The following extracted from Facebook Group Speak Out Barbados posted on 1 April 2015

IF THIS IS NOT AN APRIL FOOL’S JOKE….

“Owen Moseley, a Customs guard at the Bridgetown Port, has complained to authorities about what he described as intimidatory gestures from Constable Everton Gittens.

The alleged incident is said to have occurred on Tuesday when Gittens and two other plain-clothed policemen in an unmarked police vehicle entered the port where Moseley was on duty.” WAAIIIITTTTT!!! WHAT????

Let’s recap briefly, so this chap was the male officer implicated in the notorious ‘Myrie case’ where Jamaican Shanique Myrie was violated while in custody of police officers at our airport. The CCJ found his testimony to be deficient in several areas including veracity.

Next thing we heard of him was that he triggered a strike with his allegedly wrongful arrest of a customs guard. The guard was subsequently released and not charged with any office.

Last month he gunned down a well-loved civilian in the middle of the street at high noon in a quiet neighborhood while he was off-duty.

I thought…well now he’s going to at least be suspended and investigated, surely? But nooo I was informed that he was relegated to ‘desk duty’ while the investigation into the death of Blues was ongoing. Ok.

WHY WAS THIS MAN IN A POLICE VEHICLE IN THE PORT? OMG. Unmarked police vehicles are now outfitted with desks? Is this a new trend in policing?

225 responses to “Everton Gittens – Police Killing”

1. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Mr Caswell Franklyn

The article you provided made interesting reading, from beginning to end.

In some cases it made De Ingrunt Word’s suggestion that “when a cop tells you to get on the ground and put your hands behind your back”, you do as you are told, and deal with the charges of wrongful arrest, AFTERWARDS.

In other cases it becomes apparent that when these “murderers with badges and a license to kill” catch you alone or with company, you (and your company) be one dead NIGGA, you can chalk it up to “jes being in the wrong place at the wrong time.”

As one commentor says, as now seems to be the case with this Everton Gittens fellow, “Sociopaths are attracted to positions in which they are able to assert authority over others, so it should come as no surprise that there are higher concentrations of sociopaths within law enforcement.’”

In the old days when a (serious) law enforcement agency was doing a background check on your behind, they used to ask everyone about you.

Certainly the CIA and FBI still do that in-depth check on your happy behind.

Now all we do is (i) see how many certificates the soon to be officer, formerly gang banger, has (ii) check out if he/she is not a midget physically (we dont really care bout the mental deficiency part wha after all we dont want officers who too bright) (iii) connected with the right people. “The Minister sen’ me” guarantees us the job notwithstanding there are only posts for 30 officers and we are hiring 45

2. Another shocking video of the slaying of a black man in the USA.

http://www.theguardian.com/us-news/2015/apr/12/video-shows-tulsa-police-pursuing-and-shooting-man-killed-in-alleged-mistake

Does anyone know why Everton Gittens has yet to be charged for the murder and the serious injury of the two male family members?

3. Exclaimer April 12, 2015 at 4:47 PM #
    This is Barbados where Justice plays second fiddle to Old School ties, Political affiliation, The Brotherhood , Social groups, and the Secret Service, …..i.e those who hold secrets for people in high office.

4. Colonel Buggy April 12, 2015 at 5:45 PM,

I have lost faith with the terminally ill patient called Barbados. It is a country which is constantly given a free run in the international press, unlike Jamaica and other countries in the Caribbean.

Did you manage to see that episode of Simon Reeves in Barbados? I placed the link in No Beaches = No Seats.

5. Dee Ingrunt Word Avatar
    Dee Ingrunt Word

Pieces, I am sure you know the quote: ‘I rob banks cause that where the money is’.

That is a bit more mundane than your quote, “Sociopaths are attracted to positions … so it should come as no surprise that there are higher concentrations of sociopaths within law enforcement.’”

I frame it that way to make the point (no disrespect to any profession, peoples) that more teachers than let’s say firemen are accused of pedophilia or child sex abuse.

In simple context, persons who love children for all the right reasons and who are excellent champions and guides for our youth are also cheek and jowl with those who cherish them for perverted reasons. They are both attracted to the teaching profession.

Banks and money.

So for sure, power hungry, uncouth, sociopathic people will gravitate to police departments in big cities.

Thus if one could do an analysis of police officers and their aggressive tendencies in and out of their profession we might be shocked (or not) of the high incidence as compared to other professions.

Again, I repeat. No disrespect intended.

Police officers serve and protect daily and have a tough job where any minute could be their last on earth but the facts of life re overly aggressive often deadly behaviour and corrupt practices goes back to the creation of the first police department.

6. Has the United Kingdom ever previously issued an Advisory to its citizens regarding traveling to Barbados?
    Just a taste of what’s in store for the Republic of Barbados. Never in the field of human endeavour, has so few made so many cockups.

7. @Dee Ingrunt Word April 12, 2015 at 6:08 PM #
    “Sociopaths are attracted to positions … so it should come as no surprise that there are higher concentrations of sociopaths within law enforcement.’”
    ……………………………………………………………………………….
    And this was ably demonstrated in the Vietnam War, and some of the subsequent operations of the US Army, where the psychopathic aspirations of many of the soldiers drafted and/or regular, coincided with killing-field MO of the US army. These soldiers were flung smilingly into their briar patches, and if the opportunity had not arisen for them to serve in the Armed Forces, they would have been satisfied to be serial killers on the streets of the USA, or policemen,with 007 licenses.

8. St George's Dragon Avatar

“Has the United Kingdom ever previously issued an Advisory to its citizens regarding traveling to Barbados?”
    Yes, they issue them for all countries and have done for Barbados for ever. They are available on the FCO website and are not a sign of good or bad conditions in a country, just a notice to allow UK citizens to get a heads-up on what is happening abroad. The latest one for Barbados is not a lot different from the previous ones.
    Buggy, this is nothing to do with Republic status unless the latest spike in crime is the result of Fumble announcing his Republican distraction policy.

9. F,, k the UK they have as much crime as they have dog flies, they need to check their own backyard when last anyone heard of mass murder and axe murders roaming the streets of Barbados killing of people like in britain ,, it is not like UK has a squeaky clean image for crime maybe they ought to be posting one of them advisory twenty four seven outside their Parliament,,

10. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Yes AC.

You and the DLP mentality would say FCVK the UK because they are dependent on tourism as a mainstay of their economy and need us more than we need them.

Again this is exemplary of your mentality and that of your DLP brethren and sisteren that are running the cvntry right now

11. saintgeorgesdragon Avatar
    saintgeorgesdragon

@ ac
    What would your view be of the Americans? Their travel advisory about Barbados says:
    “CRIME: Crime in Barbados is characterized primarily by petty theft and street crime. However, incidents of violent crime, including rape and armed robbery, do occur. As always, visitors to and residents in Barbados should always be aware of their surroundings and exercise caution, especially when walking alone, even during the day. Visitors should be especially vigilant on the beaches at night. If walking alone, avoid secluded areas. Always secure valuables in a hotel safe, and always lock and secure hotel room and rental home doors and windows. Statistically, violence and criminal activity in Barbados is on the rise. Embassy staff have been directed to avoid the following areas at all times: Crab Hill, St. Lucy and The Ivy, St Michael. Embassy staff have further been directed to avoid three additional areas at night: Nelson Street, Wellington Street, and Jolly Rogers Cruises. Embassy staff have been advised to exercise extreme caution in the following areas: New Orleans, Deacons, Black Rock, Pine, Carrington Village, and Green Fields.”
    Not dissimilar to the UK advice. So f*** them too?

12. ac April 12, 2015 at 11:15 PM #

when last anyone heard of mass murder and axe murders roaming the streets of Barbados killing of people .
    …………………………………………………………………………………………..
    No , but we have a mini intended mass murderer, still walking the streets of Barbados,and probably still packing a service gun.

13. John Hanson 1781-1782, I SERVE 1788-1792 BARBADOES, Avatar
    John Hanson 1781-1782, I SERVE 1788-1792 BARBADOES,
  14. BANANA REPUBLIC Avatar
    BANANA REPUBLIC

This happens all the time in Barbados with cops stealing and planting evidence:

Ex-drug officer says he stole cash, planted drugs many times

PHILADELPHIA (AP) — A disgraced ex-police officer testifying against his drug squad colleagues acknowledged Tuesday that he stole drug money, planted evidence and lied on police paperwork too many times to count.

Jeffrey Walker told jurors that the Philadelphia Police Department drug squad targeted white “college-boy, … khaki-pants types” who were “easy to intimidate.”

That matches the description of some of the drug dealers who have testified in recent weeks in the federal police corruption trial. The witnesses have said the squad stole as much as $80,000 at a time during illegal raids marked by threats and physical violence.

Walker, 46, said police brass applauded the drug squad because they made big arrests that made them look good. Squad leader Thomas Liciardello, the lead defendant, “produced big jobs, a lot of arrests,” he said.

“They liked that, as far as the bosses and supervisors were concerned. It made them look good. It was nothing but a dog and pony show. That’s all it is,” Walker said.

Liciardello, he said, always got a cut of the money stolen or skimmed from drug suspects, while the others split the “jobs” they worked, Walker said.

He said he first stole money as a uniformed patrolman when he chased a dealer into a house and spotted a large bag of cash on top of the refrigerator.

“I never saw that much money. I was a young kid,” Walker told jurors. “I took some money, put it in my jacket pocket.”

Defense lawyers have attacked Walker’s credibility and will no doubt point out on cross-examination the times he admits acting alone, even before he joined the elite undercover drug unit. He also said he developed a drinking problem and became forgetful.

Walker joined the department at about 20 and had nearly 24 years in when he was arrested in an FBI sting last year. Before then, he had refused to cooperate when the FBI asked him to speak to them about the unit.

But he changed course after being caught in the sting, accused of stealing $15,000 and planting drugs in someone’s car. He has been in custody for nearly a year and hopes to avoid a life sentence through his testimony.

Walker said he once worked out of the same undercover squad car with Liciardello and Brian Reynolds but was turned out by those work friends as he went through a divorce, weight loss surgery and other personal problems.

More than 160 drug convictions have been overturned since Walker pleaded guilty, and scores of civil-rights lawsuits are pending against Walker and the defendants.

http://news.yahoo.com/ex-drug-officer-says-stole-cash-planted-drugs-170947488.html

15. Dee Ingrunt Word Avatar
    Dee Ingrunt Word

BANANA REPUBLIC your posts highlights an issue that most thinking people likely accept with the same sense of helplessness of road-accidents.

As long as there are vehicles and people on the road then there will be accidents and road deaths.

We start to get deeply concerned and seek to establish significant controls for the road incidents that are unacceptable like those due to an impaired (drug, alcohol etc) driver; or those caused by exhausted truck drivers who are overworked etc.

Similarly, when your police drug squads in Philly, NY or Bridgetown start to plant drugs on innocents to entrap them or start to trample on the rights of the suspected drug dealer then we have a real problem.

But taking something from a drug house… well

It’s a very honest young cop who will engage in a blistering bust on a drug hot house, bust after bust and refrain from sticking a wad of money from some stash in his underwear on one occasion.

I commend those who do.

Taking anything is wrong of course but it’s ridiculous to believe that cops ever did and ever will return every dime of ill-gotten gains found in those circumstances.

16. Dee Ingrunt Word Avatar
    Dee Ingrunt Word

I commend those who do… meaning those who refrain and are honest.

Not those who are dishonest in that situation. With them I commiserate and caution that once on that slippery slope there is only trouble ahead!

17. The DPP has acted swiftly in the matter but only to return the file to the police, we wait.

18. According to today’s Daily Nation, it seems as though PC Everton Gittens has been charged with the murder of Selwyn “Blues” Knight, as recommended by the DPP Charles Leacock.

Additionally, “Charges are also expected to be read to the constable in relation to the shooting of Knight’s son, Junior Knight.”

19. law and lawlessness, it seems like the police don’t have any supervisors or anyone to review their conduct.

20. St George's Dragon Avatar

If that is the case, we should surely congratulate the DPP for recommending the right course of action.

21. @St.Georges Dragon

How do you mean if it is true .

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/66438/murder-file

22. There is no need for congratulation of DPP .this is a stinging indictment of the failure of a judicial system and law enforcement dept who rather than exercising due and effective dilligence after the myries indictment compromised with reckless disregard against the shame and financial burden Gittens had brought to this country.This is an unforgiveable and unremovable injustice and st ain on the office of DPP and a full blown investigaion should be called for as to why Gittens a known cop who was brought before the highest court for criminal action was given legal possession of a fire arm which was used to murder an unarmed citizen..Unforgivable

23. AC
    Your take on BSTU and the RBPF on the Gittens matter is a departure from the norm.In the Gittens matter,how come the COP ag had the file back on his desk since Thursday 16th and an arrest is made only on Sunday 19th.It boggles the mind that this crime,committed since mid March,has been allowed to tarnish the reputation of the COP ag.Observant Bajans will not give the RBPF the benefit of the doubt on this one

24. Dee Ingrunt Word Avatar
    Dee Ingrunt Word

AC, very well said. I thought the same thing when I read the Nation that…

“There is no need for congratulation of DPP. This is a stinging indictment of the failure of a judicial system and law enforcement dept who rather than exercising due and effective dilligence after the [CLICO affair and Judical Manager’s report] … compromised with [the Stuart Government to disregard against the shame and financial burden … brought to this country.”

You are absolutely eloquent and invigorated when you also pointed out that…

“this is an unforgiveable and unremovable injustice and stain on the office of DPP and a full blown investigaion should be called for as to why [a Gov’t official, a known associate of Parris was given legal authority and impunity to direct and intervene into the affairs of CLICO; a clear conflict of interest] ..Unforgivable.

I always knew that there was a soul beneath that bland exterior and I am sure you want the same good moral and ethical things for your family as we all do for ours.

Continue to let your objectivity shine through!

25. @deeigrunt

Ac advice that u should cease and desist from using any comments !statments!quotations!attributed to ac,s comments .reason being u will be branded an intellectual ignoramus by the BU battalion and even worst a case can be levelled against u for plagarism by the ac. consortium

26. No!Nojustice for this family must not only begin at the bottom but firstly at the top for its within those hands a responsibilty was given to provide justice and justifiable prudence for a citizenry and they failed..yes! Yes! the blood of selwyn knight is also on their hands ..what a national disgrace

27. Apparently, Constable Gittens went to court just after 1pm on the murder charge and was remanded by Acting Magistrate Aliston Seale (a former policeman) until May 2015. However, there has been an emergency application for a bail hearing in the high court at approximately 2pm.

It was reported Gittens was driven directly to the court and police officers prevented the widow of Selwyn Knight from entering the court.

28. @Artax

The blue line always circle one from their circle, nothing unusual..

29. Tell me something I don't know Avatar
    Tell me something I don’t know

The police were out of line to prevent the Widow from entering the court. On what legal or moral grounds did they act? Surely in a country with the rule of law it was an infringement of her constitutional rights to be stopped by Police from entering a public place. This too should be investigated. Justice must prevail.

30. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Tell me something I don’t know April 20, 2015 at 2:39 PM

Can’t you see the signs of a ripening banana republic? On what grounds was the widow prevented from the court? Did she make herself a nuisance or threatened any one?

We shall see if the Constitutional rights of the accused will also be breached like the many murder accused who had to stay on remand for over 4 years.
    The poor fella has been sold down the river by his boss just to appease the outrage of the masses. One wonder if Hal Golloping after the money will jump to his defence.

But time has a way of destroying every thing like the god Shiva including evidence likely to convict a psychopath from the circle of the blue line whose motto is ‘protect our own first and at any cost, serve justice when it suits us’.

31. The COP (ag) should explain but it might have been a case of addressing security concerns.

32. Dee Ingrunt Word Avatar
    Dee Ingrunt Word

Again I must enthusiastically endorse your remarks AC.

I too believe that only an intellectual ignoramus could make statements and then boldly proclaim that others “should cease and desist from using” them.

The sheer hypocrisy of such a request is embarrassingly ridiculous and only someone devoid of commonsense and lacking any confidence for their own ‘intelligent’ (or rather, lack of intelligent) comments would suggest it.

To further complain of plagiarism when all statements are clearly attributed and amendments shown is a further indication of bold-faced ignorance and an aversion to truth and accuracy.

The moment that you stop making ridiculous posts on BU will be the moment that any and all of your comments cease to be re-used to reflect your lack of credibility and skewed analysis on the topics of the day.

Jut keep on trucking and deal with my remarks on their merit or lack of it, rather than make stupid accusations of wrong doing!

33. John Hanson 1781-1782- I SERVE 1788- 1792 BARBADOES. Avatar
    John Hanson 1781-1782- I SERVE 1788- 1792 BARBADOES.

lets see which of the top running crooks in BIM will he seek? Will he call for Cheltenham or Thorne? They love the peppers and the news

34. I must applaud AC on the stance taken in this manner. It is good to see politics being pushed aside and the issue at hand being addressed. We are all human beings before we are political creatures.
    Two thumbs up ac

35. It will be interesting to see what happens while he is on remand. Will he have ‘friends’ who will not only ensure he comes to no harm and perhaps even afford him ‘special priveleges’, or will there be some who are sickened by what he has done and his behaviour, not to mention the harm he has done to the reputation of the force, and the potential consequences for them, who will ‘turn and look the other way’ when it matters most.

36. Or fetch him out under cover of darkness a la Barnabas Collins of TV fame,and restore him to the precincts in the wee hours of the morning

37. @ Dee igrunt

i was very much tempted to ignore your last comment on April 20, 2015 at 3:25 PM # but after much thought and contemplation i decided to issue a public apology to you For my “tongue in cheek commentary to you on April 20, 2015 at 12:52 PM # in reference to your April 20 2015 at 11:14 Am

Dee Ingrunt Word Sorry if i mashed your corns Ac truly apologise

38. The Accused represented by Angela Mitchell-Gittens and the victim’s family by Andrew Pilgrim.

39. No bail for a policeman?

40. No bail David,no bail.The justice system is under tremendous pressure from the CCJ down.Even Sir Marston appears to have gathered the strength at last,to strike the first of perhaps more blows to two big able QC’s.

41. @Gabriel

No handcuffs either?

42. Dee Ingrunt Word Avatar
    Dee Ingrunt Word

David, a policeman is expected to be a paragon of virtue with respect to the law which he is entrusted to enforce.

Surely courts will look on conduct which flies in the face of those virtues with grave concern and this Judge acted wisely in denying bail to this officer of the law.

Mr. Gittens will be maintained safely during his remand despite the crude suggestions earlier made.

43. WEll at least he will remain behind bars for a while away and be able to walk free for a while,,
    this is going to be an interesting case to watch going from a watch of the myrie case this guy used his colleagues to brazenly lie for him on the stand. look for more of the same in this case,

44. Its mind boggling that 2 women fainted after Olson J’s terse affirmation…’Bail is denied’.We will not be surprised if another attempt is made to have him bailed since we have had a precedent of murder accused bailed.
    Imagine a female police office fainted?Is this a weakness?Is policing for the female of the species?What the heck is this!Where is the toughness policing requires.Its like a doctor fainting at the sight of blood.That job is not for fainters…find work somewhere else.Next thing this woman faint escorting a prisoner and ‘he have his way wid she’…

45. the police statement the reason for the delay on the surface sounds plausible , but what more evedience than an accused killing an unarmed man would be justifiable enough not to issued a warrant for his arrest sooner rather than later even it was for self defense in a democratic society such actions by many jurisdictions are quickly executed in an avoidance that the accused does not have time to secure an exit out of the country
    Todays statement by the RBF was an excuse in the buying of time hoping to gather sufficient evidence favorable to Gittens. the fact that this guy was walking free without bond is telling about a process to protect and absolve

46. Dee Ingrunt Word Avatar
    Dee Ingrunt Word

“ATTORNEY AT LAW ANDREW PILGRIM is insisting that there is no conflict of interest because he represents the family of murder victim Selwyn “Blues” Knight, while a colleague from his chambers represents the man accused of killing Knight.”

Rather stunning.

Not a conflict of interest, maybe but surely a conflict on decency and decorum.

This is a very adversarial issue and that the same firm will be strategizing the way forward on both sides of the fence is unseemly.

Were this a mundane rubber stamp matter of the type where legal input is mandatory but often not particularly vital no one would raise an eyebrow. Lawyers in same chambers conclude both sides of the negotiations of that form regularly one imagines. But this is not that.

Despite the lovely payday pending, Mr Pilgrim should be conscientious enough to accept that his team representing both parties is not the visually appealing.

But why do the clients feel so relaxed with this ?

Amazing!