying today!

12. Hi Keeping it Real. I believe in keeping it real and not being deceitful. If we agree that Ryan had his eyes on the BLP whilst being head of the BES. What say you of Jeremy Stephen. Should he start wearing his DLP hat? In Barbados, you either a B or D. or maybe a H for hypocrisy.

13. Who are these 11 people who crying out of not being on the list in CH CH West. How about the other 2,277 other constituents who gave her the nod to be their representative. Are these people being ignored in this political power play? Are we trying to dispose of an elected member in order to give a failure a lucrative window to Parliament?

14. George Pilgrim, a man who was soundly defeated at the polls and who never had the balls to run again…………should really shut his mouth when talking about cannibalism in the BLP.

Hey, you hypocrite, look no further than right in George Street where you pilfer your trade.

During the days of the internecine war when David Thompson was leader when people like Kerry Symmonds, Rudy Grant, Clyde Mascoll, Johnny Tudor and the whole of dems left the DLP……..what was that? Were you dems thinking about Barbados then?

I remember Johnny Tudor saying that at a meeting in George Street, the union leader from the Pine cussed David Thompson so stick, he thought he was in Nelson Street.

Dennis Kellman said one night after a meeting in George Street, he cried as he drove from George Street to St Lucy. This was when he and Thompson were at each other’s throats….after he refused to back a resolution DT tabled in the House. A member of the BLP had to second the resolution……..you idiot.Two of them in the House and could not get along. Was this cannibalism then and were they thinking of the people they were representing?

Come to think of it…….oh yes you were………getting power to destroy Barbados like you are doing today. It could not have turned out more perfect!

15. @Tell me Why

A good question and it goes back to Mia’s promise to democratize how elections are held by the BLP.

16. George Pilgrim,a political neophyte.

17. It is interesting to note that a commentator here believes that you must either be a Bee or a Dee or a hypocrite. REALLY?

18. Prodigal and don’t forget the move to remove Mr David Estwick from his constituency by way of an orchestrated branch resolution and the breakaway of Richie Haynes with Ginger Bourne, Richard Byer in tow. Do not mind them. Operatives like AC have convenient memories.

19. Dr. Maria Agard should either resign from the BLP and join Owen Arthur as an independent member of parliament or cross the floor and join the DLP.

20. An Owen seems to be doing well all by his lonesome behaving statesman like .

21. Barbados Today posted a clean and photogenic OSA in yesterday’s issue as compared to the photo in the Nation.

22. For the sake of diversity in the walls of Parliament ,I do hope if Maria Agard loses her BLP pick , she takes up an independent mandate.She made telling statements during her call on Brasstacks, paraphrased , if there cannot be any accountability at the branch level there cannot be any at the parliamentary level and implied she supports her leader in principle but not in practice.I think she was brave to come to the media like that and has undoubtedly struck a serious blow to this skullduggery we have masked as governance.I hope we Barbadians could see it for what it is. That we can go against the grain of this BLP DLP shite and to foster an environment where we can exercise all the options available to us.I think our country has nothing to lose at this point and could benefit from it.Again, well done Maria.

23. Telling words!Telling words indeed! Now all hold on to your seats it can get very nasty..

24. LT. HORATIO CAINE. Avatar
    LT. HORATIO CAINE.

I listened to a chap on Brass Tacks today who goes by the alias Tall Boy and i was some what surprised that he stoutly defended Dr. Agard and was very angry at the way she is being treated,what annoyed me though is one Peter Wickham, who holds the opinion that what is happening to Dr,Agard is basically the mechanics of politics,well Gibbs-Taitt and the said Tall boy had him back pedalling seeking solace in the statement that he likes Dr.Agard.Well Peter you cannot fool us the public, we know too well how you operate and you are not on Dr.Agard’s band wagon, we know where your loyalties lie. I am at a loss as to how so many persons here and elsewhere believe that what is happening to this young woman is right and that she should just give up and go home,it is not right and never will it be right. It is bullying,something that the world now decries and to think that we all rally against bullying yet it is okay for Maria Agard to be abused and bullied,Miss Agard stand your ground there will be blood so prepare to fight,i know that in your response on Brass Tacks you had to couch your language but do not be fooled into thinking that pleasantries accorded to any leader, and in my opinion soft talk,will cause any softening of the heart, it is already callous towards you so take off the gloves this is a bare knuckles fight so punch hard as hell.You were elected by the people and at the toll of the next bell and i do hope you last that long they will decide,so i say to you stand fast soldier.

25. Bushie was also pleasantly impressed by Dr Agard’s contribution today on Brass tacks. She came across as intelligent, self-confident and logical …wuh shiite man….. no wonder they are intent on expelling her ass…
    …while Peter Wickham came across as the opposite – not long before Mia finds him a safe seat…
    All these political parties are about having mindless lACkies who `toe the party line and have no independent thoughts.

Perhaps if she could adopt that theme of GOVERNANCE and join forces with other progressive forces such as Kammie, Walter, Caswell etc she can yet use this mess …and her position in parliament to good effect…

When all is said and done, the main challenge facing Barbados right now is NEITHER economic, political, management nor social….. IT IS GOVERNANCE….so this may indeed an opportunity of a lifetime for a woman to ‘shake-out’ a whole lotta shiite in Barbados…. 🙂

26. I heard Peter Wickham say on a Brasstacks programme that his business is a form of prostitution,so the man is admitting that he is a prostitute then?

27. BUSH SH,ITE isee yuh mentioned everybody name to reform govt but yours DR,brassbowl.

28. “balance September 28, 2015 at 7:15 AM #

“Duguid appears to have extrapolated from this positions by suggesting a candidate needs the backing of her constituency. When politicians are involved it is so difficult many times to get at what happened.”

Why is Mr Duguid allowed to be involved in BLP party machinations at this level when he abandoned his constituency for immigrant status. No wonder the youth are so mistrustful of politicians and the system these days and opting for mavericks like Mr Trump.”

I received credible information last night to give lie to my above view that Mr Duguid abandoned his constituency.
    I withdraw the comment and apologize to Mr Duguid.

29. Posted for the DLP apologists like AC

Here is Freundel Stuart in 2005 at the DLP’s 50th Annual Conference

From 1994-2001, David Thompson lead the DLP with a free hand to do as he saw fit. Did we not end up with the unusual act of the people of Barbados voting against the opposition in 1999?
    Where is the IMF letter supposedly signed by Owen Arthur which was to be produced in Queen’s Park?
    Where is the St John Development Plan?
    Why was there a mass exodus of several of the candidates who ran in both the 1994 and 1999 General Elections under the leadership of DT?
    Why would a number of former candidates who are still members never want to take part in an election again under the leadership of DT?
    Why was a BLP member Delisle Bradshaw presented to the DLP as a candidate instead f Undine Whittaker in St Michael South East in 1999?
    Why was Patrick Todd not permitted to run in the City as the preferred candidate in 1999?

30. Look balance! All that you say is true .Not going to dispute !argue!or support what took place.
    However lest “we”all forget the ongoing battles at that time within the DLP was food for fodder which gave all and sundry across party lines to give their two cents worth of political pablum .
    The same can surely be applied at the same level as the infighting in the BLP takes centre stage
    No apologies here!

31. Balance,

It is six of one and half dozen of the next. Not one of them can tell the next one come back.

I remember all these things of which you and others speak. For me the issue of character of politicians in Barbados is not even worth discussing.

My decision would therefore be based on competence which would allow them to steal some golden eggs without killing the goose. My vote would be for Owen Arthur. Even Alleyne Arthur. And believe me this is an about face for me.

32. Dr.Maria its high time you cross the floor into the ranks of the Democratic Labour Party before you do so negotiate a post that you can bring your expertise to bear to help people e.g the poor and the vulnerable. Mai Mottley, Jerome, Peter Wickham that trio of larks don’t give two wuk ups about the poor the vulnerable. Their objectives are to score cheap political points and brow beat and replace politicians like you who they see as lightweights . They are narcissistic you are not in their frame. Turn your back on them Dr. Agard your resistance to wrongs is a lesson the poor and needy can learn from . Give of your self to the nation in the DLP ranks. Dismiss Mia, Wickham and Jerome they are out to destroy you.

33. For which cause?

34. Wuh Donna I just laughed out loud at your comment in lite of the Fact I pointed out with accuracy your inability to be truthful with self .Apparantly you got the message and with haste seize the moment to be open and truthful in your last comment