Submitted by Anthony Davis
Mara Thompson M.P.

“Residents of Foster Hall, St. John, say they have been faced with dry taps for several months now and are appealing to the Barbados Water Authority (BWA) to urgently address their plight”Barbados Today

There are several questions to be asked:

1) Is St. John not a DLP stronghold? 2) Is Mara Thompson not the sitting member for that constituency? 3) What is Mara Thompson doing about this unacceptable state of affairs? 4) Just sitting, and drawing the tax payers’ money?

What the BWA is doing is fraud, because people are paying for a service and are not getting the goods for which they are paying. Is this now the norm, where a Government can cheat the public of what it is supposed to receive?

It seems that the Minister responsible for delivery of the water cannot keep his promise, and consequently that of the BWA, to deliver water to the residents of Foster Hall in a timely manner, and in a sufficient supply. Barbadians do NOT like smelling like skunks, so I can empathise with these residents – especially those who have to get to work and whose children have to go to school, if not the same Government would want to charge them for not sending their children to school!

In twenty-first Century Barbados this very unsatisfactory to say the least. How much would NISE give this Government in a range from 1 to 10 – where 10 is the highest mark – for its service? Or does Government not have to be NISE?

Do the people in Foster Hall have the “smart” meters?

Pray tell me: What is a Corporate Communications Specialist and what are her duties?

Is it some title given to someone in a higher wage bracket?

What use is that person if she/he is unwilling – like all Government agencies – to communicate with the press, or for that matter anyone?

Does she not know the answer or is she hiding something from the press, and the people of Barbados when it comes to this situation where people have not been receiving the commodity which they are supposed to for months?

Isn’t tourism our business when it comes to such entities?

Do you think that it looks good to see what is going on in Foster Hall on the internet?

I bet my bottom dollar that if it was in her area or some area where the upper echelons of our country live that that problem would have been solved eons ago. It is despicable to treat the hardworking people of Barbados as if they are just plebs. You should all be ashamed.

The Constitution does not provide for first and second class citizens.”

63 responses to “St. John Residents Crying Out for Mara, Water”

1. @ Hants

You see the post above mine…..Caribbean Hater….wunna could hold hand…”Rebels without a cause”

2. @Caribbean Lover
    Bajans don’t have anything whatever against St Lucians.But there are 2 significant occurrences which tend to engender question marks.Firstly,was Julie’N forced to leave St Lucia some years ago?Secondly,what is the content of the will of the dead king of St John.Does the furrina lady know how many millions of bajan money he left that is questionable.Is there protecton of the political class asses even if they come from St Lucia.None of us like dishonesty whether St Lucian or Bajan.Why Rowe had to run from St Lucia?Why bajans don’t know the content of a probated will of a big big public figure like a former prime minister whose marriage to a St Lucian is not in question.How many million.Who controlling it.Who is the rightful owner.Are the true beneficiaries anything to do with failed insurance praemia…
    Questions,questions,questions……of the political class ass no 1.Don’t expect an answer from dumb boy anytime soon.

3. Gabriel

Please tell Mr\ms.. Luver…..I can vouch first hand how it feels when your hard earned money is unjustly taken away…$300,000 lodged somewhere that my grandchildren should be educated with or I as an old man buy medicine wid….So Luver or whoever you are….whether Bajan ,St.Lucian, Trini or Vincentian…D hurt doan change……People of Barbados were told how the money was discharged and WHERE IT STOPPED.. to its last movements…and feel stink as ass….but can’t do nuttin but watch and wait…… Now you tell me ..if you would be all smiles and welcomed arms?

4. Prodigal Son | December 11, 2014 at 7:43 PM |
    Now that she has no accomplishments, her party has not delivered on any of all the grand promises, only re-started the polyclinic and even that they have not completed.

Prodigal Son,
    I believe that you are making a serious mistake in viewing this problem as political. It is financial, and it is extremely crippling to taxpayers. Let me explain.
    Two major projects in health care undertaken by the Sandiford administration were:
    1.Government’s “investment” in the St. Joseph hospital which was eventually finished with millions and millions of dollars in deliberate cost over-runs. An extremely costly health care asset, bought by the sweat of taxpayers’ labour, was delivered to Owen Arthur in 1994 to put to national use for the benefit of Bajans. For the length of the life of the Owen Arthur administration, Prime Minister Arthur allowed the high-priced facility, located in his own constituency, to crumble and rot. Millions and millions of Barbadian taxpayers’ money went down the drain.
    I am certain that I heard a Minister in either the Thompson or Stuart Cabinet talking about fixing up St. Joseph hospital again. More millions of taxpayers’ money to be spent all over again.
    2. The St. John polyclinic.
    Almost every Barbadian could see the obvious benefits of setting up a polyclinic in St. John. Given the uncertainty surrounding the availability of ambulances and trolleys today, the need for this facility becomes more pressing.
    The Sandiford administration collapsed in 1994, leaving the St. John polyclinic unfinished. The polyclinic could have been finished by the Arthur administration using 1994 labour and material costs. Prime Minister Arthur, evidently deciding that the St. John polyclinic had no benefits to offer Barbados or the people of St. John, left the polyclinic abandoned and unfinished throughout his three terms. In an attempt to heap political contempt and embarrassment on the people of St. John, Mr. Arthur dismissed the parish as being the poorest in Barbados.
    The Thompson and Stuart administrations have expressed a desire to finish the St. John polyclinic. More millions of taxpayers’ money must now be spent.
    Two projects; millions and millions already spent. How much benefits have they provided so far for Barbadians?
    I hope you can see the supporting role which Owen Arthur played in this destructive game of financial wastage.

5. Maybe they could take back that BLOATED CHECK from Richard Byer and many more we are not aware of to finish the polyclinic and pay overdue workers money owed

6. @Gabriel

Bajans don’t have anything whatever against St Lucians.

You are right; Bajans don’t have anything against St.Lucians; they have issues with the entire Caribbean. They don’t like anyone or anything that is not Bajan.
    You don’t care for Trinis to the south; Jamaicans to the north; nor anyone in between. But God forbid, if disaster were to come your way some day, the vast majority of you would run to St.Lucia.
    So come on! lighten up; open up your hearts and learn to embrace your neighbours. As I said, the Mayor of Castries is a Bajan, Shirley Lewis, and it doesn’t bother St.Lucians. Now, can you picture a St.Lucian, or any other Caribbean national holding a similar post in Barbados?

Prime Minister King of St.Lucia had to call out Owen Arthur to tone down his rhetoric concerning Mara Thompson when she was seeking the St.John seat.

7. Why you people always look to pick on Barbados? You have Jamaica in the North who don’t rate or rank small islanders for years and you say nothing. Include the Bahamas, yet all of you run to live in Barbados to have a quality life. O shut the hell up!

8. Caribbean Luver ( or DLP Croaker)

I see you have cleverly side step mine and Gabriel’s questions…..guess you have good reason too.. yours is just a one way mission….But is ok…cuz we dun know U are probably ona-DEM cloaked in a Caribbean flag, hoping to evoke emotions for one of your party members….For some, the true duz hurt….but not when u sittin on il-gained millions and living in a gated community in St.James, “FAR FROM THE MADDENING CROWD.”

9. Caribbean Lover; I think you have it wrong.

The problem is not that Mara is a St Lucian. The problem is that she is the former wife of a man who can be considered to have raped this country and perhaps yours as well, using CLICO as the implement and rumouredly left several million dollars of the proceeds to Mara. It doesn’t matter which country she was from, the rape rankles!

That Vaughan Lewis’ wife is a Bajan and that she is now presumably the Mayor of Castries bears little commonality with the process that was used to make Mara the representative for St John. The stakes were not comparable and the personalities involved were as chalk as to cheese.The process of enthroning Mara as a queen by FS and others in the DLP appears to have been a cynical and unthinking ploy to protect certain secrets and to warm a seat for the Thompson clan and thereby set up a Thompson dynasty here. I hope it backfires, but with the current group of politicians at the helm here, who knows what will eventually happen.

Why yuh don’ talk bout someting else? Nuh!

10. @David
    “O shut the hell up!”

As the administrator, that is the best you can do? Well, it obvious that I won’t be returning here. So to you, I’ll say: GO FUCK YOURSELF.

11. @Caribbean Lover

You will be missed.

Tired of your kind, all you do is lob barbs at Barbados with little reason yet Caribbean people of every nationality continue to make Barbados their home, visit for leisure and business.

12. @ Carib Cloaker

…….As expected,…nice strategy to avoid explosive questions..like why a certain HIGH PROFILE will, cannot be probated or made public after 4 years?….Why Bajan Rowe get pelt out of St.Lucia……But you know what Cloaker…you have confirmed my suspicions…Cahyarassclot!!!!!St.Lucian enuff foe ya?

13. @ Caribbean Lover
    when you say you not returning here, you mean BU blog or Barbados