Sir Dennis Byron, President of the CCJ

One of the most controversial court decisions handed down by the United States of America Supreme Court is Roe v.Wade in 1973. To this day the decision continues to stoke public debate about the license humans should be given to determine when to abort the life of an unborn child. It is also interesting to note one of the highest courts in the United Kingdom – still the final court of appeal for the majority of former British colonies – allows Dissenting Opinions by the Judicial Committee of the Privy Council.

In 2001 the Caribbean Court of Justice (CCJ) was established. It is the original original jurisdiction to translate and arbitrate matters arising from the Revised Treaty of Chaguaramus. Many suggest it is unfortunate only Barbados, Belize and Guyana so far, are the countries to recognize the CCJ in its appellate jurisdiction.

Three interesting events occurred in House debate this week which placed the CCJ firmly in the crosshairs. We listened to Minister of Housing Denis Kellman taking a swipe at the CCJ.  In his aggressive invective, he is quoted:  “It is not fair that we are paying our dues and then getting a kick. We were the first to agree to the CCJ. But what have we received from the CCJ? A judgment that people in Barbados have questioned, and when we put people up to be judges we are told we are not good enough to have people on the CCJ. When it comes to paying money, though, we must be the first to pay the money. If our money is good enough for the CCJ, our workers got to be good enough for the CCJ too. And it is time that somebody tell them where to get off!”.  It is hard to imagine Kellman would have offered his rant without a license from the Sheriff.

Kellman’s rant followed Minister Donville Inniss’ own view which addressed similar concerns. Inniss was quoted as not advocating for Barbados to withdraw support for the CCJ but admitted he was ‘deeply troubled’ about the failure of Barbadian applicants to secure jobs recently at the Port of Spain based CCJ. “I think this is a matter we have to be very frank about in this country. There are those who will always talk about, ‘Oh, you’re being nationalist and you ain’t committed to regional integration’ and all of that. When it suits them fine, they say that, once they [are] getting all the largesse and all the top picks. But, I am satisfied that we have bright Barbadians, competent Barbadians, who have served on benches across the region, who today could be serving on the Caribbean Court of Justice. But, for whatever reason, we cannot find it fit to get one there. I am not bashing the excellent judges who are serving on that court. Far from it. However, what I am saying is what the majority of Barbadians are thinking and saying, but are reluctant to come out and say so publicly; and, that is somewhat strange, especially when we were very instrumental in setting up the CCJ“.

Finally,  Attorney General Adriel Brathwaite sealed it by challenging immigration officers appear – in his opinion –  to be intimidated by the controversial CCJ Shanique Myrie decision.   It is obvious what Braithwaite wanted to convey during debate to amend the Immigration Bill.  He is quoted: ”notwithstanding, what is said in the judgment, no one in Trinidad [or outside this country] can determine what our national security considerations [are]. We have a responsibility as the elected members of Parliament and part of our responsibility is to secure our borders and, therefore, we should not water down what we do because we are afraid of what people might say outside the region, in the region about being sued.”

The other segment to the CCJ drama unfolding was the criticism levelled by the CCJ at two prominent senior lawyers Vernon Smith and Hal Gallop, QCs by CCJ president Justice Sir Dennis Byron in delivering on the case Systems Sales Ltd. The criticism was quickly dismissed by Smith as ‘diatribe’ .

The CCJ debate in its current form is unfortunate. However, the CCJ if compared to  feedback meted to the US Supreme Court and British Privy Council by the public, cannot be placed on a pedestal to escape criticism. BU’s view is, we have two issues: the quality of the decisions being handed down and the concern by the Barbados government echoed by its trio of Ministers, Inniss, Kellman and Brathwaite.  In the case of determining the quality of decisions handed down by the CCJ, these are public and can and will be critiqued for rigour by the legal fraternity near and far in the months to come.  This will be the true measure of the CCJ’s reputation which its bench will have to defend. The concerns expressed by the politicians can easily be resolved by the administrative arm of the CCJ and has nothing to do with Sir Byron and his team.

138 responses to “Barbados and CCJ in a Tiff”

1. David

Agree with your final paragraph. The political stuff is just sour grapes.

But on Judges from BIM….who? And who wants to go assuming there are vacancies? I can think of one but don’t think he wants to go. I wish he was more ambitious. The world – by which I mean the region in all its key aspects – would be a better place if he was.

BTW..remember Winston Anderson though not Barbadian was appointed from UWI at Cave Hill.

2. “The criticism was quickly dismissed by Smith as ‘diatribe’”.

David, and what a shockingly sweet diatribe. The fact that these ‘old school’ fellas were so daringly critical (snarky, even) of one of their own ‘old school’ type elite is telling.

I mean, if this same critique was of a young lawyer one could spin it as some sort of generational broadside, but to slap Vernon Smith in that way is remarkable (speaking as a Bajan who has encountered the snobbish, pompous man previously).

He always came over as ‘holier than thou’ with that classics background and education which dismissed anyone of lesser breading to be unworthy.

He was probably not spoken to like that since he was a school-boy.

Proper.

3. LOL @ DeeWord
    He was probably not spoken to like that since he was a school-boy.
    Proper
    ++++++++++++++++++
    True and well put…
    …pity Sir Byron could not cut his ass too… 🙂

4. The comments by Inniss (who I like) were very unfortunate. The comments by Kellman was unfortunate as well but he did make some relevant points. Barbados is always first and upfront providing the money and support for institutions such as the RSS and Liat, whilst the other isles arent as forthcoming. The Attorney General’s comments were 100 percent correct and I support fully.

5. @David

Forget the personalities lawyers good and bad don’t like to be on the losing end of judgements. The other issue is Inniss’ comments vis a vis the make up of the Court and are critical of the lack of a Bajan native on the regions highest Court. The Nation’s view is that we have more pressing issues locally and we shouldn’t waste time on this matter, ( that precludes any Gov’t Minister from commenting on any thing outside his baliwick given the number of issues pending.) The Opposition spokesman used a number of adjectives “brainless”, “feckless” etc. to describe Inniss’ arguments.

I live in a country with a Supreme Court that draws its members from different regions and there are Quebec seat(s) and Ontario seat(s), BC seat etc. and if the Big three Jamaica,Trinidad and Guyana have had seats at the table why not Barbados?

6. @ Sargeant
    …. why not Barbados?
    +++++++++++++++

..Perhaps because Barbados’s judiciary is a colossal joke.
    ..Perhaps because our ‘judges’ see nothing wrong with taking 30 years to resolve an issue
    ..Perhaps because few have clean hands when issues like the David Thompson /CLICO scam can have escaped criminal attention for so long
    …when the Barrack judgement could be dissed by government for YEARS
    …when the Myre case could be so french connected (UK) by Bajan authorities…
    …when PLANTATION DEEDS has planted such serious (unanswered) seeds of doubt

In any case, Barbados has NO CASE to seek to operate at a higher level when we have failed so miserably to get our own house in order.

Who did we have on the Privy Council?

…besides..
    As Ross asked…..who?

Wuh if Sir Cave can’t even find a Bajan to name a shiite sports field after ..why would the CCJ want to settle for a mediocre Bajan on their bench…?

7. Sargeant

Your suggestion sounds very sensible to me…for, pace BT, we do have some very fine judges.

8. Or…you could have ad hoc judges like the ICJ, a judge drawn from the contending states’ jurisdiction and nominated by them.

9. The association also believes that despite the recent comments of Minister Inniss, “the selection of these judges should be based on competence and experience and certainly not on the basis of one’s nationality.”

………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

talk about shooting one self in the mouth.
    this is almost an admission by mr, khan as to the lack of confidence for the barbados bar an association to which he is president ,
    to openly make such remarks with in the context to which it can be applied to the legal profession in barbados is dumbfounding.

10. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

I don’t care where the judges of the CCJ come from. I am more concerned about the quality of its judgments, and so far they are, to use a Bajan term, poorrakey.

It also appears that they take delight in injudiciously criticising Barbados’ legal fraternity. I might appear to be biased because I hold Vernon Smith in the highest regard, but the criticism levelled at him were totally undeserved; he was new to the matter but the court couldn’t help taking a potshot at Smith, a Barbadian. On the other hand, I must confess to some actual bias since I do not hold Gollop in any regard at all. He overrates himself and therefore attracts the type of criticism he got but bias or not the CCJ just needs to up its game.

By the way, you should ignore the silly mouthings of the Government in this regard. It is merely to generate debate to draw attention away its own ineptitude.

11. @Sargeant

Note BU’s position is that the CCJ is not above being criticised. The appointment of judges to the CCJ and quality of decisions make two arguments. We are also concerned the UWI, BA and other NGOS should be speaking out on the matter to negate the braying from the politicians.

12. “robert ross February 22, 2015 at 12:32 AM #

Sargeant

“Your suggestion sounds very sensible to me…for, pace BT, we do have some very fine judges.”

Not disputing your view but why then did we have to go to such lengths to amend the Constitution to install an unknown legal personality from the USA court jurisdiction to be our Chief Justice?

That doesn’t inspire much confidence in the fine judges that you speak of Mr Ross

13. the question is a legitimate one, that gives a level of preponderance and to therefore ask why ?

14. How many we had or would have (if we were still a member) on the Privy Council? Stupse

15. And the best way to avoid this insular nonsense is to appoint a Judge from each member state.

16. @Bushie

“Who did we have on the Privy Council”

////////

Wuh kind of convoluted logic are you bringing to the table? Was the Privy Council designed to help people like us or was it set up to assist the Brits in settling their own disputes? No Bajans on the PC is the same as no Bajans on the CCJ?

Do you think that the issues that exist in Barbados are non existent in the other jurisdictions?

17. @ balance February 22, 2015 at 6:34 AM

Thank you…. Ross’s head bad…

@ Enuff
    ..appoint a judge from each member state? just another CSME club then?
    Why the hell do they need to appoint (and pay huge fees no doubt) to these judges anyway? Why not just appoint a panel of POTENTIAL judges from whom the Chief can appoint three-man-panels to deal with specific cases?

Wunna realize that these idiot politicians went and arrange for the CCJ to cover the whole region with English, French, Dutch and other jurisdictional differences? Is it not obvious that different biases will be brought by this wide approach?

Perhaps that is why we get upset with the direct criticisms aimed at Barbados…it may be normal in some jurisdictions.

LOL….wunna can’t see that when someone wants a matter covered up they ALWAYS hire a Bajan Judge to preside….? 🙂

Bottom line, we should be ASHAMED of our judiciary.

18. @David

Agree the issue shouldn’t be a political football

19. Steupsss @ Sargeant

Why is there ANY requirement for a national to be on a final appeals court? What is required is competent legal skills and a productive attitude…not patriotism.

A Final Appeals court is not set up to “help” anyone, but to make final decisions in complex matters of law.
    sounds like you want to set up another West Indies Cricket Board yuh…
    No one complained about representation on the PC.
    Besides….
    If we could do no better than the last two CJ’s ….what the hell are you talking about …corporal?

20. what so wrong with having one of “own” sitting at the table in decision making then what is the purpose for a call of integration between /among caricom members .
    Are we as a nation to be satisfied as a nation always being the tail ?

21. Are we as a nation to be satisfied as a nation always being the tail ?
    …with people like you who are represented “just under the tail” we will have to be satisfied with our current ‘rearward’ location.

Perhaps you may wish to do everyone a favour and flush…..

22. the above comment is reminiscent of a donkey ,,

23. AC, are you saying that Bushie is well endowed? LOL

24. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Balance

You wrote: Not disputing your view but why then did we have to go to such lengths to amend the Constitution to install an unknown legal personality from the USA court jurisdiction to be our Chief Justice?

We did not have to go to such lengths, is was a case of the DEMS wanting their man and they moved, heaven, hell and Earth to get him. Mind you, the amendments to the Supreme Court of Judicature Act still did not achieve the desired effect but they hired him anyway. Put another way: the current Chief Justice still did not meet the requirements of the law when he was appointed. The other judges, the Bar Association, the Opposition and me all knew that he did not qualify. And who spoke out – me which earned me abuse, even here on BU.

25. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Pachamama February 22, 2015 at 8:55 AM #
    AC, are you saying that Bushie is well endowed? LOL

Do be careful, AC is one of the inner circle of the DLP. I am told that DLP stands for Don’t Like Cat, oh sorry, cat does not start with, “p” but Bushie your wacker is not designed for cats.

26. Bushie

I was tempted to type “Bulls….” But my kinder nature prevailed, you don’t expect me to argue against competent legal skills do you? Since you are closer to the situation I will take your point that those attributes are absent from Barbados judicial landscape, I also hope that you are familiar with the other areas where those skills are in abundance.

BTW how do you feel about female judges? Since you have constantly stated that female teachers are ill equipped to lead the nation’s youth does that same logic apply to female judges? Leh muh see you square that circle.

A country that less than a decade ago hired a COP and Deputy from Canada and now thy have superior legal minds.

Why don’t you bring back that poodle motif that used to be part of your posts? Talk about truth in advertising……..

27. Sorry Bushie I din realise you asked about Privy Council representation too.

28. And Bushie I agree with you reference paying for more judges. Note I was sure to include “insular” in my comment.

29. “what so wrong with having one of “own” sitting at the table in decision making then what is the purpose for a call of integration between /among caricom members .”

We clearly don’t know the definition of “own” in the context of integration.

30. The bottomline is this: if the DLP and government have a problem with the CCJ why not take the matter to Caricom or the Admin of the CCJ for discussion, why must this government bray loudly across the Caribbean Sea about this but yet remain silent on CLICO, CAHILL etc.

The whole lot of them have become boorish.

On Sunday, 22 February 2015, Barbados Underground wrote:

31. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

The answer to your question is that the Government wants to provide a distraction. They are tired being in the spotlight for incompetence. That said, the CCJ needs to produce some scholarly work instead of the unresearched crap that is has become known for.

32. yeah! well endowed with the mentality of a neanderthal on most issues and when backed into a corner acts out some form on unintelligible ignorance as a way of ‘Flexing muscles” in bullying style,
    the issue at hand bears relevance and cannot be simply left or be orchestrated by /under political sides and limelight,
    my stance is more to do with country and its best interest, i find it hard to accept that there are no Barbadians who cannot perform judicially at the level of the CCJ is total nonsense and should be challenged this is a not a case where the defendant is caught holding the evedience but one that should be well debated and fully cross examined
    As a nation it is troubling when we throw our hands in the air and let others decide what is in our best interest,

33. @Caswell

If there is a problem with the decisions being handed down we need to hear from the Faculty of Law at Cave Hill and St.Augustine, Law Societies and other NGOs. It the politicians in government have a problem with lack of Bajan appointees then the AG or PM needs to inquire from the HR Unit where applicants are falling short. A transparent interview process makes such revelations possible in 2015.

34. the question is why are we so stymied by govt reactions, how about our reactions do we accept the fact that bajans cannot be representatives in the CCJ ,
    Do we accept the Fact that other Caribbean nations can do a better job at representing our interest in high profile cases such as myrie,
    Do we accept the fact that an empty seat at the table is sufficient representation “to allow” or direct our influence,
    Isn/t there a principle involved that merits consideration

35. Before these political JAs begin to bray tell us who are the Bajan judges who have applied or jobs at the CCJ. How many, 1, 2 none?

JAs

36. Where and how does your question apply ,
    The fact is that there are none, and going by the recent revelations there is a higher than less probability that Barbadians have applied,
    So the question that was put recently and forwarded into public
    domain stays relevant until a clear and convincing answer is known.
    Truth be known an answer might never be forth coming however the issue still should not be compromised by questions to “how do we know” but rather what is known.

37. @ Caswell
    Thanks for the advice. But the whacker can handle any type of shiite…

You also explained why the DLP moved the earth to please get our present CJ (who has had zero impact to date on the challenges of our lousy system.)

Perhaps you may also wish to explain why the PREVIOUS CJ selected by the BLP needed to be so politically tainted as to bring the whole system into disrepute….

…and why choices were so limited, that we needed a registrar who could be guided at nights by this appointee….

Finally, you may wish to explain what is different now that would lead you to expect a different approach if we needed to find someone for the CCJ….

If it ain’t someone’s wife um is duh girlfriend being appointed… steupsss …and we have quality choices…?

….and have you heard any complaints from the BA? the current “high quality” judges? the opposition? the church? The Business community? …..ANYONE? (…well with the clear exception of BU of course…)

@ Sargeant
    Read your last comment again and let Bushie know if you REALLY think it deserves a response…

38. @Bush Tea

Please be fair to the CH, video link from Dodds is about to go live and let us not forget ADR!

39. How the hell someone could be as stupid and dense as AC …and still be alive…? shiite man… good, useful, intelligent people does catch a little cold and dead……

yet….this…AC thing… clearly has a big vacuum where brains are normally located, and yet seems able to use up valuable oxygen, food and space….

….and wunna people talking shiite about evolution….
    What evolution what?!?

only brilliant engineering creativity of the BBE class can explain the phenomenon called AC…

40. Again, note the BLPites and DLPites on this issue. Yet another issue being argued by the politicos along party lines. Help father!

41. Again another insipid comment from bush shite maybe he is speaking about himself, cause only an unknown specimen far removed from reality could create a work of art , called bushite,

BTW just for the record the same idiot criticized the CCJ in the myrie case for interfering with Barbados immigration policy , such a hypocrite,

42. @David

The DLP since Thompson thrives on scapegoating and demagoguery.

43. @ David wrote ” BLPites and DLPites on this issue.”

For 50 years this has been the politics of Barbados.

Bajans are divided along party lines and will defend their party to protect their share of the diminishing skin and bones calf.

It is interesting that the DLP has stayed in power with a 2 seat majority. The must be doing something right or that is benefiting all the members of Parliament.

44. I hope that the learned BU bloggers sit-back, re-read and re-digest some of their palaver and recognize some of the absolute illogical perspective on this point of the CCJ.

We all know that the islands adhere to the same legal system; so we all know that a Jamaican lawyer will give us different advice from that of a Bajan lawyer only because of his accent; in short, jokes apart, its the same thing.

Khan is right: ““the selection of these judges should be based on competence and experience and certainly not on the basis of one’s nationality.”

And so to David:” The concerns expressed by the politicians can easily be resolved by the administrative arm of the CCJ…”

So all those who are showing their wonderful Bajan pride I applaud you as a fellow Bajan, but for all that’s sensible the waving your favorite island’s flag to get a seat on a regional institution of law with comments like: “Do we accept the Fact that OTHER (my emphasis) Caribbean nations can do a better job at representing OUR interest in high profile cases…” is RIDICULOUS.

A seat on the CCJ cannot be about competence. That must be an accepted base point.

But of course there will be some political maneuvering about the candidate selection. That happens, as a blogger mentioned, in the Supreme Court of Canada and oh so dramatically with selections for the US Supreme Court.

Get off this canoe which is adrift down the river of insularity it’s only course is a crash over the turbulent falls.

Maybe we should also stop and reflect that for most of the 50 and 60+ somethings here we grew up with the perspective and reality that Bajans were sought after throughout the region: police officers, teachers et al in Cayman, Bermuda, Virgin Islands etc etc. The list at mid-manager and senior manager level is long and deep through the region.

And back further: Head of Federation, PAHO Head, and other high level appointments.

So to get a tongue lashing from a regional Judge which berates our clearly dysfunctional systems is very galling and in many regards a stark reminder of the depths of our fall.

But to resort to this level of insularity adds further insult to our already badly injured pride.

That’s not going to get us back to where we need to be.

45. r e Bush Tea February 22, 2015 at 10:10 AM #
    How the hell someone could be as stupid and dense as AC …and still be alive…?
    see 2 Peter 3:9

re only brilliant engineering creativity of the BBE class can explain the phenomenon called AC…

wrong bushie wrong wrong NOT EVEN BBE CAN DECIPHER AC

46. Balance

Your remark about the appointment of the CJ is quite one of the most idiotic and misplaced I’ve seen on BU. Where have you been living?

Bush tea

How can even YOU pander to such idiocy?

47. Integration must be working when the archenemy of CSME and the arch proponent of the same (BushT & Enuff) are in the same bed with regards to this issue. Integration! Integration! What Integration? Remind us again how many countries have adopted the CCJ as their final court of Appeal

I rest my case

48. David

You ask about UWI and critique. When was the last Carib LR published, what was in it and what serious research in law is to be found in that once proud Faculty? My impression is that they’re all too busy counting case notes in the air as publications and serious research.

49. @David

I thought that this issue was not supposed to be a political football,why bring up DLP/BLP ? Aren’t Bajans mature to debate this issue no matter which Party they
    support? Objectivity goes out the window when people cling to perceived Party positions.