David Estwick, Minister of Agriculture

BU highlighted faulty forecasting by the Governor of the Central Bank Delisle Worrell in the blog Governor Delisle Worrell Repeats Himself. We allow public officials to make statements without challenge. Governor Worrell recently had his contract renewed.

On the weekend we suffered the re-emergence of Minister of Agriculture David Estwick at a constituency branch meeting in St. Lucy.  One wonders if there is a strategic alliance in the making between old friends from the anti-Thompson era. To make the political landscape more interesting we had to listen to an aggressive Mara Thompson in parliament last sitting. It  must concern the enigmatic Minister of Agriculture David Estwick that his credibility with the public has dipped considerably in recent years. The reason he offered to explain his silence is another example of faulty leadership. He has good ideas but appear to be stymied when he attempts to execute.

To his credit he has been able to command exhaustive coverage from the traditional media. What is missing from the coverage however is the unwillingness of the traditional media to hold him accountable for past public statements. BU takes the opportunity to reflect on David Estwick’s public offering on the political platform leading into the last general election on 15 February 2013.

Watch Dr David Estwick – Manifesto Launch speech (15 February 2013)

• At 6:00 minutes into the video Minister David Estwick promised that his Democratic Labour Party will NEVER make the mistake of reducing the public service jobs.
  • At 20:00 Estwick reminded Barbadians the way to diversify the economy is to build out an alternative energy program, creative sector AND Agriculture industries.
  • At 30.00 he addressed how the government applied stimulus through free bus fares, summer camps and unwillingness to shut down statutory corporations.
  • At 32:50 he addresses the Japanese to Fund Sugar Cane industry.
  • And at 34:30 mention is made of the natural gas pipeline agreement between Barbados and Trinidad.
  • At 48:00 mention is made of the Cruise Pier Project, Pier Head Marina and opposition to privatization
  • At 40:00 he mentioned the OTEC project.

109 responses to “David Estwick Yelps, Again”

1. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

By now you should have realised that these people would have said and done anything to stay in office. If that included knowingly making promises that were unrealistic, so be it.

Over the years, I have developed a healthy respect for Estwick’s intellect, unfortunately, now that he is part of this Government his mouthings do not allow me to have that same level of respect for his integrity.

2. DavidE
    Right on cue as always. But you appreciate the difficulty in getting anything done in Barbados project-wise while the MOF is tax the economy to DEATH, the economy is not growing and the sovereign credit rating is dropping faster than bombs during the London blitz?

3. I would say that the article in Barbados Today last night with Dr Estwick is strange. Seems to me he is on the offensive and intends to put the blame squarely on the shoulders of the MOF and the PM.

4. They got a Chihuahua next door….

Errr. ruff, ruff…or chirp chirp… something like that…..

5. Special Special Envoy November 12, 2014 at 5:22 AM ” he is on the offensive and intends to put the blame squarely on the shoulders of the MOF and the PM.”

But isn’t that where it belongs?

6. Simple Simon | November 12, 2014 at 5:46 AM |

Yes and no. CABINET must take blame for ALL government actions, success or failings.

You don’t like something that much, you can always resign.

7. Crusoe
    Clearly Estwick ain’t plan on resigning, at lease not before he put some good licks in his party and Cabinet colleagues for the shite they did, they doing and gine do shortly.

8. Special Special Envoy | November 12, 2014 at 6:33 AM |

Chihuahua. All bark, no bite.

9. @ Crusoe
    Chihuahua. All bark, no bite.
    ++++++++++++
    True, but at least he does bark sweet as shiite….. not like the sleepy Shakespearian mutt…..

10. @ Bush Tea | November 12, 2014 at 6:45 AM |

“True, but at least he does bark sweet as shiite….. not like the sleepy Shakespearian mutt…..”

Hahahahaha……… Bushie, despite all the noise all ah wunnuh and the Chihuahua keep, I could hear Fruendel quoting Shakespeare……. specifically “The Tempest” – act 3, scene 2 [96 – 104]:

Be not afeard: the isle is full of noises,
    Sounds and sweet airs, that give delight, and hurt not.
    Sometimes a thousand twangling instruments
    Will hum about mine ears; and sometime voices,
    That, if I then had wak’d after long sleep,
    Will make me sleep again: and then, in dreaming,
    The clouds methought would open and show riches
    Ready to drop upon me; that, when I wak’d
    I cried to dream again.

11. Artaxerxes

…………..but nobody don’t care about Fruendel or his philosophical and santctimonous bullshit doh. In fact, nobody even pay he no mind, um like he is a nothing-bird.
    ESSEY RAIN LASHES IN THEM TAIL DO.

12. @ Artax
    Drill Sargeant is right, No Shakespeare or Chaucer can compare to the Doc is full swing…..
    de man is a boss talker….
    shiite man, if he was a preacher his church would be fuller than Islandgal’s bust…. 🙂

13. As the eldest of these clubs in Barbados, Kiwanis Club of Bridgetown, celebrated its 40th anniversary over the weekend, Prime Minister Freundel Stuart called for units of the organization to be spread across the island.

This club was joined by the some of the other four in Barbados and those of Antigua, St Lucia and Martinique to observe this milestone at the Errol Barrow Centre For Creative Imagination for a gala dinner on Saturday evening.

Guest speaker Stuart said: “Kiwanis are undoubtedly a force for good. You create a win-win situation for all those who participate in your activities. As such, I believe that there should be a Kiwanis Club in every community for the benefit of the needy, and to build the values that you seek to cultivate in your membership.”

Further commending the Kiwanis for their work, the Prime Minister spoke of changes in the Barbadian lifestyle, owing to “the prolonged economic downturn since 2007, and by societal decline in general, which has forced us to put more emphasis on our individual physical and material well-being and to become less concerned about others”. He added: “Unfortunately the convergence of these forces has so transformed hitherto geographically-based communities that they have become like dormitory neighbourhoods in which we drive our cars past our neighbours like strangers.”

Stuart said that a consequence of this behaviour was that many vulnerable citizens suffered in silence.

“What is more disconcerting is that an increasing number of people believe that all of this is inevitable and part of modern times.”

For this reason, Stuart said the Kiwanis and their community development work had become more relevant.

“Vulnerable members of our society cannot survive on their own. Similarly when we are in these vulnerable states, we can fall victim to powerful predators when there are no moral principles handed down from generation to generation to govern our behaviour.

“But individual misfortunes can affect the entire society. We therefore still need each other interacting in caring communities governed my moral principles.”

Outgoing president of the Kiwanis of Bridgetown, Ken Knight, noted that the club’s volunteers internationally were dedicated to changing the world, one child and one community at a time

14. The mere fact that Mr. Stuart and Mr. Yestwick can still command the attention of supposedly intelligent Barbadians, suggests that we perhaps deserved what we got in the recent past and even more what we get in the not too distant future.

15. The point social commentator and forth estate are not getting is that the conversation has to move pass broken promises to holding these politicians et al accountable. The fact Estwick, each time he opens his loud mouth to charge down the war path, commands the attention of a newspaper to sell papers is an insult to intelligent Barbadians. The one exception is Ralph Jemmott who pens a mean column.

16. I now Charles Dickens Avatar
    I now Charles Dickens

If I were David “Shoite Poodle” Estwick I would learn that mout ent mekk to talk evating. Gimme a break Esse… Bush Tea he sound good what….Poodle even went as far as to say that as far as Agriculture his ministry…he did hushing he mout bout that too….call me a Minister or call me a Poppet Ask.
    Sorry I forget….some in hay did say he did Sleeping giant material….brassbowl

17. Politicians in Barbados can act with impunity simply because too many people and organizations are creatures of the political class and are dependent on them for maintenance.

If you look hard enough and long enough, it will be clear that those charged with holding politicians and Government accountable have as much bite as Tony the Tiger.

The people of Barbados have too make the most of that one chance they get every 5 years or so.

18. I have stopped reading any ministerial statement that promises the start of another project that will never see the light of day. I have stopped reading anything that is reported concerning the MoA as it appears his mouth writes cheques that he is incapable of delivering. Matter of fact, all those is grovelment have arrived at this sorry state. Yes @David, I too am amazed that the mainline media continues to report these airy fairy declarations without probing questions for promises made and never kept. The simple fact is if you keep lying and no one holds you accountable, why change your behavior?

19. I have stopped reading any ministerial statement that promises the start of another project that will never see the light of day. I have stopped reading anything that is reported concerning the MoA as it appears his mouth writes cheques that he is incapable of delivering. Matter of fact, all those in grovelment have arrived at this sorry state. Yes @David, I too am amazed that the mainline media continues to report these airy fairy declarations without probing questions for promises made and never kept. The simple fact is if you keep lying and no one holds you accountable, why change your behavior?

20. Look at David doh, setting up straw men to lick down. Do you bloggers BU a favour David, list out (for our benefit) the projects promised by Dr. Estwick which are underway and compare that with separate list of the promised project of Mr. Sincklers and those which he has underway.

21. are-we-there-yet Avatar

Wallace Duncan; The below italicized excerpt is from David’s chapeau post

At 32:50 he addresses the Japanese to Fund Sugar Cane industry.
    And at 34:30 mention is made of the natural gas pipeline agreement between Barbados and Trinidad. At 48:00 mention is made of the Cruise Pier Project, Pier Head Marina and opposition to privatization. At 40:00 he mentioned the OTEC project.

Are any of the above projects up and running? The very lucrative water metering project doesn’t count as that was conceptualized long before the DLP took office.

Does Mr. Sinckler have any projects underway?

22. are-we-there-yet

1. Japanese funding fell thru after 3 notch downgrade by Moodys.
    2. Government of TnT refuse to sign off on the pipeline project despite Barbados agreeing all of the terms of the supply agreement.
    3. Sinckler terminated the agreement for the Pierhead Marina so that he can give it to Bjerkhamn, despite legal advice that the BTI and GOB would be sued.
    4. Sinckler refused to approve the funding for the project from HSBC.

23. BWA headquarters underway.
    BAMC molasses tanks underway
    BWA smart metering project underway
    BWA St. Philip & Christ Church water Augmentation project underway
    Ionics PPP pipeline project underway
    IADB mains replacement project underway

Shall I continue??

24. are-we-there-yet Avatar

Yes!

25. are-we-there-yet Avatar

….and also tell us about Sinckler’s projects!

26. are-we-there-yet Avatar

… and also tell us a bit about the PM’s role in coordinating his Minister’s work and tempering their exhuberance. Is there an ongoing feud between Sinckler and Estwick that is operating to the detriment of our development and which the PM is apparently powerless to halt?

27. The majority of right thinking Barbadians have lost all confidence in Mr Estwick,and have very little respect for him.
    He reminds me of an overheating car coming up Horse Hill,it blows whistles and bells, flash red lights , it huffs and it puff steam out of every orifice,and as it gets over the hill, it cools down and go silent all the way to Bridgetown.

28. @ Colonel Buggy

Hilarious! But true. The one who should have had some commonsense and been the emergency brake on this Government…. was merely a button on the dashboard that one pressed to no effect.

29. The Prime Minister is being asked by Barbados Insustry Limited and BWU to intervene to save the sugar industry matter to save project, the industry and the workers.

30. Barbados Sugar Industry Limited and BWU

31. This govt. can take a bow for the destruction of the Sugar Cane industry……only time will tell how this act will be remembered.

32. @Vincent

The Honorable Minister David Estwick has advised he will not allow the super industry to die. We have to take him at his word.

33. Sugar been dead for years. Just the corpse keep being tarted up rather than buried.
    Growers pay more to grow it than they receive.
    Processors pay more to process it that it sells for.
    Government is both Blind and calculatedly ignorant of both facts.

400,000,000 $ being touted as the Resurection price for sugar industry via a “state of the art” factory.
    Insane!

Barbados does NOT HAVE politicians of sufficient calibre ,to take or MAKE the decision to bury the corpse, till the financial stink and repercussions destroy what’s left of an economy that is close to terminal already.
    That’s why sugar died years back, its a political football.

Stuart is an educated incompetent, knows the words but not the music, just cannot get in sync with reality.
    As are all of the sycophants that inhabit the places they were gifted with , by him.
    Not an iota of competence ,noticeable among the whole motley crowd.
    Children playing at “SHOP”.
    Make believe redeemers.
    In FACT destroyers of an entire Culture and the Bajun future.

Sugar is the prostitute, who empties good mens pockets for the sake of dreams of “some good times past”.

Sugar is finished for Barbados.
    Barbadians are no longer “Cheap Labour” and have not the slightest interest in the industry on the manual level.

Factories are in use “temporarily” and the cost is PERMANENT.

The workers must be deployed in other areas.

Don’t cry about “no work available” because if you sing that song, you must also advocate to take back on all the already dismissed Civil servants they cost less per day to employ than a sugar industry worker I am sure..
    How long per year does each sugar worker actually work producing sugar?
    What is the cost of them for the balance of the year? Who pays??

We are really stoking the boilers of the sugar industry with Us$ £ or Euro.
    It would be financially better for the country, to make the break now.
    Better the land be put to other uses ,that can at least break even now and as better times come, recoup and profit.

Most estates are a major portion of RAB land and the rest ,good or poor quality agricultural land.
    Yet at planning ,ALL land is considered; in my opinion, as tho a whole estate is “Top Quality” land. Labled “AGRICULTURAL” lock stock and barrel.

Why not have a more realistic approach and allow “regulated ” development of the RAB land on estates.
    All people of all colours and creeds in the World ,are aware now of the value of “green Living” and will willingly pay to buy houses that allow them to live among crops and a farm environment.
    Estates could spring back into life again, very quickly and with NO farm land loss , for the benefit of the WHINERS and “dogs in a manger” who advocate the untouchable “holiness” of ANY land on an estate.
    Which is a stupidity.
    Rab land produces NOTHING, saleable and is a breeding ground for vermin and mosquitos.
    The result for the Barbados economy would be fantastically beneficial.
    Think logically down the “chain of needs”

.BUT then we have REALITY!!

The “SLEEPING GIANT” and his band of SYCOPHANTS.

GOD HELP US!!

34. The Minister has indicated that he has plans to develop agriculture in the Consett Bay area. I thought that agriculture was alive and kicking in this area, from the bountiful crops that the police and soldiers, like the grapes in in the Rhine Valley,are called upon to harvest. Mara, wunnah, mekking sport.

35. CB

You are correct the St.John area is replete with competent farmers,from what is seen in the court papers.

What is your thinking on the replacement crops for the lands presently under bushy cane?

36. There is a call for the Prime Minister to step in to save the sugar industry

37. When will that happen? Before after the workers are sent home?

38. **David | November 14, 2014 at 4:34 PM |

There is a call for the Prime Minister to step in to save the sugar industry

“Step in” ; What??
    I think maybe he is up to his neck in IT already!!

39. Save what sugar industry Sugar can’t .t save the economy. globalization has dealt a blow to sugar in the small nation economies ,this is an open market and all gloves are off, the leading giants of the sugar industry dominates leaving the small fry to tread heavy waters

40. David Estwick, Minister of Agriculture

Is it my imagination or the picture we see is of a man enjoying a “Private Joke”?

Now study “Sleepies” face as he alights from his “very expensive” limo.
    “What Hit me!!”?

41. now read this and see if Barbados have a ghost of a chance in financial net gains from sugar,,wuh even china struggling to keep the industry above ground

http://www.reuters.com/article/2014/10/31/china-sugar-idUSL3N0KK2MV20141031

42. The Prime Minister was quoted in the news today, he stated that Cabinet spent a considerable amount of time discussing and the conclusion maybe drawn therefore he has intervened :-).

On 14 November 2014 23:02, Barbados Underground wrote:

43. intervention maybe with a conclusion nobody wants to hear,

44. oh shutup do ac!
    …the only problem with globalization is for idiots and brass bowls.

Our world has always been about survival of the fittest in any group. It is just that technology has facilitated “groups” that used to be small and protected, to become massive, diverse and international.
    What is wrong with lions eating sick, wounded or foolish sheep? Does that not ensure that only the strongest and smartest sheep proliferate?

The impact of globalization will be to expose mediocrity and ignorance to the glare of international competitiveness.
    One would think that a people who have benefited from 60 years of free education, peace, social harmony, and relative prosperity would have some advantages when the shit hits the fan ….and would have been among the lions…..in preparation for this reality, we should have instituted meritocracies as our basis for development…
    instead, we went “socialist” by protecting mediocrity, incompetence and brass-bowlery…with the result that what we are seeing, are a bunch of brass bowl sheep led by clueless jackasses in sheep-skins….and with you as their chief cheerleader and yardfowl…

45. @Bush Tea

Globalization is an economic construct which means it was designed to satisfy the objective of those who implemented it.

46. Professor brass bowl great Speech .but that is not the answer,

the Fact is that after spending millions of dollars on a product to produce,,one expects a financial return on that product, no sense in throwing away money just for the sake of wanting to swim among sharks,especially knowing that possibility of survival is between slim and none,, that is dumb! only a brassbowl would be so adventurous ..

47. The PM is correct that if we look at the sugar industry we can’t decide based on the 72 millions dollars we have to subsidize it. We have to look at the hundreds of mostly unskilled labour employed by the industry, what to do with the sugarcane fields which help to rotate crops etc and importantly generate some foreign exchange which is critical. What is the opportunity cost of NOT producing sugar given the forex we will forgo. Any sector that generates forex must be given weighty consideration.

48. @ David
    It REALLY is best for the PM to hush.
    Did he not recently tell the Kiwanis that he wanted to see a chapter in every community to provide support to the increasing number of poor that he expected to see?
    shiite man…. when the boss can openly admit that there is no hope… where will any inspiration come from…?
    Normal leaders who find themselves with no vision for success OWE it to the people they lead to GET OUT OF THE WAY….
    …but “normal” leaders are not in it just for a pension…..