Submitted by Old Onions Bag

NUPW_Strike“they came for the Jews but I was not a Jew.”

Pinch me hard I dare say, (anywhere but the posterior), for surely I must be dreaming. Like Alice in the Wonderland, I running with Ernest but falling like Forrest  Grump…trying to keep up with the rationalizations of this now lame duck government.

We now on the verge of a nationwide shutdown in the height of Crop Over.  And over what I dare say? This BIDC fore-play; prepare thy selves NHC, CIBC, Port Inc. and the likes. A government with (out) a social conscience, the crowned Prince used to say. Caring and putting people first our #1 motto. Nowadays when you reach that terminal age of 60 you past expiry date and should be put out to pasture. Nonsense.

Treatment dished out to the statutory nobodies like the 13. Whoever said what’s good for the goose is good for the gander? Not about here. Give of your best til 60 then go home. All because square pegs in round holes and ‘fumbling’ when it comes to econometrics. The result: foolishness abounds. What’s the sense? Nonsense.

Why if this administration could see it fit to extend his contract for another five years of a recycled 70 year old robot whose sole purpose was regurgitating every quarter, the words “STABLE ….why not let the messenger and two maids up at BIDC continue to work until 67? What else can one expect from a governor that saw sense in getting rid of all the good cents? Nonsense.

Give them hell NUPW…. They got away with murder before. A non –existing tribunal recall?  Let history record : The rule of the Non-sensed!

186 responses to “A Government of Nonsense”

1. Old Onion Bags better known as Old BLP Yardfowl – how much Mia Mottley does pay you to write such sh*te ?
    If any body had any doubt that this is a politically motivated strike, you shattered all doubts.
    Joker.

2. Old Onion Bags

I have but one simple question for you Sir: has there been a time in your remembrance, where you saw America or any other country in the world for that matter, saw economic prosperty roll on in perpetuity?

3. De Ingrunt Word Avatar
    De Ingrunt Word

Life is tough. Mr Bajanfuhlife, your motivation is as politically biased as you ascribe to Onions.

Strikes by their very existence are always intended to cause significant disruption, embarrassment and economic peril. They are always politically motivated in every case.

No on can accuse the Bajan unions of callous militancy over the last eight years; in fact they have been rather amenable in the face of employee rights being trampled.

It’s unlikely that your DLP masters will proceed as business as usual after this show of force by the Union, but the question of how differently you guys modify your actions depends completely on your perception of the public reaction coming out of this strike.

If Bajans look at your ineffectual party leader as the foundation of this strike then you are screwed good and proper.

If you and AC and your others can project the blame for the stinky garbage and all-round disruption of CropOver’s economic power to Mottley then you live to continue your mismanagement and inefficiency until the next scandal.

Life is tough Mr Bajanfuhlife and although your leader and colleagues can’t be blamed for every ill that affects our country, your team and leader are fully to blame for the whispers of blatant corruption; for allowing the Speaker to bring the House and country into disrepute; for foisting the CAHILL potential life-changing project on us with absolutely no due diligence of environmental review.

Your team had committed yet another act of callous disregard; this one brought the camel to its knees and it stopped and brayed loudly seeking some solace.

In sum, your team has been acting with complete disregard for good governance and the rights of Bajans. Action to shake you and team awake was long overdue…who or what caused this strike now becomes moot, frankly.

4. The logic here by the BLPites is that ALL the unions which participated in the demonstration are motivated for political and by inference their executive counsels and general bodies. The chickens are coming home to roost.

5. No Excuses dam Fool de igrunt , The blame game would proceed and process by the court would decided and take precedent But in no way when the dust clear that a labour issue although complex could not be simplified by the meetings of intelligent minds. What good or purpose did the leader bring to the table when she took to the street in a moment of emotion guided by political servings ?Absolutely none,whatsoever. Far from it the people are the one caught in the cross fire . What was her plan of action tell me.? in order to protect the country and bring a level of civility. Her action were not statesmanship but fell in the category of politricks and yardfowl banter.and yes we have clowns of the yardfowl persuasion talking about Mia a catalyst for change,, REALLY..

6. @Dee Word

Jeremy Stephens make a good point in all of this, the government will have to move pass job cuts to job efficiency and by necessity engage the unions. It will be difficult given the distrust between the two. We can kiss the social partnership talk goodbye.

PS. Ignore the noise

7. Very well said Dee Word.

8. I am not and have never been a BLP supporter. Neither will I be in the foreseeable future. I am stating here that the unions are not to blame for the fiasco that is currently unfolding. I lay the blame solely at the feet of the government I helped to elect. This government which was elected because of their pronouncements about putting families first and Barbados not being just an economy but a society has often added insult to injury in its dealings with the families in this society it swore to represent. In dismissing the breadwinners of these families in this society this government has breached the protocol and procedures on several occasions, misled the trusting union leadership during negotiations and arrogantly scoffed at the unions as being merely noisemakers. So in the words of one of my favorite rock songs-

“Come on feel the noise!’

9. We are facing a national strike and what do we hear from the MOL? Tough talk about the government will not meet with any union which fail to observe protocol. Question to the MOL, when last has the full social partnership met?

10. This government went from correcting the BLP on Barbados being more than an economy but a society to this-

When asked by a Nation newspaper reporter to give a figure for the workers who had been sent home to date a key government minister replied to the effect that he didn’t know how many workers were sent home but what he did know was that we have saved X dollars in salaries and wages.

Now, doesn’t the fact that he knew not the number of people but only the number of dollars imply that Barbados is no longer a society but an economy? Good grief, at least one should know the number of people who would be suffering as a result of your actions! That is if you care about these people.

Now I dare anyone to call me politically biased.

11. @ David
    The woman can’t be serious.
    Shiite man!! mean Bushie has to say it again about putting women in charge of this kinda business??!!

So if the BIDC Board (which essentially means Donville) decides to send home these people without ANY consultation, and in response, the Union takes industrial action -AS IS THEIR RIGHT…..
    …what???
    she is saying that unless the union gives up their action she will not be involved?
    How about the BIDC (Donville) reverting to the status quo until the matter is resolved…?

Mean a big doctor can’t work out that it is a two-way street…?

Bushie tell wunna….WE UNDER A CURSE!!!!
    …educated people CANNOT be so dumb and stupid….

12. alvin cummins Avatar

@old onion bags. Any amount of old onions always smell bad and are no good.
    Are you telling me that the people who signed a contract that gives the employer the option of asking for their retirement at the age of sixty and beyond, did not understand that this option could be applied, when necessary? The retirement age of sixty-five and beyond is a voluntary thing. Are you telling me that after an employee reaches the age of sixty-five, and wanted to continue working that they should be accommodated? What is the legal position? You must salsa remember that the Statutory corporations operate differently from the regular civil service. The Arthur administration got away with murder, working on the emotion created by the defeat of the Sandiford administration when they removed the option of the government to reduce the wages of civil servants. Do you want to remove all the options open to a government during difficult economic circumstances? Where s your logic, or for that matter, your pride in country? Would you like to see Barbados become like Greece, whatever the consequences.
    Old onions You stink.

13. Bushie,

I am a woman and when I heard that statement it hurt my poor little feminine head. I would never have made such a statement. The males of that party have several times made statements just as one-sided and stupid as hers. I shall not name them because I know you can make your own list. YOU need to stop being irrational and accept what the evidence in your own head can easily prove. This attitude and behavior is not confined to the female of the homo ‘sapiens’ species.

14. @ Donna
    “The males of that party have several times made statements just as one-sided and stupid as hers…”
    True…..but name a single MAN among them…

You are a bright woman….you must know that ever person walking around with an appendage is not a MAN. Shiite then!!! nowadays we don’t even know if they are ‘male’ – far less a MAN.

A MAN is a special entity….as is a WO-MAN.
    It is MUCH more than gender…..so if you look REAL carefully, you will find that you and Bushie are at one…. 🙂

15. HAMILTON A HILL Avatar
    HAMILTON A HILL

If there is any sense of pride in your proclamation of being a Bajan fa life how do you look past the hurt inflicted daily on others who too are Bajans fa life? How do you not recognize that the train has long left the track, hence the instability that now rocks our blessed Barbados? Unlike you ONIONS and others remember that the very unions you now cuss turned a blind eye while thousands of their members, many more than three thousand faced their day of immolation at the altar of Political Deception. These unions you now cuss bought into the concept of rebuilding the economy of Barbados, so that rank and file were asked to hold strain and in so doing accept a voluntary wage freeze, one that is now older than six years. These unions you now cuss sat back and permitted the worse leader this country has ever known, the honorable FREUNDEL JEROME STUART to send the concerns of workers to a nonexistent tribunal, and in so doing brought about the defilement of the integrity of trade unionism in Barbados. Like you Bajanfalife, I too defended most steadfastly the Democratic Labour Party. My conscience no longer permits such. Listen to yours.

16. Who de hell cares who vote for who and when There is a crisis at hand with impending catastrophic consequences at hand and what do we see are political yardfowl and the opposition leader applauding and asking for doom and Gloom be brought upon the people and country. Yes Mia is not the PM however she also has a symbolic role of goverance that demands duty and civility to country.where was that civility?Why did she not use her activism of protest one of calling her ministers to an emergency meeting as standard procudure for good goverance and tabling a letter of heightened concern to the govt of barbados.No instead stood out among the crowd as an activist of Doom and Gloom and one must belive Mia,s action were in the best interest of Country.i think Not.

17. I came around and supported the demonstration until I saw the BLP members trying to take political advantage by being there. As Tricia Watson said whilst moderating Brasstacks, it was the BLP who placed those pieces of legislation on the law books of Barbados which strengthened Boards of statutory corps to do what they did.

18. Fractured BLP Avatar

Well the unions can strike…..until they are STRUCK!

We don’t give ah $%%UCK!

When they tired march…they will go and rest their a$$.

19. You mentioned unions as if it is not defined by workers. A fine legacy you lot will leave, building a society and all that.

20. @ Bush Tea
    Its the CURSE in and of the DLP party that is affecting the people

21. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Alvin said:

“The retirement age of sixty-five and beyond is a voluntary thing. Are you telling me that after an employee reaches the age of sixty-five, and wanted to continue working that they should be accommodated? What is the legal position?”

Alvin the retirement age changed worldwide about 15 years ago to 67, I understand Barbados DLP/BLP governments did theirs in stages in true political idiots style, a little at a time, first to 66 then to 67, like they were doing the electorate a favor and were owed votes for something that was changed worldwide….disgusting.

In addition, Fruendel is an idiot whose sell-by date of 64 has long expired, which prime minister or president he knows does not intervene in trade union’s disputes that heavily impacts the day-to-day management of a country, maybe in his la-la land, but never in the real world.

Maureen Holder is a jackass personified, you do not EVER legislate laws that discriminates against basic human rights. The right for individuals to protest age discrimination etc are a given; Human rights are inalienable, all of this has obviously gone right over the heads of these walking ‘educated’ sacks of air and shit, some of whom were educated in the US and everywhere else at taxpayer’s expense and are still just as backward and ignorant as they day they left the island and returned.

It totally escapes them all that BIDC should have presented a mixed bag, if they had to lay off at all, it should have been a few 20 year olds, a few 30 year olds, a few 40 year olds and so on, to do otherwise IS age discrimination…..Alvin you should be ashamed, living in Canada and all, you should know better.

Not one of these individuals realize that the protest is largely symbolic and seeks to remind tax-paying bajans, not only that they have basic human rights but that the young folks should know this generation after generation and exercise those rights accordingly.

What the hell do these politicians/lawyers/doctors/political analyst(s) learn in school……apparently it’s how to discriminate against their own people, as is usual in Barbados, now known as the clearing house for discriminating against the elderly, the disabled, young children etc. a total shame and disgrace.

The really good thing that has come out of this embarrassment to the DLP/BLP government is that the other Caricom heads are present to witness the exposure where government make laws to suppress basic human rights and see a lesson to be learned right there. Holder, Fruendel and Esther Byer should hide their ugly faces in shame.

With regard to the whole matter now going before the Supreme Court, no one should be surprised, the laws of procedure that governs these actions are all contradictory in nature, they can all be interpreted six different ways from Sunday and also mis-interpreted six different ways from Sunday as I said on this blog a couple weeks ago, no wonder the lawyers on the island have a field day massaging the laws.

Discrimination of their own people of every type abounds on the island. The Bushman and others now see what I have been saying on this blog for a couple years; only certain types of personalities present themselves to be leaders and talking heads on the small island, small mentality, no common sense political scenery….I rest my case.

22. Here is an example of how politicians the world operate: it is a matter of self interest.

ERIC HOLDER RETURNS AS HERO TO LAW FIRM THAT LOBBIES FOR BIG BANKS

BY LEE FANG

Featured photo - Eric Holder Returns as Hero to Law Firm That Lobbies for Big Banks

After failing to criminally prosecute any of the financial firms responsible for the market collapse in 2008, former Attorney General Eric Holder is returning to Covington & Burling, a corporate law firm known for serving Wall Street clients.

The move completes one of the more troubling trips through the revolving door for a cabinet secretary. Holder worked at Covington from 2001 right up to being sworn in as attorney general in Feburary 2009. And Covington literally kept an office empty for him, awaiting his return.

The Covington & Burling client list has included four of the largest banks, including Bank of America, Citigroup, JPMorgan Chase and Wells Fargo. Lobbying records show that Wells Fargo is still a client of Covington. Covington recently represented Citigroup over a civil lawsuit relating to the bank’s role in Libor manipulation.

Covington was also deeply involved with a company known as MERS, which was later responsible for falsifying mortgage documents on an industrial scale. “Court records show that Covington, in the late 1990s, provided legal opinion letters needed to create MERS on behalf of Fannie Mae, Freddie Mac, Bank of America, JPMorgan Chase and several other large banks,” according to an investigation by Reuters.

The Department of Justice under Holder not only failed to pursue criminal prosecutions of the banks responsible for the mortage meltdown, but in fact de-prioritized investigations of mortgage fraud, making it the “lowest-ranked criminal threat,” according to an inspector general report.

For insiders, the Holder decision to return to Covington was never a mystery. Timothy Hester, the chairman of Covington, told the National Law Journal that Holder’s return to the firm had been “a project” of his ever since Holder left to the join the administration in 2009. When the firm moved to a new building last year, it kept an 11th-story corner office reserved for Holder.

James Garland, Holder’s former deputy chief of staff, who rejoined Covington in 2010, told the Law Journal that when Covington’s partners gathered to welcome Holder back four weeks ago, “He was so busy giving people hugs and shaking hands.”

As Covington prepared for Holder’s return, the firm continued to represent clients before the Department of Justice. For instance, Covington negotiated with the department on behalf of GlaxoSmithKline for a plea agreement in 2010.

Holder’s critics charge that he made a career out of institutionalizing “Too Big to Prosecute” rules within the department. In 1999, as a deputy attorney general, Holder authored a memo arguing that officials should consider the “collateral consequences” when prosecuting corporate crimes. In 2012, Holder’s enforcement chief, Lanny Breuer, admitted during a speech to the New York City Bar Association that the department may go easy on certain corporate criminals if they believe prosecutions may disrupt financial markets or cause layoffs. “In some cases, the health of an industry or the markets are a real factor,” Breuer said.

Rather than face accountability for their failures, the incentive structure of modern Washington is designed to reward both men. Breuer left the department in 2013 to rejoin Covington. Holder is set to become among the highest-earning partners at the firm, with compensation in the seven or eight figures.

(This post is from our blog: Unofficial Sources.)

23. Bushie,

As you said I am a bright woman. Too bright to fall for that.

24. Fractured BLP,

That display of your “intelligence” explains why we are where we are today in this country . Pathetic! Feel free to cuss if that is the extent of your vocabulary.

25. Donna…we DEMS do not give $hite bout you so!

If you can’t stand the heat stay out the kitchen!

You ain’t recall William Duguid did cuss too……in Parliament of all places?

You…….BLP stinking rat !
    That’s Bajans……gine keep wunna asses pon the opposition benches.

26. HAMILTON A HILL Avatar
    HAMILTON A HILL

For the record let me state again that I have not yet seen any reason to repose confidence in the opposition. That said I call on what I was taught at St Giles Boys many moons ago. ” He that is down need fear no fall.” Simply put WE CAN DO NO WORSE than what we have today. Today’s brand of politician understands only too well what works to maintain the balance of power so it is exploited to the max, as well as to the detriment of development in the country. This administration has made it clear that as NEW KIDS ON THE BLOCK they will be the only ones calling the shots{ on many an occasion motor mout Donville told parliament ” we doing it we way”} The hell with any social partnership. The hell with national consensus. Dem get theirs and we got to get ours. That’s the prevailing mindset of the political class, believe it or not fellow countrymen. Both major unions have revamped their outlook for the future with new and youthful leadership. If such a stance is taken as a reversal of the paths traversed previously, then wider Barbados has got to follow suit. Our mentality needs to change. Barbadians must no longer be seen as depending on the members of the political class for support. That system feeds the yard fowls and their owners to the exclusion of all others. Lets promote a new beginning. For there to be gain there must be pain. Barbados needs to rid itself of the likes of those that now govern, while being very careful of those that seek to replace. To the leaders of the trade union movement I say this. HE THAT IS DOWN NEED FEAR NO FALL, HE THAT IS LOW NO PRIDE. ANOTHER YEAR WITH THIS CURRENT BUNCH, IS SIMPLY COMMITING SUICIDE! Please shut this country down, so that we may realize the collapse of the Cadre Of Clowns before they kill us all. Let there be a new beginning. FROM MENDICANCY TO MILITANCY.

27. HAMILTON A HILL Avatar
    HAMILTON A HILL

@ BUSH TEA……. On a wonderful Saturday morning where do you find time to quote Dr Do Little? My man you surely must know that anything she says will have a more deleterious effect on the stomach than a pound and a quarter of souse coupled with the fumes of an out dated weed whacker.

28. @Well Well,
    Glad to hear (see) from you. I am back in Toronto, in good health,body mind and soul. I might be here in body, temporarily, but my soul will be in Barbados for eternity. That is why I get perturbed when I see what is happening in the rest of the world: and I address this to those who would say…nothing to do with the rest of the world, this is Barbados, it is true that we live on an island, but we are not insulated from everyone else. Despite the impression that is being given that Barbados is so badly off, Bajans have it good.The 13 persons who were retired have been offered a compensation package that if handled properly can give them a reasonable standard of living for the balance of their lives. They have worked a long time for Government, and should have acquired skills that should serve them well in other
    occupations: consultants, entrepreneurs, advisors, or as independent entrepreneurs. They should know what they are capable of doing and apply themselves.
    I have come back here and seen the news of the world…from sources other than CNN and seen how other people struggle to make ends meet. Bajans have it good. Things still work and things are getable The things the unions are resisting against are not for, as you say “basic human rights”. Contrary to what you may believe, there is no society that sees a job as a basic human right. No one owes any of us a living. We have to make our own way in this world. No employer is duty bound to keep employees working longer than he requires. The employer has the funds. Owen Arthur; after putting the yoke of debt around the country’s neck, expects the debts (to foreign entities) to be repaid, quickly. The Government has limited funds. The people with money in the banks (over nine billion dollars at last count) keeps it there and expect the country to show growth. Cannot happen.
    The harangue that has been prevalent since the last election still continues by the same tired old bunch; Bushie, Miller, Hants old onions, etc, and will continue even after they do not win the next one, and no aspersions cast at the present government, will avail anything. Barbadians are a thinking society and can see through the smoke and mirrors put before them by the opposition.

I had planned, after the last year not to get involved in these blogs, but I love my country too much to let dolts; they know who they are, get away with trying to fool the people that they are being wronged so much.

29. As usual the blp misfits would become Pontius Pilate and try to wash their hands clean of this impending disaster .however in this episode of doom and gloom they have overplayed their allowing and accepting their leader as to be a catalyst presenting herself in the midst of all the unfolding events that are now occuring in part to the strike. History would punish her and so would the people if in the coming weeks harm and danger wreck peoples livelihoods. Yea contrary to blp. popular opinon this is not a loss for govt but a loss for the country and people.

30. Alvin

Tell them about it Alvin because it appears as though isolation breeds a willful ignorance among certain elements of the Barbadian population. I have always been told as a young lad growing up in Barbadian society, that travel was the antidote for ignorance, and I can now attested to the validity of such claim.

31. @Well Well;
    “I understand Barbados DLP/BLP governments did theirs in stages in true political idiots style, a little at a time, ” but then you say; “if they had to lay off at all, it should have been a few 20 year olds, a few 30 year olds, a few 40 year olds and so on,”

What is your true position? Where does the age discrimination lie?
    My contention is that the must have been or should have been aware of the terms and conditions under which they were working and should have prepared for the present eventuality.

This illustrates the difference between Bajans and others, as exemplified here in Toronto. Bajans get a job and expect to be in it for an eternity. Jamaicans get a job, work in it for a little while and then become entrepreneurs and open their own businesses.
    Often beaming quite successful at it.
    Bajans need to wake up and realize that this is a different world now, and have to change with it and accept change

32. People are having it quite difficult here in the states as well. In my very state people are leaving in great numbers in search of work in the southern states. Now be quite honest the only people who seems to be readily employed in my state are East Indians with the High Technical Skills. Companies here in my state and I am quite sure elsewhere in the America have founded it much more cost effective to recruit High Techs worker from India. Bring them to America on temporary work visas and housed them on the outer limits of the ghetto; pay them next to nothing for their High Technical Skills and fire the American worker with the same High Technical Skills, who their have been paying and arm and a leg. This is the reality in America today brother; corporal greed has taken center stage.

33. The dems are a special breed!

Walter Maloney and Dennis Clarke (I dont know if the Duke of York was involved), all known dems, sat down with the government and agreed with them to send home public workers who were at the bottom of the totem pole and freeze the other workers’ salaries.

What is apparent is that the union traitors did not know that the government would have sent home 6500 poor Barbadians (using Caswell’s figures) from the public sector.

What is also hurtful is that these same known DLP union leaders stayed silent as the wild boys went all over Barbados and LIED…………”we have maintained jobs in the public sector, not one public worker will lose their job but if you vote for the BLP, 10,000 of you will go home.”

Then when the layoffs began, these DLP union leaders were so bamboozled by the Stinkliar that they then started to make some noise……..at least only Clarke. Remember the noise he kept about not getting the LIST from NCC. He has gone home and I wonder if he got the list to this day.

So what are these Dems bellyaching about?………….the unions and the DLP have always been intertwined………..I have a neighbour who for years during the Sandi rule used to say that the only way that the BLP could win is if they drive a wedge between the unions and the DLP. They managed to do so in 1994.

We have Bobbie Morris, Evelyn Greaves, Frank Walcott and Sir Roy ……………all union leaders who became DLP MP’s. Walter Maloney and Dennis Clarke are all dems……………..so pray tell me what is the beef if someone does not tow their line now.

All people asked at the time is that the leaders be fair………………you did not find BLP supporters bellyaching that these leaders were dems.

I repeat………..dems are a special breed!

34. Alvin

Jamaicans can afford to open their businesses on a more consistent basis and be much more successful at is than that other West Indian people abroad because their probably outnumber the others West Indians by ten to one in terms of population. So in essence, their would obviously have a larger customer base than the other islanders. Some people tend to ignore that fact when their spew their nonsense about the success of Jamaican business abroad, when compared to the other islands of the Caribbean.

35. Did anyone seriously expect the Minister of Labour to resolve this issue?

Did anyone expect her to side with the union and not expect to face the wrath of Donville Inniss? These layoffs were agreed with the full consent of the Board and Donville. The chairman is his side kick…..wherever Donville goes, that man goes.

Crumbs, man……..she has not resolved a single problem that went before her as minister. She looked incompetent and out of her depths in the clips shown on DLPTV.

Now hers is one salary that is worth saving to help the deficit……….she is a waste of time in this government and is clearly out of her depths.

By the way, are there any summer camps this year?

But look at the DLP for you……………after touting in 2008 that “we need to look after the children of this society by finding useful ways for them to spend their time”………….look where we are today. The morons cannot find the money to fund the camps. Where are the children now?

Woe is we!

36. It was discussed the budget for the camps is $700,000 a cut from 3 million in prior years.

37. Thanks, David……………….I did not hear the usual big fanfare. I know that the NSC camps are up and running but had not heard of any others!

38. De Ingrunt Word Avatar
    De Ingrunt Word

Oh lawd David, is that $700K figure some type of recurring rounding error or what! lol.

But summer camps are a good thing though. Why should this have to be politicized!

Maybe you were a scout or cadet or 4H’er David and enjoyed a week or two of summer camp in years past; so as much as one can laud the DLP on the camp initiative it seems to me that if the intent was really geared towards the youth that organizations like those would have been the ones to get some extra funding to allow expansion and growth.

I was shocked to hear (a few years ago) that girls and boys in the cadet corps were unable to get boots and other gear after completing their BT. Thus of course interest fell off and participation dwindled. To me this was a travesty. A complete failing of an excellent program for school kids.

Of course beyond that and scouts there has been Kiwanis, Lions, Rotary, Optimist and many other service clubs which have also provided club activity at schools and for youth generally.

These types of groups were the avenues along which some of those millions of $$ could have been best spent.

So when you consider the cadet gear issue and recall that Minister Lashey said words to the effect that the investments in the youth programs were “carefully structured to ensure that we ensure…that money is being put back into the pockets of Barbadians,” (Advocate, 2012) it appears that as usual the program is more about other goals than it is about establishing pathways for youthful minds to be invigorated.

39. Walter Blackman Avatar
    Walter Blackman

alvin cummins July 11, 2015 at 8:53 AM #
    ” The Arthur administration got away with murder, working on the emotion created by the defeat of the Sandiford administration when they removed the option of the government to reduce the wages of civil servants.”

Alvin,
    I agree with you, and I have argued the point on BU before, that the Arthur administration made a strategic error in removing government’s ability to reduce the salaries of civil servants if dire economic straits required such action.
    Arthur was able to do that because he had a 2/3 majority in Parliament.

The Thompson administration secured a 2/3 parliamentary majority in the 2008 elections, and therefore had an opportunity to put the salary cut “weapon” back in government’s arsenal. We now know that, instead of focusing on such things, David Thompson immediately put his energies into assisting the laundering of CLICO’s policyholders’ premiums.
    After Thompson deservedly reaped divine retribution in 2010, the Freundel Stuart administration retained a 2/3 parliamentary majority by winning the by-election in St. John. That administration immediately focused its attention on letting Barbadians know that Leroy Parris is a friend and client of Freundel Stuart and therefore must not be shunned by a perceptive and discerning public. The Freundel Stuart administration lost its 2/3 majority in 2013.

Thus, when it comes to the ability of government to cut civil servants’ pay, Arthur is no longer on the hook for criticism.

40. Prodigal
    In 08 Thompson appointed Esther Byer Minister of Family,Youth Affairs,Sport and the Environment.Before you could have said Ossie Moore,Lionel Weekes,a die in the wool Dem, sent a missive to Thompson complaining to him that this woman was unfit to serve,that she refused to take directions as to policy implementation procedures.I think the only person who was impressed with her was the Advocate newspaper because she was in that paper almost daily.The good people of St George South found her unworthy of their support and what did the man whom the Eager 11 rejected do?Rehired her,put her in the Senate,allowed her more of the Fatted Calf and here we are now with a National Strike looming for the first time in about 21 years.

41. I do not think that any right thinking Barbadian would oppose any camps to keep children occupied during the summer.

The problem with these camps was that they were politically executed………there were to summer camps, Easter camps and Christmas camps. The concept of camps was a spur of the moment decision from the dead king just like the free bus fares for school children. These unplanned for expenditure like so many other ill conceived projects help pushed the deficit to balloon out of control………….no wonder we are in such a mess today.

My church had a very well run camp for years and the three other churches in my area and these free camps caused many other camps to close.

But we all know that these camps were all about “only those who stayed the course with me will be able to share in the fatted calf”……………….words of David Thompson.

42. @ Gabriel July 11, 2015 at 3:08 PM #

Prodigal
    In 08 Thompson appointed Esther Byer Minister of Family,Youth Affairs,Sport and the Environment.Before you could have said Ossie Moore,Lionel Weekes,a die in the wool Dem, sent a missive to Thompson complaining to him that this woman was unfit to serve,that she refused to take directions as to policy implementation procedures.

…………………………..

You are so right……………I heard this too from a friend who works in the public sector. The woman is so vain……..did you hear of the thousand of dollars worth of framed photos of her self she ordered for every department under her portfolio?

Power went the these people heads…..no wonder we are in such a mess. One also hear horror stories about the leadership/management style of the one in charge of culture.

43. @Prodigal,
    “The concept of camps was a spur of the moment decision from the dead king”.
    If I am not mistaken the concept of Summer Camps was an initiative of Keith Simmonds, executed when he was a minister in the Sandiford Administration. Are you conveniently forgetting, or is it that you so much want to denigrate all DLP initiatives and give false information to those who do not know the facts.? Summer camps were not a spur of the moment thing, nor a move to “share the fatted calf”. And by the way stop listening to rumours and deal with the facts. I am back now and will not let any of you get away with foolishness, I will challenge all of you all the time.
    And to all those who want to get facts check your internet, there you will find answers to much of what you are ignorant about, instead of spreading false information or spouting disinformation.

44. Colonel Buggy Avatar

Dompey July 11, 2015 at 12:30 PM #
    Not only in America, Bro, but our own LIME/FLow /Cable and Wireless has done exactly the same right here in Bim.

45. @ alvin cumminsJuly 11, 2015 at 3:49 PM #

……………. And by the way stop listening to rumours and deal with the facts. I am back now and will not let any of you get away with foolishness, I will challenge all of you all the time.
    And to all those who want to get facts check your internet, there you will find answers to much of what you are ignorant about, instead of spreading false information or spouting disinformation.
    ………………………………………….

Should you not be spending your time thanking God for restoration to good health instead of worshipping this worthless indifferent DLP. You do not seem to understand that this bunch of morons we have as a government is not the DLP Errol Barrow built.

These misfits are only in government for their own self aggrandizement………. they do not care about you or poor Barbadians only the rich white business who can pad the DLP coffers, so you better get real.

Oh yes, should I check the internet like you……….to come up with the misleading information you posted on Cahill, not understanding the difference between the two Cahills?

Yes, Keith Simmons started a summer camp programme but the camps of which I spoke were announced by the dead king as part of his “Barbados is more than an economy, it is a society”…………….propaganda.

You would not understand that these camps were not budgeted for and the enormous expense mainly in the catering added to the ballooning deficit. The learning content was of minimal value.

The dems came into power and the money they found, they licked it out as the old people would say………never understanding how to manage an economy and we are paying a heavy price to this day.

Why dont you look after yourself and stop trying to sing in this dlp choir. It is not worth it, they are inept, incompetent and arrogant too!

46. @ Alvin
    welcome back

BUT …PLEASE do something with your Nom de Plume to avoid the ‘AC’ label nuh…
    How about just “Alvin” – if you must INSIST on pushing your private persona on us….
    Personally, Bushie would recommend something like ..’Lazarus’ ….

47. Wunna people hurting muh belly …..”Lazarus”…… Alvin boy for once yuh better tek de bushman’s advice and change yuh handle. ROFLMAO

48. Prodigal Son

I think most if not all are cognizant of the fact that the DLP government that Mr.Barrow bulit no longer exist. So your comment was a senseless waste of brain nuerons to say the least. And your characterization of the present DLP membership as misfits is nothing more than a matter of opinion because I am quite certain that there isn’t a consensus regarding your discription of the DLP membership. Prodigal, you don’t seem to get because had there been a collective discontent, would there a lot more social-protest than the handful of armchair antagonists here on BU? But of course, it is your position that Barbadian electorate are too stupid to realize that their are being taken advanage of by this DLP government?

49. Fractured BLP Avatar

This DLP government is the best.

They saved Barbadians from what the Greeks are facing right now.

If Akani and Toni want to continue making noise and braying like the jackasses they are proving themselves to be then bray on!

But most Barbadians know that PM Stuart ain’t going to say a word until he is ready.

The unions maybe at stage 3

But PM Stuart at phase 5 long time…..

50. This country has come a long way since independence and now to see all the gains that it has achieved go down in smoke because of blind political ambition lead and supportered by advocates of doom and gloom is sickening.