The political spin doctors are out in numbers and if we listen to them the Barbados economy is on the bounce. We sure hope so!

However, while the country debates whether there will be about 1% growth or greater than 1%, a reminder economies in our key source tourist markets have been improving and therefore increasing has led to improving economies in the region. Not to forget international reserves appear healthy because of unprecedented low world oil prices.

BU will NOT be distracted and prefer to focus on the root cause of many of our societal challenges; one of governance. Take for example the repeated revelation the Transport Board has been sending buses to be repaired to private suppliers L&M and Tran-tech Inc and not UCAL. And that the minister is driving a vehicle registered to one of the suppliers of services to the Transport Board. Why has the government and the minister not feel the urgent need to respond to the accusation which if true is an obvious conflict of interest. Why is UCAL being starved of work to the point it is owed several million dollars by government?

We wait for the traditional media to engage in what is referred to as investigative journalism to find out more.

See comment submitted by Artaxerxes on the Transport Board Strike Conspiracy to Deceive blog.

But how can the DLP boldly face Barbadians on the issue of integrity when the integrities of their Speaker and Deputy Speaker have been compromised?

Transport Board employees staged a “strike” this morning citing supersession, unfair hiring practices and a myriad of other issues as their reason for the industrial action.

And UCAL also joined into the fray, claiming the TB owes them approximately $23M, which has presented UCAL’s management with some difficulty in paying employees their salaries/wages as well as their accrued bonuses.

Ironically, yesterday I was in the company of 2 UCAL employees who were complaining that they are not receiving any buses to fix, to the extent that they were given only one bus yesterday morning.
I asked where are the buses being sent for repairs; their reply was L & M in Cane Garden, St. Thomas and Trans Tech Inc. in Kendal Hill, Christ Church.
One guy argued that it was obvious the TB management and certain other individuals must be the recipients of some sort of ex gratia payments for ensuring all the work was being distributed between these two businesses, while an individual has had the fortune to be using a BMW SUV owned by Trans Tech.

What can we expect when politicians from both sides continue to breach integrity? The DLP must be held to scrutiny since they presently form the government.

How can the DEMS talk about integrity when they employed a former bank employee as the Manager of the Transport Board, just to say that this government created history by employing the first female manager of TB, especially when her only qualification for the job is being a member of the Democratic Labour Party.

The situation at TB has become worse since Sandra Forde became its general manager.

So, “it is truly (not) dumbfounding that the DLP yardies would give their party a free pass on integrity legislation as they sit on their backsides” and defend their position on this issue. “However, most knows the reason why.”

167 responses to “Minister Michael Lashley Needs to Respond to Conflict of Interest Questions”

1. John Hanson 1781-1782, I SERVE 1788-1792 BARBADOES, Avatar
    John Hanson 1781-1782, I SERVE 1788-1792 BARBADOES,

He have a lot to answer for , Land he built on that he dont own and to answer for ALL the Lies he told in office and the money taken,

2. Steupsss
    That man looks like a crook, sounds like an idiot, and is about as useful as a fly…
    shiite man….!!
    In a normal country, he would have been locked up just for the damn Villages…..

It is obvious to everyone, possible even including AC, that the PUP (people up in parliament) have been unable to pursue the esteemed thief, the crooked speaker, the dead fraud or indeed ANY high level crook in Barbados, because of their consciences.

How can they stand for justice when, by so doing, they condemn themselves?
    Not one of the French Connectors (UK) seems able to withstand scrutiny….

Imagine we have a parliament where ONE PERSON can make a major difference, and NOT A MAN OR WOMAN have the integrity and guts to stand up for JUSTICE…..to stand against wickedness…..or even to RESIGN in disgust.

What a pack of useless PUP.
    What a curse!

In Sodom and Gomorrah they could not find five….
    In Barbados we don’t have ONE…..

….even AC can figure out the consequences.

3. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

You have cited a number of areas that could be deemed as constituting conflicts of interest and suggest that the Minister should respond. I agree. However, there is one rumour that would not go away which to my mind is far more serious that is calling out for the Minister to make a statement to clear his good name. And that is the allegations surrounding a suitcase of money that was seized from him in the USA.

I am hearing this being circulated all over the place and I don’t think that a minister should be so nonchalant about people ravaging his good name. He needs to come out and say once and for all that this is a vile attack on his character. And more importantly, he must say that this story is untrue. This situation requires nothing less. I for one am only waiting on the Minister’s denial to settle this matter in my mind, because right now, I don’t know what to believe. The reason being is that I have heard several versions. I daresay that all could not be true so I am waiting for the Minister to put a rest to these persistent rumours. He needs to say which one if any is true. Maybe, he is waiting to identify one of the persons that is spreading this story so that the person could feel the full weight of the law like Omar. I believe that such a strategy would be ill conceived and not worthy of someone with even an inferior intellect.

These matters need to be addressed because they are doing more harm to Barbados’ once good name.

4. HAMILTON A HILL Avatar
    HAMILTON A HILL

Conflict of interest. Whose interest are we talking about here? Certainly not that of Barbadians, for we would have it no other way. Didn’t the same man that the Dems blasted from their platforms prior to 2008 as one of Owen’s gang not curry the favor of the top dogs in agriculture, and in so doing was able to get the bones with the most flesh left upon them thrown his way? There is no one at UCAL who can use the good office of the BWU to get in touch with their Grandfather good ole Uncle Leroy to mediate on their behalf? LOL …bout four times. Remember the motor mouth minister who was so sweet to his family that diabetics had to complain? What happen after that? Not one ass because we like it so.

5. we have a two party system of goverance ,,if all that being said here is true, why haven.t the leadership of the opposition not table and bring forth these issues in parliament as representative of the peoples concern. bu can talk but i belive that the responsibility of the opposition is to be strong and aggressively firm in laying out those problems before govt in the correct forum instead of being goaded and guided by yardfowl politics

6. when the opposition start practicing ‘People’s politics” instead of “Party Politics” they would be taking seriously. how is it that theses issues being hashed out in the public arena remains dormant or “off hands” by the opposition. inquiring minds wants to know,

7. @Caswell

Thanks for the weight of your additional curiosity. It seems a normal expectation if one is so concerned about reputation (see Omar Watson case referred to) why would he not have addressed repeated dents to his reputation? Isn’t Lashley being touted by some as an AG in waiting, the advantage he has on Adreil Brathwaite is that he has appeared in local courts.

8. On the subject of reputation the local media needs to step up. We cant have these rouges taking the people for a ride and purveyors of truth stiffing their conscience and in the process failing to grow a legacy that is unworthy.How does the media practitioners in Barbados want to be remembered? At the moment they will be remembered for helping respective media houses make money and accepting envelopes and favours from influential people.

9. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ You know who

No one could be so incredibly stupid, It is impossible!!

Many here on BU and throughout the Barbados that you and your ild have grown so “out of touch with”, have been saying that neither The PUP (Party up in Parliament) nor the POOP (Party out of Power) are disposed to doing anything about the Constant SHYTE that is going on.

I is clearly obvious that the PUP will not lead the charge to stop what they are doing if they are in fact benefitting from the kickbacks etc.

And, as the party in waiting it is not in the interest of an “administration of future crooks” to level any remarks about a purported “administration of current crooks” LEST LIKE HAMAN they get hung on the very gallows that build.

You remind me of a workman the Church hired to cut down some branches overhanging the ***.

Brugadown, he, the branch, the roof of the *** all tangle up because that IDJIT cut the branch between him and the trunk of the tree!! If yo doubt me ask Pastor *** cause it is one uh he friend’s “boss tree cutters” who did going do de job good, and cheaper dan anybody else”

Jes as a matter of interest doah, whey you was when dat roof collapse?

Cause to all intents and purposes I would appear dat you did in the building and sustain some head injuries when de roof collapse!!

10. Sometimes ac make sense. A vibrant and strong opposition should be alerting the public when some activities need to be questioned/challenged . A silent makes one wonder if they are not all bedfellows.

11. “a silent opposition”

12. So, “it is truly (not) dumbfounding that the BLP yardies would give their party a free pass on integrity legislation as they sit on their backsides” and defend their position on this issue. “However, most knows the reason why.”

We we speak of integrity it goes to both sides of govt.. not just one as both sides are representative of the people, they are no ands! if’s! or buts on how the wheels of integrity should turn and whose shoes they should fit but a combined moral and comprehensive duty that governance from both sides of the fences forge forward and do what is correct and proper in the country’s best interest.
    Whose job is it to be relentless and obsessive is it the people or also those who represent the people, there is a flaw in the peoples mind to punch and not to observe when their representatives are flying high above radar and not doing the job they were appointed to do

13. @TheObserver

To your point there is enough to know it matters not whether B or D, it will be business as usual because they are ALL members of the political class.

14. You painted a very sensible picture – pieceuhderockyeahright. But it is both alarming and distressing… it seems as if solutions will not be coming from any direction. Now I wait to hear chicken little running and shouting “the roof is falling. All is lost.

15. Here is an example of twiddleD and twiddleB.

DLPite David Eswick brandished a gun at BLPite Dale Marshall and both parties conspired to make sure it was swept under the carpet.

Several other examples can be found to show they are in this thing together.It is the yardfowls who deal in the scratchggrain.

16. why would i bring the hammer down on the opposition .because it is a right way and a wrong way, say what any one like about DT but as opposition he pointed out those concerns that affect country and people , the opposition in the past six years have gone down a path of selfishness and self destruction to appease, leaving those windows of opportunities closed and for what reason only known unto themselves , however ac suspect their are many vulnerabilities in the house of the blp that would rendered them helpless if they dare oppose,

17. Some contributions so far expose the issue in Barbados why we will continue to spin top in mud. It is the governance system stupid. The political parties are actors in the system.

18. @ Bushie

You must now up your critique and locate these ‘untouchables’ on the square. Within the marginal part of 360 degrees.

These Romans are all on the same side and against the people. A Bajan people which has been played for fools all the time, from their recorded beginnings!

Their secret business could be the only reason they enjoy the protections they assume. You must tell the people their secrets. Not that these foolish Black people ‘in power’ really know much about the ‘square’ they protect. In any event their business is all over the place.

Your Book may indeed be right, that an ‘illumination’ has come!

19. understood …however in a two party system of governance there is absolutely no excuse for the opposition not being held accountable for not representing the peoples interest.. proof is here on BU one would find mostly articles that seeks accountability from govt,, no problem ..however the downside being that the oppositions sits on its laurels expecting that there job is being done through social media by their supporters and a lending hand by them on some issues remains closed ,i submit to you that if equal emphasis was called upon by both parties for accountability that one would see a difference in approach and results.

20. Ignorance definitely has no bounderies.

21. @ Pacha
    “Bushie’s book” can’t but be right. Shiite boss….it was commissioned by the owners of the whole shebang…

What Romans what??!!
    It seems that in Barbados EVERYONE is on the same side ….. the side of brass bowlery..
    ..the political class – both PUP and POOP
    ..the legal class – parliament, judiciary, police and courts
    ..the church
    ..the education JAs
    ..the business class
    ..the fellows on the block
    ..the sports people
    ..the yardfowls…

It is amazing to observe…. even as we slide further and further into the inevitable shiite pit of despair, not even the pissy churches seem to be aware that the BASIC problem is one of wickedness in high and low places ….and of its inevitable consequences.

When a society reaches the stage where there is nothing of worth left, it becomes fit for total destruction. That was the lesson of Sodom and Gomorrah….

Talk all the shiite that we want, ….but those people in Baltimore STOOD UP for justice …and against brass bowlery by the damn police and authorities…..with an impressive sounding church leader up front…

Compare that with Shiitebados….

22. DR. THE HONOURABLE Avatar
    DR. THE HONOURABLE

I have kept away from this Blog simply because that shitfly AC is still on and the blogmaster refuses to ban -ac

But I want to say that Politicians need to keep out of the hiring of persons for work business. The Politicians in Barbados are destroying Barbados and the proper way Barbados operated just for the sake of personal and selfish ambitions. They cannot bear to do what is right or just leave things to those are supposed to do the job, politicians must interfere; calling public servants about stupid issues and getting involved in the day to day running of various departments. The sad thing in all of this is that lackeys and yardfowls and weak public servants most of whom seem to be spineless -lick ass females are following these examples and or making excuses for the Politicians. Sad !!

23. I hope Dr. The Honourable was speaking ‘tongue in cheeks’ when he called for the banning of a “contributor”. I like this site and I think it is most effective when there is a difference of opinion. AC may not be right 100% of the time, but then he is not wrong 100% of the time. So let us be grown folks and lets us have diverse opinions. Two heads are better than one (I think that is true).

24. Seems as if we have 3 groups in Barbados (1) those who believe that both parties can be improved on (2) BLP yardfowls and (3) DLP yardfowls. To the first group voting must be a challenge, but I guess you can identify them when they say “I voted for the lesser evil”

25. D Ingrunt Word Avatar
    D Ingrunt Word

David, these rumours are to say the lest par for the course on the social media course. We keep on using this saying happy phrase ‘conflict of interest’ but these rumours if true are NOT conflicts of interest. This would be straight forward and absolute illegality that should face a law court.

So it is well past time for this small talk to move forward with hard evidence of whatever vehicle he drives being confirmed on ownership.

The other comment about suitcase full of money is also well past it’s 15 minutes of notice. Certainly if someone was so ‘smart’ to get caught like that then the US customs would have confiscated the money AND arrested him.

Or is this to say he was traveling under diplomatic cover and was thus released; no harm no foul!

Regardless though the people like you sir via your anonymous contacts are the investigative journalist in a country like Barbados. The real media are handcuffed and blindfolded when it comes to the political elite and we know that, so don’t let’s play this game of charades and talk about any investigation by local journalist.

Was PM JMGM Adams ever ‘investigated’ for beating women; was his death ever ‘investigated’? Was P.M. E W Barrow ‘investigated’ re the ‘big gun’ HARP or CJ W Douglas re Stokes’ disappearance?

Please stop this talk of ‘investigatory journalism’. This is where the buck stops.

There is certainly no help from the Opposition politicians either.

So, it’s about evidence on your pages. That’s our life in Barbados to rout out the corruption.

26. Fractured BLP Avatar

The Hon. Michael Lashley is a great Minister of the Crown.

He is an excellent Parliamentary representative.

As a fellow Cabinet colleague he is exceptional.

I find no fault in him.

It is only a matter of time that all these reckless rumours and innuendo will allow him to become a millionnaire.

Remember…..it is he who alleges must PROVE their allegations.

Carry on ye……accusers!

27. It is not a matter of leveraging contacts, it is about cajoling our moribund governance system to deliver. What BU and social media will continue to do is embarrass their tails by recording their misdemeanors on the web. And thing will give eventually.

28. The following excerpt was taken from The Wednesday October 15, 2014 edition of the Mid-week Nation newspaper:

When questioned during a tour of the Speightstown Bus Terminal yesterday, Lashley said UCAL, vehicle repairers, had stepped over the line when it approached the media and that it will not be allowed to hold the public to “ransom”. “I had a discussion with UCAL, then I was out ill for a week.

Then they appeared in the Press negotiating but I don’t negotiate in the Press. We gave the assurance we were working with the Ministry of Finance . . . . We had a discussion in good faith and then they run to the NATION and I cannot negotiate like that. It is a bad practice and I am not going to condone it. No party or firm will hold the Transport Board or the travelling public to ransom,” he said.

Lashley’s comments followed the second strike taken by UCAL workers in protest at not receiving what they said was already agreed upon funds to pay their salaries and operating expenses until March 31 next year, as well as more than $20 million owed by the Transport Board for work done on buses.

They also accused the Transport Board of outsourcing business to other entities, giving them “very little work”.

29. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ The Observer.

I too have asked for the banning of “one of the AC” the one that lives up to their acronym’s application as “the donkey’s crack”

In all seriousness, after a while even the said AC will sometimes come to see reason and the other two men will defer to her (the main character AC is a woman and not a too bright one at that)

But as you have said, it is in the biodiversity of life and our appreciation of lesser and greater souls and intelligences than your own, that we are able to become better people

In fact this Desiderata like exhortation is not original but it can sometimes test a man to apply that in practice beyond a few moments.

Can you imagine having to live with that 24 hours a day? Hell pun Earth!!

To the subject matter regarding the Minister under the microscope I do have an admission to make.

My Madam is very guilty of a thing that many refer to i.e. the classic “you cannot judge a book by its cover”

Even now, de ole man, on his way back to GOD, trying to tell her that she cannot make snap judgements because of the way a man looks but she is human and she is very guilty and try as I may she wont change.

And since we are no longer twain but one, De Ole Man is guilt”

My madam always saying “Michael Lashes look like a shark, he have too many teef in his head!!”

Now i went on the internet to see if I could find and image to compare his picture to

https://encrypted-tbn1.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcTTljRNpW52kfm_XOto6YYf5hqAKtYeO3y1nIQk6roLH7LfRJ3RCg

I could not see any resemblance!

An then I went to the dictionary to see if by chance if there were certain characteristic through which he could be called a shark

The definition reads “A person who takes advantage of the misfortune of others for personal gain, especially by fraud or trickery”

Again I was at a loss and went back to the archaic form of the word “sharked” v.tr. to obtain by deceitful or underhand means

Barring the uncomplimentary description by the madam do you thing that there is enough basis in the actions of the Minister to attribute some personal gain in this (or others of the things that the BU Rumshop is accusing him of, to call him a shark?

And if such is the case do we have enough sharks in our Parliament for us to have the name changed to Sea World?

Indeed we could possibly be the only place in the world with a House of Parliament filled with talking sharks, with a Buffalo Sinckler all led by a Baboon by name and nature?

A product that our Minister of Tourism Richard “I am Seeing Spirits above your head” Sealy to be able to marked as a tourist attraction.

Your opinion please

30. Spread rumors and talk shiiite. That is what Bajans do. No one ever provides proof.

I don’t believe rumors and the “suitcase of cash” rumor is not believable given how Americans treat “others”.

Provide incontrovertible evidence or stfd.

31. Fractured BLP Avatar

Thank you, Hants.

32. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Hants

You seem to be missing the point; it is not a matter of believing or otherwise the rumours about the cash in the suitcase. The allegations are being made about a minister of the Crown and because of who he happens to be, he has a duty to come out publicly and deny the allegations, not only for his own name sake but for the sake of the reputation of the Government and by extension the reputation of the country.

Personally, I don’t know what to believe in the absence of a denial from the Minister himself. I remember some time ago, before he was in Government, I had a legal problem with the then Government and I went to him for representation. I did that for two reasons (1) he was not a BLP member, (2) because I believe that he was an honest person. I do not want to be proven wrong and I would very much like the Minister to come forward and justify the confidence that I still have in him. I would be a very happy man if the allegations are proven to be untrue.

33. Colonel Buggy Avatar

We know that we have reached a Republic status,when our politicians boldfacedly install their relatives in government jobs. But long before that we knew that we were a republic, when we had rejected some useless bastards at the polls at the last general election, only to find the future President of the Political Class Republic,middle fingered-ly, installing the same rejected person to the Upper House of Assembly ,and giving one a ministry to boot, and then we wonder why that same minister is a dismal failure. Why should she play the builders rejected stone, in becoming the champion corner stone for the very same people who unceremoniously tossed her on the political scrap heap.
    And you are asking a Minister of this same despotic government to respond to allegations of conflict of interest ,corruption and nepotism ?

34. @ Caswell,

You really expect a Minister to respond to an allegation? He is a politician.

35. @Hants

She bite out a whole clitoris and he…

It is the same merry go around. If the politicians want to play we in social media will oblige.

36. @ Hants
    “Provide incontrovertible evidence or stfd.”
    Boss, sometimes you does talk some real shiite hear!! ..apparently when you don’t get your visa to go fishing…ent it?
    …so you mean that if these people are able to juck out our eyes; piss in our faces; sell our asses to foreign french connectors; and relegate our children to the block…as long as we don’t have INCONTROVERTIBLE proof we should just ‘man up’ and tek um….?

“incontrovertible” ??!!!! wuh sorta proof is that bozie..?

You pass by the Villages lately? You want the financials?
    You want the original papers for the SUV?
    You want the niece’s baptism papers?
    How about a recording of the telephone call to the woman dum put at the TB?

Look Hants, you could always stand up there in Canada with Lawson and Sargeant and talk wunna shiite, …but wunna see Bushie….?
    if um look like a duck, um walk like a duck, and um shit stink and mushy…..
    …Bushie calling um a duck….

Evidence shiite….. looka the ‘evidence’ on CLICO…. Anybody lockup? Charged? money tek back?

steupssss
    Hope the wife ban yuh tail from fishing til summer…. 🙂

37. D Ingrunt Word Avatar
    D Ingrunt Word

Hants, you said it well sir. Definitive. Put up or shut up.

I also agree with you re the suitcase allegation. How does one deny or respond to a negative allegation.

Of course the PR playbook says that you get in front of it and ‘set the record’ straight otherwise the ‘negative’ becomes the story. But ….

38. @ Bushie,

Yuh have to give me a break.Up here, I am an avid sports fisherman and my fishing buddies don’t accept “allegations” of the fish caught.

If you don’t have a photo on your cell phone of the fish and a reference object ( a shoe will do ) we will not accept that you “ketch a real big trout” or salmon.

So since you know evating bout evating, wha happen to de suitcase full a muney?

39. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

You see why we need clear the air statements. Some will say that the clitoris was not bitten out that it was left hanging. That is why the accused should come out and deny or at least clarify. These are things that the public needs to know in order to make an informed decision.

I am still in the dark about that rumour and before I come down on one side or the other, I need proof. There is no coincidence that I was born and raised in Saint Thomas, for me to be satisfied about the truth in this matter, I need to put my hand in the wound.

40. The man had the money, this was told by a CID officer.

41. widder de money was he own or oder rings money dat is anode ??????

42. Wunna cud talk ’bout all the biting wunna want. There are no forces here or up dey dat cud stop MAM being your next leader.

So all she has to do is what she doing. Keep quite and continue fielding at first slip.

43. this article exhibits a “case” of having bad manners

44. @Hants

Did the politicians produce incontrovertible evidence when they referred(misled) Barbadians about and FBI file?

@Caswell

It appears you are wont to volunteer for certain jobs.

45. @David,

Instead of wasting time wid you and Bushie,

I gine and look at page 29 of BarbadosToday……….. lol

46. A black man gine in Amurca from Buhbaydus wid a sootcase full of us dollars?and he still walking bout hay like he en do nutten.Well first ting:in Amurca it is genst de law to be black.This man is black as de ess ‘o spades so ef he had a sootcase full ‘o money his ass wud be grass imeejately.Federal prison fuh he one time!They ketch a guyanese pilot November lahshear and he lost the plane,the millions he had in de plane,the nillions he had in 4 different banks,the 4 houses he own and still now he got to plea bargain so he mite get bout 5 years off the 20 year sentence they gine put on his coolie ass.So I wud 4get that sootcase talk fer now.

47. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Gabriel

Was the Guyanese man travelling on a diplomatic passport?

48. Fractured BLP Avatar

The problem with the BLP crooks is that they judge every individual by their stamdards.

After last election the BLP charged that the DEMS bought the elections.

To date only Gregory Nicholls ( a BLP candidate) in the said elections was brought before the Court for handling money in his constituency on that day.

That is no rumour!