Submitted by Old Onions Bag

Yo Ho Ho Jo Polo-tic-ian,

If I cud be so forward to ask, and you all in equal measure consider, or at least contemplate to consider, granting the downtrodden a lil mo ease pun de gasoline n light bill in the coming year. This vortex of falling crude prices is a perfect opportunity for you all to lower the country’s energy bill and to kick start the economy and NOT to make a killing. Practice a lil honestly for once in that the truth may set us all free.

Big Daddy Fumbles, the ask, is that you control those bestowed in thy care and put a lease on a certain loose canon Poodle, who apparently wants to disembowel de minister of fine ants in an on-coming  bankers fiasco ensong, that cud cause much distress to the public purse and even yo end.

Uncle Ronald, what about the promised $3,000 bursaries for those bushwacked UWI students… how long is TOO LONG, do you think? Man that was just xissy xissy…

To a not so wise man from the East…. keep from rund dey ya hear, …dem bottle did meant fa you not D bottle party.. 10- 1 ya hear…listen to Hants and Sparrow  even Bu Ju.

Swing Low dung now…doan lockup ya family man…besides when Lord Denning ask…man whey u get dat money from ,what you gine tell ee?..ya win lotto or ya cut down a breadfruit tree? Think nah man people bout hay already laughing at ya.

D Don….smooth chocolate all D way here boi…ya lookin good keep it up…time to chuck in annuda gear doa… ya deserving a true starr boi pun  TOP the christmas tree.

All D rest en nuttin and not deserving of nah mention….jokers eva one Factured BLP and the many AC’s included !

Merry Christmas ALL !

131 responses to “A Christmas Wish Politicians”

1. David,
    Nuff said at 7.25 am Dec 26th.I love the theories and possible solutions submitted.
    OSA is the trump card and his ‘persona’ is worth lots to the investing public.If we love Barbados,we should encourage the necessary changes even if unpalatable to the Quisling and the Gov’nur Deelyle.They are the two who would look for holes rather than sail with OSA ’cause they know what the man gives.All others looking to keep their pick in any new pecking order.Mia would be made Speaker.Tek it or left it!

2. david
    speak not about DT because we know from history he was guilty of moral and financial turpitude. What DT thought of Estwick is irrelevant given what we now know of DT and his financial dealings with Parris and CLICO.

3. @ Caswell
    …don’t talk rot do!!
    What Estwick is what joker what?!?!
    What resign what?!?

…and do like you and Bushie? Just sit around the place talking shiite?

Bushie don’t see a thing wrong with what Estwick has been doing so far…. One has to balance PERSONAL views carefully when one is part of a team.
    TEAM loyalty is an important consideration. One does not adopt a “my way or the highway’ attitude overnight…. Like the West Indies players in India…

Estwick has handled it quite professionally so far….never mind the haters who just want him to facilitate THEIR wishes….

Next move, (after PROPERLY documenting his internal concerns,) is the big one…
    with OSA….

4. @ Bush Tea,
    It is people like you and ac who seem to have this PARTY PARAMOUNT shiite in wunna blood yuh…… THAT is our biggest problem…………..

No, no, no, Bush Tea.

There are still virtues like integrity and principle that should be an integral part of every person’s DNA.

Do not tell me anything about party paramountcy……. one should stand for something!

5. are-we-there-yet Avatar

Seems to me that our economists seem to be uncharacteristically saying with one voice that Government should be very wary to accept offers to get further in debt for balance of payment support or other non productive reasons at this time. The alternative seems to be that they are recommending that Government should pursue policies of hunkering down and accepting harsh expenditure control regimes as well as, to the extent possible, encouraging increased inflows through private sector partnerships.

The current Government has shown conclusively that, in spite of much long talk, they cannot manage such a policy, therefore the configuration of government needs to be changed to give such a policy a chance of being successfully implemented.

imho, the biggest stumbling block to the Government being able to implement its stated policies so far has been inept leadership at the very top that cascades down through the various levels. The most likely solution to this problem has been staring us in face for at least 4 years.

Prodigal’s rumours above suggests that there is a possibility that things might change.

6. Such a silly rumour but you can count on the blp political yardfowls to push that kind of hogwash.
    in any event if such occurred the most likelihood would have been that the overture would have come from OSA directed to govt or from one of his closet confidants gauging public,s opinion
    Overall OSA legacy still has to be written and history will record and judge his actions accordingly and he should be guided to be that of “”Statemanship”as yet to b be defined and accomplished and now is as good a time to do so by putting country first and abandoning the thrust and divisiveness of politics

7. any attempt by OSA to join the DLP at the expense of the BLP, the party who gave the opportunity to rise to prominence, will relegate his legacy to that of political opportunist and spoiler. OSA is fashioning a much bigger plan, one which will see both the end of Stuart, SInckler & Worrell but also achieving his stated objective to see that MAM does not become PM as a result.
    Estwick knows whats playing out, he is after all the smartest of the present DLP group but his colleagues need to get to April 2015 for pensions. The one hiccup is that estimates must be pasted before the end of March, 2015 so the ‘other’ DLP members must find a way to keep estwick engaged as a member of the cabinet.

8. The fact there is a headline emblazoned on the front page of the Daily Nation is indicative of where we are, up shit creek. At a time when our leaders should have the country mobilized and energized to a clear objective we have another event which will only serve to undermine confidence. What will a reshuffle do? Estwick does not have the confidence of the private sector anyway and this is what will count in the final analysis.

9. who will fire the fire shot, Stuart, Estwick, Mottley or Arthur…………………………these are the only power players on the political scene presently.

10. @Prodigal…. one should stand for something!————

And what exactly are these various political actors standing for though?

Over in the US what where the pols standing for when the corporate chieftains on Wall Street walked away unscathed from the big collapse after bamboozling average Joes and Janes with the fancy financial two-step ponzi, sub-prime mortgage schemes.

What are the Bajan and T&T pols standing for after a no less devastating financial debacle for the CLICO average Joes and Janes?

Just one example of how well they stand for ….what exactly.

Estwick sounds like a fellow who really wants to make a difference and has always seemed that way but frankly the SUM of his political behaviour suggests an angry, disenchanted (intelligent, too) man full of well-meaning song and fury amounting unfortunately to little.

But then again, that last section (song and fury) could be an alternative Webster Dictionary definition of the word: Politician.

11. For these two Brits to think that their proposals would be the saviour of Barbados’ economy is foolhardy.

It would only take a few months for the inept incompetent Stinkliar to put the economy back to square one as they would then begin anew their “freeness” mentality to win back Barbadians’ confidence.

These Brits also insulted Barbadians who legitimately complain about the manner in which this country is being run and they have the audacity to talk about Barbadians engaging in scaremongering? Hey, you two, this is our country, we live here, not like you who only visit. We certainly cannot voice our opinion on how the UK is being run, we dont live there and would not know what goes on daily.

These two may be legitimate but I view them like I viewed Alan Stanford…….and we all saw how he played out. They see a weak, stupid set of morons who happen to be so “good” to fool an electorate twice to win elections but never understood that they had to be able to govern after winning. They saw the wash pan of concessions doled out to Butch Stewart who clearly saw that these people are weak and he exploited them to the maximum………….and they probably have projects lined up for the Rolls Royce of the Caribbean as they put it.

What else is new? What’s in this for them?

12. David
    your comments are instructive. I understand your fear that Sinckler is going to be a casualty in the new year. Any new MOF will be given more confidence than the present MOF, you know why? Because the present MOF believes that he can play politics at every and lie his way along and the private sector will either be none the wiser or powerless to stop it.

13. @Norst

What you have not addressed in your interventions is the matter of Cabinet collective responsibility.

14. The problem for Stuart is what while his plan to keep sinckler as the poster boy/face of the pain and suffering of the austerity programme, the fact now is that Barbadians now make little distinction between the MOF and PM. The pendulum has swung and it is time for the PM to cut Sinckler to the wind.

15. David
    Did he vote against a/the Cabinet decision in Parliament?

16. @Norst

Is there a Sinckler faction?

17. David
    Does it matter if there is such a faction?

18. @Norst

Is Estwick still a card carrying member of the Cabinet?

19. this is high stakes political poker, like the Ministry of Finance, Sinckler is out of his depth here also.

20. Is Darcy Boyce a card carrying member of the Cabinet?

21. Are we for real here…IF Arthur were to join some type of coalition group aligned with the PM in order to ostensibly move the economy on to stronger footing what exactly earth shattering next step would that presage? Pray tell.

I’ll say this folks. This is as irrelevant as Pres Obama selecting Republicans to sit in his cabinet (which he has done at least twice).

So what can OSA do now from within that will radically improve the economy that he can’t do from without as a silent adviser or other.

This is all political theater. Whether if it came to pass or not, it’s bare blarney!

You guys & gals know that you can go and see the other global theater treat (The Interview) online now, right.

Well, OK this local version is more interesting.

22. Yes it matters if Sickler has influence because it will affect Stuart’s play, IF he has any at all. What matters is that Estwick is a bone fide member of the Cabinet of Barbados. Any utterance from him will be judged against this fact by Independents.

23. @DeeWord

What is playing out is Arthur doing his darnest to prevent MAM from becoming PM, there is Inniss obvious naked (distasteful) positioning for leadership. There is Sinckler getting ‘fat’ in more ways than one. And there is the Prime Minister who is incompetent in the ways of public administration but competent enough to manage a bunch of misfits.

What an inept bunch.

24. David
    whether Sinckler has influence or not is an irrelevant consideration, the PM knows what it took to get Estwick to vote for the estimates last year. The PM also knows that Estwick will not vote for the estimate in March, 2015 and that if Estwick and Arthur team up effectively in 2015, both the DLP and BLP can positioned to the margin of true power.

25. When the possible date of the last General Election was leaked to the press, the PM crawled back into his shell, and did not call a date until the last possible moment. Now that news of a cabinet reshuffle has been leaked to the press, the PM may take similar action. But why should we believe that a Cabinet reshuffle means firing any particular Minister? The PM will play it safe and ,a like a deck of reshuffled cards, reassign different cards to the same players. Estwick will probably be reassigned to Housing, and Kellman to Agriculture, two ministries which are now virtually in suspended animation.

26. Here are the possible combinations:
    1. Stuart & Estwick
    2. Mottley and Estwick
    3. Arthur and Estwick

27. @Norst

There is no credibility neither does it make for good politics #1,2 or 3 unless you take the public for fools.

28. Buggy
    The DLP have 16 MP’s, 15 in their seat and 1 in the chair as Speaker. Take away one (estwick) and they have 14 in their seats and 1 in the chair as speaker. If estwick joins the BLP, they will have 14 in their chairs and the independent OSA. If estwick joins OSA, the DLP will have 14, the BLP will have 13 and the independents will have 2.
    WITH OSA AND DE AS INDEPENDENTS WHO WILL REALLY COMMAND THE POWER IN THE HOUSE OF ASSEMBLY?

29. @Colonel

So true, a bunch of JAs.

30. For the past week residents from Foster Hall in St Joseph/St John to Cane Garden in St Andrew have been , without water, or suffering very low water pressure .
    I’ll risk to bet , that this water shortage is not affecting those pretoria homes in Cattlewash. No Prob- lem !

31. @Norst

Don’t play the numbers game because we see how Denzil Douglas and Ramotar have blunted the governance process in their respective countries.

32. Its all about the numbers.

33. Watch and see what happens in the next 3 months in Barbados, even the blind know that something is coming in politics.

34. @Norst…

So is this projected new dynamic going to be better than the Dr. Richie Haynes incarnation of political nirvana?

That was certainly the most interesting new party attempt since EWB himself left to forge the new and powerful DLP.

Not being cynical but will Bajans embrace and adopt this new batch of angry, disenchanted pols like they embraced Richie?

One can only applaud Estwick if this is as you have laid it out.

He really seems energized for change…I hope it’s for all the right reasons.

35. If you listen to Estwick’s statements carefully he is staying the same thing that OSA said about the BLP before leaving, “the party has lost its way”. The PM’s last roll of the dice will be to seek to keep DE as a member of the Cabinet and the DLP.

36. @Norst

What can you tell us about the directorships of Carmichael and Ince on the new company formed to lend financing to the sugar industry? Any connection to Sinckler?

37. “……..I have fought on my beliefs and on the principles that guided the DLP”
    ” I will not be a part of any group that sees business interest dominate the national interest (while) people suffer year after year. I will stand alone on an iceberg and challenge the DLP on their present path if it comes to that. I am not afraid”

38. @ David December 26, 2014 at 10:36 AM….

Well sir, If OSA is so energized and impassioned at this stage of his political life to be “doing his darnest to prevent MAM from becoming PM” one can only imagine what high-crimes and misdemeanors he perceives or is aware she has done.

I don’t know if I should therefore applaud his fortitude for attempting to save us Bajans from ourselves or LOL when I consider how our various leaders have contrived, bobbed & weaved and finagled to improve their personal lot while skirting on the edges of the law.

That is, done not much worst than she has or is expected to do.

But then maybe I am naively stupid that way, and maybe MAM is so soiled with malfeasance that nothing done before even comes close to her acts.

So maybe more power to OSA.

39. Why use the past tense in the word guided?

40. @DeeWord

Well stated laddie.

41. David
    As far as I am aware Ince hates Sinckler, and given the chance would be happy to moved from economic affairs. So i doubt a connection.

42. @Norst

Estwick has become like the boy who cried wolf!

It began when Thompson on his death bed relegated Estwick to the ministry of agriculture. Estwick threw his tantrum but was placated by the boys over a short drink.

43. You mean when SInckler went up to Mapps and confused a dying DT into believing he had the support in Cabinet to challenge the PM and depose him before his death? This is the same to DT you are talking about? The one who saddled Bajans with Sinckler as MOF?

44. Don’t make me laugh David, its Boxing Day not All Fools Day.

45. @Norst

The very same yet Estwick who has known of these things continue to play along.

46. The problem for SInckler was despite assurances, when the vote was held on the morning of DT’s death, Donville and others refused to support him for PM.

47. David
    “Time is longer than twine”

Patience is a virtue.

48. Could it be Norst that Sinckler was LP’s boy over Estwick any day of the week?

49. @Norst

And in the same forum what support did Estwick command red shirt and all?

50. I would truly hate the “LP’s boy”. What does one have to do to enjoy his support?