Caswell Franklyn, Head of Unity Workers Union
BU shares the Caswell Franklyn Nation newspaper column – he is the General Secretary of Unity Workers Union and BU Contributor.

NOT ALL BLACK AND WHITE: PM causing much anxiety

RECENTLY, THE Prime Minister threw many government workers into shock and panic when he declared that the Governor General has power to compulsorily retire public officers at 60 years of age.

He cited certain sections of the Pensions Act, Chapter 25 of the Laws of Barbados and concluded that this power is exercisable in much the same way as the board of the Barbados Investment and Development Corporation had done with its employees who had passed that age.

I received many frantic queries from public officers who are approaching 60 years of age and who are now worried about the prospect of a forced unplanned retirement. Their fears were understandable when you consider that the Prime Minister spoke with such passion and conviction. If I were in their place, I would have been worried too, if I didnโ€™t know any better.

The compulsory age of retirement in the Public Service is presently sixty-six and a half years. However, as the PM pointed out, in accordance with section 11 of the Pensions Act, the Governor General can retire a certain class of officer at age 55 years; and according to section 13B other officers can be compulsorily retired, by the Governor General at 60 years of age. But it is not as simple as the PM would have us believe. He neglected or omitted to say that the Governor General can only exercise that power on the advice of the Public Service Commission, after they had conducted or ordered an inquiry into an officerโ€™s conduct.

The PM ought to be aware or someone should tell him that the compulsory retirement, of a person who had not reached retirement age, is a penalty that can be imposed on an officer who has been found guilty of committing an offence of a serious nature. The Third Schedule of the Public Service Act (the Code of Discipline in the Public Service) states at paragraph 6:

6. (1) The penalties that may be imposed on an officer against whom a disciplinary charge constituting misconduct of a serious nature is proved are as follows:

(a) suspension on half pay for a period not in excess of 6 months;

(b) reduction in rank;

(c) suspension of future increments for a period not exceeding 2 years;

(d) reprimand in writing;

(e) compulsory retirement; or

(f) dismissal.

When a public officer is found guilty of misconduct of a serious nature, and it is determined that his/her services should be terminated, there are two options โ€“ dismissal or compulsory retirement. It was called compulsory resignation under the 1978 Public Service Regulations. In the event of a dismissal, the officer forfeits his/her pension.

If the officer is compulsorily retired that person is allowed to retain the pension and gratuity. Compulsory retirement in the Public Service is therefore a more humane form of punishment but a punishment nonetheless, that cannot be imposed whimsically or to balance the budget.

As if scaring the living daylights out of unsuspecting public officers, who are approaching their 60th birthday were not enough, the PM took aim at trade unionists who refused to practice their calling according to the script that had been prepared for them by politicians. He accused them of not following the process of the much vaunted Social Partnership.

When in opposition, Mr Stuart was one of the most ardent critics of the Social Partnership. Apparently, his views have evolved to the point where he now seems to be one of the most passionate supporters of that arrangement. I, like many other right-thinking Barbadians, supported his views, on the Social Partnership, when he was in opposition. He cannot now expect all of us to have the same Saul to Paul conversion that inflicted him. To expect such could only be described as a monstrous perversion of common sense.

Caswell Franklyn is the general secretary of the Unity Workers Union and a social commentator. Email: caswellf@hotmail.com

– See more at: http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/70329/black-white-pm-causing-anxiety#sthash.hPvNEebc.dpuf

171 responses to “The Caswell Franklyn Column – Prime Minister Stuart Causing Much Anxiety”

1. HAMILTON A HILL Avatar
    HAMILTON A HILL

In all honesty Caswell I could vote for you. While not hiding behind the cover of some pseudonym you are willing to say what you believe. Like anybody else you are not always right{well ya wasn’t wrong one time since 2013} but nonetheless you carry the fight to the establishment. Everybody in Barbados knows who Caswell Franklin is yet your courage of conviction renders you boldly exposed. If only you could help orchestrate a collapse so that these pension hungry heifers would not qualify, boy you would be MAN OF THE YEAR.

2. This is a fractious government comprised of a garrulous lot. At a time our leaders should be leading the nation by calming the landscape we have them spitting and frothing at the mouth like wild dogs.

3. HAMILTON A HILL Avatar
    HAMILTON A HILL

Perhaps it is only me but I do get the sense that the members of this administration are willing to do whatever it takes to hold on to power. The PM came out swinging as though the trade union didn’t have not only a right, but an obligation to protect the interest of its constituency. What has made this Prime Minister so obnoxious in his chosen path is the fact that in the face of internal plotting and covertly so at that, his was a tone to which the title of Statesmanship was attached. In hindsight we evoke the good ole saying ” Coward dog keep whole bone”. I implore Caswell and those seen as ” young upstarts” to ensure that the bone is kept whole only if the relevance of trade unionism in Barbados, and by extension workers rights are respected. Do whatever needs to be done to bring Prime Minister Stuart and this wayward bunch to a Christian Understanding.

4. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Hamilton Hill

You flatter me but nonetheless thank you for your remarks.

I have no intention of seeking electoral office. People who really know me will tell you that I do not fit well into teams because I call a spade a spade even if affects people on my team. If my friends are wrong, I tell them privately at first but if I am ignored I end up losing friends.

I do not want to be an MP, all I want is that those who occupy the seat of Government run this country in the best interest of all Barbadians.

5. Violet C Beckles Avatar
    Violet C Beckles

Most things must fall before more people use their own heads or minds , Now things are falling they now look to listen to the talk of Caswell He goes by law and not by favor, We must start with law and them to be fair, DBLP do not follow any law in Barbados even so its written in their books,
    I sit and think of those who sat and wrote that only one member in his UNION , That was a lie for i know we were with him on the better side of the law,
    The yard fowls now eating small stones and grass in Barbados. All others have moved while Caswell still standing holding his ground,

We know it hurting most when they have to CHANGE THEIR MIND, Now to see what these DBLP members are all about; money more money and fraud,

6. HAMILTON A HILL Avatar
    HAMILTON A HILL

Like a ritual I must listen to the newscast coming out of Barbados everyday. I heard the queries of the Opposition Leader in relation to the cars driven by certain Cabinet Ministers, and the nature of business generated by a certain company. These comments were carried in a live broadcast from Parliament on QUALITY FM. Please prove that this QUALITY is constant by bringing a direct response from the ministers accused of activities that give rise to the suspicion of CONFLICT OF INTEREST. Instead all I hear is the berating of Customs Officers, NUPW Officers and the immorality of the Police Officers. The same Police Officers who were asked about three years ago to go above and be on the call of duty, without the consideration of OVERTIME. Lets all play our part….beginning with the so called media.

7. Against the backdrop of all the fire and brimstone that is being leveled at PM Stuart for his observation as he calls it “a new brand of Unionism ” there is seemingly a disingenuous form of hypocrisy that is being attached to go over board and to spin and detached .Over the years the PM has been engaging and have most welcomed the input from the Trade Unions one should recalled with the AX issue and in other forms of labor dispute in the last six years the PM has been available and engaging trying to help bring about resolution
    Now at the core of this issue there is a smell of deceit where those who have a political axe to grind have seized upon the PM words which he apply applied to what had taken place ‘A cart before the horse” method of dragging the country into a downward spiral of chaos by a new brand of Unionism

here is an excerpt of what PM stuart said about Unions during the celebration of May day in 2013

To union members, he said: โ€œYou belong to one of the greatest workers organisations in the entire world.โ€
    Prime Minister Stuart noted that the BWU has performed exceptionally in all areas โ€“ socially, economically, educationally and politically โ€“ and pointed out that the Union has been in the vanguard of the struggles of the workers of Barbados, the Caribbean, and the world โ€œfor a better life, for more congenial conditions in which to work, for better terms of service at the workplace and for a more civilised and humane society in which to liveโ€.
    Considering the recession and economic situation worldwide, Prime Minister Stuart further lauded the BWU saying, โ€œWhat we face across the world today as workers is not the fault of workers, but the fault of other people, the consequences of whose behaviour has resulted in increased hardships for the workers of the world. But we cannot run and hide anywhere, we have to face the challenges that confront us and we here in Barbados, thanks to maturity and thanks to the insight and foresight of the workers movement led by the Barbados Workersโ€™ Union have been able to do the best we can for the workers in these very difficult circumstances.โ€

fast forward to 2015 the contrast became different in regards that the country was trampled upon as this new brand of Unionism tried to take a route of anarchy over the rules and guidelines of international labour laws supportive of govt and Unions working together to find a middle ground.

8. For these idiots, EVERYTHING Fruendel Stuart says or does is ALWAYS CORRECT.

It seems as though they love and worship the men and women of the DLP more than God.

9. The PM is suspiciously about as intelligent as AC is….and just as obnoxious.
    What a coincidence!!

@ HH
    Caswell is a special breed. He is EXACTLY what Barbados needs, but not in an elected position, (he would have too many enemies to win an election), but in a position of GOVERNANCE.
    He is a fellow who is DRIVEN to call a spade a spade….and this is what we need now at the national level.

There are HOARDS of functionaries bout here who, given a well governed playing field, clear rules of operation, and total transparency, would do an EXCELLENT job of running this little shiite place called Barbados.

Such required leadership, governance, and legal framework DOES NOT CURRENTLY EXIST…..and this is so because successive governments destroyed the mechanisms that were established to independently provide such leadership…and installed a bunch of eunuchs who strictly do as told…

Barrow started with the public order act
    Adams with his partisan appointments
    Arthur neutered the public service and appointed idiots like the Supervisor of insurance
    …and now Stuart who appears to be completely clueless…

Unless we correct this short-coming, the only way for us is DOWN…

10. “For these idiots, EVERYTHING Fruendel Stuart says or does is ALWAYS CORRECT.

It seems as though they love and worship the men and women of the DLP more than God.”

It is fierce love of party Arta not personalities borne out of indoctrination at the DLP academy of politics by a negrocratic class over a class portrayed as downtrodden which has fuelled this almost demonistic loyalty to anything crapaud or otherwise remotely connected to the DLP. Did you not notice how the DLP apologists on the blog and brasstacks started to be critical of Dr Estwick when he stated to mash the corns of party loyalty.

11. A leader at any level must engender and nurture trust amongst stakeholders/partners. How are expected to trust the PM after his government reneged on free education for tertiary, address electoral irregularities, respond to Eager 11, the list of not delivering on many promises made is long. What makes it a disappointment is the fact PM Stuart won the poll as Mr. Integrity ahead of OSA.

12. “Barrow started with the public order act
    Adams with his partisan appointments
    Arthur neutered the public service and appointed idiots like the Supervisor of insurance
    โ€ฆand now Stuart who appears to be completely clueless”

And this shortcoming would only be corrected when power is restored to parliament and not the boardrooms of political parties and enterprises.
    Down with political parties.

13. Here comes Speckled fowl in a haste to move the goal post forward with his agenda yes we have been down that road but only a fool would resist the necessity to make a change/ changes when reality says different and is absolutely necessary for survival speckled fowl david carry on with your senseless spin to decimate .

BTW you need to follow the content of the article and read with understanding

@ Deputy Dawg alias Bush shit your mouthings don”t mean pint to me ..as,ho;le

14. @Caswell

Please update us on what is happening with Customs matter.

It is difficult to understand the PM flogging this matter from such an uninformed position i.e. based on the law forced early retirement is exercised in punitive cases.

15. See what we mean…………as soon as intelligent people begin a discussion on serious issues……………….on comes the yardfowl par excellence cussing contributors who are concerned for their country.

Artaxerxes, you are so right……..”For these idiots, EVERYTHING Fruendel Stuart says or does is ALWAYS CORRECT.

What annoyed and alarmed Barbadians was not only what the PM said in that interview but his arrogant, aggressive, condescending, nasty, vindictive tone.

Yes, we know that the PM has powers ascribed to him under our constitution but we have never had a PM who pushed his agenda by threatening the people with this power.

Freundel, one day coming soon, you will no longer have that power…………that is for sure!

You would be relegated to the political junk heap only remembered as the WORST PM Barbados ever had!

16. @ bushtea. .your writings mean nothing to me, you a hole…..but ah does respond to every one. …in quick time too.So who is the a hole, me or you?

17. Here is living proof that Stuart is a piss poor interpreter of the law.No wonder in all his years he say he was a practitioner no company big or small,no Caribbean government ever hire this idyut to defend their interests.Stuart is one big ugly spiteful JA.You AC can carry that to the bank .

18. in continuance of the PM plausible and ascending comments about the Trade unions here is another excerpt from one of the PM most hailed and strident speeches concerning the Trade union and their valuable contributions to barbados society ,

He congratulated the Barbados Workersโ€™ Union for raising a strident voice to ensure that May Day was protected for workers in Barbados in the past when it was threatened.
    He said that no other regional trade union had the foresight or insight to contribute to the enlightenment of workers of their countries. โ€œTheir contribution to the social development of Barbados has not been equalled in this country or outside of it, not in this hemisphere.โ€

19. Yet the blp misfit and gang of lost and wayward souls would want the whole world to belive that PM stuart is a warmonger fighting against Trade Unions, The same trade Unions that over the years he spoke about with pride and glorious accolades . The brigade on this issue lost the PM track record of The good relationship the Unions had with govt /s and choose to resort with political venom and innuendo in their haste to ridicule and denounce the PM a PM who had the foresight to see that a movement of negative force had invaded the social partnership with an appetite to destroy all for self gain and political power

20. @Caswell
    “He neglected or omitted to say that the Governor General can only exercise that power on the advice of the Public Service Commission, after they had conducted or ordered an inquiry into an officerโ€™s conduct.”

It seems you have taken two separate and distinct pieces of legislation, stitched them together and created a seeming untrue truth to foist on the public.

Let’s not forget that you were the foremost advocate for the use of the Pension Act in the case of Jeff Broome before and in the absence of any inquiry and specifically “in the public interest” independent of anything in the Public Service Act.

I like your heart, admire your passion, agree with Bushie that those of your mettle are absolutely needed, but your lack of dispassion and selective, convenient objectivity only contributes to the circus that we have.

Jeff’s treatment of the matter vis-a-vis unfair dismissal (via the ERA) taking precendent over clause 8 of the Statutory Pension Act is the most solid argument to date. Let’s see what the court says.

Customs will be another farce. Caswell is fighting tooth and nail while Roslyn and Akanni meet the big wigs in Collymore Rock.

Yuh hear what uh tell ya ’bout lack of unity in the union. It gine kill dem. (and some o’ we)

Will the REAL leaders please stand up???

Just observing

21. @Observing

It is why the question was asked of Caswell, the status. If the BWU and NUPW agree with government and exclude appointments from the agenda, Caswell will be squeezed into a very uncomfortable poition. Unity is indeed strength.

22. @David
    This show is only now beginning. NUPW has been brought to heel and Moore has been “quieted.”

Caswell’s case will go nowhere just like the one with the GG…all due respects to his efforts.

Unfortunately in today’s industrial climate being right isn’t always enough to get satisfaction. It also requires the right force, in the right direction applied at the right point to get the right results.

If you want to fight a giant you have to lure him from the open pasture into an enclosed area then pepper him with blows on each of his toes.

Time will tell if lessons have been learnt.

Just observing

23. Why was Toni Moore allowed to err with Sir Roy as the in-house consultant?

24. @Prodigal “What annoyed and alarmed Barbadians was not only what the PM said in that interview but his arrogant, aggressive, condescending, nasty, vindictive tone.

Yes, we know that the PM has powers ascribed to him under our constitution but we have never had a PM who pushed his agenda by threatening the people with this power”

Can you believe that the same yardfowl Prodigal that wrote this was running around singing in Owen Arthur’s choir. Some people have very short and convenient memories. Prodigal, you would be funny if you were not such a damn pathetic hypocrite.

25. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Observing July 26, 2015 at 2:55 PM
    โ€œLetโ€™s not forget that you were the foremost advocate for the use of the Pension Act in the case of Jeff Broome before and in the absence of any inquiry and specifically โ€œin the public interestโ€ independent of anything in the Public Service Act.โ€

Just perching on the fence of ignorance while drinking from the font of your knowledge on this ‘difficult’ area of law.
    But “we want to know” how come Darwin- even after being “Dottinised” – is still the substantive holder of the post of CoP (and in receipt of his monthly โ€˜salarium argentumโ€™)?
    How effective is this Pension Act anyway? Will this case remain in court until Darwin reaches โ€˜compulsory retirement ageโ€™? What happens then?
    Isn’t this a compulsively curious case of abuse of the Law by political terrorists pretending to be lawyers in the so-called highest Court of the Land?

26. Gabriel
    It took international observers to tell you the truth about the custom department. Front page of Sunday Sun .Custom Department scores low in many areas including corruption and transparency. By the way how come there are only DLP yardfowls?

27. David
    It seems Toni was not marching to Sir Roy but to the general council which sets the agenda.

28. Thank you Clone, now the next question. If the council of both unions have thrown support to the young leaders what does this portend for government and industrial relations?

29. I find it strange that people would believe that the PM does not have persons advising him from all positions legal, moral, political. So for Caswell to point out that he does not know what he is saying is baffling.
    He has speech writers, researchers et al at his disposal. Am I wrong to believe that he is speaking from a knowledge position

30. There will be industrial unrest until elections are called

31. @Clone

It doesn’t say a lot for increasing national productivity does it.

32. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Bajanfuhlife July 26, 2015 at 4:08 PM
    โ€œCan you believe that the same yardfowl Prodigal that wrote this was running around singing in Owen Arthurโ€™s choir. Some people have very short and convenient memories. Prodigal, you would be funny if you were not such a damn pathetic hypocrite.โ€

So if Prodigal is a hypocrite what does that make Fumble Stuart?

Take a look in the mirror of Veritas and you will see thousands of hypocrites looking at you.
    You will see the thousands of public sector workers who were promised there will be โ€˜no layoffs and no privatization programmeโ€™ under Fumble’s regime. You will observe thousands of students unable to attend the UWI. You will see the shadows of thousand of CLICO policyholders looking in Maxwell pond after being accused of being a bunch of greedy buggers despite promises by the Fumble’s administration they would be given back at least the principal portion of their investment.

Now Cinderella who the biggest hypocrite of them all if not lying Fumble whose ugliness is expanding at the speed of light faster than Pinocchio’s nose.

33. Thanks miller for defending my honour from the the dlp yardfowl but I do not take on the dlp yardfowls.

Their feathers are getting ruffled by the slightest thing people say as they realise that the the farm is on fire.

I keep telling these yardfowls that I have never sucked on the nipples of any government, unlike the yardfowl, Bajanfuhlife. His days of “yamming” the whole cow are slowly coming to an end, they see the real danger and are lashing out.

Mr Yardfowl, tell me who is the hypocrite, is it not you and your party who lied, lied, lied and now the very things you promised the people you would never do are the only things you are doing now. Dont you see how the lies you all are telling have turned each one of you into the ugliest people in Barbados?

Get lost, bajanfuhlife……every Bajan is a Bajan for life too and want the best for our country. You dems cannot deliver on that so you may as well pack your bags and leave the place!

34. @miller

http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2013/09/05/darwin-dottin-officially-hands-over-reins-of-police-force/

The Police Service Commission made the recomendation and the GG accepted and acted on it based on evidence before him using the Pension Act. Dottin eventually and sensibly gave up the fight.

Note that there was no inquiry, no trial, no “penalty” or no reference to any other act. The PSC simply used the power invested in them as Statutory Boards and the Public Service Commission are also currently capable of doing until a court says otherwise.

Just observing

35. The same way the government leaked the report today to the Nation newspaper, a media house constantly criticized b them, let them do the same for the Cahill NDA. How the media is manipulated by the political directorate and advertisers.

36. Clone
    If Stuart has all these advisers at his disposal and I assume he has.Why is the economy in the mess it is in.Why does he not listen to Moody’s and Standard and Poors and set the investor climate back to what is was prior to 2008.Why does he continue to borrow to balance the current account.Why is he in denial that the economy is sick.
    Why did he not listen to those who advised him against going after Sir Hilary.Most parents approved of Sir Hilary’s stand on the matter of state sponsored tertiary education.
    Why did he not listen to those who advised him against giving Butch such outrageous concessions at the expense of the other hoteliers whom he was told would make similar demands and which happened and which have not been fulfilled according to
    the BHTA.
    Why does a legal luminary strongly disagree with Stuart on his interpretation of the
    the Pension Act not to mention the implied threats.
    Why does he encourage by his words of support, a man who singlehandedly denied thousands of their legitimate expectations from their investment in an Insurance Co.over which this man,his friend, had unmatched control.
    Why did he seek to encourage by his advice, the Speaker of the House of Parliament, when ordered by a Judge of the High Court, in the matter of the Speaker as a practising attorney,failing to pay over a clients’ outstanding monies .
    If included in his advisors are those who sent Dottin on forced retirement,and I was in his place, I wont trust anybody.

37. So the government thinks that by leaking the document on Customs that it would turn the hearts of Barbadians against the officers and make them accept the shit they are trying to stuff down their throats?

Crumbs, this is only going to make the officers madder!

38. The aggressive language being uttered by the P.M will only agitate the customs officers more. Then there are the over or near 60’s from other depts. who will slow their productivities because they know their turn coming next. Then there is the private sector who it looking and observing before they too act. What happens now has far reaching effecfs for Barbados

39. The government has to find ways to reduce the public service by hook or crook to comply with the dictates of the IMF.

40. Gabriel
    You just answered my question. He has advisers so they may be giving him bad advice or he is not acting on good advice. I do not believe that any politician enters the House of Assembly and set about to do things willingly to hurt Barbados. I must say though that they may conspire to get rich schemes involving willing partners that we call yardfowls or as Don Blackman said white shadows.
    Gabriel,Prodical and Miller it seems that you cannot wait to get back at that trough. All your posts from 2008 were angry posts. The worst is calling the Prime Minister ugly and broad nose like if that will make him call elections early. The man said he aint calling no early elections so chill while a viable alternative party take shape.

41. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Surely, you mean to comply with the dictates of the homegrown programme. Bunch of blasted liars!

42. That is true David.Stuart said to all Barbados not a man going home if the DLP is elected in 2013.The only way forward for Stuart is to call elections whether he likes it or not.Public servants don’t trust Stuart no more.He is in for a rough ride from hereon in starting with Customs.

43. We should recall how the MoL cussed Caswell at the BCCI luncheon leading into the last general election. We should recall Maloney and Clarke denying the NUPW conspired to play passive in the exercise. And we wonder about the lack of trust between stakeholders on Barbados.

44. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Observing

Your version of what transpired in the Dottin affair does not square with the facts. I read the letter that sent Dottin on leave, and if memory serves me correctly, the advice to deal with Dottin came in the wrong direction. Also Dottin was placed on “administrative leave”, there is no such thing in the Public Service.

45. Can we have the full report please!

46. Clone,

Let me tell you and all like you once and for all. I have no interest in any government nor have I ever gotten anything from this or any government………I not even a member of any party.

My only interest is having a good government………..a government that is:

Honest
    Takes the people into its confidence
    Manages the economy in a sensible way so as to provide good water services, good delivery of health care, good roads, good education for its children

That in a nutshell is all I want from a government. The DLP cannot provide this, so I think they need to go!

47. Clone
    Prodigal has espoused my sentiments exactly.I am of a home wherein neither politics nor politician had the slightest influence.Indeed my Dad always reminded that the worse person to do you a favour is a politician.You will never be able to live it down.Bajans are no longer a proud people,but we live in hope.This DLP lot and CLICO have virtually destroyed the middle class of this country.

48. @Caswell
    Often what is written on paper (or in law) simply masks the real intent or is used to feign another intent. One should always dig a little deeper than the black and white.

Point is, he’s no longer there under GG’s orders. The why, the evidence and the backdrop become theoretically irrelevant after the fact. The compulsory retirement clause of the Pension Act can be used in cases other than serious misconduct as quoted in the Public Service Act.

Just observing

49. @ Observing
    “Often what is written on paper (or in law) simply masks the real intent or is used to feign another intent. One should always dig a little deeper than the black and white.”
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    WAIT – you serious? ….You wake up groggy from the lotta wukking up right…? ๐Ÿ™‚
    What is written is written.
    What dig what?!?

It is very obvious that employers and government MUST have the authority to retire employees BEFORE the mandatory retirement age. This is necessary because there are always cases where there is MUTUAL agreement that such early retirement is in everyone’s best interest. illness, family circumstances, company changes etc.

If employers DID NOT have such authority in law, such mutual arrangements would be legally shaky, and no insurance company would follow through with pensions etc.

So if employees want to retire early…and employers agree.
    Or where employers want employees to retire early…and employees agree… this provision allows for early retirement.

Except for CLEAR SPECIFIC EXCEPTIONS IN LAW (as where Caswell says that in the Public Service the GG can use early retirement as an option in discipline,) any parting of employee and employer CANNOT and should not be defined as ‘retirement’. Trust the Public Service to come up with some stupid exception….
    It is actually redundancy, dismissal, separation or some other shiite.

Caswell is therefore generally correct.