Dover Stinky Skip

BU acknowledges the effort by the Nation newspaper Editor highlighting the garbage disposal problem in Barbados. An overflowing skip dubbed ‘Dover Stinky Skip’ located at Dover, Christ Church – a key tourism location – was featured on todays front page. How the minister responsible, Denis Lowe, continues to head the Sanitation Service Authority (SSA) boggles the minds of sensible Barbadians. There is an obvious breakdown in the waste collection (and disposal) system in Barbados and the buck stops with minister Lowe.

Some interesting information was shared with the public today. We learned that the National Conservation Commission (NCC), a state entity under the ministry of the environment is paying Hinds Transport for the rental of the skip featured on todays front page. Why has garbage collection in Dover/St. Lawrence Gap been outsourced to a private entity? Isn’t the SSA operating under the same ministry? Why does the ministry of the environment headed by minister Denis Lowe continue to outsource collection to the private sector if the SSA is mandated to deliver the same service? Is this a similar arrangement the SSA has with the Williams Group to provide services at Mount Stinkeroo?

Is the NCC the same statutory corporation that sent home staff claiming it not longer had the resources to keep them employed?

Sandals Barbados donates fence to Dover Sports Club

What is interesting is that the member of parliament for the St. Lawrence area John Boyce is also the minister of health. BU understands he is also a member of Dover Club, although nowadays he prefers to spend his free time at the Barbados Golf Club, hopefully on his time. Wasn’t minister Boyce along with minister Lashley spotted in the same area last week dutifully attending a grip and grin session with personnel from Sandals who handed over a fence to the Dover Club? Did they not spot or sniff the skip that is strategically located nearby? Isn’t it ironic the Dover Stinky Skip was located in close proximity to the new fence donated by Sandals to the Dover Club?

Something stinks alright and it is not the Dover Stinky Skip!

221 responses to “Lowe Garbage Waste”

1. @ David
    Bushie rest his case…..

2. old onions bags Avatar

@ Miller
    OOB, I know you are a man well schooled in the art of verbal communication so explain to us neophytes how a project (Lowe’s WTE) can be “up and running” but still be in the preliminary stage where a number of studies have still to be undertaken.

How about..

When Fishes flew and Flounders talked…?

or

Samuel Agunde, born on a Monday…?

better still…

.https://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=gtQLIU4ze0g

3. old onions bags Avatar

This sums up Low Dung Garbage …..and the resta Dems Sha-bang! (murda)

4. Caswell sounded as if he was about to cry on Brass Tacks this morning. But the question still remains how many people were able to buy at least half case of drinks this Xmas? Ac could but how many more?

5. Denis Lowe knows he can talk arrogant GARBAGE and get away with it. Any more news on the intended Cabinet reshuffle?

6. Wunna bunch of blp jokers started out the new year in spectacular fashion,pissing drunk with attitude and shitty remarks all of which do not worth a dime worth of cow shite.
    Now bring something of substance that is worth while talking about and alternative solutions
    just a bunch of sorry a.ss losers who seem to have short memories .wunna really think the public forget the sorry filthy state the enviroment was in under blp reign
    Really who wunna trying to convince.

7. @ old onions bags

Good video.

Looks and sounds what comes out of ac’s mouth DAILY.

8. @ Anthony

A HIGH FIVE bredds…….a HIGH FIVE !!!…….LOL

9. @ ac January 2, 2015 at 2:02 PM #

Wunna bunch of blp jokers started out the new year in spectacular fashion,pissing drunk with attitude and shitty remarks all of which do not worth a dime worth of cow shite.
    Now bring something of substance that is worth while talking about and alternative solutions……………………………………

We raise issues and offer solutions on BU. You never respond to any issue raised only the same doo doo like you wrote in this post. Issues do not matter to you inept incompetent people, only that the DLP is in power.

You all are a disgrace!

10. old onions bags January 2, 2015 at 12:50 PM #
    @ Miller
    OOB, I know you are a man well schooled in the art of verbal communication so explain to us neophytes how a project (Lowe’s WTE) can be “up and running” but still be in the preliminary stage where a number of studies have still to be undertaken.

This is from http://www.cahill-energy.com/about-us/

CAHILL’S PHILOSOPHY

“Whatever you can do or dream you can, begin it.
    Boldness has genius, power and magic in it. Begin it now”.
    Johann Wolfgang von Goethe
    1749 – 1832

Seems like Lowe has a “dream” that Lowe’s/Cahill WTE project is “up and running”

There is nothing new in the Cahill website since originally posted in March 2014.

See Press Release at

http://www.cahill-energy.com/wp-content/uploads/2014/04/Cahill-Energy-Press-Release-Cahill-Energy-to-Invest-240-Million-in-Barbados-Clean-Energy-Plant.pdf

Hon. Christopher P. Sinckler, M.P., Minister of Finance and Economic Affairs of Barbados, added: “This investment by Cahill Energy represents a “game changer” for Barbados and truly belies any doubt that Barbados is still a preferred destination for solid, and impactful foreign direct investment.”

Dr. the Hon. Denis S. Lowe, M.P., Barbados’s Minister of Environment, said: “Cahill Energy offers us a real solution to becoming energy independent, while at the same time reducing our massive oil import bill. Cahill Energy has brought a Waste to Energy option to the Government of Barbados that is far superior to any other we have examined. We believe that our country will be changed forever as a result.”

Who the H… writes this stuff for these clowns?

Hon. Christopher P. Sinckler, M.P., Minister of Finance and Economic Affairs of Barbados clearly believes in the “magic” that von Goethe talked about.

Dr. the Hon. Denis S. Lowe, M.P., Barbados’s Minister of Environment is a “Waste of Energy”

11. LOL @ DD
    Dr. the Hon. Denis S. Lowe, M.P., Barbados’s Minister of Environment is a “Waste of Energy”

ha ha ha LOL…..ohhh shiirt….muh belly!!

Dat SWEET den….

In Lowe’s defense however, Bushie has to say that, upon close examination of the picture posted on this blog, the one we should REALLY blame is the person who could look into that face …and appoint him a minister….

12. An acquaintance attended the funeral service for the late Ashley Toppin at St Lucy’s Parish Church and swore that the whole church both inside and outside roared in laughter when the representative for the parish Dennis Kellman said that Freundel Stuart is one of the greatest leaders in Barbados today.It is further reported that Freundel was totally embarrassed at the spontaneous reaction of the congregants which was so large that they spilled outside the church.The officiating minister got up to signal ‘enough’ and went over to console the primate.

13. Good to see the many garbage trucks fleeting all across the island today.

14. @ Gabriel

Dennis is an as$ kisser he will say anything to further his cause

15. If you dont mind, I will translate for blogger ‘ac’, as I am sure some of you do not understand the gibberish…

‘Wunna bunch of blp jokers started out the new year in spectacular fashion’

aka – anyone cticising the government is labeled BLP, whether subjective, objective, independent or martian.

‘,pissing drunk with attitude and shitty remarks all of which do not worth a dime worth of cow shite’

aka – we don’t give a hoto about criticism by anyone, citizen of Barbados,voter, or anyone else. You can suck salt.

‘ Now bring something of substance that is worth while talking about’

aka – praise the government, drink the kool aid and shut the hell up

‘ alternative solutions’

aka – because we don’t have a clue what the heck we are doing

‘ just a bunch of sorry a.ss losers’
    aka – again, we don’t give a heck about wunna, you could suck salt

‘ who seem to have short memories .wunna really think the public forget’

aka – we will speakl as if we represent the voters,most of whom have seen very little of any of us since the election. And you could suck salt.

‘ the sorry filthy state the enviroment was in under blp reign’

aka – we need to bring up the eight years ago past, because we have done nothing since to improve.

‘ Really who wunna trying to convince’

aka – we hear the voters talking, but don’t give a heck, wunna could suck salt….again!

Hope that helps!

16. Gabriel January 2, 2015 at 5:40 PM #

Please don’t be uncharitable to K, you must forgive him, if he found some sense he would be a halfwit.

17. David can you inform the Government ministers that they do not have to INVENT solutions to problems.

Example. copy the best and most suitable parts of other peoples solutions.

Then pretend that it was your idea. We won’t complain.

http://www1.toronto.ca/wps/portal/contentonly?vgnextoid=03ec433112b02410VgnVCM10000071d60f89RCRD

18. Freundel brought Kellman the semi retard,on to the front bench….because….”he is the longest serving member of the Democratic Labour Party in this honourable chamber”.End of story.Nothing to do with intelligence,management skills,charisma,height nor depth….just a long serving member which reflects badly on the people of St Lucy.
    Now I took a visitor up to St Lucy to buy an item and had to apologize for the condition of the road.I went to a funeral in 1993 and that road was in the same condition in 2013.I will go back down there and see if it has been barbergreened since my last painful,dodging potholes experience.

19. @ Gabriel January 2, 2015 at 8:16 PM #

Freundel brought Kellman the semi retard,on to the front bench….because….”he is the longest serving member of the Democratic Labour Party in this honourable chamber”.End of story.Nothing to do with intelligence,management skills,charisma,height nor depth….just a long serving member which reflects badly on the people of St Lucy…………………………….

Gabriel,

The story emanating from hardcore dems is as follows;

Kellman used his vote as a bargaining chip. During one of the rounds of voting, Kellman voted for himself.

For Fumble to become the leader, Fumble needed Kellman’s vote. Kellman told Fumble that he would only vote for him if he was assured that he would get a ministry. Hence the statement from Fumble that Kellman was worthy of elevation to the front bench.

In 2008, I really thought that he was hard done by the dead king when people like Steve Blackett could get a ministry over Kellman……………..even knowing the nonsense that is spewed from Kellman’s mouth. But hell, I never thought that Kellman would become such a know it all………..he is an authority on every ministry except his own! He is annoying.

Does he do any work at all, it seems as if his job is to listen to Brasstacks daily and refute anything said against the DLP!

20. a lot of noise huffing and puffing and then what,, must be hard as shite being in the wilderness ,

21. Artaxerxes January 2, 2015 at 7:26 AM #
    @ Crusoe January 2, 2015 at 6:56 AM #

“Some financial advice please? A friend of mine is thinking of putting a few hundred dollars (don’t have much more they say, taxes got them brek up), in their mother’s account for safekeeping. Is that a good idea? Thanks for any advice!”

Crusoe, someone I know did a similar act, but when his mother died, lowe and behold, the money had to be divided amongst the siblings.

First of all ensure that you have really excellent relationships with your siblings. If the sibling relationships are excellent then the beneficiary is only too happy to share a few hundred (or a few million LOL!!!) with his or her siblings.,

But if you and the siblings don’t “do” then the dog dead.

22. https:/2006/03/PT_Charles_Barbados.jpg?w=500

23. in the matter of fair play can any of the BLP door stoppers say that under the BLP reign that the barbados enviroment was not littered with garbage from oil drums to drains the over flow at the drop of rain and garbage that littered the street ,the hypocrisy and out cry from the blp yardfowls about garbage stinks to the high heavens when all knows that the media and blogs carried images far worse and that was in the times of plenty.
    most people would not be fooled or persuaded by the crocodiles tears by these hypocrites of the Blp party of the blp door stoppers as all are aware that many of those crying and huffing and puffing are just a bunch of blp losers seeking attention.

btw some alien called me a devil, to that ignoramus ac says it takes one to knows one,

24. Here goes another ac again……hit it fellas !

25. Prodigal
    I said it before and I will say it gain.Both Kellman and Maxine are diehard listeners to Brasstacks.Bridgetown could be on fire,those two from 11am -2pm
    ears are glued to brasstacks.As you said he knows about every ministry except his own,the silly little fellow,who cannot put a good sentence together without help from his madam who is far more intelligent.

26. no but like seriously! who is this ac mongrel? i usually try not to get into name calling or whatever u may deem it but this ac person seriously bewitch and dotish.. u can not say a bad word about this government. it is so sad when a political party can do no wrong for a die hard supporter.. call a spade a spade geeeez

27. @Adrian Loveridge January 2, 2015 at 10:58 AM “Only a couple of days ago it was reported that people were standing in line to pay the imposed Municipal Waste Tax.”

On Friday morning too long before either building opened people were lined up at Warrens and at the Treasury Building in Town waiting to pay their various taxes.

So the people are lining up and paying their taxes…but what is the government doing with the money?

28. and how about the millions of dollars in grants which were given to the blp party for the sole purpose of the enviroment but somehow were diverted to other projects that never saw the light of day,, yes the history and record of the blp party in regards to enviromental issues is one which gladly, they would rather not let be known, ask elizabeth thompson the gadfly of enviromental issues,, the worst ever,,

29. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac January 2, 2015 at 11:35 PM #
    “… ask elizabeth thompson the gadfly of enviromental issues,, the worst ever,,

How come Ms Thompson was recommended promoted and accepted as some Environment icon attached to the UN?”

Is it true she once did a “walkabout” at the back of a garbage collecting vehicle just to ‘experience’ what it was like in the day of a real doctor of preventative medicine?
    If that is so then she really has great guts. But we too here on BU have similar ‘intestinal gonads’ to stomach your utterances as you daily mark your territory of ‘yard-fowlism’ across the pages of BU just like the farting hippo in the video above.

30. If not for the wastage of hundreds of millions of dollars spent in projects like EduTech, Gems, Greenland and Hardwood Housing, Barbados would be in a better financial position to ride out the current economic crisis.
    “I want you to imagine what this DLP administration could have had if it had at its disposal, the nearly $400 million that the previous administration spent on Kensington Oval,” Prime Minister David Thompson stated, referring to that facility a “white elephant”

Speaking on the now heavily utilised Lloyd Erskine Sandiford Centre that had been termed a “monument of madness” by the previous BLP administration in the early years after its construction, Thompson suggested, “If you want to see a real white elephant in the context of Barbados, you can look at a place like Kensington Oval, in which nearly ten times the amount that was spent in Sherbourne was spent and yet it is difficult to get that particular facility operating to give returns to Barbadians.
    “Can you imagine what we could have done if we had the $300 million and counting that went into and what still goes into the Gems fiasco? What we could have done with that money in terms of improving the lives of Barbadians. What we could have done if we could recapture the more than one quarter of a billion dollars that is said to have gone into Edutech? Or the several hundred million that was literally and figuratively dumped into Greenland? All of that was taxpayers’ money that was totally wasted,” Thompson asserted.

………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

the said statement is a living testament and can never be refuted by the blp yardfowls who would like to put bile horse shite and fowl shite in the public domain about the dlp govt not caring about enviromental issues,

31. miller and then again

Nope, Liz Thompson’s record is of all talk and no action. In fourteen years she and her BLP government never passed Environmental Protection Legislation. She couldn’t be bothered to make pipeline and oil tank operators check for leakage every day and as a result wells on the South Coast are still full of jet fuel from the Shell pipeline leak.

32. look miller if the BLP yardflies want to lay on the shite ,they must not foirget that the have a stinking record about the enviroment that they will be forced to defend and they can;t, they ought to think twice before shooting shite in the air cause all of it got to fall right in their faces,

33. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac January 2, 2015 at 11:59 PM

Now we all know where that additional $5 billion that was borrowed since 2008 has gone. Up Jacob’s horse nostrils to pay for those 14 years of wastage. Some of it even went to complete the St. John Polyclinic started since 1991 (or was it 2008/9?).

It’s a crying shame you and your pack of friendly jokers are prepared to take advice from the same man that wasted $billions.
    But then again if OSA the guru failed to beat the biggest political jackass of the 21st Century who would be prepared to listen to a man that is entirely responsible for all the economic, social and environmental ills facing your lovely Barbados.
    Remember the refrain?
    “This Manifesto envisions a Barbados that is
    socially balanced, economically viable,
    environmentally sound and characterized by
    good governance.”

Time longer than twine, my friend, time longer than twine.

34. Thanks guys, advice most helpful. Now another one.

A cousin has a friend who wants to invest a couple thousand dollars in US. The friend was going to take it in cash in a suitcase to invest. My cousin thought it is a bad idea, I do too, as travelling with cash in suitcases is not recommended.

What advice do you have?

Thank you!

35. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Crusoe

Hahaha, you so crazy!!!

I like your griot storytelling style

36. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

Simple Simon,

someone please correct me if I am ,but was it not reported that 58 cents of every Dollar collected by Government is spent on repaying current debt and interest.

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/60180/bold-step

37. New tourism boards, Sandals promises, or the untrue platitudes spewed by the ignorant Bay Street cabal to make the uninformed think there is hope can overcome the reality of how low the island of Barbados has fallen in stature, both in the international financial ratings or in the instantly read collective opinion of a world audience who will never return after their first visit or merely choose never to come at all.

http://www.tripadvisor.com/Attraction_Review-g666621-d547318-Reviews-St_Lawrence_Gap-St_Lawrence_Gap_Christ_Church_Parish_Barbados.html

“Expensive, truly horrible food and garbage everywhere!”
    2 of 5 starsReviewed December 28, 2014 NEW
    Wow! What a fantastic location! This area has definitely had its day in the sun:( the tourist money seems to be going somewhere as it’s very expensive to stay, eat and shop but that influx of cash is not going into the development, care and maintenance of any of this tourist area! Sad to say it’s garbage ridden, mostly closed and well past its sell by date-so sad for such a beautiful place with a ton of available labor around who could help make a beautiful place reach it’s full potential

Visited December 2014

38. islandgal246 January 2, 2015 at 8:27 AM #

I know one sure way to fix this garbage problem….dump the garbage in front of Parliament for them to get the message. Nah….I forgot that Bajans too docile and prefer to inhale the stench along our streets.
    ……………………………………………………………………………………………
    Seems a bit pointless to me, When the garbage truck eventually comes around, how are they going to distinguish the garbage outside from that which is inside?

39. LOLOL @ Boy Blue

Have you ever thought that this may be the reason we are so comfortable with garbage all over the place…..

Cleanliness REALLY IS akin to GODLINESS….seriously.

….and brass bowlery is naturally comfortable with garbage.

As you correctly and hilariously say, if we dumped in parliament no one may notice……

40. @ ComeHere

The trip advisor comments are an eye opener.

41. Colonel Buggy
    Did you hear the Minister responsible for removal of garbage Dr Dennis Lowe of “when a pipe burses” notoreity, say on TV and radio today that fish is no longer HABITATING the coral reefs?What an unsophisticated,uneducated clown.The verb is INHABIT not what he said.
    Of course I cringe when MIA speaks of an inanimate object speaking e.g.Mr Speaker sir,the attitude of the honourable member speaks to the ignorance that abounds on that side of the aisle sir.

42. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Gabriel

Were it not for the fact that CBC TV broadcasts its jobby all through the region and Bulbados is seen and heard by many, I wish dat we could probably be able to fool ourselves that nobody ent seeing these clowns so that Bulbados cud watch this serialized version of “Laff it off” in Living Colour, and we cud we our own CCTV station.

Both sides are fleeced with assassins of the English language.

Dale Marshall, during the Arch Cot Tragedy and persons were searching for survivors, that Smiley Teets Idjit, on national TV, said that “the search team had smeller dogs searching to see if there were any live SPECIMENS”

De ting is dat he is a big time Attorney en he was de Attorney General too.

But this is our best, the creme de la crop much like our homebred version of “the froth of old mens’ piss, rank and foamy”

You can imagine when them does come to the Church at *** and deliver some speech fuh sumting and de madam poking me and telling me, soto voce, behave youself, you is in de House uh De Lord and behaving worse dan de likkle thrildren…

I does be peeing meself in de pews man (sorry lady) and you know dat when dat happen when Miss Headley cum and give me de customary sisterly hug and rub she mammary glands pun de old man, it wud be a terrible ting is she get any piss pun she…

I cud see she calling and sharing the weekly news pun she phone now wunna know Ole man ***, he is a pissy ole man …. de front uh he pants always wet …. ” and you know de rest

43. @Gabriel January 3, 2015 at 7:20 PM #
    But first prize must go to the Former Cabinet Minister, now deceased, who got up in the House of Assembly and spoke of a ” Flock of buffalo on the east coast”,and when prompted by a colleague that the word is Herd, he continued, ” Heard nothing ! I saw them with my own two eyes.”

44. @ ac January 2, 2015 at 9:53 PM #

“that ignoramus ac…….”

AC [aka Legion, because you are many], I congratulate you for admitting you are an idiot. As the saying goes, “admission is the first step to recovery”.

<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

@ ac January 3, 2015 at 12:03 AM #

“Nope, Liz Thompson’s record is of all talk and no action…”

Freundel Stuart’s record is of NO TALK and NO ACTION………. Chris Sinckler, Adriel Brathwaite Denis Lowe, Dennis Kellman…… ALL TALK and NO ACTION

Six is half dozen.

<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

Boy Blue January 3, 2015 at 3:18 PM #

“Seems a bit pointless to me, When the garbage truck eventually comes around, how are they going to distinguish the garbage outside from that which is inside?”

Hahahahahahahahaha…….. wuh loss…. muh belly

45. all u artexeres can do is attack ..attack. ac . now ac challenge is for you to defend the BLP i4 year record on the enviro0ment,, like you said ac is not the issue,,hey boy , the enviroment ,,ignoramus who ac Go Ahead defend your side of the coin. Tell ac how good a job NOT that the BLP did,
    Yeah there is a record and there are records come to table let ‘;s look at both, numb skull. uh dead ass get up here on BU and cuss ac ,,steupse now go do yuh research ac waiting to see the BLP scorecard on the enviroment,, all 14yeras of it.. shite head,

46. Here comes dat Donkey again….

47. Let the record show the late David Thompson agreed with the recommendation to back Liz Thompson for the top environment position/award at the United Nations.

On Sunday, 4 January 2015, Barbados Underground wrote:

48. YES and ac have no qualms , DT made an assessment not on Liz thompson dismal record, but what was best politically and diplomatically in the best interest of Barbados by having one of our own closely tied and sitting besides those who have influence in make decisions with what happens in the Caribbean basin. Do not get it twisted and knotted . DT even dead policies will always put barbados first.
    Liz thompson record still remains abysmal and would still be scrutinized reflecting on herself and the BLP,
    That is the issue the BLP yardfowls should address having enough evedience to point many fingers at many environmental challenges and failures the country is presently experiencing
    Yes and going forward the DLP must not be cowards and feel guilty especially knowing that plenty of this garbage laid at the door steps of parliament was indeed laid there by an inept 14 year BLP govt who had the financial resources to manage and correct and DID not.

49. @ ac January 4, 2015 at 9:20 AM #

AC [aka Legion, because you are many], you have this childish habit of cussing everyone who criticizes the DLP.

You must come to the realization that the DLP forms the government of Barbados, and not the BLP. You also need to also realize that the DLP promised much and has delivered very little.
    Therefore, as a citizen, voter and tax payer of Barbados, I have the RIGHT to be critical of any government, whether it be BLP, DLP or PDC.

And if I exercise my right to criticize the nonsense this government is doing, does that make me a member of the BLP? Does Dr. David Estwick being critical of his own DLP and the policies the party chose to pursue make him a member of the BLP? You need to let go of that immature mind set.

I am NOT a MEMBER of the BLP. The voters of Barbados rewarded them for any wrong doing they committed during their 14 years at the helm of government, by voting them out of office in 2008 and by not voting for them in 2013 [with the assistance of vote buying]. As such, I do not have to defend their tenure in office and I will not be as stupid as you or the other DLP idiots to keep harping on what the BEES did in “14 years”, as you all like to allude to.

However, in my opinion, it would be in your best interest to tell the public what the DLP has done to justify a third term in office [without the efforts of giving constituents money to vote for them].

50. @ ac January 4, 2015 at 9:20 AM #

“Yeah there is a record and there are records come to table let ‘;s look at both……”

The records show that under Liz Thompson’s tenure, a $300,000 “Golden Shower” was built in Silver Sands, Christ Church.
    The records also show DLP operative, Richard Byer, as having charged Caves of Barbados Limited $766,855.24 for rendering the service of offering a legal opinion on a loan contract, under Denis Lowe’s watch.

Although the “Golden Shower” is the lesser of two evils, at least the citizens of Barbados and tourist alike get to use those facilities. However, what do the taxpayers of Barbados have to show for Byer’s efforts?

More records to come.