Clare Cowan
Clare Cowan

Fireworks startedย  the moment concerned Barbadians entered the LESCSย  and were informed questions had to be written down to solicit answers from the panel assembled, including the much talked [โ€ฆ]about Clare Cowan. In her opening statement she communicated the main purpose of the Open House was to debunk untruths being posted on the blog (BU) and Facebook.

A very informed crowd despite not having access to an open mike peppered the panel with questions about the project delivered by an obnoxious moderator. The bottom line: those who attended left unhappy because key questions were not answered or were deflected.

The disappointment for BU was hearing responses to two questions. The first was if Cahill Energy is aware of a plasma gasification plant built on any island of similar size to Barbados anywhere in the world. Clare Cowan answered she was not aware. And the second question: how would environmental standards be enforced – to which Clare Cowan responded a community effort is her best recommendation. She added the government will likely enact legislation borrowed from the UK or Canada to enforce the standards required.

Other interesting observations, not exhaustive:-

• Cowan implored Barbadians to ask the government about how it plans to pass on the benefits of energy savings to Barbados which provokes guffaws from the large and boisterous crowd.
  • Cahill Energy is a company registered in Guernsey with two shareholders.
  • Cowan refused to divulge any details about the agreement with government and cited standard NDA rules.
  • The general EIA was completed but a location specific EIA has to be also done to accompany an application to Town Planning permission.
  • Clare Cowan denied a finders fee was paid on the deal.
  • The TP has to approve for the project to become a reality.
  • Cowan denied Cahill Energy is a shell company.
  • The cost of the plant will be BBD700 million
  • The hazardous waste generated will be shipped to Canada.
  • The Environmentalist engineer on the panel admitted he was clueless about how the proposed plant will treat with Nano particulates.
  • The panel was non committal about the source and volume of water required to support plant operations until the EIS has been completed.
  • The building of the plant will create 700 jobs and to run it 75.
  • There is no plant of proposed size for Barbados operating as a commercially viable operation anywhere in the world.
  • The plantโ€™s design is a 55:45 mix of waste and bio-feedstock.
  • The government has given 15 acres of land to the project at a value (according to Cowan) of two million dollars.
  • Zero Waste Management is a good option to aspire and implement but it does not deal with the waste management problem today.
  • Cahill Energy will work with SBRC and Bโ€™s Recycling because the gasification plant will not accept waste with a low calorific value including metals. Bโ€™s will be paid top dollar for waste.
  • Government officials were not present.
  • Barbados will 3,000 acres of king grass to feed the plant.
  • The investment is projected to have a 19% ROI

Several other points were raised however several questions about the agreement remained unanswered. The meeting started just afterย  7PM and finished promptly at 9.30PM to the relief of Clare Cowan who received โ€˜licks like peasโ€™. An interesting event occurred after the meeting ended, Patrick Frost of BSTU fame address the assemble and urged everyone to analyse the data, continue to have a dispassionate debate and be ready when the EIA is released for public discussion. His intervention drew loud support.

The location of a plasma gasification plant has stirred deep emotions in Barbadians living on the rock. Perhaps it is the memory for some of Greenland.

Feel free to add, let the conversation begin!

148 responses to “Barbadians Turned Out in Large Numbers to say NO to Cahill Waste to Energy Plant”

1. Hants July 23, 2015 at 7:00 PM #

Is that the same list from which Sinkler and Innis want Barbados’ name remover?

2. @ Due Dilligence, yes it is.

3. @Hants

Geurnsey’s name on list must be a mistake, just like Barbados

4. @DAVID,
    THE FIRST MISTAKE I READ IN THE BLOG; BASED OBVIOUSLY ON WHAT WAS DISCUSSED BY THE PARTICIPANTS, AND ONE OF THE REASONS I cut and pasted those articles is the dIfficulty most persons have in distinguishing between a GASIFICATION plant and process, and PLASMA Gasification. There are two different processes producing different results. I am not going to get involved in discussing it beyond requesting that people READ UP on the processes. If people want specific details let them go to the respective web sites. Having seen documentaries on the difficulties persons with original ideas have in getting acceptance of their ideas, and observing the attitudes of Bajans in this 21st century, I can understand why for instance Galilee committed suicide. By the time we in Barbados wake up (i will be dead in any case) and join the 21st century they will be a decade behind.
    There is nothing wrong in asking questions and seeking answers, but to be suspicious, accusative, and distrustful of everything that is brought to the table; especially based on political motivations. THAT is back wARD THINKING..

DID ANYONE EXERCISE SUCH DUE DILIGENCE WITH SSS; AND ITS ASSOCIATION WITH ROBERT VESCO, AND THE BARBADOS GOVERNMENT OF THE DAY?

JUST ASKING. AFTER ALL I AM A MORON.

5. This would be a good time for the Government to strategise terminating the contract.

6. hants keep delivering the paper you are doing a good job, steupse

7. What a coincidence that Alvin Cummins and ac and/or AC have similar initials. Always Confused also carries the initials ac. Prophetic.

8. Here is an idiot file of the Cahill meeting compliments of Bajan Reporter.

https://www.mediafire.com/folder/cejloze2be8ej/Cahill-LESC-WasteOfTime_22July

9. Some Eskimos want to sell the Barbados government igloos to keep people cool

10. Hants

“Just food for thought or rather something to chew on”

So I gather from David’s comment that the middle – class in Barbados is known on the basis of skin colour? Because how else would David’s have known that the middle-class was well represented? Does he know each and everyone of the persons individually? I could have made that assumption of that group of people unless I had known them all personally.

11. Analyzer

And it seems as though you have an IQ like an Icecube; its melts very quickly.

12. [caption id="attachment_47416" align="aligncenter" width="513"]Future Trust Meeting Future Trust Meeting[/caption]

13. Who has been listening to Denis Lowe’s emotional outbursts about those against not able to show plasma gasification plants which have failed anywhere in the world. Yes some Barbadians are against the plant but many others are asking for transparency of the process to inform positions. It shows these politicians are fixated on agendas and have disengaged from opportunities to consult and collaborate with the public.

14. @ David and the Yard Ducks,

If the Venture capitalists who have money to invest, had the same attitude as all you folks, Silicon Valley would never have come into being. If Bill Gates, and the Founder of Apple, had tried to expand their companies from the garages, in which they started, had approached any of you for funding we would not be communicating through this media today. The computer industry would never have gotten off the ground. There were no negative nabobs among the people approached to fund companies that were now starting, companies that needed millions of dollars, but also needed people who could see into the future and were willing to invest those, millions of dollars; in some cases hundreds of millions of dollars, which they needed to get off the ground. Take Amazon as an example. Venture capitalists,: multimillionaire and billionaire, single,or in conglomerates are people who have hundreds of millions of dollars which they are willing to put behind projects where there is the possibility, and probability of getting returns on this investment. If the few Barbadians who have money to invest had not put some of their money in Digicel, there would be not competition in the phone industry in Barbados. Cable and Wireless just bought out Columbus (Flow) for a couple billion dollars, what do you think Flow will do with that money? They will invest it in projects. It is n0t every person who wants to invest is a crook, or is looking to rip off the people of Barbados. Why the suspicion?
    Do you want to drive away the people who want to invest in the country? do you think that the business of finance; involving millions and hundreds of millions of dollars is like going into Massy’s and picking up some rum off the shelf? Do you think that the people who know these venture capitalists work for free? Their occupation is to seek out, projects; especially projects in their infancy, convince these people (or companies) to invest their money in the project, and wait for their returns. They too expect to get returns from the project and also become rich. It is not the people of the country who have to make the initial investment. The Venture capitalists are the ones taking the chances. The money is returned to them and the terms and conditions are negotiatedBut political agendas should not interfere because the people in general benefit in the end depending on the arrangements that are negotiated and made.
    You people are too small minded. Grow up and enter the world.

Later

15. de Ingrunt Word Avatar
    de Ingrunt Word

Cummings when you write this stuff how many ‘Hail Marys’ or prayers of forgiveness do you do afterwards. For a sensible fellow you really talk a lot of piffle.

Suffice to say that every businessman wants to make a profit and left to their own self interest the most unscrupulous of venture capitalist would decimate their surroundings as long as they got the big ROI.

If Barbados misses out in the first wave of investment in a Gates or Jobs’ like new technology then so be it. We can get on board on the second or third round of investment.

Being a front runner can be great but there is also no harm in taking a careful approach to new technologies. Particularity when a large swatch of people are affected.

To equate business startups to a large scale national project is the height of intellectual and practical stupidity/hypocrisy.

Your comments are really very indicative of your absolutely biased perspective on this matter.

How do otherwise intelligent people become so ridiculously compromised! Shameful really.

16. ReEXECUTIVE SUMMARY
    Studies that have comprehensively reviewed gasification, pyrolysis and plasma in- cinerators have found that they provide little to no benefit when compared to mass burn incinerators, while being an even riskier investment. For example, the Ficht- ner Consulting Engineers report The Viability of Advanced Thermal Treatment in the UK commissioned by the United Kingdom Environmental Services Training in 2004 states that, โ€œMany of the perceived benefits of gasification and pyrolysis over combustion technology proved to be unfounded. These perceptions have arisen mainly from inconsistent comparisons in the absence of quality information.โ€1 The core impacts of all types of incinerators remain the same: they are toxic to public health, harmful to the economy, environment and climate, and undermine recycling and waste reduction programs.

17. @Dee Wors

From one ac to the other…

There is a reason why a segment with certain characteristics are described as early adopters.

18. Alvin Cummins July 23, 2015 at 8:02 PM #

โ€œDID ANYONE EXERCISE SUCH DUE DILIGENCE WITH SSS; AND ITS ASSOCIATION WITH ROBERT VESCO, AND THE BARBADOS GOVERNMENT OF THE DAY? JUST ASKING. AFTER ALL I AM A MORON.โ€

Utter nonsense.

For example, supposed in 1960, John Jones was arrested and charged for committing a crime. However, based on the evidence and the limited scope of forensic science available at that time, he was found not guilty.
    In 2015, Bob Hart, under similar circumstances, was arrested and charged for committing a similar offence. Based on the evidence, substantiated by improved methods of forensic investigations, Hart was found guilty.

By stating your above comments, you are essentially saying that Bob Hart has the has a right to say his case should be tried under similar procedures to that of Jones, so he (Hart) could be found not guilty as well.

In other word, since, in your opinion, people did not exercise due diligence with SSS and VESCO under a former BLP administration, so they should โ€œexercise such due diligence withโ€ Cahill.

Cummins, the more you contribute to BU, especially with your irrational way of thinking, the more you prove Bushieโ€™s point that YOU ARE INDEED A MORON.

Unlike Bushie, based pun de shiite analysis you does comes wid, I honestly believe you is a YARD GOAT. 99% goat and 1% rope.

19. ac July 23, 2015 at 5:48 PM #

โ€œAfter much debate and cross talk the EPA gave final approval on the air permit for the WTE plant in PR this is another blow to the environmentalist as they race against time to protect their financial empire in solar and landfills and other up and running waste management and energy saving projects.โ€

Seems as though you live in Puerto Rico that you could mention, with such assurance (and presumptuously so), that โ€œAs for the environmentalist their job is done. leaving the fall out and damage for the politics and people to correct.โ€

You lot are only โ€œgrabbing at strawsโ€ and in doing so, you are totally misrepresenting the information.

It is clearly evident that, based on the information you posted relative to โ€œThe US Environmental Protection Agency has given its final approval for an air permit for a planned waste-to-energy plant in Arecibo, Puerto Rico,โ€ you have not read Energy Answers press release of November 2014, in which Energy Answers admitted, although the project finally received approval, EAI has not commenced construction of the plant because of โ€œon-going negotiations with municipalities and opposition from local environmental groups.โ€

Additionally, you should also read the โ€œFederal Register: The Daily Journal of the United States Governmentโ€: A Notice by the Rural Utilities Service on January 14, 2015, entitled:
    โ€œEnergy Answers Arecibo Puerto Rico Renewable Energy Project: Notice of Extension of Public Comment Period, Notice of Public Scoping Meeting and Intent to Prepare an Environmental Impact Statement.โ€

Your political bias is obviously clouding your judgment and preventing from commenting on this issue in a rational manner. The time has come for you to DESIST from POLITICIZING EVERY ISSUE and making it into a BLP versus DLP scenario.

20. de Ingrunt Word July 24, 2015 at 9:04 AM #

โ€œCummings when you write this stuff how many โ€˜Hail Marysโ€™ or prayers of forgiveness do you do afterwards. For a sensible fellow you really talk a lot of piffle.โ€

Stuuuuppppssse, De Word, you is a Saint, Priest or an Angel, or wuh? What the bloody hell is โ€œpiffle.โ€

Man call a spade a spade and state, โ€œFor a โ€˜sensibleโ€™ fellow you does really talk a lot of SHIITE.โ€

Otherwise, I endorse your comments.

21. Yes senor artexeres u can pick and choose and make whatever uvwant of the article however the direction given from the EPA points as one of a clear indication of the WTE plant being built in PR inspire of the environmentalist opposing.

22. De Ingrunt Word says: if Barbados misses out in the first wave of investment in a Gates or Jobs’ like new technology, then so be it. We can get on board on the second and third round of investment.

David, you must have known, as Bushie and Hants did, that De Ingrunt statement is lacking in substance, and is in want of the evidentiary glue to hold it together. De Ingrunt, your position above is in my mind the psychological -equivalence of the employee who plays group lotto regularly at work, and it so happened that on this particular day he decided not to play, and that particular day was the day the group hit the winning number. And I am quite sure the poor fella is probably now wondering what might have been had he played that particular day in question. The moral of the story is this: opportunity of this nature does not present itself on the second and third round as De Ingrunt seems to believe. Sometime this is a once in a lifetime opportunity and any conscience thinker would be a fool not to jump on board.

23. Sorry: I meant to say conscientious thinker, but often my cognitive insufficiency beats me to it.

24. Could not resist cutting and pasting this.

The Haircut

“Blessed are those that can give without remembering, and take without forgetting.โ€

One day a florist went to a barber for a haircut. After the cut, he asked about his bill, and the barber replied, ‘I cannot accept money from you, I’m doing community service this week.โ€
    The florist was pleased and left the shop.

When the barber went to open his shop the next morning, there was a ‘thank you’ card and a dozen roses waiting for him at his door.

Later, a rum shop proprietor comes in for a haircut, and when he tries to pay his bill, the barber again replies, ‘I cannot accept money from you, I’m doing community service this week.’
    The proprietor was happy and left the shop.

The next morning when the barber went to open up, there was a ‘thank you’ card and a bottle of rum waiting for him at his door.

Then a Member of Parliament came in for a haircut, and when he went to pay his bill , the barber again replied, ‘I cannot accept money from you. I’m doing community service this week
    The Member of Parliament was very happy and left the shop.

The next morning, when the barber went to open up, there were a dozen Members of Parliament lined up waiting for a free haircut.

And that, my friends, illustrates the fundamental difference between the citizens of Barbados and the politicians who run it.

25. re: David July 24, 2015 at 10:53 AM #

Very impressive woman

“Are ya gunna listen orare ya gunna jeer?”

The beneficial owners may want to find another face of Cahill.

26. Due Dilligence

And who don’t know that Barbadian politicians and those in high office are freeloaders? And how long have you been in a coma?

27. Dompey

It was supposed to be joke

28. Due Dilligence

But it is a joke five decades too late, I am afraid to say.

29. @ Artax
    I honestly believe you is a YARD GOAT. 99% goat and 1% rope.
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    Ha Ha Ha
    ROTFLAMFAPM
    Classic!!!

@ DD
    “Dompey ….It was supposed to be joke”
    Skippa, you dealing with 60% goat and 38% rope.
    …the rest is stuff to be flushed….

30. @Dompey I was being sarcastic and it is kind of a joke. It seems that the government might be just as gullible (or want us to be gullible) to enter an igloo project as to enter a plasma gasification project.
    That’s how crazy it seems to me. But I’m glad you pointed that out, it shows that you aren’t that gullible or maybe you are if you thought I was serious.

31. Bush Tea

Man, you should receive a reward for talking a load of crap with belies reason and in want of commmon-sense. Remember now Bushie, I have already drealt with the intellectual infrastructure of brain as infinitesimal as your own, and it was pretty by any means.

32. Analyzer, man I marvel at the way in which some people endeavours to insult the collective intelligence of the masses. Bushie and his associates here on BU, do not seem to know how to distinguish between when someone is employing humour, or taking poetic authority.

33. @ Dompey
    What you did that too? How? I can’t go back and read everything.

34. Bush Tea

It is mindblogging how you view those who you do not necessarily agree with your half-baked antiquated reasoning, as short of common-sense. But let me inform your thinking regarding this fundamental principle: Bushie, you’re liken to the race -horse who the jockey puts the blinkers on to keep it from seeing to the right or to the left; he looks straight ahead and runs forward under the whip with the hardiness and vigour of ignorance.

35. Bushie, it is not without reason to say to you that: it is one thing to believe that you know the way to salvation, and quite another thing to force others to walk that way. Have you forgotten about private judgment and individual conscience Bushie? You cannot force another to think and act as you do because you believe in your own mind that it is the right way. People have the right to choose even if those choices belies common-sense or militates against reason.

36. @ Dompey
    Bush Tea ..It is mindblogging how you view those who you do not necessarily agree with…
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    …Is this some kind of half-baked “blogging of the mind” …where Bushie’s blogging causes your mind to quiver and fumble? ๐Ÿ™‚

Skipper, you “don’t know the half” of how Bushie view you and your partner-in-ignorance AC …..Donkey and j(AC)kass
    ..the “mindblogging” twins…
    Ohhh shiirt….!!

37. @David,

“On the other hand, the contributions written by the former are always brilliantly constructed and methodically composed, thereby highlighting the intelligence of the authors. These contributions cause us to think rationally and discuss issues with equal rationality.

Those “written by the former…
    include those by Bushie. You call contributions by Bushie, and island gal,”brilliantly constructed and methodically composed? Yard duck poo!

38. Based on the video clip I am left concluding that Clare Cowen is a washed-up drunk.

39. There must be a reason that these j(AC)’s are obsessed with Bushie…

Alvin, Bushie is in no competition with you, David or anyone else for that matter…
    Certainly not trying to impress you with literary skills, logic, fluency or any such shiite…
    What do you NOT understand about being a bushman? ..with a whacker? …and a heavy disdain for shiite-talkers like you?

The difference between Bushie and most other bloggers is that most are nice decent people …who step over shit when they see or smell it…..BUT Bushie does whack every shiite skippa…. ๐Ÿ™‚

If you; the other idiot AC; or the donkey cannot stand the sting of the nylon…. do like Peter Wickham and go on Brass Tacks instead —where you could switch off people like bushie when the whacker start to bite…..
    …the other alternative would be to start writing intelligently on BU, but we can see that this is a bridge too far for you….

40. Bush Tea

I shall hearken to the wise and trusted counsel of my beloved mother who taught me by much effort the importance of patiance, and how to reframe from surrendering my pride and dignity, whenever, I am tempted to respond to the malignancy and degradative commentary of your sort. Only an intellectual coward would continually resort to ad hominem as much as you do because you lack the intellectual wherewithal to sustain and intelligent argument without assaulting the character of whomever you’re discoursing with. Bushie, a word to the wise: lettered people attack arguments and not people; you ought to have learn that important lesson by now. And lastly, the memorization and regurgitation of knowledge beholding to someone else doesn’t by any stretched of the human imagination makes one smart.

41. de Ingrunt Word Avatar
    de Ingrunt Word

Artax, based on your absolutely proper scientific measurements of Cumming’s comments I am obliged to clarify for you that ‘piffle’ is in fact 90% gaseous/aerated and 10% solid/watery matter, in short the same shiiiite you awesomely described.

It assaults the nasal passage just as harshly.

42. Bush Tea

There isn’t anything of value you have to add to the discourse here, as a matter of fact, you epitomized and embodies the very dictum of the French philosopher Rene Descartes: Cogito ergo sum… I think therefore I am. You think like a nincompoop and you’re the biggest nincompoop on this blog to date. Bushie, lets be honest here for just one moment: who in the academic world would take anything you have to say with a germ of solemnity?

43. Bushie, you’re an idiot. And a loud mouth who is obviously compensating for the want attention you had been denied as a child. Now, good night… and don’t forget to wrap those two swollen ankles prior to going to bed. later!

44. Looking at the picture has me puzzled. It dos not reflect the Barbados that I knew over 30 years ago. Has the society change that much, or does it reflect inaction by some segments of the population?

45. Observer, you can so that again brother. I left over 30 years ago and I can’t help but to agree with you more.

46. @TheObserver

What it shows is that there is a minority segment of our population which have their priorities right. The environment i.e. the space we need to exist, is fragile and we need to make sensible decisions. Just last week we heard the view forwarded the mobile oil spill in the Gulf a few years ago is the reason for the drift of sargassum seaweed.