Submitted by CARIBBEAN GUYANA INSTITUTE FOR DEMOCRACY (CGID)

BROOKLYN: The New York Caribbean Guyana Institute for Democracy (CGID) joins New York City’s elected and community leaders in condemning the assassinations of NYPD Officers Wenjin Liu and Rafael Ramos, who were killed while on duty in Bedford-Stuyvesant, Brooklyn last Saturday. This barbaric act has no place in our society and is antithetical to goals and values of the current movement for justice in our City.

CGID morns the loss of these heroes and expresses sincere condolences to the family and friends of officers Liu and Ramos, and to the NYPD.

We join our elected leaders in appealing for tranquillity, as well as a suspension of all forms of protest against the NYPD; until our heroes have been laid to rest. Currently, large portions of our City are seething with anger. Consequently, all of us as stakeholders have a responsibility to tone down our rhetoric and passions.

The attacks on Mayor Bill deBlasio by the President of NYPD’s Patrolmen’s Benevolent Association, Pat Lynch and others, are odious. Such unsavoury and divisive rhetoric dishonours the memory of officers Liu and Ramos and desecrates this period of bereavement. It should therefore be repudiated. The Mayor deserves our commendation for demanding equal treatment for all New Yorkers. It is a constitutionally enshrined right which the PBA must also respect and not diminish.

Police Commissioner Bill Bratton can help to calm tensions between the community and police by implementing urgent measures to ensure the law is enforced equitably in all communities. This will assure citizens that their voices have been heard. The Commissioner must also guarantee the efficacy of extant provisions in the law to address allegations of Police abuse and misconduct, and urge that they be utilized fearlessly when appropriate.

Moreover, all citizens; especially our young people, must be admonished of their lawful obligation to obey and respect Police officers; whose commission is to keep our streets and communities safe and to protect life and property. Police officers are human beings with valuable lives, families and love ones just like all of us. Hence, they deserve our respect and gratitude. Most important, they have a right to return safely to their love ones at the end of their tour each day.

120 responses to “Two New York Police Officers Murdered”

1. All Sides need to tone down the rhetoric.

2. John Hanson 1781-1782- I SERVE 1788- 1792 BARBADOES. Avatar
    John Hanson 1781-1782- I SERVE 1788- 1792 BARBADOES.

Karma is a bitch, NYPD think their lives is worth more than others, Police Union will never reel in reel in their people from treating people like shit, In a city of more than 8 million , one fool will reply to unfair murders of black People.Now you know things are bad when all people take to the streets,

3. another two innocent lives lost because of institutionalized racist policies within the USA judicial system which had failed to serve and protect and deliver justice to darren wilson. now the chickens are coming home to roost and no one life is exempt,
    the cries for justice is now being delivered by the hands of ny citizenry through the nozzle of a gun..sad,

4. Like de Blasio these people look so silly on what they think is the high moral ground. Cant and hypocrisy. This week the cops were “heroes” sitting in a car having lunch. Last week? They should jump.

5. and ross what is your point ?the realities being played out on the streets of NY and across america lies way beyond the heoric efforts and protest , but a continuous fight that rages on between people and a system that continues to fail and a people seeking and demanding corrective measures,

6. ac

My point is self-evident. Your phrase “a continuous fight” says as much as I need. But how nice that protest should end while these “heroes” are buried. How nice, how responsible of them, that they should “appeal for tranquility” now. What model leaders in appealing now that ‘citizens especially the young should obey and respect police officers whose commission is to keep our streets safe’. Sweet Jesus, are these people for real? (Mind, if I really wanted to be cynical I’d say ‘Oh yeah, but then these officers weren’t Caucasian were they?’ – but I’m not so I won’t)

7. ross all lives matter.. unfortunately in your haste to be critical of the protest and being the artful dodger u have become u have instantaneously “zoomed in”on what have transpired over the weekend with the unfortunate killings of two police officers by the hands of a deranged gunman attempting to placed blame on the protest however overlooking or purposely omitting what had triggered this weekend killings. As one schooled in matters legal u must be aware that the story does not begin with the end but lies within its entirety

8. I TURNED MY BACK ON DEBLASIO Avatar
    I TURNED MY BACK ON DEBLASIO

I have not been critical of the protest. Read my posts. I am critical of these self–appointed know-alls who are saying now what they should have said then. The same goes for Sharpton and deBlasio. It took two innocent deaths for them to say it.

Of course, there is a school of thought which suggests that the killer was a jihadist.

9. This was a deranged person who was arrested many times and released by the NY system on the streets. Instead we have JAs who would pin this on deblasio to mask the real issue.

10. David December 22, 2014 at 11:35 PM #

All Sides need to tone down the rhetoric.”

Well said. However, when the administration, in any or some of its arms, are aloof from the people, things will happen.

I don’t think the big issue here is police vs citizens, I think it is ‘a government OF the people’.

Has it transitioned to a government ‘on’ the people?

One cannot manage 8 billion or whatever easily, but when people are losing homes easily, when medical care is beyond the reach of the average citizen, when war vets are treated like dogs, people who have given more than their all to a country, then you have an issue, a serious one.

It is an issue of philosophical approach, not a purely physical one.

And yes, much jest is made of ‘Obamacare’, but really, medical care is beyond the average joe or Jackie and this IS a serious problem in a country suggesting to be civilized.

As I said in another post, the issue is the worshipping of the stock market and making it the sole yardstick of success.

Not only does that remove humanity from the equation, it also pegs success to an abstract and artificial statistic.

What we are witnessing is just another symptom of this disease.

11. Yet another Grand Jury decision sparking protest in the case where a policeman shot a Black man 14 times. Let the protest continue, Black men want to breathe.

12. ”where a policeman shot a Black man 14 times.”

Maybe he was a poltergeist and kept getting up?

One does have to wonder at the mental state of the trigger.

13. What we are seeing is the manifestation of a broken system. It must continue to play out as a conduit for evolution.

14. @ ross
    another “artful cop out” in your last comment, Read YOUR posts! a good defense lawyer you will never be ..maybe just maybe ” a run of the mill” prosecutor

15. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

No where you go in this world is safe from fools, idiots, brass bowls and the easily impressionable.

This “act” of cops turning their backs on the Mayor de Blasio needs to be called out for what it is.

A puerile response by impressionable cops incited to misinterpret the impassioned plea of a citizen with a biracial son whose father honestly said that he cautions said son regarding son’s encounters with encounters with errant, belligerent, rampant police behaviour towards the non Caucasian community in the USA.

PRIOR TO HIS COMMENTS regarding the deaths of Michael Brown and Eric Garner there do not seem to be any issues between the mayor and the Police.

Wherever you go in this world you have to find people like Pat Lynch who will speak non eloquently but will garner (no pun intended) the support and misplaced ire of a couple impressionable cops.

Now, add to this the mischievous media machine that is the American media and you have a cauldron of claymore mines assembled with their convex facades (this is the side that delivers the blast and projectiles) pointed towards whichever audience is willing to be further incited.

It is known as selling news/papers and increasing ratings people

We readers HAVE TO BE more discerning and “see” the real dynamics playing out behind these “9 day wonders” around us.

Let me see if I can explain this instance of collective attention deficit disorder for you readers.

What has happened to the global Ebola issue so recently being fed to us or (ii) the $1billion pledged by world governments to fight this scourge or (iii) the inadequacy of the conversion of Enmore as our containment centre for Ebola?

Do you understand why having our eyes fixed on the prize of the Employment Tribunal instead of the impotence of the National Union of Teachers and our Ministry of Education regarding engendering critical thinking among our students and the evidence of what such portends given its output at our local University of the West Indies per thinkers and authors of indigenous solutions to the rampant problems in Bulbados?

16. @ Crusoe

shiite man, you always present a strong argument but @Crusoe December 23, 2014 at 7:08 AM you REALLY outdid yourself…

Brilliant and inciteful….

You exactly summarized the misplaced priorities that have our world all screwed up AND you touched on propensity of those who project the aura of “success” in this French Connected world, to measure their “success” by how much THINGS they have managed to accumulate..

It would be an interesting discussion to explore the kind of society we would need to create in order to correct that obviously NOT WORKING model….

17. The major block to black men breathing are other black men, even in Barbados . What total nonsense comparing the deaths of two innocent people to garner and brown who were by the way committing crimes when they ended up dead which a lot of you disregard with a boys will be boys attitude. The latest tact has been he was deranged, sick, taking no responsibility or making no connection between the rhetoric of kill the police and this event …totally laughable. Its sickening to watch the same people who were provoking this on tv since ferguson trying to back away from it.. like a turd in a swimming pool.
    You can walk you can march till you are blue in the face but nothing is going to change if cops are under pressure, if they thought there was little time to know when to shoot or not ..it just got less.
    I have listened to the pundits they have been talking black and brown lately trying to bring other minorities into the fray …..shooting them may not be the way to go. Its funny about optics you can be Asian,mexican, Serbian,indian etc but if you put on a police uniform you are all white.

18. @PUDRYR

Correction, the Mayor’s anti stop and frisk political campaign did not win him any police friends. A society must be able to discuss what ails it without expecting to defend against diots and nut cases. The willingness of the Police to use rhetoric bordering on vitriol is unfortunate.

19. So Lawson let us understand you. What crime was Garner committing? And if he was committing a crime what are you saying? What crime was Brown committing and if he was what are you saying? All of America White Black and the in between acknowledge there is a problem yet you continue to spout BS.

20. laws are in place to be enforced by police whether they want to or not. You are so myopic it isn’t funny whether it was lady cows box, brown stealing cigars, or garner selling illegal cigarettes. You don’t like it change the laws

21. The police is to protect and serve the community, even from itself.

22. agreed

23. @David
    Yet another Grand Jury decision sparking protest in the case where a policeman shot a Black man 14 times
    ++++++++++
    This incident did not go before a Grand Jury, it was the local prosecutor who decided that charges were not warranted.

24. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Sargeant December 23, 2014 at 8:47 AM

Was this Police officer fired as a result of the shooting?
    What was the reason for his dismissal from the Force?
    Was it a simple case of self defence even if it meant 14 bullets to disable a madman?

25. There are two separate yet connected social phenomena at work.

First, we have institutional and systematic RACISM in NYC and America more generally. Secondly, we have a police culture which supports institutional racism – serves and protects it – is a beneficiary of that racism and expects the special privileges it has always enjoyed.

We hear officials describing the killing of the two policemen as ”assassinations”. Well, in the American context that word has particular connotations. It suggests, in the American mind, a criminal conspiracy. Meaning, a plan my several or many to kill these officers. It also emotes certain reactions from the population. We get the sense of a certain deliberateness in this descriptor.

The protesters over the centuries old killings of Black people by NYC policemen could hardly be blamed for the actions of what seems to be a lone, mentally adrift, gunman, no more than gun dealership were to be blamed for Columbine. Craven attempts by officialdom to take the sting out of protests by using the death of these officers is misguided.

26. @Miller etc.
    I was correcting David’s assertion about the Grand Jury being involved but I have been following this incident for a little while. They fired the officer because he didn’t follow protocol and they knew they would be trouble ahead since the man was seen by two other officers minutes prior to the shooting and they concluded that he posed no threat to the community. Someone called in another report and this policeman shoots him claiming (self defense) and the prosecutor based his decision on that claim.

According to his family he suffered from schizophrenia and the only people who are more likely to die at the hands of Police other than blacks are the mentally ill, if you are black and mentally ill it is double jeopardy.

27. Merry Christmas, Happy Hanuka, Happy Kwanza or just enjoy.

I suspect the very nature of blogging is about voicing an opinion, oft times biased, because most of us come in here with entrenched opinions and shout down others rather than gain a perspective and validity from the other person.

The moderator appropriately noted “all sides need to tone down the rhetoric”.

So it amazes me how the commenters across this blog display an apparent uncontrollable ability to use civil speech – and we just talking with no skin in the game – yet they with voluminous vitriol criticise each other in debating the actors in the life and death real world debates whose rhetoric gets overheated.

So have a great season with your families and do remember when back here giving the world those pearls of wisdom to “tone down the rhetoric”.

If we can’t ‘protect and serve’ our temperament sitting comfortably in a chair how in Jesus’ name do we expect a 200+lb man to react calmly to a group of cops who are on his case for a few loose cigarettes and vice-versa.

I do wish all of you a wonderful holiday.

28. One must question the judgement of NY Police to turn backs on the Mayor. What will New Yorkers take from it? How will it help to make things better for the Police?

29. Thanks for the correction but we know a grand jury verdict is contrived by the prosecutor when the police is involved.

30. We don’t hear this hue and cry when White policemen kill Black undercover policemen. Like happen recently. Then, they go into cover up mode.

31. Let’s call it what it is i.e. the act of an unstable person who decided to target police officers after shooting his (ex) girlfriend. This individual has been through the revolving door of the US justice system many times and it appears that no assessment was made of his mental health even though he replied in the affirmative when asked by a judge if he had seen psychiatrists or psychologists. Mental health is an issue all over North America and they have been cutbacks to balance budgets so the price of budget slashing is the occasional mass killing which is a price that society seems comfortable with despite the rendering of garments and gnashing of teeth when an incident like this unfolds.

The response by the politicians have been partisan with Republicans placing blame on (mainly) black officials claiming that they contribute to this by hate speech- note the taking of high moral ground by these folks in response to the milquetoast comments by Holder etc. The labels are never ending, calling for justice and equity is now the forte of race baiters or hate speech mongers.

There may be a reason for this latest noise is it to quell the protest sure to erupt when the next Grand Jury acquits the policeman who is responsible for this death?

http://www.cnn.com/2014/11/21/us/new-york-police-shooting/

32. Here we have a case where those two officers were victimized for being policemen, and Black men are constantly victimized for being Black.

Although I condemn the shooting of those two police officers, like it or not, we must face the reality people will react when they feel aggrieved by an event or series of events. This often give rise to anarchist groups with people who have different political, religious or social ideologies. Consequently, the world will always have organisations such as ISIS, Al Qaida or the IRA.

For example, the PLO, PLF, PFLP and Hamas, were formed because Palestinians felt aggrieved by the Israelis; Al Qaida was established in the late 1980s to bring together Arabs who fought in Afghanistan against the Soviet invasion; the Black Panther Party monitored the behavior of the police and challenge police brutality. Likewise in these times, since the slaying of Black men by the police is apparently being “swept under the rug”, it’s only a matter of time before anarchy raises its ugly head.

When people saw George Zimmerman being acquitted of murdering Trayvon Martin, or the grand jury failing to indict police officers who used extreme force to kill Charles Smith and Michael Brown, or read the compelling case of 16 year old Kamani Gray, who was shot 4 times in his front and side and 3 times in the back by police as he left a friend’s birthday party on March 9, 2013, a time will eventually come when they will obviously say “enough is enough”.

33. This shooter was a demented coward.Would have been more impressive to actually snuff out any cops while being racially mistreated and abused, like others have done, losing their lives or ending up in prison, wrongfully.Then to commit suicide and hailed as a revolutionary hero, give me a break, the guy was a disgrace.

34. The CGID wrote………

”Moreover, all citizens; especially our young people, must be admonished of their lawful obligation to obey and respect Police officers”…………

There is no law which requires anybody to obey and respect police officers. None! This is a blatant untruth. In fact the reverse is true. For example, people in America do not even have to speak to the police unless to state their names etc. Moreover, there is a ‘divine’ right to remain silent as enshrined in the Constitution and the Bill of Rights.

We condemn the CGID for furthering the police state architecture and by word and deed assigning powers to the police there never had but in practice try to assume, especially over the ignorant. CGID is talking about a totalitarian regime. That is what they are mindless supporting – the CGID, whatever that is!. Their founding fathers must be turning in their graves.

We are otherwise against the general tenor if this writer/s as he/they seek to board a bandwagon of dubious direction. Thinking all the time that some high ground is being taken. Its the mind of a slave.

He is asking the very system which is dysfunctional, at best, and racist to the core to reform itself. That will not happen. Protesters must stop their actions but racism has been with us for 500 hundred years and there is to be no end, to that! Nobody is seeking to stop that at its core, not on the fringes, its centre!

These pleadings from the CGID are aimed to mislead on the alter of mindless killings. But people die tragically everyday in the USA and in our world, and nothing stops, old man river keeps moving along. Indeed, it is racist to continue to ask Black people to behave in this irrational way – stop a whole movement based on the actions of a (real) madman. And the racism is as such that even the maybe Black CGID mouth diatribes as if to out gun Sharpton, the discredited.

35. Police officer ‘fired after 19 years on the force for trying to stop fellow cop from choking and punching black suspect in the face while handcuffed’

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2885087/Police-officer-fired-19-years-force-trying-stop-cop-choking-punching-black-suspect-face-handcuffed.html

36. It would appear that rather than try to defend each other’s statements, we should be truthful about what is happening. For centuries now wrongs have been done to blacks in the name of justice. But the justice referred to is white justice. In some cases the authorities have come back and said that injustices were done as was seen just lately in the case of the 14 year old black youth who was executed and 70 years later is exonerated. Protest about Police Killings should never stopped. There is the sentiment that without protest what little action or reaction that might be garnered will not be there. I support protest each and every time these things happen whether the police have been shot or not.

37. @ David

These people CGID who willfully misguided the blog, on a matter of basic law, show be encourage to retract.

38. @Pacha

RIckford reads and as always is encouraged to post a response.

39. I TURNED MY BACK ON DEBLASIO Avatar

Please don’t talk about ‘cop outs’. You are the major cop out on BU…..a man acting out a woman acting out a….. As for defence/prosecution issues, frankly you would never know. Christ fella…not even the CCJ is in your line however hard you try.

Sure David, if you think it’s being a JA to say these people should have been attempting to calm the situation previously if they had any sort of pretension to leadership skills and that to come out with it now is sheer hypocrisy then sure I’m a JA. You can’t play the statesmen if you first put yourself in the gutter. You can’t take the moral high ground if you’ve been caught touching up young girls. Haven’t you learned that yet? It’s called ‘integrity’. But I guess you wouldn’t know. I’m just sorry it took two more deaths for them to say what should have come naturally before – and not least because if true now it was true then. This is NOT about the rights and wrongs of what the Grand Juries determined, NOR about marching against perceived injustice, NOR even about so-called ‘institutional racism’ in US. At root, it’s actually about being honourable in public life.

So yes……on the basis of parity and on principle….’I turned my back on deBlasio’. BAF has promised to make me a T shirt.

40. @ David

But David, you have editorial responsibilities. And for CGID to misguide a discussion by basing an article on a profound lie should carry some sanction.

If you have been following US media you will soon see that the real leadership of the demonstrations have resolved to continue, without pause.

You should also know that the White House has lost confidence in their front man, Al Sharpton, to control these demonstrations. We known that they are now looking for another ‘sell out’ to do their bidding.

Sharpton has long been no more than an ambulance chaser, using the police deaths of Black people to make money, on an industrial scale.

For CGID to rush to compromise a movement for democracy in the name of Democracy is a travesty. A travesty only you have the power to remedy.

41. @Pacha

We try to support the views of all. Post your disagreement Oped or otherwise.

42. @ David

What views can we have based on lies, already told. When a lie gets a head start on the truth, the truth can’t caught up – TA.

But you can correct it.

43. The people who have the historical victims of the police must suspend their fight for justice. WHY???

44. Ross…

….You can’t take the moral high ground if you’ve been caught touching up young girls. ”
    Actually Ross, the problem really stems from being caught touching up young boys…

As JIK Gibbons says above……. there is “white” justice and then there is Justice.

White justice is about maintaining the clearly racist status quo, while real Justice would involve creating a color-blind, wealth-blind, talent-blind society with respect to the actions and operations of all authorities.

Neither Lawson or Ross …..or indeed almost anyone who currently benefit from the status quo can be expected to want to make the change….

However, EVERYONE who truly believes in fairness and equity would…. even if two policemen are shot in the line of duty…. perhaps…..ESPECIALLY because two policemen are shot so needlessly in the line of duty….

45. BU / David has up to now permitted all and sundry to post FREELY.

Post yuh post Pacha.

46. @ David

Let’s get real.

Will Obama stop the infiltration of the demonstrations by his agents from about 20 spying agencies.

This SOB shows us one face but in the background, the real leadership of the demonstrations, are outing agent provocateurs daily.

All kinds of threats are being made against activists. Let them stop their modern COINTELPRO offensives. And the NYCPD is part of this.

47. NEW YORK (Reuters) – From the dingy donut shops of Manhattan to the cloistered police watering holes in Brooklyn, a number of black NYPD officers say they have experienced the same racial profiling that cost Eric Garner his life

http://news.yahoo.com/off-duty-black-cops-york-feel-threat-fellow-170110366.html

48. I TURNED MY BACK ON DEBLASIO Avatar

Bush Tea

“Everyone who truly believes in fairness and equity…..” Jesus fella…is this YOU? When the bells peal at Christmas, they will be peals of laughter to be heard in Canterbury.

Lawson and Ross want to retain the status quo…..now please pin brain, what status quo is that given the Lawson lives in Canada and me down the road from you? You’re another one with a short memory when it suits you.

The feminine includes the masculine. Your remark is cheap plonk…. not even grand cru brass bowlery.

Why must you turn everything into an issue of race? This post is not as such about what you’re wittering about. Poor you – you’re obsessing. But I guess it’s a way of avoiding the issue and feeling good. Funny thing is, I seem to have more in common with Pacha than you – he feels this post is crap too though for quite different reasons.

I see you want a “talent blind” society. Are you running for office?