Thanks Jehovah Haiti is on the Rebound
Submitted by the Mahogany Coconut Watchdog Group and Think Tank
Five years after the devastating earthquake, that would have totally destroyed most other Caribbean countries, our Haitian brothers and sisters are slowly, and we are convinced surely, rebuilding their society. As always, the aid promised has not all be forthcoming and the spectre of corrupt practices still looms, but we hasten to add that these maladies are not unique after such destruction and chaos. There will always be those humans and organizations, both private and public, who will exploit human suffering for their own greed and nefarious ambitions.
Not to be overwhelmed by these negatives, we are witnessing the great resilience of the Haitian people as they press ahead with nation rebuilding. Our sources in New York reliably inform us, that some commodities are already reaching the market place with the proud stamp: Made in Haiti. We are also reliably informed that: manufacturing, mining, agriculture and fisheries are getting some assistance and creating new jobs. The telecom company DIGICEL, has poured one billion dollars into the telecom infrastructure. Haitian workers are now producing/making computer tablets at an encouraging pace! The tourism planners are moving swiftly to tap into the 25 million tourists who visit the Caribbean annually.
Many Caribbean people have always viewed Haiti as some backwater poverty infested country living under corrupt politicians as a result of the infamous Duvalier father and son political reign but while we cannot say that all of those images have been completely removed, they seem to be fading into the background of the new Haiti. Haiti once produced half the world’s coffee; it is rich in copper, limestone and gold along with other untapped minerals and metals with a combined worth of 20 billion dollars. Such resources in the Caribbean can only be found in Guyana and to some degree Trinidad because of its oil and natural gas capabilities. In other words, Haiti is potentially, one of the most economically viable countries in the region.
We therefore welcome the latest reports from this great country and once more offer the resilience of its people, as its strongest gift to other Caribbean peoples, who although much better off’ tend to spend more time pursuing mendicancy rather than progressive nation building. We urge business people in the region to consider Haiti as an exciting place for investment.

Pingback: Thanks Jehovah Haiti is on the Rebound
Which Haiti is this? Our continuing reports suggest that political instability is at its highest point in many years. That people are in the streets daily trying to bring down the Martelly dictatorship, his American backed regime. That Martelly is no more than a Clinton, American stooge. We knew from before that he was a loyalist of Duvalier. That the Haitian people have lost all confidence in him and want him removed. That the government of Haiti cannot do a damn thing unless the Americans say so. That the poor are getting poorer by the day.
We can’t say where these people get this feel good foolishness but they should at least read a variety of account in the Haitian or Haitian-American media, especially those from the left. This are highly misleading report. Any cursory investigation will show that this is far from the truth, especially as a general position. We will concede that some people have benefited from American largesse, this happens in the worst of times, but in the main, the Haitian people’s plight is getting significantly worse by the day, not better.
The writer is blantant ignored all the signs from all the environments.
That the Congress of Haiti has no say in the affairs of Haiti.
That Martelly is taking some credit for a few infrastructural projects, roads and schools, done by Preval before him.
That corruption is far worse now, and gasoline prices are 4 US dollars per gallon
That the Jean Claude Duvalierist and former Tonton Macoute, Martelly has succeeded in unifying the political opposition against him.
That a second generation Lavalas now forms a second political current
That a much more radical third political current, a Dessalineist current, has emerged on the left of Lavalas. But all the opposition are working to run Martelly out of town. They are mass demonstration daily!
That Martelly got rid of Parliament and is essentially a dictator, like his mentor, Baby Doc.
We could go on all night this, but this shite is misleading at best, and at worst …………..
LikeLike
These are the reason why, when, anybody comes around Black people talking about god, that person should be shot.
LikeLike
There is a resilience the Haitians have demonstrated through history which suggests when citizens get comfortable with the comforts derived from conspicuous consumption it diminishes.
LikeLike
””Down dear life! Down Martelly!
Thomas Peralte
Share on facebook Share on twitter Share on email Share on print More Sharing Services
Down dear life!
7 February 1986 to 7 February 2015: 29 years later, people still continue to be on the streets
29 years after the fall of the Duvalier dictatorship that also lasted 29 years in power, the people of Haiti is still in the streets to demand the departure of neo-duvaliériste- GNBiste de facto regime headed by Michel Martelly and Evans Paul. The people also demands lower prices of petroleum products on the domestic market. Since the arrival of neo-Duvalier regime Michel Martelly to power, a crisis of governance multiple facets, political, economic and social keeps biting the Haitian social fabric.
This crisis is worsening day by day since it raises popular discontent. Two (2) days of demonstrations, February 5 and 7, with the participation of tens of thousands of people were held, and two (2) days of strikes also eaten on 9 and 10 February. The purpose of these popular protests was clear: the departure of Paul Martelly regime and the fuel price drop. In the most impoverished country, this is where we pay the most expensive oil products. The gallon of gasoline that sells for $ 1.85 in the United States; Dominican Republic, $ 1.90; Venezuela around a dollar and the price continues to fall, while in Haiti, it sells for $ 4.23. In Haiti was paying gallon of gas over $ 2.33 in one of the richest countries.
It is an economic crime that holders of political power are committing against the people of Haiti. It is a certain fact, the decline in prices of petroleum products directly causes the cost of life, protection of the environment. After the two (2) days of strikes on Monday 2 and Tuesday February 3, the Martelly-Paul de facto government does not listen to reason, it keeps prices on the market. We must remember that the reactionary government Martelly-Lamothe emptied the treasury. It’s Martelly himself who said: “The state coffers are empty, since it is not a water bottle. “It is now benefiting from lower fuel prices to bail them out. The population showing the streets said: “Nou pa manje pwa, nou pap bay lapire”. It requires the arrest of former Prime Minister Laurent Lamothe Salvador, which, they say, fled with hundreds of millions of dollars to the United States: money diverted from the Petro-Caribe Fund solidarity of Uruguay, the emergency fund for victims of Hurricane Sandy in 2013 and others.”””””’
http://www.haiti-liberte.com/archives/volume8-31/%C3%80%20bas%20la%20vie%20ch%C3%A8re.asp
DAVID
HAITI LIBERTE IS ONE OF THE SOURCES WE LOOK TO FOR GUIDANCE ON MATTERS HAITI. PLEASE LOOK AT THIS RECENT ARTICLE, 17 FEBRUARY 2015. YOU COULD TRANSLATE TO ENGLISH OR READ IT IN TRENCH OR PATOIS, SOMETIMES.
LikeLike
This article is an injustice to the Haitian people. We have told you before that it may be helpful for you to have a ‘popular editorial committee’ to help BU. We can’t see how you, if yuh really interested in popular democracy, could continue to run an editorial dictatorship here. You have the power to run BU like we think the GOB should be run. That you are a mere conservator of power to yourself suggests to us that you are no better than Baby Doc!
We have suggested Bushie would be a good second head, pair of eyes. After him any number could play. This shite above is insulting to the Haitian people and readers everywhere. For BU is global in character! We will not make this DEMAND again.
LikeLike
@Pacha
In the same way some refer to your submissions as suit you have the right to do the same. Do you expect Haiti will return to the bright lights overnight?
LikeLike
We are yet to write any provable lies here. Anything we have not been able to support. Don’t get the analogy!
LikeLike
For the Record: The word “Jehovah” was used by the person headlining the article , at BU, as is their right. Mahogany Coconut submitted the article, as it always does, with no caption. We respect the right of BU to caption articles as it sees fit.
LikeLike
The word “Jehovah” was NEVER used by Mahogany Coconut in the article submitted.
LikeLike
We see everybody fucking around the periphery but nobody wants to deal with the substance of the criminal misguidance of this article to this blog. Provable lies!
LikeLike
David, I really do appreciate your equanimity. Perhaps that’s what draw me to this site.
When what’s good for the goose can be manipulated to be bad for the gander based purely on a different point of view we have problems .
So I hark back to that famous remark:
First they came for the Socialists, and I did not speak out—
Because I was not a Socialist.
Then they came for the Trade Unionists, and I did not speak out—
Because I was not a Trade Unionist.
Then they came for the Jews, and I did not speak out—
Because I was not a Jew.
Then they came for me—and there was no one left to speak for me
And draw reference to :
“We have suggested … would be a good second head, pair of eyes. After him any number could play. This shite above is insulting to the Haitian people and readers everywhere. For BU is global in character! We will not make this DEMAND again.”
Clearly the remarks of a democratically minded, classy individual.
We all argue with AC daily but surely not with any such veiled threats; meaningful or not.
To circumscribe free speech anywhere is to condemn it everywhere…is that what some wise man said!
Keep up your good work. sir. There are many here to speak for you and this Blog.
LikeLike
@ DeeWord
Fuck off, you’re a consummate cunt!
LikeLike
Haiti has the potential.Funny our imported dried sorrel comes from Haiti.Something we should be doing for ourselves using solar driers.Our lack of innovation is ridiculous considering the resources available, educational and otherwise.There should be no need to critique Haiti who are doing more with less while we happily play the ass.
LikeLike
Aaaggg…..”Perhaps that’s what drawS me to this site…”
To re-read before posting is divine!!!
LikeLike
Mahogany Coconut stands by the facts that were in the article.
LikeLike
We think the people who call themselves MCG and their ignorant supporters must be able to separate opinion from fact.
Everybody is entitled to their own opinion, but NOT their own facts.
The writer now seems to be doubling down that his ‘facts’ are indeed that. In spite of reputable evidence from Haitians themselves that we have brought. He has however not provided any evidence to support such ‘facts’. While others here would seek to defend free speech, as if that was the kernel of our argument.
It seems to us, that collectively, the proponents of this false argumentation are themselves lost is wonder, love and fear!
LikeLike
Pachamama February 23, 2015 at 10:45 AM…Fuck off, you’re a consummate cunt!============
Coming from someone as absolutely scholarly and erudite as you, I take that as an adoring compliment!
Continue to write as eloquently as you do and impress us with your intellectually persuasive argumentation.
Cunts are either soft and cuddly of the rabbit variety or soft and cuddle worthy of the female variety.
In either case not an unpleasant way to spend one’s time.
More power to you oh flawless writer of all that is leftist.
“It does seems to us [TOO], that collectively, the proponents of [your awesome] argumentation are themselves lost is wonder, love and fear!
One love!
LikeLike
Indeed, the solitaire that passes for MCG should be ashamed for its connections to this reckless piece. Theirs is suppose to be the province of regional politics, government, economy. And yet in the largest country in the region, by way of population, this feel good, Johnny come lately, hear say article, flies into the face of a mountain of evidence to the contrary.
How does a self-proclaimed revolutionary, a self-described Communist, a proponent of Caribbean unity now finds a location were trinkets of marketing propaganda or hearsay from one individual could overcome thousands of reports, development theory and other accounts pointing to the exact opposite of claims now being made?
Again, we demand death as the penalty for the besmirchment of the struggles of the Haitian peoples.
LikeLike
@Pacha
Even in a tiff one should obey a minimum standard of behaviours. Chill brother.
LikeLike
We are NOT like you boys. We were taught by the Great John Cumberbatch. Cumberbatch saw no difference between the words we use, all the time, and the words you dislike. Neither do we.
We are sure that you will find them all in your bible of the English language. A language we have no particular liking for or commitment to. That our freedom of speech requires a use, in a combination that certain people dislike is a matter for them. Indeed, the censor of this usage is in itself a gross violation of that same freedom of speech, rights, others claimed earlier.
LikeLike
@Pacha
You comments were not censored AND our reference to respecting a minimum standard has nothing to do with your use of rum shop lexicon.
LikeLike
One month ago the people of Haiti demonstrate outside Parliament.
LikeLike
it seems that freedom of speech is only allowed to a few when expletives are used as in the case of pachaman who has extended his vocabulary to insert the F word with free reign however the same freedom has be denied twice to ac in the space of two days after inserting the F …ry and today using Pachman as an exmple where a different set of rules are applied
LikeLike
@MCG
Do you prefer a different title for the submission?
LikeLike
MCG respects the right of BU to use whatever title it thinks suitable for its blog. We merely said that we we did not refer to Jehovah , in our article. We thank BU for publishing our articles as we also follow BU in our organ. MCG therefore is not offended by the title given by BU. We are monitoring the responses to our article and we welcome the feedback.
LikeLike
What kind of a group of people, calling themselves a think tank will write an article. An article which must have navigated several levels of consideration and internal critique. And would leave the titling of such a work to others. To some one who himself had nothing to do with the conceptualization, structuring or content of such a ‘piece’.
This is rather amazing. No writer we know will ever do that. No where in the world of writing is this known to us. Maybe nowhere in Christendom, but to the MCG, as it is!
LikeLike
We remain committed to our fundamental quest of One Caribbean Nation. We once more urge Caribbean investors and business persons to consider the great country of Haiti as part of the quest for One Caribbean Nation. We have also encouraged them to consider Africa inspite or despite the many travails of our African brothers and sisters. In fact we encourage our business people to exploit all opportunities throughout the region and the Diaspora. MCG therefore believes that a fundamental tenet of our quest is dialogue and hence we welcome all comments and suggestions. We invite those who have not yet perused our blog to do so at:www.mahoganycoconut.blogspot.com
LikeLike
These platitudes from MCG are in the traditions of Bernays but certainly do not make contact with known lies told about the Haitian people, by them.
Maybe the ‘think’ tank would want for provide the evidence which forms the basis for the staggering contradictions between the points made in the above article and easily known truths.
No amount of marketing tricks will suffice. We know marketers are satanic liars but some of can resist these demons.
LikeLike
but pachie you need to get off that high horse yuh riding before it throw your backside to the ground.MCG forwarded an article thst might not be in agreement .however in the artivle was a plea for businesss to invest in haiti.my question to you outside giving a lot of lip support have you been actively engaged inside haiti rendering support for the people or are you like the rest of us outside looking in
LikeLike
Pingback: Songs of Moses and the servants of God | Free Christadelphians: Belgian Ecclesia Brussel - Leuven
It is said that the founding, or rather,commandeering Fathers of Haiti had made a pact with the Devil. If Haiti is now on the rebound, its because the Devil has , turned his back on Haiti, and has now taken up residence at Illaro Court.
LikeLike
I give money to charity, this year my charity of choice is Médecins Sans Frontières I have never been swayed by the Red Cross although I have donated blood more than a few times at their clinics. After reading the attached I don’t think I will be giving any funds to the Red Cross in the near future.
https://www.propublica.org/article/how-the-red-cross-raised-half-a-billion-dollars-for-haiti-and-built-6-homes
LikeLike
http://www.theguardian.com/football/2012/feb/16/ttff-jack-warner-haiti-funds
Trinidad and Tobago Football Federation claims Jack Warner controlled account holding missing Haiti funds
Funds donated for earthquake-hit Haiti that never made it to [Haiti] were paid into a bank account controlled by the former Fifa vice-president Jack Warner, the Trinidad & Tobago Football Federation (TTFF) claimed.
Around £440,000 of emergency aid money has gone missing since it was donated two years ago…In 2010 Warner was special adviser to his country’s federation and the cash from Fifa ($250,000) and the South Korean FA ($500,000) was paid into a TTFF account it claims only he controlled.,,Lord Triesman, the former Football Association and England 2018 World Cup bid chairman, said last year that Warner had asked him for a £500,000 donation to buy the rights to the World Cup for Haiti so that games could be shown to survivors of the catastrophic earthquake on big screens. “I was later told Jack Warner owned the television rights for Haiti,”
LikeLike