QEH Problem, AGAIN

Submitted by Anthony Davis
Dr.Dexter James, CEO QEH

Doctors are warning that shortages of basic and essential supplies will continue at the Queen Elizabeth Hospital (QEH) with Government cutting the allocation to the already underfunded facility by another $10 million this year. “The Barbados Association of Medical Practitioners (BAMP) is calling for ‘necessary, decisive and corrective action to be taken nowBarbados Today

My, my, my, this “people-centred Government” is at it again!

However, it should come as no surprise to anyone who lives and works in this country – especially those in the middle and lower classes of our society – that that would happen. This “people-centred Government” has money to purchase high-end vehicles for the boys, and to pay two CEOs of two entities which were made out of one – although we only need one for such a small country, with the said CEOs now saying that they are advertising for more people so that they can get a piece of the action – but it has to cut the funding the QEH – the lone hospital on the island. This was once one of the leading facilities, if not the leading one, in the Caribbean.

The Minister of Finance doesn’t have to care because he can check into any of the private healthcare facilities in Barbados or elsewhere at the expense of the same people whom he is depriving of basic healthcare. There is also money available to build a Marina in Bridgetown for the rich, the famous and the bigoted.

There is no “cash flow problem” in order to facilitate the building of another upmarket hotel on Browne’s beach where, once again, the indigenous and other tourists will be prohibited – as they are now at Dover Beach which Sandals has taken over apparently as part of its sweetheart deal – from visiting.

The QEH is being short changed by $10 million because the Minister of Finance seems not to be able to find enough money to fund it properly, yet the Minister of Health, John Boyce is talking about building a new hospital “in the not too distant future”.

First of all, what do you term “the not too distant future”?

That gives you a lot of leeway if your plan ever comes to fruition, because you know full well that nothing is done without the blessings of the mMnister of Finance – and I have not heard one single word from him about this. This is therefore nothing more than a red herring,

It seems that they are looking to pump more money into that albatross called “all seasons” because they are saying that another set of people are looking at reviving it “soon”.

How much will it be this time?

Another $120 million?

Let me digress here!

Seeing the plight of Harriette Hackett, I am wondering if she is not some MP’s constituent? I have not heard one single politician offering to help the mother. What are the Welfare Department and National Housing there for? Is the squabble between the minister of Housing and the Minister of the Environment over, or was that just another red herring because there was no money to finish the projects which are for the lower echelons of our society?

Anything which would redound to the benefit of the lower echelons of our society is being discontinued or the funding for it is being cut so that it cannot function properly, yet “Barbados is alive and well”. I see how alive and well it is when i venture into Bridgetown. What saddens me most is that there are a number of females who have joined the mendicants on the streets of our capital. This will certainly lead to some of them being exploited, but there is no help because not even the mothers can get their maternity cheques although they paid in their NIS dues.

Is it right for a mother to be begging – child in hand – for money to buy pampers?

Again the question must be asked: What do we have a welfare department for?

Why are the fathers of these children allowed to get away with not paying for them?

Why does the law which allows for money to be taken out of the pay of Government employees, not apply to private sector employees?

Some of them are riding around in their high-end SUVs, yet they cannot pay the pittance which is due to the mothers of their children!

The QEH needs proper funding if not Dr. Dexter James may have to come and find excuses for its state if another visitor has to overnight there and highlights the pathetic state in which it is.

This time the QEH may be sued.

This Government promised a lot to get a second term, but: “Enemies’ promises are made to be broken.”

David – Barbados Underground

52 comments

• Pingback: QEH Problem, AGAIN

• A more relevant discussion we should be having is whether the existing health care structure is adequate/relevant, viable etc. Instead we are caught up in spouting hot air. The following was posted in 2008 by Dr. Georgie Porgie:

What should Barbados Government Do About The St. John Polyclinic?

by David on February 16, 2008 in Blogging Edit

Map displays the current (or possible) available health facilities for the people of the North. These include St Joseph hospital- now allowed to be destroyed by the BLP. The Geriatric Hospital at River Bay area – to be upgraded to a Geriatric center with Physiotherapy, Occupational Therapists etc etc.The Maurice Byer Polyclinic. The Black Rock […]

49 CommentsContinue Reading →

• Mr Watson Parkinson

IMF directive, I wonder…?!

• No toliet paper -check…..no bandages-check….no money for drugs- check…..all dis due to a man called CHECKERY … and injudicious people who saw it fit to sell their rights for a mealey $300 or a computer n a flat screen. I hope they learn now……

• John Hanson 1781-1782- I SERVE 1788- 1792 BARBADOES.

QEH is there to make sure older people , people who cause the government pain will die , the doctors make sure they help the DLP and BLP get rid of who they dont want , and to have doctors sign off on the Death ,

Most People We know or Knew only live 2 days after going there , Better to Die at home or reach the USA ,

Dont trust none of them,

• Today’s press addresses the fact some surgeries are being delayed because of the presence of two particular strains of bacteria (klebsiella pneumonia and MRSA).

• They must be doing something right.

They detected the bacteria. Now they can deal with the problem.

• @David,

GP’s makes sense to me. The polyclinics/accident&emergency concept is sound for Barbados.

Emergency Patients can be treated/ stabilized at a Polyclinic and then transferred to the QEH if necessary.

• I just heard that the DEMS have shifted into election mode and the first move they’ve made is select a campaign rallying song. The tune they’ve selected after careful consideration and deep soul searching is one that they feel embodies the true soul and spirit of the Party.

It’s a song by Meghan Trainor – Lips Are Moving. The hook line?
    “I know you lie
    Your lips are moving
    Tell me if you think I’m dumb?”

Listen out for it on radio. Who ever thought that they would finally be honest with us.

• re Hants March 22, 2015 at 11:14 AM #
    @David,

GP’s makes sense to me. The polyclinics/accident&emergency concept is sound for Barbados.

Emergency Patients can be treated/ stabilized at a Polyclinic and then transferred to the QEH if necessary.

ISNT IT AMAZING THAT 7 YEARS AGO FULL DETAILS ON HOW OUR HEALTH SERVICE SHOULD WORK WAS FULLY PRESENTED ON BU LONG BEFORE THE GOB SOUGHT TO EMPLOY AN OVER PAID BUFFOON AT QEH WHO DOES NOT HAVE A CLUE.

THE INFORMATION PRESENTED ON BU SINCE 2008 WAS FIRST PRESENTED TO THE BLP GOVERNMENT AS FAR BACK AS 1985 AS A BETTER ALTERNATIVE TO WHAT THEY WERE SEEKING TO IMPLEMENT THEN.

IN SEPT 1985 THEY ADOPTED MY ORIGINAL PROPOSALS PARTIALLY

IN 2012 I SAW THE 2008 REITERATION OF THEE PROPOSALS AT WORK IN A POLYCLINIC IN THE NORTH OF ST LUCIA, AND BENEFITED THEREFROM. NOT ONLY DID I SAW A DR, BUT I ALSO GOT XRAYS DONE ON SITE WITHIN A REASONABLE TIME OF A HALF AN HOUR.

WE LOVE TO IMPORT MORONS INTO BARBADOS AND PAY THEM WELL, AND REJECT THOSE WHOM WE DEVELOPED AT HOME.

• Equal Rights & Justice

Thompy is who bring Dexter bout hey

• Caswell Franklyn

Hants March 22, 2015 at 11:04 AM #
    They must be doing something right.

They detected the bacteria. Now they can deal with the problem.

Hants

They detect the bacteria at post mortem or just before the patient expires. That is hardly dealing with the problem. People go into the hospital for minor procedures and are dropping down like flies after they pick up the super bug. I lost a cousin to the super bug earlier this year after he was cured of the initial problem.

• @Caswell,

Sorry for the loss of your cousin.

Here in Toronto our hospitals get hit with these superbugs from time to time.

The QEH management needs to do better given that it is the only public hospital in Barbados.

• HERE WE GO AGAIN

FOLK BULL SHITTING ON BU BOUT THINGS THEY KNOW NOTHING ABOUT

MRSA IS A PROBLEM ALL OVER –NOT ONLY IN BIM!

• RE People go into the hospital for minor procedures and are dropping down like flies after they pick up the super bug.

THIS IS WHY FOLK MUST AVOID HOSPITALS

• Caswell Franklyn

Are you saying that it is okay to have people going into hospital for minor procedures and getting sick and dying from something that they contracted in hospital, just because it happens in other hospitals around the world. Well tell that to the children of the five mothers who died last year after contracting the super bug in the delivery suite. Those children will never know their mothers but it is okay according to Dr. Georgie Porgie.

• NEVER SAID IT IS OK hat it is okay to have people going into hospital for minor procedures and getting sick and dying from something that they contracted in hospital

I SAID IT HAPPENS IN HOSPITALS ALL OVER THE WORLD BECAUSE THE FACT IS THAT IS USUALLY A HOSPITAL ACQUIRED DISEASE

NOTHING THAT I HAVE SAID ABOVE IS INACCURATE OR CAN BE REFUTED

• HERE IS SOME INFO ON MRSA

• Caswell Franklyn

NOTHING THAT I HAVE SAID ABOVE IS INACCURATE OR CAN BE REFUTED either.

• HANTS NOTES A STUDY THAT SAYS 1 in 12 Canadian adults in hospital have superbug: WHAT IS THE INCIDENCE/PREVALANCE AT QEH?

• Caswell Franklyn

They don’t tell you those statistics here in Barbados: you only find out when you get the Cause of Death Certificate.

• HERE IS AN ESSAY OM MRSA BY ONE OF MY MICROBIOLOGY STUDENTS.

LAB EIGHT – MRSA resistance
    Methicillin-resistant Staphylococcus aureus (MRSA)

Methicillin-resistant Staphylococcus aureus (MRSA) infection is caused by a strain of bacteria that has developed a resistance to the antibiotics that are usually used in treating ordinary staph infections. An MRSA infection can start as a small skin sore, or a boil, but it can quickly develop into a dangerous infection. Traditionally, most MRSA infection has occurred in those who have been in health care facilities – such as hospitals, nursing homes, or dialysis treatment centers. But sometimes MRSA infection happens among healthy people, and this type is usually spread by skin to skin contact. MRSA in the community has become increasingly common in recent years, which is concerning. Nearly 100,000 MRSA infections are diagnosed each year in the United States, and of those, nearly 19,000 result in death.

Almost a third of the population may have Staphylococcus aureus (staph) bacteria present on their skin or in the nose without having it cause an infection. S. aureus requires a portal of entry, such as a cut, in order to cause infection. Sometimes infection such as this requires antibiotics, but more often, drainage and cleaning may be all that’s needed to help clear the infection. One of the most common causes of bacterial infection in the United States is from S. aureus. S. aureus can cause mild to moderately-severe skin infections like pimples, boils, impetigo, abscess, and infected wound sites. And S. aureus is also able to enter the bloodstream and organs through injured skin or during surgical procedures to cause potentially severe to life threatening illness like bursitis, urinary tract infection, septicemia, pneumonia, osteomyelitis, and endocarditis.

Methicillin is a semi-synthetic antibiotic related to penicillin. Methicillin used to be effective against S. aureus, but these bacteria have developed resistance to methicillin and other penicillin-related antibiotics. This resistance of S. aureus to methicillin may be influenced by an overuse of antibiotics as well as inappropriate use of antibiotics leading to increased disease and death rates, as well as increased hospital stays, and difficulty in treating future infections as the number of resistant bacteria continue to increase. Whenever there is a large bacteria population, there will always be some that will be unaffected by an antibiotic treatment. These bacteria survive and reproduce, furthering those bacteria that are not affected by the antibiotic. This can happen at various stages of development, like those changes or mutations that occur in the genes of individual bacterial cells, and mutations that protect from the antibiotic’s effects. The bacteria that don’t have the mutations die without reproducing, and the resistant bacteria with mutations are able to reproduce freely.

About 86% of MRSA cases are health care-associated. MRSA causes illnesses in hospitals and other health care facilities; places that are full of people with weakened immune systems. These cases happen when MRSA enters through an opening that allows bacteria to enter, such as through a surgical site, wound, burn, IV-site, or catheter. Other health care-associated MRSA happens to older people who have weaker immune systems and a more health issues in general. It is also easily spread because health care facilities because they are environments where bacteria are easily spread from person to person via patients and staff, and also from object to person when the object has not been properly sterilized after its prior use. Particularly vulnerable are those people who have been in the hospital for a long time; those receiving cancer treatment or dialysis, burn patients, and those who are back in the hospital again after having been there in the previous year.

About 14% of MRSA cases are community-associated, and the average age of community-associated MRSA is 23. MRSA causes illnesses contracted outside of health care facilities in the community. Community environments at increased risk are those with many people like prisons, military bases, college dormitories, and locker rooms. People in the community at a higher risk are those who play sports with regular skin-to-skin contact; those who have even minor cuts or scrapes, those who spend time at unhygienic facilities or who lack personal hygiene; and those who have a history of antibiotic use. The Centers for Disease Control (CDC)
    Suggests using the 5C’s to remember the factors making it easier for MRSA to be transmitted: (1) Crowding, (2) Contact [skin to skin], (3) Compromised skin [open wounds], (4) Contaminated [items and surfaces], and (5) Cleanliness [lack of]. On an individual level, if one tends to their personal hygiene, this reduces the risk of MRSA infection. Each person should wash hands often, and clean the body regularly – especially after exercising. Keeping cuts and scrapes clean and covered until they are healed, and avoiding the sharing of personal items like towels or razors.

Signs and symptoms associated with MRSA skin infections include having a bump, sore, or ulcer that is red, inflamed, painful, and with the possibility of pus. There may also be fever. Once MRSA invades the bloodstream and/or organs, the illness is more serious; there may be a fever, chills, extreme fatigue, dizziness, aching muscles, and confusion. Signs and symptoms at various affected body parts may include swelling, tenderness, chest pain, coughing, difficult breathing, headache, a rash. Wounds that do not heal are concerning. In addition, it is possible for a person to carry MRSA bacteria in the mucosa, but have no signs or symptoms. Around one in fifty carries MRSA without illness – and as many as one in three people may carry S. aureus in the nose mucus without having any signs. These people can still pass along the MRSA.

To diagnose MRSA requires a blood or urine sample, or other bodily fluid that is sent to the lab. The different MRSA will then be detected by determining which antibiotics successfully kill the bacteria. Because it is possible to carry MRSA bacteria without any outward sign, sometimes it is prudent to test even healthy people when attempting to control an outbreak in a particular area – for example, in a hospital, a school, or a professional athletic team. In the case of MRSA presence without illness, a person may be advised to use antibacterial cream, or germ killing soaps. Treatment of MRSA infections in the skin and soft tissue involves various antibiotics that the particular bacteria is not resistant to, as well as cleaning and draining pus from the site of the infection. Meticulous cleanliness is imperative.

Regarding the antibiotics of choice used to treat MRSA – the health care-associated MRSA are largely resistant to most of the typically used antimicrobial agents, such as tetracycline, erythromycin, clindamycin, and fluoroquinolones. The community-associated MRSA strains are resistant to erythromycin, cephalosporins, carbapenems, and likely fluoroquinolones. Only about 10% of various types of S. aureus bacteria are susceptible to penicillin. In general, many of the resistant strains of S. aureus can be treated successfully with penicillin strains oxacillin and methicillin. However, S. aureus that are resistant to these are generally resistant to all ß-lactam drugs (which include cephalosporins and carbapenems). There is a new class of MRSA-active cephalosporins, that includes ceftaroline, that shows promise with the more-resistant MRSA strains. The most recent drug that MRSA has become resistant to is vanomycin, the process of which began to be recorded in 1996, and to date some strains of MRSA are fully resistant to it. The most difficult resistance to test for in the laboratory is oxacillin/methicillin resistance – as two subpopulations of staphylococci are often present together, one of which is susceptible to these antibiotics and one of which is resistant.

Because antibiotics have been in such wide use for many years, overuse or improper use has lead to newly-resistant strains of bacteria which have become more and more common, causing even greater numbers of MRSA infections. In addition to treating human infections, antibiotics are also widely used in agriculture – added to livestock and poultry feed as an illness preventative. In 2007, pigs that carried MRSA were found on farms for the first time. This is a major problem, because as antibiotic drugs saturate the environment on so many fronts, resistance to treatment of infection will continue to spread and eventually may bring us back to a time as was like when we had no antibiotics at all, making MRSA a major public health threat.

References

Alliance for the Prudent Use of Antibiotics. (2014). What is antibiotic resistance and why is it a
    problem? Tufts University School of Medicine. Retrieved August 20, 2014 from
    http://www.tufts.edu/med/apua/about_issue/antibiotic_res.shtml

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. (2014, May 28). Methicillin-resistant
    Staphylococcus aureus (MRSA) infections. Retrieved August 18, 2014 from http://www.cdc.gov/mrsa/

Mole, B. (2013, July 24). MRSA: Farming up trouble. Nature. Retrieved August 19, 2014 from
    http://www.nature.com/news/mrsa-farming-up-trouble-1.13427

National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases. (2014, January 24). Antimicrobial (drug)
    resistance. National Institutes of Health. Retrieved August 18, 2014 from http://www.niaid.nih.gov/topics/antimicrobialresistance/examples/mrsa/pages/ default.aspx

Pollack, A. (2010, February 26). Rising threat of infections unfazed by antibiotics. The New York
    Times. Retrieved August 19, 2014 from http://www.nytimes.com/2010/02/ 27/business/27germ.html?_r=1&

• RE Caswell Franklyn March 22, 2015 at 8:12 PM #

They don’t tell you those statistics here in Barbados: you only find out when you get the Cause of Death Certificate.

THEY DONT TELL YOU THIS ANYWHERE

THIS IS STUFF YOU LEARN BY READING OR BEING IN THE PROFESSION OR BEING DIAGNOSED

CHANCES FOLK ARE CARRYING MRSA INTO THE HOSPITAL

CHANCES THE FOLK WHO DIED WERE ALREADY CARRIERS BEFORE BEING ADMITTED TO QEH AS THE ABUNDANT INFORMATION ABOVE STATES.

BU IS INDEED A GOOD SOURCE OF MEDICAL EDUCATION ISN’T IT?

• What is scary for many is the fact the hospital has been operating with short budgets for a few years and has this impact its ability to procure the required antibiotics and other agents to efficiently combat the rise of bugs at the QEH.

• The question is Does this guy James know anything about being a Hospital Administrator? Out of curiosity I Googled his name a couple months ago after he made some condescending statement one of the times that the Doctors held a press conference about hospital shortages.

This man has been fired from two hospitals in the Region in short order for doing what his current employers are best known for.

So why is he even here? But then again, what a dumb question?

• Wait a minute. I know what one must be to qualify for a post in this Government. Let’s have some fun:

The acronym is B.U.L.T.

The clue : “Thompy” aka The Dead Dethroned King.

Over to you Guys!

• Seems to me that the QEH money was diverted to the new polyclinic and now the QEH is under-funded and the service there has deteriorated. At the present location the new clinic will be of little assistance to the people of St John – it is simply too deep into St John to make any meaningful impact on the healthcare for the parishioners. I predict that it will result in further diversion of funds and staff from other polyclinics and further deterioration of our health care facilities. Has the government factored in the cost of staffing that clinic, providing supplies, cost of utilities, cost of security? … I don’t think so!

• kerriesymmondslm

Call for ‘junk food’ tax

21 March 2015

A TAX ON “sweet drinks” and restrictions on the advertising and sale of junk foods are among the measures Barbados can use to reduce its high incidence of lifestyle diseases, including diabetes.Read More

• @David

What is Kerrie proposing? Is Pudding & Souse junk food? I passed through one of the local malls recently and I didn’t see one meal in the food court that would qualify as healthy eating. Incidentally the LA city council banned the opening of “fast Food” places in low income areas to stem the rise in obesity when the ban was established the obesity rate was 65% now its 75% and yuh know Bajans will say “Yuh can’t eat de money”.

Politicians always ready to impose a “ban” or “tax” instead of coming up with workable solutions to combat the ills that exist in society. The present generation is lost, if the country wants a healthy citizenry it should start with the next generation so primary schools should have classes where students can be exposed to the benefits of healthy heating and exercise which can equip them with the tools to make life long decisions.

If thinking like the one proposed above was in vogue 30 years ago the issues facing the QEH today wouldn’t be as severe but politicians are myopic they can only see as far as the next election.

http://www.rand.org/news/press/2015/03/19.html

• @Sargeant

Heard in the news last week Burger King adopted the Lester Vaughn School. Some thing doesn’t add up but what do we know.

• re David March 22, 2015 at 10:45 PM #
    What is scary for many is the fact the hospital has been operating with short budgets for a few years and has this impact its ability to procure the required antibiotics and other agents to efficiently combat the rise of bugs at the QEH.

MRSA IS NOT CAUSED BY A RISE IN BUGS IT IS CAUSED BY A RISE IN THE RESISTANCE OF BUGS TO ANTIBIOTICS

RE At the present location the new clinic will be of little assistance to the people of St John – it is simply too deep into St John to make any meaningful impact on the healthcare for the parishioners.

READY TO VOTE YOU ARE ABSOLUTELY CORRECT

• Seems like QEH is so problem plagued that there is a spill over to the new doctors and interns who are expected to use their bodies to move ahead…shameful, sick and sad that the experienced doctors named are just common psychopaths.

If this is true, if it really happens in our lifetime and not just idle chatter meant to massage angry people who are aware that the albino rats in buckingham palace are and have been a scam, sham, fraudulent for centuries, it will be coming not a moment too soon. Did Owen Arthur not promise and promise and promise and…………..the same thing?

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/65214/stuart-island-republic

I rarely believe much of what is said by politicians in the US, but in this instance, they are correct, something like the sugar industry that has worked for over 400 years is no longer working, only an idiot, or idiots would expect to do the same antiquated actions and get different results. The British realized that it had become a moneyless pipe dream over a hundred years ago, what is wrong with the ‘educated’ politicians/leaders in Barbados….steupss.

Use your brain and the taxpayer funded education to conceive new avenues of revenue.

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/64910/us-questions-restructure-sector

• millertheanunnaki

@ Georgie Porgie March 23, 2015 at 11:09 AM
    “RE At the present location the new clinic will be of little assistance to the people of St John – it is simply too deep into St John to make any meaningful impact on the healthcare for the parishioners.

READY TO VOTE YOU ARE ABSOLUTELY CORRECT”

You do have a point there. But where in St. John should the polyclinic been located? Do you think Four Roads would have been a ‘better’ and more accessible location?

• By the way, I hope Stuart does not plan to name Michael ‘thief’ Carrington or Mara “thief money” Thompson as President of the Republic of Barbados, still presuming that it happens in our lifetime. I hear both of them being referred to in the cabinet as madam and mr. president instead of speakers of the house, just saying.

• At this present time I don’t think Barbados should become a Republic. We do not have any natural resources only the people of Barbados, and the politicians are not giving us as bajans a proper education and health care system. Look at T & T, and Guyana how the politicians, went corrupt after becoming a republic, do we want our politicians to become worse than they are now? Have the people of Barbados been told about the pros & cons of this? what is the gain? Only a few educated racists Professors I hear regularly talking about it? Put it to the people Of Barbados, and find out what they want? But Fumble Stuart just want to see what he can say to appease centain people.

• re But where in St. John should the polyclinic been located? Do you think Four Roads would have been a ‘better’ and more accessible location?

polyclinic should not be in St John at all but below the junction of highways X and 4.

• @GP

Are you saying more resistant agents are available to combat and it is possible a lack of funds might have added to fighting the problem?

• Fumble knows that his administration is by far the WORST government Barbados has had in its existence. He will always be know as the WORST PM Barbados ever had.This label will be forever attached to his name.

Right now nothing is going right for the incompetent morons so he is trying to change the dialogue. He knows the days of his failing administration are numbered so he is looking for something else to be associated with his name other than the worst PM ever.

He said this much in the piece carried on VOB this morning……….EWB brought Independence, something about OSA. So he wants the be the PM that changed the island yo a Republic. Poor man. Let us wait and see whether they ask the people their opinion.

Yea right….as if they care what we think or say! For weeks now Barbadians were complaining that they were not receiving their benefits from NIS and it took a crisis situation for we to get a word from them. All of a sudden the poor rakey minister had a say yesterday after many months of people suffering and complaining.

We continue to let these morons get away with treating us with contempt!

• re David March 23, 2015 at 12:14 PM #

Are you saying more resistant agents are available to combat and it is possible a lack of funds might have added to fighting the problem?
    NOT AT ALL
    IT IS NOT THE AGENTS THAT ARE RESISTANT ITS THE BUGS THAT ARE RESISTING WHAT WE CAN OFFER

OVER THE LAST 50 -60 YEARS WE HAVE GONE THROUGH ALL THE GEARS AS IT WERE WITH EFFECT TO ANTIBIOTICS. NOW THERE IS NO WHERE TO GO REALLY BECAUSE BOTH PATIENTS AND DOCTORS HAVE ABUSED ANTIBIOTICS

THE BUGS HAVE FOUGHT BACK AND BUILT UP RESISTANCE TO ANTIBIOTICS IN A NUMBER OF WAYS

IN THE PERIOD WE HAVE NOT BEEN ABLE TO FIND OTHER EFFECTIVE ANTIBIOTICS
    WE ARE BASICALLY NOW STUMPED!

• @GP

Understood, so it is a beast we have to find ways to wrestle to the ground but will experience great difficulty doing so.

• David as simple as possible

Mechanisms drug resistance include
    • Drug inactivation – penicillinases here bugs made enzymes to destroy the antibiotics
    • Decreased permeability to drug or increased elimination of drug from cell
    here bugs cause the drugs to be eliminated from infected cell
    • Change in metabolic patterns…….here bugs disrupt the metabolic pathway by which the drug works
    • Change in drug receptors……..here bugs block the receptors for the drugs

• re David March 23, 2015 at 12:28 PM #

Understood, so it is a beast we have to finds ways to wrestle to the ground but will experience great difficulty doing so.

YOU GOT IT DAVID
    ITS WORSE THAN THE BEASTS AT EPHESUS THAT FUMBLE FIGHTS AGAINST.

HAVE MY ASSISTANT LOOKING THRU MY DATA BASE FOR A SIMPLE PPT ON THE SUBJECT

• Thanks for translating this issue devoid of political bullshit for the medical illiterates.

• Georgie Porgie March 23, 2015 at 12:07 PM #

re But where in St. John should the polyclinic been located? Do you think Four Roads would have been a ‘better’ and more accessible location?

polyclinic should not be in St John at all but below the junction of highways X and 4.

I agree with you wholeheartedly. A vanity project.

• ENUFF
    THE REASON FOR THAT SITING IS THAT MOST OF THE TRAFFIC TO AND FROM ST JOHN GO THRU THERE

SECONDLY SUCH A CLINIC IS CLOSER TO QEH FOR THE PURPOSE OF TRANSFERRING PATIENTS AFTER TRIAGING

IT IS A BETTER SITE STRATEGICALLY

• I have asked this question a million times. Is QEH equipped with a decontamination cell, to ensure that nurses and doctors coming on duty as well as going off duty are able to wear their uniforms and working clothes on the streets and into the community without the risk of transferring germs from the hospital into the community and vise versa?

I was informed that generally, sheets are not issued in the public wards, and if sheets are needed , it is the responsibly of the family to provide them. How can the hospital management be assured that these sheets are ‘ hospital clean.”

• @Colonel Buggy March 30, 2015 at 10:22 PM “Is QEH equipped with a decontamination cell?”

No. But do you know of any hospital anywhere (except hospitals treating highly infections things such as Ebola) that is equipped with a decontamination cell?

• @Colonel Buggy March 30, 2015 at 10:22 PM “I was informed that generally, sheets are not issued in the public wards, and if sheets are needed , it is the responsibly of the family to provide them.”

This is NOT true.

I was in the QEH recently, yes in a public ward and fresh clean sheets were issued.

• @Colonel Buggy March 30, 2015 at 10:22 PM “hospital clean.”

I am nor sure that there is any such thing as “hospital clean.”

I expect that the average hospital is significantly dirtier than the average home.

Hospitals are full of sick diseased people aren’t they?

Whenever I visit any hospital anywhere, in or out of Barbados, the first thing I do when I get home is take a shower and wash the clothes worn into the hospital…I do the same whenever I disembark from airplanes.

I assume that hospitals and public transportation (particularly airplanes) are dirty places…dirtier than the average ZR.

• Simple Simon March 30, 2015 at 11:13 PM #

No. But do you know of any hospital anywhere (except hospitals treating highly infections things such as Ebola) that is equipped with a decontamination cell?
    ……………………………………………………………………………………………………..
    Neither do I, but I do know that many Hospitals and other medical establishments, have restrictions on staff walking the streets in working uniforms.

Join in the discussion, you never know how expressing your view may make a difference.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s