Submitted by Anthony Davis

As discussion continues about the massive search for missing woman Karen Harris last weekend, a watchman at Buttals Plantation in St. George is reporting he was harassed by three members of the search partyBarbados Today

This case is unprecedented in the annals of search and rescue in Barbados!

It is obvious that in such a case one will find the George Zimmermans who think that Blacks are there for a blood sport where they have the dogs and, like during Dr. Martin Luther King Jr’s campaigns, they could loose them at people whenever they want. If my memory serves me correctly, we are in the twenty-first Century – and not the seventeenth, eighteenth or nineteenth. Yet we have three Caucasian males treating Mr. Sam as if we were still in one of the latter three, and he was a runaway slave whose Human Rights they could contravene with impunity.

It does not fall under their purview to interrogate anyone in this country. They were part of one of the biggest manhunts in Barbadian history which was searching for a missing Caucasian female. Perhaps the three really thought that they were part of a massa day hunt when they found Mr. Sam, a watchman, carrying out his nightly duties at Buttals Plantation, and wanted to take him back to the one he had run away from.

This smacks of racism, and must be vehemently rejected.

This episode will put Barbados and its population in the limelight for all of the wrong reasons, and this Government – and especially the Minister of Tourism, Richard Sealy, should start doing some damage control by denouncing what went on at Buttals in the strongest terms if not Barbados will find itself on the list of countries which condone Human Rights violations, and as fast as tourism has picked up, it will plummet.

I would like to hear ASP Welch’s views on this manhunt by those three vigilantes who violated Mr. Sam’s rights as laid down in the Constitution of Barbados which give those who reside here – or even visit us – the right to go about their business without let or hindrance – unless they are known to the police. Does anyone know what the consequences of this unprovoked and dastardly attack on this man who was only carrying out his duties – alone – at that plantation will be?

What nightmares could he have?

He says that he will continue working there, but who knows what will happen with him later on.

Who will pay the doctors if he has to go for therapy?

Most importantly though is: Will these three slave hunters be brought to justice?

Mr. Sam’s Human Rights were violated in several ways:

1. He was hunted down with a vehicle
  2. He was interrogated by the three Caucasians
  3. He was coerced into giving up his boss’ phone number
  4. There was mental abuse also.

I am of the opinion that if Mr. Sam had not stopped running they would have run him over, and the RBPF would have another case on its hands. I hope that the search for them will be just as elaborate and extensive, and they will be soon found!

354 responses to “Vigilantes Caucasian Style”

1. @Borola March 5, 2015 at 4:30 PM “I cannot believe the bitter hatred I have been reading in these comments — name calling (Whitey etc)”

The only person who uses the epithet whitey is moneybrain who is white.

2. Ok, so white people somehow got black police and black defense force personnel to search for a white woman. If they did not want to do it they didn’t have to. Why is it that black people cant get the police and defense force to search for their loved ones? The citizens of Barbados searched for Karen because they either knew her or her kids or her husband or were business associates or friends. NO ONE was forced to search for her. They all did it out of the kindness of their hearts.
    Indeed Barbados has a HUGE race issue, no kidding. I have been hearing about it for all 50 years of my life. It will never change. The Reverend Gerry Seale has even apologized for the white man’s ancestors who bought and sold black people and that seemed to have had no effect. I would love to know what black people want from the white bajans. Educate me.

3. Double D March 6, 2015 at 3:21 AM #: “… I would love to know what black people want from the white bajans. Educate me.”

I think that you have it wrong – it is what black people want from other black people. Black bajans have also failed to learn and adopt those practices of white bajans that have made them more successful than black bajans in Barbados.

4. The discussion on this topic continues to miss the mark. The reaction by Bajans to the Karen Harris issue shows we have a race problem. It is the reaction rather than the issue itself.

5. David March 6, 2015 at 5:52 AM #: “…shows we have a race problem…”

We do not have a race problem. We have a black problem.
    – Black bajans are unhappy associating with themselves.
    – White bajans are happy associating with themselves.
    – Black bajans want to associate with white bajans.
    – White bajans do not want to associate with black bajans.

QED.

6. @ David,
    Your assessment is spot on! We have had consecutive governments dating back to the “lackey” Errol Barrow who have failed the people.

It makes no sense to wait on this government or the next government to tackle the issue of race in Barbados. We should concentrate our energies on seeking outside help to assist us and to highlight the harsh social conditions and the issue of race which is a constant throughout the Caribbean.

Here are some names who we should seek to assist us in our cause: The Reverend Al Sharpton, George Galloway (UK MP) – a ferocious Scottish orator and a champion of the masses irrespective of their religion and race, the legendary Desmond Tutu and Gerry Adams the leader of Sinn Fein (ex-affiliate of the IRA – a political organisation who opposed British rule in Northern Ireland).

I would feel more confident with these big hitters on our side than our weak, limp wristed Afro-Bajan politicians and our morally bankrupt political parties.

7. @Exclaimer

The the unwillingness of Black governments to implement a single recommendation from the race commission report tells a story AND the silence of civil society.

On 6 March 2015 at 10:44, Barbados Underground wrote:

8. Al Sharpton……yeah he will bring credibility to your cause

9. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Borola March 5, 2015 at 10:53 PM #
    “No, I am not worried about tourists, other than right now they are the main source or revenue/foreign-exchange in this country. However that doesn’t mean we have to pretend there are not issues. Of course they are. Let’s deal with them and not slide back into grousing of the past wrongs. What can be done? I really don’t know at this point and frankly, I am a little tired and am going to bed and hope to wake up to an ever so slightly, marginally better world tomorrow. Everything takes time. Some things, lots of time. I will do my best. I hope we all will try to do the same too. Blessings. B”

So why not start with an acceptance of the TRUTH? Why not follow South Africa and to some extent Australia and set up a Truth & Reconciliation Commission?
    This Commission would allow for the following:

The remnants of white Bajan society can come and confess their sins of exploitation and violence and ask blacks to forgive them on behalf of their ancestors.

These same remnants of past sinners can show their contriteness by asking their god in public to forgive them for the deliberate decimation of the indigenous population and the stealing of their lands.

Blacks can also come to the podium of Truth and confess that they have been living a lie for the past 150 years or so fooling themselves into believing that by adopting British family names they are the direct descendants and ‘blackened’ fruits of the Scots, Irish Welsh and English family trees.

But most of all you will have to demand a confession out of the whites as to why they do not attend the churches nearest them that are regularly attended by brainwashed blacks.
    The white Bajans must accept that they are in dire need of salvation from the sins and vices of their material world and seek solace among their “Christian” black brothers and sisters living on the “tenantry” land whether in rural St. John or on the rab land forming the Heights and Terraces of St. Michael, Ch Ch or St. James mostly owned by the foreign banks and mortgage houses.

Unless white Bajans really know that this whole forgiving loving white Jesus project is just one big hoax designed to enslave the minds of stupid people as a means to rob them of their land and resources and to keep them in their places with the white man in his castle and the poor black at the gate looking in wishing to be there as the chief cook, cleaner and gardener in that Castle in the sky called Heaven.

But you can live in hope the same way Rev. Seale lives in hope waiting on his white god for forgiveness to allow him to enter the pearly white gates.

10. From a FB page

For anyone who truly knows me can testify that I carry no prejudices especially where it comes to race,colour or creed.
    When I think of this past weekends events to find a missing lady I felt a sense of pride and hopefulness to see so many come together in their efforts to find Karen. However, just a few minutes ago I went to the gas station off of Worthing main road to indulge in a Bulldog. Though not great for my diet I gave into temptation. When I entered the mini mart a gentleman who I could clearly see was homeless , although clean and I could also identify that he had some mental issues was standing quietly by the cashier. He had placed just over a dollar and change on the counter to purchase some tea. He was quite obviously known to the attendants as they called him by his name. Patrick looked at me and asked if I would purchase him a hot dog. My children having witnessed this time and time again, of course I did. However a few seconds later this well dressed man entered and on looking at Patrick he started to accost him by telling him he had no right being in there and that he should leave. Okay red flag goes up but I say nothing,however noticing the look on the attendants faces and Patrick said nothing in response. As I was collecting my bulldog the same man then proceeded to tell Patrick that he would really like to stab him in his guts. Well that’s when I could no longer contain myself so I asked him what in the world did Patrick do to warrant such disgusting remarks to which he responded that ” all you are is a white woman trying to play hero” . I thought about it for a few seconds and on my way I turned back and told him ” I would rather be a white woman playing hero than a black man being a ****. For all those who know me you would read through those stars. Once again why not help instead of abuse,, why criticise instead of looking for solutions, why label instead of reasoning? Thank you for your time Facebook friends and family. Have a truly blessed day.

11. @Caribcnd

You still chatting about White people in Bdos prison as if you have established from the Prison Authorities that there are indeed no such incarcerated. OR did you think since I am white I monitor that on a daily basis?

What % of Bajans are white? One second U are saying that they are looking out for one another, they have money, blah blah—– Would it not occur that there is alot of pressure NOT to bring one’s family into disrepute in such a small community?

you wrote
    I, on the other hand, am tired of the racism, killings…..Slavery is over, right…so why won’t white people stop killing and harassing us? If they stop, we’ll stop talking about it…then we can all go move on together. How about that? END

We agree that racism is WRONG! BUT it is NOT one way! Yes there is much work needed to fix problems with the Police, the Ferguson Stats did not appear fair.This should be a priority. Much has to be done about Fairness in the Justice System in the US.

However, an even more critical factor in the black community is that MANY MANY more black peeps DIE at the hands of Black people than Whites or Police OR all reasons combined and multiplied. What is being conducted to FIX that? What are the numbers in the US for Police being murdered by Black people versus Police killing Black people? Mike was shot in Ferguson, maybe at the wrong time and situation—-BUT he should have been shot at the Police car when he ATTACKED the Policeman. How many Black people would admit that? Mike was shown to be an aggressive teef and bold enough to attack an armed Policeman in a marked Police car BUT he was just “a lil unarmed Black guy barely out of diapers, correct?

Logic dictates that Sharpton et al should pay serious attention to that BUT it is not top flight Political Mileage is it? It is so common that the TV cameras wont be there!

WE wont go into the inter-racial Stats where Black people MURDER FAR MORE White people in the US than vice versa. BUT that is OK correct because Whites have mistreated Blacks throughout history? 80% of Inter-racial Murders are Black on White! YOU have NOT and would not be showing concern about that, does not fit the script.

Loads of problems to be solved but you cant solve probs that are NOT properly and honestly identified, prioritised and strategies identified to SOLVE the real problems NOT the side tracks that are so very attractive to the Politicians.

How about proper Education? How about Training? How about a more serious approach to Family Life?

12. caribcanadian Avatar

Alien March 6, 2015 at 6:07 AM #
    David March 6, 2015 at 5:52 AM #: “…shows we have a race problem…”

We do not have a race problem. We have a black problem.
    – Black bajans are unhappy associating with themselves.
    – White bajans are happy associating with themselves.
    – Black bajans want to associate with white bajans.
    – White bajans do not want to associate with black bajans.

QED.

++++

Are you out of your mind????? I have met, a couple, two Black Bajans who wanted to associate with the White Bajans….that’s it. Happens all over the world. People will deny themselves and want to hang with the people who have it easier in life.

Black Bajans, as any person, want to be treated with equality just like any other human being on this earth.

13. caribcanadian Avatar

Ok, so white people somehow got black police and black defense force personnel to search for a white woman. If they did not want to do it they didn’t have to. Why is it that black people cant get the police and defense force to search for their loved ones? The citizens of Barbados searched for Karen because they either knew her or her kids or her husband or were business associates or friends. NO ONE was forced to search for her. They all did it out of the kindness of their hearts.
    Indeed Barbados has a HUGE race issue, no kidding. I have been hearing about it for all 50 years of my life. It will never change. The Reverend Gerry Seale has even apologized for the white man’s ancestors who bought and sold black people and that seemed to have had no effect. I would love to know what black people want from the white bajans. Educate me.

++++

How about if white bajans stop discriminating and treating black bajans like imbeciles…like lesser beings…There’s a start.

How about they go into their community and eradicate the prejudice and bigotry that gets acted out in discriminatory behaviours. That would be a start to turning things around. Acknowledge their privilege and then change the system.

How about everywhere in the world where people are discriminated, the above is applied. Maybe…just maybe…then we could be ALL treated as HUMAN BEINGS, which we are.

14. caribcanadian Avatar

lawson March 6, 2015 at 7:40 AM #
    Al Sharpton……yeah he will bring credibility to your cause

+++

I was about to say the same. The USA can keep Al Sharpton…he is of no help to anybody…Charlatan that he is.

15. David March 6, 2015 at 6:45 AM #

@Exclaimer

The the unwillingness of Black governments to implement a single recommendation from the race commission report tells a story AND the silence of civil society.

There is no race problem here, it is an entirely societal problem. As Plastic Bag once sung prophetically … the Country Sick!!

The Truth and Reconciliation Commission report was a waste of time.

I went to all the hearings and the in hindsight the only contributor I found who made any sense was Julian Hunte at the Steel Shed.

The 35 or so people who are listed as missing in the Nation’s archives are only some of those who are missing.

That list was published back in 2000. since then, 15 years have elapsed.

The remains we found in the Gully in 2011 appear to be of a person who was never reported as missing as the Police were unable to match the information from the Forensic Pathologist report to their missing person’s list as well.

He must have fallen out of the sky.

The Nation should go back to its records and let the public know just how many persons are missing in Barbados as of now. In 2000, it published an article stating that there were 35 persons missing and listing their names.

The list as of 2000 is as follows:

Peter Alleyne, Myles Baptiste, Nathaniel Bailey, Seiford Belgrave, Timothy Brewster, Frederick Campbell, Roland Cezont, Carnon Clarke, Harold Clarke, Jerry Corbin, Juliet Dowridge, Theophilus Edwards, Fernando Graham, Lisle Greenidge, Wayne Griffith, Heinz Habsel, Junior Harris, Lennox Harris, Seibert Holder, Henderson Hood, Andrew Howell, Alfred Jordan, Cecil Mayers, Preston Morris, Anthony Mounter, Grafton Reeves, Orville Richards, Matthew Springer, Kurt Weckl, Matthew Wharton and Ian Wiltshire.

In the past the QEH authorities have repeatedly begged the public not to abandon their seniors at the QEH. If a family cares so little about their senior members is it surprising to discover that there are missing persons in Barbados who have never been reported as missing?

Keep skin colour out of what appears to be a real mess …. let us try and address the societal issue with facts and not waste time sitting down to discuss race.

We have a problem, let us at least try to act maturely and solve it.

16. Alien
    – “White bajans do not want to associate with black bajans.”

In some cases true BUT as a general statement it goes too far.

In recent years I have been to family Xmas parties/ lunchings in Bdos where black people are invited and attend. Probably would not have happened 25 years+ back though.

Question— how many Black Bajans pun here even have attempted OR actually have White friends??? It is not a one way street.

17. There has always been an affinity between the plantation owner( or his manager,sometimes called attorney,) and the police station sergeant and a similar relationship between the said plantation and the Anglican priest.
    These parties have always looked out for the other.Free provisioning in exchange for protection in things temporal and spiritual.
    The police continue this affinity hence the turn out of the “forces”,and the name Harvey-Read seem to indicate that the ole Canon is alive and kicking ass,and in true tradition of perceived power,issuing threats to ‘cah yuh name to de boss and. get yuh ass fired”
    We only needed the Boy Scouts and the Church Lads Brigade to be called out to look for the Madam.Barbados is so full of mirth.What we should be doing is curbing the omnipotent power of the likes of Freundel Stuart.Such a model of Government is asinine in the extreme and we continue to accept the Westminster Model,hook,line and sinker and fretting about a woman temporarily astray instead of a madass,irresponsible fool called a Prime Minister who allows his cabinet and Speaker to break the Laws of Barbados and think we are all fools to accept his insipid,stupid,blind,irresponsible,incredibly foolish pronouncements,every time he speaks.

18. Dribble Dribble Dribble.

Like Reverend Gerry Seale has opined, and he sat on the Reconciliation Commission we need to discuss by first accepting we have a problem between the races. We are tolerant of each other BUT the below the service racism and classism exist.

Deal with it!

19. Money Brain March 6, 2015 at 9:28 AM #
    @Caribcnd

You still chatting about White people in Bdos prison as if you have established from the Prison Authorities that there are indeed no such incarcerated. OR did you think since I am white I monitor that on a daily basis?

+++++

If you look back at the comments, I believe you commented that you did not think there were any white bajans in prison in Barbados…I was commenting on your comment…get it straight please.

What % of Bajans are white? One second U are saying that they are looking out for one another, they have money, blah blah—– Would it not occur that there is alot of pressure NOT to bring one’s family into disrepute in such a small community?

+++=

You are seriously confused……because you don’t want to bring the issue up in your families…as you are afraid of consequences…perhaps being ostracized…changes nothing… Some times one has to go against the grain for progress to occur. Been there done that myself…It’s not that scary…you should try it.

you wrote
    I, on the other hand, am tired of the racism, killings…..Slavery is over, right…so why won’t white people stop killing and harassing us? If they stop, we’ll stop talking about it…then we can all go move on together. How about that? END

We agree that racism is WRONG! BUT it is NOT one way! Yes there is much work needed to fix problems with the Police, the Ferguson Stats did not appear fair.This should be a priority. Much has to be done about Fairness in the Justice System in the US.

++++

Now that the report is out everyone agrees there is a problem…Who knew? Well we knew…we have the bodies going back decades to corroborate said feelings. We’ve been screaming for decades about the issue. Nothing new here but now that a REPORT is out…Oh boy…every one is shocked. PUH LEASE….

However, an even more critical factor in the black community is that MANY MANY more black peeps DIE at the hands of Black people than Whites or Police OR all reasons combined and multiplied.

++++

Not true. See the stats from FBI site. Here I’ll post it for you so everyone can stop spreading that lie.

http://www.fbi.gov/about-us/cjis/ucr/crime-in-the-u.s/2012/crime-in-the-u.s.-2012/offenses-known-to-law-enforcement/expanded-homicide/expanded_homicide_data_table_6_murder_race_and_sex_of_vicitm_by_race_and_sex_of_offender_2012.xls

What is being conducted to FIX that? What are the numbers in the US for Police being murdered by Black people versus Police killing Black people?
    ++++=

Actually no stats are kept on police killings….

Mike was shot in Ferguson, maybe at the wrong time and situation—-BUT he should have been shot at the Police car when he ATTACKED the Policeman. How many Black people would admit that? Mike was shown to be an aggressive teef and bold enough to attack an armed Policeman in a marked Police car BUT he was just “a lil unarmed Black guy barely out of diapers, correct?

+++++

Keep the lies coming….there were enough people who saw different but their testimony was discounted because it does not fit the narrative. You should really do some unbiased research.

Logic dictates that Sharpton et al should pay serious attention to that BUT it is not top flight Political Mileage is it? It is so common that the TV cameras wont be there!

+++++

Yeah…not a fan of Al Sharpton. I agree with your assessment of that person.

WE wont go into the inter-racial Stats where Black people MURDER FAR MORE White people in the US than vice versa. BUT that is OK correct because Whites have mistreated Blacks throughout history? 80% of Inter-racial Murders are Black on White! YOU have NOT and would not be showing concern about that, does not fit the script.

+++++

See above link to FBI stats re crimes by race.

Loads of problems to be solved but you cant solve probs that are NOT properly and honestly identified, prioritised and strategies identified to SOLVE the real problems NOT the side tracks that are so very attractive to the Politicians.

++++

Totally agree that one can’t change what one does not acknowledge. You should take that and apply it to yourself.

How about proper Education? How about Training? How about a more serious approach to Family Life?

++++

Anything that helps to eradicate the sickness…is welcome.

20. Money Brain March 6, 2015 at 9:47 AM #
    Alien
    – “White bajans do not want to associate with black bajans.”

In some cases true BUT as a general statement it goes too far.

In recent years I have been to family Xmas parties/ lunchings in Bdos where black people are invited and attend. Probably would not have happened 25 years+ back though.

Question— how many Black Bajans pun here even have attempted OR actually have White friends??? It is not a one way street.

++++

Me. I do.

21. @David

Humans love division and fragmentation by any factor—race, class, creed–when I was at school you were given the impression that only black people could play Cricket then Australia would play WI and cut their arse. All humans love to DELUDE themselves that they are BETTER than other groups. Bajans are mostly convinced they are better than Trinis and vice versa.

This problem seems to be in EVERY HUMANS DNA at some level, few have the maturity and commonsense to stop and think this through. Remember that for 99%+ of human history people of the same race lived in a village and did not interact with others eg every lil place in Italy was different, the Northerners and Southerners still hate each other!

HUMANS are messed up!

22. Carib cnd

“You are seriously confused……because you don’t want to bring the issue up in your families…as you are afraid of consequences…perhaps being ostracized…changes nothing… Some times one has to go against the grain for progress to occur. Been there done that myself…It’s not that scary…you should try it.”END

What are you on about?

23. MoneyBrain March 6, 2015 at 10:17 AM #
    Carib cnd

“You are seriously confused……because you don’t want to bring the issue up in your families…as you are afraid of consequences…perhaps being ostracized…changes nothing… Some times one has to go against the grain for progress to occur. Been there done that myself…It’s not that scary…you should try it.”END

What are you on about?

++++

I am on about your comment below:

“…. Would it not occur that there is alot of pressure NOT to bring one’s family into disrepute in such a small community?

24. @Moneybrain

We have to reach consensus on a common point of agreement to build a winning position to support improving race relations.

25. @Caribcnd

Thanks for the FBI Stats. Those Stats DO NOT SUPPORT your conclusion!

431 Black on White murders BUT there are at least 3.5 Times more Whites than Blacks so NOT only do the raw numbers show TWICE as much murdering by Blacks you must adjust to the relative population proportions so the correct impression is

2.23 x 3.5= 7.8 ie 7.8 Times more likely that an inter-racial murder will be Black on White!
    Put another way, to be equal there should only have been 55 Whites murdered by Blacks.

26. @ David March 6, 2015 at 5:52 …The discussion on this topic continues to miss the mark. The reaction by Bajans to the Karen Harris issue shows we have a race problem. It is the reaction rather than the issue itself.===========

David, at times your comments very precisely summarize the matter at hand; as it does here.

And yes of course we know that we have a race problem.

But what was interesting to me from this case was to see how really stark and naked the perspectives of problem remain to this day in the hearts and minds of so many black and whites.

Those perspectives of (most of) the two groups are as different as night and day.

Can we ever truly overcome to a position of true affinity towards each other!

Things have come a long way from the all white Wanderers or Pickwick clubs; or circa mid 1980’s when a doorman at the Carlisle Night Club told a black hotel executive he can’t enter because of the color of his skin.

We are a long way from there..or are we.

Are matters just receded to the background and incidents like this give us a fresh glimpse into the heart of the monster?

27. @Carib

I spent much of my adolescence arguing with my mother on race and defying her with regards my black friends, going into the village etc

28. @DeeWord

The word the technocrats use is ‘crypto’.

29. MoneyBrain March 6, 2015 at 10:42 AM #
    @Caribcnd

Thanks for the FBI Stats. Those Stats DO NOT SUPPORT your conclusion!

431 Black on White murders BUT there are at least 3.5 Times more Whites than Blacks so NOT only do the raw numbers show TWICE as much murdering by Blacks you must adjust to the relative population proportions so the correct impression is

2.23 x 3.5= 7.8 ie 7.8 Times more likely that an inter-racial murder will be Black on White!
    Put another way, to be equal there should only have been 55 Whites murdered by Blacks.

+++

Money Brain…really!!! really!!!! You are going to twist things to make them work. See this is exactly what we Black people speak to…It’s in your face but you are going to do all kinds of calculations to make it work for you.

You said that Black people kill whites more than anyone…The stats show that whites kill whites more than black people kill whites…I mean the table shows that clearly…

I have not taken the numbers…extrapolated etc….move them up and down…and around and around…to make a point. I just took the data at face value.

30. MoneyBrain March 6, 2015 at 10:46 AM #
    @Carib

I spent much of my adolescence arguing with my mother on race and defying her with regards my black friends, going into the village etc

+++

Good. The only way to break down barriers sometimes is to just push, jump or go around them. Other times, one must ignore barriers and just do the right thing to produce a better world for EVERYONE.

31. Carib
    So you are saying that Black people have a right with 75 % less people than White (in the USA) to MURDER TWICE as many Whites and that shows a Statistically correct view? No need to further adjust for Statistical reality of relative population size?

TWIST??????????? Forgive me for trusting you had knowledge of interpreting Stats fairly and intelligently–my mistake for expecting too much from you!

JOHN

John, you are even more versed in Stats than I, please comment if you think that I am wrong here. I trust your knowledge.(Carib, John is a black gent who is very well educated)

32. MoneyBrain March 6, 2015 at 11:17 AM #
    Carib
    So you are saying that Black people have a right with 75 % less people than White (in the USA) to MURDER TWICE as many Whites and that shows a Statistically correct view? No need to further adjust for Statistical reality of relative population size?

TWIST??????????? Forgive me for trusting you had knowledge of interpreting Stats fairly and intelligently–my mistake for expecting too much from you!

JOHN

John, you are even more versed in Stats than I, please comment if you think that I am wrong here. I trust your knowledge.(Carib, John is a black gent who is very well educated)

++++

I am quite intelligent, thank you very much. You can lose the insults. Have had the pleasure of taking a number of stat course. The data does not represent a sample. The data is based on actual crimes in the US population. It clearly…very clearly…shows that whites kill whites more than black people kill white people.

33. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ John

“The list as of 2000 is as follows……”

First of all I wish to thank you for that list that starts at “Peter Alleyne and ends with Ian Wiltshire”

To have found your list, 15 years later, from whatever archive, is commendable.

It makes me hopeful that, at least, one concerned citizen still remembers those of our missing persons, whom our “country’s finest – the RBPF” and the Barbados Defense Force, the drones of our concerned citizens, and the dune buggyies of our elite, people and citizen otherwise forgotten.

I believe that each missing person MAY have had a family where someone(s) would still feel a pang of loss and sorry, unsure of the state and fate of a son, father, sister, brother.

I actually went searching to see what digital record existed for Barbados’ Missing Persons and was led to our CrimeStoppers site.

Now the first thing that the ole man must say John is that when it comes to websites and things I ent know nothing about site SEO nuffin, all that the ole man does go by is (a) can de ole eyes see de letters (ii) is de colours too hard pun me eyes and (iii) can I move bout de site easy.

Readability, colours and easy clicking.

We cant got a real real police force doah causing dem 20 missing persons ent nowhere to be seen.

I ent even going comment bout de one’s dat the police looking for. You mean in dis here day and age where you gots software that does colourise simple tings dat my granchilrun does draw dat the Royal Bulbados Police Force putting black and which drawings pun a site and lefffing it to de discretion of the reader to imabine a man complexion with statements like “of a brown complexion??”

But de ole man rambling as usual.

With whatsapp, facebook and all the rest of website examples and templates out there for Crimestoppers International, you mean that we cant jes tief one, (imagine tiefing a site from someplace to halp in solving crime) sorto-of on par with stealing the Gideon’s Bible from a hotel room to seek GOD right, and mek we remembrance of the missing seem like if we really give a shvte or doan really care causing dem ent Harrises…..

34. Colonel Buggy Avatar

And then there was the St George Plantation owner,a while back, who suspected one of his employees to be selling off his animal feed behind his back. So he laid in wait with a shot gun at his side in the night ,and when the deal was going down he shot DEAD his unarmed ,unresisting employee. End of story.
    Why inform the Police Force of your suspicions, when you are able to handle the job yourself ,thank you ? Talk about premeditated MURDER, and getting away with MURDER. Only in Barbados.
    These, and many more such incidents have been allowed to be swept under the carpet, by our cap-in-hand people in authority.

35. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Buggy, Buggy, Buggy,

You mek me shame….

After all, you is an army man and you know that desertion, in the face of the enemy is a crime punishable by death by firing squad.

Any man/woman who I catch in my chattel house, I ent got no plantation, by night, ent coming to convert me to Seventh Day Adventist faith, one uh we gine die and since it ent gine be me, it gine be you who gine die.

Dere is consequences

Some day Colonel a man does feel real expansive and want to hug everybody and call every man brother and sister, not Sister Headley hugs, you unnerstand, no rubbing of frontal parts suggestively, but hugs celebrating being part of humanity, sort of thing.

Then Whaplax, a Pilly ting does happen, and a man does have one of them ephiphanies, when an unstoppable force encounters an immovable object sort of thing, when you plant several rod of cassava and all you reaping, after wuking de land, is dirt and something say “Dis shvt gine stop heah”

You is a military man, you would know how you only gots to mek an example out of an irrascible jarhead, a grunt, a fugasi so that the rest of the platoon, goes straight.

I can bet you nobody else ent gont to that fellow place to tief ground provisions like them ent went to that black fellow place that own the Great Escape in Belleville to tief limes…

A time to sow a time to reap, a time to be born a time to die, a time to build up and a time to break down…and i am sure that a time to kill is in there somewhere…I got to ask de madam

36. @ Carib

That was never my point.

We are talking INTER- racial murders here. Which race should be more scared of the other race? The whole argument is how racial Whitey is in the US (certainly many whites are racial) Black people dont have any Racists among them who hate White people?

you wrote
    “The data is based on actual crimes in the US population. It clearly…very clearly…shows that whites kill whites more than black people kill white people.” END

Any race kills more of its own people in day to day life, that is OBVIOUS—they have more access/ interaction , beefs etc

Regarding your intelligence I was giving you the benefit of the doubt Now that you clearly stated that you are plenty clever should I assume you are being purposely misleading, evasive etc?

ACTUAL Stats are more reliable once the numbers are absolutely high enough.

37. @Alien March 6, 2015 at 6:07 AM “– Black bajans want to associate with white bajans.”

Actually a lot of black people do NOT want to associate with white people but most of them including me are too polite to tell you why.

38. @Simple

Tell me nuh!

Telling the truth is good for your health.

39. caribcanadian Avatar

MoneyBrain March 6, 2015 at 2:29 PM #
    @ Carib

That was never my point.

We are talking INTER- racial murders here. Which race should be more scared of the other race? The whole argument is how racial Whitey is in the US (certainly many whites are racial) Black people dont have any Racists among them who hate White people?

you wrote
    “The data is based on actual crimes in the US population. It clearly…very clearly…shows that whites kill whites more than black people kill white people.” END

Any race kills more of its own people in day to day life, that is OBVIOUS—they have more access/ interaction , beefs etc

Regarding your intelligence I was giving you the benefit of the doubt Now that you clearly stated that you are plenty clever should I assume you are being purposely misleading, evasive etc?

ACTUAL Stats are more reliable once the numbers are absolutely high enough.

+++++

I am not being evasive. Just taking the number as they were published for the public to reference. Twist it any way you want. Really.

You are not happy with the data. It points to whites killing whites in greater numbers than blacks killing whites but that is not enough for you….You will give any reason to discount the numbers….Typical. Not the first time I’ve experience this type of behaviour and I am pretty sure it won’t be the last. Carry on………

40. Buggy…… someone killed stealing fodder…not another moo-done -it

41. @Money B, you made some very interesting remarks (10:46 and other) re your trials with your mother re hanging out with friends in the village and too how your family gatherings have changed from 25 years ago.

With that in mind, I wanted to throw a few questions at you.

Did you ever have a discussion on race in Barbados with your mum as you grew up into teenage-hood? What was some key perspectives of white Barbados?

As you entered HC and was exposed to more non-white friends and questioned your mum’s classism or racism what were the reasons she gave to try to stop you from making those visits to the village?

I presume that part of your mum’s problem was a class issue as ‘going into the village’ connotes several aspects including, I surmise, that you were not normally associating with these guys and likely too your family had a maid from said village which added to the dynamic.

Just a few queries to get your additional perspective of our yesterdays and today.

42. St George's Dragon Avatar

If the answer to all this is to adopt the recommendations of the Committee for National Reconciliation, can anyone help me by telling me where I can find them?

43. St George’s Dragon March 6, 2015 at 6:13 PM #

If the answer to all this is to adopt the recommendations of the Committee for National Reconciliation, can anyone help me by telling me where I can find them?

File 13

Discard and pelt way by GOB

Clear indication it thought the recommendations were bare boo too!!

A waste of the country’s resources.

Exercise designed to divide and rule, recommendations secondary.

44. @DeeWord

“Did you ever have a discussion on race in Barbados with your mum as you grew up into teenage-hood? What was some key perspectives of white Barbados?”END

My mother was somewhat racial and I tried over many years to convince her that this was wrong and inconsistent with her Christianity.I argued almost daily and indeed she was convinced I would become a Barrister, being a student of HC that was quite likely. Her sisters were far more liberal. Paradoxically we went to a Black Dr who my mother had known since school days.

My interaction with black kids started at the age of 4 as we lived next door to a family headed by a school Principal. We played in between the catwire with our lil Dinky cars. The objection was simple from her perspective,”they are different, inferior not your equal.” I was always convinced that black people just were darker.

I enjoyed playing with my next door neighbours and as I grew taking off to the village with my “used Cricket bat” to play. Where I lived there were no white kids anyway since it was an older hood and the other families kids were full grown and working or in tertiary education.

Yes, class was part of it and also her fear that I might get involved with some female in the village (never ever voiced but I knew that was the basis). At 13-14 that was possible and indeed some of the girls were starting to look interesting. Naturally, my mother was well aware that one of her brothers, father and Uncles had been very active with darker ladies, so it was a perceived risk and rightly so.

At HC the vast majority of friends were not white, which was not the case for many white boys who tended to stick together. It was a difficult time in that Black Power was big then in the US and Independence was a recent, so some Black chaps were full of racial beliefs but certainly I understood why. One chap was an ardent follower of Mal X, he did bare a resemblance in terms of skin colour and brain power and he eventually became my friend but I was probably his only white pal.

In terms of more recent times as a parent in TO my kids were permitted to invite who they wanted from school to Bday parties etc. There were always Black kids invited as well as East Indian and Chinese. Just a couple weeks back my son had a dark Sri Lankan staying over at our home. I did marry out of my race.

Generally speaking there are differences between the races in Bim brought about by history and a sense of insecurity in the White community which is very small and vulnerable. One of the minor reasons I migrated was because no matter how many black friends I had, if society ever became restless I knew I would stick out as a target.

45. at secondary school in Bim in the 80s and 90s I was always mystified that the Caucasoid children always sat together at all breaks and the locale became known as South Africa

46. Colonel@1.45pm Mar06
    My contention is that the plantation is still prevalent in this place Barbados,that this current lot of older Bajans have to pass on before real attitudinal changes begin to replace this nonsense of ‘yes please, no please,yes mistress,no mistress,yes master,no master,and all that crap got to go by the board before you see the desired change.

47. Excellent MB. Solid, honest comments.

It’s necessary to turn these issues inside-out and we all here have to look at how our families handled race matters and how that shaped and continues to shape our thinking.

Blogger John said that it’s a societal problem; not a race problem.

And your description of how your mum and family attended a black doctor yet your mum was concerned that the black neighbor’s kids, of a principal no less, were still not good enough to interact with you may lend some credence to his assertion.

Or to use that old Trini construct: There is no Race Problem; the Problem is Race.

That is to say: Bajan whites really have no issue to associate with blacks when absolutely necessary (eg. med care) but just don’t want to frolic and play with those black folk.

Blacks and whites interact comprehensively in the Bajan work environment but often socialize in completely different circles after-hours. At least that used to be so 10 -15 years ago.

From where I sit, It’s the growing number of mixed race families that will eventually break that barrier completely in little Bim.

Excellent BU original data you provided there, MB.

48. Gabriel March 6, 2015 at 9:38 PM #

Colonel@1.45pm Mar06
    My contention is that the plantation is still prevalent in this place Barbados,that this current lot of older Bajans have to pass on before real attitudinal changes begin to replace this nonsense of ‘yes please, no please,yes mistress,no mistress,yes master,no master,and all that crap got to go by the board before you see the desired change.
    ………………………………………………………………………………..
    Does ‘this current lot of older Bajans” include the relatively younger, mostly university trained Members of our parliament , or as Bizzy so rightly put it, PIGS, who kow tow to every wish and fancy of the same planter class?
    Change sir? do not hold your breath. We have been placed in such an inferior position by our very own, that when we square things up with the Planter class, we then have the Chinese, Trinis, Asians, Middle Easteners and all the other newer colonial masters to deal with. Looks like we will be forever jumping from the frying pan into the wok.

49. A fellow on the block is angry that Barbados has no got an active Race Relations Board, cause if he gets short paid at the Gold Cup tomorrow when be backs a certain horse, he has no one to complain to.