Marguerite Woodstock-Riley
Marguerite Woodstock-Riley, head of the Disciplinary Committee

Several weeks ago Barbadians were promised the Committee of Privileges will determine if Speaker Michael Carrington broke House rules, we continue to wait. To any observer it appears to be business as usual and this matter like many others will shuffle along until the next general election is called where is will die. We hope not. Parliament will resume sitting on the 10 March 2015. The people, the servants of the political class in parliament will have to wait like dogs waiting for a bone.

Let us assume the report, if it completed, will confirm Prime Ministerโ€™s Stuartโ€™s view that the Michael Carrington issue is a personal matter, and has nothing to do with parliament. It will confirm to many that public opinion is not a factor with this government. (The idea a political leader of Barbados would make such an idiotic statement continues to be incomprehensible to many and deserves greater national discourse)

BU is calling on the Barbados Bar Association (BA) to squarely address the issue of Michael Carrington. How many complaints have been received by the BA naming Speaker of the House Michael Carrington as the offender over the years? We are also asking members of the public who have been wronged to come forward. BU understands this is not the first indiscretion by Michael Carrington. The nonsense has to STOP. If our elected members of the political prefer to close ranks and ignore their obligation to the people, the people will have to explore options to seek redress.

Another questions for the BA: are you aware of lawyers who are able to win over the properties of unsuspecting clients? BU understands several prominent lawyers in Barbados have been able to take charge of properties, especially when senior citizens are involved with no family connection to bolster their personal financial state. If the BU household is aware that you must be as well.

We know the Prime Minister and cohorts do not understand that human beings are not only guided by laws but also a moral code, all animal do. It is not enough for the BA to list the number of complaints received. Tell us the runoff rate. The age of the complaints outstanding. How the inability of the Disciplinary Committee, a voluntary entity, to efficiently resolve complaints adds to the misery of the public when seeking satisfaction.

The BA needs to convince the public it is a body that has the interest of the public at its centre and not a public relations toothless tiger. A good place to begin to serve the interest of the people is to deal with Michael Carrington. How you ask Mr. Khan and Woodstock-Riley? Pull out those old cases gathering dust with his name on the files!

111 responses to “Barbados Bar Association and Michael Carrington”

1. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

When are you going to understand that the Disciplinary Committee of the Bar Association only exists because the law says that it should? Over the years, there is little evidence that the committee is interested in doing anything other than protecting lawyers from the clients who suffer at their hands.

I well remember sitting in the Coart of Appeal when the committee referred a matter concerning Ernest Jackman. I sat and heard the Chief Justice chastise the committee for failing to observe basic procedure. They got it so badly wrong that Jackman escaped not because he was able to refute the allegations against him, but because trained lawyers were unable to get it right.

As I sat there, I kept wondering if their failure was because of incompetence or that they deliberately got it wrong so that Jackman could walk. I am still wondering.

2. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

I believe that the political class is making mock sport at the people of this country in the Carrington case. The Prime Minister is correct when he declared that Carrington did not breach any rules of the House so the matter should not have been referred to the Committee of Privileges.

The question for members of the House should have been: did Carrington conduct his private affairs in such a manner as to bring his office as Speaker into disrepute? I submit that he did. And that the House should have been called upon to consider a motion of no confidence against the Speaker. If that motion were debated the members who voted in support of Carrington would have be exposed.

3. @Caswell

Who among the sensible will disagree with your last comment? Do we have anyone in parliament who wears the title ‘honourable’ with pride? When is the last time we had holders of prominent offices resigning based on a principle? Is the Prime Minister saying actions and decisions can be made based only on legal considerations?

4. Caswell last comment is a representation of his own personnel biases noting where he resoundingly states with a some what convincing argument that Mr carrington did not conduct his personnel affairs in a reputable standing, ac submit that unless one have heard or seen the totality of both sides coming to such a conclusion is balderdash .

5. Caswell is so right when he says that they are making mock sport at us. When the Prime Minister made that statement of endorsement of the political class getting their hands dirty with this messy business we got the message intended for the attentive. Its great that BU seems bent on keeping this issue up front for the public’s attention but will Barbadians respond? That is why this nonsense continues.

6. barbadians have a right and a duty to respond at the voting booth after all it is still a democracy, enough of this issue has been said to stir emotions on both sides of the political fence,

7. Who among the sensible would disagree with your comment David asked? Directly following his query was a dissenting opinion from ac. Need we say more?

8. John Hanson 1781-1782, I SERVE 1788-1792 BARBADOES, Avatar
    John Hanson 1781-1782, I SERVE 1788-1792 BARBADOES,

Both side are crook liars and scumbags , One shit talking about another shit does not clean the mess up , All of them , the ones that did it , the ones that see it , the ones that knows about it , the ones that look to cover it up , and who ever want to talk it away with words the public can not understand,

No one will sit down to eat when you cook in a dirty kitchen and use dirty pots and pans,

From the Banks to the Church to the QEH , all infected with Fraud,

People better Vote next time with out taking money ,, As they see what they money bought .. This PM is gaining on Owen and Mia with great speed, The will be on the top 10 of Barbados scumbags list, QCs Quick Crooks ,

9. are-we-there-yet Avatar

David;

Yuh want an infelicity trail?

Check the UWI credit union. He din’ start this behaviour only 2 years ago.

I agree totally with Caswell. I think a vote of censure or no confidence is the way to go. Even if it is defeated it will identify like minds in the house. Abstentions will count.

10. @ Caswell
    I believe that the political class is making mock sport at the people of this country…
    You BELIEVE…??!! Believe shiite!!…. this is abundantly obvious except to brass bowl low life yard fowls.

You are most correct when you blame THE POLITICAL CLASS …All of them…. not only the retarded PM who, admittedly is only there by default, but also the opposition idiots who seek to insult us by going on holiday in response.

Shiite man, that is IDENTICAL to the set of jackass teachers who took holiday in response to students being disruptive at school.
    Imagine we PAY them to teach and discipline wayward students and they decide to go on strike “because the children are disruptive…?”

Same shiite…
    …we elect these BLP french connectors (UK) to keep check on the bribe-taking lackies who have ganged together as the political vultures that we call the DLP in the house of assembly ….. and when it turns out that the whole bunch of them are crooked, Mia comes up with the solution to ‘go on strike’ too…

No motion of censure
    No motion of no confidence
    No call for a full debate
    No series of private member’s questions
    No series of public meetings

NO!…..her ass gone on holiday.
    Lotta shiite!!!

Of course we all know that she is a smart woman. It would be challenging to stand up in the house and accuse the DLP scamps of offenses that are ALSO committed routinely by BLP scamps.

We can see why the committee of privileges and a long holiday may be the choices of BOTH the DLP and the BLP

Same reason no one pursued the allegations about voter bribery witnessed by no less persons than the PM and AG……. What would the BLP (and Nicholls) have said about that……???

All this shiite going on and you and Walter refuses to BUP…..
    The place is DOOMED…….

11. @ David
    You are a bright fella….so you MUST know…
    If you want to maintain the status quo; have no serious progress; control things from the background; while keeping the masses drunk….

Just put a pretty woman or effeminate batty-boy in charge….

Look around Barbados……

12. David et al

ac’s comment as well as mine are also “public opinion”.

“Public opinion” also goes only so far. IF a Government were automatically to respond to it positively, you would say it was only trying to catch votes.

As ac properly says, if a Government has got it wrong it will answer at the ballot box. Until then, it’s ‘line’, we are entitled to expect, will be principled – and courting cheap popularity does not figure in that or shouldn’t.

King David has issued an edict to the BA which does not report to him…..paradoxically, like the jihadist, his finger reaches where it will. Frankly, my Lord, I’d give you two fingers – by totally ignoring you.. Besides, THAT, your edict, is only courting “cheap popularity” too since you must surely anticipate that response. But then I suppose it will please the BU “family” (God help us) and make you feel good, so what the F.

Caswell

Be careful talking about CJ’s. You know very well that in this place some CJ’s are regarded as the pits – but then – that’s ‘public opinion’ don’t ya know.

13. The basis of most of these comments are flawed in content due to an inheritant disposal to disregard the law and solely rely on others personnel experiences that might not necessarily be of similar occurrences.
    As in the issue with Carrington the justice system provided and delivered justice in accordance with law
    However as if not sufficient to rectify the need for some to overturn is a calculated effort/risk which has overshadowed the call for those put as stewards in seeing about the affairs of country to be given a pass
    That too IMHO is wrong

14. @Ross

How many times can one reveal he or she to be a JA?

15. Dissent: An explicit disagreement by one or more judges with the decision of the majority on a case before them; To dissent is to publicly disagree with an official opinion or decision.

Re this case: A judge has ruled that the attorney needs to repay his client. Thus, there was a totality of information presented by both sides as there was no appeal to the judge’s ruling; ipso … there is nothing more to debate re the validity of the facts and ruling.

Any dissent based on the facts presented indicates an unjust and unreasonable bias against the disadvantaged client.

AC and cohorts carry the lunch pail for the defendant so they are clearly biased against the client.

On that point they are disgustingly elitist.

But on the the other point that “Barbadians have a right and a duty to respond at the voting booth” they are pellucidly right.

The hope is that alternative candidates are available so that all manner of these current crooks are put out; not just their lunch mate.

16. @Bush Tea

Agree with most of your comment. Civil disobedience has an important part to play in a democracy which is alive. Even the primitive animals in our kingdom exhibit a moral code. And most of all public opinion must always count.

17. @ David
    Not only does civil disobedience have an important role to play…. it is the moral RESPONSIBILITY of true citizens to stand for RIGHT and justice against ANY body; any force; any temptations…..ANY GOVERNMENT who seek to pervert truth, justice and fairness.

In the final analysis, the true judge of a society is in its willingness to stand for righteousness. Waiting patiently until Froon decides to call an election is the stuff of AC’s, sissies, Rosses and brass bowls…

No surprise that AC and Ross would fail to get this…recall the point about appointing women and effeminate males to critical positions?
    ….It takes MEN WITH BALLS to stand firmly against shiite from high places.

Bushie must confess to being surprised that not 5 men of worth seem to exist in this cursed place. It only took a few men in St Kitts to deal with the Douglas chap…but at least they found a few such….

WE SEEM TO HAVE NONE…

When BBE had decided that enough was enough with Sodom and Gomorrah, not 5 men could be identified to stand up and be counted….. NOT 5!!
    ……so enuff was enough….

18. I too was of the opinion that MAM should have brought a no confidence motion in the speaker. But……………

Do you think the Dems would ever put it on the order paper?

I know in politics you have to have thick skins but we all know that she would lose the motion and the enemies would be out with their knives and guns to gut her………we can hear Mr Know it all……..Inniss, the Stinkliar, the ugliest PM we ever had (I do believe that he is uncomfortable with whom he is) and her nemesis, OSA. The ugly man the PM said two weeks ago that the BLP has not accepted the 2013 result yet. He would have had a field day when the motion is defeated.

If the report from the Committee of Privileges does not come this coming week, I still think that MAM should be brave and move a no confidence motion in both the speaker and the deputy speaker.

They are both tainted with corruption!

19. Who is following the shouting across the fence between Madam Justice Crane-Scott and Magistrate Douglas Fredrick? The Magistrate has BU’s support.

On Friday, 20 February 2015, Barbados Underground wrote:

20. O.k. civil disobedience that hinges on individual and collective rights which are deliberately ignored by govt founded on laws to satisfy
    The Carrington issues does not pass such test although the collective voices of those who seek alternative recoursewould make it appear that an act to protect Carrington is a “wrong”most worthy of those actions

21. Looks like Donville “Pornville,Dumbville” Inniss would also like to do his part to corrupt the CCJ as well, I am not saying that the Judges in Barbados are not more than capable of sitting on the benches of the CJJ, but as long as a bajan politician is suggesting it and Donville of all people, who does not think that sexually exploiting the young through pornography,so he can project an image of wealth is NOT FILTH, but concerned citizens voicing their concerns to bring about positive change through social media IS FILTH…………well, you get my drift, he is definitely not the one to suggest such a thing.

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/63781/mp-blasts-inniss-ccj-comment

Don’t mind retarded AC, we all know that Fruendel Stuart is searching around every corner and looking under every rock to find a way to cover up the Leroy Parris/Mara Thompson/Michael Carrington debacle, even if it’s too late and despite him rah rahing about transparency and integrity….HA.

Someone pointed out to me recently that the bar association presidents will find it hard to change their modus since all it takes for them to make QC is serve the required few years, so why stress on making sure that the lawyers the majority of whom commit crimes against civil society and sell out their clients to the highest bidder are punished or disciplined or disbarred. This came out of the mouth of one lawyer who sees what his fellow lawyers do to the profession and people in Barbados on a daily basis.

The Bushman….the problems lie in Bajans for some reason not having the mental acuity to stand up for their rights, someone from somewhere else always have to do this for them, when the politicians, lawyers, doctors know that it’s inherent in the culture and mentality of bajans to be dragged around by a system that’s designed to denigrate them in the first place..hey, I won’t do it, but these educated criminals take full advantage of that mental weaknes.

Did i not say last year or some time back that it takes a certain kind of two foot beast to be leader(s) in a country, now you are seeing the ones who are leading have no soul.

22. “โ€ฆ.It takes MEN WITH BALLS to stand firmly against shiite from high places.”

The Bushman….what men with balls what? in Barbados…Ha Ha…lol. Will never happen, too much corruption.

Let’s hide Mia cause she don’t count….but it will take at least 3 Kamla’s and 2 Well Well’s to do the trick, just expose ALL their crap all day every day and bring in some bad boys from Trinidad and New York who are not interested in politics, along with a few more females who take no prisoners….that’s the end of the crap in Barbados for sure, sure.

23. Fredericks also has the full support of the bloggers responding to the Nation newspaper article today

24. Lets hope there’s a limited number of ac’s out there that condone this type of behavior. How can you support a man that clearly tried to defraud a client, simple as that. It doesn’t take a “rocket scientist” to figure it out. This is why the government is the way it is because of voters like ac. St Kitts made it happen, and hopefully it will benefit that island, and if it doesn’t at least they attempted to change. Mia is definitely not the answer, and it clearly shows as a number of events have unfolded where she has been clearly not existent.

25. @ David
    Despite Caswell’s obvious infatuation, it will be no great loss when the Madam Justice goes off to her new appointment….

Who becomes a high-flyer in a warped system?

The current high court judges to admire will be those who are clear rebels within the shiite system we currently operate. But those who play the game, …see no evil, hear no evil and rock no boats become superstars…..and high flyers…

26. @ Well well

.Well Well February 20, 2015 at 11:29 AM #
    Looks like Donville โ€œPornville,Dumbvilleโ€ Inniss would also like to do his part to corrupt the CCJ as well, I am not saying that the Judges in Barbados are not more than capable of sitting on the benches of the CJJ, but as long as a bajan politician is suggesting it…
    |||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||

You call it makes sure you close off all loose ends……Just like FSC (friends sown ta cephalopod) headed by Thompson kin Randy….Donville dun know that the CLICO matter heading for CCJ….too much indecorous in the mortar for this to reach next elections wid out a doctored outcome…if u get my drift

27. @rachorse

ac based her comments on law and is full in agreement with the judges order which by all accounts protected and provided the claimant right for restitution .ac however failed to understand how that agreement falls under the banner of condoning wrong behaviour

28. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Prodigal Son February 20, 2015 at 11:00 AM
    “I too was of the opinion that MAM should have brought a no confidence motion in the speaker. Butโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆ”

I too believe the Opposition are employing the “wrong” set of tactics to embarrass the DLP administration. Boycotting the sittings while Crook Carrington is in the chair allows the government to play for time with the knowledge that the Estimates and long promised budget are right around the corner and the absence of the Opposition from these sessions would make them look like petulant school children playing truant or a set of lazy bastards staying away from the workplace because of some stupid incompetent supervisor.

What the Opposition should have done after the purposely arranged referral to the Committee of Privileges (CoP) to ensure permanent delay would be to make the life of the Speaker a living hell through equivalent immoral and equally reprehensible behaviour. Why not make continuous sotto voce references to his thieving dishonourable behaviour โ€˜clearlyโ€™ implying he is unfit to make any ruling or proper judgment or direction regarding the adherence to rules and regulations or to set guidelines on morality or conduct in the HoA.

The same way members constantly, albeit inadvertently, insist on calling Madam Deputy Speaker โ€œMr. Speaker Sirโ€ why not use the same technique to refer to the uncaring Crook as Your Distinguished Dishonourable Speaker Sirโ€?

Be in his face every opportunity that arises forcing him to either ask the remarks be struck from the records or he summons the marshals to evict the members on every occasion.

Mr. Crooked Carrion-it-on has not publicly apologized to Mr. Griffiths so why should members of similar โ€˜moral standing be forced to apologize to the Speaker for calling a thieving spade a dangerous lying black crook?
    Words are sometimes more effective than actions.

But again we might be asking too much of these pedestrian politicians whose use of language can be measured by the rambling utterances of Denis Kellman, the repetitiously stuttering hogwash of Michael Lashley and the greenverbโ€™ pickings of Gline Clarke.

29. @Bush Tea

It calls for leadership for a tree not to lose its identify in a forest.

30. after a call for immediate action by the blpmisfits to take action and the leadership obliged using action supposedl to correct wrong now a change of strategy is being asked
    what is amazing is that the leadership chances of reversal to accommodate will be f futile as a process has already been started .furthermore leading a charge to renig would leave her looking inept and lost

31. @ac The court had to order him to return his clients money(after 14 yrs), and stopped short of sending him to Dobbs where he really belongs for attempted theft. Yet, we put away people everyday for the very same reasons, for a lot less.

32. Agree with your comments, miller!

Back to Donville Inniss and his attack on the CCj. We can ignore Hal Gollop and Vernon Williams.

If Donville and the jackass we have for an AG have problems with the Myrie judgement, they should look no further than themselves. Who picked the lawyers? I am no lawyer and I knew that the case Barbados put up was below mediocre!

They have only themselves to blame………why the lead attorney said Barbados had a case to answer!

33. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Prodigal

If Barbados’ lawyers had argued that there was no case to answer and that submission was upheld, Barbados’ lawyers would only have been paid for one day in court.

Hal Gollop and Vernon Smith are right about the CCJ but for the wrong reasons. Other countries should stay from that court because of the poor quality of its work.

34. @ac February 20, 2015 at 4:10 PM ….furthermore leading a charge to renig would leave her looking inept and lost============

AC, I am as a-political as they come…I have been accused often of being too-bland and down-the-middle here on BU.

But your political diatribes really intrigue me and thus I foolishly engage re your DLP palaver.

For all practical purposes, the opposition leader can change her strategy.

She would look JUST AS INEPT as the current gov’t which has reneged on various promises and pulled back after many false steps.

What exactly is your point: that all the incumbent political actors are poorakey and the opposition is currently second best poorakey?

Are you not proud of being the best at being inept.

Afterall, thus far you have a PM whose law firm accepted checks for legal fees and then miraculously redirected that check to a company owned by the originating party.

Now, that is a wonderful example of reneging on a strategy if ever there was one: Barbados’ tax strategy, B’dos fraud statute strategy and a few more.

None of your comments to date suggest that you have a problem with that level of ineptitude (illegality) and two-step dance routine, so I remain totally intrigued by your realization that Ms. Mottley’s parliamentary dance is so inept.

Carry on smartly oh wonderful soldier.

35. What we need is the Barbados Bar Association and the Disciplinary Committee stepping up to say enough is enough.

We need our journalist to inform the public to all sides of the issue and not just the political.

We need rich debate.

36. oh dee don’t worry about what ac think, the fact is that i made a point that is worrisome enough for you to respond,, u too carry on smartly,
    mia mottly has now found herself pushed into a corner because of an action she thought best would satisfy her follower unaware that going down that road might have cost her political mileage, ,now the cards have been turned to expose the kind of leadership skills and the kind of metal she is made of bearing in mind that her members too would be exposed to any criticisms and fallout if she fails in her en devours
    BTW i believe you and others read my post not because of any persuasive or non persuasive argument i might bring to table but because you have this morbid fear that anything ac says some one might agree so your job is to stand guard and destroy and decimate my comments, but like i say been there done that
    so bro keep your scorecard handy and maybe one day when you count all my minuses the plus small in number though they might be was able to deliver a winning hand,
    sir in politics strategy is the end game not the number of pluses or minuses, plain good ole fashion strategy. case and point the lotta winner who only played one dollar,

37. BU we have no journalist in Barbados who go out of their way to investigate anything here. When we see journalistic reports on BBC, it make us shudder what can happen in Barbados if we had a few bold and good men ( or women), who would really risk life & limb for truth and justice for the people of this country, not just in Carrington case, but Parris, the man who killed his son and never spend one day in jail, and many others, so, we go merrily along until this passes, a nine day wonder, until the next issue arise.

38. David February 20, 2015 at 5:35 PM #

What we need is the Barbados Bar Association and the Disciplinary Committee stepping up to say enough is enough.
    We need our journalist to inform the public to all sides of the issue and not just the political.
    We need rich debate.

……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………

agree

39. DR. THE HONOURABLE Avatar
    DR. THE HONOURABLE

AC is either a certain former Senator who ran on a DLP ticket
    (2) the Trinidadian woman on the call in shows
    (3) George Pilgrim

We have narrowed it down to these three

If this is the case , we know what to expect from such persons and we know why they come with their cant spell , poor grammar , bad spelling and meaningless trite. The truth is I do not like coming to this blog because of the drivel from AC. I am tired tired tired of AC.
    I am calling for AC to be banned if not totally , at least for a period

SIGN YOUR NAME TO THIS PETITION
    I am starting with mine

PETITION TO BAN AC
    SIGNATURES
    (
    1) DR. THE HONOURABLE – February 20, 2015

40. Dr,

I would not say that the ac’s can be the Trini lady.

The Trini lady is well educated and holds a masters degree and she has a little sense……….I know her and she would not write the drivel that is posted by ac.

Yes, she is very partisan but would not write the crap the ac consortium spews on BU!

I second your motion, though many will say the consortium has its right to spew its garbage on BU!

41. Claudius Maximus. Avatar
    Claudius Maximus.

why would you call for a ban on ac, does that not defeat the purpose of this blog? Are persons not entitled to free speech? yet some persons seems to have the notion that to post something here on this medium it must always be critical of the current administration to gain the desired acceptance, i beg to differ, there are too many instances where persons on this blog are downright disrespectful to persons on both sides of the political divide, it needs to be checked,this blog seems to be developing into a bloodsport and it is worrisome.

42. A jackass by any other name is still a jackass.

43. i bet if ac was in agreement with most or all comments that are pro blp all drivel and trite would add up to honesty truth and commonsense, bunch of hypocrites who can dish but can’t receive ,,and for the life of me how can an ac be problematic when most here are always in agreement with the loan ac standing and being bushwhacked in the side line, wunna need to chill and let fredom of speech be free

44. look dr,honurable it is only a friggin blog, don’t take it so seriously,, sign yuh petition asked david to put it on the side bar, i know of a few people who would join hands in pushing your ignorance forward ,good luck bro, sorry if i have become one of your least favourite .sorry for the inconvenience that i have caused you, like sleepless nites trying to figure out how many ac’s there are and whose names to attached,,,sorryyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy

45. Mia Mottley not so long ago celebrated twenty years in our parliament. Are we so naรฏve as to believe that she didn’t know exactly where her chosen path in relation to the Michael Carrington Affair would lead? There is not a lawyer in the Barbados Labor Party that has any interest in bringing exposure to this mess. Dirty hands abound, thieving all around, both sides have driven this economy into the ground. To the ac of the other persuasion: Has Mark Maloney’s treasure trove surpassed that of Owen’s main middle man Hallam? Or you feel that bajans forget already?

46. @Hamilton

It is a club, the political class. Remember the Estwick Gun matter?

47. ac needs to be banned for free expression of opinion that favors the DLP. In terms of the shadiness associated with politics in Barbados, THERE IS NO DIFFERENCE BETWEEN THE DLP AND THE BLP. Be careful what you wish for.

48. @ David… my point exactly. Unless you belong or have some special connection you have to be looney to be trying to preclude anybody from voicing an opinion regardless of your agreement or lack thereof.

49. PETITION TO BAN AC
    SIGNATURES
    (
    1) DR. THE HONOURABLE โ€“ February 20, 2015
    2 GEORGIE PORGIE โ€“ February 20, 2015