Submitted by William Skinner
Toni Moore, General Secretary, BWU and Akanni Mc Dowall, President, NUPW

Refreshingly, the new young leadership of the two major trade unions has made its collective presence felt. This is good because we all know that the old guard had become soft and was not prepared to take on the current administration.

[…]

Both the Barbados Labour Party and the Democratic Labour Party have always been well served by our union leadership. The history is there and those who were involved in trade unions going back to the sixties know the script.

I can only hope that these new young and vibrant trade unionists are not in the pockets already of either the Government or Her Majesty’s Opposition. We all know how the political opportunists operate: when in opposition you march with the workers; when in government you simply do not. Bet your bottom dollar that those who are so much in love with the unions today, may not be that romantic when they are calling the shots!

The question as asked by Smokey Burke in one of his popular love songs is :Where do we go from here…he continued : I am not trying to discourage you in any way my dear/but I have had so many broken hearts in my life time before /that I am afraid I can’t take on any more. And finally: Falling in love is not a game at all / You may be out for kicks but I can’t take no licks because my heart is not a ball…”

For the better part of forty years the workers in Barbados have been given the short end of the stick. I am speaking of ALL workers. In terms of the professional bodies, they have not feared too well: nurses, teachers , police, junior doctors have all been fighting uphill battles. We have seen employers bluntly refuse to recognize unions; workers being fired without any compassion. In recent times, the so-called Social Partnership was used as a sophisticated public relations tool . This partnership became so “successful” that, it was impossible to tell the difference between the unionists and the workers. Just like the pigs and the farmers, after a while, on Animal Farm.

So, I score round one for the unions and their forthright stance. Now, I await, with guarded optimism, to see what will the rest of the struggle look like. I refuse to be a pessimist and castigate young leaders for making use of the opportunities to be useful agents of social change. They are to be complimented .I hope they rely on real on independent thinkers and advisers. Our country needs an infusion of young ,fearless leaders at all levels.

This talk about youth leadership is a sorry red herring. Arthur, Mottley, Stuart, Jones, Inniss and many others are very young people and they started their careers no older than the two leaders of the BWU and NUPW. Quite frankly in terms of public involvement, we have always had very young citizens actively involved. So let us get off this silly criticism of McDowall (NUPW) and Moore (BWU). Judge them by their contributions not their birth certificates.

The workers of Barbados must be like Smokey Burke and tell the opportunists that love is not a game at all. Quite frankly all of the political management class should listen to this love ballad.’Cause if they only out for kicks, the workers can’t take no more licks. Their hearts are not balls.

113 responses to “Toni Moore and Akanni McDowall: No More Licks!”

1. The above should have read: “…………..it was impossible to tell the difference between the unionists and the employers……..” Not the unionists and the workers. My apologies.

2. It seems Toni Moore did a good job of rubbaging minister Byer’s statement.

3. Hamilton Hill Avatar

Well put Sir, now only time will tell. One gets the sense that intimidatory tactics will be ignored. I kept praying that somebody would ask our PM (peace maker) what difference would it make who spoke on the union’s behalf? Was it about the message, and not the messenger? If memory serves correctly it was Donville Inniss and not the minister of finance who offered clarity on the decimal point debacle. The PM (peace maker) needs to understand that for too long now the integrity of trade unionism has been compromised. It became further compromised when this admiinistration used a well known credit union advocate to shove a financial suppository up the asses of members, and in so doing showed all and sundry how long held beliefs are often altered through political affiliation. I say lets all salute and support this gathering of young Turks.We can do no worse than we have under the old guard.

4. BAJAN BROWN SUGAR Avatar
    BAJAN BROWN SUGAR

If these two young leaders were representing the union when the NCC workers were given walking papers I wounder what the outcome would be.

5. de Ingrunt Word Avatar
    de Ingrunt Word

@Skinner, to paraphrase you: ” those who were involved in [politics] going back to the sixties know the script.”

With that said why are we even ‘pic’ing our teeth’ over the remarks about youth and immaturity. Age discrimination/criticism is also part of the script.

Didn’t a young Barrow called Adams an ‘old man’, wasn’t Thompson called a ‘boy wet behind the ears’. Do we not now disparage Owen Arthur as old and outdated and other such ridiculous comments.

Par for the course. Was always so and will always be so. As you suggest the focus is on whether they know their stuff or not….seems they do.

Oh, and we generally expect our leaders to show their leadership skills from an early age. It’s just that when we disagree with them we call them immature!

We also say we value the wisdom and experience of our elder statesmen/women but when we disagree we call them fossils.

So as you say, focus on the issues!

6. @David
    IS BWU a part of the Social Partnership? Were they represented at the subcommittee meeting?

7. Agree wholeheartedly with this article.
    It is TRULY heartwarming to hear young leaders talk and ACT in support of THE RIGHT THINGS being done for everyone….even at a cost to the damn economy.
    The old guard were (are) only interested in who is in which camp; which Lodge; from which school; and who pass the kickbacks….

Even if Toni, Akanni and Caswell have to shut the damn place down for a month and bring us old dishonest fogeys to our knees…and to CRIPPLE the damn economy….
    …it will be WELL worth it to regain a bit of INTEGRITY in public life bout here….

Bushie KNOWS that as long as Caswell in involved it will be VERY difficult for these young leaders to stray from the path of RIGHTNESS….

Bushie has therefore made a generous donation to his refuse collectors in THANKS for their heroic actions this week. If most right-minded Bajans did the same over the next week it would signal our commitment of support to those who do the right things at personal cost.

8. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Mr. Skinner

You claimed that we all know that the old guard had become soft. Sorry, I must dispute that, they did not become soft, they allowed themselves to become corrupt by things like duty free cars, Blackberries, donations from Chefette for union functions, truck loads of free Arawak cement when building your mansion on the hill, friendships, national honours and an assortment of other inducements. They were not biting the hands that fed them.

9. I find that we need input from all age groups to make a balanced decision. I applaud the unions for standing up in the face of the erosion of workers’ rights. After the dust settles They should also try to educate the workers on the importance of doing a good job at their workplaces in order to take this country forward. Somehow we must get past the fact that the persons above us may not be the best (square pegs in round holes sometimes) and do our part to the best of our abilities. I know from experience that It is extremely hard to do but we can no longer afford to dawdle. We are on a slippery slope. New attitudes need to be encouraged among workers for the survival of our nation even if the old attitudes persist among the powers that be. Let us work on ourselves first and then tackle the leaders who will be harder nuts to crack.

10. Observing July 17, 2015 at 9:11 AM #

Observing your comment is short and wise don’t hold your breath for an answer to your question from the detractors. Yes the BWU and NUPW were in attendance.

No sensible person resists young people orderly taking over from the older generation in all facets of human endeavor. If young people didn’t do so civilization as we know it would vanish there would be no progression.

McDowall and Toni Moore have been found wanting in this uncalled for national trauma. A pellucid clear example is their hasty press conference to declare victory immediately after the social partnership meeting in which they participated. Their take on the outcome was flawed big time. McDowall now says he is willing to meet with the BIDC to talk about better terms and conditions for the separated 10 or 13. That is exactly what cooler heads called on him to do long before the NUPW and BWU threw the island into turmoil. Even after “his victory” declaration garbage remains uncollected and the SSA and Customs the victors persist with irresponsible strike action.

Esther Byer for once raised her game she was obviously factual in her statement of what was agreed at the social partnership meeting under her chairmanship. No one including the unions have contradicted her . We await word from Pat Cheltenham the lawyer McDowall told us he consulted on Byer’s statement.

Its a sign of progress to have young leadership take over the unions on the other hand they must learn to listen to experience and tread carefully with the use of the strike weapon. Evelyn Greaves posited that industrial action is a sharp edged tool. It can decimate the nation state if not used with an abundance of caution. One can only guess lessons were learned from the fiasco. There was no victory for the unions or government. The industrial relations climate should have never reached the low it did. Its noteworthy the silent majority did not join the unions and take to the streets to bring down the government they voted in two years ago. That’s a bonus lesson in politics.

11. @ David July 17, 2015 at 8:11 AM #

It seems Toni Moore did a good job of rubbaging minister Byer’s statement.

…………………………………………….

Toni Moore is gradually growing on me. I had reservations when she took over the BWU but she comes over as someone who thinks hard and long and she is making sense.

I liked quick retort to a reporter who asked her at the press conference what she thought about what the PM said about the union……….she threw the PM’s nasty comments back at him………….she see that as only noise! Epic!

The unions were right not to wait on Dr Byer to make the only statement………..no one in the union movement trusts her. She wanted to have the only say so that it would be what the DLP wants…………….this party paramountcy is destroying Barbados.

Any member of the Cable and Wireless union would tell you that when they had their dispute with the company, she agreed one thing with them and then went behind their backs and told the company something else……………….so the NUPW was right to shaft her before she shafted them. She is out of her depths.

12. are-we-there-yet Avatar

David;

You said;

“It seems Toni Moore did a good job of rubbaging minister Byer’s statement.”

Is there a report on her statement. I have’nt seen it. Grateful if you could point us to it.

I agree totally with Balance above and had actually hinted in an earlier post that it seemed to me that Dr. Byer was up to her usual m.o. of misinterpreting agreements after reflecting on the possible consequences of what she might have given up.

I liked Akanni McDowall’s bare bones statement in this morning’s Nation Newspaper. It betrays a maturity that appears to be lacking in both the PM’s earlier diatribe and the MoL’s statement.

13. are-we-there-yet Avatar

Oops! It was “Prodigal son” and not “Balance” who I was referring to above.

14. Toni Moore’s statement was carried in the VoB 7:30 news and it should be rubbishing!

@Observing

Is there a difference with using ignore instead of withdrawn? If there is agreement by the MoL the NUPW and Unions are back where the matter should have started what is the point of the semantics?

15. @David
    I think you have the wrong person. I just want(ed) genuine answers to two simple questions.

With regards to the matter we all agree that the issue is more than the BIDC. Claiming victory, defeat or progress still leaves the horrendous status quo of mistrust, fractured industrial relations and disharmony in the sectors that need it most. These are the matters that need addressing.

@awty
    the MoL does the bidding of her superior. Remember that.

@Prodigal
    “the NUPW was right to shaft her before she shafted them. ”

agreed, but a good and proper shafting should leave the shaftee out of breath, lying on their back and staring at the ceiling in silence.

@Donna
    any thoughts on running for office? you sound like someone I can vote for 🙂

Just observing

16. Jolly Good showing so far by these unions, however, we hope they too don’t become corrupt as Caswell so aptly addressed.

That Suckoo statement was in real bad taste. She got the strike averted right? So why come back with semantics shoite talk? What diff does it make who speak first Suckoo? Stuppess….

17. It matters to the DLP because they are not interested in substance only in optics. They running a country purely on optics and they intend to win another elections purely on optics.

18. So going forward where did this strike take us. The law still remains in place and a
    its relevancy to intrepretation remains unresolved. The Unions have been grounded and placed to stand on one foot. The country is no wiser than the day the strike started. The only saving grace is the country has stayed in tact with little or no harm done to the economy
    So!so much for the young Turks who could have ceased and capatalize( maybe )a once in a lifetime moment to make radical change.

19. ac
    there is always a sting in the tail……..you would do well to remember

20. Dean

I dont think that any amount of vote buying or optics will be able to save these dems next time. The people are fed up.

One of them better try to wrestle the nomination for St John away from Mara Thompson as it would be a hell of a thing if she is the only woman left standing!

21. @ ac July 17, 2015 at 12:59 PM #

“The country is no wiser than the day the strike started. The only saving grace is the country has stayed in tact with little or no harm done to the economy”

…………………………………………………

Your posts are so “bent twist” that you cannot hold you to any position……..you are always all over the place………….a true political troll.

But just watch and see that when the dopey governor comes out with the next quarter results and the imaginary growth that he keeps projecting is not realised…………the governor and your ac consortium will blame the strike for the poor results.

Mark my words……..but for now you have prove your dlp talking points to denigrate the NUPW by saying……………………………

“The country is no wiser than the day the strike started. The only saving grace is the country has stayed in tact with little or no harm done to the economy”

You are pathetic!

22. @ David

I logged onto VOB 92.9 chat and, interestingly, some of those making comments mentioned that the electronic and print media were not giving us enough information pertaining to pertinent issue in Barbados. They were suggestions that people should read “Barbados Underground.”

This forum has been instrumental in highlighting issues the main stream press seem afraid to investigate and report the results of those investigations.

23. Prodigal Son

The people of St. John could be that ignorant and uneducated?

24. Rome was not built in a day and there are Unions who have used the Courts to champion and reigned in Change. The youngTurks still immature and inexperienced should have seek the intervention of the Courts and the momentum given by the people in show of strength as a cataylst which would have embolden their cause sending a message one which would not have gone unnoticed by the court.

25. Prodigal u are so hell bent on cussing ac u cant see the forest for the trees
    How pathetic! moron

26. are-we-there-yet Avatar

Observing;

You said above;
    “@awty; the MoL does the bidding of her superior. Remember that.”

Notwithstanding the doctrine of primus inter pares, I know that normally Ministers do the bidding of their superiors. But remember that this is the Freundel Stuart administration. Did the four Ministers who signed the Cahill MOU do the bidding of their superior, implicitly or explicitly? Did the ministers in any of the cases which strongly hint at amorality do his bidding? Seems to me that a Minister doing the bidding of the PM has been standard for all past Administrations but seems to be largely followed in the breach by this one.

I might be wrong but I think the PM has been praised by some commentators as having a policy of allowing his ministers to operate untrammelled from direct supervision by him.

But the MoL heard the PM’s views on the matter on CBC the day before. If he was not play acting, she should have interpreted it as indicating very clearly and muscularly that he would not support any measure that hinted at a whiff of acceeding to the NUPW’s demands. Yet, she essentially capitulated to their essential demands of reinstating the workers and not going the legalistic route.

That could only mean one or a combination of factors and therein lies a problem for the Stuart administration.

Think about it. Perhaps the MoL only did the bidding of her superior after the Union upstaged her in having their talk with the press and that provoked her response about the agreements that has not been corroborated by any of the other participants, not even the other Government Minister at the talks who is not normally known to be reticent.

27. @ ac July 17, 2015 at 1:31 PM #

“The youngTurks still immature and inexperienced”
    ………………………………………………..

Keep singing this tune, ac!

Why dont you join a tent and sing this song? The “young, immature and inexperienced” turks have you dems going crazy, your heads are exploding………..making you fire off all kinds of nasty verbal bombs at them. Pow, Pow, Pow!

You dems now cannot deal with non-compliant unions. Deal with it, Walter Maloney and Dennis Clarke ………….arse lickers are gone………deal with that.

One can never understand a dem……….one minute you want to get rid of “old” people but of course that does not refer to any of the old people like the PM or the many DLP hacks who are highly paid consultants…………

The old guard from the union has gone. You dems cannot deal with that……..it is clear from the Fumble’s catty rantings that he wants the old guard back as they did not upset the dlp agenda.

Why even the chairman of the board whose decision it was to send home these people looks to be over 60!

Saying you dems are hypocrites is putting it mildly!

28. de Ingrunt Word Avatar
    de Ingrunt Word

Are-we, you may be very right re “… a Minister doing the bidding of the PM has been standard for all past Administrations but seems to be largely followed in the breach by this one” but I see it differently.

The slow and plodding demeanor used by the PM cannot be actual disengagement. That does not fit with the outmaneuvering savvy to rise to the top.

Regardless, however, he is the leader of the team and is accountable for the actions of all his ministers.

If he wants to give us the impression that he trusts them to act alone and does not closely consult on important matters of state (like CAHILL) so be it. But then how can he be this studious, wise leader with excellent judgement as he also pretends?

So I say again, that does not fit with the guy who finally outmaneuvered all to rise to the top.

The man is as conniving as they come. He knows exactly all that is going on.

29. Unlike u prodigal the blp a..s licker ac does not hold to fast and hardend to dictates or dictators when the country,s best interest is at stake.There is a philosophy which butt and bounds between or interest to serve or to be served with the former being your only interest

30. de Ingrunt Word Avatar
    de Ingrunt Word

And pulls the strings as needed!

31. are-we-there-yet Avatar

De Ingrunt Word;

You may be right.

But in any case I think it does not bode well for the country as Ministers appear not to be harnessed to move in any one strategic direction but seem to be doing whatever they want to do.

32. but then again prodigal the blp loser that u are ! only understand goverance by mob rule one of the reasons u and the other lost blp soldiers were so estactic in seeing the country toppled over going as far back as 2008 and seized
    upon this unfortunate event to push your doom and gloom agenda forward one that the govt was highly aware of and sensible enough to put forward a proposal to the young Turks whose excuberance was blindsided by the biggest and largest political gaffe in the history of Unionism

33. Somebody please explain to me, why do importers have to pay storage fees if the delay in collection is due to Customs being on strike? Am I missing something here? Government does not have the wherewithal to deliver a service and the consumer is called upon to pay storage fees because of that shortcoming? Wow, wish I owned a government. If you pay your taxes late there is a penalty, if government owes you a tax refund they borrow the money from you to pay you what is owed. Sweet.

34. @Artax

Thanks, BU is what it is because of you guys, even the dullards lol.

@Fearplay

The law is an ass they say.

The bottomline, the Unions pull the BIDC back to the negotiating table. Let us see where it leads. Now we have this option form business at the sea and airports.

A fractious and garulous society we have become.

35. ac

To quote “Desiderata”

Even the dull and ignorant, they too have their story!

36. @ David
    The bottomline, the Unions pull the BIDC back to the negotiating table. Let us see where it leads. Now we have this option form business at the sea and airports.
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    In a situation of drastic change, the POWER BROKERS have a duty to be open and forthcoming with the actions that they take. This becomes even more critical in an environment tainted with underhand deals like Cahill, CLOCO, Barrack, Dodds, Greenland etc.

THIS RESPONSIBILITY is at the feet of Government and private sector employers.
    Government even more so…since they control the LAW and legislate the processes to be used.

What would you REALLY expect the unions to do where power brokers are CLEARLY seeking to hide and do shiite as they like?
    It is alright for some of us to talk shiite about ‘business suffering and losses’…. What the hell do you think those laid off workers are ALREADY facing every day….?
    How does the union represent these dispossessed in the face of ARROGANT power brokers without FLEXING its own muscles?
    …if someone is already busting your tail with licks…are you expected to seriously contemplate the possibility that your defences could cause pain to other persons -especially persons who have shown NO REGARD for your ALREADY severe pain….

Man left the damn union do!
    ..the problem lies with the modern absentee slave-based organisations (the MODERN DAY West India Companies) …and with the current ‘Black Jacobins’ who are playing the role of selling their black peoples back into 21st century slavery.

Boss… Bushie hung his head in deep SHAME today after hearing Sealy (standing in for the sleeping PM) praising Cable and wireless as the best thing since slice bread….

WHAT THE F***** (France) !!!

Here is a TOP black government official celebrating a situation where we have gone from having a B.E.T. …. owned, operated and run by top rate BAJANS….. to having a group of absentee smart aleck white people in our faces talking shiite bout ’employing 500 people’.
    ….Wuh the old plantations used to ’employ’ nuff blacks too….

…and the ‘PLUS’ that makes it all worth it …???(according to Sealy…)

“FIBRE in every house….”
    Fibre shiite!!!
    ..where the ass will people be able to afford ‘houses’ with such widespread layoffs? ..far less fibre…?

Can you imaging that Sir Cave Hilary came here 25 years ago warning about the dastardly wickedness of our plantation history…..only to come now as one of the chief traitors to blacks – ….fraternising with the enemy, and helping to sell Bajans on the wisdom of ‘going back to Egypt’ rather than follow the path set by ‘Dipper’ Moses….

Skipper…. if you know what is good for you …yuh better leave those young Unionists for Bushie hear…?
    …else it will be cat piss and pepper bout here on BU….. 🙂

37. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

FearPlay

You wished you owned a government, who do you think you are? Maloney? Bjerkham?

38. @Bushie

Heard the comment by Sealy and the FLOW people. We will have fibre to download movies and make calls from hotspots etc. Let us hope we used the improved technology to grow business segments. It seems this government which promised not too long ago to build a society has become fixated on the economic side of the job.

39. BU received the UK Labour Laws by email today in the inbox.

https://barbadosunderground.files.wordpress.com/2015/07/labour-laws-uk.pdf

40. Observing,

I, like my father before me, respectfully decline. I wasn’t born for that.

41. Artaxerxes,

I replied to your comments re my “contradictory” statements on the Freundel thread. Please read and acknowledge.

42. @David,

I hope this “fibre” by Flow will lead to more young Bajans working from home. It should help the “Creative community”.

That is better than downloading movies and talking shiite.

43. Dean Forest

I am not quite sure what you intended to convey when alleged that the DLP is only concerned with Optics? The employment of the word Optics within your above statement seems more like a contradiction in terms, or a complete dichotomy of what the DLP is doing. Nevertheless, the point I am endeavoring to make is this: if the DLP is selling the people a bill of goods, why is it that you and those of your liken are aware of this fact and not the people themselves? Doesn’t such a statement vitiates the collective-intelligence of the Barbadian people? That you and your chosen few are privy to the esoteric insight regarding the affairs of the DLP.

44. I don’t get it espeacially when it is coming from people who claims to be well lettered. Doesn’t the majority opinion in most cases support the basis of truth, and doesn’t an overwhelming evidence supports a guilty or not guilty verdict? Where is that Gallup Poll or Random-Survey in support of a people whose discontent with government has reached crisis point?

45. Donna

It is not the Union responsibility to educate the workers to do a good Job to move the country forward.The Union reponsibility is to negotiate a fair contract for its membership, and to provide the proper representation if such terms of the contract are not met.

46. Donna, the employer will make sure that the employee does a good job or else he or she will be booted out after reaching the last step in the progressive discipline process.

47. HAMILTON A HILL Avatar
    HAMILTON A HILL

Just when we thought that they had finally hit rock bottom with their jack ass ideas we are proved wrong again. Lets face the fact that we will never be able to interpret these boss moves. Rescind the letters…..replace them with option forms, albeit another dept. Talk about commitment to tranquil and harmonized industrial relations. Come come ac, let me see you defend this latest move. There is nothing that Caswell writes that ever escapes your vision so surely you know that the unions were in deep discussion with government where customs officers are concerned. Are you ready to accept that this set of clowns far, far out to sea?

48. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Dompey

It pains me to have to respond to your nonsense but in this case I cannot allow you to put that drivel out and let it remain unchallenged. Unions have a responsibility to ensure that the enterprise, which provide employment for its members, survives and do well. In order to live up to that responsibility, the union must constantly impress upon its members that they must do a good job.

Any union that fails to do so would be failing its members. If the workers refuse to do a good job and that impacts negatively on the business to the extent that the business fails that would put all the employees at risk. Similarly, in government, if workers fail to do a good job it would impact negatively on the bottom line which might cause Government to raise additional revenue in the form of taxes. In that case, everyone suffers.

So Mr. Dompey please stick to something where you might have some knowledge but that something is clearly not Trade Unionism.

49. Almost a week after McDowell and Toni Moore triumphantly declared victory the stinking garbage piles across the island are higher than houses with the smell worst than Mount Stinkeroo. The winners of the battle against GOB the sanitation workers and the customs officers remain on strike punishing the poor taxpayers in an unprecedented show of spite A friend opined that the sanitation and customs were on go slow for years so we might as well grin and bear it. Its this unacceptable state of affairs that has the BLP yard fowls happy and dancing in the streets. Lord come for your world.

50. Caswell Franklyn

I have been a member of the 1199 Healthcare Union here for close to thirty years, and even marched with Jesse Jackson who is a major supporter of our Healthcare Union in 1990 statewide strike against the governor’s threatened layoffs. I have also been an Union delegate for a few years, so I have a basic understanding filing grievances on behalf of the employees, and a knowledge of the Arbitration process. Sorry.