The Cahill Energy Waste to Energy project continues to feature in the news. The Facebook page Waste To Energy Plant has attracted 6157 members to date and is a source of valuable information for Bajans to educate themselves about plasma gasification technology and related matters. All should become members of the page to show solidarity with the cause.

If you do not stand for something you will fall for anything!

Cahill Energy

952 responses to “cahill energy Barbados WtE Project – Confidential Information Memorandum March 2015”

1. Wait though….Wunna serious???!!

Look at the damn woman! Shiite man…she looks about as intelligent as a mop…..which is just above the ‘AC’ level of intelligence.

What woman hatch what plot what??!?!
    She is a front obviously!!! – possibly in more ways than one….
    Leave the damn woman do….!!

This is a BARBADIAN plot, whose genesis is INSIDE the halls of power in Barbados.
    We should be calling on DARCY BOYCE to provide details and timelines in this issue…

Why….?

1 – The other three who signed the shiite MOU are known jackasses who are stupid enough to take bribes as cheques and as cars registered to the bribers…

2 – He has been associated with NUMEROUS questionable such schemes in BOTH the BLP and DLP

3 – He was SPECIALLY selected by David “Thieving” Thomson ….FROM THE BLP ( ๐Ÿ™ )

4 – He HARDLY has much to say in public as MINISTER of energy

5 – He has YET to explain the shiite with the Bridgetown Marina..

6 – He looks shady……

7 – No point asking Froon…. he only knows what AC knows…

ASK DARCY…..he is the damn minister.

2. De Ingrunt Word Avatar
    De Ingrunt Word

Are-We, another $700K fee. I had missed that.

Well at least we know the legal fee rate sheet is used studiously by the fellas…one thing in common: serious overcharging.

That’s like the friend who said his elderly uncle had a will drawn up and the legal eagle charged him over $1,600. The uncle was old but not mentally impaired and questioned the fee. So out of the ‘goodness of heart’ Mr Attorney (who is on the BU list already) reduced the fee by about 10%.

Months later the nephew described the details of the will with an attorney friend and innocently asked what he would have charged. That fellow (obviously not using the same rate sheet), told him ‘man that was a simple will and would be about $700…. and as it was your uncle I’d probably do it for $500 or $550″ .

When the fellow told him what the other lawyer charged he said there was a silence…of guilt I presume.

We talking about a client who is a salt of earth civil servant of the country born somewhere in the 1920s…the UWI free-educated, young lawyer had no problem jucking this old boy.

They all have no problem jucking!

3. High On A Hill Avatar
    High On A Hill

Michael Yearwood?

Do they have a course in Law School were lawyers are trained to be professional and proficient BANDITS?

4. The same Mr yearwood who the Taylor Wessing legal begal sais is a waste of space that’s a laugh. No wonder the Cowan woman hire a London firm to bury a country bumkin local lawyer in technicalities .
    @$700,000 how many hours did Mr yearwood burn to claim that
    How long was this deal really in the making ??
    Lex Caribbean must be her local puppets for her London lawyer too I guess.

5. High On A Hill Avatar
    High On A Hill

If you were stupid enough to get Michael Yearwood to represent you in a serious matter, even where the evidence was overwhelmingly in your favour, YOU WOULD MORE THAN LIKELY GET LOCK-UP.

6. Re Cahill Group of St. Johns, Newfoundland, Canada. http://www.cahill.ca

DD just got off the phone to the communications person at Cahill Group in St. Johns, Newfoundland, Canada.

She said that Cahill Energy Ltd of Guernsey, is not a related company, and the Cahill Group is not involved in any work in Barbados.

7. I just called the Blenheim group in Guernsey and talked to Gemma
    She said she couldn’t comment on a client but gave me their e mail address and said I should direct any questions to the attention of John Robilliard and he would reply appropriately.
    In other words F**k off

8. There is nothing wrong with Cowan and others setting up a company and creating a proposal to do a project in Barbados.

It is up to the Government to do their due diligence and accept or reject the proposal.

It is up to the Government to ensure that this WTE plant is properly financed and that it will produce electricity more efficiently than any other comparative option.

9. So many oearls of wisdom after the fact
    Clearly the protocol of public tendering was not used in this case
    The contract is signed
    The only way out now is breach
    Has Cowan breached if so then terminate

10. @ Hants July 2, 2015 at 1:37 PM

Boss…
    If you don’t have anything to do …why the donkey don’t you run along and chase some fish or something nuh….?
    We now begging David to ban the JA called AC ….and you looking to fill the breech…?

11. Is anybody else sick of the announcements of these big projects that will provide hundreds of jobs, bring in foreign investment, improve our tourist industry…etc etc…and turn out to be scams or at the best, ill conceived projects, badly managed, and with little or no due diligence being performed?. Just another Photo Op.

http://www.purebeachresort.com/groundbreaking/

http://www.wsj.com/articles/SB10001424052748704423204575017191067750712

http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2013/09/04/500m-snag-luxury-st-philip-tourismresidential-project-delayed-by-financial-problems/

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2283474/3-000-Britons-fall-victim-250million-fantasy-villa-fiasco-Holiday-home-scheme-promoted-Pat-Cash-investigated-fraud-
    police.html

12. bush sh,,t u can.t help but call ac name uh ignorant clown. shit man this is a blog and all and sundry have the right to talk as much sh,,it as you although most of your shit spilled over the top of the brass bowl,,uh hypocrite.

to the BLP antagonist wunna can holler and squeal like butchered pigs heading to market nobody listening to wuuna crapola, the plant would be bulit and wunna do not have to pay a cent towards it just go out and buy wuuna solar and wait for the sun to come up ,just leave the rest of us poor folk alone who cannot buy solar cause of the expense and waiting on the WTE plant to hellp reduce the big light bill, like i say wunna fat cats can talk nuff shite but got no soluitions when wunna find some that would address the poor and lowly suffering from high electric bills and cannot afford the expensive cost of keeping a solar then come and talk a,ss holes. good grief..

13. @ High On A Hill July 2, 2015 at 9:50 AM #

Michael Yearwood?

Do they have a course in Law School were lawyers are trained to be professional and proficient BANDITS?
    ……………………………………………………….

This only ges to show that Freundel had to know what was going on with this sordid deal as the man is his friend and campaign manager. Was he not the lawyer associated with the dead crook as well? The one who was blocking for Greenverbs?

$700,000 seems to be a figure these DLP bandit lawyers love……………Michael Yearwood charges $700,000, Richard Byer charged the Caves $700,000 plus and the crooked man in the house charged BIDC $700,000 plus………………..yet the BIDC sent home people over 60 because money is tight.

These dems are priceless.

14. So what is wrong with sending home people if money is tight, yuh see wunna cockeyed bowl of half truths is going to keep wunna blp asses on the back bench for a long time cause wunna foreigners to truth,

15. Money is not tight enough to pay legal fees. Would it not be cheaper for government agencies to place lawyers on retainer? So many of them around it can’t be that hard to secure a cost effective relationship.

16. Hants July 2, 2015 at 1:37 PM # (1) There is nothing wrong with Cowan and others setting up a company and creating a proposal to do a project in Barbados. (2) It is up to the Government to do their due diligence and accept or reject the proposal.It is up to the Government to ensure that this WTE plant is properly financed and that it will produce electricity more efficiently than any other comparative option.

(1) Actually, this is wrong on multiple levels.

that Cahill Energy Limited has apparently been represented as a capable and knowledgable company as to energy provision, while it is just a management services company (as shown by the Guernsey official registration), is not only concerning, but downright shocking.

This gives the impression, right or wrong, that it is a shell corporation set up for the specific purpose, not of provision of energy services, but as a vehicle to manage the transaction i.e. it is not registered as an energy company but as a financial services company.

Does the Guernsey regulator know that it is in the business of energy provision?

that the company was apparently represented as being an overseas expert company, but the official registration allegedly shows a Barbadian lawyer as one of the three directors, one of the others apparently being a management company individual representing as a director, makes it interesting as to who are the shareholders.
    that those who do not do their homework, as has been shown on other blog threads and reports, get the impression that this company is related to the large and recognized Cahill Group of Canada.

Obviously an oversight by whom named the company, but such in some cases has been taken to be a legal breach of ‘passing off’.

Surely not intended in this case, but unfortunate at least.

I would expect that now that Cahill Group of Canada knows of the issue, there may be some request to change the name, as any misadventure would have negative effects on the reputation of Cahill Group of Canada. Thus, likely those representing Cahill Group of Canada will rightly seek to have the name of this other company changed.
    That this contract was secured without tender, with an unkown (reputationally) entity, begs some serious questions.

(2) Of course the Government should have done the requisite due diligence, but that does not mean that the contractual arrangement is any more attractive after the fact.

Cannot make a silk purse out of a sow’s ear and all that.

17. RastaR July 2, 2015 at 1:46 PM # So many oearls of wisdom after the fact . Clearly the protocol of public tendering was not used in this case. The contract is signed. The only way out now is breach. Has Cowan breached if so then terminate

Not necessarily. If it can be shown that there was misrepresentation in the arrangement of the contract, that may allow for some change of the circumstances.

I am not saying that there was, but merely pointing out an alternate position.

http://www.lawteacher.net/lecture-notes/contract-law/misrepresentation-lecture.php

”(iii) CONTRACTS UBERRIMAE FIDEI

Contracts uberrimae fidei (contracts of the utmost good faith) impose a duty of disclosure of all material facts because one party is in a strong position to know the truth. Examples would include contracts of insurance and family settlements.

A material fact is something which would influence a reasonable person in making the contract.”

My question is thus. WHO, represented Cahill Energy Limited as having the capacity to attend to the relevant contractual needs and provisions and DOES the company have such capability.

If it does, then fine. However, from the available knowledge to the public, that is surely a wondrous question.

IF, the company does not have such capacity, WHO then represented that it does. The Government or Cahill Energy representatives?

If the Government, well, one would have to question how could they provide such assertion.

IF Cahill Energy Limited, then one could look at the issue as being that a material fact went undisclosed.

This is obviously conjecture without having those relevant facts.

As such, it is incumbent on the Government to provide a copy of the contractual arrangement as well as the pertinent facts, for the public to understand the issue in a wholesome manner.

18. But lying ac,

The DLP went all over Barbados in 2013 and promised public servants that not one of them would lose their job and that their jobs were safe with the dems. But you know,,,,,,,,,DLP stands for Damn Lying Party……you cannot help lying!

Your initials define you!

19. what am i lying about have you ever seen blood come from stone, try all you might i will never happen as in the case of the retrenched workers, there is no money so then they story change, either they worked for free or be let go where they are free to look for gainful employment, again the BLP is foreigners to truth ,

20. Cost of a solar power system can range from $15,000-$30,000 US and that does not include maintenance and other hidden fees,,.do you know of any poor bajan that have that kind of money to invest into a project of that kind and further more have enough savings to ensure proper maintenance for the long term viability of the product , the BLP like lost sheep like to make a lot of noise but most of the time they seem to be living in a world that is alien to the average person.

21. I see Cahill energy limited is changing it
    Mission statement

” By Appointment of the naive and gullible ” only unsuspecting governments need apply”
    CEL = Cheat Everyone Limited.
    CEB = Cincliar Easwick Boyce

22. De Ingrunt Word Avatar
    De Ingrunt Word

@ Crusoe, your analysis @7:16 and 7:29 is confounding. How is the simply profound statement from Hants wrong when he says that “… It is up to the Government to do their due diligence and accept or reject the proposal”?

The GoB rules for contracting are well established over many years. Anyone involved in Gov’t projects here know the process of public tender, Obviously this project was not tendered along those regular rules, but which does not mean that it was illegally done.

If you are a Darcy Boyce or other senior experienced official you cannot be hoodwinked by a ‘passing off’ unless you want to. That is otherwise negligence and incompetence of an absurd level.

You do not start negotiations for a $300M – $700M for a new technology on waste recycling unless and until you have checked the bona-fides of the operators very, very carefully.

And you certainly do not sign the contracts unless those operators have shown you explicitly that they have completed (indirectly or directly) projects like this before.

There are many situations where contracts are awarded to a company which then subcontracts to those who actually do the work. So this seems to be such a case, although it is difficult to understand why exactly.

Regardless, there are rules of engagement to ensure everything meets legal and operational standards. None of those seemed to have been applied here.

And whenever otherwise wise and careful men and women make seemingly bad decisions when large sums of money are involved, history shows that significant graft and personal enrichment were involved.

Governments always caution along the lines that although they are seeking the best bid that they are not obliged to accept that offer if other conditions are not met. In sum, they can continue to carry on their ‘due diligence’ to determine if indeed your company can do the job even if you win the contract .

So let’s not over analyze, Hants is fundamentally correct: It is up to the Government to do their due diligence and accept or reject [ANY] proposal.

So when we get a Cahill contract it is all about GRAFT; no incompetence, negligence or lack of knowledge. GRAFT, plain and simple!

23. @Dee Word

If we are to accept the position of the MOF he opines Cahill is a PPP and therefore avoid the expected procurement procedures. Some Grenville needs to address in his manifesto.

24. @ Dee Word
    It is called “International wire fraud”.
    Intelligent justice officials use it all the time to deal with such fraudsters who think that they are above the law, and who use such technicalities as Hants proposes as excuses.

25. are-we-there-yet Avatar

De Ingrunt Word;

Note the last sentence in Hant’s post reproduced below.

“There is nothing wrong with Cowan and others setting up a company and creating a proposal to do a project in Barbados. It is up to the Government to do their due diligence and accept or reject the proposal. It is up to the Government to ensure that this WTE plant is properly financed and that it will produce electricity more efficiently than any other comparative option.”

Isn’t that a joint responsibility for both the GoB and CEB?

But your overarching point is spot on. Contracts of the Cahill type with numerous provisions that cannot withstand a smell test are always about GRAFT, plain and simple.

26. @ Dee Word

This is the only way to redress a situation where BOTH the initiator AND the Government officials are crooked frauds, who are working to defraud the public purse.

Of course the charge of ‘wire fraud’ is not used in Brassbados since:
    …The Ag is an idiot and probably don’t get it anyway…
    …The PM is in a perpetual daze
    …The lawyers and judges are all guilty themselves (ask DEEDS…)
    …and the people are ACCUSTOMED to being pissed on …because..

We are brass bowls.

27. are-we-there-yet Avatar

ac; re. your 11:20 pm post last night, you said

“Cost of a solar power system can range from $15,000-$30,000 US and that does not include maintenance and other hidden fees,”

Suggest that is more like 6,000 to 25,000 US for systems ranging from a low end domestic 1Kw system to a high end 5kw one for the high flyers like members of the political class. Of course maintenance would be an additional factor.

Ask the service providers how many low end systems they have installed over the past 2 years? The answer might surprise you.

28. Beating up on Cahill is not going to change the Fact that Barbados needs a strident and fast as wel as a forwarding moving energy plan to combat high energy and that is where the govt plan is focused…The constant attacks by Cahill lead by Mia Mottley who is asking for transparency is laughable of (now) she has not been transparent and forthing coming in clearing up the cloud of suspicion hanging over her head about her privileged in being allowed to practice law which some says was amended to give special privilege but has been not allowed to others who must. forego the full route of having a LEC to be fully accredited and practice law in barbados.question when is Mia going to be transparent on that issue..inquring minds what to know

29. Where ignorance is bliss, there is folly to be wise!

30. High On A Hill Avatar
    High On A Hill

Are we to take from the MOF that the GOB does not tender PPP projects?

Or are we to interpret he meant to say ‘some projects are not to be tendered’?

31. David July 3, 2015 at 8:11 AM #
    If we are to accept the position of the MOF he opines Cahill is a PPP and therefore avoid the expected procurement procedures. Some Grenville needs to address in his manifesto.
    XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

It seems the PPP is the new and popular way for Government to get around the tendering process. Was the BWA building a PPP? But surely there should be a Request for Proposals (RFP)? Some alternative proposals to benchmark against?

As it stands right now all we have on the table is the Cahill proposal.

32. Is the proposed new sugar factory a PPP? A PPP and BOLT?

33. O'Connor Grant Avatar
    O’Connor Grant

the bwa building was put out to bid from my recollection. 6 local companies and 1 from Antigua or St.Lucia

34. The MoF’s position is if an entity is offering to invest in a project where is the logic in putting the project out to tender.

To repeat the issue here is one of lack of transparency to make sure the public understands the implication of committing to plasma gasification and amplifying the fine print in the contracts being signed off.

35. Saw this article on the wire dated 07/03/15 just now stating: Cahill Energy Commits to Bringing High Quality Green Jobs to the People of Barbados http://www.marketwired.com/press-release/cahill-energy-commits-to-bringing-high-quality-green-jobs-to-the-people-of-barbados-2035431.htm

36. Clare has hired a SPIN DOCTOR

This is pure PR spin

37. Thanks Heather

Should have said the Marketwired Press Release is pure PR spin.

See last sentence

“As we move forward, Cahill Energy will continue to welcome and participate in a respectful discussion about the future of Barbados’ energy needs.”

Does that suggest that the discussions on BU have been disrespectful?

38. Spin spin spin
    International experts
    Waffle and steak all in one
    People should take the time to digest this and then clearly and distinctly rebutt this nonsence
    This is her last ditch attempt to salvage a deal so she can cut and run when the time is right
    Her so called investors when they are revealed will have an uphill battle
    Just like the JSI bullshit IM this is consummate bullshit spin
    I hope she psid the spin doctors upfront
    For this waffle.

39. David can you put this front and center again please

40. Very carefully worded to avoid the use of plasma M’s Cowan :::::::::::::::::::
    Does she really think we are that stupid
    “It’s the plasma Stupid”
    The contract is written round it
    Change it from plasma and the contract is void
    GOB get your act together !!!!!!!!

41. @Rasta R July 3, 2015 at 3:47 PM #

“The contract is written round it.”

Indeed, this may be the document upon which the Group of Four made its decision to commit the taxpayers to 30 years of whatever.

Then International law firm Taylor Wessing LLP went to work and formalized the most one sided contract in history.

Clare should have asked Butch how he got DEM to agree to 40 years of concessions

42. PFIs are indeed subject to public tender given that government investment, normally land as is the case with this WTE, is involved.

43. are-we-there-yet Avatar

RastaR

The new Cahill Publicity spin document does not mention Plasma Gasification, nor indeed AlterNRG. PG was the major selling point of the project and the main determinant for justifying its very high cost.

You suggested that this could be a major point that would allow the GoB to get out of the Cahill deal. That sounds feasible and would be the way that an upstanding government, at least 4 of whose ministers might have been compromised, would be expected to deal with such a situation.

But could it be that there is a new strategy by Cahill and some elements in the GoB to maintain a Cahill WtE project by tweaking it to use a different WTE technology that is not seen as environmentally challenging to a country like ours as the Plasma gasification technology while maintaining the other aspects of the project?

They might see such a strategy as being the best possible one that will allow them to maintain face in the country and continue to protect the MInisters in the news while denying MAM an overt victory in this matter?

But would it fly? Would the people accept it?

44. I have just learned that Cahill Energy is also developing a Solar farm in the Cayman Islands. A local company Cayman company is to install the farm which is expected to become operational in the 4th quarter 2015. More info will be relayed as it becomes available.

45. Thank you David for putting this center stage again :-))

46. Looks like Clare Cowan felt she had to respond to Barbados Today by email, interesting.

http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2015/07/04/not-a-waste/

47. De Ingrunt Word July 3, 2015 at 7:31 AM # @ Crusoe, (1) your analysis @7:16 and 7:29 is confounding. (2) How is the simply profound statement from Hants wrong when he says that โ€œโ€ฆ It is up to the Government to do their due diligence and accept or reject the proposalโ€?
    xxxxxx

(1) My wording was carefully chosen.

(2) Because the issue is much more fundamental than merely ‘Govt doing their due diligence’.

It is quite involved if you read (I mean truly read), what I am saying. The issues are multiple and some very fundamental, not only to any proposed project, but to governance and ethics.

Pointless speaking on a narrow area of assessment when much more fundamental issues are within the purview of the discussion.

48. ”Heather July 4, 2015 at 12:10 AM # I have just learned that Cahill Energy is also developing a Solar farm in the Cayman Islands”

That has absolutely nothing to do with the Cahill Energy Limited and Barbados contract.

As you ‘hear’ so much, who are the owners / principals of Cahill Energy Limited. Who owns the shares and or trust?

Thank you for your keen interest in providing detailed and relevant information to us common citizens.

49. Jumping Sheep Avatar

There is no need for Cowen to speculate on whether Cahill Energy Barbados is for sale, the evidence produced by the Leader of the Opposition proves that beyond doubt.

50. Due Diligence July 3, 2015 at 3:02 PM # Does that suggest that the discussions on BU have been disrespectful?”

Cannot see how, all we have asked is as to WHO OWNS THE SHARES IN CAHILL ENERGY LIMITED. .. CAN WE SEE SHARE CERTIFICATES????????