BU has no issue with government departments demanding the public it serves uphold certain standards when visiting to do business. Barbadians are reminded frequently via radio ads and other media placements about the dress code enforced at the National Insurance Board.

BU was made aware recently of an incident where a young lady went to the Registry to get a death certificate because of her father’s recent passing but was harassed and victimized by a male security guard and refused entry to the department.ย  The guard we understand was rude, chauvinistic and incompetent.ย  His actions were those of – and we quote – an untrained, unprofessional, perverted neanderthal who should be made to issue an apology and given a refresher course in the rules and regulations governing his work.

The reason he forbid the lady from completing her transaction at the registry: her dress was too revealing.ย  Specifically he told her that the split in the dress revealed too much of her legs.ย  Have we reached a stage in Barbados which would allow a security guard to assault the rights of a fellow citizen in such a manner?

The irony of the situation for BU is while the Registry has enhanced it reputation for misplacing files by accident or design, while a senior lawyer has been known to moon a Madame Justice within its precinct and avoid disciplinary action, while hours are wasted daily by citizens and court officers alike because ofย  innumerable inefficiencies โ€“ we have government security guards diligently enforcing an irrelevant dress code to satisfy some accountability handed down. This is the very Registry which received a bomb threat when Plantation Deeds visited a couple years ago to request certain information.

Here is an image of the young lady who was tuned back by the ignorant and rude male security guard.

Dress_Code
Why was this lady denied access to the Court Registry to procure a death certificate because of her dress?

159 responses to “Judicial Centre Efficiently Enforcing Dress Code BUT What About Delivering Justice”

1. Checkout our LAWYERS IN TH NEWS page.

2. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

You ever considered that the guard was following instructions under pain of punishment. Those instructions come down and the poor guard must follow or else.

When I go there I comply with the unreasonable instructions because the guard is only following instructions whether he likes it or not, and I can assure you there are guards who do not but they want the job. Do not deal with the guard; deal with the idiots who gave the instructions.

The Registry is a complete mess with senior officers making up rules as they go along as though they are trying to make life difficult for persons doing business there. A few weeks ago, I went there to get a birth certificate for my son who lives in New York and who asked me to send one for him. The clerk told me that I would have to get a letter from my son, authorising me to apply for one on his behalf. Needless to say, I saw red but I was proud of myself, I remained calm and asked to see a supervisor.

I pointed out to the supervisor that a registry is a place where public documents are kept and the only reason why I should not receive a copy of any birth certificate is if I did not have the fee. Well at least that was the reason for setting up registries. If there is a change, it should not be made by a registrar who is looking for things to do rather than his/her substantive duties.

The dress code is annoying but there are far more fundamental things wrong at the Registry. Let’s hope that the new Registrar can undo what I call the damage of the past.

3. so david is thisnews,,, so a loud mouth security guard with plenty time on his hands refused a lady entry to the registry and you call that news,,, yet when caswell got on brass tacks and was bombastic about not having permission to get a sibling”s birth certificate without proper identification BU never said a nibbling word, or isnt that the kind of news that should be broadcast and vetted. especially when some neanderthals in the BU household ‘Holds him up as the kind of leadership barbados deserves,
    now you put up this tirade about a security guard who was following protocol and believes that this guy is a Neanderthal that should be tar and feathered BU style,

4. Understood Caswell and if you read carefully while we have put the guard’s treatment of Barbadians under scrutiny a bigger question was asked.

5. If that woman was WHITE……………

6. it seems like every body in barbados wants there own law,,yet when bajans visit other countries they have to put up with some of the most annoying and outrageous laws and they comply gladly, let them try going through immigration without taking there shoes off , not only would they be scolded but they a,ss would be shoveled off by police security for searches, iwhy go to a govt office be it for a death certificate or birth certificate and not followed the dress code, now bu as always “finger pointing ” shines the spotlight on a lowly security guard but neglects to answer the question of who was the law breaker in this instances, and dont tell me no sh,tte about the security guard was insensitive, his first concern should be about his job,

7. @ Caswell
    Man what orders passed down what?
    You done know what happens when you give a Bajan a key and a hat too….

Wait…dat ain’t Islandgal…???!! ๐Ÿ™‚

8. Dee Ingrunt Word Avatar
    Dee Ingrunt Word

Caswell, I understand your point re blaming the message creator and not the messenger. But do you really believe that any supervisor would set a dress code that bans a split as shown.

I am positive that Pieces sees worst than that every Sunday in church.

Which part of that dress split could be contravening a dress code?

That guard clearly was due his caffeine break! That is the epitome of stupidity.

AC, as usual you display the level of discernment of a hamster… run carefully please and don’t stub your brain.

On what grounds should a citizen be catspraddled based on the whims of an employee and not an established standard.

Is there a rule anywhere in the Gov’t regs that stipulates splits and dresses that would ban the attire shown?

Get off the wheel for a moment and think in practical terms for at least a split sec, nuh. Good Lord.

9. If only government was as conscientious with the management of the affairs of our once proud land.

I see nothing wrong with the lady’s dress. Maybe they think it should be below her knees. I support a dress code as God knows some Barbadians do not know how, when or where but in this case, the guard clearly did not know what he/she was doing.

Case in point, go to a funeral where it is the family’s wish that mourning colours are optional. My goodness!

10. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

I know of what I speak. There was a senior person who sat at their desk all day watching the guards perform their duty, and if perchance the guard let a man, who was wearing a polo shirt that was not tucked into his pants, pass security that guard would be transferred.

The person with the bunch of keys was way higher than security guard.

11. @Caswell

Based on your last comment isn’t there a role for the workers representative?

12. Dee Ingrunt Word Avatar
    Dee Ingrunt Word

David, you have captured the essence of this problem absolutely well: it is not the simplistic stupidity of the guard that is the crux of the issue but the fact, as you articulated well, that the overall department and the government apparatus throughout the country is in shambles.

There is a complete lack of rules and standards and everyone from Mr PM to the security guard at the registry just doing as they like.

Management by whim and fancy.

That guard, whomever he is, is the clear and definitive symbol of a dysfunctional society.

Where and when do we take a stand!

13. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Dee Ingrunt Word

I was wearing a polo shirt when I was refused entry and not by the guards’ say so. The problem is that you attribute common sense to persons because of their rank.

14. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

I quite agree but the problem comes when the workers’ representatives don’t really represent. A while ago, I had to deal with a case where a guard was transferred because a Government minister entered the building and the guard did not stand up and salute. Mind you, those guards are civilians and are not required to salute but his senior officer issued a warning letter and transferred the guard after a complaint was made.

15. DEE igrunt.

Rules are meant to be followed. what proof do u have that the dress in the pictures is actually what the woman wore that day, in any case if the rules state that such dress does not meet the code ,whose job is it to decide yours ! mine! or the security jacka,ss.

16. @Word

Take some advice and engage with others who are familiar with what is happening here. For example there is the ministry of culture and the dos and donts posted at that office, no visible tattoos, no leggings, no back outs, no belly outs – the big laugh is to observe at least one employee at that office proudly wearing a tattoo on the lower leg.

17. Hants April 23, 2015 at 9:14 PM #

If that woman was WHITEโ€ฆ
    ………………………………………………………………………….
    I was sitting in a Magistrate’s Court a while back, and while waiting for the Magistrate to appear,out of habit crossed my legs. I was immediately pounced upon by two ,persons whom I assumed to be officers of the court, informing me that I was showing disrespect towards the Magistrate. Just before the Magistrate entered a lil shapely Asian looking woman, probably a Trini , wearing a short mini skirt and a dazzling smile , came in and sat on the very front seat, with her legs crossed. Not only did the same officers of the court not reprimanded her, but they had a lively and jovial conversation with her. She remained with her legs crossed during the hearings.

18. Same foolishness at the welfare department. I was wearing high heels and calf length dress what could be considered office wear and was refused entry at the welfare department by a green verbs government security guard who I also deemed to be uncouth.
    Yet we see all kinds of dress code accepted when it comes to tourist. I don’t condone some of the awful apparel paraded around these days but let us do our business and be on our way.

19. I forgot to say the dress had cap sleeves but he said it was armed hole

20. Security division please teach these guards who deal with the public basic English. It is most annoying listening to green verbs. (Armed hole). I had no weapons. Lol

21. Oh shut up david you speckled fowl talking poop .u talk about everything from russia to usa and u don,t live in either them places. But yuh know what if yuh live in any one of them countries yuh a.ss would have to abide by the laws. All this long talk bout the security guard is just ppeople of your ilk wanting things wunna way. Tek caswell for example wanting to mek he own rulesto get his son birth certificate nuh wunda nobody payattention to any laws cause everybody belives they are the law.

22. I must remember to put on my Burka when next I have to do business in these places.

23. De ole ma got a good one fun wunna actually a good two.

I did had was to go down dere pun a matter of business, no AC, not to lodge de will, I ent ready to depart ye, Doha you we’d love met uh lef, a nex matter.

I did wearing a dashiki or why we did used to call an Afro jack.

De in grunt guard tell me dat de shirt out so put it in me pants!!!

We it down tek much to get de ole man gunning fun you.

I axe he who sort uh Iditarod he did! I axe he if he ever see a dashiki wear inside yuh pants?

A nex older guard hear we and tell he dat square bottomed shirts or dashikis and Afro centric gard does Dian get put in you pants. Lol

Next ting you know miss Ram of the one door Campuz Trends accident waiting to happe turn up.

Wid she left shoulder completely bare and she right shoulder covered and since dat din no armless blouse he let she in, jes like we pastor does excuse dem injuns at we church wid dem belly out. De Word like he does be peeping.

@ Buggy

It is obvious dat when dem men saw you Mandingo print out dat dem get vex wid you and Mek you uncross you foots dem, plus sing you did not have why dat girl has- de hairy purse

24. Man dis predictive tex pun dis iPad mashing up me Bajan, it got me looking retarted like you know who, bless her ingrunt soul lol

25. This entire article is disturbing to say the least. What it clearly demonstrates is our collective inability to focus on something of REAl value , and to achieve that thing.
    Mediocrity is once again the watchword in Barbados. When it comes to some “Prized-Ass” trying to show how important or elevated they have become, we are top of the charts at that. But when it comes to delivering the value that the people of the nation need for the nation to build and develop, that can almost never be shown.
    Dress codes are fine, but try codes of conduct that are focused on service delivery.
    Try SLA’s from the Public Service to the public that define rigorously how service shall be delivered and in the event it is not, what the penalties will be!
    Try initiatives that engage people and make them want to become part of something successful and not actions that just piss them off.
    The reason we have to implement stupid dress codes and feel proud, is because many of us are silly, ignorant little minions that are too self-centered and egotistical to work in a team-success environment.

The next thing will be dress codes on the minivans and buses. Then we will run the length and width of this country espousing our great achievement at making Barbados better by banning the miniskirt and pum-pum shorts, while the economy goes deeper into ruin.
    What Barbados needs is not something that I care to write here, but it will be that event that essentially eliminates the fools from within our midst, and champions the thinkers in our midst.

26. @TheWatcher

Good point, we need to do everything well. In the same way we can be uncompromisingly enforce a dress code/code of conduct we need to do the same enforcing the financial rules, actioning the Auditor General reports and all the governance issues we need to fill the gaps.

27. @ David.

I will certainly agree with you that there are more pressing and important rules to enforce other than a dress code. But if we review, then modify for additional strength, and then enforce Financial rules, how then will senior public officials benefit from the myriad of externally funded, incomplete projects that have been intentionally mismanaged? How then can the addition of patios, porches, garages and other property extensions and wealth increases get funded?
    We need a distraction, and the distraction chosen is that of public dress. Imagine, we want to don a veil of decency and moral fortitude, while little boys run around with their pants down, boxers showing, all with the intention of attracting some wealthy man who will be willing to finance their lives in exchange for favors.
    Do you realize that the strict dress code being enforced seems to attack women’s dress more so than men’s dress. No tight or revealing clothing, no mini-skirts, no shorts, no halter tops blah blah blah, but Barbados is as “bu..ing as ever!
    The focus is all wrong.
    For years, Barbadians have been fed this nonsense about how special they are and how God must be a Bajan. Well, if he is or were, I’d be the first to be an atheist, because I would not want to believe in, let alone serve a God that is that ignorant or useless.
    Barbadians need to deal with the top of the Civil Service which is the destruction of the country. Fools who have achieved their positions via a system of social promotions and other activities which may not be best mentioned here. People who cannot think rationally, are devoid of reasoning and cognitive powers and who cannot lead.
    Listen carefully to the public statements which many of them make on radio and television. Their diction is poor, their sentence structure is lacking,their ability to speak convincingly and clearly is challenged. They consistent make incoherent mutterings and mumblings which no one, including themselves can understand. One has to wonder if there is a neuro-degererative agent being added to the water that so many people are becoming this voluntarily ignorant.
    You know what though, lets just follow in the footsteps of these fools.
    Lets build a $30Mil US stadium, put a fool in charge of it, and run cockroach marathons and other rodent games. I’m sure people will come from far and wide to experience that spectacle which in turn will boost tourism and make the investment pay for itself.
    Lets explore for oil and natural gas finally when the price is falling and alternative energy is on the upswing. This way, we can go back to frying all of our foods and do away with grilling.
    Lets bless every hair-brain scheme a dunce minister conceptualizes as good, willingly beg them to take more taxes from us to finance their folly, and watch all of the best international companies come flocking to Barbados, the land of no regulatory or compliance, so that we can have a booming economy.
    Lets shoot people in their backs multiple times, pervert justice, delay due process, and watch the NYPD, LAPD and other power-mad vermin flock here to get trained in how to do wrong and distract the public such that they will never speak out.
    In effect, lets make Barbados a shining beacon of inefficiency, ineffectiveness and economic decay for all to follow and admire.

28. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926TO 2015 MASSIVE FRAUD LANDTAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS, BARBADOS DLP/BLP MASSIVE PONZI FRAUD Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926TO 2015 MASSIVE FRAUD LANDTAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS, BARBADOS DLP/BLP MASSIVE PONZI FRAUD

David & Caswell @ there is more to this than just fools working or under orders, We where there when a white man in shorts was allowed to come in and sit down, we also call that ass kissing,Even the Archives is not Public records, Sir now Henry and Hughes wrote fraud books for the National Trust and we to buy and eat that bull shit and now can even check to see what they wrote is even true, unless you are white and all the books come your way. but not allowed to do business, We Bajans get treated worse at home than the tourist, If you dont have money , status or Skin tone you can be out of luck, No freedom of information, I wounder then Caswell if your Son was just Born do he still have to write you a letter? Do dead or insane people also have to write a letter? Nothing will Move, Or Maybe they got your name out there like Mine? The ways in how we found out info is the ways they looking to Block.Sorry for the delay in Posting but very busy these Days with NAKED DEPARTURE ON FACE BOOK EACH DAY AT 6PM , tune in

29. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926TO 2015 MASSIVE FRAUD LANDTAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS, BARBADOS DLP/BLP MASSIVE PONZI FRAUD Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926TO 2015 MASSIVE FRAUD LANDTAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS, BARBADOS DLP/BLP MASSIVE PONZI FRAUD

In American you can go in to the court building any way you want they are looking for Guns knives , bombs , But you can not go in the Well before the Judge looking like She-it, Most in Barbados goes to the other side for records ,Barbados want to and is giving a false image of how life really is , If you want to like America then you will be treated like America, All of this is to cover up the wrongs , crimes and bad ways of flunkies in that building, No Justice No Peace,

30. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Hahaha if her dress and split are too revealing then you guys would not like to see what I wear to office sometimes. I can tell you it much shorter than that with a split that constantly have me at corporate meetings with legs folded. Mind you that is an acceptable dress code until one of the adventurous try a thing on two with the SSS. A dresscode to control the coming in’s but nothing put in place to deal the nonsense being practice as law in Barbados.

31. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Hahaha the thing known as AC called you a talking speckle fowl poop. Hahahahaha. Wuh I never laugh so darn hard yet. It just rolls off your tongue…talking..speckle…fowl poop. David that one dey too sweet.

32. Thanks for bringing it to attention, didn’t see it.Some comments are just not worth the time.

33. Bush Tea April 23, 2015 at 9:52 PM #

โ€œMan what orders passed down what? You done know what happens when you give a Bajan a key and a hat tooโ€ฆ.
    Waitโ€ฆdat ainโ€™t Islandgalโ€ฆ???!!โ€

Islandgal what!!!! Shiite, Bushie, you let me down, I had you classed as an intelligent man. How you could ask if it wasnโ€™t Islandgal.

Wuh, iffen you did read de article carefully, judging from the rude arrogant behaviour (Fruendel), chauvinistic and incompetent (Sinckler), perverted neanderthal (Pornville), untrained (โ€œPhysical Deficitโ€ Ince) and unprofessional (Carrington), you should ah done know dat de guard is one ah de ACs.

34. Dee Ingrunt Word Avatar
    Dee Ingrunt Word

So Pieces you are saying that a mode of dress popularized by one of our National Heroes and made a staple of attire by some of his MPs of the day is no longer acceptable code of dress…

Actually, let me back up there a bit.

Just remembered that many of the traditional elite scoffed with disdain on the afro-jak, shirt-jak and definitely the dashiki so the sartorially un-minded guard was probably just following a perverse direction as Caswell suggested earlier.

Dem tourists…still I cud understand a dress code that bans bikinis (too much lack of concentration), skimpy shorts and definitely ‘armed holes’ and ‘armed hoes’ too.

But this level of censure is not about practical standards or rules; it is an absolute infringement of our civil rights based on snobbish prejudice and must be challenged vigorously.

Turned away because of high-heels and a stylish dress with short sleeves; turned away because of a minimal split; turned away from a gov’t office because your shirt is not tucked in; turned away because of a dashiki.

Remember the competent, attractively groomed lady that get turned out and away at the hotel because of her naturally braided hair-style.

When will we get serious! Steeupse.

Challeng vigorously…this is unacceptable.

35. An issue of dress code is something that floats with the moral tide of the time. Feedback we are discussing helps to create that tension to make these kinds of codes relevant.

36. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Watcher

You certainly came out swinging with many inconvenient truths.

You referred to social promotion but there is also one aspect of promotion that is more sinister, and that is promotion of both male and female candidates at the receiving end on the 4×6.

37. The guard was just following instructions.

38. If many of the main line churches in Barbados were to implement a similar dress code to the Judicial Centre, they would be empty on Sundays, except for the few men who attend ,dressed colonial style and the elderly women.
    But many years ago, when a person was seen a morning during the week ,dressed in their Sunday best , it was said that they were “going to church” , a term used for attending court.

39. Like i say everybody in bubadus is the law .leave it ti me i would do above and beyond the policies cause i know uh gonna have to deal wid a lot of ugrunt people coming through them doors like caswell and a few intelluctual jac a.ss and fuh sure ac not gonna let none them a.ssholes beat ac to the ground so i gonna have to be igrunt too when dealing wid them

40. https://sheriveronica.wordpress.com/2015/04/23/barbados-is-being-looted-from-the-inside-out-update-on-dr-drake/

This blogger is getting close to what is happening in the Judiciary and the damage being wrought on claimants, by lawyers, doctors, insurance companies, particularly CGI/Peter Harris…….she is yet to understand the full ramifications and disrespect shown to the claimants, justice system and Judges by the criminals involved, they act like their big scam has evolved to the extent that the judges, current chief justice have no power or role to stop the downward spiral, in their minds so much money is involved that they can just roll over the judges who are in charge of their court rooms. Something has to give.

Claimant’s lives are at stake because of the callousness, recklessness and ruthlessness shown by the lawyers and doctors who take bribes from the likes of Peter Harris to ruin the lives of the injured.

One claimant realized that they were being tricked into being examined by a surgeon without the claimant’s knowledge and the lawyer was complicit in the setup.

Another lawyer decided to settle a claim without the input or knowledge of the client…..hope the BAR does something about this scum…..not letting his client know or discussing the amount, he takes it upon himself to decide what the client should get and have the nerve to ask if the client think they should get a house in compensation, where do these lowlife crawl out from….i am sure what he managed to secure for himself from selling out the client amounts to a couple houses as well as a couple cars and cash. steupss.

I believe right now the clean up of the judiciary and incarceration of the criminals who are making a mockery of the justice system is more important than a dress code, that takes precedence, the dress code can wait.

41. ac…what u yammering about, u are already on the ground, just like all the other slugs of the DLP….lol

42. Artaxerxes April 24, 2015 at 9:17 AM #
    Waitโ€ฆdat ainโ€™t Islandgalโ€ฆ???!!โ€
    ….not the GUARD…
    The shapely chick in the picture… ๐Ÿ™‚

43. Kevin if you know that guard dem was just following orders then please advise what exactly the orders were. Wid Caswell’s shirt it clear as day: untuck= out the door.

This dress ting a bit unclear though. Is it 4 inch splits that can get in the door, or only 2.5in

Did all of these dresses type get turn back or some allowed and some not?

Let we know nah!

44. @Caswell Franklyn April 23, 2015 at 10:34 PM #

I quite agree but the problem comes when the workersโ€™ representatives donโ€™t really represent. A while ago, I had to deal with a case where a guard was transferred because a Government minister entered the building and the guard did not stand up and salute.
    ………………………………………….

Dont worry Caswell, soon from now they are going to be running to the rocks to hide, they are going to be too shamed to be seen in public! Nothingnarians, want people to salute them?

45. I have been to some of the buildings and have yet to see or hear any such arguments about attire it is only here on BU the classroom for high falutant ignorance all wrapped up in intellectual dog sh..ite one would hear the barks and squeals like dogs in heat. Ever so often some ignoramus looking for attention would holler across the classroom looking fuh fight and of course David obediently obliges ..what news nothing here of interest except to the blp class clowns.

46. De ole man was wondering about “getting through another type of door”

Noooo, I know unna bajans gine tink bout dat cause it is in wunna genes, no de ole man ent tinking bout dat pacifically (dat is whu de Minster of Eddy Kashun Ronald We Jonesing call dat word, “pacifically” I talking bour SheriVeronica blog.

I went dey causing Plantation John Hanson does quote she regular and Well Well jes do de same ting, well I went dey to see whu dem was putting out and I mek a mistake and try to post a comment.

Jes a well done sort of ting pun a specific article.

Well who tell me do dat!!!

As if to denounce me as a traitor I get a message saying your comment is awaiting moderation and well, 4 days later, nuffin ent post yet. it still getting moderate!!

If wunna wants to know what is a real Regime of Censorship or “no other opinion ent getting post heah” go deah and try out de site.

Man den dem got a Naked someting dat I sure when she and dat moderator with de Merican accent land heah in Bulbados, dem gine gots to get lock up.

Whuloss, dem really pushing de envelope boasie….

So I gots to apologise to all uh unna for dipping my parts (fingers) in strange (cyber) holes

I isnt gine do it again. I let Hanson lead me astray. Dere isnt nuffin like BU de man ent got no comparison fuh we issues…

BTW the was SSS, whey you does work again? I wonder if I cud get a job dey at you place so dat I cud go to dem meetings dat you does wear dem 11 inch splits in your 12 inch skirts.

Miller you see why there is definite proof of a BBE..Adam and Eve not Steve..

Pum Pum shorts have their place but not at the Court or a funeral ok?

47. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Prodigal Son April 24, 2015 at 12:20 PM

It is slightly unfortunate Caswell deliberately failed to paint a ‘clearer’ picture (albeit blurred for legal reasons) of that stupid jump-up piece of ministerial shit. If he could be โ€˜outedโ€™ Bajans should give him a standing ovation of bare salutes on every occasion he appears in public.

Can you imagine how these ‘don’t-you-know-who-I-am’ jackasses would behave if they ever take Barbados into republic status? Republic yes ,but not under the current arrogant lower-class lot leading you.

A reliably good sign of a man who is at war with himself and with the people he pretends to lead is the way he bears his countenance. Check the haughty expression of derision for ordinary people the fumbling primate inter pares carries on his face.
    He comes across as if he is always smelling shit on his top lip suggesting he sees the ordinary people as shit in his eyes.
    Bajans must not trust that man in any move to become a republic under him. You have been warned.

As the prophet Isaiah observed:
    “The expressions on their faces give them away. They parade their sin around like Sodom; they don’t even try to hide it. How horrible it will be for them, because they have brought disaster on themselves!”

48. @Well Well,

I personally know of a case where a doctor at the hospital did not inform his patient that he was also the doctor for the insurance company. Needless to say her settlement was very small. Also my GP told me of a case in which the report written by the doctor bore no resemblance to the injury which he witnessed to an old man who was struck outside of his office. An attorney friend of mine believes that many doctors and lawyers in Barbados are in league together to thwart their patients and clients and receive kickbacks from some insurance companies. Oh, and getting a medical report from one consultant in the Orthopedic Department at the QEH takes many, many years. This after they make you pay in advance, of course. The ombudsman is unable to help, it seems, and they hardly even respond to your lawyer. There is no justice in Barbados. It’s a jungle out there!

49. Georgie Porgie Avatar

RE Also my GP told me of a case in which the report written by the doctor bore no resemblance to the injury which he witnessed to an old man who was struck outside of his office.

i HAVE SEEN, IN MY TIME, MANY LONG WINDED REPORTS WRITTEN BY CONSULTANTS RESEMBLING THE NOTES THAT MED STUDENTS WRITE WHEN THEY ARE LEARNING TO CLERK PATIENTS. NONE OF THESE REPORTS COULD IN ANY WAY HELP AN INJURED PATIENT. THESE REPORTS USED TO COST OVER A THOUSAND DOLLARS. EVIL!