Submitted by Tony ‘Kite’ Gibbs

The recent proposals by the President of the Barbados Chamber of Commerce (BCCI) to recover road taxes through fuel tariffs at the pump may seem administratively elegant at first glance, but to the non-economist like myself, is riddled with shortcomings, economic and otherwise, which do not appear self-evident to many in the Barbados Economic Society.

Road taxes are fixed charges levied by the government on vehicles for the right to use the roads in this country. Collecting road taxes at the pump through volumetric rates will always result in revenue adequacy problems. There will be over-collection of taxes when the economy is good or when oil prices are low and under-collection when economic circumstances force motorists to drive less. Road taxes collected in this manner will eventually be biased towards over-collection since there can be no conceivable way for Government to true-up and reconcile collected taxes on a month-to-month basis, in a revenue neutral manner, similar to what occurs with BL&P and the fuel clause adjustments.

For efficiency purposes, regulated prices such as fuel prices should reflect marginal costs. The common view is that consumer welfare is maximized as long as the value placed on a good is at least equal to the additional resources that must be committed to produce that good. When fuel prices are further burdened by duties and now road taxes they serve to distort prices in a manner that raises problems for allocative efficiency and create unintended outcomes. To avoid paying higher taxes, some motorist may look for substitutes such as electric vehicles, LPG conversions or may even turn to smaller fuel efficient means of transport. Diesel may also be a consideration because of its fuel efficiency. These actions not only distort the market but may result in less tax revenues and a greater tax burden on those motorists who are unwilling or unable to make the switch.

By far the biggest concern one sees with this proposal is the equitable distribution of this tax burden. The BCCI President is reported to be of the view that this tax will be ‘more equitable’ relative to road usage. Meaning that the more miles you travel each day, the greater the tax burden should be. She is also of the view that non-commercial road users should bear a smaller burden than commercial road users. The Barbados Economic Society seems to have found favour with most if not all of these ideas calling them ‘novel’.

Notions of equity are always very tricky issues since they are generally influenced depending on where you sit. The most common understanding of tax equity is that equally situated citizens should bear the same tax burden. Also, there is a notion of equity that suggests that those who make more should pay more. Now my question to the BCCI President is how equitable is it for a St Lucy resident to pay higher road taxes simply because he/she has to travel in traffic to Bridgetown to work each day while a person who lives and works closer to town pays less? What about taxi drivers, mini bus operators, freighters, fishermen etc who make a living from transportation? Will they not suffer a significant increase in their operating costs and be forced where possible to pass it on to customers? The issue of commercial users paying more is really a non-issue. They already do that, so that will not change. What will change is how much more they have to pay for the same level of road usage.

Finally, we come to ease-of-administration, whereby government is now asked to delegate to others the collection of taxes. The feeling here is that it has worked well for VAT so why not try it for road taxes. Well, to that suggestion I say` good luck! And to kill two birds with one stone, why not make gas stations check for insurance as well. The simple truth is this seemingly benign, elegant and novel form of tax collection is really a Trojan horse cloaked in the gown of administrative efficiency. Yes, productivity maybe low in the Pine and other Government offices, but is that reason to further swell our unemployment numbers?

121 responses to “Should Road Taxes Be Collected At The Pump?”

1. @Vincent

Does anybody know the formula to determine price at the pump?

2. old onion bags Avatar

.The Weekend Nation newspaper of Friday, March 6, 2015, reports the current Minister of Finance, Mr Chris Sinckler, as having said at the Nation’s Editorial Forum recently, that the Barbados Revenue Authority was mandated to go after tax dodgers.

)))))))))))))))))))))))))))

The BIGGEST Tax Dodgers? …..why just look to those MILLIONS that FCIB asked to be removed from its vaults…..biggest tax dodgers? look at the $3.333 Million invoice and the recipitents listed…biggest tax dodgers….look to the Central Bank and the $5 Mill special investor …ask about the VAT and PAYE on these amounts…..D $779,548.33 cheque from Harrisons Cave loan reviewer….ask about the $100 million in VAT owed by those FAT CATS who sittin tidy for life, look to Griffiths to point you in a direction…..if you want to go after tax dodgers.

3. @ Onions
    And where may I ask..are we going to put these meters…Broad St.,Cavans Lane, Swan St.??? Where?
    ..sometimes you can really ask some stupid “ac-like” questions hear…?
    Is that when the sea cat woman gives you a big rock…?
    Look in all big cities and see where parking meters are located.

Imagine any set of parking spaces in Bridgetown (which are currently used by clerks working in stores who arrive at 7.30 a.m. and park there until 4.45 p.m.) having meters installed with 30-minute slots.

You work out how many potential CUSTOMERS would now find it convenient to go into town to pick up an item.
    So we have the workers parking free – and sitting in the stores all day doing squat – while potential customers are fed up and choose to go to Shereton or Warrens instead – then some brass bowl will come and lament that Bridgetown is dying…..

It takes wisdom to lead Onions.
    …and there is only ONE source for that….

4. @Bush Tee

Your last comment is very insightful.

On Saturday, 7 March 2015, Barbados Underground wrote:

5. Bush Tea last comment very insightful . imagine a a worker making minimum wage working six days a week having to fork out daily fees for parking meter .yes international countries have them. but pay scales are much higher.

6. To the person going by the pseudonym, Old Onion Bags

It is our opinion that most of the persons who have been in governments over the years in this country and who have been supportive of this evil wicked criminal TAXATION system have been themselves characteristically dishonest and theiving in their personal and political lives.

7. Now, if this statement was correctly reported: “It takes cash to run a country”, in the said Weekend Nation newspaper, March 6, 2015, then, for the umpteenth time, look at the plain outright idiocy of the man the government of Barbados has for a Minister of Finance.

Such a statement is totally invalid in scientific logic and reason.

8. old onion bags Avatar

Here Bushie,

I will list on my hand streets in B’town proper where you can park LEGALLY….Mc.Greggor St. (by Mustors), In front the Inland Revenue Bld ( for IR workers only), Near Central Library (back streets). Behind Cheffete ( for taxis only) Mutual Bldg about 5 spots……all others HEAD TO D CAR PARKS.

Like you really doan visit town….or know where U can park…LOL

9. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ are-we-there-yet March 6, 2015 at 10:44 PM #
    “I think that a road tax at the pump is an excellent idea”

“The timing of implementation would be a bit tricky since people now pay their road tax at different times and the tax would have to be introduced for everybody at the same time to be equitable or there would have to be some system of refunds worked out to compensate people who have already paid some old road tax at the time of introduction. This might be a big hurdle for a money grabbing government.”

Fair enough!
    If you want to call a proposal that has been ‘around the block’ for many years now “an excellent idea”. But the main reason why this excellent idea is still an idea is because of what you have correctly alluded to; it is one of “Implementation”.
    The only way the government will introduce such a proposal at this stage to collect road taxes is if it is ‘forced’ upon them by the IMF. And it seems highly likely this is one in the suit of tax review measures (along with the abolition of some personal tax allowances and deductions) proposed by the IMF Tax Consultancy team.

I don’t think the government would receive much flack for such an “excellent” method to collect road taxes as it received in the case of the Solid Waste Tax.
    As to the timing of implementation of the tax, vehicle owners whose road tax has not yet ‘expired’ for the year would just have to cut their losses; with the recognition that the new tax will not be a future one-off payment but spread across the board based on usage or consumption of fuel for the vehicle.

Here are two concerns that need to be addressed.
    This tax would be better administered if it imposed at the point of importation similar to the excise tax to be passed on to the consumer at the pump or wherever.
    There should be NO exemptions to this tax. All vehicles from CDs, MLs and MPs would be taxed as long as they ‘consume’ petrol or diesel. No privilege pumps!

The only vehicles to be exempt would be those using “alternative” fuels. This exemption should be seen as an incentive (and a cost to bear) to promote Government’s alternative energy programme and its policies on greening the economy.
    Such an exemption from road taxes already exists in the UK and other countries for these kind of vehicles with little or no Co2 emissions.

What I would like to know is if the present system of paying to renew driver licences would continue as is.
    What about the regime to monitor the adherence to third party insurance requirement? Aren’t these two regulatory platforms part of the Road Tax collection and regulatory framework?

10. @Onions

We have a few other streets; even lower Roebuck. The point is parking meters would free up about 50 to 70 parks, enough to satisfy transient traffic.

@Bush Tea

The issue of installing parking meters is efficient planning and execution. Same old problem.

11. There is an inherent cost to operating a motor vehicle insurance, maintenance, fuel etc collect the tax money at the gas pump, if you want to screw the govt don’t drive or bye a ten speed.

12. old onion bags Avatar

Roebuck St and outskirt enviros,l?…… I would rather pay $1.00 for an hour in either of the two available car parks (that are closer), if I were on a quick visit to town..than WALK that distance….but there again I am an old man….Point is there are not many parking spots (12) in B’town proper.. to make importing 100 parking meters feasible. the existing car parks and meter maids are adequate.

13. leave it to bush tea to introduce a fee/tax that he would not have to pay .while the other working stiffs would be paying… meanwhile he sit on his ole backside and enjoy the benefits

14. @Onions

With some thought we could free up about 100 parks in the citizen. This would go a long way to encourage activity.

15. old onion bags Avatar

.David March 7, 2015 at 11:13 AM #
    @Onions

With some thought we could free up about 100 parks in the city. This would go a long way to encourage activity

WHY re-invent the wheel?…….there is no parking shortage in the city, Carparks see to this……very seldom nowadays do you see illegal parking and when you do, the parking maids are quix to lodge a $50 fine on their windows. What I would like to see is repaired sidewalks and fines for littering. Such monies could be gathered thru Govt Tour guides and allowing Hotdog and skebab mobile carts to operate on certain streets of Bridgetown. Town needs some more innovative activities that a special branch of artists could assist with … the min of culture needs to look at an incentive program to liven up D place. The money spent on the meter idea could be of better use…There is so much potential in B’town wid its unique side walks n stores…..

16. Parking in Bridgetown, or the lack of it, brings us back to the age old proposal of Park and Ride. We have been for years talking about building secure car parks outside of Bridgetown proper, along the main arteries leading into Bridgetown. There are some supermarkets and businesses , just outside of Bridgetown, whose car parks always seem to be choc-a-block with cars, and when you enter these establishments, the amount of customers seen do not tally with the huge number of parked cars. I suspect that some motorists are using these locations, to park and ride in and out of Bridgetown.

Bushie is quite right, the parking spaces in Bridgetown, dominated mainly by Bridgetown workers, has forced potential shoppers to other locations,where parking is not such of a headache.  A catch 22 situation.

17. @Onions et al

We can quibble about the what but we all agree we have to take more innovative decisions as it affects Bridgetown.

18. o.k.s how does that fee impact on tourist spending.i for one would baulk at having to come to a highprice destination then having to pay a metered fee to park on top of all that have to fork out big dollar to support business in bridgetown

19. David

The fuel adjustment increase for March would suggest that the price at the pump should be going up as well…..interesting

20. @Vincent

An expectation from any government overseeing a democracy is openness and transparency. Do we have it?

21. David March 7, 2015 at 1:06 PM #

I wonder what can be done……note,we have passed the tipping point long ago…..no one is hearing……ah well

22. @Vincent

The are hearing but they are not doing. Remember early in the DLP’s first term Sir Frank, mysteriously quiet of late, warned the government to address the structural issues in the economy that OAS has ignored during the boom? What have we done since his advice?

On 7 March 2015 at 17:19, Barbados Underground wrote:

23. Colonel Buggy Avatar

I had this dream where Stuart and Ronald Jones rounded up all Barbadians, and corralled them under guard,at that plantation yard in Christ Church, where the Flower Show is normally kept.
    When asked why he had done such a thing , he replied. ” I’ve got the buggers by the Balls”

24. DR. THE HONOURABLE Avatar
    DR. THE HONOURABLE

There is no openness or transparency with Freundel Stuart . Stuart has a colonial mentality. His mutterings have clearly shown this to be true.His triumphing of the political class has gone untouched by the social commentators . It is a bad sign but a significant indicator. Barbados will not move forward with the incompetent group who now hold the reigns of Government.

Puzzle to me-

every Prime Minister before now was a married man.

25. DR. THE HONOURABLE Avatar
    DR. THE HONOURABLE

Over eager Traffic Wardens are running people from Bridgetown
    Who wants to shop in Bridgetown with these overexuberant ‘mostly if not all female Traffic Warden going overboard in their zest. Females in various roles always tend to be’difficult’ to deal with. From receptionists , with poor telephone habits to ‘girl’ in the Supermarket who check your groceries , make change and utter not a word or offer a friendly disposition and who is more likely to quarrel and argue over frivolous matters or complain about some insignificant occurrence. I find that many female workers too complain about their workload and tend to watch others and compare and come to a decision that they are not working hard for nobody.The ones that freak me out are the ones who clean places. Now their job is to clean but they want to find the place clean because they complain bitterly about the fact that they have to clean. Its strange !

26. @ David
    The issue of installing parking meters is efficient planning and execution.
    Not exactly….. So there IS something you don’t know after all… 🙂
    Perhaps the Colonel or Tudor will enlighten the blog…

@ Onions
    Wait bozie… you very keen on this tax-at-the-pump idea…. you like you gotta damn electric car yuh…
    This “plan” is neither here or there. It will make NO difference to our plight….more grabbing at straws…. but if it makes wunna happy – go for it…
    Imagine a cash strapped Government changing from a FIXED, KNOWN and enforceable charge PER VEHICLE….to a percentage of a discretionary purchase of gasoline.
    ….ya mean it is not OBVIOUS that the day is coming…AND SOON, when only people like Bizzy and Bushie will be able to afford to buy gasoline…?

The REAL joke is that the jkass government will implement the plan and then keep the same arrangement at the Pine – with the staff sitting around all day clipping their nails…

Oh well!! …anything to avoid taking the easy, obvious, simple approach…..

BTW Onions…..
    This spell of high winds and choppy seas must have you in a pickle nuh…?
    LOL…can’t use that excuse about “going fishing” at nights now…
    …ha ha ha …..That fuh yuh!! stay home and blog….
    The sea cat woman free as a bird now boss…

27. Who knows it all BushTea?

28. David March 7, 2015 at 12:15 PM #

“@Onions et al

We can quibble about the what but we all agree we have to take more innovative decisions as it affects Bridgetown.”

The groundwork has already been lain and we had to do nothing.Bridgetown is a UNESCO heritage site.Barbados should follow through to initiate a cultural revolution in town and move away from being primarily for retail.Hotels, bed and breakfasts, theatre, eateries should become the focus where the main through fares like Broad street be closed to vehicular traffic in the long term.The boardwalk can be used for various cultural activities and the walks through the city be on an ongoing basis where National heroes square and the environs getting a spruce up like the Jubilee Gardens.

Problem is we are either too lazy or too shortsighted to see any long term value from cultural activity and hope to milk retailing to its bitter end.

29. david best comment EVER!

30. OOPS my bad the comment was for suckabubby, Yes barbados economy is driven by the tourist industry and your comment goes to very heart and solution of our problems instead of govt having to deep further into the taxpayers pockets

31. old onion bags Avatar

Make some suggestion for them nah Suckabubby cuz I ent too high pun D cultural activity side….if ya talking bout the sea and boatang n ting I strong…so don’t leff wid dat….please tell dem some ideas man

32. suckbubby post in bajan pralance ,rubbing two nickles together to make a dime, not the dimwit crapola that bush tea bring to table that works in international markets where the population is large enough to pay fuh dem fancy mancy meters ,finally ac find something here to agree with.
    why should a country with such a small population have be burden with additional parking fee

if we say that we are a tourist driven economy .then by all means pull out all the stops that would attract tourist and help drive our forex, expecting the ciizens to be always penalized is asking too much.
    furthermore them parking meters would become like the transport board buses always in need of repair cause knowing bajans they going to put any kind of nickle or foreign dime hoping it would work ,which then take us back to square one and having to listen to the innovator of the grand idea bush tea hoot and holler bout “if de dam thing fix they would be no problem.
    But never asking where the money coming from to fix dem broken meters and everyone knows the answer ,the taxpayer

33. How the donkey can someone so ignorant and retarded actually manage to exist…?
    h’ignorance surely knows no bounds…

shiite man… Bushie only hope that AC has been spayed …. cause if there are any more of them …that’s IT for all of us…

34. old onion bags Avatar

Look I ent nah Marcus Dryfus but wanna see that ole EMPIRE…fix it up and let we start shows like Yes massa, Planters great House or Bajan Kouinta Kinta by Mac Fingall….next up we want a tram running thru the city pun a nite fulla planters looking for runnaways and all sorta chaos wid fireworks pun D Boardwalk….to exzaberate d touristes wid reality shows….then we want a schooner coming in wid pirates to plunder D town by nite…..all sorta historical replays mekkin Bridgetown Come Alive by night….wha U tink?

35. Bushie wrote, “This spell of high winds and choppy seas must have you in a pickle nuh…?
    LOL…can’t use that excuse about “going fishing” at nights now…”

If Old Onions is a real real fisherman he done know that bay snappers does bite when the sea rough so he can drive to a sheltered spot and hook a couple snappers to prove he went fishing.

36. bush yuh lopsided plan only going to dig more hole in the taxpayers pocket yuh hypocrite get up in here and talk bout govt meking people poor but look at yuh want govt to buy parking meter that in the long run the few dollars govt collect going to have to repair lotta dem. guh long do yuh scorpion. bush yuh plan smell like u fishy, ole boar,l
    read suckabubby idea only wish you had dem sense,

37. old onion bags March 7, 2015 at 8:56 PM #

You say you like boating and fishing right?

Every year we have students coming out of the fashion design courses in this country.We have designers going abroad and working with big labels with some bajan models hitting the runways regionally and internationally.When I say cultural we dont have to restrict it to the historical aspect of our culture or mother sallys working up.You can have a merge of events in Bridgetown.You have to incorporate the interests of the youth with the elders.Close warf road so traffic can park in Dacosta Mannings right down to Hincks Street so you can have parking either by bajan helicopters or the BTI carpark.Close Broad street to only where you can have traffic leaving town via City Center car park.In essence you want to close the central part of town but leave the outskirts accessible to parking.You can have some sort of fashion event on the Board Walk ( I am not into fashion btw) and have the boating fraternity maybe at the ending of a regatta in the Careenage onlooking with a party atmosphere and the historical people are free to tour the inner city and places like Heroes Sq. hassle free.

This is a rough sketch of what I have in mind.I am sure others who are more qualified will be able to suggest better.I am by no means an expert in these matters.

38. Lets hope that any lain plans to culturally revolutionise Bridgetown as a tourist friendly thoroughfare, include adequate #1 and #2 facillities, which are surely lacking ,since the atrociously maintained ones we had in the city were demolished,prompting taxi drivers and other to improvise in what are supposed to be quaint and historic alleys. One of these alleys has even been appropriately renamed.
    But the lack of such facilities may well be part of the Bridgetown plan, sanctioned by the Prime Minister, according to his Electrifying -water toilet- wall house views .

39. SuckaBubby March 7, 2015 at 10:39 PM #
    Sometimes I wonder when our leaders and gurus traveling abroad, if they ever stop to take a look at the workings of some of the cities which they visit.
    Your suggestion reminds me of Stockholm’s Gamla Stan

40. old onion bags Avatar

Wait …did I hear right that gasoline gone UP by one CENT .. 1c per litre…? So how comesssss? Did the price of Crude rise on the international market?…

Conv.per gallon ….3.745 x 1 = approx 4 cents increase….but WHY?

41. old onion bags Avatar

THERE HAS BEEN NO INCREASE in crude oil prices…….see for nuh self.

http://www.oil-price.net/dashboard.php?lang=en

42. old onion bags Avatar

So much for ALL that ole talk…….bout our gasoline prices being reflective of increases of Crude on the ISE…..

43. @Old Onions Bag

We can’t critique the formula for pricing at the pump unless we know what it is. What we can agree is a one cent increase is not worth the PR for government. Then PR is not a strong point of the government.

On Monday, 9 March 2015, Barbados Underground wrote:

44. old onion bags Avatar

Not so fast David……it may ONLY look like a CENT…..but let’s do D maths….

1 cent increase is 4 cents on each GALLON.

Assuming Barbadians use DAILY [ 115,000 cars x 2 gallons aver.) =330,000 gallons per day. That works out at 4 CENTS to about $13,000 extra per day…..x 30 days….$1,000,000 extra each month. What about the Vat now and cess surcharge levied on that extra 330,000?

Hard part is Taxpayers disposable income being reduced EVEN MORE!

45. old onion bags Avatar

Corr …that should read 115,000 x 2 = 230,000 Gal x $0.04 = $9,200 per day

= $64,400 per week x 4= $257,600 monthly x12 = $3,091,200 additional tax

revenue YEARLY all from ONE CENT increase….

46. old onion bags Avatar

230,000 gals per day x 265 = 60,950,000 Gals consumed per yr.

60,950,000 x 1.23 cent increase per gallon or 33 cents increase per litre = $75mil target for Road Tax approximated.

47. IMLO Collecting tax at the pump helps the temporary cash flow of the Gas company who MAY not remit taxes in a timely manner.

Collecting taxes on Vehicles is better than the pump and easier to manage.

48. millertheanunnaki Avatar

Not so Hants.
    In your uninformed opinion the tax should be levied not at the pump but at the point of storage and distribution and included in the invoice to the distributors who would then pass through the levies to the retailers and then onto the final consumers for collection. Just like the Excise tax. Ergo the collection of road tax!

49. Thanks for your expert opinion Miller.

That is why I began with ( IMLO with the L for Layman’s ).

50. old onion bags Avatar

Up to now we have no idea why gasoline went up 4 cents a gallon…..what is the rationale? …..just more evidence of Barum Bailey clown-hoods at the helm I guess. Well I’ll be darned…..