The following extracted from Facebook Group Speak Out Barbados posted on 1 April 2015

IF THIS IS NOT AN APRIL FOOL’S JOKE….

“Owen Moseley, a Customs guard at the Bridgetown Port, has complained to authorities about what he described as intimidatory gestures from Constable Everton Gittens.

The alleged incident is said to have occurred on Tuesday when Gittens and two other plain-clothed policemen in an unmarked police vehicle entered the port where Moseley was on duty.” WAAIIIITTTTT!!! WHAT????

Let’s recap briefly, so this chap was the male officer implicated in the notorious ‘Myrie case’ where Jamaican Shanique Myrie was violated while in custody of police officers at our airport. The CCJ found his testimony to be deficient in several areas including veracity.

Next thing we heard of him was that he triggered a strike with his allegedly wrongful arrest of a customs guard. The guard was subsequently released and not charged with any office.

Last month he gunned down a well-loved civilian in the middle of the street at high noon in a quiet neighborhood while he was off-duty.

I thought…well now he’s going to at least be suspended and investigated, surely? But nooo I was informed that he was relegated to ‘desk duty’ while the investigation into the death of Blues was ongoing. Ok.

WHY WAS THIS MAN IN A POLICE VEHICLE IN THE PORT? OMG. Unmarked police vehicles are now outfitted with desks? Is this a new trend in policing?

225 responses to “Everton Gittens – Police Killing”

1. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Colonel Buggy

You are a military man and would have an appreciation of what the Victoria Cross is.

It is the “highest military decoration awarded for valour “in the face of the enemy” to members of the armed forces of various Commonwealth countries”

It should therefore not come to you as any surprise to know that these four devils of whom you spoke – the PM, the AG, the DPP and the CoP will not bear these issues shamefully as you would think, like if this were some type of “fleur de lis” or an embroidered “A” like Hester Pryne, but these are accomplishments that they will wear with pride.

These men, oddly enough, consider these seeming indications of their incompetencies, euphemism for ball-less-ness, as “epaulettes of pride and accomplishment”

You need to understand that fellows like Everton Gittens “Police Killers” represent these men’s accomplishments

Let me explain.

It is indeed a mark of honour to these men to reside in a cvntry where, even though there is a bad boy cop terrorizing the Owen Moseley’s and Shanique Myrie’s, and lesser menses and wummens of Bulbados, these four horsemen of the apocalypse and their faithful cohort (legion and AC), live without any fear, unperplexed by these things banal, unlike you and me, lesser mortals.

These men “will not jump with common spirits, and rank with the barbarous multitudes….” like you and me “cowards who die many times before our death..”

Colonel you is starting to get quite uppity with youself and flying higher than you is relegated to fly as a non commissioned officer

Remember that with all things like these things ecclesiastical only men with the Compass, gavel, top hat and the square, with the points of the compass facing outwards, can comment on the actions and dual murders of Everton Gittens.

“Are you a travelling man?”

2. Colonel Buggy Avatar

And be reminded that the majority of Victoria Crosses were issued posthumously.

3. This story took way too long to reach the “pages” of BU, but now that its here lets deal with it in any manner other than civil.
    No more cover-ups, no more obfuscation, no more dodge and deceive tactics.
    This man needs to be in a grave. He is a menace to society.
    I find it troubling to my core, that after this many infractions, ending in the MURDER of an innocent civilian and the attempted murder of another, that this man is not in Westbury.
    The RBPF cant really expect the public to support ANY initiative that they now embark on other than the complete and unconditional dismantling of the force in its current state.
    Corruption is way too high in the RBPF. Just look at the procedure for the application and granting of a firearm license. Heres whats lacking in this pseudo-process:
    No clear procedures envelop the application process.
    No clear documented criteria
    No clear and defined policy for who is eligable or not.
    Simply, NO CLEAR PROCESS!
    So when people are granted a firearm license because their father was the … of … or their mother is well known to …, and a business man makes three and four attempts to apply for a firearm only to be turned down and be told, “If you have that much money to move, you should use Brinks(G4S)” I have a problem there.
    The police in their current organizational structure are untrustworthy, and without honor! Period. They really constitute in the minds of the public, a well organized uniformed gang!
    This police officer is the manifestation of the corruption, hedonism and blatant disrespect for the public that is the core value of the police force.
    Time for Barbados to change and this group to go!
    He will soon do shyte again, but it will be his last!
    More people are watching and waiting, more than you know!

4. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ pieceuhderockyeahright April 7, 2015 at 5:21 PM
    “It should therefore not come to you as any surprise to know that these four devils of whom you spoke – the PM, the AG, the DPP and the CoP will not bear these issues shamefully as you would think, like if this were some type of “fleur de lis”
    or an embroidered “A” like Hester Pryne, but these are accomplishments that they will wear with pride.”

The writing of a Master of a man who has travelled far and wide the world of literature, even with his apron made of black-belly lambskin.

“A pure hand needs no glove to cover it.” ~Nathaniel Hawthorne, The Scarlet Letter

Let us add the MoF to the above list. Which of the above horsemen of the apocalypse trampling Barbados would be identified by the adulterous letters “H”& “L” (hypocrites and liars) embroidered across their lips of deception?

5. White SC officer charged with murder for shooting black man

http://news.yahoo.com/white-sc-officer-charged-murder-shooting-black-man-224647112.html

6. Sherlock Holmes.. Avatar
    Sherlock Holmes..

Can anyone remember the first story the nation newspaper published about this incident; it spoke of a man running into the house of a police officer hotly pursued by two men if i am not mistaken, therefore if three unknown men had entered the home of any reasonable creature in being in a menacing manner, and they are not known to you, what would be the response of any of you here on this blog in such a circumstance? If the police officer in question acted recklessly then the investigation would so prove,but i have noticed that the nation newspaper is trying this case in the public domain for some reason, this matter will be more than likely a coroner’s inquest in the initial preliminary,whereby a determination of the officer in question actions will be adjudged to see if a charge of murder will be proffered.It is therefore prudent that moderation be one of the key factors in this matter as some of you can be called to jury duty in this matter and then could it be said that a fair trial can be obtained in this matter? you all can make that determination, but commonsense must prevail.

7. The concern for many is that the process should be expedited given the fact law and order is one of the important planks upon which the health of a society is built. The public must not be allowed to become cynical as to how they view governance in Bravado.

8. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Sherlock Holmes.. April 7, 2015 at 7:57 PM

OK Sherlock Holmes, this is your mentor Watson here.

So explain to us My Dear Sherlock why did he the well trained officer, in a fit of raging self-defence shoot people in their back? What about his ‘prior ‘predilection for pulling guns on people for no apparent reason? Is he related to mad dog Estwick or what?

9. ”CHARLESTON, S.C. (AP) — A white police officer was charged with murder Tuesday after he shot and killed a black motorist during a traffic stop in South Carolina. A video showing the encounter captures the officer shooting the man in the back while he’s running away.

North Charleston Patrolman Michael Thomas Slager was arrested and charged after law enforcement officials saw a video of the shooting following a Saturday traffic stop, Mayor Keith Summey told a hastily called news conference

10. Jack de ripper Avatar
    Jack de ripper

Some people in my island would not take the time to educate themselves with the law but think they kniw everything about it. May the lord rest his soul but Mr was not shot in his back, the bullet ended up in his back because it did not exit. His son who in his interview with the newspaper said after he heard a shot and was going to his father he was struck. Leading one to believe he was not the target but stepped into the line of fire. With three persons fighting (burglary has no bearing because it hadn’t even been called in yet so no way the police could have known about it) one armed with a knife, action was taken. People hear one side of a story and because someone broke into his house he is an innocent victim and emotions took over. Good thing the police wasn’t white cause wanna would burn down Bridgetown with this bs. If there was culpability then he should be made to answer for that but people ain’t even waiting for the facts before jumping to conclusions. The customs officer should have been charged then all this shite talk won’t be going on……fuh years no one chose to sort out the rift with police and customs at the airport as to who has what powers. On paper the laws of Bdos give the power at ports of entry to police. If he gets in the police way he could be arrested and one police choose to do it and was well within the law, hence why nothing happened to him. Why wanna think the custom guard ain’t talk bout suing because he ass know he lucky he aint end up in the dock because of professional courtesy. The fuck is an intimidating gesture??? stupse. rant over.

11. @ Sherlock Holmes
    Excerpt from Instructions by the Director of Operations for opening fire in………….
    (2) Never use more force than the MINIMUM necessary to enable you to carry out your duties.
    (3) Always first try to handle the situation by other means than opening fire . If you have to fore
    (a) Fire only aimed shots
    (b) Do not fire more rounds that are absolutely necessary to achieve your aim.

12. There was a time in the recent past that police had authority at ports of entry because the same police performed the role of immigration/emigration officers.That is changed and so is the law to give jurisdiction over ports of entry to Immigration Officers (nowadays called Border Protection).Customs have jurisdiction over the movement of goods into and out of this country and not the police.There has been a traditional tendency by police to assume they are the supreme enforcement agency in Barbados because that was the system which obtained in the past.Uncivilised and ill bred officers in any of the three branches found at our port of entry would always give a bad name to the COUNTRY BARBADOS.

13. We actually have people trying to justify what this policeman has done?

14. Crusoe April 7, 2015 at 8:24 PM #

”CHARLESTON, S.C. (AP) — A white police officer was charged
    ………………………………………………………………………………………….
    And to think that Bridgetown , claims to have close connections with this city.

15. St George's Dragon Avatar

I thought the story changed. While it was first reported in the Nation that the men had gone into the house, didn’t I read the son had said they didn’t do that, and the incident happened in the road? Was it not part of his explanation of how the police were trying to get him to change his statement?

16. could not agree with the conclusion in the above article more. a similar incident in any other international country would have brought out activism at a level to cause heads to roll on behalf of a family who lost a loved one in a senseless murder at the hands of a impulsive and trigger happy cop ,,,, it is a shame that barbados must traveled a road of criminality again once traveled by officer Everton gittens and in the process a family had to pay the ultimate price of death dealt by the hands of this rogue cop named everton gittens,

17. fyi anywhere in the world the sole power s at any port of entry whether by land or sea belongs strictly to the customs department. obtain a copy of the customs act and see for yourself. you will be surprised to see the amount of power Customs officers carry in any country.

18. So a constable who used threatening language to a civilian and ‘assaulted’ a superior ranking officer on Sunday, was hauled before the court today, charged with three offences and released on $2,500 bail. A constable who, three weeks ago, shot and killed a man in the street and wounded another and who is well known to have a ‘troubled’ history, is free to roam as he pleases and continue to cause trouble. Add this kinda shi_e to what else gine on ‘at the top’ then read the papers and listen to the news and find out the effect this is having. We heading for big trouble.

19. We seem to be going downhill every minute.
    In today’s news
    (a) 60 Year old woman robbed in her Christ Church home.
    (b) Canadian diplomat and wife robbed at east coast. Wife sexually assaulted
    AND
    (c) Police Constable,among others, charged with assaulting a Police Sergeant.

Republic is definitely in the air.

20. Dee Ingrunt Word Avatar
    Dee Ingrunt Word

@ac at 11:46 PM…could not agree with the conclusion in the above article more. a similar incident in any other international country would have brought out activism at a level to cause heads to roll =============

Many blog posts back, I despairingly called forth the wrath of the Lord on your head and those of your offspring for the absolutely craven support you gave to the corrupt PM who had allegedly so badly misled and defrauded the citizens of this country.

With this show of blatant hypocrisy that wrath is assured. You will indeed live long and suffer the downsides of your devotion to this corrupt cause.

“I would rather be known in life as an honest sinner, than a lying hypocrite” , says it well.

Reflect on your own words in this paraphrase expansion of your earlier comments:

‘A similar incident of a prime minister in any other international country who was complicit in a check fraud and the use of a private corporate jet of a company over which his government directly interacted would have brought out activism, media and police intervention at a level to cause heads to roll and persons to be indicted and imprisoned’.

You sir/madam have succinctly established a new poster pic for the term HYPOCRITE.

But then again as a wise one said: Everyone wants the truth but no one wants to be honest.

21. Jack de ripper Avatar
    Jack de ripper

@baje01 and @gabriel

There is also a police act…which confers power to act under any of the sections mentioned ie immigration and customs.

In addition to their duties as constables under this Act, it shall
    be the special duty of the Police
    (a) to prevent crime and disorder in Carlisle Bay and in any port
    or harbour of Barbados;
    (b) to prevent persons from boarding or holding or clinging on to
    any vessel without the permission of the master of the vessel
    and if necessary to remove any such person from and out of
    any vessel;
    (c) to enforce the provisions of any law relating to
    (i) the regulation of the harbour;
    (ii) quarantine; and
    (iii) immigration;
    (d) to detect and prevent contraventions of the revenue and
    customs laws.

Which also has the power to arrest anyone who obstructs in those duties. Persons assuming they have some overarching rights and get involved get arrested like the customs guard. It doesn’t usually happen doesnt mean its wrong…just rare.

22. Jack de ripper Avatar
    Jack de ripper

@baje 01 and Gabriel

In addition to their duties as constables under this Act, it shall
    be the special duty of the Police
    (a) to prevent crime and disorder in Carlisle Bay and in any port
    or harbour of Barbados;
    (b) to prevent persons from boarding or holding or clinging on to
    any vessel without the permission of the master of the vessel
    and if necessary to remove any such person from and out of
    any vessel;
    (c) to enforce the provisions of any law relating to
    (i) the regulation of the harbour;
    (ii) quarantine; and
    (iii) immigration;
    (d) to detect and prevent contraventions of the revenue and
    customs laws.

23. Here is the BBC version of the “South Carolina police charged after black man shot dead”

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-us-canada-32213482

24. This is a straight forward shooting death where the alleged assailant is a Police constable. The published information supports a jury trial of the facts and circumstances in a criminal proceeding. What is the reasoning behind the suggestion of a coroner’s inquest?

25. Let us read what John et al has to comment on the shooting of this Black man in the back.

26. The observation to be made here is how in the US and elsewhere John Citizen is quick to record incidents, in Barbados where mobile phones are owned by by every Jack and Jane we never get to see a video. It says a lot.

27. so what is your point speckeled fowl .having cells and taking pictures have not been a hindrance to the ongoing problem of blacks being killed by white cops. however what has occured of similarity on this island could have been avoided if those holding the reigns of power had pursue justice on behalf of the citizens of barbados and relieved Gittens of all duties pertaining to law Enforcement especially knowing his history and his propensity to use poor judgement in exercising law while in the line of dutu

28. are-we-there-yet Avatar

I have no doubt that the DLP is protecting Constable Gittens.

The defence by Sherlock Holmes and Jack the Ripper says so. The style is exactly the same as that of some apologists for this Government’s failed policies on this board.

It makes one want to vomit when outright lies and facts, diametrically opposed to verifiable truth, are used in an attempt to trick and misdirect the public in a case as open and shut as this one.

The protection of the constable clearly has its roots somewhere high in the Government despite anything that an ac (outraged by the undeniable facts of the case) might say to retain her pick.

29. Jack de Ripper
    Nothing you have written betrays the formal duties assigned to an OFFICER OF THE LAW.Police on their own observe,detect and arrest criminal suspects.They are required by law to be the arresting officer.However where there is perceived or actual overlap of duties,Immigration,Customs,Plant/Animal Quarantine have the primary duty to enforce the law,engaging the RBPF when the matter at hand might require an appearance before an ‘officer of the peace’.

30. Dee Ingrunt Word Avatar
    Dee Ingrunt Word

@ David at 6:25 AM…Let us read what John et al has to comment on the shooting of this Black man in the back.==========

The one very positive aspect of this tragedy are the remarks from the police officials.

No ridiculous excuses. Simple, straight-forward acknowledgment of a criminal act with the officer behind bars on a murder charge and comments like, ‘if you are wrong, you are wrong’.

There is still time for the folly of course. The vapid statement most likely to be heard is some variant of: ‘ these officers need more training’. That type most infuriates me.

BUT, we come back to the simple question. Why do we as black men challenge white police officers at traffic stops when we know that the slightest provocation, far less actually having any type of contact with said officer, could result in death?

Quite frankly we have to stop this brain freeze behaviour.

Because on those stops regardless of how erudite and careful we are we will never convince white officers that we are the next President Obama…to them we are all criminals, will be criminals or just some riff-raft.

Thus we must be focused on living and let the cop have his moment of superiority!

31. Oh my goodness, David, I am so afraid! (NOT).

Dumbville Inniss who along with the band of dlp morons, used social media to the max prior to 2008 to denigrate, curse and destroy the BLP especially OSA now has a problem with social media….with people blogging.

I thought it was the solicitor general’s office which drafts legislation but he said his ministry is drafting legislation to deal with bloggers who go out there to write things to destroy people’s character. He and the dems had no problem doing that prior to 2008.

No wonder you are called Dumbville……..go away!

32. @ Dee Ingrunt Word April 8, 2015 at 10:23 AM #

Because on those stops regardless of how erudite and careful we are we will never convince white officers that we are the next President Obama…to them we are all criminals, will be criminals or just some riff-raft……….
    ……………………………………………………………..

I do not get into this race debate when it comes to the US………but I am tired of people who keep up this race talk roping in President Obama. I for one at first thought that America was racist and that it would never elect a black man when Obama was running. Well, America bucked every thread and elected him not once but twice.

So why are we in this part of the world who have black leaders screwing up the countries daily still going on about race. Yes there are still some racists out there but no black person ever stops to think that there are many blacks who are racists. They spout this racism and the other blacks believe them and would not get up off their black backsides and lift themselves up just waiting to be helped.

Face it, for Obama to be President, whites had to vote for him……so black people stop bitching. It is tiring. By the way, are blacks any better off for having a black President? I wonder what ever became of the black woman who was crying that night Obama won the nomination………….she cried….I am so happy, I will no longer have to pay a mortgage, pay a light bill or a water bill. That’s the black mentality for you!

33. It may surprise some but it is members of the political class who are responsible for many of the derogatory statements posted to BU. We take the opportunity to invite anybody who believe they have been tarred to submit a rebuttal by clicking on the link at the of of the page.

34. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Prodigal Son April 8, 2015 at 12:45 PM

And to think this is the same set of morons who want to take the country to republican status to lord over the people under the burgeoning dictator Fumble. These guys would pass all kinds of oppressive legislation to deny freedom of expression and movement.
    If these guys are currently prepared not only to run roughshod over the people but also to blatantly break laws on the statute book can you imagine what the future holds with them in charge ready to crack heads and shoot people for opposing them.
    Look how they are protecting Parris from justice. The jokers have time to investigate and humbug social media bloggers but can’t dare go after the man. We wonder why.

Can you imagine what next? Breaking down the doors of innocent people and carting them away in the middle of the night as the Immigration did with the Guyanese.

Bajans deserve the government they have. They were warned over and over.

35. Sherlock Holmes.. Avatar
    Sherlock Holmes..

No one is defending the actions of the police constable, buggy and crew, but still did these three men not end up in the policeman’s house? i am also aware that in the said circumstance if those three persons were in fact in the constables house engaged in an act that could have been construed as violent and threatening, and the officer by nature of his assigned post in the force believed that he was under attack,his natural response would be to defend himself.Now when one draws a firearm and points it in the direction of any person or assailant the natural response is evasive action, which can be turning away from the trajectory of the pointed weapon and fleeing, but by such time the shooter might have already squeezed of a round or a number of rounds which may have caused devastating effect, persons are shot are in the fleeing momentum and collapse else where. Everyone has their theories on this situation it is a matter that is being investigated and will go before the courts,so it is time to realize that the discussions on this matter must be tempered by the fact that all of you are potential jurors and no biases must be formed, let the investigation take it’s course and we all have to be responsible in our postings.

36. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ De Ingrunt Word

Somewhere in your (past) writings I got the impression that you either lived in, or visited, the United States of Amurica for a period of time, long enough to understand the psyche of Amuricans.

You would think that i would know if you had for, according to a blogger here, you and I “sat down at school together at Cawmere”

You would therefore have an appreciation of how stupid a good set of Amurican are and what % of white Amuricans “isn’t too bright”

Apply that lens of social inequity, inequality and iniquity on that environment and you can then appreciate how many “in the colour of our skin” are even more stupid

It is a shameful thing when, in commenting on ourselves, particularly the American versions of ourselves, one can say that “they are not the sharpest tools in the drawer”.

I respectfully disagree that this is a “brain freeze thing” DIW, it is more a case of “the dis syndrome” that black americans have embedded in their culture and being

If you and I encountered a policeman anywhere in the world, and, added to that encounter with authority, we are alone in a corner with them, the survival gene is going to cry out “nigga you alone with this here bubba, dont play you literate or uppity”

What you and I are dealing with on the american landscape is a chunk of black americans that are as dumb as sack of potatoes and for whom the “DIS(RESPECT) syndrome overrides reason.

Let me see if I can find an equivalent that you can identify with.

Imagine De Ingrunt Word if I were to call your mother a whore.

Now as peaceful and sedate a man as you seem to be, I am sure that it would elicit some sort of emotional response from you, maybe even a coke bottle in my head, especially if i was to poke you in your chest when i was saying “them thar words”

Multiply that emotion by 100 and then transpose it in a cvntry where “jes looking at a man too long will get you shot” in and amongst a group which is just a female rabbit hair away from “emotionally starved” and intellectually imbalanced sheeple and you arrive at that point where ,any encounter with “the man” that involves these cretins WILL RESULT IN “AN INCIDENT”

Shaw says “The reasonable man adapts himself to the world; the unreasonable one persists in trying to adapt the world to himself…”

And please don’t think that this is just the American black we are talking about.

This idiocy epidemic is worldwide.

It besieges Deacons, the Pine, Regency Park, UWI, Cairo, Berlin Russia, it is just more noticeable for you and me, cause we black

37. How white South Carolina cop ‘tried to plant a taser’ next to the lifeless body of unarmed black man he’d shot FIVE times in the back and then claimed victim had stolen it off him

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-3029597/Cop-charged-black-man-s-murder-opening-fire-eight-times-shooting-ran-away-saying-did-felt-threatened.html

38. Dee Ingrunt Word Avatar
    Dee Ingrunt Word

@ Prodigal Son at 12:58 PM…I do not get .. I for one at first thought that America was racist and that it would never elect a black man when Obama was running. ============

Senor, clearly your remarks “I do not get into this race debate when it comes to the US” explains the somewhat misdirected tone of your post.

If you don’t understand then seek to do before you pronounce rather strangely and illogically as in “I am tired of people who keep up this race talk roping in President Obama”

My reference to Barack Obama in the sentence “Because on those stops … will never convince white officers that we are the next President Obama…” was to highlight that regardless of our ability or potential any black man is seen as a potential criminal and thus a threat, and not in a positive light by a white cop.

In short, we are essentially doomed to fail during those situations.

To evoke Barack Obama is to use the most powerful reference of the black masses to show that we are all not criminally focused. That black dude could be a doctor or Harvard law grad. I could have used others like Dr. Ben Carson or Oprah Winfrey to name but two, but the point remains the same: white officer sees criminal!!!

Did you read the emails/memos from the cops and city officials in Fergusson?

When Jesse Owens propelled his legs to destroy the Aryans and the world’s sense of black servitude he was the most powerful reference then, sir. Same concept now.

In context, It would be absolutely illogical for you to refute his place in the pantheon of black pride and discourse of race of the time as it is for you to ‘[get] tired of people who keep up this race talk roping in President Obama”

As I said, if you truly don’t get the race context in US then step off.

The race matter in the US is real. This black is NOT bitching. Nor am I suggesting that racism is not shown towards whites by blacks.

This was a specific comment re traffic stops and white/black behaviors therein.

Maybe if you are really serious you can ‘Google/search’ Chris Rock and Isiah Washington, the comedian and actor, re blacks and police stops and see what they were saying just recently with respect to that matter.

No shots fired in Rock’s situation of course and Washington got some major blow-back for his comments of how he handles that.

Maybe you would better understand my overall remarks re traffic stops within that context.

We can enjoin on whether blacks are better off etc another time. My original post was nothing to do wid that.

@pieceuhderockyeahright at 1:20 PM

Yes to all the impressions and yes I agree with your drift.

No, we never sat in a class or school together despite all pronouncements to the contrary as that would mean my birth certificate is a fabrication (based on your comments re your age); not to mention where I traveled to school

I did have my moment of a minor ‘brain freeze’ during one absolutely ridiculous stop (thrown out COMPLETELY a year later in court) but I confined my remarks to the comparatively tepid “did u stop me for driving while black”; after all the yes officer, no officer pleasantries.

I probably shouldn’t have said that but I was tired and also so pissed when he told me why he had stopped me. It was surely a case of driving while black,in my view.

So yes, unless we get a grip on that ‘idiocy epidemic’ more black men will die senseless and unnecessary deaths.

39. The gospel according to Sherlock Holmes.Yes,why is there such a delay in having a preliminary hearing?Is this not suspicious and hence the public’s inevitable thirst for the truth given the shooter’s antecedents.Would not the truth merit a suspension on half pay of the shooter?What is so special about this shooting that merits all this cloak and dagger approach to justice.Is not the State going to be ultimately liable as litigants seek redress for loss of support etc.Sherlock,we will not go away until we are satisfied that justice is done.In the absence of facts,theories will fill the breach until………the COP acts,followed by the DPP…then the Law Courts.

40. @ Dee Ingrunt Word April 8, 2015 at 2:36 PM #

“To evoke Barack Obama is to use the most powerful reference of the black masses to show that we are all not criminally focused. That black dude could be a doctor or Harvard law grad. I could have used others like Dr. Ben Carson or Oprah Winfrey to name but two, but the point remains the same: white officer sees criminal!!!”

””””””””””””””””””””””””””’

Dont get your drawers in a knot! Have you not heard that the particular guy had a rap sheet as long as ever. A warrant was out for him for not paying child support. What doctor or Harvard law grad you talking about? Let me state that I do not condone the killing.

Dont mention Dr Carson, he had a mother who kept him focused and he has never blamed his circumstances to play victim.

I am done with this subject so do not expect me to respond.

41. South Carolina police officer charged with murder is fired

http://news.yahoo.com/protest-planned-white-sc-officer-charged-murder-092432016.html

42. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Gabriel April 8, 2015 at 3:28 PM

Well put Gabriel, your call for Justice.
    I am sure most right thinking decent Bajans and indeed BU readers will give their 100% support for such a call.

Even if it means suspending the officer in question on full-pay leave until charged and tried before a duly constituted law court as it is his Constitutional right; just as it is Blues Knight and his son’s right to life and physical harm leading to impairment or incapacity.

43. Dee Ingrunt Word Avatar
    Dee Ingrunt Word

@Prodigal Son at 3:39 PM …I am done with this subject so do not expect me to respond.========

There is absolutely no need to respond, oh wise sir. I am saying A and you are saying Z. So do end here because you are deliberately not understanding what is written.

It’s surprising to have to clarify what I consider simple references. The references to Carson or that ‘black dude could be a doctor or Harvard law ‘ is a general reference to any black citizen stopped by a white officer.

Don’t you know how many black professionals, actors or other successful non-criminal people suffer this same malaise basically daily!

You have completely missed the point to say. ‘Have you not heard that the particular guy had a rap sheet as long as ever.’

How would the cop know he had a rap sheet; simply because he was a black man.

Steeupse.

Even if he had already ran the license plate and knew he was dealing with a ‘criminal’ his actions were still ‘profiling’ as he was in absolutely no danger when he fired.

Who said anything about ‘crying victim’. It’s generally called being able to enjoy basic civil rights. Your victim comments are ridiculous.

You say you don’t condone the killing but can hasten to add that the guy had a long rap sheet.

Why mention the rap sheet?

Clearly if you were a cop in US I know what my situation would be if you stopped me for a traffic offense!

As I said previously. Step off the debate on race in the US. You are uninformed and apparently happily so.

I do appreciate your other comments on local subjects however.

44. Colonel Buggy Avatar

Anthony April 8, 2015 at 3:46 PM #

South Carolina police officer charged with murder is fired
    ………………………………………………………………………………..
    And to think that we call South Carolina , Red Neck country.