Submitted by Anthony Davis
Jeff Broomes, Principal of Parkinson School

Teachers at Parkinson Memorial Secondary are expected to go on the picket line tomorrow morning to protest principal Jeff Broomes’ failure to take disciplinary action against students who took knives and other weapons to school.” โ€“ Barbados Today 9 Feb 2015. It is incomprehensible to me why the teachers unions are always ready to strike. Is it because about twelve weeks’ vacation – plus about an additional three days as “Teachers’ days” – are not enough?

I don’t see any other profession getting extra days every three months, so why should teachers? The most of the tax payers who pay them, and whose scions they are supposed to teach, do not even get a quarter of the time off for vacation. They seem to have utter contempt for the parents/guardians of their charges, and by extension the students. They already have their education – paid for by the said people whose children they seem bent on depriving of theirs.

Mr. Broomes is concerned that the action may “leave too many children unsupervised”, but they are not the least bit concerned. Barbados must top the list for teacher strikes in the Caribbean – if not worldwide. This situation comes again during the time when students are preparing for exams. Will the BUT and its cohorts be able to alleviate the additional stress being placed on the tax payers who pay them, and on their scions/wards? Will the BUT help pay for the extra lessons for which the parents/guardians will have to pay? I doubt it.

What is the other reason for the strike?

Is that just a red herring for the strike?

I don’t know why so many things in this country are being done covertly!

On the other hand, weapons of any kind do not belong on a school compound, and those who are found with them should be punished. However, it is no excuse for striking if the students were not punished because there are so many things that go unpunished in this country, and no one goes on strike because people are not punished for them. Last year the BSTU and its members played the grand old duke of York and his men, so it seems to be your turn this year. It seems to be nothing but callousness on the part of the teachers and their unions!

For me our children are of paramount importance as they are the most vulnerable in our society, and I have very little sympathy for anyone who wants to deprive them of their education – no matter for what reason. They are an integral part of our society, and some of them are deviant like some adults, so that is no reason to put all of them in the same basket and put stumbling blocks in their way. They are already being deprived of tertiary education by this “people-centred” Government, and now you want to deprive them of their secondary one.

You must remember that you should not put stumbling blocks in children’s way!

I think that teachers should take more responsibility for those whom they are supposed to inculcate with what is set out in the curriculum. Why are you always attacking Mr. Broomes? He seems to be running his school with a tight rein, because before he was appointed principal of the Parkinson Memorial School one used to see many Parkinson students lingering in the Fairchild St. Bus Terminal, at bus stops, and elsewhere. Nowadays that is in the past, so he must be doing something right – perhaps more than some of you who keep haranguing him.

Do good, reap good; do evil, reap evil.” Chinese Proverb

180 responses to “The Jeff Broomes Affair, Again–What About the Children?”

1. ac February 13, 2015 at 12:52 PM #

Rosa Parks, shiiteโ€ฆโ€ฆ.. a very stupid analogyโ€ฆโ€ฆ a monstrous perversion of common sense.

Choosing to respond only to the matter of the 25 teachers [and ineffectively so], while ignoring all the other issues that were raised, has demonstrated you have a particular agenda against Jeff Broomes.

For you, itโ€™s not really about Broomes, the teachers or the students. As in keeping with your usual modus operandi, your efforts in being so critical of Broomes are based primarily on spinning the issue in an effort to defend Fruendel Stuartโ€™s decision to order an enquiry into Alexandra, that government was justified in wasting money on the enquiry as well as being justified in its decision to transfer Broomes, as recommended by the commission.

Why have you decided not focused on the ministry of education, and in particular, the minister, about being irresponsible and their failure to act decisively in handling these matters, rather than cast aspirations on Broomes character, based on your personal political bias.

As one you likes to speak of FACTS and TRUTH, especially when it comes to criticisms of members of this administration, there is no evidence to suggest that Broomes is at fault here. We have only the voices of a few disgruntled teachers who are opposed change and to whatever policies Broomes implement to facilitate such change. They are determined to do what it takes [and by any means necessary] so the status quo can remain unchanged.

2. Did you hear the guy on yesterdays Brass Tacks? He stated that he attended a party recently and there were plenty of guns around, Glocks, Uzis ,AK47’s, you name it. He went on to say that he believed that someone also had armour piercing rounds. Unbelievable!!

3. The evedience shows that he is in possession of illegal weapontry which by law should be handed over to the proper authorities no matter whose watch these weapontry were gathered he is the keeper ofthe gate the keys of possesion was given to him.he must take full responsibilty of owenership as well asmaking sure the school and safety of all who enters is not commpromise

4. Ignorance knows no bounds.

5. @ Hants
    Don’t mind DeeWord with this “Broomes” should give up and start his own school’ or go to Australia and watch cricket….

He who fights and run away only lives to shiite another day…

It is the principle of the thing… The whole ROLE of people like Caswell, Broomes and Walter is to keep rubbing salt into our festering sores. It is the only way we seem to recognize our wounds (some of us don’t even see the injuries then..)

DeeWord makes it seem like Broomes OWES it to Bajan parents to care about the welfare of their wutless children.. Wuh if he offers to work within the system TO IMPROVE RESULTS, …and is rebuffed, insulted and victimized by brass bowls, whose loss is it…?

When the boss bushman admonished his followers to become ‘the salt of the earth’ this is exactly what he meant…. not to solve their problems for them like children, but to rub salt into their nasty sores….and hopefully encourage them to address the wounds.

We all agree that eddy kashun is our nastiest and most expensive sore, and yet we have people unwilling to entertain change, and victimizing those who seek to champion such change.

Another point for you Hants… What call what police what???
    …yuh should call them for the CLICO thieves…

School is where children should be allowed to MAKE MISTAKES, get disciplined, corrected and reformed. The only (rare) times that police should be involved are where parents get involved and are uncooperative , or where serious crimes have been committed.
    Between teachers and parents should be able to deal effectively with 99% of student issues…including weapons in school (some GOOD children have done this in fear of VAGABOND BULLY schoolmates)

It is clear that we have attracted the WRONG people to the teaching profession…and clearly to the leadership of the teachers union.
    …and we have the unfortunate presence of AC and Dompey on BU….
    but…
    Not one shiite ain’t wrong with the children or with Broomes…

6. I agree that the issues is the teachers and I would fire everyone of them; and find individuals who truly wish try to provide an education to the children of Barbados. Education is a human rights, and our Bajan children should not be denied that their human rights.

7. I ain’t sure if this weapons issue is a prob re Parkinson or all the schools in BIM but as best as is possible let the Headmaster manage the school without intervention by police.

Now, un’stand this carefully – call the police for sure when dem sagaboys causing criminal mischief and ting but otherwise let the principal handle the show.

Over in America yah does have the real vexation if police come to a school because a yute misbehave.

If police intervene then tha yute ass is grass cause he getting he tail haul ‘way in handcuffs.

In handcuffs, whatever the issue.

And fuh real if he black den there starts his discombobulation wid police and possibly the prison system. Notch up another black man to dem already large numbers in the pokey (prison, I mean).

So I really in sure if this would evolve like that in Barbados but I’d say we beta look carefully before we mek tha leap even as we mek sure that these force ripe fruit tha en got nuh taste, get ripe properly and learn to behave da-selves bout there at Parkinson.

8. At the primary school I attended in the mid 40’s, a severe flogging was administered by the Head in front of the offending boy’s parents and witnessed by us younger boys.I have not forgotten it.
    At secondary school,in the 50’s the Head inflicted similar punishment on 2 boys in particular,boys of means,parents of whom were well off.Before the blows were delivered the form endured a lecture in acts and consequences.When we heard ‘bend over’it was birch and wooden desk but no tears ever from those boys.One became a senior officer of the law and the other an instructor in law of the highway.
    Further at that secondary school,an enterprising boy brought to school an air gun,one that ejected high velocity lead pellets and was paid a fee for a “shot”.No one got into trouble for it.Highly dangerous stuff but all innocent to the youngsters.

9. @ AC The evedience shows that he is in possession of illegal weapontry which by law should be handed over to the proper authorities no matter whose watch these weapontry were gathered he is the keeper ofthe gate the keys of possesion was given to him.

You really need to go out more. I’m beginning to think you’re really the PM, typing furiously on his Ipad instead of tending to house business. Would more than explain why Barbados is where it is and current vexatious screams and shouts of the PM.

Seriously though, you appear devoid of reason, whatever the subject.

10. one comment stated that other teachers along with broomes was removed from alexander isn,t it remarkable that no negative stories have been said about those teachers since their replacement

11. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Bush Tea February 13, 2015 at 2:45 PM
    โ€œIt is clear that we have attracted the WRONG people to the teaching profession..โ€

You call modern-day teaching a โ€œprofessionโ€? you are really living in the past, arenโ€™t you BBE (Brass Bowl Enigma)?
    If you pay for a service in peanuts who do you expect to attract to deliver that service, if not brass bowl monkeys?

The school is merely an extension of the home (family) or community. Why do you think there is a marked absence of males representing founts of authority and guidance at almost all agencies or institutions of socialization?
    Why is there an overabundance of females in the teaching โ€œprofessionโ€ especially at the formative stages of learning and socialization?

Until the โ€˜Societyโ€™ organizes its institutions along lines that reflect its demographic make-up (including marijuana smokers and dreadlock-looking people in the Police Force) I am afraid it (Society) will always produce BBBs (Bajan Brass Bowls) in large quantities.

12. Easy Squeeze (make no riot) Avatar
    Easy Squeeze (make no riot)

It must be revelation time
    because when the people hear the truth
    their mothers & fathers were murderers from the beginning
    so their children couldn’t do no better

so when you hear the truth from the beginning
    you can teach the youth
    that crime is for dead

but as for the righteous
    they know themselves
    know what is wrong
    truth time
    for good ones

13. @ac
    consistent as always. Unfortunately.

@bushie
    “Between teachers and parents should be able to deal effectively with 99% of student issues”

true true true. But both parents and teachers need some balls or a good bushwhacker.

@miller
    Dottinization involves being “in the public interest.” One can argue that Broomesey’s situation hasn’t gotten that severe….yet.

you asked alot of pertinent questions to start. The key thing here is leadership.

Broomes – not a “good” leader in the human relations context.
    Shepherd – not a good leader based on what is read in the media
    Ministry – not a good leader on a whole based on past situations

If only these leaders could sit down over a “bowl of soup” in Bathsheba then we could get on with the business at hand.

This situation is unnecessary, unfortunate and clearly it seems unending.

Poor us. Poor children.

Just observing

P.S. Cabinet approve the bursaries finally??? Ronald musse jonesing all now. lol.

14. Didn’t Sinckler publicly state the MoF was not allocating bursary funds? What a farce which inspires no confidence. Glad for the beneficiaries though.

On 13 February 2015 at 21:32, Barbados Underground wrote:

15. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Observing February 13, 2015 at 5:32 PM
    ” @miller
    Dottinization involves being โ€œin the public interest.โ€ One can argue that Broomeseyโ€™s situation hasnโ€™t gotten that severeโ€ฆ.yet.”

Yeah right, Observing.
    But spending over $600,000 of taxpayers money in the AX affair was indeed โ€œin the public interestโ€?
    Who were a major recipients of that massive slice of the fatted calf if not Hal Gollop and the other legal cronies who are not only pals of of Freundel but also intimate advisors to the embattled and embroiled Leroy Parris?

16. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

The people who are commenting on this issue seem not to understand what is going on and obviously do not understand the role that the Barbados Union of Teachers (BUT) is playing. Your comments seem to be totally off the mark.

Have you ever noticed that every time the Government is facing severe criticism that the BUT jumps in to divert attention away from the real issues? You should also note that the union seems not to be able to identify and articulate its position. When this latest round of BUT lunacy started they were complaining about the management styles of the principals is Parkinson and Alma Parris schools, and in the case of Alma Parris, they were also complaining about timetable clashes. I happen to know that the programme that was used would not would not allow the timetables to be printed if there any clashes. The union was therefore stating a falsehood in order to create confusion and justify their dishonesty.

Now that their efforts have not gained any traction, they have switched issues to justify their stupidity. Pray tell me, if teachers are in fear of their lives in the morning because students bring weapons to school, why are they not in fear of their lives in the afternoon. Could it be that the children with weapons only attend classes during the morning sessions.

You must understand Pedro Shepherd’s predicament, when you see a jackass pulling a cart, you must understand that the creature up front is not leading. The leader is actually the fellow behind in the cart. Your challenge is to identify the fellow in the cart that is steering Shepherd. Ee haw, ee haw!

17. it is amazing how many can gives broomes a pass for stashing weapons on school property
    now what if that school was held up by masked gunman an they got hold of that many weapons, i wonder how many people would be making comments to the effect that brromes should not be challenged on this issue,

18. what a simplistic way of averting the weapon issue on the grounds that if a teacher partially shows up for work that means that there is nothing to fear,how asinine,
    the issue of safety does not mean a person is going to avoid driving because of too many accidents,
    the long and short of the story is the principle which dictates the teachers a right to pursue an atmosphere that is a safety free zone,, no bull shit excuses,

19. The teachers should go back and teach . I was at school up to a year ago. I did well despite the teachers and their folly. I did studies on my own but I have good examples to follow at home. What about those students who are weak ?-TEACHERS should humble and teach and stop playing foolish games.

20. ac February 13, 2015 at 7:26 PM #

it is amazing how many can gives broomes a pass for stashing weapons on school property
    now what if that school was held up by masked gunman an they got hold of that many weapons, i wonder how many people would be making comments to the effect that brromes should not be challenged on this issue
    ………………………………………………………………………………………..
    Imagine that !!!. An armed robbery, to steal knives and scissors. Goddarm it !! and I thought that I was at risk guarding many an armoury, magazine (not Playboy ) and barracks in another life.

21. @Submitted by Anthony Davis “plus about an additional three days as โ€œTeachersโ€™ daysโ€ โ€“ are not enough?”

Was it the same Jeff who introduced the “Teacher’s Professional Days” a North American import.

But nobody has introduced the North American practice of paying teachers only for the 40 weeks a year when they actually teach. For the other 12 weeks they can get a real job, and do real work…otherwise no pay. Now I would like to see that introduced ’bout here.

22. I wonder if these 2 principals are on the autism spectrum.

We test and treat the pupils for communication difficulties.

But nobody tests the teachers.

Isn’t that strange.

23. @Colonel Buggy February 13, 2015 at 1:56 PM “Did you hear the guy on yesterdays Brass Tacks? He stated that he attended a party recently and there were plenty of guns around, Glocks, Uzis ,AK47โ€™s, he believed that someone also had armour piercing rounds.”

LOL!!!! You heard wrong Colonel. I was listening to Brass Tacks too and the guy said that he had recently attended a war.

24. @Bush Tea February 13, 2015 at 2:45 PM…He who fights and run away only lives to shiite another dayโ€ฆ

You got me catspraddled again, sir.

I previously understood your kind remarks about Broomes to suggest that the man was something of a visionary in education circles in Barbados, but maybe I was mistaken.

You described him as a man with “impressive ideas, selfless developmental concepts, and high quality initiatives that goes completely against the grain” and I equated that to being a visionary.

As Webster describes, that is: having or showing clear ideas about what should happen or be done in the future.

So I thought of Errol Barrow -visionary – running away from Grantley Adams and starting the DLP and doing his lotta shiiite another day; I thought too of Bill Gates -visionary – ‘running’ away from IBM to start his DOS software and doing his lotta shiiite.

Both of them wonderfully successful after moving on from situations where they were swimming against the tide and setting new exciting paths that many others have now followed.

I also thought of Richie Haynes running from Erskine Sandiford and starting his own thing. He failed but he boldly made his statement and certainly lived to shiite proudly many more days .

And then we have your boy Broomes; a visionary in your words with his impressive ideas and so on.

But here he is, still submerged and swimming desperately against the tide of a union-centric educational system which he clearly believes is wasteful, moribund and failing the children.

So maybe it’s the other component of visionary which should be applied to him: illusory and incapable of being realized or achieved; just existing in the imagination.

Broomes needs to either #2 or get off the potty. He is either part of a solution or the genesis of the problem.

You cannot have it both ways with his antics.

25. @ DeeWord
    Those examples you gave all wanted something for THEMSELVES, …and struck out on their own to get it….
    The same logic does not work in cases where someone has something to GIVE…

If Broomes start a private school some rich children would benefit from his gift rather than the ones like at Parkinson who REALLY need such caring guidance.

life if complicated Dee …what can Bushie say…? ๐Ÿ™‚

26. Bushie it’s not about rich kids.

This ‘US Charter School’ concept is not a model with which Bajans are familiar or in fact a model that may even be viable in Barbados but as expressed in the article linked by the Colonel is akin to the model described in this British example: “publicly funded independent schools’ โ€” launched to replace failing schools in poor areas.”

The interesting difference between this example and the US is that Charter Schools are a political concept more associated with the Republican (Tory) side of the political aisle rather than the Democrats (Labour).

Thus, I am not aware of an over abundance of union presence in charter schools in US as seen in this example here in the British system.

But that apart, to do this would be war in a place as small as Barbados because a Broomes type general with a cadre of carefully selected like minded teachers providing their brand of ‘visionary’ instruction to the type of student who would otherwise be at Parkinson could badly show up the moribund failure of the current system.

Frankly neither the Minister, the Chief Ed officer or the unions would accept that punch in he eye.

27. correction: “…that punch in THE eye.”

28. @ DeeWord
    In Barbados …. it WOULD be about rich kids…..and anyway…the environment in St Winifreds would not benefit from a Broomes type….

…so then you agree that what people like Broomes, Walter and Caswell should do, …is to continue to “stick it” to authorities by always being “in their faces” doing the RIGHT things and letting the chips fall where they may….

In the final analysis, life is not really about the quantum of achievement so much as the QUALITY of effort.

29. people with “up in your face “attitudes like bush tea and Caswell will never get nothing done in the area of getting masses to endorse .as they say like minds think alike, what the bush teas and caswell need to do is study the positives of a broomes and weighed them against their negatives what one would find that the propensity for the negatives to cancel out their positives is greater leaving vulnerable to attacks while cascading their positives into free fall of nothingness

30. @Bush Tea

You are correct. We will always need people who rail against the system; a system poked full of holes caused by greed and dishonesty because after all it is a man made construct. If we do nothing then it goes its merry way and the richer will get richer and …

31. @ David
    Check the back page of Barbados Today.
    If THAT is not a candidate for lawyers in the news then nothing is….
    Here is the HIGHEST court of the land literally insulting specific queens counsels (common letters) in Barbados for “improper, unreasonable and negligent conduct” for what was a clearly UNDERHAND effort to frustrate justice.

No wonder the two of them are representing Leroy Parris….. French Connectors!!

32. Bushie as you know BU is often accused of being negative because we continue to focus on what is systemically wrong with our little country. Until the people, the majority anyway, wake up and forget positions informed by ignorance or political positions we will continue to slide.

33. there is nothing wrong with railing against or for that matter railing for. however finding a balance to distribute a message is necessary for achievement ,study social activist like Mandela l and MLK were able to achieve much without bringing chaos into the midst, because they were able to exhibit and execute a message that was acceptable by the masses through balance,

34. @ac February 14, 2015 at 8:30 …study social activist like Mandela l and MLK were able to achieve much without bringing chaos into the midst, because they were able to exhibit and execute a message that was acceptable by the masses through balance…………………

You sir/madam are the other reason why as David and Bushie suggested that it’s necessary to maintain the ‘in your face’ attitude to those in authority.

The lies and subterfuge that you attempt to perpetuate in the guise of rational comment are appalling.

There was absolutely EVERYTHING about the fight of Mandela and MLK and all those who worked closely with them that was about upheaval, major disruption of the status quo and in some key areas absolute chaos.

I don’t believe that Medgar Evers’ wife and family or Steve Biko’s family or the families of Messrs. Goodman, Chaney & Schwerner all killed during these non chaotic times of your revisionist history would take kindly to your astonishing remarks,

You are a dangerous and dishonest scribe.

Say what you want to say but as I have asked repeatedly, be HONEST.

I challenge you. If you see any comments from this writer that are ever as factually dishonest and blatantly wrong as that type of drivel then call me on it. If valid then I will never ever criticize one of your comments again.

35. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Bush Tea February 14, 2015 at 8:08 AM

Glad you noticed it too!
    And these are the people that are supposed to represent the moral bedrock and successful pillars of the Bajan society.

Werenโ€™t the same queers of counsel recipients of large shares of the Ax School Commission of Enquiry milch cow whose udders are now all dried up and sore?

Isnโ€™t Hal Godhorse Gollop a confidant and special advisor to the PM?
    What does that say about the quality of advice offered or should we conclude that the quality of advice can be measured by the quality of the decisions taken by the vacillating man at the top?

All is โ€˜brass-bowleryโ€™, just plain โ€˜brass-bowleryโ€™, King Solomon Bushie!

โ€œDignity consists not in possessing honors, but in the consciousness that we deserve them.โ€ ~Aristotle

36. By the way, has anyone else noticed that the Chief Education Officer has been missing FROM the action? Rumour has it that he laying low over a matter of correspondence with a Principal.

37. dee ac differ with your comment as of up to tihis day both MLK and Mandella advocate non violence. they both had dreams and aspiration attached and. attained through there words and deeds.there. were those who opposed their methods and ideaologies as being pacificist and took on the role of change by any means necessary which both leaders rejected

38. Bushie

Don’t get carried away by what the CCJ says. What they said about the Gollops and Vernon Smith might be true but I find no comfort in relying on anything that they say. Yes, it is the highest court of Barbados but I find that their legal pronouncements are poorly researched, if researched at all. As a result, their judgments belie the word “Justice” in their name.

A case on point is the ruling that they gave in the Winton Campbell case. They have destroyed the protection that public officers had from arbitrary politically inspired dismissals. Their far-reaching decision was made without hearing any arguments on abolishing posts in the public service. In effect public officers can be terminated and they have to wait until they reach 60 years of age before they could receive compensation.

They made a mistake and are now too ashamed to correct it became their error was brought to their attention by a layman.

I hold no brief for Hal Gollop, to be honest, I don’t like him but there is some merit in his reported call to other countries to stay away from the CCJ. They have too little to do to be delivering such shoddy judgments. If their decisions are so poor when they have so few cases to adjudicate, what do you think would happen if and when other countries subject themselves to their inept judgments.

Please don’t tell me that I was one of the persons who wrote in support of the concept of a Caribbean court. I still think that it is a good idea but it went wrong in the implementation and staffing.

39. DeeWord

On honesty, error and drivel, I hope you will apply your galactical brain to every comment you read on here – including this one.

As for ac….I have never thought of sir or madam as dangerous. It fulfills a purpose – dissent. Think – if ac wasn’t ac you would not have had the opportunity to scorn galactically and David’s blog would have been the poorer. Moreover, (this for Pacha to google) as E H Carr asked ‘What is history?’ and at what point does ‘perception’ become ‘dishonesty’? Quot homines and all that…..And remember, ac and everyone else have their “beliefs” and “don’t believes” just as you do. Think of Bush Tea – every Sunday morning he says “I believe in God the Father…..” and in his heart mutters “brass bowl”.

Caswell

IF an argument is not argued (as you say in the case you cite) who’s fault is it?

You are not in the ordinary mold; don’t, like Gollop, suffer ‘sour grape syndrome’.

(I am at one with you about the perception of lay persons though)

40. @robert ross February 14, 2015 at 11:52…I have never thought of sir or madam as dangerous…ac and everyone else have their โ€œbeliefsโ€ and โ€œdonโ€™t believesโ€ just as you do.=============

Ross, I have been previously assailed with your lawyer’s verbal skill so I am less discombobulated now by your ‘awesome’ presentations.

I ascribe to the context that the pen is mightier than the sword. AC is therefore dangerous; apart from being inaccurate.

First they came for the communists and all that…

I did not question AC’s belief. It was his/her veracity that was of deep concern.

The response they gave was just as disingenuous suggesting there was little merit in further engagement.

And BTW how did my brain become so ‘galactical’? I really didn’t grasp that barb.

41. @Ross

All courts need the jester.

42. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Ross

I think that I did not make myself clear. The far-reaching decision that I mentioned which is devastating the Public Service was not argued before the court because it was not called upon to decide on that matter. The statement was made obiter.

43. DeeWord

On ‘belief’…you don’t quite get it…you said of the Evers and Biko families “I don’t believe…” I simply pointed out that ac was entitled also to his/her’s don’ts and do’s even if erroneous or, more, total crap.

And on “further engagement”….you must have twigged by now that by “engagement” on here is meant typically either (a) slagging off (which is essentially what you did to ac), or (b) parroting in one form or another. The rest of us mostly talk only to ourselves. I think it’s time for you to meet Dompey. But then I guess the game has become boring even for him.

On Niemoller, who will speak for ac if not hirself? Hir has stood on the bridge alone often enough amusing us, and, yes, as you say, armed only with a pen and a hat with a little bell.

Of course ac is the jester in your court when hir’s not playing emissary and you know very well you wouldn’t want it any other way. But then, as you know very well too, the jest may well present a window on the world.

44. Caswell

Thanks for responding – but if I now understand you, don’t be too hard on them.

45. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Ross

I can’t help the way I feel about the CCJ. They have made a mistake that is wreaking havoc in the Public Service and they are not decent enough to correct it. I have no respect for them and the Myrie case did not help either.

46. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Dee Word

Twas not a barb the word galactical it was Ross’ way of expressing a compliment of your “stellar” skills which others of us note and hope that you will apply when you run for political office next time

47. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

correction “…that you will apply when you and Mr. Franklyn run for political office next time…”

48. ac does not write only read what have been said of one of our great leadserd of this te and in his own wordshis committment to non voilence was explicit when he stated
    Darkness cannot drive out darkness only light can do that
    Hate cannot drive out hate only love can do that! those are his own words to his detractors who believed that his formula for chane was only to appease and slowed down the procesd for quick change.
    Hence you had the other groups that emerged and built a legacy out of violence
    However none of them that have contributed to change through violent means have been able to rise to the level and stature of MLK or. Mandella

49. @pieceuhderockyeahright February 14, 2015 at 2:38 …Twas not a barb … expressing a compliment of your โ€œstellarโ€ skills =====

Absolutely proper. I’ll take that. LOLL.

@ robert ross February 14, 2015 at 2:23 …”On โ€˜beliefโ€™โ€ฆyou donโ€™t quite get itโ€ฆyou said of the Evers and Biko families โ€œI donโ€™t believeโ€ฆโ€ ac was entitled also to his/herโ€™s donโ€™ts and doโ€™s even if erroneous or, more, total crap.”=====

You are the lawyer sir, so when you come back with this type of nonsense the non-lawyer in me does love to reengage you.

Mr. Attorney surely you know that my use of ‘I believe’ was exceedingly facetious as a counter-point to AC’s rather disingenuous juxtaposition of the names of Mandela and MLK with NO chaos.

Any cursory reading of the times clearly shows that ‘non-violence’ was a super tactic but it certainly was intent on creating chaos, disruption and change.

That’s factual not a belief. The remarks were simply ridiculous on any level.

You sir are being a deliberate antagonist with your own straw argument. I criticized (slagged) AC’s erroneous remarks, not any held belief.

And I challenged him/her to simply speak with an acceptable level of clarity and veracity. I could care less who they support.

Just as I criticize your often gymnastic presentations.

With enough motivation you would definitely hit 10s on all the exercises in your routine. And you know there will be a Russian or Swiss judge who will award an 11 because you are so good.

As I have said to you before: based on your actions here I would hire you as my advocate before a jury in a heart-beat; particularly if my heart beat depended on that presentation.