Hell Hath No Fury Like Denis Lowe’s Scorn

Minister Denis Lowe bowed to public pressure last week and commented on the inability of his ministry to efficiently collect and dispose of garbage in Barbados. The minister delighted in the usual political rhetoric, histrionics and the  media houses were happy to acquire fodder for reports to foist on the public.

Lowe’s episode with the media highlighted the inability or is it unwillingness of Barbadians to hold government (ministers) accountable. An example: this government discontinued the fuel subsidy to Barbadians and replaced it with a policy of passing on the ‘true’ cost of fuel to consumers on accepting office. In the last six months the price of crude oil has plummeted to the lowest since 2008. A reasonable expectation by Barbadians, give or take a few basis points, is that the price point of fuel to the consumer should be reflecting market price. In response to the concern by Barbadians Minister Lowe was quoted last week in the press, I am quite sure that every consideration would be given on the part of the Government to ensure that any benefits and savings are passed on to consumers. Has the government shifted from its policy of passing on the market price of fuel to Barbadians?

Some have obfuscated this issue by highlighting that Barbadians need to conserve energy by changing consumption behaviour or by investing in renewable energy solutions. This is true but is it the point? The government’s unwillingness to honour its ‘enunciated’ fuel policy defines this issue and others. Although citizens have expressed disapproval via BU and other social media platforms, the government has failed to coherently satisfy public concern on the matter. Yet another issue stoking disquiet in a country suffering from economic  AND social fatigue.

Another takeaway from Lowe’s media event was how comfortable he was taking an aggressive position to calls by Barbadians he should resign given the deplorable state of garbage collection and disposal in Barbados.   A quote in the press tagged to him was that Barbadians, don’t have any power over my appointment, so they can call from now till the cows come home”, is a disrespectful position to be taken by an elected servant.

Another insightful quote, “Should I go around and call for the removal from this country of every single Barbadian who litters? Should I? If people want to react to circumstances not caused by the Government, the result of the habits of some Barbadians, then let me make them an offer. Let them agree to leave the country and I will agree to resign.” Is this man for real?

BU has observed that local politicians and other public officials have been slow to adjust to the reality that with the advent of social media they have to manage in a fishbowl culture where feedback will be swift and unforgiving.  Although traditional media practitioners, especially the old school players, continue to focus on the negative of social media, they ignore the rising influence of this medium at their peril.

It is unfortunate Minister Denis Lowe has not seen the need to respond to allegations circulating on social media that he deposited significant funds to his late mother’s bank account. 

88 comments

• Caswell Franklyn

Why should the Minister respond to allegations that he deposited large sums in his late mother’s account? Giving money to your mother is not a crime in Barbados. I wish I were in a position to give my mother large sums of my hard-earned money.

• John Hanson 1781-1782- I SERVE 1788- 1792 BARBADOES.

All the does is to show you, to die rich with others people money , dont help you live any longer,
    In Barbados we can be paying about 2.75 a gallon, Looking this way to get more taxes to replace what he took to give him dead mother to tray to take to the grave to spend in hell dont work , All that will do is to burn mush brighter and hotter,
    This man to busy playing with his lowe lowe to even know what going on , Lets hope he dont also have a Rolls Royce looking at it and cant see to drive it once again coming up short with his lowe lowe,

• pieceuhderockyeahright

It can be argued quite convincingly I would add that, when observing this cadre of parliamentary clowns that we have been electing for the past 25 years, that arrogance and belligerence can be separated by one characteristic gene – inveterate idiocy.

Of late the ole man feel dat he is a scholar and like to give some quotation dat I only pick up from de grans who reading dem books when we chilrun park dem heah

Julius CAESAR apparently sent this message to the senate on that fateful date “The cause is in my will: I will not come” that is superlative arrogance ensuing forth from demi god mutterings.

“Don’t have any power over my appointment so they can call till the cows come home” is belligerence.

In the face of piss poor performance where Dover and other critical spots in the tourism belt are overflowing with garbage, and he is the minister of garbage, both figuratively and literally any idiot would think that he would tone down his public statements and be a little humble, given that the pictures even in the British Guardian newspaper.

But nooooo!!!

De belligerent Lowe get up pun he high horse and, in the inimical style of these idjits, mek dis statement fuh all de cameras.

When de next General Election roll around all of them gems of belligerence gine populate de videos that the BLP going broadcast all over de cvntry.

Left DEM man, left DEM…DEM own mouf gine sell dem neck at the political gallows in 2018 and even doah Bajans memory short, videos of this belligerence and of Michael Lashes get soak way in licks gine be the stuff that “burses” the dam of oppression and break up David Licorish Partners spree

• @ Caswell

Caswell Franklyn January 4, 2015 at 2:17 AM # Why should the Minister respond to allegations that he deposited large sums in his late mother’s account? Giving money to your mother is not a crime in Barbados. I wish I were in a position to give my mother large sums of my hard-earned money.

BTW…..now D mudda dead and she aint depose of Dung portion ( millions of dolares) to ee, D resta brothers n sisteren did SMILING from ear to ear…so Dung say ee cahin D matter supposedly before Lord Denning….ee got Ross by ee side (in case sea sickness).
    D big question is what\where he go tell D learned worship how he managed to come by this windfall ?? (Bushie ent lend e nah money)… “I cut down a ackee tree for Urban I – win D Mega 6” ( Dem is foolish answers ya hear Dung)….I does wunda Y ee put it in she name to start off..but I ent got DEM sorta brains nor like ackee trees..D red ants does murda muh ask. Nah fatted connections I suppose…nah calf tendencies.

• pieceuhderockyeahright

@ David [BU]

By the way I was mulling over the title to this article and de ole man did recollecting Perez’ statement “Heaven has no rage like love to hatred turned, Nor hell a fury like a woman scorned,” was wont to remark that the specific gender of the quotation was a female and not a male

@ John Hanson

What Lowe Lowe means?

You have to do something with your keyboard so that it stops repeating itself

• PODRYR

No need to worry about garbage overflowing in Dover.

January 15 and Sandals opening coming soon. Butch gonna make sure de garbage pick up before he guests arrive in Dover

• @PUDRYR

Noted.

From time to time a withdrawal from the poetic license bank is enuff.

• @Caswell

Thanks for the clarification. Would you suggest we rephrase as follows.

Minister Lowe, how do you respond to information reaching BU you and siblings are embroiled in a dispute concerning how a large balance on your mother’s bank account should be divided.

Liked by 1 person

• Caswell Franklyn

Perfect.

• And the beat goes on. When I read the Minister’s comments in Barbados Today about if they agree to leave the country I would agree to resign, my initial thought was simply this. Here is a man that truly understands his role. If the relevant Minister is always present at every ground breaking ceremony, if he or she is always present for any and all photo opportunities relative to their ministry, why the hell not expose the nation to the proper depository for garbage disposal in Barbados. THE MAIN STREAM MEDIA. That’s where political prostitution, carefully disguised as journalism is permitted to fester. That’s where ignorance gains traction for printed or spoken it becomes the holy word. That’s where public opinion is swayed. That’s where the political comfort zone exists for no one dares to ask one probing question. That’s where the struggle to save our country needs to begin. In the house of Political Harlotry. THE MAINSTREAM MEDIA. Where else could an educated jackass namely Dennis Lowe be permitted to excrete such unchallenged jobby?

• Mr .Lowe IMHO need to refocus his time and energy on doing the task of carrying on the work of the people business and not be emotionally driven by social media back seat drivers who will eat you up and spit you out alive unmercifully.
    Having a position as a minister of any political office local or international comes with plenty criticism and high levels of stress , and the need to respond to attacks under the guise of wanting to set the record straight only open more ‘Way” for higher level of criticism and unnecessary stress,
    Having a good work ethic and presenting a record of progress for the job that one was hired is what will counts at the end of the day,
    a response of self pity and denial paves a way for further accusations and malicious annoyances which no politician can ever resolved sufficiently to address any individual/s questions.
    The one resolve is to work aggressively, strategically and efficiently positioning one self for excellence
    Emotive and passive responses opens a gateway for more criticism.
    At the end of the day all that matters and would be of interest to all is the level of input in moving the country forward which will be a reflection on the failures our success nothing else will matter my advice is stay positive and remain focus leave the noise and idle chatter for others to worry about.
    Diplomats do not position themselves to be conductors for lighting strikes.

• So you are saying that Lowe is a Jackass then AC?
    ….You know that you can be charged for that….?

If you are a woman say that ’bout Mikey….. 🙂

• Caswell Franklyn

This matter is fundamental to how public law enforcement officials carry out their duties. Or rather, it should lead to a number of their heads rolling.

When this money was being deposited, did the bank notify the authorities that a woman, who had never earned more than $500 per week in her working career, is now depositing large sums, in tranches of millions at a time? And if the bank did, who acted upon that information and what steps were taken? Could it be that the rules don’t apply to people some people?

I understand some time ago, a public official went to Miami with US$3 million in a suitcase and the U.S. authorities confiscated the money. I also understand that this official was then taken into custody and escorted back to Barbados. Mind you, that person was not acting as a public official when he was intercepted as he was travelling on an ordinary passport. I understand that the person was able to use a diplomatic passport on his next trip a few days later to another destination. As far as I know, that public official has never been made to account for his action. Apparently, the rules don’t apply to that person either.

I think that I will stop here because I don’t want to step over the line and get charged under the Computer Misuse Act.

Liked by 1 person

• What we need is for Whistleblowers to step up. Name the bank, name the bank officer who manages this account, identify if the Financial Intelligence Unit has been informed etc.

Finally ignore the JAs who are driven by their myopic political lense.

On Sunday, 4 January 2015, Barbados Underground wrote:

Liked by 1 person

• See me? I am through with gambling. After all of these years of faithfully playing the lottery two stinking numbers just stood between me and early retirement. I feel real bad. Somehow though I feel that a certain someone I will refer to as Erik feel worse than me. After he sell certain workers down the river in hopes of a future diplomatic post, looks like he, me, he grandchildren and even you will die before any administration associated with the DLP hold office in this country again. Boy gambling sure is a funny thing.

Liked by 1 person

• St George's Dragon

I see Dennis Lowe has a fine understanding of the problems of Barbados coral reefs. According to the article on P25A of the Sunday Sun today, he is seeking $9 million to save the reefs. He then admits that he does not know what is causing them to bleach and die, saying “local scientists would have to pin down the causes of the problem”.
    So how can you save the reefs if you don’t know the root of the problem? What is the point of “rehabilitation” in those circumstances.
    Isn’t this a prime situation where the UWI researchers should be on the case?

Liked by 1 person

• @ St George Dragon

LOL Hahahahah Ohhh shiirt ….. Bushie belly…. !!!

Man stop meking laughing sport at the man nuh…
    You have to know that the whole point that Lowe is making is about the NINE MILLION dollars…

Reefs shiite!!!

…..the nest egg haffa mek back from the brass bowl Bajan treasury before the apple cart get upset yuh….

Liked by 1 person

• Is Lowe’s ‘opinion’ on rehabilitating the reefs informed out of a recent visit to a SIDs conference held on the African continent?

On Sunday, 4 January 2015, Barbados Underground wrote:

• what myopic political lenses…

the “myopic’ political lenses are only worn by those who have no proof as to what they are presenting as ‘Truth” however will pursue with the vindictiveness . sir maybe it is time to see the eye doctor,

• BU disagrees with Barbados Today man of the year, it is Denis Lowe by a country mile NOT Estwick.

• millertheanunnaki

@ Caswell Franklyn January 4, 2015 at 9:16 AM
    “When this money was being deposited, did the bank notify the authorities that a woman, who had never earned more than $500 per week in her working career, is now depositing large sums, in tranches of millions at a time? And if the bank did, who acted upon that information and what steps were taken? Could it be that the rules don’t apply to people some people?”

What should also be of major concern is the source of that money.
    Was the source(s) local businesses or individuals. Were the payments/deposits by electronic, cheque or cash.

The garbage ma and his mother could not have pulled off the bilking of taxpayers money by themselves. There must have been some aiding and abetting within the banking/financial system, the crooked business mafia and most guilty of all, the tenders committee and chief accounting officers of those departments over which the lowedown Mr. 5 &10 % cut has ministerial oversight .

But then again we have a precedent in Leroy Greenverbs. A perfect failsafe turnkey model to employ in robbing both policyholders and taxpayers.
    We must remember both Leroy and Dennis have characteristics in common; especially one of sharing the ‘most favoured pal status’ in the eyes of the King Fumble of the crumbling land of Integrity.

Liked by 2 people

• @David “What we need is for Whistleblowers to step up”.

Now you expect this from inside people who are already on the payroll, and who are thrown some hefty crumbs. It will have to come from outside the government.

Again, I ask doesn’t the Governor-General have sweeping powers in the running of the country according to the Constitution? Maybe were putting the pressure on the wrong person. Start picketing him, along with Lowe.

• @racehrse

Not necessarily true. We have people who sit on the periphery with a role to play. The GG is activated if a state of emergency has to be activated. What needs to happen is the syncing of policies and action of government with citizens. What we have in Barbados is chaos and dysfunction.

• Caswell Franklyn

There are whistleblower provisions in the Public Service Act which makes it an offence for a public officer to be aware of wrongdoing or crime committed, by a fellow officer, and not reporting it. But here is one practical example of how it really works. Some time ago, a court marshal became aware of the Chief Marshal perjuring himself by swearing an affidavit and returning it to the court, in the full knowledge that the contents of the said affidavit were false.

The officer who blew the whistle was acting as a supervisor in excess of three years at the time of making the report. He was then returned to his substantive post, by the Public Service Commission, with the lost of the acting allowance that he had been enjoying for three years. The wrongdoer did not suffer any consequences for his action.

Do you really believe that any public officer, who is aware of what happened to Wiseman, would stick his neck out to do the right thing.

• @Caswell

There is the anonymous route.

• Hi Caswell,

I hear you boasting. on the news abouttmembership at your Unity trade union

• Caswell Franklyn

FracturedBLP

The name is Unity Workers Union and I was not boasting; I was merely responding to a question from a reporter.

The fact remains that I was forced to ask people to go elsewhere for representation for a while because I was inundated by the numbers who wanted me to represent them even though they were not members of my union. It would appear that people lacked confidence in the other established unions. That is not my fault, they would have sold their souls to the devil in the form of loyalty to the DLP.

• @ Fractured Brazenly Loutish Parasite….. time is longer than twine. You and yours should get yours now, for extended hibernation awaits thee.

• Miller Jan 04 9.16am
    Last month a Guyanese pilot made a fuel stop at Puerto Rico,enroute from the USA to Guyana and failed to declare that he had +US$600,000.00 on board his aircraft.The money was confiscated,the aircraft impounded and he was arrested and subsequently bailed.This guy has until February 13th to file a plea agreement or signal a change in plea.His next court appearance is scheduled for 23rd Feb in P.R.
    You can imagine if a fella got US$3 million what they would do to him.Colin Mayers nor Freundel Stuart couldn’t save his sorry donkey, so dismiss that story.

• DR. THE HONOURABLE

This DLP gubment cannot lead Barbados anywhere else but over the precipice
    The next election wil be decided by that 40% of the electorate that did not vote in the last election. 50% of that 40% can make a difference to the outcome.

• @Caswell

Can always detect when you are hitting hard. This the the problem we have with the DLP, it is never about defending policy positions, more about being venomous towards those with a dissenting views.

• John Hanson – I agree with you that currently Barbadians should be paying between $2.50 and $2.75 per gallon of gas. However, Barbadians are ‘as quiet as a mouse’ according to Kid Site in his calypso of PM Stuart some years ago.

Bush Tea: I was hoping that this year 2015 would have started with a softer brief des … “credence”/cription on the Members of Parliament … you just described a man elected to parliament as a … really???? I read that MP Lowe was talking about getting funds to help save the reefs of/f Barbados not himself to the $9.m.

Miller … I don’t know how David manages to put you and BT in the same room each year for the final analysis of the case at hand whilst Caswell keeps his tone on tenure and place truth in ambiguity when he feels like it. Now you open our eyes to the actual source of funds deposited by an MP … how/now Lowe.

There maybe some typos but you understand.

A blessed and happy, happy 2015 to you all.

• BT I could have misunderstood you – I am reading and laughing at the same time I did not say that you said neither am I implying although there may be an inference.

• David did u say dissenting views or distracting views as for the former the bLP has yet to show that their have a solid alternative that can out perform what the present govt have to offer except for their meandering and somewhat predictable comments about clico and one or two other tired issues, now it has gotten so bad and unclear as to how to resonate difficult issues to the public and having reached the end on the barrel they have launched a deceitful attack on mr, lowe character,, Shameless rats.

• AC

Kindly itemize the “deceitful attacks on Mr. Lowe’s character’ by any party?

The article above itemized in quotes and blue print the reported speech by Mr. Lowe and the siblings of Mr. Lowe shared their personal findings as quoted in print in the Nation newspaper. Therefore, I am not clear on your comment here AC.

• i cannot stand the ministers of this government, their retarded nature is taking Barbados back to the days of the 50s and the filth bucket Donville Inniss opening his cesspool every chance he gets, makes me want to puke…who would want him as a PM?

• With hands clasped, eyes closed, head bowed and knees bent I spoke to the God to whom I from a small child have offered worship. I begged my Lord to direct the path of all who choose to march in protest against an oppressive administration that seems bent on breaking the resolve of the most vulnerable to maintain some modicum of dignity. Be it the reinvigorated NUPW, the BUT or just a cadre of the disgruntled souls that now populate the country, I asked that his guidance wash over them and in so doing feed them the sustenance of solidarity so that in their numbers attention may be called to the injustice that is the Frueundel Stuart administration. It is said that he helps those who help themselves, and as such I implore all able bodied Barbadians to show your support by coming out to MARCH AGAINST THIS MADNESS.

• Enough of Denis Lowe his plate is full he’s got a job on his hands to clean up Barbados’ garbage. Lets talk about the Nation lead story today where they are calling for the heads of 4 BLP parliamentarians. Mind you its their fellow BLP reps that are asking for them to be punished. This is the party that yard fowls miller, David BU, prodigal, art taxes, enuff and the like cursing the public for not electing.

The BLP cannot maintain order and discipline among 14 people, oops forgot the short man tell them to piss off, make that 13 people but want to run the affairs of 300,000 people and a 8 billion economy that is facing challenges. Don’t make me laugh. Even old time anarchists Bush Tea and Caswell must be shocked at the never ending disarray and disunity in the Bees. The Bushman wants to start a party with Caswell. My money is on PDC to get more votes than the two of them together.

Back to today’s Nation it was a jolt to see the anti government rag give prominence to yet another story of back stabbing and betrayal in the BLP. Mottley as is her wont tried to spread red herrings all over the place to get the story sidetracked from the stench of the BLP blood letting. Can the yard fowls tell us who are the combatants at war this time. The names bandied around are Prescod, runt Payne, the divorcee and newly married fella, Jerome and marble mouth Hinckson. Word is these are some of the Judases pelting lashes in one another and in other BLPites like their disputed leader MAM.

Enquiring minds want to know the back story on this new ruckus in the BLP . Can I get an Amen on this Lord’s Day.

• Did you read the other big news story on David Estwick? You all should be quivering in your boots because if he upsets the apple cart…………kaboom……..all the pensions gone, all the feeding off the fatted calf, all the thiefing done. That is what you should be concerned with! Loser!

• My quick maths tell me 16D’s,13B’s,1I=30 mp’s.
    New maths with Estwick,Paul and OSA jaywalking is:14D’s,16B’s=30 or in other words tables turn.It can happen.Politics make strange bedfellows.Casualties would include Mia and Prescod.Cinty and Hinkson would ‘come round’.

• one thing fuh sure when it comes to the blp party lambasting each other they take the cake ! the plate and knife real good backstabbing drama

• Political campaigning is heating up. Parliament is still on vacation although school resumes on Tuesday. As a matter of fact it pays to be a politician. Salary real high, perks can’t done, Vacation change to over six months per year. Travel all over the world first class and stay at the finest hotels. You enter slim and come out obese. So much money comes your way that you have to put some in your family and friends account. You enter with a jugga, jugga car and come out with the top of the line mercedes, toyota and BMW vehicle. You enter with a house like an outhouse that you can stretch and touch all four corners and all of a sudden, you live in a mansion tucked away from your constituents until, until…….shit start to hit the fan, you start scrambling running from corner to corner, lying through your gums fooling us that after six years the other guvment still responsible for building an uncontrolled deficit and we ain’t responsible. The only thing wunna should blame we for is Free Bus Fare although the state transportation was loosing money fuh years and it would be better for us to run it into the ground and save taxpayers money. Wunna could blame we for depriving wunna educated children from going tuh university free as arranged by Dipper years ago. That mean wunna children can’t be upstarts playing duh is boss. The rich will now be able to employ duh dumpsy children to be manager and accountant etc. like years ago. Since wunna ain’t investing in Trinibados, we gunna give all of dem investors who love to jump at auctions and grap cheap business deals lined with nuff benefits like tax breaks, duty-free concessions whilst we countryman have to pay the full bill with receivers waiting at the corner to seize the little assets yuh accomplishes thru sweat and tears. Barbadians. Stop and open wunna eyes. David wuk hard to win dis guvment, he died before accomplishing his goals. He bereaved it to a sleepwalker….the rest is history.

NOW UP COME a moniker called “TOGETHERNESS” who yuh fooling bosey. Yuh trying to undo ac.

• Hi Caswell

What about Dennis Boyce (Government Printery) case?

Did your role in that impact on your membership numbers?

• Caswell Franklyn

Fractured BLP

Why the sudden interest in Unity Workers Union?

• @ ac January 4, 2015 at 11:39 PM #

“one thing fuh sure when it comes to the blp party lambasting each other they take the cake ! the plate and knife real good backstabbing drama….”

Legion, allow me jog your memory about this back stabbing issue. Take your minds back to the January 20, 1999 general elections when the BLP won 26 of the 28 seats. The DLP’s representatives in parliament were David Thompson and Dennis Kellman. I’m sure you can recall the relationship between these two gentlemen became strained to the point they were not on speaking terms with each other.

Surely you must also remember 2001 when George Street was not at all a happy environment. There was much back stabbing and gnashing of teeth within the DLP. This was the period everyone in the DEMS were back stabbing each other and Dennis Kellman was back stabbing everyone else.

• i would please like someone to commission a CADRES poll just to see the real level of satisfaction or dissatisfaction with this present government and who are the preferred leaders.

• Thank you Artaxerxes, you can always be depended on to present a balanced view. Both political parties have/had their share of in house fighting & I suspect it will be so for sometime. Last week I met someone whom I had not seen for some a long time & after exchanging best wishes for the new year he said that I would need more than best wishes to survive 2015, as the bunch of incompetent poppets managing this Country were the worst he had ever seen knowing him to be a “die hard” DLP supporter of long standing I asked how he could make such a statement .

His answer surprised me when he said that from the time David Thompson ran Mascoll from the DLP he was finished with Dem, he listed a large number of people that DT is supposed to have run out of the party. He also went on to say some other things which I won’t mention at present but hopefully sometime in the future.

I have always thought that if Mascoll was still in the party and doing the job of the MOF that Barbados would not be in its present precarious position

• @sadbajan
    I dont think Bajans are happy with the government or the opposition. This is the worst political environment ever seen in Barbados. Weak government and weak opposition.I doubt that Mia Mottley is the preferred leader of Barbados at this moment. I wont be surprised if Owen Arthur was still being seen as the best person to lead the country.

This country continues in a state of confusion emanating form both sides of the political camp. When it isnt Estwick’s hormonal rants and raves, it is court cases in the BLP.

I wonder what people like Henry Forde and Cheltenham who never got a chance to govern are saying to themselves.

• @sadbajan – I agree with you this lot of politicians is the worse ever in the history of Barbados poor rakey politicians in a poor rakey Parliament. Frankly i am not impressed with the Govt but have serious concerns about the BLP and its ability to do better.

• We focus too much on political figures and parties. We need to understand why our best is not stepping up to serve at this time in a political capacity.

On Tuesday, 6 January 2015, Barbados Underground wrote:

• @ David
    …and what exactly leads you to the conclusion that we have better?
    Where is this seen for example?

• piss poor Opposition BLP, Mia mottley step up to the bully pulpit again with her perceptions and piss poor solutions Applause !

• @ Tudor January 5, 2015 at 7:58 PM #

Thank you, Tudor….. my reason for posting the information relative to the disunity that plague the DLP between 1993 and 2008, was to remind DLP supporters “infighting” is not unique to the BLP. They should also be reminded the same way it took the DEMS 15 years to solve all differences and present themselves as the preferred choice as being the government in 2008, the BLP is liable to achieve a similar objective.

@ Stupse January 6, 2015 at 2:11 AM #

“I dont think Bajans are happy with the government or the opposition. This is the worst political environment ever seen in Barbados. Weak government and weak opposition.”

Stupse, I agree with you 100%, this is indeed “the worst political environment ever seen in Barbados.” I also agree with your comment re “This country continues in a state of confusion emanating form both sides of the political camp.”

If you carefully examine the DLP, this party want in to state of confusion after the death of Davis Thompson.The prime minister’s leadership style, continual failure of the finance minister and Adriel Brathwaite as attorney general, Jones, Sealy, Kellman, Michael Lashley, Denis Lowe and Donville Inniss as ministers of education, tourism, housing, transport, environment and international business respectively, does not at all inspire many of us to invest any level of confidence in this administration.
    Additionally, despite all the theatrics, the DEMS have been unable to convince many Barbadians they are a unified group and know what they are doing.

The BLP does not inspire confidence either. Their performance as the opposition has demonstrated they are not ready to lead this country. Then when one looks at the possibility if they are elected to office, we maybe faced with the likes of George Payne, Gline Clarke, Dale Marshall, Ronald Toppin once again.

Barbados is crying out loudy for a viable, alternative political party.

• @Bush Tea

The day we stop believing…

On Tuesday, 6 January 2015, Barbados Underground wrote:

• Mia leadership or lack of which she has unconvincly been able to demonstrate over the last six years has failed due in part of her not wanting to separate mouthings via of the daily mutterances of the blp yardfowls .hence her leadership abilty would remain questionable as well as her decrease in popularity

• David
    I posit the view that most people tend to be inspired by the perceived leader of the political grouping.In the 40’s/50’s Grantley Adams was that inspiration.In the 60’s/70’s Errol Barrow was the candidate.In the late 70’s/early 80’s Tom Adams was the lightning rod,in the 90’s/turn of the 21st century the mantle fell on Owen Arthur and in the latter part of the first decade David Thompson was perceived as the heir apparent but was unlucky to have been dealt a difficult hand by the paucity of hangers on he encouraged and so he ended up leading a pack of pretenders who promised to move the earth to please but stumbled and fell in the process.Not to be discouraged,it appears that the relay baton was passed to a silent guru who fails to inspire the intelligentsia,that is, those independent thinkers who are looking for the visionary leadership which take the country in the right direction.On both sides of the aisle such leadership is sadly lacking.

Liked by 1 person

• “Mia leadership or lack of which she has unconvincly been able to demonstrate over the last six years has failed due in part of her not wanting to separate mouthings via of the daily mutterances of the blp yardfowls .hence her leadership abilty would remain questionable as well as her decrease in popularity…”

Ironically, the above comments are applicable to anyone in the BLP or DLP, as a similar yard stick could be used to measure the performance of members of both parties.

The DLP yard-fowls on BU are the “parrots” of their parliamentary counterparts, as the same strategies are being used both in the BU forum and in parliament. The DLP’s strategy now seems to be one of focusing on Mottley’s leadership qualities, as was done to David Thompson when the BLP held the reins of government. It is also disturbing that both BLP and DLP seem not to be able to develop new political tactics or initiatives, since we are seeing a repetition of strategies used by both political parties over the years, either when in government or opposition.

Stuart has demonstrated by his inactivity [brought over from the period during Thompson’s illness and death] he is not capable of being prime minister, while Mottley is yet to convince us she is the better alternative.

Additionally, members of both parties are treating the effects this prolonged economic recession on Barbados as though it was a hostage situation, since politicians seem to think they can negotiate their way out of it, rather than think about developing policies that would better guide the country towards a path of growth and better equip government with the tools necessary to manage the island’s affairs efficiently. We are concerning ourselves too much about who can talk better than whom.

I get the feeling that this present crop of politicians’ main concern is to enhance their popularity to a level enough to be voted for another term, rather than for what’s best for Barbados.

Liked by 1 person

• pieceuhderockyeahright

@ Artaxerxes

You point regarding politicians constant popularity campaign to safeguard or ensure another term is unfortunately correct.

That begs the question as to the standards and sensibilities of the Barbadian electorate if, mindful of their obvious dog and pony show, why are we we repeadly seduced by these posturers?

Where does the blame really lie or is this just another “oh woe is me” litany?

• @Gabriel

Agree with your last comment, a poorakey bunch on both sides.

• In an enviroment where the challenges of Barbados are two fold social and economical,this was a golden opportunity for the exhibtion of excellence and dynamic leadership to be demonstrated by the opposition leader which would have been aclear cut representation of “change”stead what the public was exposed to was an echo chamber of political sound bite exchanges a gawdy representation demonstrated by mia which defies all logic especially in an enviroment where a callefor solutions are necessary and highlights the difference between winners and losers

• AC
    Why don’t spend some of your nervous energy giving advice to the 16 clowns whom you represent on BU.The opposition should not be your concern.Good governance should be and it begins with the silent primate inter pares and his band of Pension Watchers.

• Sunshine Sunny Shine

Been so long since I have been here. Where is my piece and Tea Bush. I see the idiot is still defending the buppy dirty lowelifes of silence, brag and doom. David what is hot off the press. Been away on business in the freezing cold up there in Iceland. Brrrr cold is France and locals walking around in mere long sleeve shirts. People got to be mad. But business too sweet. So let me read a bit to see who has been bupping on who.

• pieceuhderockyeahright January 6, 2015 at 11:52 AM #

“That begs the question as to the standards and sensibilities of the Barbadian electorate if, mindful of their obvious dog and pony show, why are we repeadly seduced by these postures?”

PUDRYR, I often wonder about this myself.

As is evident now with the present BLP opposition, the DLP, during their 14 years in opposition, were critical of every policy or initiative undertaken by the then BLP administration and did not offer any alternative solutions to the policies they vehemently criticized.

The DEMS and their supporters are being critical of Mia Mottley’s style of leadership and performance as opposition leader. Supporters of Mottley mainly based their preference of her as being a leader based on her intellect, being able to fluently articulate any political issue and that from a young age she was perceived as being destined to be a future prime minister.

Similar criticisms were also made of David Thompson by the BLP when they were in office, as their main focus was on leadership [as is what is presently being done by the DLP]. During that time, supporters of Thompson also preferred him to a leader, not only based on the fact they also recognized he possessed a natural grasp for politics, his intellect and being able to articulate political rhetoric, but more so on the fact he had a childhood dream of becoming prime minster.

We must also recall Thompson was ineffective and not taken seriously as an opposition leader, especially during his first term [1994 – 1999] and more so during the initial stages of his second term [1999-2000], when he and Kellman were the only DEMS that occupied the opposition benches.

We can also remember when Arthur used his wrap up sessions of the budget debates to effectively “wash Thompson and the DLP in licks”. Not only did Arthur brought to the fore documents pertaining to decisions and other endeavors undertaken by the then DLP administration, but he placed a particular emphasis on Thompson’s tenure as minister of finance [1993-1994]. Arthur’s revelations made Barbadians aware of Thompson’s true leadership qualities, and perhaps that may have been responsible for the party winning only two seats after the 1999 general elections.
    Ironically, the DLP has been presently articulating a similar “leadership” issue between Mottley and Stuart. The same manner in which the BLP focused their energy on Thompson, the DLP is now on a similar path with Mottley.

Essentially, during the period between the 1986 general elections and today, there has not been any fundamental change in terms of political and innovative strategies being undertaken by the BLP and DLP. What Barbadians are now witnessing is two political parties replaying the same political theatrics against each other to deceive the electorate with the main objective of remaining in parliament.

Liked by 1 person

• If we were to search our consciences [and memories] and are honest with ourselves, we will recall that the DLP did not win the 2008 elections based on bringing any viable and feasible alternative social, economical or political solutions. There was also a lack of such alternatives coming to the fore from the DEMS when addressing the public during their lunch time lectures, on political platforms, in parliament or wherever they captured the attention of an audience.

If we were to seriously and analytically peruse their 2008 election manifesto, we would realize it was only an articulation of some very ambitious social programs, which, as is proven to date, were unsustainable in this recessionary environment.

There were no clear, viable, sustainable, alternative solutions to chart a course of economic growth or suggestions on how the economy would have been restructured, contained in the manifesto. This would lead any person of reasonable thought to conclude, the DLP did not believe the economy was in such “dire straits” as they were suggesting during their 14 years in opposition. Because if they were of that belief, they would have outlined policies in their manifesto that would effectively and efficiently manage the affairs of Barbados.

Rather, the DEMS used a strategy of pushing the perceived corruption of the BLP, which they attributed to the cost over-runs and other financial infelicities, and convinced the electorate they would put an end to such practices by implementing anti-corruption legislation and a ministerial code of conduct within 100 days of being elected. Seven (7) years after, we are still waiting.

Additionally they also focused on the fact Barbadians were growing tired of Arthur’s arrogance and, with much success, effectively used the slogan “Time for a Change” until it “resonated” within the minds of the electorate.
    Unfortunately, the slogan “time for a change”, meant it was time for Barbadians to change ownership of the “gravy train” to the DLP [while the status quo remained the same].

The DLP also appealed to the mendicant section of the society by promising many unsustainable social services, promising a reduction in the cost of living, VAT and general taxes. Political strategies that were primarily based on winning the election.

The 14 years in opposition presented the DLP with the perfect “opportunity for the exhibition of excellence and dynamic leadership to be demonstrated by their leader which would have been a clear cut representation of change”. It is clear that after 7 years in office, Barbados has not experienced any significant change.

So, what can we say the DLP has been able to do for Barbados, given the fact they had 21 years to develop a plan of action……. 14 years in opposition to formulate and develop policies and 7 years to implement them.

By their actions thus far, it is evident to all and sundry that the DLP has failed to develop and implement policies to take this country forward. The continual downgrades, failed medium term fiscal and development strategies, loss on investor confidence and manipulation of economic data, are evidence of their failures.

As such, this piss poor DLP administration call for us to “bring solutions”, is indicative of the fact the DEMS are essentially blaming others for their failures.

Liked by 1 person

• pieceuhderockyeahright

@ Sunshine Sunny Shine

I missed you from last year and said that you had run away or eloped with ….

I said that Bush Tea had spirited you away and that you had fallen for the wiles of the Bush Wacker.

As a summary update, BT been wacking down things left right and centre and holding his own in everything that he has submitted her

During your absence it has been discovered that your girlfriend, I am not going to call her name, but it has been established that she is actually multiple people rather agents of the DLP who post under that nom de plume. It would appear that Legion (as they are now also known as) all have the username and password shared among them and will post the usual DLP yardfowlism, the disconnected ravings of you know who but every now and again a fellow does post who will talk sense.

I doan know who he is but whoever he is he has to be a high ranking DLPite who your friend and the rest of them fear.

I think that after several attempts the latin for Donkey got banned

David [BU] has been able to keep the site operating in spite of the ongoing attempts by the DLPites to close it down. You know how the Party in Power mentalities are, as long as dem is de minister you cyan speak a work against them

Anyways a prosperous New Year and remember to avoid any offers from you know who when he tell you he still got up the Xmas tree and a big sprig of mistletoe in he bedroom…

• There are 2 political parties in Barbados. The electorate has no choice but to vote for one or the other (or abstain).

Until there is a credible alternative (like Dictatorship?) we will continue to vote based on corn beef an biscuits in rumshops….and a promise of a share in de bony calf.

• @Hants

There is the possibility that another party can emerge out of the bones of the two main parties.

Liked by 1 person

• David January 6, 2015 at 6:52 PM # @HantsThere is the possibility that another party can emerge out of the bones of the two main parties.

Due to the widespread disenchantment with the two main parties, the state of the economy and that many of the voters will be new blood without strong alliances to the two traditional parties, I actually think this is now looking very possible, unlike say, five to eight years ago.

What we need now is a few good men (and women) to get together and begin their meetings, plan their manifesto and goals and start campaigning.

What is the entre fee to a constituency election, Bds$250? Not much at all. Times thirty persons.

Can be done. Especially using Facebook and other social media such as Twitter to get the message across.

Rules to protect the potentials:

• stick to policy, economy and strategy in communicaitons
      • no personal attacks
      • refrain from innuendo and any talk of violence or such.

It IS possible.

Liked by 1 person

• Hants January 6, 2015 at 6:42 PM #
    There are 2 political parties in Barbados. The electorate has no choice

Come next election, my bet is that there WILL be a third choice.

Liked by 1 person

• Gabriel January 6, 2015 at 2:52 PM # Why don’t spend some of your nervous energy giving advice to the 16 clowns whom you represent on BU.The opposition should not be your concern.Good governance should be and it begins with the silent primate inter pares and his band of Pension Watchers.

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………. check this little angel gabriel .what you ascertain as advice is a true analysis of the methodology and content that the leader of the blp has demonstrated trying to tell me what to do is not the answer,

• @Art’ “Rather, the DEMS used a strategy of pushing the perceived corruption of the BLP, …”

I certainly do not expect the BLP to push perception of corruption then. We can anticipate solid, printed facts of the stewardship of the DLP’s performance with each DLP Minister being scrutinized by the BLP.

As Barbadians, we ought to be given the truth and not a perception. For, what I am interpreting from your statement is that Bajans voted for an ‘appears to be so” and not based on facts. Your views are very interesting – very interesting.

• pieceuhderockyeahright

@artaxerxes

You have computed I believe the exact number of years that the DLP will be in the wilderness

You timin is prophetic and is ironically consistent with the time that the Israelites wandered in the dessert

You said ” …… the DLP has been able to do for Barbados, given the fact they had 21 years to develop a plan of action……. 14 years in opposition to formulate and develop policies and 7 years to implement them…”

That is roughly 40 years right?

The amount of time that would allow this generation and the one before us to die out completely and to wipe the slate of the national psyche free of the nitwits that would have voted for them these last several years

I am predicting that the campaign slogan of the new political party that will arise will be “FUMBLE BUNGLE? Never again” and “BLP ABANDONED WE, NO SEATS FOR THEM, CLEAN SWEEP MY FRIENDS” OR “WE DONT WANT NO MOTTLEY CREW, WE WANT PEOPLE WHO ARE TRUE”

Yes the BBB Party or Build Back Barbados’ is going to run on a campaign of

“REAL INDEPENDENCE THROUGH COMPETENT INDEPENDENTS”

• @ Pieceuhderock
    “REAL INDEPENDENCE THROUGH COMPETENT INDEPENDENTS”
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    Pray tell us how you will get that done….

In order to get BNB to work we had to find competent Trinidadians
    In order for LIME to grow, we needed Englishmen to buy Bartel
    In order for BS&T to survive we needed Massa
    EMERA is BL&P’s saviour…

How will it be “REAL INDEPENDENCE” when we have to import competence?
    is that not an oxymoron…?

What is FAR more likely is that we will continue to sell ourselves into slavery until the Trickidadians rename the whole damn island to something like
    “Trinidad, Tobago and Brassbados”

• pieceuhderockyeahright

@ Brother Bush Tea

Man I sorry man forgive de ole man ramblings.

You see whu time I post dat comment? 6.43 right after de shot and de adrenaline kick in and a righteous set of nationalism and misplaced belief in we can change this if a set of dedicated Bajans rise up and make a difference.

It was that fact and the news that Sunshine Sexy Shine back pun BU dat discombulate de ole man head plus sing de fact dat you always talking bout carrying de mower cross by she lawn…

• @ Hambone

Is because of cnxts like you Barbados in tis mess now…..definite you is one DEM who did praising des Square pegs rund electnts 2013 …mekk people lekk out a good strong Govt fa dis ball a jobby…..and you got D audaciousness to write inhay callin somebody a FOOL…shoite hound!….We know it doan matter you cuz U up in the winterland..but just HUSH ya bubby if ya ent know what to say…two tongue snake….pieca goat, mock duck!

• Sunshine Sunny Shine

@Piece

You too sweet. So does that mean that I can white scrape oops, I mean black slap the crap out the legion known as the AC DLP operatives? All those beautiful descriptions I use to call the pimp. Well my piece you know how it is with me and these frauds and posers. I am not surprise at all that they are many of them because the one whom I use to rip a hole into, obviously ain’t as bright as a rat going for cheese in a rat trap. Maybe the rest must be a whole lot better. But they are a desperate lot. The blogs are their torment and so all attempt to portray themselves as legitimate, right, and upright must be explored at all cost. Been reading a bit about the arrogancy of Dennis Lowe. Wow this man is absolutely devoid of public dignity and respect. A bouncer bowled at he head and all he could do is defend his fragile ego with a bit of arrogance. Well I tell ya. They must be really hating David and his blog with a passion.

Liked by 1 person

• @ Brief January 8, 2015 at 2:11 AM #

“As Barbadians, we ought to be given the truth and not a perception. For, what I am interpreting from your statement is that Bajans voted for an ‘appears to be so” and not based on facts.”

Recall the lead up to, and during the 2008 election campaign, the DLP spoke passionately about corruption, lack of contracts, cost over-runs, GEMS, Greenland, the $11,000 ackee tree, wealth accumulated by ministers, the types of houses they built and cars they drove, etc. However the “coup de grace” came when Thompson revealed Arthur deposited a cheque to his personal account that was meant for the BLP. All was left for the DEMS to do was to refer to the BLP and corruption in innuendo.

It was on this basis the DLP told Bajans that, in no uncertain terms, will they ever see blatant instances of corruption in Barbados, if the DEMS were elected. And to reinforce this point, they promised to introduce freedom of information legislation and a code of conduct for ministers within 100 after being elected.

On being elected to government, the talk of corruption continued, this time being reinforced by the DEMS constantly referring to the “mess” they found.

Come on, Brief, the DLP has held the reins of government for 7 years. If these allegations were “based on facts”, it would mean the DEMS had credible evidence to substantiate such accusations. Then, they would have instructed their attorney general instruct the CID to commence investigation, so the crooks could be charged and brought before the courts, and if found guilty, spend some time in Dodds.

Hence, I must assume it “appears to be so”.
    Unless both parties are “subsidiaries” of a “political fraternity or Illuminati” whereby, the code is one of accusing each other of corruption while campaigning, and if the incumbent party were to lose the election, they would be entitled to some form of “political immunity”.

Liked by 1 person

• @ Brief January 8, 2015 at 2:11 AM #

“We can anticipate solid, printed facts of the stewardship of the DLP’s performance with each DLP Minister being scrutinized by the BLP.”

In my opinion, similar to the existence of fraternities such as “The Grand United Order of Odd Fellows”, there must be a “political fraternity” called “The Barbadian Order of Politicians”. So, if you are anticipating “printed facts of stewardship”, then that’s your prerogative, I, on the other hand, will not be that optimistic.

My pessimism comes from some of the following facts:

1) The DLP has not demonstrated they are serious about anti-corruption, because after 7 years… no ministerial code of conduct or freedom of information and integrity legislation, no politician in Dodds.
    2) The only difference between an individual charging $11,000 to cut down an ackee under the previous BLP administration and under this DLP administration, an individual charging $766,855.24 to give a legal opinion, is $755,855.24.
    3) Both BLP and DLP politicians have accumulated vast amounts of wealth during their terms in office, but this present administration is the worse of the two. Whereas the BEES accumulated their wealth during 14 years in TIMES OF PLENTY……….the DEMS have accumulated just as much within their 7 years, and have “impressively” accomplished this feat during a RECESSION.
    4) In my opinion, the DEMS have demonstrated they can only manage the economy when economic activity is high. This affords them the opportunity to concentrate on unsustainable policies that creates a mendicant society, so the party can be perceived as one that helps poor people.
    5) The DEMS said BLP politicians had money stashed in overseas accounts. However, information received suggests some DLP members had money stashed in their mother’s accounts, some failed in their bid to take their money to overseas accounts; some accounts have seen significant increases after concessions were granted to Butch; some accounts have increased to the extent where Steve Blackett can now afford an Audi and Michael Lashley… a BMW SUV.
    6) Thompson publicized the lack of a SSS highway contract under the previous BLP tenure. Under this administration, the then minister of housing, Michael Lashley, fired the then NHC chairperson, Marilyn Rice-Bowen, after she queried the non-existence of a housing contract.

I could go on and on and on, but I think by now, you get my point. BLP, DLP…. 6 is half dozen.

Liked by 1 person

• @ Artaxerxes January 8, 2015 at 10:08 AM #

You are on point in your posts on this thread!

We need to constantly remind these Dems that they are liars and incompetent.

After all the accusations of corruption during the 2008 election, the dems would have gone into their respective ministries and commandeered every file to find the evidence of the corruption they spoke about. Had there been an iota of corruption found…………does anyone not believe that this bunch of wild boys would not have leaked it all over the place and say “see, we told you so”.

Instead the power has gone to their heads and they have given people reason to believe the stories they are hearing of their greed and “craviousness”. We see people who never had a good car, now driving top of the line cars, we have people who still lived in their parents homes, now owning multiple mansions and flying the world to shop. They are so slow, they do not even know what suits them.

You cannot make silk out of sows’ hairs!

• Sunshine Sunny Shine

Artaxerxes

Don’t forget that as soon as Dennis “the menace” Lowe could set up shop, the talk was that he had already text a contractor asking for his share of a project deal. That act alone tells you his smarts is only at first degree because then he turns around and place a few thousand dollars into his mothers account, thinking that no one would notice because his mom work hard over the years for the 3. somebody million she left there. Yet you got these vagabonds seeking the gag the mouths of those who want to expose their royal ruthlessness. You know what would be interesting. If the same lie detector tests that the silly people in the police force want to introduce as a weed-out for the bad cops, was to be used to detect the liars that say they never orchestrate a deal for drawbacks of large sums of money. I wonder how Dennis, Michael, Esther, Donovan, Freundel, et el would feel about coming forward and taking test of truth or lie. Ain’t that would make for a good twist of fate.

• Who heard the quip about DL delivered by David Ellis today?

• @David
    That he must have been angry? lol

• Lord, look down!

• @ Simpson.

If you think that God does not see and know, you are wrong. All evil has its returns.

Karma is ever knowing. Have faith laddie, have faith.

• @ Crusoe
    The REAL problem that we have …is that God looked AWAY…..

Can’t bare the nastiness, sliminess and brass bowlery that we have CHOSEN to pursue.
    The results are inevitable …and will continue to deteriorate until our ultimate destruction.

Only ‘sackcloth and ashes’ could possible address the situation and allow that light to again shine upon us…. so that …

The Lord bless you and keep you;
    The Lord make His face shine upon you,
    And be gracious to you;
    The Lord lift up His countenance upon you,
    And give you peace.

…but only a GENUINE national repentance, contrition and commitment to righteousness (sackcloth and ashes) could possible achieve such a change…..

• A popular view circulating in the BU household (not speaking for the BU family) is that Barbados like many other countries will have to experience a ‘purge’ not unlike to the story to be found in Greek mythology of the phoenix rising from the ash.

• @ David
    Barbados like many other countries will have to experience a ‘purge’ not unlike to the story to be found in Greek mythology of the phoenix rising from the ash.
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    A simple case of a fool, being able to learn only from bitter personal experience…
    Whereas a normal man is able to learn from observing the experience of others…
    …and a wise man is able to make intelligent choices proactively.

• @Bushie

You have to admit it mirrors your BBE philosophy, life, death and rebirth?

Join in the discussion, you never know how expressing your view may make a difference.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s