Judicial Centre Efficiently Enforcing Dress Code BUT What About Delivering Justice
BU has no issue with government departments demanding the public it serves uphold certain standards when visiting to do business. Barbadians are reminded frequently via radio ads and other media placements about the dress code enforced at the National Insurance Board.
BU was made aware recently of an incident where a young lady went to the Registry to get a death certificate because of her father’s recent passing but was harassed and victimized by a male security guard and refused entry to the department. The guard we understand was rude, chauvinistic and incompetent. His actions were those of – and we quote – an untrained, unprofessional, perverted neanderthal who should be made to issue an apology and given a refresher course in the rules and regulations governing his work.
The reason he forbid the lady from completing her transaction at the registry: her dress was too revealing. Specifically he told her that the split in the dress revealed too much of her legs. Have we reached a stage in Barbados which would allow a security guard to assault the rights of a fellow citizen in such a manner?
The irony of the situation for BU is while the Registry has enhanced it reputation for misplacing files by accident or design, while a senior lawyer has been known to moon a Madame Justice within its precinct and avoid disciplinary action, while hours are wasted daily by citizens and court officers alike because of innumerable inefficiencies – we have government security guards diligently enforcing an irrelevant dress code to satisfy some accountability handed down. This is the very Registry which received a bomb threat when Plantation Deeds visited a couple years ago to request certain information.
Here is an image of the young lady who was tuned back by the ignorant and rude male security guard.

Why was this lady denied access to the Court Registry to procure a death certificate because of her dress?

The Royal Barbados Police Force has it own set of silly rules. On March 10, 2015 in the morning I went to collect a certificate of character (and no Bush Tea I do not have any convictions, or least not very many LOL!!!)
The police office on duty ordered me to cover up or he would not give me the certificate, which of course I had already paid for. Again I was wearing one of those high necked, below the knee “armed hole” church dresses that so many Bajan male petty officials seem to find so deeply sinful and so deeply offensive.
I am certain that the policeman was in breech of the Barbados Constitution.
What say you Commissioner Griffith?
Is it cool with you that the men under your command breech the Barbados Constitution?
Are you going to do anything about these breeches.
Because “yes” we expect our policemen to be at least as good as we are, or ideally even better that we are.
Honestly we don’t expect policemen to breech the Constitution.
LikeLike
Simple Simon wrote,
“The man was wearing a backwards cap and the security guard approached the man and aggressively ordered him to remove his cap.”
Let me guess. Black customer, black security guard.
LikeLiked by 1 person
Last night at Carlton supermarket I mentioned to the supervisor on duty that the store was very cold. Again I was wearing one of those high necked, below the knee “armed hole” church dresses that so many Bajan male petty officials seem to find so deeply sinful and so deeply offensive.
His response “You need to wear more clothes”
Really?? Perhaps I will just take my $10,000 per year elsewhere.
But perhaps the management of the the supermarket can raise the temperature a degree or two for customer conform, still keep their perishables fresh, and save themselves tens of thousands of dollars per year in electricity costs.
The last time a supermarket gave me trouble I never shopped there again. They lost more more than $150,000 in sales from me…but maybe the supermarket business is so profitable that $150,000 is neither here nor there, or maybe not since that supermarket subsequently went into bankruptcy.
But what do I know.
I am only a Simple Simon.
LikeLike
Who needs instructions from little men on how to put on my clothes.
LikeLike
Hants April 25, 2015 at 10:57 AM Simple Simon wrote,
“The man was wearing a backwards cap and the security guard approached the man and aggressively ordered him to remove his cap.”
Let me guess. Black customer, black security guard.”
Sadly Hants, “yes” and “yes”
LikeLike
Caswell Franklyn April 25, 2015 at 10:44 AM “A friend of mine went to the Registry to obtain a birth certificate of his six-year old daughter and even with his Barbados ID card and the fact that he is registered on the birth certificate as the father, he was initially denied.”
Thanks for the correction.
As for the 6 year old, the young people today too lazy. LOL!!! The father should give the six year old $2 and mek he go to town ‘eself to collect ‘e birth certificate. LOL!!!! and tell de lil boy don’t wear go wearing no li’ boy short pants neither otherwise is no birth certificate and back home fa he.
LikeLike
SIMPLE SIMON
IT SEEMS THAT THE MEN IN BARBADOS ARE AFRAID OF THE ARMS OF THE LOCAL WOMEN….LOL
WHY ELSE WOULD THEY BE FUSSING ABOUT SLEEVELESS GARMENTS WORN BY WOMEN?
LikeLike
In Barbados where the daytime temperature is ALWAYS above 25 degrees celsius and where the daytime humidity is always high it is [apparently] unlawful for women to expose their arms. Women who expose their arms or whose dresses are “too short” are routinely denied services for which they have paid out of thier own tax monies.
And our tax paid politicians and our tax paid senior government officials will do NOTHING about these UNCONSTITUTIONAL ad hoc “policies”
Only in Barbados.
Sigh!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
I weep for my country. I bleed for my country too, but only at the blood bank and always in an “armed hole” dress.
LikeLike
Why can’t our public officials decide that since we are old enough and sensible enough to:
Cross the road by ourselves.
To vote for them.
To raise the next generation.
To sit in Parliament.
To sit on a jury.
Perhaps we are old enough and wise enough to know how to dress ourselves.
That perhaps we understood how to dress ourselves well before our 4th birthdays.
Why don’t they abolish the armed holes, too short dress, tuck your shirt into your pants, don’t wear head wear, silly ad hoc rules and just let us ALL get on with the serious business of doing the necessary hard work in these fields and hills, these homes, these businesses, this Parliament, this civil service.
We are adults and we do not want to be mothered or fathered, or bothered by petty government (or private sector) officials.
LikeLike
@ Simple Simon
On a point of clarification.
Were any of the lawyers, the females called ***?
Because if it she was there I can see why your counsel advised you to cover up, lest you found yourself with a bitten out clitoris.
Forgive me this “low comment” but with all of the obvious idiocy regarding this matter, tossing in a foolish remark like that might justify how we ingrunt so.
LikeLike
I have been following this blog as the picture caught my attention. @AC. Am I missing the point? What part of this dress is revealing too much legs..I must say the young lady looks very nice in the dress and I would have taken an eye full had I been there. Yes there are rules for the building,however I see nothing revealing about this dress She was given entry by another guard who obviously saw nothing wrong with the dress either. Again I am puzzled and don’t dare tell me there are two sets of rules. Let common sense prevail. This guard clearly woke up on the wrong side of the bed that morning.
LikeLike
No none of the lawyers was called ***
As I said before I am a person of modest means and I am also cheap, so I don’t hire high profile lawyers (nor high profile anybody) when Ms. Ting daughter from down de road and who I know from childhood, ‘causing she went to school wid my Little Johnny, and who just graduated from Sir Hugh Wooding and who glad to find work can do the job just as well.
Also I don’t suck up to politicians literally nor figuratively, male nor female.
LOL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
LikeLike
I believe that the young people should get some ‘o de work too.
We would be foolish to give all de work to high profile QC’s.
LikeLike
@pieceuhderockyeahright April 25, 2015 at 11:37 AM ” lest you found yourself with a bitten out clitoris.”
I retired the clitoris long, long ago. As i said before we have to leave some of the work, (and some of the workie, workie) for the young people to do.
LOL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
LikeLike
@dee igrunt SS has with out effort exemplified her irrationality as one who belives that rules that are not designed to be of comfort should be obselete and trampled.her examples shows one of arrogance and ineptitude which borders on a foolish belif that her discomfort is of utter importance than rules and guidlines forward which will enhance decorum and uniformity in govt buildings.
LikeLike
No one personal rights are being impeded upon.all and sundry have a right to wear whatever pleases them outside of govt buildings, but by some responses given one would be lead to belive that a call for citizens was ushered to change or die. there preferance of lifestyle has been ushered in by the govt. no surprising that the battallion lead by David has latched on to this non issue as one of importance as a launching pad to influence political debate.
People would use all the absurdities to divert the purpose of the “intent”barrows example typifies the length which one would interject a persons attire outside the capacity official govt business and apply it to a rule and guidline which by all intentions was to form a basis for proper attire upon entry in a govt building.
LikeLike
@puzzled
As far as i am concerned i have refrained from commenting on the picture reason being that the the picture can present a blurred vision of actualities ,and furthermore the person with whom the dress is of subject matter have for whatever reason choose to be not depicted by features which to me challenges the varasity of their story followed by an intent to mslead.
LikeLike
Women I am going to ask wunna to keep a black piece of cloth about three yards in your car when you all go to these rassole places. Or dress in African garb and speak like an African when you go to these places. In our own country we women are given rules on how to dress by ignorant ugly ass big belly men.
Simple Simon like you I had several runnings with some people at a former workplace about “armed” hole dresses. It was an international retail establishment when one day the AC stopped working. The place was hot and stifling. I had on a jacket over an “armed” hole dress. I took off the jacket to get more comfortable and was told by the manager that I must put back on my jacket. I told her it was too hot and uncomfortable to wear the jacket. Now this dress was a high neck sleeveless shift that matched the jacket. She left for a few moments and came back and told me that she called the island manager who worked in St. Lucia and was told that if I didn’t put back on my jacket I will have to leave. So I collected my bag and left. By the time I got home I got a call from the same manager that I was to report to work the next day. I quickly wrote an email to head office explaining that I was deprived of making money for the company and asked to leave because I took of my jacket in a store where the AC had stopped working. The island manager was hopping mad and when she came to Barbados a few days later the AC had stopped working again. She then took off her jacket and told the staff to do likewise. I didn’t hear a peep from her.
LikeLike
Dear ac:
De rest ‘o de wirl laughing at we in we ankle length, long sleeved polyester in the 30+ degree celsius heat and 100% humidity.
Why oh why do we do this to ourselves?
Why?
LikeLike
The child has turned out very well, has graduated from college and is hard at work paying income taxes NIS, and [unlike the Prime Minister’s friend Hal Gollop, and Vernon Smith} pays her professional registration fees in full and on time at the same Registry.
LikeLike
@ac.
Based on what was said..the guard told her that she could not conduct business in the building because the split in the dress was revealing too much of her legs, I can only conclude this is the reason the picture is of said split. According to Zulu, who works in the building and witnessed the incident, this indicates to me that no blurred visions of actualities should be present ! Why should the young lady have to depict feature? How many on this blog have revealed identity other than Caswell…. Do you really condone the actions of this guard. This is a disgrace and embarrassment to our society. People in these positions should be properly trained and not just given a job because of a vote! That’s why they think they are untouchable.
LikeLike
ac April 25, 2015 at 12:12 PM “@dee igrunt SS has with out effort exemplified her irrationality as one who belives that rules that are not designed to be of comfort should be obselete and trampled.”
Dear ac: Mark 2:27 “The law was made for man, and not man for the law.”
Pick sense outta dah.
LikeLike
PERSONALLY, I CAN SEE NOTHING WRONG WITH THE WAY THIS LADY IS DRESSED.
ALSO IT IS UNREASONABLE TO STOP PEOPLE FROM DOING THEIR BUSINESS BECAUSE OF SILLY RULES
SOME TIMES FOLK ARE SEEKING TO DO LITTLE THINGS IN THE SHORT TIME AVAILABLE TO THEM IN THEIR LUNCH HOUR
LikeLike
@ Islandgal
“In our own country we women are given rules on how to dress by ignorant ugly ass big belly men.”
Men shiite…. 90% of the idiots making up these silly rules are women ..and the other 10% are secretly women…
wuh even in your OWN example with your jacket ….um wasn’t women…? both manager and Island manager?
….NO man in his right mind would turn back that lady in the picture…? …unless of course um was the idiot AC…. 🙂
@ Simple Simon
“…..Again I was wearing one of those high necked, below the knee “armed hole” church dresses”
Shiite woman …don’t you think it may be time for you to buy another damn dress?
those relics you have from the 1980’s need to be retired now…
No wonder you notched up so many “Ex’es”….
Between this granny dress and the “silk paisley patterned head-tie” thing ..the people must be afraid that you may collapse in the place with old-age, bad feels or some shiite…
Steupsss
See if you can at least get one of those outfits like the one Islandgal had on at the birthday lunch last year …where she got on like a “black-hat” woman …
LOL ha ha ha …shiirt…
‘
LikeLike
@puzzled
there seems to be three actors to this story two of which has offered their information by some what sinister means ,and the security guard whose version of events are being told by second or third hand information .for me such information is insufficient to place blame.therefore i have resisted the temptation of commenting with an avoidance of having all factusal supporting stories of the parties involved but preffered to comment on the intent of the rules and its appliccation to the rule if goverance ation
LikeLike
We are such a F***** up people, that if we were to put a Security Guard from Newcastle of College Savannah at the door of any of these places, compliance with the dress code, like it or not ,would not appear to be a problem for many.
LikeLike
AC cease and desist, please. That pic shown paints the 1000 words for all with sense and perspective.
Her frontal image would have done no more than told Bushie that the svelte figure which he has admired was associated with an equally attractive face; or that some feature did not meet his taste. It would not change the debate.
BTW, do you realize that your careless, badly spelled writing is a clear indication of your muddled, indifferent thinking/discourse.
Additionally, you have described yourself as a liar throughout this piece. So if perchance I start referring to you as liar, liar understand that I am just repeating what you said.
To clarify. You said that “person …for whatever reason choose to be not depicted by features which to me challenges the varasity of their story followed by an intent to mslead.” (I presume you mean veracity and not varasity).
This means that as you have never provided us a picture of yourself that you have always absolutely intended to mislead or lie.
So liar, liar please cease and desist.
LikeLike
ROFL Bushtea why don’t you behave yourself? Please leave Simple Simon’s dresses alone unless you want to buy her a new wardrobe. That dress I wore at my birthday last year islandboy now telling me um showing too much cleavage. He doan understand dat I waited nuff years fuh muh bubbies to grow in order to show some cleavage. I tell he dat he jest got tah look de udder way. LOLL
Caswell yuh got rid of dat wheel barrow yuh does have carrying dem godees around?
LikeLike
Talibanesque.
LikeLike
Misogynistic.
LikeLike
Next thing you know some fool will sit in his or her office and insist that labia major and labia minor and clitorises are bad things because they are so unlike the male thing (which is the standard, don’t you know) and like in other countries they will insist that females have to remove those things because such things distract Bajan men you understand.
LikeLiked by 1 person
@ dee igrunt i am not muddle or confused i made my point relevant to the rules and guidelines not on a political launching pad loaded with speculation and misconceptions and for that matter could not care less how you proceed to interpret my comments as it now stands my feet are squarely standing on solid grounds within the laws/rules and guidelines to this issue and u or nobody else can say differently u can criticize and hum and haw even take me to task for wrong spelling but at the end of the day until those rules and guidelines are change what i say remains as a fact and u cannot prove me wrong,
again the picture has no creditability especially given(if) that there is another side to this story and if the story in itself is a true …if one is going to put themselves in the public domain with which level accusations one should be bold enough to provide a photo ID as a clear evidence to their truthfulness,
Any or none of my comments here needs to have a picture ID as they fall in the vernacular of political diatribe and does not impede on govt policy .
what this article has set out to do is use a character with an unknown identity which paints a picture whether be true or not of an unknown security guard a picture that forms speculation and levels accusations towards any one working within that criteria which eventually can be damaging to those who might not have been party to this incident, That is why the the photo ID would have been of importance and a clear indication of truthfulness since it would remove doubt or suspicion as to if or when and where this incident occurred and with whom and by whom
LikeLike
@ Islandgal
“…..islandboy now telling me um showing too much cleavage. He doan understand dat I waited nuff years fuh muh bubbies to grow in order to show some cleavage. I tell he dat he jest got tah look de udder way.”
..look the udder way…?
It sounds like you may gotta dump this islandboy and get an islandman yuh…. specifically an islandBUSHman.. 🙂
If he can’t stand the heat tell him to hand over the kitchen to the bushman…
BTW
…we hope that you know the difference between “cleavage” and “sag”…?
Are you sure that islandboy was not concerned about the bubbs’ vertical accelleration…?
ha ha ha ….He may be thinking of the cost of buying two hydraulic jacks to get them back in position… LOL
LikeLiked by 1 person
Bushie yuh fast wid yuhself. Nah hydrolics fuh me in fact um perkier dan somma dem yung gurls yuh does see bout de place. Wha brand hydrolics yuh buy fuh Mrs Bushie??
LikeLiked by 1 person
Washington (AFP) – Several thousand people including religious leaders marched in Washington on Saturday against same-sex marriage as the US Supreme Court prepares to hear arguments on the deeply divisive issue in the coming days.
Crowds rallied from the US Capitol to the Supreme Court, carrying placards reading, “A Child Needs a Father and a Mother” and “March for Truth.”
The gathering comes with the top court Tuesday set to consider whether same-sex couples have a constitutional right to wed in the United States, with a final decision expected in June.
Currently, individual states are responsible for determining marriage laws, with 37 out of 50 US states and the capital Washington legalizing gay unions.
“We will not be silenced… we are not alone,” Archbishop Joseph Kurtz, president of the US Conference of Catholic Bishops, told the crowd to cheers.
Several members of the Protestant and Orthodox church were also present at the rally, along with a strong turnout from the Hispanic community.
Some had traveled from out of town to show support for the anti-gay marriage cause.
Citing the Bible, Hiram Garcia, 49, from Philadelphia, told AFP that legalizing gay marriages would create “a Godless society, where people are far from God.”
Caroll Skinner, 64, agreed, and said she came to the rally to make a statement.
“Their relationships are unions, not marriages,” said Skinner.
Orthodox priest Hans Jacobse warned that “society will crumble” if same-sex unions were legalized.
“Marriage begins with God, not with the state,” he said.
Some experts say it seems inevitable that the nation’s top court will recognize gay marriage. View Comments (2580)
Share this story
LikeLike
Can Barbadians rely on Mia Mottley to join their march….should Barbadians wish to folliw the crowds in Washington who turn up in thousands to march against same sex unions ?
LikeLike
@ Fractured BLP April 25, 2015 at 9:10 PM
And what’s your point, Fractured?
If you are going to conflate your anti-Mia agenda with the same sex marriage agenda then we will have to ask you which sin is bigger, two people in love without having offspring or a man having children outside the confines of marriage or “concubinage”?
All of those Christian fundamentalist anti-same sex marriage zealots ought to be marching against the widespread practice of pedophilia in the RC church which has been going on for eons.
Until these hypocritical jackasses explain to us the origin of the wife of Cain the murder who fled to the land of Nod then we could as well nod off like RIP van Winkle dreaming they themselves are the product of a union between a horsy brother and a eponymous sister called Steve the Mule.
LikeLike
The Church didn’t even consider marriage to be worthy of a church ceremony until the Medieval period, so 1000 years after Jesus’ death. Until then it was not a sacrament in the same way that Baptism, Confirmation or Eucharist was. Prior to the church getting involved, people could consent to be married anywhen and anywhere.
It’s a shame it became such a creature of the church and became so wrapped up in Christian homophobia. If it had remained outside the church, maybe same-sex marriage would not be seen as such a big deal now.
LikeLike
Yes so there it goes ac have presented comments on this issue which targets the truthfulness of this article,, Truth in journalism is what matters and not scratch grain journalism which target yardfowls and empty intellectual talking heads like bush shite
LikeLike
AC this issue is going tell Barbadians who Mia Mottley really is.
She fears this same sex issue more than she fears owen arthur.george payne and kerrie symonds combined!
Why you thinks she so quiet these days?
Will she join fashion designer azizi olufemi in his one man protest outside the nation newspaper office?
LikeLike
No she will join Ronald Jones.
LikeLike
St George’s Dragon April 26, 2015 at 12:24 AM #
Please kindly note that the TWO ORDINANCES OF THE NT CHURCH HAVE ALWAYS BEEN
1 BAPTISM BY IMMERSION
2 THE LORD’S SUPPER OR EUCHARIST OR COMMUNION
THE NEW TESTAMENT DOES NOT ANY TIME TEACH ABOUT “SACRAMENTS”
millertheanunnaki April 25, 2015 at 9:36 PM #
@ Fractured BLP April 25, 2015 at 9:10 PM
NO WHERE IN HOLY SCRIPTURE IS IT TAUGHT THAT two people in love without having offspring IS SIN
the wife of Cain the murder who fled to the land of Nod WAS OBVIOUSLY ONE OF HIS SISTERS
THE SCRIPTURE DID NOT FORBID SUCH UNIONS UNTIL THE LAW WAS GIVEN—– PLEASE READ THE TEXT PROPERLY
LikeLike
St. G Dragon, “The Church didn’t even consider marriage to be worthy of a church ceremony…people could consent to be married anywhen and anywhere.” all likely true. But the social upheaval is not about the basic social contract of the ceremony and its consequence for the man and woman but all about the sacrosanct union of man and woman.
For those of religious doctrine same sex unions are a fundamenta evil that flies in the face of God’s will.
For social thinkers a union of a man and man or woman and woman is a natural evolution of humanity as it represents a fundamental right to socialize and interact and show love as we want. A fundamental human and civil right.
Of course you can be christian and accept same sex unions because you believe fundamentally that anything the Lord does can ever be wrong or unacceptable.
Or you could not.
LikeLike
@Simple Simon
Because I know for sure that no security guard at a Scotia Bank branch in in Toronto can order a man to take off his backwards facing cap
++++++++++++
Perhaps not but maybe they discriminate in other ways
http://www.thestar.com/news/gta/2014/12/10/banking_while_black_toronto_man_accuses_scotiabank_of_racial_profiling.html
LikeLike
There was a young lady today at we church *** with a burka!!
It shock me missus and I had was to tell she, shut you mouth, you is catching flies”
Which bring me to a question that I cyan get answer so i said i would put it to the BU legal luminaries.
According to the Barbados Constitution you cannot discriminate agains a person because of them sex or religion.
So if I is a scotia bank guard, I cannot tell a Muslim woman to remove she burka when she entering de bank right?
Now suppose we have a he-she Muslim who decide to wear a burka, given that the sign on the bnk door say no helmets to hide your face, and given that the Muslim woman would be being discriminated against, if de guard tell she to remove she burks, would it be double or triple discrimination for de buller man wearing de burka, first in his original state as a man, then as a woman, and then as a pretend woman??
Wunna can tell dat de madam ent finish de Sunday food yet and de ole man heah ent got a ting to do and studying ingrunce right?
LikeLike
Dee Ingrunt Word April 26, 2015 at 1:17 PM ” A fundamental human and civil right.”
If marriage is a fundamental human right (and I don’t believe that it is). Then since homosexuals are clearly human, why should they also enjoy this right.
LikeLike
The Constitution does not offer protection to persons who have been discriminated on the basis of sex or sexual orientation.
LikeLike
@ Pieceuhderock,
Imagine.
http://news.nationalpost.com/full-comment/national-post-view-court-was-right-to-strike-down-niqab-ban-during-citizenship-ceremony
LikeLike
Simple Simon, please re-read my post. I did not suggest that MARRIAGE is a fundamental right.
What I did say is a fundamental right is that “… a union of a man and man or woman and woman is a natural evolution of humanity as it represents a fundamental right to socialize and interact and show love as we want”. In sum its our right to choose to live with whom we want to.
If society validates that with a thing called marriage between a man and a woman then it’s understandable that same sex unions are asking to get similar privileges.
I was agreeing with that moot!
LikeLike
@ Dee Ingrunt Word
I was surfing the net earlier with my granddaughter and she started laughing hysterically while looking at the old man’s ipad
Of course i got nervous because I thought that I had left up my last post of Piece of de rock on the page or the letter that I wrote about Pastor *** about the man’s commitment to tithing to her father.
Guess what she had found?
Incredibly the little trouper had found a picture of AC!!
Here I am trying to find a picture of the female element of Legion all over the internet with no success and she does it in 15 minutes.
I have been laughing ever since when she twinkles here eyes and says “shoat”
LikeLike
@ PDYR
WRONG that never be any of the ac/s for we are all black…..baaaaaaaaaaaaa
LikeLiked by 1 person
@t George’s Dragon April 26, 2015 at 12:24 AM “The Church didn’t even consider marriage to be worthy of a church ceremony until the Medieval period, so 1000 years after Jesus’ death. Until then it was not a sacrament in the same way that Baptism, Confirmation or Eucharist was. Prior to the church getting involved, people could consent to be married anywhen and anywhere.”
My church still teaches that people marry each other, but that some choose to come to the Church for a blessing of their union.
And to the state to register their union.
But the marriage itself is the commitment of the two people to each other.
Therefore neither the church nor the state is necessary for a marriage to begin and to thrive.
Or to end.
LikeLike
what a FART hole .i meaning to who ever wrote the above comment,,,
LikeLike
I was thinking again about this “armed hole” thing. Maybe the security officials in Barbados hate “armed hole” dresses so much because they are afraid that the Bajan lasses have security hazard (like a boozooka or bomb maybe?) hidden up their [non]sleeve(s)
ROFLMFAO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
This security thing is quite mysterious:
At airports they make you take off your clothes (shoes belts etc.)
At the Registry they make you put on more clothes
At foreign Embassies they compel you to expose your legs, that is to pull your pants up to the knee,
At the Registry they demand that you cover your knees
How is a poor Simple Simon supposed to figure out which is which?
HELP!!!!!!!!!!!!
LikeLike
Brown Sugah
What a crock of crap!!! My sister once said to me that if you give a man a book and a pen…God forbid you add a bunch of keys to the mix then you will have a full fledged idiot who thinks he has the power to direct the world….. a loaded gun in a 5 year old’s hands.
I happen to know this young lady and she is always well put together. Does this make my opinion biased? Maybe. However it does not change the fact that in this attire of a well fitted respectful looking dress that she is not screaming full professionalism and zero threat to any establishment.
If this law or rule was written in the year 1812 does it make it applicable to every situation regardless of whether or not it makes sense?!! So glad I went to school at Cormere where a breech of common sense was a breech of the school rules. He should be fined for igrancyness alone!!! We have to stop this madness by setting a standard of how we expect to be treated in a society that boasts a 90 plus literacy rate….makes me shame the amount of time and money that we waste…. two steps forward and five backward! Make some noise people and be the change that you want to see….can’t done so!!!
LikeLike
@Brown Sugah April 29, 2015 at 12:16 PM “If this law or rule was written in the year 1812.”
The thing is these foolish rules were invented very, very recently.
My sister who is in her late 60’s recently went to NIS and was told by the young security guard that she could not go upstairs in an “armed hole” dress. She was puzzled since she had lived abroad for a good many years and had never heard about the “armed hole” rule when she worked in Barbados (and paid into the NIS) when the current NIS staff and security guards were toddlers still peeing their mother’s beds..
She went upstairs in the “armed hole” dress.
However on returning home she found her old, old Barbados ID card, and what do you know? On her old ID card issued in the late 60’s or early 70’s she was wearing an “armed hole” dress.
So these foolish rules, a modern “PERVERSION OF COMMON SENSE” were made up, very recently by some idiot with too much time on his or her hands, and not nearly enough education or common sense, and the rules have NO BASIS IN LAW NOR IN CUSTOM, and so should be ignored by every sensible Bajan woman
Now looka what wunna gone and mek me do quote the PM (favourably).
LikeLike
what is being” well put together” have to do with the rule,, some people drive luxury cars ,.some drive a median size cars ,but they must all adhere to the rules that provide safety and protection.
so what does safety and protection and dress code has to do with going to govt office ,the point being that is easier for security to recognize or give details of a garment that is in code than several different pieces of style and detail in case of an emergency . it is all about simplifying details that make it easier to remember.
LikeLike
Perhaps we should do like old China and make every citizen wear boiler suits and Corblimey caps.
LikeLike
Colonel not a bad idea ..just in case heads has to be cracked all would be fully prepared
LikeLike