Stephen Lashley, Minister of Culture

Two significant positions on gay rights and marriage have been restated by Barbadosโ€™ Minister Stephen Lashley and Republican 2016 presidential hopeful Ben Carson. In todayโ€™s environment it requires โ€˜ballsโ€™ to offer an anti gay position.

Lashley expressed the view he does not embrace [โ€ฆ] gay marriage and he wonders why Barbadians have allowed themselves to become soft on the issue because of international discussions and court rulings.  Whether one agrees with the minister, it is refreshing to have the view of a member of the Stuart government on record regarding any issue, especially one so contentious.

Away from home Republican candidate Ben Carson has stirred the hornetโ€™s nest by indicating during a Fox News interview that any comparison of the civil rights movement to the gay rights movement left him โ€œa little bit irritatedโ€. It is evident Ben Carson by making such a declaration – probably influenced by his static poll numbers โ€“ has surrendered any ambition to be president of the United States.

It is an open secret the BU household has relentlessly pursued the issue of homosexuality. It is one discussed behind closed doors unlike what obtains in developed countries. Some like to suggest Barbadians are homophobic, therefore when we observe the issue of homosexuality and gay rights making the rounds in the developed world, it exposes the criticism for what it is.

117 responses to “Anti-Gay Rights View Held by Prominent Persons”

1. Even if we look at gay and lesbian marriage as a moral wrong. We still cannot deny the fact that these are two consenting individuals who cognizant of the nature of their conduct and the consequences to be had from a religious prespective. But at least these two individuals are exercising their free-will which forms the core of the Christian Faith to do so. How could you in good Faith believe that you could force a gay or lesbian person to do right according to the religious and civil law, in terms of lifestyle choices? When the divine law with was demonstrated by Adam and Eva, clearly shows that man was fixed with the gift of free-will to choose between the instrumentions of life and death?

2. @Caswell Franklyn June 12, 2015 at 10:36 PM “the well known Barbadian abhorrence to homosexuality… the vast majority of the electorate would not want someone who is perceived to be gay to become the next prime minister.”

I think that you have got it wrong/. I don’t share your belief that there is a well know Bajan abhorrence of homosexuality. I think that most Bajans don’t care one way or the other as long as you don’t do your sexual business or pre-business in public places…we don’t like heterosexual married people doing their sexual business or pre-business in public places either. We Bajans prefer to keep ALL SEX UNDERCOVER.

I think that we have already had a gay or bisexual Prime Minister or two already…may they rest in peace, so I don’t understand what you are talking about. We have had a good number of gay Cabinet members too. In fact I would venture to guess that since the beginning of Cabinet government gays have been over represented in Cabinet.

3. @millertheanunnaki June 13, 2015 at 9:28 AM “One wonders what the same…ministers… are going to say when a few British gays and lesbians choose Barbados as an ideal location to consummate their love for โ€˜each otherโ€™ and the British High Commissioner is requested to officiate at the paid ceremony at the official residence.

Dear miller: You know as well as I do that High Commissioners do not have the legal authority to marry anyone gay or straight.

4. @millertheanunnaki June 13, 2015 at 9:28 AM “For over 200 years black people in Barbados were not allowed to marry but yet children were conceived.”

Which just goes to show that ALL marriage is completely unneccesary.

5. @Sargeant June 13, 2015 at 9:54 AM “Is there a clamour for gay marriage in Barbados?”

Dear Sargeant: No thee is no clamour for gay marriage in Barbados. In fact thateer is no clamour for marraige gay nor straight.

As you are well aware the majority of Bajans were born to unmarried parents, and the majority of us go on to have children without marriage.

We Bajans are not big on this marriage thing at all.

We think of it a a white people/European/North American/Middle Eastern kind of obsession.

We, most of us get along fine without any marriage at all.

6. @Hants June 13, 2015 at 10:17 AM “The Premier of Ontario is overtly lesbian and married to a woman.”

And at one time she was openly heterosexual and married to a man and had several children wit him.

So what are you saying?

7. @just asking June 13, 2015 at 11:57 AM “We are totally against this life style becoming law in Barbados & The Caribbean, and forcing the Church to marry them.”

As the law now stands the church is not required to marry anybody…any religious Minister can refuse to marry anybody for any reason…a good friend of mine who is a senior Minister of religion has from time to time refused to marry some couples. And he offered them the advice “the 2 ‘o wunna will need a (divorce) lawyer soon so if you insist on marrying go one time and find a lawyer (magistrate) to do it. Maybe they can pay one fee and get the lawyer/magistrate to marry and divorce them at the same time.

So yes even now the church can and does refuse to marry some jokers.

8. @TheObserver June 13, 2015 at 12:01 PM “Where do we get such statistics???”…such statistics are damn lies.

9. @pieceuhderockyeahright June 13, 2015 at 2:14 PM “You mean to tell me that the Minister is such a scvnt that he and in grunt Sinkliar remove one Cahill Scam Artist.”

They [the Canadians] have heard from BL&P that Bajans always pay their bills…so now every Canadian wants a piece of the action.

They have heard that our tax pockets are endlessly deep, they have heard that we are a patient people who will wait years for our income tax refunds…

So who can blame them for wanting a piece of the action.

10. @Zoe June 13, 2015 at 8:29 PM “God-ordained monogamous unions of man/woman marriages”

No so.

In fact most societies, most of the time have practiced de jure or defacto polygamy.

In Barbados we practice de facto polygamy.

Tell the truth ZOE.

How many half/outside brothers and sisters do you have?

How many outside children do you have?

See what I tell ya…

11. @”Two significant positions on gay rights and marriage have been restated by Barbadosโ€™ Minister Stephen Lashley and Republican 2016 presidential hopeful Ben Carson.”

Carson is a devout 7th Day Adventist…a fundamentalist Christian American sect.

The Minister is a devout Church of the Nazarene. a fundamentalist Christian American sect.

What do you expect them to say?

Why are we letting foreign theologies confuse our heads?

Stupse!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

12. De Ingrunt Word Avatar
    De Ingrunt Word

@SimpleSimon, you are quite correct that “…. We have had a good number of gay Cabinet members ….”

Cabinet members like Cameron Tudor way back then never flaunted his sexual preference but was described as homosexual in private conversation. And more recently of course a former Min of Health also identified as gay. None of them however were leading their party.

And of course all of those “…. gay or bisexual Prime Minister [s]…” were married men who ostensibly enjoyed a robust heterosexual lifestyle. You or anyone else can speculate on their private behaviour all we care too.

But obviously their circumstance is in no way comparable to that of the current leader of the Opposition.

Bajans are truly hypocrites on sexual mores and for that very reason the DLP will continue to generate excellent local chatter and fan the political head-winds on the issue of Mottley’s sexuality in their concerted negative campaign.

Whether that will be a tipping point to their reelection is not yet clear.

13. In the beginning man made God, later on man made marriage.

14. The Blp misfits for the past seven years has been relentless on this govt with their feeble and vile attacks characterizing every govt member as sexual deviants .(check BU archives} Unbelievable to hear these misfits react with hypocritical mouthings when similar attacks are level against their leadership ,you guys ever hear what goes around comes around, now be good players or get off the playing field. Misfits dear hearts wunna deserve every hard ball pelted in wunna direction.
    How ever wunna can be rest assured that this govt not gonna go into the dirt and mud slinging . this govt remains focus on solving the countries economic woes and unlike the Blp anarchist would not use cheap political cheap tricks to garner support and rally efforts to be cheer leaders against that which is in the best interest of the country,
    The DLP motto is country first, with a steady and positive focus on putting this country on a road to prosperity.

15. Unless one understands the same sex couple marriages one should stay clear of the topic and reserve their Yeah or Nay. The notion of bringing religious teachings and doctrine in the same sex couple debate is “notable” and should be given its respect through the lenses of christian teachings, However this issue is not solely founded or defined by Christian principles in this modern day era. But are burdened with complicated by laws and guidelines to deny basic rights to same sex couples in serious situations whereby same sex couples have to make life or death decisions for their partner.
    In every respect those of christian Principals must and should continue the fight against societies practices that would chip away at the moral fabric of a society . While those on the other side of the spectrum who see themselves as champions for equality and justice must remain steadfast in their efforts to fight against every injustice,
    The two of these Advocates although seemingly to be far apart are somewhat equal partners in their endeavors as they speak on principles that divides but would eventually bring people together when the noise abates and the healing process takes place.
    The christian indeed would say “ON CHRIST THE SOLID ROCK I STAND”
    While those on the Opposite side would say ” WITH LIBERTY AND JUSTICE FOR ALL”
    Truthfully they both deserves respect as Society in the( whole) comes out the Winner,

16. @ AC

In your attempts to defend the DLP, where you can be understood, and at times one must resort to guesswork, assumptions, you sound just like the DLP politicians.

The absence of confidence in your own mind leaves you susceptible to those you falsely assume to be smart, intelligent.

Somebody said a few days ago, we think Bushie, that you are in charge of Buhbadus, and he is right. Haile to Prime Minister AC!

Of course, he meant that there is no difference between you and the ones said to be elected. That is troubling, to say the least.

17. Ac, you talkin bout Caswell Franklyn? Man he asking us to mark he words as though he has been informed by some ancient crystalball, he must be GP alter-ego or someting. But some he prognostions does backfire like one aa dem old transport board bus, pushin its way up Station Hill. Child I got tings tah do and peeple tah see yah hear. I can’t be bothered with deem old farts like Piece, Caswell and Bushy, who en got nothin to do but to get on de cuntputa and run dem mout till tah morrow come. You cuh bother with dem if yah want tah, but I en gun let dem raise mah pressure bye.

18. In recent decades, there has been three Satanic tsunami’s thrown across planet earth, for the express purpose of erasing our Origins, (Creation) by Almighty God, through Darwinism, evolutionary materialism, MIGHT makes RIGHT!

Secondly, came the Gay/Lesbian thrust, a VALUE FREE so-called RIGHTS, to eliminate ALL historic based family unions, one man, one woman, the ROOT stabilizer of any truly functional society.

Thirdly, came Islamic Jihadists Sharia Law Terrorists, to eliminate ALL Civic, democratic freedoms.

Of course there are other dynamics within this COHOBLOPOT of Satanic confusion, that’s working well, to completely destabilize every aspect of our lives.

Yes, the End-Time scenario as outlined by Jesus, IS* here, and quickly approaching its culmination!!!

19. Well Mr. Lashley, the reason i have become “soft on the issue” is that i’m not a hypocrite which is a concept that politicians can’t grasp. In 2011, it is quoted that Barbados divorce rate for marriages up to 10 years, 47% ended in divorce. Who are we to tell others what to do when our own house is clearly not in order ? But Mr. Lashley, i get it; obfuscation .

20. Zoe

If the end times are upon us, then what are you worrying about? If it is fated, then not an ounce of human ingenutiy can alter the inevitable course presciented by the Hebrew Scriptures some three-thousand-years ago. And if we are to value what you have written, then we can only assume that the realization of same-sex-marriage will materialized in the not too distant future. Because if it doesn’t materialized, it would obviously undermine everything the Holy Bible stands to represent?

21. This nonsense about one man, one women is a fairly recent construction. Families were always more likely to be based polygamy or polyandry than this recent Western infliction.

Indeed, a lot of people in the place where too many people are misled had several wives, husbands.

We don’t know how many readers have gone to Tibet, for instance, where polyandry has been practised from time immemorial. Women could have as many as 4 or 5 husbands. All the children belong to all the men.

This false morality on which modern Christian public relations is built is not about morals but about conquest. Not about god but about mammon.

22. Zoe

And why are we fighting against what the Bible has already presciented? Isn’t written in the New Testament of KJV that: in that last days men should leave the natural use of the woman burning in their lust for one another?” So this passage of scriptures tells me quite clearly that we are fighting a hopeless battles, as far as gay and lesbian rights are concern.

23. @De Ingrunt Word June 14, 2015 at 6:10 AM “Cameron Tudor way back then never flaunted his sexual preference.”

I don’t understand what you mean by flaunt, but when Cammie was Minister of Education I was only a school child, a school child from deep in the country where telephones nor even Reddifusion had yet to penetrate and yet I knew that Cammie was gay whether or not he was “flaunting” his sexual orientation…his behaviour was in no way different from this current generation of politicians…whether they are gay our whether like our Prime Minister and a number of his Cabinet they are parents even though they have never gone near to a church or a magistrate for a marriage license…so I suppose we can deduce that they have all/are all “flaunting” their sexual lifestyle for sex with a same sex partner or sex without marriage.

“all of those โ€œโ€ฆ. gay or bisexual Prime Minister [s]โ€ฆโ€ were married men who ostensibly enjoyed a robust heterosexual lifestyle. ”

I don’t have a problem with gay people…but I must admit that I have a problem with bi-sexual people…in a bisexual union somebody is always discomfited (unless all three or more parties to the union are all bisexual). I makes me very uncomfortable to think of my daughter/sister/granddaughter being married to man who is also enjoying a robust homosexual lifestyle…in this day of deadly sexually transmitted diseases bisexuals who MUST HAVE multiple partners make me very, very uncomfortable.

But homosexual politicians whether BLP, DLP, PDC, *LP are cool with me.

24. I agree Pach… ancient Israel practiced polygamy prior to when Moses was handed the Ten Commandments.

25. So why are the Christians even worried or bothered about what others of non-christain beliefs think ! say! or do about God or Christian practices and teaching,, I have not noticed that on account of the non-christian beliefs the Church has been deemed a reservoir of unworthiness in the eyes of govts and should be no longer be active participators in the building codes and ethically standards of society in a democracy .Far from it the church has been allowed to exist and have all the rights and freedoms allowed.
    What the church needs to preach is tolerance! a fastened and persuasive element cemented into the church brought about by Paul who incorporated jewish teachings and christain doctrines in an electrifying moment (to include) which is the standard bearer by which all faiths were allowed( to) and to be equal and active participators in the Teachings and beliefs of Christ. Hence today Paul leadership and his fastened approach to include Tolerance in the church seems to have died and needs/and should be resurrected and be shown and used as an example and exhibition to guide! and standard !by which churches should continue follow.
    Paul’s exemplary action of TOLERANCE was a learning Tool for the church and a necessary driver which help to bind and restore and repair damage and division and which brought people of different faiths and doctrines together along the same path.

26. Simple Simon, I don’t know you at all , but I will say this much: once your wife/ ain’t bisexual you ought be concern about how others live their lives. What my son does with his life after his has grown, is his own concern. I will be concern, but I know enough not to be intrusive in his private affairs.

27. @ Dompey

Yes and no!

Moses never existed! And therefore, could never be handed any 10 commandments.

If one nation (Kemet) had 42 commandments or Negative Confessions for tens of thousands of years before the so-called Bible was compiled. And then a later people just happened to come up with 10 of those same 42 and concocted a ‘story’ that some god gave them to this fiction of history (Moses), it would require a heightened level of ignorance to still contend that story were true. Has any validity at all!

We have seen the 42 Negative Confessions in Egypt. Has anybody every seen the so-called tablet given to the fiction that was Moses!

28. @ Pacha I have no idea where you have reached the assumption!Perception! or conclusion! that ac confidence has waned, in any case not at all surprised that you would invoke your twisted logic and signature “mark” of the illogical which you have used effectively to convince others .
    My comments bear one signature( and) marked “what is in best interest of the country anything else falls like stacked dominoes below my feet and that includes your highly fluid and asinine attacks on me.

………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………
    BTW Dompey ac have been beaten !abused and lambasted, What more can anyone say or do.

29. De Ingrunt Word Avatar
    De Ingrunt Word

@ Simple Simon, your commentary can be interpreted as going to the fundamental question on this subject: are politicians or public officials’ private sexual practices any of our business?

You make the very emphatic remark that you “.. donโ€™t have a problem with gay peopleโ€ฆbut I must admit that I have a problem with bi-sexual people”.

When that is read in conjunction with “โ€ฆ[it] makes me very uncomfortable to think of my daughter… being married to man who is also enjoying a robust homosexual lifestyleโ€ฆin this day of deadly sexually transmitted diseases bisexuals who MUST HAVE multiple partners make me very, very uncomfortable.” it gives the clear impression that in your view bisexuals MUST of nature be promiscuous and absolutely also practice un-safe sex.

And that the opposite is somehow true for gays or heterosexuals .

Obviously that is not what you are saying but my point is that any discussion of sexual orientation is inherently fraught with all level of “mis-speak”… and twisted logic even sometimes by other commenter.

Is Mia Mottley any worst a person because of her supposed sexual practices than the Vincentian PM who is alleged to have committed sexual harassment/rape?

Is she better/worst as a person that Tom Adams who was alleged to have been a serial adulterer, domestic abuser and repeated physical abuser of his mistresses?

Particularly for those who have the religious righteous views how can one behavior be any different than the other? If you can vote for Tom on his merits or Stuart as an married father how is Mottley’s life-style practices so different?

That said she is vastly different on many other levels…to me her sexual preference is the least of the reasons to disqualify here as a PM.

It’s like Iraq…if we knew what we know now re his dishonesty would DT be voted as PM by his fellow parliamentarians?

Afterall, she will win her seat so if she remains as leader at election time and after that would be question would it not…all other things being equal!

30. @ AC

Because some of the above may be true your suggestion, implicitly, that that treatment is undeserving is not based in fact. LOL

31. De Ingrunt Word Avatar
    De Ingrunt Word

of course that should read: … or Stuart as an UNMARRIED father

32. @Dee Word

Your last comment is a dispassionate and logical view but you must admit the average Joe Plumber’s view is colored by the nuances of life .

33. @ Well iac presented two instances to highlight whereby bad treatment of any sort was without merit, on the issue of gay rights i placed an argument that is founded on laws to deny gays supporting rights that which is equal to heterosexual rights as caretakers and administrators of their loved ones in case of serious or complicated instances because they were not officially and legally married ,
    On the other issue which is representative of myself (ac)/s and which can be classified as a non-issue, where you states that my issue of having bad treatment was not based on Fact, (i guess that is your argument) then sir pleased presents the facts with clarity that shows proof or evidence that ac have said or done anything that is deserving of bad treatment especially when it rides on “the best interest of the country,
    Btw i guess the library where you do your research might be closed for the day in any case you can check tomorrow under the heading Anonymous ,That way u can separate Fact from Fiction.,

34. Emotionalism has been and would be at the heart of any issue to do with human right from the rights for blacks to the current and now volatile issue as same sex issues, Society in general have a preconceived and prejudicial notions to wrap themselves as individual around these issue unable to glazed upon the rationality of not being able to be present or be part of those individual lives ,Society presents arguments that are lucid and are inconsequential and not at the heart of many of these issue

35. Buggery is a criminal act in Barbados. Lesbian activity is not.

36. Hants I wants tah wick yuh….ROFLMAO

37. @islandgal246,

No problem. 60 million frenchmen cannot be wrong.

38. Gay marriage’ called ‘Trojan horse’ for demise of family
    ‘Left could never have achieved this without broad acceptance’

The following Q&A is part of an exclusive interview with professor Paul Kengor on his new book, “Takedown: From Communists to Progressives, How the Left Has Sabotaged Family and Marriage”.

WND: Professor Kengor, you’re an established bestselling author and historian who has written over a dozen books on the Cold War, communism โ€“ you wrote the definitive book on Frank Marshall Davis, Barack Obama’s communist mentor โ€“ on socialists, on progressives and even on dupes. Why this one? Why get into this culture war issue?

Kengor: It’s precisely because of my background in those areas that I was drawn into this. It’s because those past leftist extremists โ€“ communists, socialists, far-left radicals and so-called “progressives” โ€“ have been looking to reshape, redefine and take down natural-traditional-biblical family and marriage for two centuries. I know that past. I know how it fits into the present. Most people don’t, including those hellbent on redefining marriage and family with no hesitation whatsoever. They have no clue of the deeper, darker forces long at work in this wider movement. They are signing on to something that, whether they or know it or not, has important links to much older and more sinister attempts by the far left to redefine family and marriage.

WND: In a sentence or two, tell us what people really need to know, the essence of why you’ve written “Takedown.”

Kengor: The typical American who supports gay marriage has friendly motives, looking to extend a new “right” or new “freedom” to a new group. I get that. I don’t agree, but I understand. Unfortunately, these Americans don’t realize that, for the far left, gay marriage is the Trojan horse to achieve what the earliest communists called the “abolition of the family.” To many Americans, gay marriage is about “marriage equality,” but to the far left, it’s about the final takedown of the family that it has long desired.

WND: So, are today’s gay-marriage advocates part of a grand communist conspiracy?

Kengor: No. I very carefully state that this isn’t a conspiracy. I want to be clear on this. Liberals, please do not caricature me and my argument. We do a disservice to the truth when we boil down complex things to simple caricature. However, just as we can easily overstate things, we can also easily understate them, and to do the latter, likewise, would be a mistake here.

Get your copy of Takedown here.

What the left has steadfastly said and written and done to marriage and the family over the last two centuries cannot be ignored. Those actions have been undeniable contributing factors โ€“ along with many other factors โ€“ that in part help explain where we are today.

Same-sex marriage is not a Marxist plot. It is, however, a crucial final blow to marriage โ€“ the only blow that will enable a formal, legal redefinition that will unravel the institution. It has distinct origins traceable to the far left’s initial thrusts at this once unassailable monogamous, faithful male-female institution.

WND: You do, indeed, take pains to make this clear in the book. You write: “To reiterate, this is not a grand communist conspiracy, or any kind of conspiracy. I am not laying the entirety of the culture’s collapse at the feet of communists. I am not asserting that Marxists have given us gay marriage.”

Kengor: That’s correct. And yet, as I note after that quotation, what the left has steadfastly done to marriage and the family over the last two centuries โ€“ from Marx and Engels and early utopian socialists like Robert Owen and Charles Fourier to modern cultural Marxists and secular progressives โ€“ cannot be ignored. The current rapid redefinition of the male-female marital and parental bond that has undergirded civilization for multiple millennia is the end-road of a steady evolution that should not be viewed entirely separate from some very successful attacks by the communist left and radical left generally. The journey had many prior destinations. A people do not just one morning wake up and ditch the sacred and natural character of the male-female marital union that served their parents, grandparents, great-great-great-great-great-great-great grandparents. Ground had been plowed to ready this soil.

WND: And it was the far left that helped ready the soil?

Kengor: Absolutely. No question.

WND: As you note, however, the likes of Marx and Engels were not advocating gay sex or certainly gay marriage.

Get your copy of Takedown here.

Kengor: Of course not. Anyone advocating something as culturally unthinkable as male-male or female-female “marriage,” in any time other than ours, from the ancient Greeks and Romans of 2,000 years ago to the Democrat and Republican parties of just 20 years ago, would have been laughed at โ€“ maybe even hauled off by the authorities as dangerous public menaces. Marx and Engels were under surveillance by the governments in their countries simply for arguing for non-monogamous marriage. Even gay people weren’t thinking they’d soon live in a culture where not only was the mainstream population supportive of gay marriage but where liberals โ€“ our great champions of “tolerance” and “diversity” โ€“ would be suing, picketing, boycotting, demonizing and dehumanizing a Baptist grandma who begs them not to force her to make a cake for a gay wedding. Marx and Engels and even wild cultural Marxists like Herbert Marcuse and Wilhelm Reich โ€“ who broke down sexual barriers in areas like homosexuality and bisexuality โ€“ would be rolling over in their graves. Nonetheless, they would be thrilled to see that every-day (non-communist) Americans have finally found a vehicle to assist the long-time communist dream of (to quote the Communist Manifesto) “the abolition of the family.”

WND: But you do emphasize one important source of clear commonality, from the early 19th to early 21st centuries, that unites these old communists with modern liberals in their general willingness to redefine marriage and family. What is it?

Professor Paul Kengor Kengor: Yes, it is this: As modern liberalism/progressivism and the Democratic Party have become increasingly secular, often anti-religious, or certainly dismissive of traditional notions of morality, the embrace of same-sex marriage has become possible. For communists, two centuries ago and still today, that requisite anti-religious secularism has been there all along. That disregard if not outright rejection of Christian ethics has brought all of these forces full circle in a joint willingness to permanently alter the historic Western/Christian understanding of male-female matrimony.

They all share the fatal conceit first expressed in the Garden of Eden: Ye shall be as gods.

WND: They are their own gods?

Kengor: They are their own determinants of truth, of morality, of what is right and wrong. They render under themselves the right to determine everything from what is marriage to what is life. These things used to be the province of nature and nature’s God. Now, each and every liberal renders that right unto himself or herself. And when someone disagrees with them, they attack them with fire and brimstone.

39. KEMET, like all other ancient civilizations were POLYTHIESTIC, belief and worship in a multiplicity of mythological deities, mass confusion, that always resulted in ruination of these societies, bar NONE!

That’s why the ONE true and living God, gave His Commandments to Moses, the very bedrock upon which order came to those throughout history, who obeyed them up until this very day! Then Jesus came and brought the Ten Commandment into TWO, (1) Love God with all your heart, soul, mind and body, AND (2) Love your neighbour as yourself.

Therefore, the true Christian stand under the perfect Law of liberty, to FULFILL the Righteousness of the Law (Ten Commandments) in, by and through the imperative of LOVE.

Few people fully understand how revolutionary the introduction of this commandment truly was. Up to Moses, human beings, with the exception of the few that God had revealed Himself to, had been slaves to beliefs in horrific beings who had to be continually appeased in manifold ways, including child sacrifice. The manifestation of the One true God marked the beginning of the end of all the ancient gods. Joy david man eloquently captures this dramatic overturn in her book Smoke on the Mountain.

… the belief in one God slew a host of horrors: malign storm demons, evil djinns of sickness, blighters of the harvest, unholy tyrants over life and death; belief in God destroyed the fetishes, the totems, the beast-headed bullies of old times. It laid the axe to the sacred trees watered by the blood of virgins, it smashed the child-eating furnaces of Moloch, and smashed the gem-encrusted statues of the peevish divinities half-heartedly served by Greece and Rome.4
    Unlike the Pagan gods, the God of Israel was neither cruel nor immoral. He insisted on faithfulness to Him alone, but He also demanded righteousness and love toward one’s neighbor.

The old gods fought among themselves, loved and hated without reason, demanded unspeakable bribes and meaningless flatteries. While they were worshipped, a moral law was impossible, for what pleased one deity would offend another. If you wife run away from you it wasn’t because you’d forgotten the monthly sacrifice to Ishtar; just offer a double sacrifice, and you’d get two wives prettier than the old one.
    Then came the knowledge of God. An almost unimaginable person — a single being, creator of Heaven and Earth, not to be bribed with golden images or children burned alive; loving only righteousness. A being who demanded your whole heart. 5

The first commandment was, therefore, the grand opening to a brand-new era that was to last perennially, and that would bring about freedom from psychologically oppressive and socially destructive ideas that had enslaved humanity for generations. Seeing this awesome revelation as simply the conniving attempt by religious leaders to assert their brand of religion is both simplistic and illogical. Non-idolatrous monotheism was simply too grand in scope for humans to conceive, too revolutionary for the masses to accept and too dangerous for priests to implement. With the first commandment, the Almighty introduces Himself to all as the first step toward the healing of minds and human relations and, most of all, toward healing the breach between man and his Creator.

“THOU SHALT NOT MAKE UNTO THEE ANY GRAVEN IMAGES”

Images are tangible and, therefore, reassuring. Worshipping a spiritual, invisible Being would have been psychologically impossible to accept by a primitive, unsophisticated, idol-worshipping society — if it was only asserted by a priestly class. The God of the Bible insisted that his people had to do the inconceivable: abandon the natural tendency to worship what can be seen and worship what cannot be seen.

To ancient peoples idols were, “an essential part of life, “6 because they, “regarded their idols as objects through which communication with the deities could take place.”7Through them they also had a way of controlling the “unseen forces,”8 and, thus, felt a some control over their lives. Williams informs us that,

The idols of ancient men were a way of putting existence in order and, hence, of achieving sanity. By creating idols and images of the deities they could place these forces at arms length so that they could be addressed and placated. Through this objectification ancient man thought himself able to chart his own course upon the sea of subconscious, social, and cosmic powers which surrounded them.

40. De Ingrunt Word Avatar
    De Ingrunt Word

David, you mean my ‘last’ comment re Stuart being an ‘unmarried father’ is dispassionate. LOLLL. I hope he was a very good dad.

Could you imagine our christian nuanced Bajans electing as leader of either BLP or DLP an ‘unmarried’ mother. Oh heavens above!

We bajans are indeed very nuanced. We have always enjoyed the concept of our leaders being womanizers because that showcased Bajans as manly studs and as long as they went to church on Sundays ( or from to time) and generally displayed that requisite powerful intelligence and sharp turn of phrase all sins were forgiven.

You call it nuanced sir, but my cynical being calls it HYPOCRISY!

41. The retired neurosurgeon/professor/writer, Benjamin Carson already has world recognition. Carson in 1987 made medical history. He is the first and only one to successfully separate Siamese twins. He now should just be satisfied but get out of the 2016 United States presidential race and stay out. He will not win the race if he does not support the gay/lesbian community; it is continuously growing. Like them or not, they’re not going anywhere.

Excluding, George Michael who was arrested (1998) for prostitution in Los Angeles, CA, they gay/lebians do not seek to cause trouble. The United States gay athletes Billie Jean King and Caitlin Cahow were not/did not cause trouble at the 2014 Winter Olympics (Russia).

42. WHY doesn.t the Church address the issue of Tolerance, Instead of hiding behind a dusty mirror of the Ten Commandments , the issue of Tolerance is one of the fruits of the Holy Spirit clearly define as Love! patience ! and compassion.. these trifectas in lieu of all the teachings of spiritual law cannot be separated or discard from the laws which God gave to moses as they are the catalyst by which the commandments were formed.

43. @ ac

Gays/lesbians are everywhere and everyplace. They are doctors, lawyers, politicians (Mia Mottley), writers, athletes, journalists, entertainers, church leaders/members too. Really sticky subject, try best not to put your foot in your mouth.

44. The pope came out recently and recanted with profound advise to the churchthat the church should practice tolerance ,a very smart and dignified approach on his part, and one which would go a long way in healing and recognition of a church which for years has practiced the preaching of exclusion which has kept people away from entering the doors . Radical inhibitors who sits within the pews of the church contributes to the repugnant odor and the downward slide in moral decay agitated by cause and effect excluding the sinner an unforgiven and sinful delicacy rejected by jesus himself one that jesus specifically answered by stating he did not come to call the righteous but sinners to repentance
    Then pray tell! how if the church has become judge and jury and all but closed it doors to the sinner how can they expect the “sinner” to enter, clearly such actions would send a message of intolerance and the written word of Intolerance to the sinner.

45. here we go again another bubble mouth putting words in my mouth, so far i have not attacked any ones personal lifestyle but have focused and address my comments intentionally on those hypocrites who practiced/preach the word of God
    However ac have seen/ read comments attacking the PM lifestyle like they say dayb does run until night catches up with it.

46. http://dailycurrant.com/2013/02/28/pope-benedict-gay/

Why did Pope Benedict XVI resign? http://www.bbc.com/news/magazine-25121121

Warned her, didn’t I???

47. PACH

Dompey, yes and no… Moses never existed. Well that is debatable as far as I am concern. Do we really know anything all? And are we sure that there is a real and objective world outside the dark domain of human mind? The ancient Pagan philosoher tells us that: Any system of intellectual thought, whether it is based on certain fundamental ideas or axioms which are assumed, cannot be proven empirically. We do not know what we are and what the world is outside our mind? All we can do is assume as we have been doing from the inception of human civilization. Listen! All we really know about the world is what we perceived it to be, and this is conveyed by our senses and interpreted by our brain sir. The life we lead is the life we perceived it to be brother, and perhaps, not what it real happens to be. And finally, has man really reached an intellectual threshold as far as reality goes? Science, religion and philosophy have failed in they endeavours to provide man with convincing and empirical evidence to the origin and end of human life and beyond. Now are the answers to these important question beyond man’s intellectual reach, and has man reach and explanatory threshold. Just food for thought here brother.

48. dompey my question to you why should science have to prove any thing to do with the theory “life after death” science derives it teachings and principles from evidence documented and dated from historical facts and findings .and not from hearsay or gathered speculation whipped up by emotion by a group of religious followers
    The ultimate proof should come from religionist who emphatically states through their faith and beliefs that there is “life after death.
    No !the question of life after death is not beyond man.s threshold, it comes down to a matter of whether man wants to accept the inevitable or whether man rather die all wrapped up( in) hypocritical clothing with beliefs that are out of the realm of reality,

49. Pach

But that does not go without saying that these three institutions of continual learning: Science, Religion and Philosopher have and continues to be integral to our very human existence: Science has exposed man to a new and fundamental of understaning the Cosmos; philosophy has challenged man to look above and beyond the conventionalism, in his search for newers meaning to his human existence; religion and especially Christianity has implored man to look beyond and passed the ancient Pagan religions with all their moral-decadances, to a higher and more divine standard morality.

50. AC
    Am sorry to respond to your question so late. I was needed elsewhere I am afraid.
    Now, to answer your question in these few words: I haven’t any problem with science. Science obviously serves its useful purpose and like religion -which is in want of verifiable proof. Science on the other hand, cannot minister to the needs of the human soul.