David Estwick, Minister of Agriculture

BU highlighted faulty forecasting by the Governor of the Central Bank Delisle Worrell in the blog Governor Delisle Worrell Repeats Himself. We allow public officials to make statements without challenge. Governor Worrell recently had his contract renewed.

On the weekend we suffered the re-emergence of Minister of Agriculture David Estwick at a constituency branch meeting in St. Lucy.  One wonders if there is a strategic alliance in the making between old friends from the anti-Thompson era. To make the political landscape more interesting we had to listen to an aggressive Mara Thompson in parliament last sitting. It  must concern the enigmatic Minister of Agriculture David Estwick that his credibility with the public has dipped considerably in recent years. The reason he offered to explain his silence is another example of faulty leadership. He has good ideas but appear to be stymied when he attempts to execute.

To his credit he has been able to command exhaustive coverage from the traditional media. What is missing from the coverage however is the unwillingness of the traditional media to hold him accountable for past public statements. BU takes the opportunity to reflect on David Estwick’s public offering on the political platform leading into the last general election on 15 February 2013.

Watch Dr David Estwick – Manifesto Launch speech (15 February 2013)

• At 6:00 minutes into the video Minister David Estwick promised that his Democratic Labour Party will NEVER make the mistake of reducing the public service jobs.
  • At 20:00 Estwick reminded Barbadians the way to diversify the economy is to build out an alternative energy program, creative sector AND Agriculture industries.
  • At 30.00 he addressed how the government applied stimulus through free bus fares, summer camps and unwillingness to shut down statutory corporations.
  • At 32:50 he addresses the Japanese to Fund Sugar Cane industry.
  • And at 34:30 mention is made of the natural gas pipeline agreement between Barbados and Trinidad.
  • At 48:00 mention is made of the Cruise Pier Project, Pier Head Marina and opposition to privatization
  • At 40:00 he mentioned the OTEC project.

109 responses to “David Estwick Yelps, Again”

1. David | November 14, 2014 at 7:29 PM |

@Bush Tea

Globalization is an economic construct which means it was designed to satisfy the objective of those who implemented it.

not really
    it is like blaming God for the construct of the ten commandments,rules and laws that only he can abide by,

the fact being that globalisation was founded on the premise of inclusion. Unfortunately for small economies they were ill prepared and did not plan accordingly ,off set by rules and guidelines left over by years of colonialism which is making it hard for them to readjust and find a niche where they can easily fit in

2. the fact is that generating forex that would come in one hand and only be sufficiency to prop up one industry,,is like playing shuffle board, the forex generated must be able to help develop and grow other sectors of the economy and not be a staple for just one sector,

3. Globalization is no economic construct, it is a technological reality. The fact that some persons/countries have exploited the situation is a REACTIVE reality…. they did not CREATE globalization through economics, …it is a byproduct of technology.
    It is technology that broke down the natural barriers that allowed us to have “protected zones” where we could keep out predators and de-fang any intruders…..computers, global communication, easy transport, easy delivery, credit cards….
    Those who used those barriers to incubate laziness and mediocrity will obviously be cannon fodder when the barriers fall…. THAT is why we need to pump $72M into sugar each year…
    Have you ANY idea of the level of IDIOCY that prevails in the sugar industry…even as we speak..?
    Skippa, it would blow your mind…. Only COMPLETE JAs would expect that they could run a business like that and compete with even basic common sense that applies in other countries….far less with creative, innovative and productive people…
    …also this is why all these foreigners who now own all our assets are turning to OUTSIDERS to do their work…… cheaper, better, faster…. because we have become soft, protected, weak, and useless…. just ripe for lion meat..

4. Globalization is an economic construct which means it was designed to satisfy the objective of those who implemented it. THE ANTICHRIST
    WITHOUT GLOBALIZATION AND THE THINGS RELATED TO IT ANTICHRIST WILL NOT BE ABLE TO TAKE OVER AND SET UP A ONE WORLD GOVERNMENT

5. @ Bush Tea,
    I have all but given up on Barbados. You state that the citizens of Barbados have become ripe meat for lions. If I were a lion I would seek out a stock of lean, fit and well exercised mammals not the sedentary and obese Barbados residents who appear hell bent on shortening their lives through their consumption of junk food.

Stop insulting the lions!

6. Professor brass bowl another one of your long winded bloated speeches,,,, Globalization is a by product of technology,,, WEll as far back as one can remember there was always technology, however there has been a change in way govts rule ,, globalization is founded on a permise of one world govt,, and has been in the making going as far back as biblical times before there was technology, as a matter of fact, the basis of christ return is formed out of such ideology .

7. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac | November 14, 2014 at 7:33 PM |
    “…the Fact is that after spending millions of dollars on a product to produce,,one expects a financial return on that product, no sense in throwing away money just for the sake of wanting to swim among sharks,especially knowing that possibility of survival is between slim and none,, that is dumb! only a brassbowl would be so adventurous ..”

So what are you trying to say here, ac? That the sugar cane industry is dead in Barbados and you would advise the brassbowl government to bury it once and for all? If so why is Dr. Estwick the magician trying to play the role of Dr. Frankenstein instead of Dr. Kevorkian?

How can there ever be a resuscitated sugar cane industry with the CLICO lands out of cultivation and encumbered? Do you really feel foreign investors who failed to finance the Pierhead marina and the Sugar Point Cruise Terminal (how ironic a name) would put money behind a dying sugar industry unless the lands are assigned to them as security since there is nothing called Sovereign collateral with all those downgrades and more to come.

We note with insightful interest your consistent opposition to Dr. Estwick and his plans for the revival if not resuscitation of the Bajan economy.
    What would you say if he, Dr. “Mad Max” Estwick were to come out with a Dubai-type plan to build a casino on an artificially created island off Barbados with connecting helicopter flights to St. Vincent for marijuana and St. Lucia for sex? Would you say that would be supremely attractive or “suicidally” un-Islamic?

8. look miller u are a trouble maker my views are based on world analytical data, which presents a dire outlook for the industry. brazil and china is having a hard time keeping the industry above ground, but who am i to say, maybe there is a tooth fairy afterall.

9. LOL @ Exclaimer
    Good points, but Lions are not only discerning, they are also quite smart and the problem with lean, fit “victims” is that they tend to fight back – and can actually hurt a lion quite badly ….so much so that even such hurt lion can themselves become victims.
    …nah! Lions alway go after the fat, lazy accommodating victims first…
    You know…. the ones that actually sit there and smile at the lion… offers their cooperation…offers to let the lion eat their tail…agrees that the lion can outsource local jobs….change interest rates…

10. David et al

What will you put on the lands of vine riddled canes….or will you allow it to go to bush(pun intended) like those of St.Kitts,Antigua,etc…..as a tourist destination,should we not look the part?

11. @Vincent

We will leave it to the experts to recommend viable crops. One imagine we can build on Armstrong sweet potato model.

12. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac | November 14, 2014 at 9:09 PM |
    “look miller u are a trouble maker my views are based on world analytical data, ”

That’s the best (and only) compliment you paid to me. Thanks.
    Now tell us what is happening in Mauritius.

13. @ David
    It probably cost less to plant sugar cane at a loss, than it would to keep the abandoned sugar lands in a decent state suitable for a tourist island.

You see how bad a simple unused house spot looks after a few months…You see hoy the gutters in the highway looks?

steupsss
    It REALLY don’t look as though anyone bout here thinks….everything is slip-shod and from the hip….reactive fire-fighting shiite management.

Where is the long-term overarching NATIONAL vision and plan…?

14. look hear are the real hard cold facts about the sugar industry in the carribbean bo bulll.

http://www.caricom.org/jsp/community/donor_conference_agriculture/preferences.pdf

15. The Prime Minister is reported as saying that we are moving from a Sugar Industry to a Sugar cane industry,or words to that effect. What does this mean in simple english. Are we going to provide enough canes for Bajans to suck? or are we moving from crytalised sugar to liquid sugar,(syrup)
    But this was evident when the government decided to build massive concrete molasses tanks for the privately owned rum industry at the Bridgetown Port to hold molasses imported mainly from Guyana.
    @Vincent perhaps now that the most of St Andrew lands are out of sugar cane production, and we spend millions annually importing , English/Irish/Idaho potatoes, we should look at growing our own down there. The sandy soil at the Spa and much of St Andrew is similar to the soil found in parts of Europe where these potatoes grow in abundance .
    Have we ever given thought of replacing the sugar cane with sugar beet, and using our soon to be State-of-the-art Super factory to process. Sugar beets do not need overly expensive equipment to harvest them.

16. David | November 14, 2014 at 9:28 PM |
    @Vincent

We will leave it to the experts to recommends viable crops. One imagine we can build on Armstrong sweet potato model
    …………………………………………………………………………………..
    And this what what some of those experts will recommend.
    Darcy Boyce…………..Plant windmills
    Prime Minister….Plant ya arse down and do sweet f***all.
    Ministers Lashley & Kellman………….Plant lil chigger nitty houses.
    Minister Dennis Lowe…. .Plant more seasonal garbage in the land fill.
    Minister Estwick …….Plant a bullet in Dale Marshall’s arse
    Minister of Tourism………….Plant more hotels
    Minister Ronald Jones ……Plant more oats to produce more children.
    Minister Sinckler …………Plant the seeds of pauperism all over the island.
    Mininster of Health……..Plant more bodies in Westbury, as we do not have any ambulances or gurneys to transport live bodies to the QEH.

17. A possible replacement for sugar cane as a rotation crop for the Armstongs’ sweet potatoes could be no-buzz marijuana, AKA Hemp :

Hemp is another word for the plant Cannabis sativa L. Marijuana comes from this same plant genus — and so do broccoli and cauliflower. But the strains of hemp used in industrial and consumer products contain only a negligible level of the intoxicating substance delta-9 tetrahydrocannabinol, or THC. Thus, industrial grade hemp is not marijuana.

Hemp is the most useful and beneficial plant in nature.

Hemp as food

Hemp seeds are drug-free and extremely nutritious. They can be eaten whole, pressed into edible oil like soybeans, or ground into flour for baking. They are one of the best sources of vegetable protein. They contain a full complement of essential amino acids, essential fatty-acids (EFA’S), and have been shown to lower blood cholesterol and dissolve plaque in coronary arteries.

Because hemp is such a hardy plant, it can grow easily and abundantly almost anywhere, and can provide nutrition where other edible crops just won’t grow. Hemp can even be cultivated in arid regions with poor soil like Saharan Africa or in places with a very short growing season like Scandinavia.

snip
    Hemp as rotation crop and soil rejuvenator

Hemp is an ideal rotation crop for farmers worldwide. It puts down a taproot twelve inches long in only thirty days, preventing topsoil erosion. Its water requirements are negligible, so it doesn’t require much irrigation and will grow in arid regions. It matures from seed in only 120 days, so it doesn’t need a long growing season. Hemp’s soil nutrients concentrate in the plant’s roots and leaves. After harvest, the roots remain and the leaves are returned to the fields. In this way, soil nutrients are preserved.

Hemp is also a beneficial crop for the Earth itself. It is very easy on the land. It doesn’t need many nutrients, so it doesn’t require chemical fertilizers. Hemp outcompetes other weeds, so it doesn’t need herbicides to thrive. Even hemp strains that are 100 percent THC-free produce their own resins that make the crop naturally pest-free, so it doesn’t require toxic chemical pesticides. Hemp actually leaves the soil in better condition than before it was planted.

http://www.ecomall.com/greenshopping/sdethemp7.htm

18. @ David
    What makes this man an expert on the viability of sugar in Barbados?
    every tom dick and harry that go to the usa and have a lotta shiite talk (like Dompey) always find themselves back here as experts on Barbados…. steupsss
    Look…
    It all depends on what the PURPOSE of the sugar industry is….
    You yourself asked the boss question before…”WHAT EXACTLY IS IT THAT WE WANT TO ACHIEVE” (or something like that)

The problem with our sugar industry is that it has been under idiot management for DECADES now…
    shiite man… the very fact that it has been able to survive to this point speaks to its resilience.

Why not have an in-depth look the people who manage that industry, and the methods that they have been using in the 21st century – you will see what Bushie means….

Why the hell do we think that we can put a jackass in charge and expect to achieve success? NOBODY ELSE IN THE WHOLE WORLD does that….

There is a historical benefit attached to our sugar industry ….the very word RUM ….should be a BARBADIAN term…but how can a jackass be expected to appreciate the value of that?

Our limestone soils are not suitable for many other types of large scale crops….sugarcane has done well and provided a ‘lawn-like’ macro environment which has been a charming tourism asset. What is the value of that?…and what is the cost of an alternative?

The industry can be highly mechanized….indeed, no major benefits have been leveraged from local innovations in this area.

we led the world in research in plant varieties, but knowing how JAs operate, we probably gave it all away so that we can import ideas from over and away…
    …and then..
    Ever so often, a bunch of brass bowls claim to be ‘building a new factory”….”modernizing a factory” or some such shiite …only to move the old parts around and KAZOOM …a few million dollars disappear…
    Portvale being a case in point…
    In which other country does a major factory become obsolete in ten years?
    Who builds a hundred million dollar plant to work for just two months each year?
    steupsss ….Brass Bowls alll….

19. Professor Brass bowl talking his usual diatribe of brass bowl shitery ,, Just in case u ole fart has not noticed the world has changed, we are all connected there is a whole lot of countries producing the same products ,the competition is stiff, there is a glut in the market for barbados cost wise to emerge and have a fair chance it means that cost to produce must be at a level where barbados can make a substantial gain . barbados came out of the stable unprepared , using the same ole methods of patch work is counterproductive . years ago world of agriculture changed as people became more educated about their lifestyle and environment, barbados and its leadership did not listen , the wake up calls were being sounded…the same ole dictatorial proposals you keep harping about is not going to make a difference,
    professor what we are looking for are solutions and not replacement of warm bodies to repeat the same ole sh,t all over again.,

20. Sorry for hijacking this post. However I believe that the breakings news below should be read by all.

You may have just read the breaking news that 5 Trinidadians have been charged in Venezuela for terrorism and criminal conspiracy. I would urge the BU readership to take a good read at the article below. The terrorists are now living amongst us!

http://www.stabroeknews.com/2014/news/regional/05/06/venezuela-file-sets-security-alarm-bells-trinidad/

21. What leadership needs to do is retool ! reeducate the farming industry, use initiatives to motivate , with ideas that the agricultural industry can be revived without the dependency on sugar, taking into consideration people habits and lifestyle , world wide
    why hasn;t barbados heed the many calls for organic farming on a larger and more productive scale over the years a forex earner and one which will produce growth and necessary employment over the years

22. throw the gauntlet down.. think productivity . minister,,,think long term… understand the word globalization and what it involves,

23. @ AC,
    You remind me of an old style propagandist. The great writer George Orwell in his book “Animal Farm” – which depicted the Russian revolution – included a character called “Squealer”. Squealer was a pig and was the mouth piece for the then recently installed Russia government. Like you, Squealer was able to convince the masses that the colour black was white on one day; and then on the next day he was able to tell the masses the complete opposite.

You appear to be under the illusion that Barbados needs to be running with the pack in order to survive. Barbados would do well to detach herself from the pack. Your solutions are too simplistic; you would happily sell off Barbados for a couple of dollars to the lowest bidder. Like a snake you would be slithering on the floor happy to accept whatever crumbs are dusted off the dining table.

AC, Small Island states are seen as an anathema in the world economy. If we want to be accepted by the so-called world economy stakeholders we have to be prepared to play by their rules. Are you prepared to sacrifice your independence for a couple of crumbs?

24. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac | November 15, 2014 at 7:34 AM |
    “Professor Brass bowl talking his usual diatribe of brass bowl shitery ,, Just in case u ole fart has not noticed the world has changed,”

If you believe in what you are saying and that it makes no sense to revive the industry why are the real brass bowls in Cabinet trying to ride a dead horse? Why are they trying to fool people like you that they are capable of attracting international investors to resuscitate the industry? What’s in it for them?

What Bush Tea is saying makes sense. The cultivation of sugar cane in Barbados has other benefits other than the export of raw sugar. What about the ecological necessity of the cultivated fields? Can you imagine the look of the rural environment without well cultivated fields?
    Who would want to visit the countryside overgrown with bush and weeds and blocking the roads?

How could Barbados have the brass bowl brazenness to market its rum as a genuine product of Barbados when all the molasses would be imported? Why not close down the rum industry too?
    Why not import the refined rum and put a label printed in China on the bottles?
    Where would the foreign exchange come from to pay for the thousands of tonnes of sugar which will have to be imported to meet the high demand for industrial purposes and domestic consumption?

What are the implications for the alternative energy plans announced by Dr. Estwick for the sector producing enough electricity to power 50,000 households with 25,000 megawatts supplied to the grid?

The only thing that Bush Tea has omitted from his analytical contribution is the opportunity to introduce the cultivation of industrial hemp as part of the rotation crop system. Green Monkey has submitted information on this matter. Please read and broaden your mind.

25. miller u can bray all u want.however data says different the govt is spending 72million yearly and has yet to see any real dividends.putting ole wine in new bottles never going to work.if barbados wants to remain relevant in a global market it is going to make meaningful and sustainable changes to compete instead of always having to play catch up and on that premise i based my conclusion that organic farming is the way to go further moreover it has many built in benefits and contributes in the decline of govt health cost long term

26. Bush tea and Miller
    I totally agree with your submissions.

AC
    What is organic farming?
    What are the conditions required?

27. ac | November 15, 2014 at 1:04 PM |

vincent u have a computer google. enviromental issues are one of the drivers of economies world wide issues helping to shape and redefine .across north america business have already adapted .the market for organic foods and related products is exploding leaving behind the days of bad habits and unhealthy lifestyle. unfortunately with such a wide and open market and the potential for growth barbadians insist on keeping old over new…
    ……………………………………………………………………………………………
    AC……..Chuckle
    I know what organic farming is do you?
    Can it be implemented in BIM?
    Do the research and tell us your findings.

28. Vincent. ..research…ac will tell u this and research has shown that doing the same process over and over again with negative results is not only foolish but a waste of time. Btw the byproducts in the manufacturing sector attributed to organic farming is huge and pays great dividens..it is obvious from your comments you are. suffering from a terminal defecit of vision.hence your need to obstruct

29. Vincent your point is taken, organic farming is niche and intensive and cannot replace a mass crop like sugar.

30. wunna keep riding that dead horse into the sunset..just behind the horizon a brand new world has emerged..

31. @ ac
    That new world you are seeing “just behind the horizon” was always there…we call it Jenkins…..

32. look at that professor brass bowl comes out again to talk more horse sh..it(btw very good for organic soil)

33. this is a full scale analytical review of agriculture in the carribean covering the period s 1980 2004,, since then it has only gotten worse, fix what,,,

http://www.caribank.org/uploads/publications-reports/staff-papers/agripaper8-1.pdf

if wunna keep following the ole fart professor brass bowl sooner or later barbadians would be back to the 1900, the guy is cheap and his perception of life ,is “if it isn’t not broke don”t fix it,, but just in case it leak try some good ole fashion patchwork,

34. i hope wunna learn something, especially u professpr brass bowl BT and the principal in charge David and the two accomplices miller and vincent,,, cause wunna real duncy fuh trut,, can carry horses to water but can mek horses drink,,,

35. AC| November 15, 2014 at 7:57 PM |

Chuckle…..love it….enjoy.

36. David | November 15, 2014 at 3:20 PM |

Vincent your point is taken, organic farming is niche and intensive and cannot replace a mass crop like sugar.

,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,look bright boy ,,david
    the burning issue is if it is sensible to continue to feed a big gust unproductive mule
    btw here is something for you to read

http://www.elonpendulum.com/2013/02/cuba-emerges-as-a-sustainable-leader-with-development-of-organic-farms/

37. AC

Try and read up on organic farming and then tell me how and where on a 166 sq.mi. island with a high population density you will set it up.
    Let us be practical,show me the step by step way you will establish a viable organic industry in BIM.

38. @ Vincent
    Vincent! …..Vincent! …Vincent!
    (s)he who knows not and knows not that (s)he knows not…

39. ok. mr obstructionist vincent hayes..let say we do an overall estimate of land that is sitting idle further down scale the land that is being used for sugar cane . i meaning a total combination would be sufficient enough to put barbados on the path of organic farming..look lets face the fact that sugar cane cane is not the king it used to be,and economically it is taking more out of the economy than giving back, the fact is that a viable alternative is necessary one that that world markets and ecnomies are depending on.,,fuh christ sake ac not the one giving the dire news the facts are out there for all to see, even the solutions which some seem to be viable for the continuance of sugar production have major long term constraints resulting from inflated costs due to intensive labor and equipment
    …………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

40. @Vincent

Here is a useful link:

https://www.gov.uk/converting-to-organic-farming

Who would regulate/certify?

Will we retool the inept agriculture ministry to oversee the Fertility and Biological activity of the soil to maintain organic quality?
    What about the animal farms?

41. i am enjoying this discussion which enforced and implant in the minds of society a society lacking in critical thinking.
    my point being that as a society we owe it to ourselves and country to open up our minds and not be cowardice and obstructionist in planting a alternative ways forward for betterment just take a look at how other societies (cuba) for example when caught an economijc malaise that soured their sugarcane industry pressed forward . applying principle in the formation of a worthwhile goal,

42. Education is the mother of innovation……just stop looking back and look forward to maybe twenty years or so when this society would be once again trying to play catch up at an enormous price,, lessons should have been learned from our slow responsiveness to the changes made in world economies, repeating mistake over and over again is not an excuse,it borders on stupidy and madness,

43. David

I saw the EU one and it differs from the USA one.

The USDA talks of 3 years fallow in order to get rid of pesticides,etc and a buffer zone to prevent unwanted toxins from your neighbour to invade.

I remember when I was at a course at SUNY Cobbleskill Ag. campus,in the ’80’s they were saying a 3 mile radius buffer zone and no gas driven vehicles within that area..

David…..we have highly intelligent individuals such as AC and her govt cohorts that will figure out and implement a viable organic system for Bim…..have faith.

44. @Vincent

It is not a solution but a nice to have in context which is niche with a medium term time horizon to implement.

On Sunday, 16 November 2014, Barbados Underground wrote:

45. @Vincent
    I remember when I was at a course at SUNY Cobbleskill Ag. campus,in the ’80′s they were saying a 3 mile radius buffer zone and no gas driven vehicles within that area..
    ……………………………………………………………………………….
    This three mile radius would have to be extended in Barbados, given that fact that my father’s crops used to be affected by herbicides sprayed at plantations over three miles away. If we look at the corrosion at the National Stadium,this is caused mainly by the salt spray, not from the relatively nearby west coast, but from the east coast .

46. CB

You have hit the nail on the head……I wait to be shown how AC et co will deal with the implementation on this 14 x 21 island

47. B or D . All we ever get are grand plans which come to nothing.
    And I’ve noticed that the much publicised Strong Hope Farms ,which utilised a battery of green houses ,is now closed, probably in preparation to erecting blue/white / off white and cream houses.
    http://barpublish.bits.baseview.com/366298078625182.php

48. here is what the US ambassador said about the surgar industry in barbados in 2006

“Instead of pouring more money into sugar, the Government of Barbados would be better served letting the industry die a peaceful death, as St. Kitts did in 2005.”
    “This massive investment in the sugar industry defies logic and sours an otherwise prudent budget.”
    “Sugar is so intrinsic to their national identity, however, that Barbadian taxpayers apparently support this fiscal profligacy.”
    Mary Kramer, US Ambassador to Barbados, January 27, 2006
    ;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;

49. AC

That we have come to this,that a member of govt ,must rely on an outsiders thinking to make a decision……ah well so much for free education,common sense and doing your own research based on the many variables of a small island economy……….sigh.