Submitted by the Mahogany Coconut Think Tank and Watchdog Group

It would be an act of gross hypocrisy for the Mahogany Coconut Group, to oppose the recent statements of the Prime Minister of Barbados, Mr. Freundel Stuart, regarding his intentions to move the country to Republic status. The MCG from its inception has canvassed for all Caribbean island nations, to rid themselves of the monarchy. We are therefore in full and unapologetic support of the Prime Minister of Barbados, on this particular issue.

While we understand that many believe that his position is a mere diversionary tool to tactic criticism of the current perilous state of the Barbados economy; we are equally convinced that those who oppose the country becoming a republic, are using the same critical state of the economy, to strengthen their unpatriotic position.

The political gymnastics of both the ruling Democratic Labour Party and the Opposition, Barbados Labour Party, are on show. Under the last BLP administration, then Prime Minister Mr. Owen Arthur made a promise to carry the country to true statehood and reneged after brutal criticism from many white Barbadians and some black citizens as well, who simply could not mentally accept that the Queen would no longer be head of state. To put it bluntly: Mr. Arthur and the Barbados Labour Party backed down.

The argument that the economy is too weak at this time is porous at best because under the said BLP they always bragged about how great the economy was and yet they could not deliver on the promise. We see their current stance as nothing more than a political red herring and a dastardly way of retracting from their position on the island becoming a republic.

We therefore urge the Prime Minister to carry the resolution to Parliament with great haste. If the resolution fails to secure the necessary two thirds majority, those who vote against it will be condemned to infamy for putting politics before true nationhood. Barbados no longer needs the Queen to be its head of state, regardless of the economy or any other negative confronting the country at this time.

MCG urges all Caribbean states to rid themselves of the monarchy without delay.

209 responses to “Down With the Monarchy!”

1. Put me as undecided when it comes to a “republic”, frankly I don’t think it means anything other than the bread and circuses and frippery that accompany these kinds of changes in Bim. I do notice however that there is a different kind of argument being advanced by some against this type of change i.e. there will be an economic cost vs the weeping and wailing about the potential weakening of ties to the mother country that accompanied the last proposed change.

Economic costs? When I reflect the island has been on a slippery slope since Owen sell the BNB to our neighbours to the south, yuh know yuh in trouble when yuh sell the furniture to pay de mortgage, we have been selling off the appliances piece by piece and some of the light fixtures have followed but the mortgage still outstanding soon it will be de madam’s fine jewellery (maybe that gone already) and Bushie’s holier than thou bibidee.

Perhaps this “republic” talk is a way to cement our status that “Massa day dun” and “Massey day begun”

2. ”Not me and the monarchy, not me

You see that the monarchy is nothing but a pappy show

I tell, that is the problemmmmmmmmmm

Not me and the monarchy, not me

You see, that the monarchy is nothing but a pappy show” sic

3. @ Paradox ; Balance
    The MCG’s position on this issue must be seen from an historical perspective. MCG is committed to one Caribbean Nation and therefore considers the removal of all vestiges of colonialism as paramount to our broader goal. Hence we strive to deal directly with one simple question: Should any self respecting country and its collective leadership be supportive of a foreign head of state. We cannot support the Queen or any other foreign monarch being the head of state of ANY Caribbean country. In natural fact the Queen is the Head of State of England and Barbados. Is this acceptable? MCG believes that the citizens of Barbados must have a head of state from amongst them. As we have often stated , we will not be drawn into non-productive petty party politics. MCG respects all opinions but we also recognise the dangers of reducing every national/regional discussion to the petty party politics.

4. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac April 1, 2015 at 8:01 AM

Here is a deal ac, Donkey Dompey & the yard-fowl DLP Co.
    First let us stop putting the damn donkey behind the cart.
    Why not first live up to your promise of good governance by passing the Freedom of Information Act and put into operation the Integrity legislation.
    Both can be done by November 30, as a 49th birthday gift to the people minus the award of pimp titles of knighthoods. Why not just the gold and silver stars of merit?

When this is done we will look at your republican malarkey present for the 50th birthday.

The current DLP administration has a reputation of breaking social contracts with the people. What evidence is there to suggest it would not go through with its promise to “crack heads and shoot people” if they refuse to accept the DLP brand of republicanism being forced upon them.

5. Did the citizens of Barbados vote in any referendum to become a Republic? NO

Did this government win an overwhelming majority in the last election ? NO

I doan have to read an spell fuh wunna but think about this.

Politicians are servants of the people so they should ASK the people for a clear mandate to make such a major change to governance.

first Integrity legislation

second Treedom Of Information

third referendum on change to Republic.

6. Sorry Freedom

7. @ Pacha
    If the monarchy is a “pappy show” why would we wand to move to something different?
    What category do we fall under?
    Pappy show????
    Banana republic???
    …all brass bowls.

Looka how wunna actually let Stuart change the subject from the CLICO thievery and the thieving Speakers…

shiite man… this subject is so asinine at this time that it even bring out donkey ….oops Dompey.

8. And starting in earnest in 2018

MAKING PROGRESS – B’dos will soon benefit from Waste-to-Energy project

4/1/2015

PLANS for the Waste-to-Energy project, which the Barbados Government is pursuing, will be taking more shape come next month. A team of key investors connected to the Bds$550 million project will be in Barbados next month to further fine-tune plans for the project and for a series of meetings with top Government officials.

Ms. Clare Cowan, CEO of Cahill Energy which has lined up the investors for the project, was recently in Barbados during which time she brought The Barbados Advocate up to date on the plans.

She said that while the project at Vaucluse, St. Thomas will begin in earnest in 2018, some initial preparatory works have already started and that Barbados will begin to see the benefits.

Clare Cowan for President

9. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ David April 1, 2015 at 8:14 AM
    “Will have to research it but what difference will it make? The two parties are not philosophically separated hence the labels twiddledee and twiddledum.”

At least it would highlight the hypocrisy of both parties with DLP twiddle(D)umb dragging a red herring to get the suffering people off their backs and shift the focus to the BLP twiddle(B)ee.

When the Opposition recently exercised their right to boycott Parliament because of the immoral behavior and indeed illegal behaviour (since theft is still a crime) of Speaker Carrington they were excoriated by some sections of public opinion for not representing the people.
    Wasn’t a similar walkout undertaken by the DLP Opposition in 2007 (so I am led to believe)? Weren’t the people also left unrepresented then?

Since it would be unsound to depend on the integrity of both “twiddledee and twiddledum” to express the intent of the majority of people on republicanism for their country why not go straight to the people and seek a clear mandate as was done in 2008 and 2013?

10. @ MCG

The mere removal of Elizabeth as Head of State does nothing, or more precisely very little, to change the history, culture or anything else. This is all form and no substance by Fraudalene.

None at all!!!

For example, no where in Bank Hall will there by any changes to the landscape. More importantly, the colonial mentalities of Bajans are never going to be impacted by this here missive.

Even if it were possible to kill ever single one of us, burn the corpses and scatter the dust to the trade winds we will still have people walking around thinking like colonials. Bajans are the perfect slaves and will never give up their ‘queen’. Not dey mudder!

You are misguided to presume that any lawyer in Barbados, including Stuart himself, would exchange a knighthood or a QC for some local, unknown ‘distinction’. There be the first Bajan 300 year war!

If Stuart were serious he would forswear his QC, but he is not talking about that, is he? If you think you could get a petty tyrant like Ralph Thorne to give up his QC, it will be a cold day in hell first!

11. @Bush Tea

Stuart has not changed the narrative on BU, check the top of the page, commenters are free to post comments. After the holidays BU will insert our views.

12. How many Barbadians would want to stumble blindly(or be pushed) into Republicanism with hat-in-hand lead by a bumbling, vision impaired government rather than wait until such time as we can jaunt proudly and with eyes wide open in the same direction? Not me, for one.

I’d rather go to hell on my own than to heaven with this lot.

13. Thompson had accused Owen of “railroading” the country and though he supported a Republic called for a referendum, which Arthur did eventually proposed.

Stuart had also commented, but you would need Hansard to get the details.

14. Bajans love their monarchy soooooooooooooo much that we are even discussing this supposedly serious issue on All Fools Day!

Very good, keep going!

15. @Bush Tea

Agree with you though we have a legit right to question the relevance of talk about moving to a Republican setup if we are at the same time selling every brass bowl asset our forefathers have ‘slaved’ to build.

JAs

16. Tell me something I don't know Avatar
    Tell me something I don’t know

As I understand it – except for the knighthoods issued by the Queen on her birthday, and on New Year’s, Barbados has its own system of National Honours which would continue under republic status. The KA – Knight of St. Andrew, Companion of Honour of Barbados, Gold and Silver Crown of Merit and the Barbados Service Star have been established in such a way that they could easily continue after a move to republican status.

As for this ruse from PM Stuart – he would have to be more stupid than we believe him to be to bring something like that to Parliament and have it defeated. It is a piss-poor leader that would bring something as assinine as this to Parliament when he knows he needs a 2/3 majority and barely has a working majority. So he will hope to get us all talking about this and forgetting that he is naming a Polyclinic after a thief, a liar, a pt-smoker and bller – in St. John. He will hope that we forget that his blling friend tief millions and millions from poor policyholders at CLICO. He would hope that we forget that HIS Government delayed doing anything at CLICO so those thieves (including the then PM) could further rape the policy-holders.

I am confident the BLP would support the bill AFTER they bring back free University education, AFTER they fix CLICO and every policy-holder gets back 100% of their investment, AFTER they make cost of living job number 1, number 2 and number 3 by reducing the cost of living by 25%, AFTER they get the hoteliers in Barbados 100% of the concessions given to Jamaican Hotelier Butch Stuart, AFTER they fix and acknowledge their own observed vote buying in St. Michael South, AFTER a commission of enquiry into the Dead King’s Estate, AFTER the trials of those who should be in jail for CLICO, AFTER the report into current Speaker of the House is tabled, AFTER a full investigation into the late… non-start of the 2015 sugar crop – we in bad times but we still making sure we lose de few coppers we got and AFTER the Attorney-General tells us exactly what is happening in the Royal Barbados Police Force, oops, the Police Force of the Republic – ’cause them kinda shootings and activity discovered by the Auditor general does only happen in Banana Republics.

Then I sure Mia would support the move. As for OSA – unless he going to be the first President, you could bet he ain’t supporting it either.

Lies… Lies and Dam Lies!

17. @ Tell me something I don’t know April 1, 2015 at 9:58 AM #

Excellent post. I especially like this part, hope you do not mind me re-posting (apologies, the copyright is yours):

I am confident the BLP would support the bill AFTER they bring back free University education,

AFTER they fix CLICO and every policy-holder gets back 100% of their investment,

AFTER they make cost of living job number 1, number 2 and number 3 by reducing the cost of living by 25%,

AFTER they get the hoteliers in Barbados 100% of the concessions given to Jamaican Hotelier Butch Stuart,

AFTER they fix and acknowledge their own observed vote buying in St. Michael South,

AFTER a commission of enquiry into the Dead King’s Estate,

AFTER the trials of those who should be in jail for CLICO,

AFTER the report into current Speaker of the House is tabled,

AFTER a full investigation into the late… non-start of the 2015 sugar crop – we in bad times but we still making sure we lose de few coppers we got and

AFTER the Attorney-General tells us exactly what is happening in the Royal Barbados Police Force, oops, the Police Force of the Republic – ’cause them kinda shootings and activity discovered by the Auditor general does only happen in Banana Republics.

Great post!

18. The dems think that they are all powerful and can do as they like but one day coming soon!

These morons will go down in history as the worst ever! After they are thrown out on their backsides, they will hide and would not be seen in public. As they would no longer have the power, you can rest assure that the suffering public would be empowered to cuss the bastards.

No longer would the man who should never be PM be able to keep the GG waiting on him, classless moron. He did that at the black tie affair last Saturday night………….what a waste….I know people had to pay but the Ministry of Health would still have had to put up money………money that should have been given to the QEH to pay suppliers for their goods and services rendered ages ago!

What morons!

19. The following is what “Sleepy” Smith, in 2006, had to say about Arthur’s proposal of Barbados assuming Republic status:

Retired jurist Sir Frederick Smith gave Barbadians this piece of advice last Saturday during a discussion on the 40th anniversary of the island’s Independence at the Mount Zion’s Missions church in Rock Dundo, St James.

“People should not vote for a republic until they see the constitution, to make sure that it is better in a sense to the one we have now,” the former Court of Appeal judge advised.

“We must have the constitution drafted and if any government – DLP (Democratic Labour Party) or BLP (Barbados Labour Party) – come without you having an opportunity as an intelligent person to read, to ask somebody about it, do not vote for a republic. Vote against it.”

20. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Tell me something I don’t know April 1, 2015 at 9:58 AM
    “As I understand it – except for the knighthoods issued by the Queen on her birthday, and on New Year’s, Barbados has its own system of National Honours which would continue under republic status. The KA – Knight of St. Andrew, Companion of Honour of Barbados, Gold and Silver Crown of Merit and the Barbados Service Star have been established in such a way that they could easily continue after a move to republican status.”

I must say your post is an excellent piece of prose (similar to want the Queen said about the King James Version of the Bible on its 400th anniversary) that encapsulates why the current DLP administration is unfit for office and does not possess the trust and confidence of the people to move the country forward even to something as inevitable as republicanism.

However I would wish you to revisit your assertion regarding the continuation of the award of knighthood under a republican flag of governance similar to our neighbour Trinidad & Tobago.

Instead of the Knight of St. Andrew why not the Order of the Republic of Barbados or the Medal of Honour of St. Andrew or St. George or St. Lucy or even the Black Belly Sheep?

I would like to hear your views regarding the award of the title of QC. In future, under the Republic of Barbados, what would be given to the politically-favoured legal eagles?
    What would happen when the Queen is replaced by a King? Would the existing QCs become KCs or would they be so conservatively monarchical as to wish to carry the QC title to their graves and etched on their headstone epitaph?

21. Question. Why is Mia so quiet on this issue.

22. Fractured BLP Avatar

A very good question AC

MAM have to tell the whole of why she believe Barbados MUST become a Republic.

Tick Tock…….the clock is ticking!

23. Because she is as much as a problem to Bajans as her co-conspirator Fraudalene!

24. Colonel Buggy Avatar

balance April 1, 2015 at 1:04 AM #

“There are more black Sirs and Dames than white ones hey so. They don’t want to let go of the old order easy neither. This will be a grand show for the next year.
    ………………………………………………………………………………………….
    Yeah, but if we go republic and scrap the Knight of St Andrew, this would not affect,many of those like COW and David Seales, who have the pukka gen Knighthood from England,

25. The insincere and hypocritical are shameless!

26. Colonel Buggy Avatar

If we are to do any with the Queen , United Kingdom and Colonialism, we must also discard the following last reminders of colonialism.
    The Game of Cricket
    The uniform and ranking of the Royal Barbados Police Force and Band.
    The scrapping of the term Royal .
    Down play of the old British Garrison as a national or UNESCO heritage site.
    Closure of , Gun Hill and Grenade Hall signal stations.
    Discard the Queens colours of the Barbados Regiment.
    Closed down Codrington College.
    Change the names of Harrison College, Combermere ,Queens College, Princess Margaret,and Coleridge and Parry.
    Scrap Horse racing.

27. @ ACs
    @Fractured BLP
    I can understand why a computer program malfunction
    But If you two are really living persons with a mind , and not a CP Program, then you two are very SICK and is seeking help, the only problem is you are going about it the wrong way by seeking attention on BU

28. Tell me something I don't know Avatar
    Tell me something I don’t know

@ millertheanunnaki

Thank you for your kind words Sir. Actually it wasn’t really my opinion in terms of the Knighthoods. I have heard very learned men explain it in similar terms. If we became a Rebublic, we COULD continue to issue those Order of Barbados honours UNLESS in addition to the Constitutional change necessary to become a rebublic the necessary legislation was amended or repealed to discontinue the KA, GCM, SCM and BSS. And in any event I would think that whatever title I might have on Republic Day would continue UNLESS there is some specific piece of legislation that prohibits it.

Existing Sirs and Dames it could be argued could not be “stripped” of the honour bestowed on them. It could however be that in the Barbados Order of Precedence the Knight of St. George and other honours bestowed previously by Her Majesty could move down or off the Order of Precedence. Personally I don’t see that happening. Our GG’s have both Barbados Honours and the British Honours – Knight or Dame of The Most Distinguished Order of Saint Michael and Saint George (GCMG) – and GCVO Knight or Dame of the Royal Victorian Order – Sir Hugh Springer was the last GG to be so honoured. These Knighthoods are limited to Heads of State and to those who have renedered distinguished service to the Monarch (GCVO). – As a caveat I am not an expert here but have tried to ba accurate as possible based on my knowledge and some googling.

For example – what would happen if some country somewhere gave me their highest national honour. I would think I could ask to be addressed by this title even though I might not be able to legally enforce if someone choose not to address me by the title. If you were conferred with a Honorary degree from a University other than UWI, again you could ask to be properly addressed but no-one would be obligated to so address you.

I would also not be surprised if the title QC isn’t grandfathered in and new “QC’s” probably becoming President’s Counsel (maybe not! PC’s! Sounds like Police Constable) or just Senior Counsel as exists in Trinidad and possibly other places.

My own personal view is that if we went the direction of Republic we should give up such “Titles” and indeed in an ideal world we should just do like the USA and forget the titles and have Awards which can be bestowed by the Cabinet in its own right, By Parliament – through an appropriate resolution and maybe by each Ministry and of course by the BDF and the Barbados Police Force (no longer Royal).

And also just like the USA as far as I am aware we don’t need to say anything about a lawyer – they can all be “Esquire” and let the public determine who we believe are better than others. This QC thing is akin to some arbitrary determination that one (the QC) is better than the rest. I don’t think that has any place in a truly egalitarian society.

This link shows how confused the entire matter is: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Queen%27s_Counsel

29. In Trinidad aren’t senior lawyers referred to as SC, senior counsel?

30. @Colonel Buggy April 1, 2015 at 1:53 PM

You’re being mischievous. We will never be able to wipe out our history since the bad old days of slavery. Nor should we even attempt to.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/magazine-32131829

31. ac April 1, 2015 at 12:52 PM #

“Question. Why is Mia so quiet on this issue….”

Perhaps it’s the same reason why Fruendel, as PM, is QUIET ON ALL ISSUES.

32. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ David April 1, 2015 at 3:31 PM #
    “In Trinidad aren’t senior lawyers referred to as SC, senior counsel?”

Yes, David. And that’s the point which underpins my argument.
    Under a republic (where there is no monarch or sovereign other than the people) the use of either QC or KC would be most inappropriate and culturally out of place both before the courts and outside.
    Those previously possessing those titles will have to drop them and be invested or installed with the title of SC or SA (senior Advocate).

The same way a person holding silk and currently addressed as QC before the bar within a monarchical environment would have to switch to the title KC when there is a change in the gender of the monarch or sovereign. Every thing with the title or reference to “Her Majesty” will change accordingly to ‘His Majesty’.

33. It occurs to me that the DLP appointed Constituency Councils smack of a monarchical imposition on the privy purse.There was no popular selection nor election but the dead king wearing his crown of nipples sent forth his dictate…henceforth there shall be CS’s and they will be given $100,000 .00 to spend at their pleasure…..now,is that a republican speaking or a monarch?

34. St George's Dragon Avatar

In general, I support Barbados becoming a Republic but the Sleepy Smith quote above says it all:
    “People should not vote for a republic until they see the constitution, to make sure that it is better in a sense to the one we have now”.
    At the moment, Fumble has told us he is going to make us a Republic but on what terms?
    One critical point which no one appears to have picked up on is whether the President of the Republic would be an Executive or Non-Executive position? In other words, would they have power?
    Fumble has to show us the small-print of how the Republic would work before we can decide whether we want it or not.
    Other countries have Constitutional Conferences to decide the rules. Will we, or will the new Constitution be brought to Parliament for vote without anyone having seen it – as with the Antiquities Bill.

35. If Mia is quiet so what, it is the citizenry and civil society who must speak!

36. @Miller

QC may morph to a ceremonial label ie.Custom.

37. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ St George’s Dragon April 1, 2015 at 5:05 PM
    “One critical point which no one appears to have picked up on is whether the President of the Republic would be an Executive or Non-Executive position? In other words, would they have power?
    Fumble has to show us the small-print of how the Republic would work before we can decide whether we want it or not.”

The P M did say the President would be Non-executive , largely ceremonial just a rubber-stamping titular position like the current GG position and another waste of taxpayers’ money and scarce resources. The Senate cannot continue in its current form and function under a republican form of government.

The same way taxpayers can underwrite the cost of keeping a ceremonial President (a GG in another form) selected by the Prime Minster and his political colleagues why not use some of the same money to hold a referendum on the matter in true republican style?

The position so far taken by the PM is that the people will have no direct input or influence over the transition to republicanism. Only he and his political class would be allowed to decide this significant move and who would be the selected President. If the current GG is automatically selected to be the “new” President of the Republic then he might have to drop his title of Sir and the letters GCMG and QC from behind his name before Chapter 1V and the First Schedule section of the Constitution can be amended.

38. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ David April 1, 2015 at 6:12 PM

Yeah right! Morph alright, into a different meaning like Quack Counsel or Quirk Crackpot.
    Can you imagine Hal Gollop (who, btw, has his eyes on the prize of becoming a ‘President’ of the Republic under the rule of King FJS) appearing before the CCJ and demanding he be addressed as QC should Barbados become a republic under King Stuart?
    The SCs would probably ask what does that stand for. Queen’s Comedian?

Sorry to be so derisive but we can expect that kind of comic relief passing for serious business in a banana republic Barbados is clearly morphing into.

39. Holding our public officials accountable, Michael Carrington anyone?

New Jersey Senator Robert Menendez Indicted On Public Corruption Charges

JIM WATSON via Getty Images

WASHINGTON — A federal grand jury has indicted Sen. Robert Menendez (D-N.J.) on public corruption charges, the Associated Press reported Wednesday. Menendez is facing 14 charges, according to the AP.

The FBI had been investigating whether Menendez received items of value in exchange for taking official actions on behalf of his friend and donor Dr. Salomon Melgen, who was the subject of a separate investigation into his billing practices.

Menendez has denied any wrongdoing, and the case could rest on questions about the reach of the "speech and debate" clause of the Constitution, which makes it very difficult for members of Congress to be prosecuted for their official acts, and difficult for federal investigators to access materials that may implicate members of Congress.

The senator from New Jersey never reported flights he took on Melgen’s jet in 2010, but said he reimbursed the donor for nearly $60,000 in early 2010. Menendez set up an ethics fund to fight the investigations last year.

Read the whole story

40. not only is Mia quiet but quiet as a church mouse, i guess after that foolish encounter with walk outs she must have learned a valuable lesson not to listen to them yardfowls.. some body suggest she might be following PM stuart example, i hope when she opens her mouth again it would be something of substance and not the laundry list of recitations handed to here by the malcontents, mia speak up, the republic is heading in your direction.how about President MIA MOTTLEY,i bet u would like that name ,dont let the yardies deny u such privilge ,

41. Barbados is fast becoming a country club for the political class and their associates and partners-ic. Reminds me of the days when the planter class was in that same exalted position.

42. Ready to Vote Avatar

Just had a nightmare. Barbados had become a Banana Republic and Freundel was President for Life!!

43. “Should any self respecting country and its collective leadership be supportive of a foreign head of state. We cannot support the Queen or any other foreign monarch being the head of state of ANY Caribbean country. In natural fact the Queen is the Head of State of England and Barbados. Is this acceptable?”

Look, I have no quarrel with your strong feelings about monarchial presence in Barbados but what difference will it make to the wellbeing of our citizens at this juncture in the overall scheme of governance given our present predicament whether the Queen is head or tail. I do not even remember the goodly queen bar when there is a death in her family and the pomp and pageantry that goes with it seems to engage the attention of the entire world perhaps even you.
    o We have a situation here where the powers of our parliament which we revel in holding up to the world as the second oldest has been gradually whittled down to accommodate the tentacles of political parties for which there is no provision in the Constitution of Barbados. Does the present composition of the Cabinet allow for the necessary separation of powers that provide for true parliamentary governance in Barbados? Not at all and this as a consequence has given rise to a banana republic so to speak? Is this the kind of Republic you seek? NO Sirree, as Artaerxes eruditely posited there is more to it than just swapping the queen as head just for the sake of saying that we have removed the last vestiges of colonialism. Let us fix those matters of grave importance necessary for the promulgation of good governance here first and then deal with other unimportant mundane matters after. Down with political governance first.

44. “And starting in earnest in 2018

MAKING PROGRESS – B’dos will soon benefit from Waste-to-Energy project

4/1/2015

PLANS for the Waste-to-Energy project, which the Barbados Government is pursuing, will be taking more shape come next month. A team of key investors connected to the Bds$550 million project will be in Barbados next month to further fine-tune plans for the project and for a series of meetings with top Government officials.”

Bushie- please note ” a team of key investors connected to the Bds $550 million project will be in Barbados next month for a series of meetings with top Government officials” and if I might add Sir Cow, Bizzy, Maloney and Bjerkham.
    Do you think that Cahill and whoever she is fronting for would invest all that money and expects to gain nothing. The subtle point i am trying to make Bushie is that to facilitate the foreign investment we badly need and beg for; something unfortunately has to give.

45. “You are misguided to presume that any lawyer in Barbados, including Stuart himself, would exchange a knighthood or a QC for some local, unknown ‘distinction’. There be the first Bajan 300 year war!”

Correct me if I am wrong but wasn’t there a local title designated Senior Counsel(SC) introduced sometime ago purportedly to replace the much sought after QC even by those opposed to the monarchy. Perhaps Arta can help me to expose the existing double standards.

46. “ac April 1, 2015 at 12:52 PM #

Question. Why is Mia so quiet on this issue

“because she might not be the jackass that you think.

why add fuel to a fire which should not have been lit at all

47. Well, here we go again!
    Barbados is again being subjected to another Legacy-Leaving, Lamp-post Lounging Intellectual lizard wanting to leave some grandiose mark on our society so that they can be remembered and exalted thereafter.
    Really now!
    This government which consists of a collection of Rogues, Thieves, Vagabonds, Bandits, Villains and other social, intellectual and financial vermin would like to lead us into a Republic status for what real reason?
    Simple issues that need to be dealt with in Barbados cant be even addressed and we need to be a Republic so what can happen?
    When a paro can cause the death of a man at the hands of a out of control , uniformed services bandit who just may be a “brown-eye” lover, and that paro can get locked away in record time, so that justice may be perverted, we need to be a republic for what reason?
    When Clico can rock the economy and leave hundreds, possibly thousands out to sea, unable to recover their monies and an anal assassin can lodge millions in the Central Bank while others lose their livelihoods we need to be a republic for what?
    When laws are written here that make citizens unsafe by ensuring that they cannot own a firearm to protect their person and property, but the US government can ask quietly how drug dealers can continue to operate here with impunity, the reason we need to be a republic is again what?
    When the NIS can pussy-foot around, offering excuse after excuse about NIS and pension payments to their clients, while spending millions on a computer program whose alternative could have been procured cheaper, and some Dr “Idiot” cant get the system on tract for my poor granny, the reason to be a republic is what?
    When whitey dat doan like to pay NIS, PAYE or VAT could have extended to them the services of the RBPF , and BDF in a nationwide search and rescue to look for a useless eater, a republic is a benefit to whom?
    Get serious hear!
    GET SERIOUS!

48. @ balance

because she might not be the jackass that u think….but who told u that ac think that Mia is a jackass,,
    however i believe her political strategy to keep muted on this issues is ” telling” because laying dormant in that silence is a documented truth which when reveals would definitely expose her hypocrisy if she distance herself from this issue