I subscribe to a website called airfarewatchdog.com which for those of you are unfamiliar with, monitors airfares across the world. When Delta Airlines resumed their flights from Atlanta to Barbados, I placed an alert to several times a day, scans all available options on that route whether direct flights or through connecting cities. Last week a series of alerts advised that for certain days and months, subject to advance booking, return air fares were available as low as US$227 with the amalgamated American Airlines and US Air. Delta flights are of course direct and non-stop twice a week on Thursdays and Saturdays, while flying with the other carriers would involve a change in Charlotte or Miami, obviously resulting in a longer overall travel time. But look at the fare, and if anyone realistically thinks for at least part of our target markets, that lower prices do not drive additional business, then think again.

I also monitor the very popular Trip Advisor Barbados Forum site and read that a lady had also spotted the bargain fares and had no hesitation in booking her family of five to Barbados, due to the lower cost travel opportunity. How can we as a tourism driven country better take full advantage of these chances, especially as they cost us absolutely nothing in terms of marketing dollars. Maybe by following other examples, both in terms of the tourism industry, but also other sectors, by including a ‘last minute’ portal on the national website with links. It could even be branded as a distinctive by separate product with catchy name like ‘spontaneous’.

Clearly there is no profit in empty airline seat or hotel bed, so it’s in everybody’s interest to explore more effective ways of converting all the component parts in vacation experiences to ensure first time visitors are tempted back year after year.

Next week marks the official end of the winter season, so by now many will be reflecting on just how viable the last four months have been. The numbers appear encouraging, but unless an enabling environment by finally created something close to a level playing field, no intelligent investor is going to pour further monies into upgrading, refurbishment or enlargement without categorical evidence of the promised concessions becoming a working reality.

With the national marketing body still clearly under severe budget restraints, it would be almost foolhardy for any private sector industry partner to depend on Government for promotional salvation any time soon. And while the majority of people welcome the re-opening of a dramatically upgraded Sandals, we have to focus on the fact it’s re-entry into Barbados has not in itself filled any recent increased airlift.

With a delayed proposed building start date of at least August 2016, a new Beaches or whatever it may be called by final completion maybe in 2018. So the question that has to be asked, who is going to fill all those extra those seats in the interim?

Government and its representatives must eventually comprehend that every week that goes by without being granted the same incentives, that task becomes more and more difficult, if not impossible for the rest of the tourism sector to address. With already restricted marketing spend, if we do not find a meaningful solution it will only be a question of time to when any seat support monies will have to be pulled.

36 responses to “NO Beaches = NO Seats”

1. […] By David […]

2. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Adrian Loveridge

The Ole Man will date himself when I conjure up Europass which predated EuroRail/RailEurope and the rest of these programs, forty years ago.

It was a program which did the same deep discounts for travel using trains across Europe and many an impoverished travelled wanting to see the world at an affordable price, would subscribe to their programs.

Panam WorldPass and other predecessors were the airlines’ equivalent.

The point that I would make to you is that what you wisely advocate as a marketing strategy for a government which purports to be in financial straits but can attend every SIDS conference and meaningless symposium in China is what we ole fold HAD TO USE to be frugal and thrifty BECAUSE WE COULD NOT AFFORD OTHERWISE.

Your suggestion will languish and die for the following reason

I. It has been proposed by Adrian Loveridge and you are persona non grata for the GoB

II. You are proposing thrift to a government that has “caviar taste and mauby pocket”

III. It makes sound marketing sense and since you are not Adrian Elcock or any of the other empty headed high fliers that this administration has invited to eat of the “fatted calf”, IT IS DOOMED TO DIE

3. @PUDRYR

It is about following best practices, this is all.

4. Concessions for those that compete with Sandals? They were already given, no? When any Minister in this admiinistration uses any of these catch phrases. ..”In short order.we are looking at it.Shortly. Will soon be coming on stream. THEY ARE ABOUT TO LIE , WHILE LOOKING STRAIGHT IN YOUR EYES.

5. @Adrian Loveridge “Maybe by following other examples, both in terms of the tourism industry, but also other sectors, by including a ‘last minute’ portal on the national website with links. It could even be branded as a distinctive by separate product with catchy name like ‘spontaneous.”

Good idea Adrian. I like it.

6. Good post, Adrian!

Great ideas but you know that once you say it, the ac’s and the lying band of dems will come on and attack you.

If only these idiots would at least listen to some of the ideas being put forward, they could begin to start to implement them and then we could begin climbing out of the black hole the morons have Barbados in. But alas, they do not listen…..only curse us on BU.

They should read and observe because they need to take advantage of any free avenues to advertise Barbados because God knows, they owe every advertising agency and none will do business with the BTMI. The product arm of this debacle has still not been established…….they started before they were ready and some of those severed in the rush have not even been paid their dues yet!

And they want us to become a republic??………….yea right…… that would solved ALL of what ails Barbados!

By the way, what ever happenend to the reshuffle that was to come at the beginning of this year?………..some ministers had started to clear their desks after the final cabinet meeting in 2014? And a fumbler wants to gamble with our future talking BS about a republic?

7. Off topic

St.Vincent in the news and not in a pleasant light, wasn’t Ralphie accused of raping a policewoman sometime ago?

http://www.thestar.com/news/world/2015/04/05/rape-victim-shamed-live-on-radio-by-government-official.html

8. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Prodigal Son April 6, 2015 at 5:58 PM
    “By the way, what ever happenend to the reshuffle that was to come at the beginning of this year?………..some ministers had started to clear their desks after the final cabinet meeting in 2014? And a fumbler wants to gamble with our future talking BS about a republic?”

You know very well that what can be done in a day by the average idiot would require the tumbling Fumbler 4 months to execute. Let’s watch him with the LIAT transfer and the Republic issue on the same controversial plate now that he has washed his hands of CLICO and passed Parris on to his minion Hal Gollop.

Stinkliar has given you a hint of what is coming after his budget presentation scheduled according to him to be done “shortly” or “very soon”.
    He will be resigning from the MoF and expect to use his talents in more ‘challenging’ areas for the development of Barbados.
    Oh what a waste of a man! He could have by now graduated from Codrington College with his degree in ‘Blackened Theology’ to work in the interest of the Devil. At least he would still have his Pinocchio nose in place.

9. @Sargeant,

That is why Caribbean ( including Bajan ) politicians and should stay away from Canada. lol

Freedom of Information and real Investigative journalists.

And in The Bahamas…..

http://www.cbc.ca/news/canada/british-columbia/b-c-doctor-geoffrey-harding-slain-on-vacation-in-bahamas-family-says-1.3022040

10. “Oh what a waste of a man!” applies to you too Miller.

You could be a world class Author. Crime and political intrigue. lol

11. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Hants April 7, 2015 at 9:07 AM

So what about Old Onions Bag? The nocturnal escapologist who sees himself as fisher of women ‘extraodinaire’, sea cat woman excluded.
    Or is that you I am describing, Hants!

12. Canadian diplomat robbed and woman sexually assaulted I wonder how long before that makes it to the papers in Ottawa. . It has been a bad week for our govt hierarchy with the Miami goings on . The only good news is the Barbados thief should be easy to find having to hold on to the money and loot from the robbery he will be the only one not grabbing his junk.

13. Adrian

There can be no doubt that Air Canada’s decision to increase its Toronto/Barbados capacity by stepping up to the 777s was the result of pressure from the marketing might/advertising spend of Butch, (and GOB subsidies?).

With the seats needed to fill the 400 rooms at Beaches now not required until at least 2018, it is unreasonable to expect that AC will fly a large plane (777) with empty seats when a the smaller Airbus will fill the demand for seats from Toronto.

14. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

DD, I would be very surprised if they keep the B777 on the Barbados route during the summer, except perhaps on one or two days a week. Many do not seem to realise that the re-opening of Sandals has not in itself increased seat demand.
    Even operating at capacity (which they are not) the most seats they could fill would be 560 seats a week or an average of 80 per day. we have to get the occupancy up at all the other hotels/accommodation. Until the concession issue is addressed the hoteliers will not even think about adding more rooms.

15. Adrian

Couples Resorts (of Jamaica), and processor company, has (apparently) successfully operated resort properties since 1949 – all-inclusives since 1978.

Today, Couples Resorts owns and operates four all-inclusive luxury resorts in Jamaica.

Couples operated the 240 room Casuarina property for a year or so, also apparently successfully – and apparently without the benefit of massive tax concessions from the taxpayers of Barbados

Can you enlighten this observer from the Great White North on the rationale for pulling the rug at Casuarina out from under one Jamaican resort operator and extending 40 years of tax concessions to a second Jamaican resort operator in order to induce the second Jamaican resort operator take over the property.

16. Great exposure

Any mention of Barbados’ criminal minds LP etc?

17. Colonel Buggy Avatar

A fellow on the block said that the Antiguans have already chosen a name for the proposed new Barbados airline. B.I.A.T. (Barbados Is All Talk)

18. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Due Diligence April 9, 2015 at 10:16 AM #
    Great exposure

Any mention of Barbados’ criminal minds LP etc?

IT WAS BULL SHIT!
    THERE WAS A FLEETING SCENE OF ARRIVAL HALL AND PICK UP AREA, AND ONE OF THE OLD TOWER IT SEEMS

THE REST WAS JUNK! NO BARBADOS SCENERY AT ALL REALLY- ONLY FREQUENT MENTION OF THE WORD BARBADOS

19. Agree with GP, several references to Barbados were in the context of being a banana reputation banana republic. We got the exposure but what did it translate to?

20. http://www.bbc.co.uk/iplayer/episode/p02l52fy/caribbean-with-simon-reeve-episode-2

Simon Reeve continues his journey in Barbados, St.Vincent, Venezuela and Colombia.

I do not know if you can access this content from your country of residence

21. Colonel Buggy Avatar

Exclaimer April 9, 2015 at 3:42 PM

BBC iPlayer TV programmes are available to play in the UK only. Find out why.

If you are in the UK and see this message please read this advice.

22. I watched the entire show.

To be fair, the show is about crime not tourism. However the mention of the brand name BARBADOS does have some value.

BTMI marketing specialists have enough to spin this and extract marketing value.

23. @ Colonel Buggy,

That does not surprise me. I have just found a bootleg copy on You Tube but the quality of the recording is truly awful!

It’s interesting viewing

http://www.radiotimes.com/news/2015-03-22/simon-reeves-top-things-to-do-in-the-caribbean

24. The tourist numbers have increased for the first quarter and this is positive. We need to have a deeper analysis to understand if tourist spend is on the bonce as well and if the cost of advertising and airline subsidies have increased.

25. Even though the group is staying at the all-inclusive Sandals, talk show host Roger Ashby said he hoped the winners would use their $ 1 500 in prize money to patronise the local sights and shops.

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/66011/economic-boost-expected-chum-fm#sthash.6E6XrAzk.dpuf

26. Why stay at an All Inclusive then?

27. It is easier to manage 100 people at an all inclusive than at a multiple locations.
    Chum is broadcasting from that location every morning.

However I am curious to find out where they stayed last year and why the hotel or hotels did not secure this year’s event.

Hopefully the prize winners will each spend their $1500 in the shops outside of Sandals.

28. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Adrian Loveridge ( I doubt that you will respond)

I am just wondering what, if any plans, do our hotels and tourism marketeers have to offset the opening of the Cuban Tourism product.

I dont know how many of you have ever visited Cuba, one of my madam’s children is a rich body and dem pay fuh dem mudda (and step faddah) to go dere, TWICE!!!

Man let me tell wunna something.

Dat place is magical

The history is alive and kicking, no wonder that it has gotten its UNESCO designation!!

Speaking of UNESCO designation.

I want wunna to tek a walk through Bridgetown after 8 o’clock a night.

Oh Gawd!!

If wunna tink dat it nasty by day, go down there by night.

Then walk from Swan Street to Reed Street ant then to Jordans Supermarket.

Be sure to be in a group hear.

That place is just like a robbery venue waiting to happen!! No lights other than the lights of oncoming cars and the lights in the rum shops and barber shops that are open!!

And it is right behind the police Central Station!!

Like the travel advisory above, I will suggest that you do not walk there after 9 oclock

Boy we really up in shyte street hear!!

29. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

You would at least feel that the millions of EU $$ that the Ministry of Energy got from the EU and are purported to be spent only on proposals and products that the Minister friends submitting, you would hope that some of that money could be directed to some solar lighting throughout the City of Bridgetown, with its UNESCO designation, so that it could be lighted at night.

But then, given the fact that $$ from the Ministry of Energy could be spent to the ultimate benefit of the Ministry of Tourism, that would be anathema so that idea is to perish in utero.

30. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

It is interesting that James Paul of the BAS was boasting that Sandals Casuarina was purchasing 1,000 lbs of local produce per week. With a full hotel (we are told) that is 560 guests with every meal, snack included. So that 1,000 lbs would mean that each guest is consuming an average of 4 ounces of local produce per day. That is of course before any allowance is made for staff meals.
    I am surprised no journalist or commentator picked this up!

31. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

I expect that before the end of this year is out, the astute investor Butch Stewart will announce the purchase of a property to be developed – a Sandals Havana.

That is the thing about visionaries, they are able to see trends and capitalize on them, unlike our local sheeple

32. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Mr. Loveridge (still doubting that you will respond to this)

What does your comment on 4 ounces of local produce mean?

Is that amount good or bad?

Does it mean that Casuarina is utilizing all of the produce that is available for local consumption?

Forgive the ole man but I have never owned a hotel to understand the nuances of that statistic nor can i conceige of 1000 pounds of “produce”, the closest that I have come to that is the sound “1000 pounds of blubber” that those three bajan artistes used to play on TV with those beauteous damsels cavorting around the blubber.

Cant get into no more lascivious terms like Sanka Price at the Nation with his description of the schoolchilren that got the RBPF to prosecute the Nation’s CEO Vivianne Gittens. Plussing I supposed to be going church dis morning en ting…

By the way, you ent need nuh body to write any marketing blurb fuh you hotel “Peace and Quiet”, i did was asking fuh a piece uh editorial job at the Nation but Anne ent want to give me none (of the jobs that is, it appears like them ent to please bout how I does write bout them heah. To which, a little bird did tell me that you does doan respond to me causing I did had reason to speak to you heah pun annuder topic some years back and you din like dat, but I tell dem no dat you is a fellow wid international breeding and doan get tie up wid small tings like dat.)

Jes to give you a little preview of my writing skills..

“Tired of the Rat Race in your Cvntry? the UK, USA or Canada?”

Tired of getting robbed on the streets of Manhattan, London and Toronto?

TIred of having to bolt your doors to keep out the Mafiosa, the Cribs and the Russian mafia?

Tired of having Uncle Sam take 33% of your salary every month?

Well dont worry about that any more.

Leave it all and journey to Bulbados where our breed of mafiosa dont rob you and shoot you, we feel you up and perform virtual assaults on your pensions and savings (barring the occasional sexual assaults on East Coast Road)

No siree we dont levy 33% on your mages or savings but what we do do is that we have 10 small taxes Municipal Waste Tax, Road Tax, Education & Fun Tax, Look at Me too Hard Tax, Talk My name on the Internet and I will lock you up Tax, all of wich are 3.3 % each. Now do not get confused that this adds up to 33.3% cumulatively. No siree you are wrong causing our Minister of Finance is a man who can move the decimal point at will and he say that it does not equal 33.3%….%

By the way where you hotel located?? I need to know so that I can come dey pun monday to start me pick, i is got de pick right??

33. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ pieceuhderockyeahright April 12, 2015 at 6:41 AM #
    “I expect that before the end of this year is out, the astute investor Butch Stewart will announce the purchase of a property to be developed – a Sandals Havana.
    That is the thing about visionaries, they are able to see trends and capitalize on them, unlike our local sheeple”

Butch is a man of vision alright. So why do you think he has dumped the Beaches project for Heywoods St. Peter? Barbados tourism in its current rundown state will lose out further to Cuba when it becomes the new hotspot (as it is certainly fast becoming) for the new brand of environmentally conscious tourist looking for more than just disappearing sand and polluted coral bleached sea. No investor would spend millions of dollars on the West coast with its eroding shoreline and disappearing beaches unless a sewage system is put in place soonest.

Stewart would have no business compunctions about walking away from Sandals Barbados should the projected profitability not materialize in the short-term. He will just remove the name Sandals treat it as a write-off for accounting purposes leaving a dead plant and empty building in the hands of the Bajan government.

Remember Paradise Regained (we are not referring to John Milton’s interpretation) that turned into Four Season’s Lost? But this time the Sandals temporary logo would be turned into a pair of plastic slippers to be dumped at the WTE plant.

34. The numbers the BTMI is boasting of late is as a result of an improving global economy especially in our source market. The structural problem around a tired product and high cost of financing remains. Bear in mind no concessions received after 18 months.