Adrian Loveridge

Later this week, for three days, one of the most important travel trade events takes place called Connect 2014. It is estimated that around 97 tour operators representing 74 companies from the United Kingdom, United States, Canada, Brazil, Argentina, Continental Europe and the Caribbean will attend. Courting crucial business and hoping to positively influence choices around 125 local hoteliers and ancillary service providers will also be taking part.

Along with a number of other industry interests including the Barbados Food Wine and Rum Festival and Bushy Park, the Barbados Tourism Authority or perhaps I should now refer to the new name (BTM Inc) have been kind enough to invite me to make a presentation on our re-DISCOVER initiative. With so many destinations to choose from, often at substantially lower cost, it is, in my humble opinion that we collectively make every possible effort to get across that Barbados can offer value-for-money by providing a greater selection of more affordable options.

For us, the perfect scenario is to persuade the tour operators to place our website address on their client’s final documentation, whether in print or electronically. That way the consumer can plan ahead, budget for their out-of-pocket expenses which helps maximise the potential for participating restaurants.

Having been a tour operator based in England for twelve years, it is also important to stress just how vital current product knowledge is from a first hand perspective. Even if the last visit was a couple of years ago, things change, businesses open, close, refurbish and upgrade during that hiatus.

Tourism is constantly evolving and forums like Connect give a wonderful opportunity to develop differential holiday products in an increasingly competitive world. This is rarely possible from behind the desk of a remote ffice location. It needs research, negotiation, planning and effective marketing, based on personal experiences if the offering has any hope in success and guaranteeing ultimate customer satisfaction.

One area that I believe there is a tremendous potential for growth is what the British travel giant, Thomson Holidays, brand as its Small and Friendly programme. The concept would be a two week holiday including a rental car and allowing the client to choose two or three different small hotels. The package could be enhanced with a dine-around ‘card’ offering both lunch and dinner choices and perhaps a heritage passport that would allow reduced priced entrance to several attractions.

September is traditionally one, if not the quietest month of the year in terms of arrivals. September 2013 recorded the lowest number of long stay visitors (26,970) during the last 11 consecutive years, with the same month in 2012, a close second. While all the figures are not yet a matter of public record, nearly every other Caribbean country is recording tourism growth of up to 18.6 per cent for the first six months of 2014.

Barbados currently lies eighteenth in terms of numbers with no significant improvement at all. I am sure this will be the main focus of the new marketing entity along with addressing stale dated websites and an improved social media presence.

67 responses to “New Dawn Beckons for Tourism”

1. So based on the above track record of Siren we should reasonably expect a 10% increase in tourist from Canada by the end of 2015.

2. @Hants

“They should have asked the owner of the Crane to recruit the CEO of BTMI as well.”

Yes; or better still they should have recruited the owner of The Crane to be the CEO of BTMI; but as he was or is a Canadian he would not meet the “all-Barbadian executive team” criteria.

“So based on the above track record of Siren we should reasonably expect a 10% increase in tourist from Canada by the end of 2015.”

We will have to wait til end of 2015 to see – but I like what I see from Siren in 2014.

3. @Hants

Petra indicated this week bookings look good but the proof is always in feet on the ground.

4. barbados listed as no..8 most beautiful island eat yuh heart out haters ,,,pictures and alll/

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/travel/travel_news/article-2740819/Conde-Nast-Traveller-reveals-10-stunning-islands-world.html

5. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Hants | September 4, 2014 at 5:05 PM |

What sense does it make to invite people to come to paradise only to be confronted by piles of garbage, odours of filth in a so-called World Heritage city and rundown buildings and dangerous pavements?

Can’t you, Hants, get through to your people that it is not good to invite people to a filthy house? This certainly can’t be blamed on the international recession but definitely reflects on classless administrators who lack any appreciation for cleanliness, have no sense of beauty or sensitivity for the environment.

6. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac | September 4, 2014 at 5:10 PM |

Barbados does indeed have some of the finest beaches.
    But come on ac this is nothing new that came about in the last 6 years.
    Barbados was once ranked at No.20 (No 1 in the developing world) on the UN Human Development Index as far back as 1992. What has happened?

What you ought to concern yourself about are the mountains of garbage and filth that are piling up around the island as a result of a growing dirty unhygienic classless population gorging in its porcine material excesses.

Do you think being ranked as a tropical island paradise would amount to a hill of beans should there be an outbreak of some plague due to the bad public health practices that are seen across the island?

7. David a lot of motor sport fans will travel to Barbados for this event.

http://www.raceofchampions.com/

8. @ millertheanunnaki, I am not a member of the DLP. I am a lowly yardfowl supporter.

But I keep reminding all and sundry ( on BU ) that Barbados yard need sweeping.
    The ministers need to roll down the window in de bimmer an benz an audi.so they can see how nasty the place is.

I trying Miller but nobody is listening to this non-entity.

9. @ David, Hants
    Any feedback on how many visitors came to Barbados for the Top Gear event and what was the total spend? Is any of this info available?

We were told that Top Gear was going to be so beneficial to Barbados so much so we accepted a known racist in our midst. Or were the promoters the only ones who came away smiling?

10. Speaking of hiring Bajan and patriotism I heard the present CEO Petra Roach on radio and she doesn’t sound one bit Bajan.That is an East London accent I am hearing.What a stupid affected accent from a Bajan woman from the Pine who went to the UK when she was a big woman in her 20’s.Bah!
    You would think the cabinet would send a High Commissioner and a deputy who might have a background in tourism and investment.Instead they are sending two party hacks notorious for their failure in interaction with people.Trust the Dems to mess up and play with our future growth prospects by putting party fatted calf hacks first and before the country’s welfare.

11. Awesome commercial.

12. Gabriel | September 4, 2014 at 8:40 PM |
    Speaking of hiring Bajan and patriotism I heard the present CEO Petra Roach on radio and she doesn’t sound one bit Bajan.That is an East London accent I am hearing.What a stupid affected accent from a Bajan woman from the Pine who went to the UK when she was a big woman in her 20’s.Bah!
    …………………………………………………………………………………
    Please do not knock the lady because of her acquired accent. It matters not what age she went to the UK, if she worked closely with people who spoke with an East London accent,and many 2nd generation West Indians do,it is natural to pick up the accent. I remember the first time I came back to Barbados after , five years, and some were knocking me because of the slight Brit accent. I have been attached to many British Regional regiments, and over the years have acquired some of their ‘twang’

13. We in Barbados seem to think that if we look the other way , we will not notice the garbage, and why can’t the tourist do likewise ? When in Rome ……….etc etc.
    I am of the opinion the those we have put to rule us, are in fact 5th Columnist, bent on destroying this once lovely country. How else can one describe the nonchalant attitude of the government and authorities, towards the despicable way that our environment is being subjected to. But we will go down to Samoa, make a song and dance and give the impression, as the old folk say, that butter will not melt in our mouths. I thought that we had come along way since 1965/66 when HM The QUEEN paid a visit to Barbados, and the then Local Government , swept the rubbish under the carpet, by hiding the piles of garbage along the Royal Route under freshly cut coconut tree limbs.
    I remember once writing a letter, one of about 5000, to the editors of the Advocate and the Nation, accompanied by a detailed drawing , suggesting, how best the Light Houses at North Point, South Point ,East Point and Nedhams Point could best be utilised , now that there is no decreasing need for coastal navigation beacons.
    Turn these lighthouses into giant Air Freshener and Baygon Cans,so that we can spray and refresh this island. More that ever we need that conversion.

14. miller maybe u ought to concern yourself about the garbage u spout unceasingly on BU about your beloved country Barbados,believe me more people across the world wide web gets a birds eye view up close and personnel of such garbage about barbados regularly ,, than the garbage which is littered across the island from some of its nastiest natives,,not to mention the potential fall out from your daily diatribe of nastiness and filth to the economy,

15. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac | September 4, 2014 at 11:05 PM |
    “.. believe me more people across the world wide web gets a birds eye view up close and personnel of such garbage about barbados regularly ,, than the garbage which is littered across the island from some of its nastiest natives”

And you, ac, seem to be well set for copping the title of the nastiest native in Bim.
    I hate to say this to you, ac, but if you see nothing wrong with the current state of garbage collection and its far reaching implications for public health and the tourism-based economy then you are really a “DLP” -a dirty lower-class pimp indeed.

If you find the current situation acceptable then your inurement can only lead us to imagine the state of your own domestic surroundings. Imagine the swarm of flies and scurrying vermin that make your place a 24/7 holiday resort!
    But then again you will be at home safe in your own bailiwick of filth and scum.

Yes, continue to support the current administration in its growing neglect of public health and see what would eventually happen in your stupid game of Russian roulette. Viruses of the Ebola variety thrive is conditions being created by the sheer negligence of good public health. Why jeopardize the health of a country in order to save a few dollars to tackle a fiscal deficit due mainly to incompetence and deliberate financial mismanagement?

You know the miller has not been wrong regarding the negative impact the ruling administration has offloaded on poor Barbados.
    The “No Layoffs, No Privatization” dirty tissue of deceit rings a bell or leaves a dent in your garbage can for a mind?

Continue to live in your partisan cocoon of filth and garbage. Don’t listen to the miller. Not even Colonel Buggy; or Hants a man who wears his party colours on his sleeves but isn’t yellowed by the “ac’ brand of stupidity as to not to be able to see the vital importance of the saying; Cleanliness is next to godliness by calling a spade a spade.
    If you guys continue to do shite regarding the health of the nation in a tropical country you will soon see which god you are serving. Continue to figuratively shit in your own kitchen and don’t wipe or wash your hands.
    Not even Hygieia would be able to save your sorry asses from an outbreak of germ warfare caused by your own avoidable dirty acts.

16. @Miller

Forget ac and stay focus on what yiu see in Bim, others who can’t will be guided.

A suggestion to people behind the Adopt a Mile program:

1. All the playere should have the same schedule to prune their mile 2. When the grass is cut removing the litter hidden in the growth should be part of the contract. It makes no sense cutting the grass and the litter tossed out the windows by uncaring and nasty Barbadians become exposed for all the tourists to view.