Baltimore is listed as the largest city in the State of Maryland, the largest independent city and the 26th most populous city in the USA. Of note is that greater than 60% of the population is Black followed by about 29% White. In the wake of Freddie Gray’s funeral – yet another Black man to die in police custody under questionable circumstances – rioting and other violent behaviour has placed the city under siege. The question onlookers are asking – is this a bunch of stupid Black people inappropriately expressing themselves? Is this a bunch of Black people with just concerns about race relations in America today? Is it ignorance and just concerns commingling?
Baltimore Under Siege in the Wake of Freddie Gray’s Funeral

714 responses to “Baltimore Under Siege in the Wake of Freddie Gray’s Funeral”
-
@pieceuhderockyeahright May 1, 2015 at 11:12 AM ” where the vehicle was during the murder sorry incident.”
What you saying sorry for?
Mr. Gray was murdered.
I am only sorry that as a Bajan I cannot sit on an American jury and convict Mr. Gray’s murderer.
-
@lawson
Because something went wrong while these policemen and woman were routinely going about their jobs they should not be held accountable because a man died? A man who was in distressed and asked for assistance? Why don’t you do like GP and hold off final conclusion.
-
@ lawson and Money B
…so exactly what are you two saying here? …that it was just another useless black nobody – so we should cut all the crap talk?
..that Grays was sickly anyhow….?
..that policemen should always have the benefit of any doubt?
..that blacks were involved so there is no race issue?Don’t let down the BU side now fellows…
How about the issue of JUSTICE?
How about fixing the flawed SYSTEM?
How about the harsh and unfair reality of life for blacks in these circumstances?One wonders why you guys are so adamant that the status quo be maintained….
Oh wait…. wunna have it sweet as shiite as it is …ent it???? 🙂 -
@ GP …about that bright light from the East…
“…..IT COULD BE THE LORD RETURNING BUSHIE
WUH YOU TINK?”
one day coming soon.
…REAL soon…project Earth clearly winding down… -
i reading all these mutterings by GRAN PA,,about what the medical findings dont say or say, most police investigations first interest turns …..TO ‘WHO WAS THE VICTIM SEEN WITH LAST. and in this case we all know WHO.
-
What did representative for Maryland Catherine Pugh say today? Thank God for social media.
Somebody should let Donville know.
-
democracy is a flawed system but compared to the others it aint so bad ….similar to our police…get real …what an awful job…anybody that does it deserves your respect. A friend of mine flies into philly regularly and when he rents a car he is asked if he is taking it to Baltimore and is told he wont have coverage if he does …..is that the case ?
-
He was last seen running from POPO?When did you receive your Medical degree?
When and where did you perform Pathology on the corpse?
-
social media can sit e hind the comfy of their internet and rant and rave all they want, but the heroes of the day are those who took ” I am Up in Your FACE posture” against the system. everybody can talk the talk but very few like those in the streets yesterday are willing to walk the walk.
-
So who was chasing him?and who were the last people he was seen in the company of before and after he was injured…….. Mobey BRAIN…
-
when you saw the media the other night when the riots were happening, pretending to be in the midst of it all hiding behind the police lines.are they the ones you are talking about lol
-
@Bushie
If you read what I have wrote you will see that I just want a fair examination of all the facts and dont want a rush, by amateurs, to judgement. I have not said the Police are innocent as many here have rushed to the opposite conclusion. Many have focused on the bad Whiteys involved when indeed there was racial neutrality/ equilibrium with 3 Officers of each race, it would appear.
On several occasions here I have called for a proper forum, Committee etc at the highest level to design procedures/ plans etc to Solve the over riding problems for far more harmonious Race Relations.
Bushie you seen your Optometrist recently????lol
-
@SS
You should be BANNED from being on any Jury! Mek ya mind up before hearing all the evidence, shame on you! -
Freddie Gray homicide: Baltimore cheers, weeps
A town dubbed Charm City erupted with a joyous chorus of honking, whistles and cheers immediately after the prosecutor’s announcement.
Activists and protesters applauded and cheered as Baltimore State’s Attorney Marilyn Mosby announced the charges at an outdoor gathering with journalists and the public.
Motorists honked throughout the streets of Baltimore.
The West Baltimore neighborhood that became the epicenter of protest this week was, in the words of one resident, “pumped.”
The criminal charges against six officers vindicated the rage of protesters, others said.
“It seemed like it took them little children to make things happen to make people aware of what the police were doing,” said the 45-year-old woman who identified herself as only “Shorty.”
Many residents are still angry at Baltimore Mayor Stephanie Rawlings-Blake for calling protesters “thugs,” said another woman who said she knew Gray.http://www.news4jax.com/news/us-world-news/freddie-gray-homicide-baltimore-honks-happily/32704224
-
WHY was Freddie Gray RUNNING from POPO in the first place??????????????
We have the right to be suspicious about Police action in this case and expect a detailed Professional investigation.
You et al are NOT Judge nor Jury!
BTW Mobey Dick was a Whale with a big brain!
-
rawlings -blake what a joke following in the footsteps of hoskins and holder quit trying to feed your own ego and tell the people the truth these cases are all crap because of the people who are involved criminals one and all.
-
Mobey Brain i do not know why he was running .but this i know he died from severe and multiple injuries after being in the company of those who had chased hi,
-
A Clam after a firestorm …a firestorm of protest that sent shock waves and anger from some segments of the elitist media ,
-
@lawson
The marches in Baltimore and across the US mobilized via social media, the video of Gray was posted online etc. It is accepted social media was critical to the process of mobilizing people. You can debate that too.
-
Here are the faces of the six pigs(scums) charged with Mr Gray’s death
-
“Of the 48 cases Stinson has tracked since 2005 involving police-related deaths without a firearm, 61% resulted in a conviction. But of the 54 officers prosecuted in a death without a firearm, only 20% have led to charges, according to data compiled and analyzed by Stinson and the Washington Post. Thirty-nine percent of officers were not convicted and 35% of cases are still pending.
The most serious charges in Grayâs death have been brought against Officer Caesar R. Goodson, Jr., who was the driver of the police van carrying Gray. Goodson has been charged with second-degree murder, second-degree assault and three counts of manslaughter. No gun was involved. http://time.com/3844182/freddie-gray-charges-marilyn-mosby/“
-
a segment of any country populace who are disenfranchise and disillusioned by a broken system who takes it upon themselves to take to the streets with extreme actions with an intent to seek answers cannot be deemed as “thugs” these are the unheard and silent voices have kept quiet and now have seized upon a window of opportunity to e heard , there are among the very last breed of radical of protestors and activist who see no need to seek a peaceful solution after being peaceful for many years.
As usual media has proven once again through ignorance they have will be placed on the wrong side of History again -
600 killed by gangs in the last 24 months and you show no outrage about that, nobody is marching about that how can this not be seen as a problem. Why cant they seize this moment to be heard and decry the other crap going on in the area that robs people from bettering their lives. It wont happen because of the short sighted people who it was bad enough when they saw everything as a black and white issue…now all they see is gray.
-
@lawson
One can always tell when apologists are losing the argument, black on black violence is introduced. Can you even fathom if Blacks is the largest population in the inner cities and other depressed neighborhoods where drugs and lack of resources occur it would generate the kind of violence you refer? Let us accept you are correct, blacks need to do more to highlight their plight – how does one situation negate the other?
-
Well for one thing I see real sense of schadenfreude when some one in these communities fail, all these little business owners making something of there lives lost in the blink of an eye.and people are happy about it because now they are like them once again. There is more to these attacks than meets the eye. Even on this blog the word house N is used often but all I see is a deep resentment of someone trying to better their lot rather than propelling them forward knowing the rest will be dragged along with them.
You see this as an argument ..I see this as a tragedy… if we cant find common ground in the comfort of our nice homes , being somewhat educated what chance to those poor Fu<?>ks have -
The most serious charges in Grayâs death have been brought against Officer Caesar R. Goodson, Jr., who was the driver of the police van carrying Gray. Goodson has been charged with second-degree murder, second-degree assault and three counts of manslaughter.
++++++++++
Despite the charges I still think some of these charges will be hard to prove unless some of the officers involved believe it will be easier to hang a few of them separately rather than hang all together. Given the charges detailed it seems that one or two of the defendants were only involved peripherally and there could be a plea bargain in the works where he or she gives evidences against the others. The first thing the Defense will request is the moving of any trial to a new location as there is no possibility of a fair trial in Baltimore because of the resulting publicity and the animosity levelled at the defendants.Something still seems to be missing, what happened before the camera started rolling during the arrest? Was he injured then? What happened during the “scenic tour” to the medical facility? When did he sustain the injury to his voice box? These questions lead me to believe that someone who has been charged will turn State witness , otherwise its circumstantial evidence only.
-
It is pointless discussing petty points they* pick up from Right Wing media to build a case out of thin air. Wicked parasites thrive on feedback which should be denied.
We know Police hide truth and lie to justify deaths and the Courts Justice system is biased.
-
@Sargeant
If we accept the State’s Attorney position that the charges are underpinned by probable cause, also she stated she has not revealed all AND that she initiated a parallel investigation- we will have to give her th benefit of the doubt based on the gaps.
-
No wonder harlequin, and four season clico etc can keep opening shop and fleece the normal bajan, you hear holder we are going to do this and that, the mayor of ny we are going to do this and that this states attorney getting her 15 minutes of fame pandering to the mob. Yet you fall for the hollow case yet again believing the very system you are complaining about. Something may happen in this case but I am skeptical. But like in Hollywood the movie aint over till the black guy gets it, caesar best get a good lawyer.
-
Just trying to tamper down expectations, we have seen this before where seemingly “slam dunk” cases fall apart and I wouldn’t characterize this case as a “slam dunk”.
-
Wunna really believe that Ms Mosby can prove the case? I believe 1 or more Officers are going to have to turn on the others in order to get any serious convictions. Maybe they are found guilty of negligence in not securing with the seat belt which had only become the Law in B 3 days prior.
BTW Ms Mosby’s friend Sunny Hostin . former Fed Prosecutor (very sweeeet Brown Sugar too) says that Ms Mosby should not try the case because it is in her husbands Council ward, Mr Gray’s Lawyer is their good friend, she has no experience with murder cases etc.
EASY I saw that on the right wing media CNN! (I dont even subscribe to FOX) Dont need to since CNN is more fun to scream at when they have a ” political debate” with 3 Lefties to 1 Righty and think that is fair.
-
@Sargeant
Agree with you but note any fight for social justice is a process and based on what is bring witnessed across the U.S., the process is well on the way.
-
@ Lawson & Money B
It seems that wunna biggest fear is that the status quo is changed such that everyone is treated equally.
That seems to be what the Baltimore “mob” is calling for…
it seems to be what the State Attorney is after…
It seem to be what the family of the dead man wants…JUSTICE…!
Who here is calling for the cops to be found guilty? …unless of course they are..
If the state loses the case then so be it ….
THAT is how the system is supposed to work for all.The alternative (and your preferred method) is for a few influential folks (who can often be influenced by money…) to decide behind closed doors who can be exempted from the workings of the law …and who should be lynched.
Give it a rest…. Like GP, wunna should just concede gracefully… 🙂
-
Just heard the stat that the U.S. had 5% of the world’s population and 25% of the worlds population. The society created the condition and must be responsible for changing it.
-
#MarilynMosby #NoJustice
https://youtu.be/fyV4qTtvwVU -
Sargeant you have laid out a framework of any major investigation of this type so I am confused by your skepticism and concerns. There is no need to build a fire-wall for failure and tamp down expectations. It is what these cases always are.
Absolutely they have thrown the proverbial book at the defendants and as in every prosecutor’s tool-box is the ‘turn state witness’ play.
This case is so big the state attorney and team will be as careful as one of the Wallenda family crossing the Grand Canyon on a tight-rope.
The minimum charges – request for medical attention & no restrain seat belt- seem to be the only clear ‘convictions’ as the officers defied departmental rules on those fronts (whether recently reprised or not re the seat belt). But those in themselves are not grounds for jail time.
Whether an officer goes to jail or not is irrelevant in my view.
The fact is that their police careers are basically stunted or over and they will face some form of punishment. There was callous disregard for human life but not a forethought to kill the lad. They will face serious consequences to their lives as a result of the seemingly standard Baltimore police callousness
That is the slam-dunk. The other political and racial posturing is the problem to be resolved.
Lawson is on a rather unfortunate line of reasoning overall but his facetious point of the Hollywood script is an good an analogy of how these things play out. His ending is skewed however. It’s surely not the Indian or Black. Definitely the white villain who is needed here to round this off.
-
@Bushie
Concede what????
Concede that wunna pun here like to RUSH to judgement with flimsy evidence???????
Concede that Bushie’s Optometrist is not measuring you correct and you need a stronger reading glass prescription?????
Concede that Bushie has NOT thoroughly read wht MB has written and always reads it with a jaundiced racial view that any Whitey mussseeee wrong because of 400 yrs of history 92% of which said MB was not alive.
How come you lumping MB with others along racial lines? Seems rather Racist!
Personally I hope that if these Police are indeed Guilty in a fair trial then they should be harshly punished. I stated this before BUT the Blindass peeps pun here could not read or comprehend that.
I have stated 3 times+ that the high level authorities should relentlessly pursue Solutions to Policing problems, Race Relations etc BUT naturally the Blindass racists pun here could not read or comprehend that. Probably because Whitey not suppose to say anything about Solutions. I would like to know how you solve these problems without involving Whitey?????
-
-
It is rather amazing, or rather sad, that a a cross section of Bajans of different social backgrounds but who sat down and listened to some of the same teachers, heard the same stuff on radio, run bout pon the same pastures, basically had very similar values of right and wrong and all that can now be so clearly divided along racial lines on these topics of police brutality…every discussion here.
Some basic common ground certainly comes through – so maybe that’s the social connection from those youthful days- when we all agree that there are bad actors in police uniforms and changes are required. But it seems that is it.
How do the white fellas always seem to validate that the black peeps are maintaining a depressed standard of living, contribute significantly to their own police problems because of their drug addicted, promiscuous failings and generally deserve what they get.
And the Black folks – those who are not mekking sport on BU excepted- can look for and see a different dynamic.
Is black and white socialization in Barbados so bifurcated and ‘segragated’; do we sit next to a Caucasian at school or work or play cricket with them but can never share a true meeting of the minds or a social embrace in tiny BIM?
Yet so many Caucasians are on the front line in all these protests and agreeing fully with the problems.
What is it that our white population as sampled by MoneyB and Lawson are not willing to fully embrace?; or is this more of a class issue if one includes the Dr GP. It certainly can’t just be the ‘herd’ mentality as is often touted.
Our little country and its racial divide is obviously as bad as has been mentioned here often.
BU does throw up some interesting anecdotes.
-
@Word
The answer is simple, White is a minority group therefore there is a lot to lose.
-
D ingrunt your English is very good you must be one of those house n;s they all despise.do not think for one moment because you are the same color that the rest wont throw you under the bus if you disagree with them. That’s the advantage I have it doesn’t matter what I say really I know it will be whitey is wrong even if it makes sense. You want us to solve your problems but hate us for trying to do just that. Why cant black people be like Bobby Sands instead of burning and looting all your own shops stop eating to draw attention to your cause.
-
what is much more important today is these cricket scores
Bangladesh 332 & 555/6 v Pakistan 628 Match drawn
England 247/8 v West Indies
-
lawson May 2, 2015 at 10:15 AM #
re D ingrunt your English is very good you must be one of those house n;s they all despise.
IF YOU THINK HE IS A HOUSE NIGGA CALL HE ONE MAN DONT HOLDD BACK
DONT BE AFRAID OF THE HERDAND YOU DONT HAVE TO RUN WID THE HERD MAN
YOU HAVE THE RIGHT TO HAVE YOUR OWN VIEW MAN
NOT ONLY IS HE A HOUSE NIGGA, HE IS A MEDICAL ILLITERATE THAT WANT TO TEACH ME MEDICINE
HE MEK ME LAUGH SO LOUD I FRACTURED MY LARYNX………….& PHARYNX TOO MURDAH
re do not think for one moment because you are the same color that the rest wont throw you under the bus if you disagree with them.
YOU GOT THAT RIGHT
THERE WAS A RESPECTED POSTER PUN BU CALLED YARDBROOMHE WAS RESPECTED TILL HE TELL THE BLOG THAT HE MARRIED A WHITE WOMAN!
re That’s the advantage I have it doesn’t matter what I say really I know it will be whitey is wrong even if it makes sense.
YOU ARE RIGHT IN ONE SENSE
BUT WRONG IN ANOTHER
YOU MUST SAY THAT THE NIGGAS WERE RIGHT TO LOOT AND PILLAGE AND DESTROY THE LIVELIHOODS OF THE STORE OWNERS IN BALTIMOREYOU MUST SAY THAT THE NIGGAS IN THE USA ARE SMARTER THAN BAJAN NIGGAS BECAUSE THEY LOOT AND OUR NIGGAS ARE DOCILE
NOW WATCH THE HERD COME OUT NOW
BARE SPORT IN DE RUM SHOP -
@EASY
Shut up the Black Racists who come to speedy judgement without ALL the facts and evidence including against their own
-
MoneyBrain May 2, 2015 at 11:13 AM #
i can not understand how so called illiterate people can talk so much shite and adjudicate with out the facts. They did the same thing with Fergusson. Once a black man dead it is police brutality.
If white people join in the protests, the protests are validated.
if a white urologist say you cant get a neurological problem at the back of a van the black illiterati says he right.BU is definitely the place to get examples for any class you are teachinG on HOW TO JUMP TO CONCLUSIONS WITH OUT ALL THE FACTS OR HOW TO ADJUDICATE WITHOUT THE FACTS OR HOW TO PONTIFICATE ON SUBJECTS ON WHICH YOU KNOW NOTHING.
BU IS A GOOD PLACE FOR BORED RETIREES TO COME FOR A BELLY LAFF ENOUGH TO BUST YOUR DIAPHRAGM OR FRACTURE YOUR LARYNX. ah lie?
-
D Ingrunt Words wrote
Is black and white socialization in Barbados so bifurcated and ‘segregated’; do we sit next to a Caucasian at school or work or play cricket with them but can never share a true meeting of the minds or a social embrace in tiny BIM?
Yet so many Caucasians are on the front line in all these protests and agreeing fully with the problems.
What is it that our white population as sampled by MoneyB and Lawson are not willing to fully embrace?; or is this more of a class issue if one includes the Dr GP. It certainly can’t just be the ‘herd’ mentality as is often touted.
Our little country and its racial divide is obviously as bad as has been mentioned here often.end
D Ingrunt Word what you are saying is that all White peeps think alike, that sure sounds RACIST! OR certain educated Classes thinks alike, that’s Classist.
Samples of 2 or 3 wrongly understood/ interpreted, has absolutely NO VALUE! It is not a matter of Caucasians or Afrocentrics it is all about accumulating the evidence BEFORE judgement. Caucasians are not perfect they are fallible on exactly the same bases as other racial groups and can just as Easily rush to judgement.
I have not found these Police Guilty or Innocent. Is it only Whites or highly Educated that understand Innocent before PROVEN Guilty?
There is a much greater proportion of peeps on BU that cant or dont take the time to read thoroughly or are biased by what certain people write.
In Bim there are plenty Racists on both sides of the spectrum, although I would readily state that in my day the proportion among Whites was much higher. However, growing up during Black Power times was not easy for friendly Whites like myself BUT I comprehended why some were behaving negatively towards any White no matter how innocent. I read Elridge Cleaver, X before and after his international travels of enlightenment. Who murdered X a Whitey? A truly religious leader???
-
White Pain
You are never worth engaging with, but it is worth bringing it out to light for others to see, so they can look through you.Your ego needs problems, enemies, conflict and get frustrated when your fixed positions are not resisted.
The White Pain body is demanding feedback and not getting it.
The need for argument, drama and conflict is no met -
OMG this poor judgement virus is rampant even among the WI batsmen at Kensington this fine Bdos morning!
What is your prescription Dr GP????
Let me say it is NOT a racial virus!