Those  Democratic Labour Party (DLP) members in parliament advocated the need for Barbados to enact Integrity and Freedom of Information legislation prior to being elected in 2008. There was an expectation Barbadians would have seen movement on this issue within 100 days of the DLP government [โ€ฆ] taking office. It is an indictment on civil society we have not been able to pressure government to treat this issue as a priority.  In fact, the DLP was re-elected in 2013 and transparency legislation did not feature as a key platform issue.

It is ironic Mia Mottleyโ€™s contribution in the 2015 Budget Debate  has positioned the issue of graft and corruption in government squarely in the publicโ€™s domain. If we are to evaluate the fervour which some members of parliament on Mottleyโ€™s side supported her on the issue there is a lot to be said about the political class closing ranks.

Here is the Leader of the Opposition Mia Mottleyโ€™s reply to the 2015 Budget (first hour clipped).

246 responses to “Mia Mottley Prosecutes Government on CORRUPTION in Her Reply to 2015 Budget”

1. millertheanunnaki Avatar

ac June 19, 2015 at 6:15 PM
    “Lowe is well known as a proud man and simple man across barbados ,unlike mia whose public record and image is linked to political corruption and bad deals and mismanagement for fourteen years…”

And what else is Mia known for? Why not go straight for Mia’s labia and call her a wicker instead of a witch?
    Asshole, MAM is not the PM and, (unlike the thieving down Lowe closet he/she), neither is she a minister of the Crown.
    Ask lowedown where he got his Hepatitis black lips from?

2. it really behooves me that the BLP has the “raw nerve” and mitigated gall to pick at lowe, When they are in full support gear to endorse a corrupt and now well known Boldfaced liar and hypocrite one Mia mottley, one appears to have sold her soul to the devil given the past days events in parliament where she concocted stories of lies upon lies which by all means and full clarity has buried her into a mountain of unproven allegations which she has to be accountable for, what a dumb jerk , even a little child could have told her she was stepping in deep dooo dooo and will leave her tracks and stinking smell for days across the room. Well Well Well unbelievable this woman actually has the nerve after her presentation of lies and untruths in parliament wanting to be PM.of this tiny island..makes me want to puck,,,

3. Why don’t some of you remain focused on the issue at hand and prosecute it the best way? Some on BU rely on the online fora to informed their positions.

On 19 June 2015 at 22:33, Barbados Underground wrote:

4. This current DLP has done untold damage to the political system in Barbados which will take decades to repair.

Yes from way back to Barrow’s time, you would have heard whispers of corruption but that was put down to political talk on political platforms. Along came a wet behind his ears, David Thompson who felt that it was his God given right to be PM of this country from the day he was born. (And you ac’s have to audacity to talk about Mia?)

In David Thompson’s quest to become PM, he stopped at nothing. He practically destroyed the DLP to achieve it.

He began a campaign of lies and innuendo against OSA’s BLP. He accused them of virtually every sin under the sun to paint the BLP in the worst light in the electorate’s eyes. He even went to Toronto and told Dlpites there that the Bees had money in Swiss accounts which he intended to bring every cent back………….all the while, no one knew how corrupt he himself was…..at least his corruption has been proven.

Since his broad brush swipe to paint everyone corrupt, politics has never been the same in Barbados………the public views every politician as a crook. Carrington made that belief true and by the way he is a DEM.

I would never forget the day after that infamous Haggatt Hall meeting………..the Dems in my office were gathered together in my office waiting until I arrived and gave me hell that morning as if I knew anything of what went on in the BLP. And to think no one knew at that time what a big fraud David Thompson was………….but that was the kind of blood sports politics David Thompson played.

Sadly that is where politics in Barbados is at now. A sorry crossroad!

5. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Prodigal Son June 19, 2015 at 6:41 PM

To reinforce how dirty the current crop of DLP ministers are the PM had the nerve to say in the recent budget debates that the laying off of ten thousand public sector workers was something that was proposed before his administration came to office.
    Yet he had the hypocritical audacity to promise the workers that not one of them would lose their job under his administration.

The PM- in full awareness of the proposal to “restructure” the public service employment profile- still promised in his partyโ€™s manifesto and propaganda campaign to keep all public servants employed while promoting a plan of the BLP to layoff the 10,000 workers. Same thing of tertiary (university) education, same thing of privatization of State-owned and controlled assets and enterprises.

What a blasted dirty liar he is, I say, not fit for holding public office. No wonder his sins are overpowering him and turning him into one ugly looking sickly monster.

6. So what are the qualifications to be a licensed Clinical Psychologist? It surely can’t be a PhD in Education….lol. Where did Lowe do his clinical placement? Does U of Cincinatti offers/offered a PhD in education?

With reference to Mia and the LEC, who does Article 6 of the governing Act refer to? But if Mia did not meet the criteria who pulled a string, the Dems were in power in 1987 ent?

7. LT. HORATIO CAINE. Avatar
    LT. HORATIO CAINE.

This Cahill matter is something that i am totally against, and quite frankly if any skullduggery occurred those responsible should have to answer for their actions, but once again Mia Mottley has acted too quickly, her zest for power always cause her to make rash decisions.In my opinion she should have allowed this debacle to go a bit further, not that i would have wanted it to get off the ground but presenting the evidence during the Budget was not a properly thought out move regardless of what ever may be said in her defense,she has now given the government the room to carefully examine their short comings and they will most definitely try to appease to the public by having this project shelved for some reason that will be deemed as a satisfactory option in the eyes of the public.As they say haste makes waste, no pun intended,but two years prior to an election will be enough time for this matter to be considered a nine day wonder especially if at this stage it is spun for recovery properly. Then there is the political meeting Sunday night. why? Now as they have stated much more will be revealed, and when all is revealed what do you think will happen? More information for the parties of government to act upon and then set about to rectify any infelicities, a gun without ammunition at the appropriate time is useless i do not know who advises the opposition leader, then again it has been mooted that she is strong headed, in a couple of weeks all of this will be stale news and there is the possibility that some new form of debacle will take the spotlight and it may involve either side as a day in politics is a mere process in time.

8. ….and that wouldn’tbe seen as a triumph for Mia and the BLP?

9. LT. HORATIO CAINE. Avatar
    LT. HORATIO CAINE.

What triumph what?,How many persons are now concerned with the crap that went on during the construction of the prison? A lot of infelicities went on there that has this country in real debt, but do you think anyone cares about that now? When such was brought before the public by Thompson around that election time,it had an effect, this Cahill matter that smacks of skullduggery will not create that much of an effect two years away from an election,so much can and will happen leading up to such time as i have stated Mia Mottley’s quest for power always overshadows her ability to act in a manner that would afford one to believe that her motives are genuine.

10. Why does anyone go into politics?

Does anyone go into politics to sit on the opposition benches forever?

When David Thompson pushed Clyde Mascoll and the same Freundel Stuart out of the way unceremoniously to become President and leader of the Opposition, was he labelled as in a quest to get power?

What good is it for MAM to keep quiet and allow these morons to destroy our country?

11. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Lt. Caine

There are strategists and “strategists”

What you have pointed out takes serious planning and foresight – let the fools go all the way out to their baller, get all of the arrangements in place, record all of the enabling fees, paid to DownLow via the bank, get your people at the MTW to take copies of the slips, LIKE THE SPIES AT THE CENTRAL BANK are able to give every detail on Leroy Parris’ deposits and CD conversion and then WHAPLAX!!

Right now it is 9 days of wonder, then it is evidence of the crime, for prosecution later after 2018.

Now they can reshuffle and do a next ting and achieve the same thing, under the cover of night

But then again Lt. we ent dealing with no braniacs.

“Pinky, pinky pinky and de brain, one is a genius and the other is insane…” de granchilren dem does be playing dem videos pun de carton network pun a day.

Lieutenant, I gots to tell you de trufe, I does be telling de madam dat it for dem edification but, officer, it really fuh de ole man, You does watch it?

Man i does see all de politicians pun it pun a day my man…

12. Wasn’t Freundel dubbed Mr.Integrity for the 2013 elections and repeated chants of a corrupt BLP five years after the prison etc? What did Sinckler use in his wrap up speech–matters even older than the prison!!
    So you say keep quiet and let the plant be built then it’s too late? Who says it is not already too late given the MOU and alleged contents? I repeat a WTE is not a prison or hotel!!
    Let us agree to disagree.

13. The BLP keeps living in denial. The Fact remains that the BLP is offering the public a huge basket of damaged goods in the form of Mottley when one take a look at what is in that basket every item labeled Mottley is spoil and rotten to the core . What the misfits want people to forget is Mia record and it is not going to happen for all that it is worth Mia is prosecutable and the Dlp would make sure the public is reminded of all her illegalities and mismanagement of the affairs of Barbados,
    In her quest for power she made the mistake again by using bad/ tasteless and untimely judgement to accuse innocent people and to insinuate on matters which govt did not privy her, in an unforgettable yet unforgiving moment with relentless flavour and anger to attract and to unleashed a barrage of perceived concoctions which were driven by emotional rants and raves . Any one with a tiny bit of commonsense could have read from the tone of her voice that what she said was not genuine but a mixture of lies and innuendos to give an effect of actuality when in fact their was little or no substantive truth or proof to what Mia said,
    She wasted precious time to proof herself worthy in the eyes of the public by choosing a path of slime and mud raking instead of being bigger and better and replying to a budget in stealth performance and allowing the public to see a glimpse of a person who can do better for the people and the country.
    The eyes and ears of the people would remain riveted to every word Mia says and action done.Like the prodigal son she has wasted her political inheritance and her moment and time to recapture glory was wasted on that nite in parliament when she chose BITTER over BETTER and for that one moment she will be punished.

14. This Cahill matter is a ticking time bomb
    which will either be allowed to detonate
    or will be diffused by the GOB and or people
    of Barbados.

15. Rasta rooster Avatar

Ticking bombs are a thing of the past
    The introduction of the digital age has defunked the mechanical cogs of war
    What Cahill didn’t count on was the silent majority
    Clearly this Cowan woman underestimated the plasma power of the people .
    The alter NRG “single stage ” gasifier is the second weakest link in this debacle
    When it works which is a long shot it will probably generate at 75%-85% efficiency when it dosent and as yet there isn’t one fully functioning one any where in the world then BLP will have to pick up the slack….having to hold on to the existing generating capacity or have new or alternative generating capacity in place to ensure the grid doesn’t miss a beat.

The weakest link is the Cahill woman herself
    She is a cheat and a liability to both the government and the people who trusted her
    She has proven herself to be nothing but a front.
    If you are to believe her she is back on this island next week
    Let’s have her explain what she is doing and tell us all the truth about her checkered history and her shell company set up to denude the island of its hard earned money

16. The blp should do an inventory of their barracks.there is where the ticking time bombs can be found starting with the leadership.

17. carson c cadogan
    June 19, 2015 at 6:24 am
    BTW MIA has yet to produce her certificate. The Hon. Dr. Lowe has produced his for all to see and made it a document of the House. From my way of thinking it is a simple matter for MIA go home take her certificate off the wall, drive to Barbados Today and let them take a photo of it, publish the photo in their newspaper and the matter fix . Simple as that!

What is taking her so long?

lol…I see Carson Cadogan has abandoned BU for these many months but is out there hollering on Barbadostoday.bb..

Or Lowe can drive to the police station and show them proof that Mia has no certification and has been fraudulently practicing low, anyone else would be arrested and jailed, after all, it is a crime.

18. @AC
    Ask Denis Lowe at what age he was taken from Barbados , who took him and why
    he should thank the person’s that feel for his mother, due to the way he was growing up in cane garden he would have gone to the real old doods, ask Lowe if he remember how long he went to school in Barbados, that man is a BIG LIAR

19. The Attorney General is on record advising he will investigate the matter and report, MAM does not have to do anything therefore. Hopefully his promise is not like the one he made about doing something about voting irregularities during the last election.

20. Where are all those Cahill energy folks who came to the island all those months ago for the big display and the town hall meeting
    The lawyer,the engineers, the finance guy in the Bermuda’s the alterNrg guy Kevin and of course the lady in the white with her trusty assistant by her side?????

How many of these people worked for Cahill then and how many are still helping her scam the people now???
    Her last trip didn’t have the lawyer or the engineer why?????
    Have they seen the true colours of the scam and decided to distance themselves from the fraud?????

21. @ Well Well

carson c cadogan is an alias used by Michael Lashley Minister of Transport

22. Dennis Lowe is not campaining to be PM .Mia is !.and should be ashamed knowing the many skeletons she has tucked away in her closet.What is known of Mia past fourteen year record is enough to disqualify her from being a leader farther less having her named placed on any ballot box

23. yatinkitesy on June 20, 2015 at 11:45 AM
    Are four Ministers allowed and authorized to sign off on a contract of such magnitude and impact on society and environment, without the details even discussed in Parliament? That is sheer madness.Transparency and accountabilityโ€ฆIf I hear those two words mentioned again I think I might just throw up.

Let’s open the door for everyone to see this thing for what it is a sham and an opportunity for this Cahill woman to make millions and never return to the island to spend a penny of her ilgotten gains
    The government should issue a no entry ban on her for life
    She has no conscious and will cut and run as soon as it suits her greedy paws

24. @ac

I agree with you. I was a bit disappointed with her reply,She did not deal with the policies in the Budget, neither did she give a reply on what she and the BLP would do differently. She does has many skeletons in her closet in which I am willing to turn a blind eye to if these skeletons are in her personally life. But if they surround her professional life, then i will take heed to Owen’s advice. He has been warning us about her for a very long time.

25. Seeing that the cahill woman has a Canadian address,the lawyers of the opposition should ask the RCMP to do a due diligence of her and her bona fides.
    Speaking of banning people from entering Barbados, Rickey Singh,Donald Ramoutar and Bharrat Jagdeo racists coolies of Guyanese origin should be declared persona non grata.I do not understand how the JA’s like Stuart could sit and allow Afro and select Indo Guyanese to be insulted and sidelined by these 3 scumbag racists pigs.When you speak of corruption Jagdeo,Ramroop and Brassington are past masters and from whom lowdown has learned and perfected his art of conning the citizens of Barbados.Financial corruption robs the poor moreso,the most vulnerable in a society,but robs the entire country’s development.

26. LT. HORATIO CAINE. Avatar
    LT. HORATIO CAINE.

As i said before Mia Mottlley did not address one economic policy matter in the budget, her focus was on gaining her idea of mileage from her revelations. The Cahill spectacle and the trans tech issue, i was very refreshing to hear Owen Arthur’s contribution he carefully pointed out the short comings of the budget and had rapt attention, i even got the impression that he alerted government that should they need his assistance he would be willing to assist,he kept focused on the issues and did not in anyway appear to give credence to Mottley’s rants. I often wonder why politicians always go after certain business persons who are affiliated with one party or the other when they are all guilty of receiving assistance from these entities,i am in receipt of certain information that those who criticize the association with trans tech,also make their approaches very clandestine for their various levels of assistance as the owner of the said business is known to be a person who is somewhat generous.Politicians never cease to amaze me.

27. Not onlyis her personal life been associated with scandal but her professional life as well ..which begs the question why would she open a pandora,s box knowing full well the backlash that would be heading in her direction..where was mia,s judgement when she pointed dirty fingers at lowe. can not understand Mia,s reason or logic for barrelling down that road.fuh peak sake because lowe has a high end car does that give Mia enough reason to be critical and insinuate fiction and made up stories to taint lowe as corrupt. Really SMFH.such poor judgement on her part .this woman cannot be possibly serious in asking the public to support her in becoming bePM when she cannot even protect her own character.then pray tell when in office how would she be protective of the character and integrity of this nation.Mia has gone down a path that not even a blind person would dare tread

28. Sunny Sunshine Shine Avatar
    Sunny Sunshine Shine

More exposure of corruption. Plain and open. Yet not one shite happening in the form of an investigation to bring these thieving rats to justice. Barbadian are just some real real corrupt bitches. CARRY O SMOOTHLY CROOKS.U AIN’T GOT ONE SHITE TO WORRY ABOUT.

29. LT. HORATIO CAINE. Avatar
    LT. HORATIO CAINE.

By the way for those of you who may disagree that the timing of publicizing this Cahill matter might have been too soon, and as a result it will die and fizzle and lose it’s sting,well as i have stated before a day in politics is but a mere process in time, and a lot will happen between now and the next general election that will determine the fate of both parties. I say this because of a factor in the last general election, the Wickham last minute poll which was conducted by him mere days before the casting of votes,he stated he detected a wobble, a wobble in my opinion that caused the BLP the election. The Barbados Labor Party was on course to win that election and Peter Wickham’s poll took it from their grasp, it galvanized the supporters of the democratic Labor Party to come out in their numbers and the rest is history, so relying on scandalous ploys,even though i do not support anything that smacks of corruption is not a sure fire way to garner the support of the masses.

30. @AC
    Everyone knows Mia, why don’t you state your real name here on this BU, them we will see who the real corrupted bitches by association in the DLP

31. An excellent presentation by Mia in her response to the stupid budget …which does NOT deserve a response in economic terms for the same reason that few here responds to AC….

Simplistic idiocy …to expect to just tax Bajans – who are barely managing to pay bills – in order to raise millions to pay Bizzy, JADA etc for stupid contracts ….while CLEAR conflicts of interest arrangements are ongoing with expensive cars and Lord knows what else…

Well said SSS
    ….bunch of low-class, thieving, dishonest bitches…

Mia’s response was EXACTLY on point…. what kind of person defends the level of corruption that she has attacked…?
    steupsssss
    Arthur could really stay home…. What can he now say to anyone after spending two decades f***ing (fouling) up the damn system…?

32. @ LT. Horatio Caine
    You should ask the man from the Nation who can’t go home to his young wife, why he pay Peter to do what was done . long live the corruptors in Barbados, they must suffer at some stage for the people to see, just look at the PM

33. We can’t let this Cahill thing fizzle out
    It’s to important to the people of this island

I challenge everyone to keep it to the forefront
    This clandestine deal cannot stand
    It needs to be killed in no uncertain terms

34. @bush shit ac not here to garner friends or acquaintances especially from the few who frolick BU ..my observation is one that the whole bunch here are self serving bastards and would die before contributing anything of worth to the barbados economy other than lip service.hence we have jac.a.sses like u supporting the diatribe of politucal nonsense Mia emitted as a budget replybecause it u nothing.

35. Wuhloss………….Mia exposed the corrupt bastards and it shook the foundations of the DLP. Now they are out in force going for Mia’s jugular! You all are so predictable!

Now today the Stinkliar is back at OSA. For the last few months, they have been cosying up to OSA trying to get him to destroy Mia. They liked him when he was attacking Mia. Now that he exposed the Stinkliar and the governor of the Central Bank’s deceit in their desperate money grab in the issue of the savings bonds, Stinkliar raising a stink like he is always wont to do.

OSA did not tell me anything that I did not know and I am no economist. A blind man on a trotting horse could see from reading the CBB reports that all is not well with our economy no matter how they try to mislead us by manipulating the facts and figures. Stinkliar was boasting that they have never defaulted on a loan. Yea but if people wanted back their money and a loan was due, the loan would be paid and the bond holders would have to wait.

He can boast all he wants that they do not default on loan payments but they do not paid local suppliers neither……….case in point……Al Barrack, the suppliers to the hospital, VAT refunds, income tax refunds and even Bizzy.

I am sure that if a bunch of the bond holders get cold feet and go Monday morning and ask back for their money, this government would not have it! The have raided NIS, they can no longer raid it so the Stinkliar and the governor had to find another bunch of suckers!

36. No money for Cave Hill but the whole Treasury for Cahill.

37. Cahill is a clever way for money to taken offshore for the benefit of a FEW. The ruin of the DLP is and will be DARCY BOYCE, this is his handiwork.

38. De Ingrunt Word Avatar
    De Ingrunt Word

Lt Caine, you should not “wonder why politicians always go after certain business persons who are affiliated with one party or the other when they are all guilty of receiving assistance from these entities” because that is the way it has to be. They talk all over their faces but the Bizzy Williams and Trans Techs and others operate well in B- Village as well as in D-land.

It’s a corporate play on the social dance where the leader of one party is the god-parent of the child of the leader of the other party…and this going back a few generations now.

It makes for great theater that the Opposition Leader is fulfilling her mandate of bringing the wrongful actions of the Government to the parliament and the people. Great theater like the Carrington affair.

Her actions then were ineffectual though popular and here again on this very serious Cahill matter we have a lot of grandstanding. This capable former attorney general cannot effect other more meaningful legal and practical strategies to disrupt and get this bad project side-tracked but we are acclaiming the party and the leader.

This should not be any Facebook people’s voice, the opposition should be plastering Barbados at the moment with all level of information, consultations from experts , the details on the deal that contravened the tender rules etc etc. Doing what a credible crown opposition should be doing for the best of their country…

If they serious that is and not just playing politics!

This is one of the most serious projects attempted in Barbados since…well since nothing. So to say that I am disappointed with the lack of appreciation on BU in recent days that leader of the opposition has acted well below the level of purposeful bombast needed is putting it mildly.

This is head shaking strange.

39. @bush shit ac not here to garner friends or acquaintances especially from the few who frolic BU ..my observation is one that the whole bunch here are self serving bastards and would die before contributing anything of worth to the barbados economy other than lip service.hence we have jac.a.sses like u supporting the diatribe of political nonsense Mia emitted as a budget reply because it cost u nothing.

40. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Prodigal Son June 20, 2015 at 4:24 PM
    โ€œHe can boast all he wants that they do not default on loan payments but they do not paid local suppliers neitherโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆ.case in pointโ€ฆโ€ฆAl Barrack, the suppliers to the hospital, VAT refunds, income tax refunds and even Bizzy.โ€

Are you one of those 24,000 taxpayers who will be receiving a ‘stuffed’ envelope containing your income tax refund by June 30th?

Imagine that number of refunds having to be delayed just because the credit unions are not part of the so-called bank clearing system.
    Now if that were the reason for the delay why weren’t the cheques sent out “in stuffed envelopes” far earlier? How long was the I R now the BRA aware of this constraining situation?
    Why was the option to receive direct deposits to credit union members’ accounts not removed from the electronic processing module?
    Why have those who are entitled to a refund and opted for a cheque in the post not received their refund cheques as yet?

Bajans are really a bunch of cvunts aka brass bowls to believe that tomfoolery from a jackass called Stinkliar.

41. @Miller

You need to add further clarification : why are tax refunds not being paid to those who do not have credit union accounts and selected the Direct Deposit option. He also need to clarify what he said about interest being paid.

42. “Bajans are really a bunch of cvunts aka brass bowls to believe that tomfoolery from a jackass called Stinkliar.”

Miller

Case in point–today’s story in BarbadosToday about the new sugar factory. More smoke & mirrors!!!

43. Miller,

I am still waiting for my refunds, I am owed two years, I cannot even be bothered with them whenever they send them, they send them. A contact of mine told me that last year, the ministers got their refunds then the workers in BRA and the rest of people have been waiting ever since.

Some people have been getting some refunds, one of my relatives got theirs this week. You could believe that this liar was boasting in Parliament about ….”envelopes being stuffed as we speak”…….he should be ashamed. Here was he boasting that the economy is on a growth path and he could not pay taxpayers their due refunds for over a year? The man has no shame.

I am told that some refunds were delivered to the PO but with instructions to hold until instructed!

So much for the boast that…….we do not default!

44. are-we-there-yet Avatar

De Ingrunt Word;
    There seems to be just a few considerations that might be lacking in some of the analysis in your last post of 5:32 pm on 20th June. The most important one is that modern Barbados has built an arguably successful model of governance and economic progress based primarily on an underlying strategy of moderation by both the governed and the government.

That moderation has fashioned how the people have reacted to many situations and has dampened the periodic oscillations of our fortunes since at least the sixties. It has allowed us to flourish in the past in the face of gradual deterioration in the economies of our neighbours who have similar resources to ours.

Such moderation has characterized the reaction of our peoples to the actions of politicians. It has generally been a โ€œ live-and-let-live as long as I’m not seriously disadvantagedโ€ interaction as compared with the spontaneous eruptions in our neighboring countries to similar actions by their politicians leading to a perception of instability in such countries as compared to relative stability here.

However, in the past 6 or so years there has been a diminution of moderation in governance here, firstly in a gradual manner and more recently at an accelerated rate. That diminution in Governmental moderation might well be balanced by a similar diminution in moderation in the governed that has not yet erupted.

The last 2 years or so has seen situations that has put severe stress on all sectors of the economy, polity and society. Some of the BU family can recite examples of the deterioration of the application of moderation in our lives almost by rote. But some glaring pointers are the callous implementation of such things as the deep cuts to our health system, the treatment of UWI and the eminently believable statement by the Minister of Education about a future need for cracking of skulls. I think that part of the societal reaction has been the galloping increase in gun crimes, the stories of several people merely existing in abject conditions, the lack of empathy of most “haves” with the deteriorating plight of the “have-nots”, etc, etc.

The Cahill situation is the point which, I think you have recognized, could be the pivot, if you will, that can define the future of Barbados and determine if any of the “values” that informed our modern past will survive in the new Barbados. But perhaps many of those values are no longer relevant and should be discarded.

Cahill is hugely important in many respects. It is a watershed occurrence for a small very vulnerable country of our size. The data in the public domain so far seems to suggest that Cahill has been born out of the urgent need for Barbados to drastically restructure its economy. However some of the gatekeepers in the relevant area of Government, acting primarily in corrupt self interest but with an overabundance of lack of sophistication in such matters, total absence of Prime Ministerial oversight and absolute contempt for the safeguards built into the ministerial system of government, facilitated by a new Prime Ministerial operations model that allows ministers to do whatever they like without using existing checks and balances, allowed a scam artist to inveigle her way into their confidence.

Reacting to Cahill in a manner that has a strong chance of provoking serious disorder in a population where a significant number of people are under severe and almost unmanageable stress and where there are escalating incidences of gun crimes and where there is a chasm developing between the haves and the disadvantaged in almost every sphere of life including access to basic services, is something that a current leader of the opposition has to consider carefully before acting in a way that someone, with good motives and with no access to the minutiae of facts surrounding the case and just sitting impatiently in front of a computer screen in North America and who would not be directly impacted by any resultant explosion, cannot appreciate fully.

The action of whipping the population into a frenzy to remove an unpopular government has serious consequences for all aspects of our development. Ronald Jones was serious in his cracking skulls statement and many of us here know this and would prefer a different strategy at this time when some other method might work.

How do you know if merely ventilating the problem has not already caused a significant shift towards the solution? IMHO, it may be possible that the simple news that the PM now has to OK the further implementation of the project before it gets off the ground could be a solution. The PM is not known for quick decisions and that alone could stymie the implementation of the project ad infinitum. It may not solve some other aspects of it but it might also put paid to the ability of Clair Cowan to sell the company.

Perhaps we should wait until the reports come out about the Tyrol Cot meeting tomorrow night and then review what we think MAM could reasonably do while walking the tight rope of informing the public responsibly or doing something that could irretrievably damage our development, before Bush Teaโ€™s BBE takes over, that is.

45. De Ingrunt Word Avatar
    De Ingrunt Word

Are-We you are building your persuasive sounding case on a mistaken premise. I am not suggesting or even desirous that the leader of the opposition “whip… the population into a frenzy to remove an unpopular government”. I believe completely in democratic legal principles and none of my comments have suggested anything that “has a strong chance of provoking serious disorder”.

The fact that you are interpreting my comments as easing along that path is misplaced considering that your ‘agent provacateur’ is the one progressing along such a path. Mass meetings are normally fully intended to ‘whip people to a frenzy’.

I mentioned that she should be plastering the place but with strategies like providing expert analysis (on the science) to the public to refute it’s viability for Barbados, legal focus on any and all possible missteps and so on.

Basically, a concerted effort to catspraddle the gov’t intentions with serious, legal above board actions.

The mass meeting works best for the salacious chatter about corruption and so on and it seems that is her aim, but I would be keen to have a comprehensive prosecution of how we could even got to this stage without a full public debate.

This is not about the PM halting the project now because of her comments but how the hell could he even allow it to get this far”

How could an active opposition allow it to get this far without vigorous ongoing public/parliamentary commentary ?

Sometimes ” no access to the minutiae of facts surrounding the case” helps to put matters in a very different perspective than those who have all the minutiae right before them.

46. Smooth on June 20, 2015 at 9:01 PM

This plant have me caffufle (1) where are we going to get the quantity of garbage from to burn daily? Bim dont produce that amount of garbage daily and if they do who collecting it? Since the people who suppose to collect it having difficulty now? Are we going to start to import garbage? (2) Does Cahill have a contract with BL&P to buy the electricity produced and who tell them BL&P want to buy it in any case. The BL&P own the infrastructure. How can Cahill use it without some contractual arrangement ? Does one exist?

The government has contracted with Cahill to purchase the power from this plant at a secret rate per megawatt /kilowatt hour which may be good for the country or may be a disaster in terms of BL&P current contracts.
    The government will have to supply the grid connection to take the power
    The government will have to pay for all the infrastructure needed to ensure this thing works
    So when sinklair says the people of Barbados won’t spend a dime of the countries money bringing this plant on line he is talking through his ass
    It will cost millions of dollars to bring this on line if it ever gets off the ground
    Over and above the BD$700million quoted as the cost.

47. are-we-there-yet Avatar

De Ingrunt Word;

I stand corrected. I agree with much of what you have said above.

48. Sunny Sunshine Shine Avatar
    Sunny Sunshine Shine

I hope dirty low life Lowe, stinking Frumhell Stuart, crooked Michael Lashley, nasty to ass lying Chris Sinkya get their Cahill deal. All this evidence and the docile ignorant bitches who are suffereing daily refuse to rise up against the nastiest group of dishonest money hungry liars to ever represent this country. Mia I hate because she is no different but gaw blimah und his lot make Mia look like a saviour. I got more confidence in this corrupt bitch than I got for this twisted set of immoral scum. Mia Mottley when the SSS say you got her support; believe me fellow wicker, you got the SSS support. EXPOSE THE BITCHES

49. are-we-there-yet Avatar

De Ingrunt Word;

I had to go on an errand when I was responding to your above post so that response was incomplete.

….. but despite the truths you engage in your earlier post it seems to me that you do not give any weight to the possible efficacy of alternate ways of skinning the Cahill cat, other than the way you or PUDRYR would do it, primarily because of an abhorrence of the messenger.

It seems to me that MAM’s outing of the actions of the DLP ministers in the Budget Debate where the occasion allowed for the media to publish MAM’s statements and fully identify persons without that media being subject to being hauled before the courts, perhaps outweighs the alternative strategy you support re. likely eventual success. That choice of place and subject matter also possibly protects us on BU from similar prosecution if we stay within the parameters of what was said in Parliament, thereby allowing wider ventilation of the issue than was possible in a different handling of the situation.

As mentioned before, the wide ventilation of the current facts in parliament already seems to have borne some fruit. Freundal’s, known penchant for procrastination will likely lead to an involuntary deep postponement of the implementation of the project and that will, of its own, solve a significant aspect of the Cahill affair. With that outcome MAM can put in place some of the other approaches you have mentioned in your post that will keep the country informed of progress.

It should be obvious that the MAM disclosures at this time has made the general public aware of the nastiness involved in the Cahill affair and will greatly assist in prosecuting other aspects of our current situation that just following your prescription would not have done.

There is more than one way to skin a cat.

50. De Ingrunt Word Avatar
    De Ingrunt Word

Are-We this debate betwixt us has come full circle. Remember the bone of contention was ‘agent of change’.

I never questioned her actions in Parliament but rather Mia’s true desire to uncover the corruption and prosecute this badly formed project based on an aim to do what’s right and not for the normal political tit-for-tat folly.

But anyhow the point is that everything will definitely be under close inspection going forward so to your point, the cat has already lost a lot of skin.

Incidentally, Mottley’s tactic of throwing all types of mud particularly, Lowe’s PhD matter was amusing. That was obviously a poor attempt intended to get under his skin.

Do people who attempt to scam at that level (and I am not saying he attempted anything; but he was so accused) really get distressed when confronted? I saw that as a child’s play move because at the end of the day whether he had the certificate or not it had no impact on his qualification of not for his current post.

As far as BU and much of the public is concerned he is already a charlatan so to what avail was the attack on his credentials? Pure political grandstanding.

I was rereading a older blog earlier and one blogger claimed that an attorney and past BA president had failed his first year law courses. That was sloppy, nasty and unwarranted because surely the attorney eventually passed all his courses. That type of as hominem says more about the attacker than the one attacked.

Same folly with these politicians.