Submitted by William Skinner
Toni Moore, General Secretary, BWU and Akanni Mc Dowall, President, NUPW

Refreshingly, the new young leadership of the two major trade unions has made its collective presence felt. This is good because we all know that the old guard had become soft and was not prepared to take on the current administration.

[…]

Both the Barbados Labour Party and the Democratic Labour Party have always been well served by our union leadership. The history is there and those who were involved in trade unions going back to the sixties know the script.

I can only hope that these new young and vibrant trade unionists are not in the pockets already of either the Government or Her Majesty’s Opposition. We all know how the political opportunists operate: when in opposition you march with the workers; when in government you simply do not. Bet your bottom dollar that those who are so much in love with the unions today, may not be that romantic when they are calling the shots!

The question as asked by Smokey Burke in one of his popular love songs is :Where do we go from here…he continued : I am not trying to discourage you in any way my dear/but I have had so many broken hearts in my life time before /that I am afraid I can’t take on any more. And finally: Falling in love is not a game at all / You may be out for kicks but I can’t take no licks because my heart is not a ball…”

For the better part of forty years the workers in Barbados have been given the short end of the stick. I am speaking of ALL workers. In terms of the professional bodies, they have not feared too well: nurses, teachers , police, junior doctors have all been fighting uphill battles. We have seen employers bluntly refuse to recognize unions; workers being fired without any compassion. In recent times, the so-called Social Partnership was used as a sophisticated public relations tool . This partnership became so “successful” that, it was impossible to tell the difference between the unionists and the workers. Just like the pigs and the farmers, after a while, on Animal Farm.

So, I score round one for the unions and their forthright stance. Now, I await, with guarded optimism, to see what will the rest of the struggle look like. I refuse to be a pessimist and castigate young leaders for making use of the opportunities to be useful agents of social change. They are to be complimented .I hope they rely on real on independent thinkers and advisers. Our country needs an infusion of young ,fearless leaders at all levels.

This talk about youth leadership is a sorry red herring. Arthur, Mottley, Stuart, Jones, Inniss and many others are very young people and they started their careers no older than the two leaders of the BWU and NUPW. Quite frankly in terms of public involvement, we have always had very young citizens actively involved. So let us get off this silly criticism of McDowall (NUPW) and Moore (BWU). Judge them by their contributions not their birth certificates.

The workers of Barbados must be like Smokey Burke and tell the opportunists that love is not a game at all. Quite frankly all of the political management class should listen to this love ballad.’Cause if they only out for kicks, the workers can’t take no more licks. Their hearts are not balls.

113 responses to “Toni Moore and Akanni McDowall: No More Licks!”

1. Caswell Franklyn

I have long abandon my faith in the Union because I have noticed ( have been a delegate myself) a progressive decline in the representation of the Union for its membership from as early as the 90’s to the present. Now, I am speaking from my personal experience and I am quite sure that many of the present day membership would share my sentiment.

2. If there were winners in the recent BIDC issue , it wasn’t labour, it was the Private sector . The unions will sit now to determine what is the most humane way to sent home 10 BIDC ees.

3. Why strike because of option forms – couldn’t the union simply ask its members not to complete the option forms until advised by the union? Or was the objective really to strike?

4. A good question Alien. This is what happens when the IR climate is fractured and fractious.

5. — CHAUCER July 18, 2015 at 10:04 AM # —

The unions seemed to suggest that the strike was about respect for the unions and the failure of the BIDC to discuss the planned terminations with the unions before proceeding. Even if the final termination packages are not as attractive as the initial ones, the unions will have received their respect and discussion. Do unions in Barbados have strike funds for members that strike?

6. HAMILTON A HILL Avatar
    HAMILTON A HILL

@ Dompey…. How do you tie your every argument to American experience? Since that seems to be your way answer me this. If we employed the American standards here, where do you think Dr Lowe, Michael Lashley and Michael Carington would be right now? Not to mention Leroy Parris. Rather than glorify the DLP you left behind years ago, lobby those we have today to adopt the American way you seem to love. Using your American system tell us how long any state, much less the entire country would have accepted the obvious contempt for the electorate exhibited by the Honorable Freundel Stuart? Tell me dat Dompey.

7. HAMILTON A HILL Avatar
    HAMILTON A HILL

@ alien…. I think the point of sticking to protocol is most important here. Surely those sitting on the BRA side of negotiations knew that such a move could serve to do nothing more than bring contention. Should those forms not have gone through the representative body of the workers? Isn’t such a move akin to a marriage counsellor making contact with one spouse behind the back of the other? Would such be seen as acceptable?

8. HAMILTON A HILL Avatar
    HAMILTON A HILL

On top of it all the unions are dealing with a set of BLASTED LIARS. That cannot be denied, and certainly should not be discounted.

9. Hamilton Hill

Most if not the greater majority of theorists as well as the practioners would agree that there is a pressing need for the appropriate checks and balances, as well as the sustainable transparency which wars against the kind of improprities committed by certain elements of the Barbadian government. But wait, surely you’re not anticipating that government will institute the sort of ethics which wars against their own corruptive conduct? So Hamilton, my question to you is this: who do you really think is charged with the civic duty and responsibility of hold our political leaders answerable and accountability for they ill-conduct? You have read American political history ought to be cognizant of the answer I hope? All in all, the entire American way of life can testify to the fact that change in the current state of affairs has never been given voluntary by the ruling elements of government; it has been achieved through the legistrative process, but under the influenced and guide of social militancy.

10. Workers in Barbados are better represented than those in America, when the total picture is taken into consideration. When we look at benefits such as vacations and maternity leave America is at the bottom of the world ratings. I quote: ” According to the United Nations’ International Labour Organization, there are only two countries in the world that don’t have some form of legally protected, partially paid time off for working women who’ve just had a baby: Papua New Guinea and the U.S.”

11. HAMILTON A HILL Avatar
    HAMILTON A HILL

@ Dompey….. All I really ask you is if you are so much into trying to tie every occurrence in Barbados to the American way of doing things, how in hell are you trying to defend the aforementioned? You didn’t answer…….but then again I guess ya did.

12. William Skinner, I strongly disagree with your information that Unionized American workers are amongst the poorly represented in the world? The fact of the matter is the unionized American is amongst the highest paid in the world with a retirement package that is next to none. When we speak of the Union in America we cannot speak of it unilaterally as some done here. Union benefits varies from state to state and union to union brother.

13. William Skinner

Let me give an example of my rate of paid and tell me if it is comparable to the Unionized worker in Barbados.

Now, let us assumed that I am paid at a rate of 50 hrs according to the binding- union-contract, and it so happened that I worked my 1st shilft from 6:00am ending at 2:00pm. And on this particular day the 2nd shilf decides to called and there is no one to be founded that will cover the 2nd shift. Then by binding-union-contract I am mandated at a rate of Double Time and a Haft, which in essence means that I am paid at a rate of 150 an hour. Does the Barbadian unionized worker enjoy such reward skinner?

14. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Alien

You asked a very good question. The members of my union were not on strike because option forms were made available. The Public Service Act requires government to fill vacant post within a year. Rather than fill the posts, as required by law, the Government has taken a deliberate policy to ignore the law and not fill the posts. Some of these posts remain vacant for more than ten years. Mind you, officers have been acting in these posts, without the benefit of the appointment. In some cases, officers have been acting three of four grades above their substantive post.

My members are insisting that Government follow the law and fill the post. Are you aware that of the 20 most senior posts in the Customs and Excise Department only one person is appointed to his post. All the others are acting. I am told that an officer remains temporary after having been recruited in 1999.

I am not responsible for how others articulate their case. My members are not interested in working in the BRA, so option forms are not relevant to their cases. The last person to be substantively appointed to a customs officer post received that appointment in 2007. My members require the substantive appointments that they are entitled to under the provisions of subsections 13 (7), 13 (8) and paragraph 9 of the Recruitment and Employment Code of the Public Service Act.

I hope that you have a different perspective.

15. William Skinner

And why would any unionized American worker would wish to have maternity leave? When all American workers are entitled to FMLA, the Family Medical Leave Act which is federally mandated especially for women who are giving birth.

16. @ William Skinner

An American worker unionized or otherwise can apply for FML A ( the Family Medical Leave Act) which takes the worker’s vacation, sick and personal time and apply it to the pregnant worker’s totally leave if she should run out of vacation time during this period. There is also a clause in our binding contract which entitled employees to donate their vacation, sick, or personal time to this pregnant worker if she should run out of time during this period as well.

17. http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2015/07/18/customs-officers-strike-over-move-to-bra/

“…the Customs officers refused to report to their work stations, arguing that they were being coerced by management into signing option forms so they could be absorbed into the BRA…”

18. If a person is “acting” in a position for 6 months or more and does the job competently they should be appointed to that position.

19. Colonel Buggy Avatar

William Skinner July 18, 2015 at 11:15 AM
    A few years ago I paid one of my regular visits to a large US manufacturing plant, with branches throughout the country. An executive , who I regularly deal with, was over the moon as the company had just introduced a pension plan for its workers .He enquired if my company (back in Barbados) had such a plan,and was a bit taken back ,when I replied that we had one in operation for the last 25 years.

20. @Caswell

Why are the unions not singing from the same sheet as far as the Customs is concerned.

21. Colonel Buggy Avatar

Dompey July 18, 2015 at 12:37 PM #
    In some cases ,Bro, when a worker in Barbados,at least at some companies, is asked to work past his normal shift, lets say 7am to 4 pm, he is paid at “Time and a Half”, and if the work goes past 7.30 pm , he is paid a Dinner Allowance, and if he finishes work after the last bus departs the terminal,alternative transport is provided to take him home.

22. @ Dompey,
    First I never said “unionised” My submission was workers in general, in Barbados, are better represented. Maybe I should have said better treated or that there is more progressive legislation governing worker and Labour rights in Barbados than there is in the U.S
    Your position on the FMLA is grossly inaccurate. Thee Family Leave Act (FMLA) grants up to 12 weeks unpaid leave a year but it only applies to full time workers with companies with 50 or more employees.Only about half of all working Americans are covered by FMLA. When it comes to paid leave it is even worse: only about 12 percent of American workers have access to it in the U.S.according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics. For you to opine that any American worker is covered by the FMLA is a gross inaccuracy.

23. @ Dompey,

I quote: ” Unless you work for a company that voluntarily offers it, or in one of three states, paid maternity leave does not exist in the U.S.” You cannot find any Federal Law to support your position because it simply does not exist to cover every American worker , as you stated.

24. William Skinner

Let me reiterate once more: there is obviously need for maternity leave when President Bill Clinton signed into the law the FMLA to addressed the problem of maternity leave.

25. William Skinner

Question: and how long can a woman in Barbados take maternity leave without losing her job?

26. @ Colonel Buggy,
    I am not surprised. About 15 years ago, I told a group of American university graduates that Barbados and many Caribbean islands had free education, at that time, from kindergarten to university, they were stunned. When I told them that you could turn up at a hospital and be treated without insurance they thought I was teasing them. When I told them that government/public owned high schools were far more prestigious than private schools they honestly thought that I was just making up things.
    Years ago I took some Americans to a government unit at Kensington Lodge in the city. When I told them that the rent was probably less than 300US per month, they could not believe it !

27. William Skinner

You’re quite correct… companies in America do not offer maternity leave because federal mandate has taken care of that problem.

28. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

I can’t answer that. I take my instructions from the workers and that is the position that I am duty bound to articulate.

29. @ Dompey,
    If you want to really understand progressive laws governing such things as maternity leave , please check Sweden. America is at the bottom. As for your question regarding maternity leave in Barbados, this may help you or you can consult an active trade unionist:
    (Cap. 345A)
    Purpose: To provide for the grant of maternity leave and for the protection of the employment of those employees during such leave.

Key Features:

An employee is required to provide a certificate from a medical practitioner advising the expected date of confinement; or a certificate issued by a medical practitioner or a midwife advising the actual date of confinement.
    To qualify for a grant of maternity leave an employee must be employed for at least twelve (12) months.
    Maternity leave is granted for a period of not less than twelve (12) weeks. It may be granted as a period not exceeding six (6) weeks prior to the expected date of confinement and not less than six (6) weeks after the date of confinement.
    A medical practitioner may recommend up to six (6) weeks additional leave for illness arising out of such confinement.
    The right not to be dismissed or to be given notice of dismissal between the date of delivery given on the medical certificate and the expiration of maternity leave or additional maternity leave granted.
    The right not to be given notice of dismissal which expires during maternity leave or additional maternity leave or to be dismissed during such leave.
    The right not to be dismissed or required to resign because of pregnancy.
    The right not to be required to resign during maternity leave or additional maternity leave.
    The right on resumption of work following maternity leave, to seniority rights and reinstatement in the former work or equivalent work.

30. William Skinner

Did you tell those same Americans what percentage of Barbadians made it to the tertiary level? And did you informed those Americans about the long wait at QEH and the quality of care? And did those American college graduates informed you of the starting salary of an university graduate in the United States?

31. @ Dompey,
    I was merely trying to enlighten them on the progressive social services that the region/Barbados had at the time of the talk. I have been told that a visit to an American emergency room can be as long as five hours if the injury/ailmentis not life threatening, even if you have insurance. I have also been reliably informed that many American graduates are now working for as little as 400 per week in jobs that were once attractive to those who only had high school diplomas. You must remember that America is the richest country in the world and most states in America have bigger economies than Barbados and most islands in our region.

32. William Skinner

An expecting mother can take up to a year of FMLA, and if her vacation, sick and personal leave runs out within that allotted year. She can still continue her leave uninterrupted without pay and return to work within the prescribed time. I am afraid to concluded that the same doesn’t hold true for the expecting Barbadian worker?

33. @ Dompey,
    I hope you understand that whereas in Barbados, there is paid maternity leave, no such thing exists in the U.S. And as I stated earlier the FMLA has several anti-worker clauses. You will find that the Barbados Laws are better for the worker and more progressive.

34. William Skinner

You know if some American college graduates are now working for as little 400 per week and in jobs that were once reserved for persons with high school diplomas. You know that university graduates in Barbados are out of working or are employed in areas of employment which once was reserved with persons with meager skills.

35. @ Dompey,
    Again let me quote: “According to the United Nations’ International Labour Organization, there are only two countries in the world that don’t have some form of legally protected, partially paid time off for working women who’ve lost a baby: Papua New Guinea and the U.S. ”
    In other words , there is no Federal Law in the U.S. that makes it legal to pay maternity leave. Paid maternity leave simply does not exist in the U.S.
    As a matter of fact, a bill, the Family act, has been stalled in Congress for over a year. The Bill will make employers pay new parents paid leave at 66% of their salary. Even supporters of this Bill know it would still be inadequate because of the median household income of Americans.

36. William Skinner

Let us agree to disagree, agreeably regarding the topics of maternity leave in Barbados and FMLA in the U.S. We aren’t a in qualified position neither can with speak with any authority on these two matters of deliberation.

37. The circus continues.
    If the trade union movement were serious, there would have been by now a meeting of all leaders to flesh out separate but philosophically related issues and then a true united show of force put forward to the government. But, crap, oh yes, each one is more concerned about their own agenda, and issues, and members. Unity is only convenient if there can be a national strike.

Case in point, Caswell is arguing appointments, BWU/NUPW arguing about forms and dialogue. SSA striking for pay that they don’t automatically deserve, NUPW is “begging” the board to have a heart and pay the workers. Customs on go slow(er), so businesses are screwed an BWU employees suffer indirectly, and the “powers that be” continue like normal.

@david
    You mentioned fractious industrial relations climate on another thread. I suspect worse is to come.

Will the REAL leaders PLEASE stand up?

Just observing

38. William Skinner

I shall concluded on this fact: years ago my wife applied for FMLA, with our second child. And during the course of her pregnancy she exhausted every bit of her vacation, sick and personal leave; and went without pay for a short stint before returning to her regular position at her job after a year.

39. Will the current NUPW executive swear by affidavit that Mia Mottley did not make a sizeable Financial contribution to any of them in the last NUPW election for “campaign expenses”?

40. Let us not be indignant in our view of the old guard who has for sometime stood the test, and served the better interest of the membership, before succumbing to the seductive enticement of the self-interest. Time I might add will be the barometer which will determining whether or not this new essence of juvenility will stay anchored to principles of honesty and selfless-service to the membership.

41. Observing

And what’s wrong with the three major union grappling over the different concerns for their membership? Are you saying that a consolidation of these three major unions will put added pressure on government and force it to the table of negotiation quicker?

42. @ Dompey,
    There is no paid maternity leave in the U.S. The emphasis here is “paid”. The two countries in the world that do not have it are : Papua New Guinea and the U.S. I howver enjoyed the exchange very much and hope we can enlighten each other from time to time.

43. are-we-there-yet Avatar

Observing;

Re. your 3:59 pm post;

I never thought I’d live to see the day that Dompey (see his 5:57 post) would have corrected a misconception of yours. Time to take another break.

44. It is clear that nupw is now lead by a bunch of lunatics, How can you appeal to the ssa board to have a heart and pay workers for work not done. SSA not one cent they must receive, Unions should pay for the withdrawal of labour. Is Wayne Waldrond for real. Then again what had become of the case when he spent sometime at Central Police station, Thanks to the last General Secretary.

45. William Skinner

Where have I argued that any state or company in America for that matter offered their employees paid maternity leave? I have even heard the term maternity leave since I migrated to the States a little over thirty years ago.

46. William Skinner

Don’t quote me on this one, but if my standard memory bank serves me correctly, I do believe that a lot of the thinking behind the Family Medical Leave Act (FMLA) was due in part to the lack of maternity leave coverage for those employed women of child bearing age.

47. William Skinner

I am more than certain that you will never hear an expecting American woman speaking of maternity leave. And to be quite honest the last time I have heard that term mentioned in any conversation was when mother was pregnant with her last child some forty years ago.

48. @Observing

The latest is the NUPW asking for a meetings with the MoL to clarify what they described as a misunderstanding. It is amazing intelligent people went into a room and could not agree to joint position. The BU household took a drive around the country tpday and the garbage pileup continues. It is really embarrassing what is unraveling in Barbados.

49. @Are you there yet

You know, I really dread the idea of empowering my ego with respect to my intellectual prowess when compared to persons of your sort here on BU. But let me say this much my learned friend: your jovial characterization of my intellectual-stance is in my view a reckless-extrapolation and a product of pure guesswork with meets with some measure of superficiality. That’s all I have to say in response to your facile analysis of who you perceived me to be.

50. are-we-there-yet Avatar

Dompey;

Oops! Yuh got dat rite too!