Submitted by Due Diligence
Father and son Butch and Adam Stewart

In the August 23, 2014, edition of Barbados Today there was an article titled It’s the Mix. In the article, Gordon Butch Stewart, extols the benefits that local restaurants. bars and other businesses will receive from the guests of Sandals Barbados. “I want people to come here and get more than they expected when they are spending their money… People will leave this hotel, probably a hundred a day for attractions outside of the hotel. It happens everywhere. We have a company that is called Island Routes that sells the attraction out there. So our job is to bring the visitors to Barbados and then get them out so they can taste the country, taste the flavour, the different food and [interact with] the different people. I can guarantee you that when this hotel opens, you go down the road [in] the bars and the restaurants [and] you will see Sandals people in there”.

After being virtually invisible for over a year from the Canadian (Toronto at least) newspaper Travel Section, Barbados’ name has reappeared. Not a BTA ad – it is the first ad (I have seen) for Sandals Barbados,  a half page in the August 23, 2014 Globe Travel section of The Globe and Mail.

As another BU commenter said, Sandals guests are going to Sandals. DD is sceptical about Butch’s pitch.  The amount of business the Sandals’ guests will do with other hospitality and tourism service providers will be very limited.

There are 11 restaurants at Sandals Barbados where their meals are included; how many of the Sandals guests will be dining at nearby restaurants, When premium drinks are served at Sandals all day and all night; how many will be going to the neighbourhood bars?  When unlimited land and water sports, including scuba diving* are included, how many Sandals guests will be venturing off the property to visit other attractions.

Butch said “People will leave this hotel, probably a hundred a day for attractions outside of the hotel”.  Sandals Barbados room stock will be 280 rooms with approximate occupancy two to a room equal 560 guests.  If 100 leave, there are 460 who do not leave.

There is no doubt that Butch’s marketing might will ensure that he has the airlift needed by Sandals – he probably has 560 seats per week allocated to Sandals by the airlines.  But will the seats allocated to Sandals be additional seats, or will they simply be blocked off from others?  Air Canada, Westjet, AA and others are unlikely to put on extra flights or use larger aircraft because Butch needs 100 seats a day to service Sandals Barbados (which would have been used for guests of Couples). So if Sandals is simply eating into existing airlift, that will simply reduce the number of seats available to potential guests of the other hotels.

DD wonders if the MOF, MOT, BTA, BTMI et al have thought this through. For those who are Butch Believers, DD suggests they read  WILD COOT: What is the gain? To quote WILD COOT, “The jury is out with respect to the net benefits to be attributed to the Sandals arrangement – maybe in 2037 our grandchildren will benefit.”

61 responses to “Examining Sandals Benefits”

1. another obsession with sandals a proven brand ,,,give it a rest,,,,,the sandals brand is successful world renowned no use in taking little stick to chop down big tree,, neva gonna happen.

2. The good thing about BU is that all views are given a chance to compete, from the intelligent and the dullard.

If there was no song and dance about Sandals, Butch and the government would not agree that it is fair to sandalize the whole sector.

3. What benefits! This is really about power. And in the game of power corporations are defeating governments, badly. No benefits will come until we make the modern corporation an illegal entity.

4. If Sandals guests do not leave the resort in Barbados it is because there are no restaurants or tourist attractions worth visiting.

Please tell me that Sandals Barbados is not building its own Harrisons Cave, Animal flower cave, or Flower forest in st.Lawrence.

Will Sandals guests have access to the internet before they get to Barbados.

http://www.barbados.org/points.htm#.U_8wVPldWJY

I am willing to accept that a lot of guests may spend their entire holiday at the resort but just like Sandy Lane guests go to the Cliff and other restaurants for dinner so will some Sandals guests.

Barbados hotels, restaurants and Tourist attractions should “up their game” .

5. @Pacha

Please expand on your comment.

Does the all inclusive segment have a defined profile that precludee them from shopping around?

6. @ David
    We say this is a democracy, yes? Well democracy is essentially an economic system. Politics is the PR method use by elites to make us feel we really living in a democracy and to consolidate wealth for themselves. Is this not what is happening, has happened. They just fool us with talk about jobs and GDP etc. If you are telling us we, as a government, need to invest in industry why can’t we do it in a way where at least the workers of those enterprises are the beneficiaries of that investment. Not Stewarts, Sandals, or COW!

7. Hants | August 28, 2014 at 9:47 AM |

“I am willing to accept that a lot of guests may spend their entire holiday at the resort but just like Sandy Lane guests go to the Cliff and other restaurants for dinner so will some Sandals guests. Barbados hotels, restaurants and Tourist attractions should “up their game” .”

Hants, you cannot compare Sandals with Sandy Lane, they are two different hotels with two different concepts. Sandals will have restaurants offering various international cuisine that are offered by the other restaurants.
    As such, after having paid for an all inclusive package that includes meals at anytime [just like a cruise], why would they want to come out and go to the Cliff to pay for what they can get at the hotel for free.

What we must realize is that the all-inclusive concept will be successful in islands like Jamaica where the crime rate is high, and to a lesser extent, St. Lucia, whose crime rate is steadily increasing. There will be a fear among visitors, which will cause them to be wary of visiting certain places by themselves.
    The Sandals marketing agents will capitalize on this fear by organizing and controlling tours or transportation, so as to make the guests feel safe. Hence, tours to Harrison’s Cave, Flower Forrest, and other attractions would be “optionally” included in the package, and controlled by Sandals, who will have the responsibility of transporting guests to and from the venue.

8. @Artaxerxes

“Hence, tours to Harrison’s Cave, Flower Forrest, and other attractions would be “optionally” included in the package, and controlled by Sandals, who will have the responsibility of transporting guests to and from the venue.”

Butch said

“We have a company that is called Island Routes that sells the attraction out there. So our job is to bring the visitors to Barbados and then get them out so they can taste the country, taste the flavour, the different food and [interact with] the different people.”

So, Island Resorts sells the attractions.

And Island Resorts makes the money, by using Sandals’ negotiating prowess to extract discounts/concessions from the attractions, and from the transportation provider to deliver the guests to and from the venues. No need for the little taxi-man

And when the guest pulls out the VISA or Mastercard to pay for the tour, the money is deposited to Island Resorts’ account at a bank in Kingston or Miami or New York.

To quote Minister ac, or is that Senator ac, “the sandals brand is successful world renowned”

For making Butch a very rich man.

“A wolf in sheep’s clothing” indeed

9. @Artaxerxes If this is what I will get every day at Sandals Barbados for free I have to admit my trickle down theory is flawed.

http://www.thecliffbarbados.com/CR/rm/MenuBrowser.asp

10. Adrian had asked the impertinent question concerning where are payments trapped when reservations are made. Does the forex stay offshore? In the interest of transparency we should ask questions, it is the taxpayers who bear the brunt of taxes forgone as a result of tax concessions given by our servants.

11. How many Bajans are employed in Tourism in Barbados
    How many Bajans will be employed by Sandals Barbados?

If Tourism is no longer good for Barbados what are the alternative to replace it.

Logically we should ween the country off the dependence on Tourism while creating replacement businesses that will generate employment and prosperity.

Until the BU experts come up with a plan I will do what all we Bajans in Canada do year in year out.

Recommend Barbados as a great place to visit especially when it is cold as shiite in Canada.

12. David wrote “where are payments trapped when reservations are made? Does the forex stay offshore?

There are rules and regulations but without FOI and Transparency and integrity legislation we will not know what most Hotel owners do with their profits.

13. @Hants

“If Tourism is no longer good for Barbados what are the alternative to replace it.”

I think the point is not whether tourism is no longer good for Barbados; but whether Sandals is good for Barbados.

14. Adrian

While Googling I came across the webpage at.

http://www.barbados.org/stlaw.htm#nightlife

See the photo of St. Lawrence Gap Nightlife

Surely barbadoss.org can find an old file photo showing The Gap teeming with activity, instead of one showing it virtually deserted.

15. The Sandals Brand.

1941: Stewart was born in Kingston on July 6.

1960s: Works his way up to become sales manager of the Curacao Trading company.

1968: Sets up Appliance Traders Ltd., founded as an air conditioner service and distribution firm

1981: Buys the run-down Bay Roc hotel in Montego Bay and turns it into the first Sandals.

2006: Makes his son Adam, then aged 25, the chief executive of Sandals.

Today: 20 resorts, including 12 Sandals, four Beaches, two Grand Pineapple Beach resorts and a new luxury brand called Royal Plantation.
    Butch Stewart, Jamaican king of the luxury-included vacation, turned an ‘insane’ hotel venture into 20-resort Caribbean empire.

Adrian a big influence in the hotel industry here in Barbados seems lacking in providing ” Baby boomers ”
    With a high standard of The Barbados Experiance.

Clearly a world market gap in 5 * accommodation filled in Barbados Period.

16. BARBADOSTRIPADVISOR

Your mention of Hawaii reminded me to my surprise – no shock – when, a few years ago I happened to notice printed on those packets of sugar the restaurants provide for coffee sweetener “Made in Hawaii”. Yes sugar packets from Hawaii in Barbados.

Fuh real

17. @DD

We have discussed before, barbados.org is not owner by government, it is a private outfit.

18. pacha .these small carribbean islands cannot do it the way u would wish…however there is an uneven handedness in the way the wealth is dished out..especially when one reflects on how much is given and how much is wasted by these corporations whose role is to produce sufficiently in terms wherby all can benefical.unfortunately the only major beneficiares are themselves and their corporate lawyers who are well schooled in corporate law and knows how to sheild and protect these congolmerates from economic failures contributed on their part.

19. Seems your growing a pair.
    The attorneys are the Government, and alike Impunity gives them the edge.
    Some are more equal than others.
    What’s in your wallet……
    Most important, how much can you spend internationally on your debit card… $7500bb. Not doing a lot of travelling then are you……

20. @ Adrian & Dr David of the DLP.
    This is an embarrassing question.
    What Does Barbados Produce.??
    Barbados does not produce anything noteworthy – it specialises in services and its manufacturing sector is struggling because of the lack of economies of scale and perhaps even the characterisation of DISeconomies of scale in some areas. FACT.

Don’t rush to answer…

21. @ ac
    It is already working. The credit unions have done very well, especially in the last 30 years. If government is to be asked to be the investor of last resort, why must ‘our’ government then dispense economic democracy to a chosen few? What makes Stewart or COW so unique that success could only be achieved if we depend on White messianism? Are the same people who are to make the beds, be the quintessential smiling natives and cook the food not worthy of having an equitable ownership in these enterprises? These are the people who make any enterprise work. Why should these people be further enslaved with their own money by their own government acting as an agent for White people? It is not the season for people to talk about reparations? Why do we always have to find some half-baked White man to do for us what we can do ourselves?

22. LIFE CHANGER +

I read the same story.

There is no doubt the old appliance salesman has been hugely successful in business.

But, is Sandals good for Barbados

Butch may be the most wealthy business person in the Caribbean – even more wealthy than Sir Kyffin.

An article in the Nation in September 2013 included this:

“Earlier this month Prime Minister Freundel Stuart said he was in discussion with other officials about whether it should be possible for foreigners with high net worth to receive full rights as citizens through investment.”

Now that they have given away the farm, the Three Stooges (Stuart, Sinkler and Sealy) should consider going one step further and grant Butch economic citizenship.

Then they could make him “SIR BUTCH”

23. Pachaman you are making salient points but the fact is that barbadians were not schooled in drivers that are relevant in pushing and building an economy..therefore the other alternative seems much easier athough as if u clearly pointed out that such policies only benefit the top tier.no doubt few.also without doubt or question an antiquated school system is also to blame

24. @Pacha

We have discussed how the Barbados economy is structured on BU blogs before. It is an economy fueled by the construction sector on the domestic front surrounded by retail ajd distribution. In other words, little innovation not even a vibrant higgler class.

25. @ac
    With due respect, we have to stop this blame game. We have a government that has just given hundreds of millions of dollars, in cash or kind, to certain interests. We have a government that has sent Beckles to the British parliament to beg for reparations. We have a government that likes to talk about poor Black people. We have a country which historically has produced people that have done reasonably well in places places. People who will be expected to run things for Stewart. People who sing a lot about pride and industry and you gine tell us that COW, or Stewart or Bizzy could do anything that Bajans can’t do. We can’t believe that.

But we can’t always dwell in the world we know, we have to create a new world sooner or later or it will be created for us, but not by us. Now how can we do the first creation unless we could understand and master the present? These are issues which we continue to ignore at our peril.

26. Agriculture / food production / food security.

Solar powered electricity / wind powered electricity.

The reduction in the need for imported food and oil will reduce the need for forex.

27. @Pacha

Agree with you and this will be the challenge, the actors to drive will NOT come from the incumbents.

28. Barbados should be doing R&D and testing of Solar systems.

29. Given the drop in enrollment at UWI and the lack of jobs in the civil service, what will happen to the “school leavers” this year?

30. @ David
    We should not foreclose any possibilities until a demand is properly put. This is the nature of the politician. If the people want it you would be surprised how quickly incumbants will enter the road to Damacus. LOL

31. as you ponder more hotels., and tourist this reality is happening in your mother Africa.let me ask this question,
    doctors,educated in barbados or the united states !!of African decent go to help your own people,do bajans send aid? who is it that sends food and help to your African brothers.perhaps your priorities are far from where they should be !!!! look at your peoples plight as you chat about
    sandals hotels.
    http://youtu.be/I16iN7jfVoE

32. Due Diligence on August 28, 2014 at 1:22 PM
    LIFE CHANGER +

I read the same story.

There is no doubt the old appliance salesman has been hugely successful in…….

The problem I have is this country is blocked up with ” money takers.” It is this system here, the truth be told that the average Bajan can be swayed by
    Money. They have an instant trigger for expecting a “little something” for even giving directions. Let alone if you need some Government work done. Some international people expect better, and owing to this sites potrail it Barbadian innocence in any wrong doing adds to the contempt. I do not have to explain myself, but my family worked hard, and to find family land pimped by high Goverment QC’s .. I do get ignorant.

A lot of Bajan’s are capable, but lake the motivation and team work to achive anything. And with little of Barbados left for Bajan’s to buy…

33. […] David Submitted by Due Diligence In the August 23, 2014, edition of Barbados Today there was an article […]

34. look pacha so far i have agreed with your premise of the top receiving too much while the bottom doing the heavy lifting with no end in sight,,,,,,yes there is enough blame to go around,,,,my point being that barbados has produce many professional many teachers,, doctors and lawyers, and ,those who did not make it as bon a fide professional entered the job market as low entry civil servants ,,,,any one can tell u that there is very little that is advantageous in that corridor to maintaining and building an economy from the ground up,,take a lot at the chinese,,they people were prepared years in advance and well equipped years in advance not only to build there economy ,but look what is happening ,they are on a forward march in building others,that is called first call education sir,,,,,the blame lies which i will repeat with a system of govt who never envision that a day would come when outside investors would simply eat off the fatted lamb and leave the bones for the natives,,,barbados has a lot of catching up to do but in the mean time trying to throw out the baby with the bathe tub is not the answer,,,the answer now lies in an efficient and retooling of our educational system one that is fully geared and equipped to putting out the best.. those who can become investors and match toe to toe alongside the butch stewarts and cow williams of this world,,,until then we would never be self reliant .

35. Another AD placed by Sandals in the Canadians media today added to the blog.

See commentary from Due Diligence:

Approximate cost = CAD $10,000 – Saturday Travel section full page = approximately $15,000
    Marketing might indeed. In case the copy is not clear, the “All the time” box says:

“There’s always a party when drinks are included. And with up to 9 bars serving unlimited premium cocktails, every hour is a happy hour at Sandals with something fun happening all the time. From nightclubs that rock to beach parties the roll, you’ll have the time of your life. Because everything’s included. love is all you need”

With everything included at Sandals, there is little incentive for guests to venture over to Reggae Lounge, or Old Jamm Inn, or Sugar Ultra Lounge or other nightspots in The Gap.

36. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926TO 2014 MASSIVE FRAUD LANDTAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS, BARBADOS DLP/BLP MASSIVE PONZI FRAUD Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926TO 2014 MASSIVE FRAUD LANDTAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS, BARBADOS DLP/BLP MASSIVE PONZI FRAUD

Study the land and the papers to the land and that is where the fraud will start, Money will not cover truth but delay the facts for the people to see covered up in a pay check and jobs ,
    After 6 weeks of work they now want to cut the pay of the plumbers from 15 bds and hour to 12.50bds, Already they want to pay less after probation,

The workers need a Union to watch the Bitches ,,,,, Not SANDALS BUT SAND BAGGING

37. @DD

It is an all-inclusive product, frankly why would a tourist be expected to step out? It defeats the purpose of buying an all inclusive package in the first place.

38. The point is that in his recent PR pitch to sell Bajan’s on the idea that Sandals guests will be spreading their money all over the place, Butch is quoted as saying.

“I want people to come here and get more than they expected when they are spending their money . . . . People will leave this hotel, probably a hundred a day for attractions outside of the hotel. It happens everywhere.

“We have a company that is called Island Routes that sells the attraction out there. So our job is to bring the visitors to Barbados and then get them out so they can taste the country, taste the flavour, the different food and [interact with] the different people.

“I can guarantee you that when this hotel opens, you go down the road [in] the bars and the restaurants [and] you will see Sandals people in there,” Stewart added.

I don’t think so.

39. so DD,,,,, ac as u call minister has a proposal for u ,,,i proposed that the agreement with sandals become null and void,,however i am aware of the legalities that might cost the taxpayers millions..if the contracts and agreements are withdrawn,be that as it may,,,,,,,now mr back bencher DD what do u propose as a viable and workable alternative that would be an uplift and a resurgence to the tourism market,,as a short term strategy,,,

40. Lifechanger……..you are preaching to the choir.

41. This is a very interesting discussion.

Sandals guests arrive at the hotel. Everything at the hotel is free / included. At the end of their stay they are driven to the Airport and leave the Island. Wonderful.

However does it not benefit Sandals if some of their guests leave the resort and eat and drink (premium drinks? ) at bars and restaurants elsewhere on the island ?
    You all may be right and maybe only a few people will leave the resort. It would be interesting to get data on how many people (%) do this.

42. Is Sandals going to have a resident Band and DJ ?

The resort will also launch a new attraction program that is expected to see more and more guests venture out to experience Barbados as a destination.

http://www.sandals.com/main/barbados/bd-home/

43. are-we-there-yet Avatar

Is there a presumption here that the Sandals guests will be paying twice when they sample the services, food etc at other places in Barbados?

Couldn’t a simple redeemable chit system be used so that the guests would not have to pay cash to sandalised approved outside establishments and those establishments could collect cash from Sandals for having provided the service based on stubs handed in?

A downside to this fairly cumbersome system might be that only certain establishments would be approved and that we would not see sandalised village rumshops, etc. unless the sandals guests were prepared to pay extra.

However, on balance I tend to agree with DD and the other posters who think that the impact will be minimal as even the well heeled visitors would not like to pay twice for a service and may be unwilling to venture outside their luxurious prison except on well chaperoned sandalised tours.

44. Why is there this notion that guests will only want stay in the resort because they have paid for everything they consume at the resort.

Are all the tourist going to Sandals han to mout?

I going to bet that Sandals is going to have a trickle down effect that will benefit Restaurant bars and other attractions in Barbados.

45. I agree that most of the guests of the all-inclusives will not venture off of the property every day. It is true that there is a lot of activities on their properties, but tourists that spend the money and the time to travel from England or the United States don’t always want to be confined to a resort for their whole vacation. They have travelled to the Caribbean and want to see more of it than a hotel compound. Let’s think about the tourist that comes to Barbados for the first time to an all-inclusive and loves the island. Then they get home and think about going back again and this time they rent a villa or a condo for a week. The trickle down theory does work, perhaps not as rapidly as some would like, but it still works.