Former Prime Minister David Thompson (l) Former Chairman CLICO Holdings B'dos Ltd rumoured to be local partners in Cost-U-Less
Former Prime Minister David Thompson (l) Former Chairman CLICO Holdings B’dos Ltd rumoured to be local partners in Cost-U-Less

The news that the Deloitte Judicial Manager has taken action to recover $3.3. million dollars paid to Leroy Parris via Thompson & Associates has flushed out Laroy Parris and his credentialed lawyers Hal Gollop QC and Vernon Smith QC. BU will not be side-tracked by the theatre that will be orchestrated around this matter about how $3.3 millions dollars found its way into the deep pocket of former Executive Chairman of CLICO Leroy Parris.ย  What some of us want to know is if there is consensus the invoice generated to support the $3.3. million payment is legitimate and whether taxes and relevant laws have been honoured. Does Parris and his lawyers dispute the findings of Deloitte Judicial Forensic Report on the matter?

To pursue a clinical approach to discovering truth and justice in the matter of CLICO and the $3.3. million dollar payment we highlight Walter Blackmanโ€™s intervention posted on another blog Speaker Michael Carrington and Deputy Speaker Mara Thompson Drag the Highest Court in the Land Into the Gutter.

It is extremely important for all of us to understand that we are witnessing some of the features and results of a system with a foundation that was designed in the early 1980โ€™s. Back then, a handful of civil servants and politicians saw the enormous sweets to be reaped from having poor control mechanisms in place to account for taxpayersโ€™ money. Any millions that could be grabbed from private sector operations were also considered fair game.

A special feature of a life insurance company operating in Barbados is that the safety of policyownersโ€™ premiums is supposed to be protected by built-in safeguards in the form of : actuaries, auditors, accountants and high-quality company management, regulators, statutory reserves, the Minister of Finance, and the Prime Minister.

Note that, under this approach, the buck stops with the Prime Minister. Whenever everything else has failed, policyholders would expect him to do all within his political power to protect and safeguard their interests.

This suit by the JM shows that rather than the buck stopping with the PM, the assault started with him. Armed also with the power of being the PM, the Minister of Finance joined the assault and betrayed the public trust by engaging in money laundering, and other forms of criminal and fraudulent behaviour. Statutory reserves were disregarded; regulators were handpicked, โ€œtrainedโ€, and used; CLICO intentionally never had any quality management, and its accountant seemed anxious and willing to sign away millions of policyholdersโ€™ cash at the slightest of Mr. Parrisโ€™ urgings.

Sensible Barbadians should now be asking: Was David Thompson the only PM and /or Minister of Finance who accelerated the demise of CLICO? Or did he choose to walk a path that had already been mapped out by others before him? Did his criminal, unethical, and morally unsavoury character have any influence on the type of persons he handpicked as candidates, ministers, and successors?

162 responses to “Leroy Parris and the $3.333 Million Payment”

1. John Hanson 1781-1782- I SERVE 1788- 1792 BARBADOES. Avatar
    John Hanson 1781-1782- I SERVE 1788- 1792 BARBADOES.

These crooks are not new crooks, No one listen and now all pays the price, Crooks, liars and scumbags never stops taking from everyone, Until we all see that we all in the same boat , no one will care about a sinking ship,

Well the alarm is sound and grab your life vest, Now you all can see what Land Fraud does to a Nation who pocks fun at the truth , Lawyers and Ministers of both parties have rape everyone and every thing of value,

They leave nothing for no one, Clico crooks pull most of the money out by burning down building and Great house on Plantations
    to pull out the money, Then to Push down the land marks of the windmills ,

So now are they saying 3,333 million is all they can find to trace back to? Bull shit , check 1to 92 must be found and 92 to 200 or 300 till the end of the company,

Better check also on Haggat Hall great house, Sam Lord, Good land and others ,

2. John Hanson 1781-1782- I SERVE 1788- 1792 BARBADOES. Avatar
    John Hanson 1781-1782- I SERVE 1788- 1792 BARBADOES.

Violet Beckles , lawyers she used and all got rich and free rent , took over her buildings , some have died and more to be added later,Even the BAR sitting on the land ,,,

https://www.facebook.com/427129324101550/photos/pb.427129324101550.-2207520000.1422957452./437183719762777/?type=1&theater

3. Though long in coming this is definitely good news. What is most bothersome is the fact that many a poor person has been victimized and disenfranchised through the dishonest actions of a man in whom tremendous confidence was repose. That the late David John Howard Thompson stood up at the Bussa Roundabout looked Barbadians straight in their eyes and swore to relieve our country of the shenanigans of the Arthur administration is for me unforgivable.Admiinistration

4. Did you all watch CBC news last night? To hear and see Leroy sitting in the company of his lawyers and telling D whole Barbados he has done nothing wrong and would do it all again, was enough to make anyone who knows about the CLICO demise>>> PUKE! May I ask Leboy why then your sudden departure\retirement from the company when trouble start? Leboy tell us, is it reasonable for any rational thinking person to see sense in a management official receiving $10 Million in Bonus\gratuity from a company brought to its knees by mismanagement?…..A colossus diffusion doggie dumplins effulence….

5. millertheanunnaki Avatar

โ€œWhat some of us want to know is if there is consensus the invoice generated to support the $3.3. million payment is legitimate and whether taxes and relevant laws have been honoured. Does Parris and his lawyers dispute the findings of Deloitte Judicial Forensic Report on the matter?โ€

Now herein lies the Achilles heal of Leroy’s case.
    It would be interesting to hear how Gollop and Smith argue their way out of the tax evasion trap that Parris has found himself.
    Many white collar criminals in the USA and in more legally sophisticated jurisdictions have been caught through breaches of those countriesโ€™ revenue laws.

It would strengthen BIPAโ€™s case if the JM and the legal team can exploit the โ€œfactโ€ that Leroy Parris is in breach of the Income Tax Act and the Money Laundering Act and aided and abetted by Thompson Associates in further breaches of the VAT Act.

Will the Minister of Finance, supported by the PM, be extending further succor to their pal Parris by preventing the Commissioner of the BRA from conducting investigations into Parrisโ€™s financial affairs over the last 7 years?

Maybe Gollop & Smith can engage the services of those more expert in Revenue law and take on board both Amused and Robert Ross to argue Parrisโ€™s case with greater vigour.

6. are-we-there-yet Avatar

David;

You (or walter) said in your chapeau “Did his criminal, unethical, and morally unsavoury character have any influence on the type of persons he handpicked as candidates, ministers, and successors?”.

Therein lies the rub.

IMHO, much of what we have been seeing and experiencing over the past 7 years or so will eventually be traced back to the “birds of a feather” syndrome. But I think however that his main successor was not himself of the same moral degeneracy of a DT but was instead merely someone with predominantly good intentions, who did not have the mental or other attributes to stem the flow of the putrid river surrounding him. Regular washing of one’s hands with soap does not count.

This however, is not to gainsay the fact that the decline started earlier, but imho it metastasized when a CLICO operative took the helm of the country.

7. Clico policyholders in Trinidad are being represented by a known no- holes- barred
    lawyer who is prepared to go all the way to the Privy Council to seek justice in this big scam called Clico.
    Given the incestuous relationship among the corrupt political class and the some of the legal fraternity in Barbados,would it not be in the interest of the Barbadian policyholders to bring the Trinidad lawyer into this Barbados suit?just asking.
    And what of the Last Will and Testament of Thompson.A will is a public document but it is a closely guarded secret in Barbados,as a result there are many stories in the public domain that the man left an estate in the region of 33 to 39 million,the beneficiary of which would be his wife.This is no walk in the park.There are lots of unanswered transactions involving unsavoury people and which must be flushed out if we are to have confidence in the way forward.Or. Do we allow scamps and dishonest salesmen aided and abetted by lawyers,rewrite the laws of Barbados.

8. Instead of that poor soul bawling for murder to save his life in Black Rock should been Leroy Parris instead.Blinking miscreant and scumbag!

9. A senior Barbados Labour Party (BLP) is questioning why no criminal investigation has been led into the circumstances surrounding the collapse of CLICO

http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2015/02/03/blp-on-clico-why-no-criminal-probe/

10. Former Chairman of CLICO Holdings Barbados Limited Leroy Parris has hit back at the judicial managers of the insurance company over a lawsuit that he said suggested he was not entitled to a $3.3 million payment.

http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2015/02/03/parris-fighting-clico-court-action/

11. @ Exclaimer February 3, 2015 at 10:08 AM #

A senior Barbados Labour Party (BLP) is questioning why no criminal investigation has been led into the circumstances surrounding the collapse of CLICO…………..

And you know what is so ironic, soon after the scumbag declared that he had done nothing wrong, there was a story that two men were remanded to Dodds for illegally harvesting sea eggs………………..that hurt me. Who knows if out of desperation to get some money to feed their families, they had to resort to this. But to remand them and Leroy Parris has destroyed so many lives by his thieving and he could be on my TV justifying his thieving, aided and abetted by two scumbags and he could still roam Barbados free!

Only in Barbados!

12. You go John Hanson….keep the updated list of the crooked and dishonest lawyers in Barbados going every week. Their clients and potential clients need to be protected somehow from the victimization visited on them by lawyers, the bar association is too crooked to do so, there is no other choice.

Kamla Persaud, female Prime Minister of TRINIDAD AND TOBAGO GOT BALLS. That’s the mark of a true leader and not a puppet.

Fruendel Stuart, male Prime Minister of Barbados has NO BALLS and displays all the hallmarks of a true puppet.

Regardless of what crimes the politicians, lawyers in Barbados commit against the island, taxpayers or house of parliamentary vipers they inhabit, not one of the leaders of the DLP/BLP governments will ever fire, punish or ask these disrespectful politicians to resign because they are all equally corrupt.

That attitude and distinction has finally elevated the DLP/BLP governments of Barbados to a new level of laughing stock across North America and the Caribbean.

BTW…i heard Fruendel Stuart’s esteemed friend Leroy Parris is blaming Stuart for the collapse of CLICO because according to Parris, he told Stuart not to appoint a judicial manager, but a manager to continue selling insurance to the gullible, which is easily translated to stealing more policyholders money and diverting it to Parris’ own private company.

There really is way too much honor among politicians, their esteemed friends and fellow thieves…lol

13. David

We like how this piece goes to the systemic. We should always focus on the elites. Not only politicians and business elites but senior civil servants especially. If only we could get these people, en mass, to be put in jail or to meet a certain antiquarian device, maybe, just maybe some transformation could happen.

14. @ Prodigal

Well said…. Don’t forget….” the man is my friend, he is no leper” – As one writter so avidly puts it….”Dodds was not made for DEM so but for poor people”…Bajans really are a tolerant bunch. …. poor men locked up for harvesting sea- eggs and Parris boldfacely defies a High Court Order not to sell any more policies (800) and ain’t serve a day.

15. If there was a prime minister in Barbados who took no prisoners like Kamla, we would not be having this discussion.

16. Has anyone conducted a Forensic Audit of Leroy’s finances and most importantly his Income Taxation forms? Many transgresors habitually get caught by NOT reporting TAXABLE Income, remember Al Capone??????????????

Has anyone conducted a Psychological Profile to determine how Psychopathic/ Sociopathic????

17. On a different point which still points to governance, did the minister of labour Byer and chairman Hal Gollop not promised a quick operationalizing of the ERT?

18. All this hottering and wailing anf gnashing of teeth bythe BLP yardfowls about this issue has been said for the past seven years over and over againNow this case is in the hands of the Court.Now do u yardfowlds belive that your loud noise going change the outcome. i meaning if your influence was that important to Law or orders renderefd by all means Carrington would be in jail for Theft. wunna nee need to stop applying ignorance and stop acting like animals fighting over

19. @ac
    Time to stop playing games, as you say, and BRING in truly INDEPENDENT Judges from the UK! Judges known for their knowledge, INTEGRITY and delivering the toughest possible sentences for MISCREANTS regardless of status, political affiliation etc.

20. Apparently, Leroy and Hal did not invite the Nation or StarCom Network to their public relations news conference that was held yesterday.

21. All of these allegations of corruption do not bode well for Barbados: from the speaker, to the now deceased ex prime minister; to the Nigerians missing millions and now the resurrection of the CLICO saga all within a few weeks. I recall only a month or so ago Barbados being cited as one of the least corrupt nations – how is that possible? In the UK we adopted the 7 principles of public life and although it has not stamped out corruption, we have seen members of parliament jailed for claiming false expenses and passing their speeding points off to their wife, etc. Unfortunately Barbados is becoming a laughing stock in the Caribbean, Americas and beyond and not because of the the fraudulent actions of a few but because of the clear absence of any utterance or action by the Government to root out corrupt behaviour and bring the alleged culprits to account. Until this occurs Barbados can expect more downgrades from Moody and less external investment – If I had millions, I would not invest it in a country where the Government is so tolerant of white collar fraud. In addition my brothers and sisters, you need to stand up and be counted and not accept this behaviour in your country’s name, many people have lost their pensions and this should not be tolerated by the masses. There is a man on the comments section of the BBToday who worked with Mr Parris and is willing to testify against him. He provides his name in full and has therefore set himself up as a target – he needs to be supported before his comments are obliterated and he is ostracised. http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2015/02/03/hands-clean/#comments

22. @ac February 3, 2015 at 12:14 PM #

All this hottering and wailing anf gnashing of teeth bythe BLP yardfowls about this issue has been said for the past seven years over and over againNow this case is in the hands of the Court………………………………..

I pity you.

David and us on BU have you working overtime at your full time job of being an ignoramus rivaling the clown from St Lucy!

23. CIBC First Caribbean Bank know something they don’t like about the money being deposited into the bank account of the man in question. Where is that money now?

24. There is a principle that weighs heavily with the recent unfolding of events connecting this issue called seeking “justice”or the scales of justice a formality that is inclusive of guilt or innoncent whether one likes it or not.Those who are trying to turn justice on its head is doing so at there own peril for within this scheme there is a mechanisim for truth and honesty.

25. @ ac – don’t you feel ashamed at the direction Barbados is taking? I have no political affiliations in Barbados but don’t you believe in your heart that the inactivity of the current and past governments of Barbados are exacerbating the situation and thereby facilitating the view that they are complicit in the fraudulent actions of a few people? I accept that the balance of power is precarious but this should not be maintained at the expense of eroding the rights of the public to see the government act with probity and integrity. I cannot say whether persons accused are guilty or not – that is for a court to decide – what I will say however is when a country puts a 70+ year old on bail for allegedly stealing toiletries and men on bail for stealing sea eggs – the same should go for those who are alleged of stealing millions of dollars of Bajan’s hard earned cash which they are unlikely to ever see again. This to me is not rocket science. Think cause and effect, I concluded my Masters with a dissertation on the Social Contract – it’s but by the grace of god Bajans are so passive otherwise there would be anarchy.

26. Let us admit that no system is perfect. This is where citizen power and advocacy plays an important part and it is what define a democracy. Citizens have to participate, we cannot be resigned to the system.

27. millertheanunnaki Avatar

“Unfortunately Barbados is becoming a laughing stock in the Caribbean, Americas and beyond and not because of the the fraudulent actions of a few but because of the clear absence of any utterance or action by the Government to root out corrupt behaviour and bring the alleged culprits to account. Until this occurs Barbados can expect more downgrades from Moody and less external investment โ€“ If I had millions, I would not invest it in a country where the Government is so tolerant of white collar fraud.”

Thanks Josh for reinforcing what I have been saying all along.
    If Bajans believe that the continuing downgrades are entirely as a result of its current economic misfortunes caused by the reverberations and repercussions in the world economy then they are sadly mistaken.

Barbados has no resources of interest to international investors other than its once patented good name earned over the years through good honest governance with functioning State institutions, a congenial political and social climate with reliable utilities and infrastructural assets. Sadly these positives are fast turning into negatives.
    No foreign investor either institutional or individual of legitimate standing would put their money or their clients’ monies is a resource-scarce country whose only asset is it’s good name unless they feel confident that the rule of law and moral code of decency and fair play would always be the guiding principles in conducting business not only in the private sector but also in the administration of the affairs of State.

Sadly Barbados has been proving recently that it is just another fallen black-governed country on the verge of banana republican status.

28. Mr. Marshall called on the police to investigate while he spoke to the media, but maybe he can put it in writing and forward to the most relevant authorities and release said letter to the press.

29. Peeps, Bim MUST have INTEGRITY Legislation ASAP and those who have stolen the hardworking peoples money must pay the price. We may have to triple the size of Dodds!

The World is very LACKING in DISCIPLINE and ACCOUNTABILITY by those in positions of Trust.

The time has arrived for a Tranquil Social Revolution.

30. josh ac is ashamed for people of your ilk who have an unquenchable taste forpower even if it means destroying a democractic system in the name of self interest and political power

31. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

Is Lawrence Duprey’s private island house (3 Harborage Fort Lauderdale – telephone 954 467 1939) still up for sale at US$9.95 million?

32. @ac
    The point is that those currently in power are sowing the seeds of DEMOCRACY DESTRUCTION!
    How long should any group be permitted to RAPE and PILLAGE the populace?????????

I dont care whether it is D or B or P, it is BAJANS that MUST come first, foremost and ONLY!

CORRUPTION is RIFE even the Speaker and Deputy of the House are questionable actors and require proper unbiased investigation by totally independent foreign 3 rd parties with totally unimpeachable track records.

33. @Adrian

He is only selling one of the many houses they own in that area? Why not set the Fed’s on them for Moneylaundering?

Years in Club Fed would suit such BASTARDS!

34. @ oziboy February 3, 2015 at 3:53 PM Mr. Marshall called on the police to investigate while he spoke to the media, but maybe he can put it in writing and forward to the most relevant authorities and release said letter to the press……

Ozi, Mr Marshall was giving his opinion on matters that are known to the public. Simply stated he is speaking as a private citizen who happens to be an attorney and from all that we know of him he can also add and subtract numbers (finance) effectively.

I read on this blog that the Com. of Police also happens to be an attorney. The DPP and all his office staff are either attorneys are well versed in legal matters and all of them and COP I believe can also add and subtract numbers effectively.

Based on that, can you please, please tel me wha nonsense you talking ’bout that it necessary for Marshall or anyhow else to “… put it in writing and forward to the most relevant authorities…”.

Can’t they read, write and spell well enough to see the same facts that every other right minded person sees; don’t they have relatives or maybe themselves affected by this big financial doo-doo.

They don’t need any push to initiate an investigation. They need a conviction that they and their family would not be victimized, and that no one will give them.

So the matter will stay in the civil court for now.

35. SITH February 3, 2015 at 1:42 PM #

CIBC First Caribbean Bank know something they donโ€™t like about the money being deposited into the bank account of the man in question. Where is that money now?
    ………………………………………………….
    Check with Caswell. Last I heard, it was deposited in his Credit Union.

36. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ oziboy February 3, 2015 at 3:53 PM
    โ€œMr. Marshall called on the police to investigate while he spoke to the media, but maybe he can put it in writing and forward to the most relevant authorities and release said letter to the pressโ€

Well said, Oziboy!

Why can’t these โ€˜whiter-than-whiteโ€™ trumpeters for Justice & Fair play for the aggrieved CLICO policyholders especially the pensioners write to the Police about the criminal acts of fraud perpetuated by Leroy Parris and the Dead King David in association with his wife Mara in the capacity of Office Manager?
    If the Police refuses to investigate the matter in a timely fashion then send the same letter to the various international agencies of which Barbados is a member or signatory to name and shame the local law enforcement agencies.

Imagine the fraudster Parris has the gall to say:
    โ€œI did what I had to do and I did it right in the best way I knew; in the most professional way I was trained and I was convinced in my mind I did a good job. You might not think so now [but] you can say what you like. I took that company with $2 million in assets and when I walked away from it, it had a billion dollars in assets.โ€

Yet the stupid jackass of unique professional standing (and high business esteem, according to the PM) can fraudulently pay himself a so-called legitimately contracted gratuity, not through his โ€œemployerโ€ company Professional Financial Services [through which his regular remuneration was paid] or even his consultancy firm Branlee, but through a law firm by way of fictitious invoices adumbrating imaginary or phantom legal services rendered to another legal entity CLICO.

Can one want a clearer case of getting money by false pretense or deception than what Mr. Parris in cahoots with David Thompson Associates perpetrated against CLICO and its stakeholders?

How can a lawyer who likes to call himself an upright citizen and a man of Christian principles seek to convince the public or even a judge that such an act of glaring fraud can be deemed a legitimate business transaction that can stand the light of morality and the scrutiny of the Law.

37. What is the rationale by inviting only CBC and Barbados Today if the element of transparency is being encouraged?

38. The nefarious and corrupt activities of our governing elite could never reach this stage. Of that we can be sure…can we!

“The Argentine prosecutor who was found dead after accusing the government of a cover-up had drafted an affidavit seeking the arrest of President Cristina Fernandez de Kirchner…The untimely death of Alberto Nisman — a special prosecutor investigating a 1994 terrorist attack in Buenos Aires — raised suspicions from the start…The revelation … is likely to fan the flames of the conspiracy theories that have abounded since his death. ”

We of course have had some deaths with their tinge of political subterfuge: the Pele death,Mark Stokes death, and that police death in Barbrees Hill way back when the name Barney Lynch was not associated with an MP, to name three but we could never get to that level, could we!

No. I pray to God, not.

39. @ ac February 3, 2015 at 4:32 PM #
    josh ac is ashamed for people of your ilk who have an unquenchable taste forpower even if it means destroying a democratic system in the name of self interest and political power.

ac, I REITERATE, I have no vested interest in either political party of Barbados and as I can’t vote or be elected there I have no taste for power either. I have however a taste for justice.

Many of us in the wider diaspora see injustice daily (see American police’s indiscriminate shooting of mainly black people). You cannot begin to understand what it feels like to aspire to returning and investing in the ‘homeland’ and see average people being treated like cattle by their own kin.

Some of this, yes is to do with economics but similarly once the judicial treatment of citizens is perceived as differential it is also perceived as injustice.

The average black person, in my eyes is treated as an underclass in Barbados. Those in politics appear to aspire to financial gain, rather than the quest of the betterment of the country and its people.

My only desire is to see appropriate and accountable governance.

The Caribbean is aging (Barbados at the fastest rate) mainly due to migration – think about it – Do you want Massey’s to take over all of Barbados or for it to be seen as a country that operates with a level of integrity, foreign (particularly diasporic) investors perceive they can do business with?

You all are your own worst enemies.

40. are-we-there-yet Avatar

Millertheannunaki; re. your 5:17 pm post.

Exactly!!

I was going to write a post similar to yours when I saw it so you saved me that effort.

Just 2 questions; Why were the gymnastics involving DT’s firm necessary if it was just a simple matter of claiming an agreed gratuity and everything was above board? Why did Parris even need a Lawyer to get him the gratuity from CLICO, the firm of which he was the CEO?

It will be very interesting to see how the arguments unfold on that aspect of the matter.

41. Leroy Parris need to be put in jail a long time ago. take a look at Stanford, he is in jail, and this man has the bold face to come on TV to say he done nothing wrong, & will do it again. Only in this little Banana Republic that this can happen; and we have to remember he is The Prime Minister friend. The politicians in this country are all crooked, or this man would have been put away a long time; and when you read that the pensioners can’t be paid their pensions, that would brake any right thinking persons heart. One man alone I know put over $400, 000 into CLICO for his retirement and now cannot get not even one penny while Leroy Parris & Mara Thompson with their families living a life of luxury. God help us.

42. @ Adrian Loveridge February 3, 2015 at 4:47 PM #

Is Lawrence Dupreyโ€™s private island house (3 Harborage Fort Lauderdale โ€“ telephone 954 467 1939) still up for sale at US$9.95 million?

See listing details and photos at http://www.zillow.com/homedetails/3-Harborage-Fort-Lauderdale-FL-33316/43206349_zpid/
    and at http://www.floridamoves.com/property/details/1778832/MLS-F1280652/3-Harborage-Fort-Lauderdale-FL-33316.aspx

Lovely little spot

Note – Last sold: Apr 2002 for $7,700,000

Also note number 5 and number 6 Harbourage are also for sale. The neighbourhood must be going downhill

43. @ Josh,

You quoted:
    “Many of us in the wider diaspora see injustice daily (see American policeโ€™s indiscriminate shooting of mainly black people). You cannot begin to understand what it feels like to aspire to returning and investing in the โ€˜homelandโ€™ and see average people being treated like cattle by their own kin.”

You speak good sense.

Barbados must be in a bad state when you hear the “mighty white” Money Brain echoing the view that …….”the time has arrived for a Tranquil Social Revolution ”

The key to change stems from strength in unity and organisation on the ground. We can learn from other social movements from around the world in order to push through a “tranquil social revolution”.

44. Sadly, Clico’s demise was obvious to many over a year before the ‘official’ crapout.

When a finance company is offering eleven percent on deposits compared to commercial banks five percent, don’t you KNOW something is strange?

And yes, only the unknown or a complete idiot would not have pulled their funds.

Duh!

That said, I do hope that the auditors have looked carefully at remittances to the parent company from Clico Barbados.

How were those remittances substantiated?

Further, were those remittances allowed /authroised by the then Supervisor of Insurance/ Minister of Finance, AFTER having seen the audited financial statements, or were they allowed willy-nilly???

That is a critical point, because it then splits the issue of liability, no?

45. To clarify my above point, an insurance company’s assets must support their liabilities, hence, if the assets were devalued, to the point of being less than liabilities, no capital should have been allowed to be withdrawn from the company, as such would have meant that the assets could not support the liabilities.

Thus, any remittances (reduction of capital) should only be authorized AFTER reviewing the financial status of the company, including auditors findings.

46. We must not forget the role (or lack of) of the Supervisor of Insurance in this mess.

47. @Exclaimer

You musseee new bout hey cause I have ALWAYS been very aggressively inclined against the BASTARDS in Powerful positions in Politics and Business in Bim, USA, Canada, UK (countries where I have family)

Many other contributors to this blog know that I have carved up the Bankers of Wall St, the Criminals in Washington, the utter fools running Ontario and Toronto.

It is an absolute travesty what the Pols in Bim have AFFLICTED upon the average Bajan and countless occasions I have said, half jokingly only, the time has come for a proper Benevolent Dictator and maybe I could be persuaded to do the wuk!

How come the black leaders in Bim are not properly leading the 95% Black Nation?
    What approach is being taken to solving problems and CREATE JOBS? If these Pols dont have viable ideas then do the correct thing and resign, and then request Canada or the US to take over and create JOBS and DEVELOP the Nation.

I have called for Strict Integrity Leg and stated clearly to combine that with a Tripling of MP salaries to attract TOP Quality people.

48. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ David February 3, 2015 at 7:31 PM
    “We must not forget the role (or lack of) of the Supervisor of Insurance in this mess.”

That’s quite true. But you also have to appreciate that the SoI was just a โ€˜lame-duckโ€™ toothless functionary beholden to the MoF who, for the most part, was in CLICOโ€™s deep pockets which financed many a political party campaigns and paid retainer fees to many politicians on a ‘consultancy’ basis.

Moreover David (BU,) the technically weak SoI would have relied heavily on the fudged audited financial statements submitted by CLICO as part of the regulatory requirements.

I wish to contend the Auditors along with the directors played a major role in the fraud and swindle of policyholders that occurred at CLICO.