Adrian Loveridge - Hotelier
Adrian Loveridge – Hotelier

I have always tried to stay away from the various personalities that have been entrusted to guide our number one foreign currency generator, but it would have been almost impossible not to comment on the remarks accredited to the outgoing Chairman of the Barbados Tourism Industry recently. If accurately reported, there certainly was some very robust, and frankly, blunt language used to describe the agency as, โ€˜a slothful, wasteful and inefficient organization in an increasingly dynamic technologically-driven and commercial industryโ€™.

Perhaps, in less colourful words, this has been stated by many in the sector repeatedly over several years, so why is it after more than three years at the helm, only being recognised now? And if you analyse the figures, why were corrective measures not put into place much earlier?

After assuming the position of Chairman of the Barbados Tourism Authority in May 2011 that year only recorded two months of long stay visitor decline. However, by April 2012 Barbados witnessed a reduction in arrivals for 21 consecutive months. Sadly the release of tourism numbers seem to get later and later each month, with the May 2014 figures taking a staggering 60 days to be posted on the Barbados Statistical Service website. But all the indications are that so far this year the best we can expect is a โ€˜flatโ€™ performance. Equally important to highlight is that during the third year (2013) of the officialโ€™s tenure, Barbados registered the lowest stay-over arrivals for any one of the last 11 years.

It is easy to blame just about everybody else, politicians, โ€˜hotelierโ€™s in particularโ€™ and the media houses, but sometimes the buck stops here and those in charge have to personally accept some of the responsibility and culpability. While it is sad to see some long standing members of the BTA leave who I have enjoyed working with in the past and whose competence I do not question for a moment, it was clear changes had to be made.

The current administration now has an almost unique chance to put the โ€˜rightโ€™ people in place and resist a previously almost compelling desire to make more political appointments. There are two clear choices, squander the opportunity or adopt the stance of โ€˜carpe diemโ€™. Any entity, whether private or public, operating for such a long time without a specific mandate that ensured spending was cost-effective and directly related to a reasonable return on investment is simply unacceptable.

Government now has a long overdue obligation to ensure this never happens again. And I believe just like publicly traded companies, in the interest of transparency and accountability, there are compelling reasons to publish the audited accounts of the new Barbados Tourism Marketing Inc, within six months of each financial year. Only then will concerned industry observers and taxpayers have sufficient fiscal information to allow for checks and balances on the tens of millions the entity is likely to spend.

Hopefully everyone in the industry will seize this possibility to make a positive difference, and just for once, egos and partisan politics will play no meaningful part.

109 responses to “Time to Recruit the BEST People for Tourism”

1. @ Piece

The French Revolution (1789 โ€“ 1799) you may or may not know was ugly but had to be. The people in France got tired of King Louis XIV and his inability to deal with declining living conditions โ€“ overthrew the monarchy, King Louis XIV.

Here is yet another option, just move on. The flying fish did.

2. A certain future coalitional government of this country and of which the PDC will be part shall ABOLISH TAXATION in this country, thereby leading the way in the bringing about of a post-TAXATION society for Barbados.

Moreover, there shall be fiscal financial and other strategies and programs of the government that shall NOT ONLY replace this evil wicked TAXATION system, BUT that shall ALSO be supportive of one another in the quest to make government fairly properly earn – exceedingly more than it now does – more of its own incomes and revenues in this country.

3. PODRYR

For an ole man who ent too bright, you sure duz gots a way wid words.

Your comment that โ€œingrunt BUHKVNTS does doan hire nobody dat gots moโ€™ sense dan dem, it does show up dem incompetenceโ€ explains why a global head-hunter was not engaged to identify the best candidates in the world to steer the tourism way forward, and instead โ€œan all Barbadian executive teamโ€ was chosen.

4. @PODRYR

On July 3, 1962: Houari Boumediene and Ahmed Ben Bella overthrow Benyoucef Benkhedda in Afghanistan then on June 19, 1965: the same Houari Boumediene overthrows the same โ€œco-coup-istโ€ Ahmed Ben Bella

Afghanistan?

Algeria, surely?

5. Any of you watch CNN ? Just saw that BVI ad again. “So nice”

I look forward to the day when a BARBADOS ad surprises me on Toronto tv.

“BARBADOS …….More beautiful than ever.”

6. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ LOOK | August 19, 2014 at 8:56 AM |
    โ€œThe people in France got tired of King Louis XIV and his inability to deal with declining living conditions โ€“ overthrew the monarchy, King Louis XIV.โ€

Lookie here, LOOK, are you sure you have your facts historically correct?
    King Louis XIV (aka le Roi-Soleil) is deemed to have been the greatest monarch France ever had overseeing the rise of the then super power and making her the cultural centre of the world during the 17th and early 18th centuries. Maybe a visit to the Palace de Versailles might shed additional light for you to see.

You might just want to check your historical facts out before asking PODYR- a man steeped in Greek history and earlier mythology-to move on.
    Maybe you ought to recognize your numerical dyslexia by misplacing your (1). We believe you are referring to King Louis the Sixteenth (XV1) who was beheaded during the French revolution in 1793.
    Just think of the previous composition of the local parliament with its 16: 14 split; (or was it 14:16?) and you might just get your kings chronologically correct and not get your Marie Antoinette knickers in a twist with those of Maria Theresa.

7. Wow, we are giving up how much?

Hilton Barbados Resort

Hotel: Hilton Barbados Resort

Price: From $179$400 Island Credit : $79

Book Now!

8. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Firbear

You are correct Algeria not Afghanistan.

9. An observation by Due Diligence:

Interesting article in the Globe and Mail at:

http://www.theglobeandmail.com/report-on-business/industry-news/property-report/versace-armani-dubai-hotels-embrace-designer-brands/article20099348/

Seems like the Middle Eastern nations are taking over the high-end 5-star luxury hotel business, including Four Seasons.  see:  http://www.fourseasons.com/find_a_hotel_or_resort/?c=t&_s_icmp=tmenu#bylocation

There are now many options to Barbados’ Sandy Lane etc for the wealthy Brits and Europeans (and North Americans); and in the case of UK/Europe with less flight time and probably lower airfare.

Perhaps Government may wish to have Minister Estwick’s friends in the UAE help out with the restoration of Sam Lord’s.

10. Barbados cannot compete with Dubai.
    No point dreaming the impossible dream.

Sam Lords has great potential as a theme resort complete with a gambling casino.

11. Monsieur Miller

Posting referenced the wrong French monarch. I was referencing King Louis XVI (16) no King Louis XIV (14). Thank you my friend for notating the error.

Louis XIV the great sun king is indeed responsible for the beautiful and magnificent Palace of Versailles and a large debt load passed on to his son, Louis XV and Louis XVI.

Louis XVI (16) was the last of the French monarchs. He, however, approached the throne with massive debt but further increased it. President Obama (US) and Stuart (Barbados) also inherited their predecessor’s debt. President Obama’s inherited debt came from wars with Iraq and Afghanistan. Stuart’s inherited debt came from Contractor Al Barrack, ABC highway, the Dodds prison in St. Philip and more. Obama incidentally shines a lot better than Stuart because unlike Stuart Obama has actually solved a lot of major problems in the US. Obama has some accomplishments. Stuart has none.

12. Personally I think the key to the success of Sam Lords, if they plan 450 rooms, is a state-of-the art Conference centre but also to create a village like Paul Doyle has done at The Crane. Handicraft shops, farmers market etc. I notice that the BTA is still using ‘consultants’, so what are going to become of these with the new BTM inc?

13. Restoring Sam Lords Castle is going to be a major Architectural/Engineering feat.

There will be a lot of discussion about the cost.

14. Hants

Don’t worry about the cost.

Money will come from “concessionary” loans from PRC or UAE.

And who do you think will be extending the concessions?

15. Adrian Loveridge wrote “a state-of-the art Conference centre”

This is interesting.

http://www.bullseyeresources.com/whats-the-future-of-conferences/

16. See Sam Lordโ€™s article at:
    http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2014/08/20/foreign-operator-for-sam-lords/

Call me a sceptic if you will; but the PR event by Stuart Layne raises some questions.

Butch is spending $65 million to renovate 280 existing rooms at Casuarina. The Beaches project was quoted to have a projected cost of $500 million, for 426 rooms. Now government says it will spend $200 million to restore the castle and build a new 450 hotel and conference centre. The numbers donโ€™t add up.

Is it a coincidence that the targeted completion date of late 2017 or early 2018 coincides with the next elections?

โ€œThe funding for the US$200 million construction project will be done through the government of China.โ€

Will the contractor be China State Construction Engineering (Barbados) Corporation? If so how many of the 500-1,000 construction jobs go to Barbadians and how many to construction workers will be imported from China?

โ€œAs early as next month Barbadians should know which international hotel chain brand will operate the hotel to be constructed on the former Sam Lordโ€™s Castle property in St Philip.โ€ ……. โ€œRight now we have many options in terms of a brand because we will not manage this on our own and Government will not manage it on its own as a matter of policy. So right now we are in discussions with a number of brands and in the very near future you will hear an announcement in relation to that matter,โ€ said Layne, adding that there are more than four brands that have expressed interest.

So, the project was just announced, and as early as next month Barbadians should know which international hotel chain brand will operate the hotel to be constructed on the former Sam Lordโ€™s Castle property in St Philip?

Also see this from May 22, 2014, Nation editorial โ€œWhither Four Seasons Resort?โ€:
    http://www.nationnews.com/articles/view/whither-four-seasons-resort/

โ€œIn an interview, Minister of Finance Chris Sinckler admitted that even though Government was aware of what was happening, its hands were tied because it did not own the property. Sinckler said the property was private and, therefore, Government could not โ€œdo what we likeโ€.โ€

โ€œThis beleaguered project has been riddled with problems over the years, making its completion somewhat of a fantasy.”

Given this administrationโ€™s record of getting other major luxury projects completed; one can be forgiven for being sceptical.

Let us all hope the Sam Lordโ€™s project is not simply another PR fantasy?

17. With all the garbage piling up around Barbados do you all think tourists will be impressed? Forget tourists, what about locals? This is Barbados in 2014! Money for everything except the basics.Priority Deficit Disorder (PDD).Methinks the leaders of this country need to change their priorities.

18. Is the plan to restore Sam Lords or build ‘another’ hotel.

19. From memory there were actually around 240 rooms seperate from the ‘castle’ and the castle housed reception and around 9 rooms.
    To get 450 rooms in plus intra-structure they would probably have to demolish existing rooms and re-build totally. There is also the question of fresh water, so perhaps a desalination plant as well.

20. The plan is to restore the Castle ruins and build a 450 room hotel on the property.

The property/land area is 56 acres so there is enough land to do it.

21. The singular characteristic of a” Bajan brass bowl” is the ability to fool them with the SAME trick over and over and over and over….
    …and they always seem to think that next time it will be different.

Paradise
    Gems
    Four Seasons
    Almond
    North Point
    The Crooks from England
    The Dodds Hotel
    The Coast Guard Station
    Barrack’s place
    Bizzy’s “desal” plant
    Bizzy Solid waste Tax plant
    Bizzy’ red jet
    Bizzy’s 3S
    Bizzy’s friend Butch
    Massy (Massa)
    LOL…
    …..a brass bowl is a glutton for punishment.

22. ONE HAS WELL SAID ABOUT PROFESSOR BRASS BOWL THE FOLLOWING

He is like a stuck record, unable to deliver the joy to a listener of a constantly evolving piece of music.
    All that comes from him is an incessant repetition of rubbish based on a few facts he picked up somewhere and wonโ€™t put down even though they have been shown to be flawed and the same conners have had to change them.

THIS SELF CONFESSED RETARD IS ONLY A SEED PICKER

23. Redman | August 20, 2014 at 12:44 PM |
    With all the garbage piling up around Barbados do you all think tourists will be impressed? Forget tourists, what about locals? This is Barbados in 2014! Money for everything except the basics.Priority Deficit Disorder (PDD).Methinks the leaders of this country need to change their priorities.
    …………………………………………………………………………………………
    For almost two to three years I never set foot, or wheels , on the West Coast . About two months ago I played tourist and visited the West Coast ,afterwards commenting to a friend who works down there , the stark tidiness and orderliness of the West Coast compared to the South Coast, and Bridgetown.
    Yesterday, again I visited the west coast as far north as Six Mens, my previous assessment of the West Coast was shot to bits. Except for the road immediately in front of Sandy Lane Hotel, the West Coast is on big stretch of unsightly stinking garbage bags and overflowing bins. To add insult to the injury that we are placing on guest who we have invited to this island, one of those stinking Shit Removal trucks, was making a withdrawal right outside a hotel at 12.30 pm. ,what we refer to in Barbados as lunch time.
    What has happened to Barbados in recent times? I know that in the area of projected growth , Haiti is quite ahead of us, but have we sunk so low , that our streets and communities have now taken over where Haiti has left off?
    Just like the nationalist and terrorists who are wreaking havoc and destroying many a country abroad, it appears is if those governing Barbados are employing ,non lethal methods to destroy this country of ours. They are sitting back and doing sweet f.a
    “Pride and Industry” ……….Is there an International Fair Trading body which we can appeal, to get our national motto change, as its sell-by-date has long expired.

24. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Hants | August 20, 2014 at 2:27 PM |
    โ€œThe plan is to restore the Castle ruins and build a 450 room hotel on the propertyโ€

And you, Hants, have allowed yourself to fall (again) for the propaganda shit hook ,line and sinker.
    Wasn’t the same propaganda spewed for many years about the Four Seasons restart project? Canโ€™t you see how easily you have been manipulated to shift your focus from the west to the east?

Why don’t you ask about the Cruise Ship Terminal whose start-up should have been in January 2014?
    What about Pickerings, Merricks, Foul Bay and more importantly the resuscitated sugar cane industry with a state-of-the-art factory capable of supplying much of the electricity needs of Barbados?

Stop falling for crap, Hants. Remove your political blinkers and call a useless spade an incompetent spade. If the current administration canโ€™t even draw down on grant funding to build the Performing Arts Centre at Brandons promised since 2012 do you feel it is capable of convincing the Chinese to invest in any sunset tourist industry in Barbados?
    Can’t you see the Castle is reverting to its natural state before Samuel Hall Lord. When the government can keep the place in a “relic” condition worthy of a visit then you might just be able to think of seeing an imitation of the Castle of your halcyon days while visiting from Canada.

25. If they can’t keep a fleet of 26 diesel engine, garbage trucks in good repair and available to go on the road to haul away the garbage in a timely fashion, have to wonder how we can have much confidence they will have the wherewithal to keep the proposed bleeding edge, highest of high tech garbage gassification plant operating to spec so it doesn’t spew a bunch of toxic effluent into the atmosphere.

26. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Green Monkey | August 20, 2014 at 3:38 PM |
    โ€œIf they canโ€™t keep a fleet of 26 diesel engine, garbage trucks in good repair and available to go on the road to haul away the garbage in a timely fashion, have to wonder how we can have much confidence.โ€

You said it all my friend!
    We should be prepared to place more confidence in a troupe of 20 monkeys sitting round a table discussing Darwinism than to expect the current lot of jackasses to in any way oversee the resuscitation of the local tourism industry and by extension the economy.

But even jackasses can overcome lions, with the right tool. Let us see if this lot can get on top of the garbage heap of a problem and in the nick of time prevent the possible outbreak of some major communicable disease which might make Ebola look like measles.

27. http://news.msn.com/world/disenchanted-with-putin-some-russians-vote-with-their-feet

Barbados S&P credit rating at moment is โ€œjunkโ€ status. The Barbadian people are not happy and damn tired of Stewart. People in the US was damn tired of George W. Bush but too but not clapping hands for Obama. Can’t afford long-term military action in Iraq.

Russia the largest country in the world did you know is not junk status but just one notch above it. The Russia people are tired of Putin; most just want a better life. Thus, Russia soon may be recruiting a new president. The outbreak of a coup there (Russia) would certainly not be surprising. The Russian Bolshevik Revolution (1917-1918) began with a coup and gave birth to the USSR. Later, in 1991, all the world watched a USSR coup and the USSR broken up into fifteen separate countries.

Right on target this time, Mr. Miller. Got this one right.

28. The joke is that there ARE persons here with the required knowledge and skills to make these processes work. Unfortunately we also have a tradition of ignoring competence and performance – and making selections based on political, family, Lodge and other petty considerations.
    If only we could take a national decision to implement a meritocracy
    ….then people like Mr Coward (whose work in transport can still be seen on the roads of Barbados) could be used to make needed quality contributions to this country…..

29. Showers of blessing?

30. Bush Tea

Massy (Massa)

Luv it – but it is no laughing matter

31. Taken from Facebook:

Peter Gilkesโ€ŽDavid King

18 hrs ยท

Layne told reporters that the goal is to have the project completed within 30 months following its commencement, which is currently earmarked for June 2015. This date is possible, he explained, as there are already approved development plans in place for the site and if all goes well it should be opening its doors by late 2017, early 2018.

โ€œConstruction was started in 2008 and on July 28, the Town Planning ruled that we can continue the build out, because as you know under our law, if it has commenced we are allowed to continue building. โ€ฆHowever, we do have to look at a modification because those approved plans are for 256 rooms and we really want to have 450 rooms/suites on this property. At 58 acres, it would be a shame to do less than 450,โ€ he noted.

With that in mind, the BTI head said that both the construction phase and the hotel once completed will create much needed employment opportunities for Barbadians, with as many as 1 000 persons securing jobs in each instance. Moreover, he highlighted that while the main contractor will be chosen by the Government of China, bids will be sent out allowing Barbadian businesses to be sub-contractors on the project

Peter Gilkes

Big reveal next month

8/20/2014

In a monthโ€™s time Barbadians should know which hotel brand will be operating the historic Sam Lordโ€™s Castle site, which is expected to be a fully operational 450-room hotel in

another three to four years.

Speaking to the media following a tour to identify the boundaries of the property which measures 58 acres in size, Chief Executive Officer of the Barbados Tourism Investment Inc. (BTI), Stuart Layne, explained that identifying a company to run the facility is urgent as they cannot firm up the designs for the property until that has been settled.

โ€œYou canโ€™t finalise the design unless you have a brand. You canโ€™t finalise the design and then hope to attract the brand; the brand assists in terms of the final design,โ€ he stated.

Layne made that point as he indicated that the BTI is under strict orders from the prospective brands not to reveal their names. However, he did divulge to the media that there are more than four companies vying for the opportunity to run the property.

News of the planned redeveloped of the once vibrant Long Bay, St. Philip hotel came to the fore earlier this month, when Minister of Tourism Richard Sealy announced in the House of Assembly, that the project valued at US $200 million was part of a memorandum of understanding between the Barbados Tourism Investment Inc. and the Government of China.

According to Layne, the intention is not only to use that money to build out the 450 rooms that have been proposed, but also to restore the castle, which was destroyed by fire in 2010, to its former glory.

โ€œWe are very keen on restoring the castle and we have fortunately been able to find the dimensions for all the rooms and we can literally rebuild the castle as it wasโ€ฆ This is a castle that was built in 1820 and we really have to get it up and running before 2020, which is obviously the 200th anniversary,โ€ he said.

Layne told reporters that the goal is to have the project completed within 30 months following its commencement, which is currently earmarked for June 2015. This date is possible, he explained, as there are already approved development plans in place for the site and if all goes well it should be opening its doors by late 2017, early 2018.

โ€œConstruction was started in 2008 and on July 28, the Town Planning ruled that we can continue the build out, because as you know under our law, if it has commenced we are allowed to continue building. โ€ฆHowever, we do have to look at a modification because those approved plans are for 256 rooms and we really want to have 450 rooms/suites on this property. At 58 acres, it would be a shame to do less than 450,โ€ he noted.

With that in mind, the BTI head said that both the construction phase and the hotel once completed will create much needed employment opportunities for Barbadians, with as many as 1 000 persons securing jobs in each instance. Moreover, he highlighted that while the main contractor will be chosen by the Government of China, bids will be sent out allowing Barbadian businesses to be sub-contractors on the project.

32. millertheanunnaki Avatar

“Layne made that point as he indicated that the BTI is under strict orders from the prospective brands not to reveal their names. However, he did divulge to the media that there are more than four companies vying for the opportunity to run the property.”

Similar crap was peddled by the Arch Liar Sinckler over a 2 year period about the restart of the Four Seasons project.
    At one point the deal was so close to being sealed that not even a smidgen of delay could have entered the orifice the negotiating professor.
    It would be interesting to find out if Four Seasons is one of the “brands” keen to manage the property intended for the Sam Lord pirate den.

33. Good to see others are wondering about the Sam Lords Project. Barbados already has issues paying back loans and now we have MORE loans, to fund a Chinese built project???

I aint too bright, so thought I was the only one with confusion on this?

How come COW, Rayside or Jada aint building this?

At a time when Barbados scratching to pay back loans, now THIS??????

Does it make sense???

34. DD and Mrs D have been regular repeat visitors to Barbados for the past 15 years; staying mainly at all-inclusives, including all three of the Almond properties.

After Massy (Massa) shut em down, in 2013 we decided to take the plunge and step up to The Crane; where the staff from the reception desk, to the restaurant servers to the guy who raked up the leaves every day were first rate, as of course as the bricks and mortar. While somewhat more expensive than the Almonds, it was well worth the additional cost, and we will be back to The Crane.

As a former guest at The Crane, it has my name on its email address list.

Today I received by email the first edition of Theย Crane Connectionย – a bi-monthly newsletter that shares the latest news, views and reviews fromย Crane Resorts, Barbados.

In DDโ€™s humble opinion it is a masterful piece of marketing.

DD encourages all to view the site on which the newsletter is posted at:
    http://us8.campaign-archive2.com/?u=c2ce1fdd019ee480a2be86dbb&id=4e811d7c0a&e=327c1d8d37

Be sure to click all of the links imbedded

Since acquiring The Crane (in ????) Paul Doyle and his team have done a fabulous job restoring the old buildings and growing The Crane into what it is today – without the Butchcentives. And employs how many Barbadians, and pays VAT, duties and other taxes.

Stuart, Sinkler and Sealy et al could learn a lot about restoring an old property, and building a new hotel from Doyle and his team.

But that is not going to happen, because as PODRYR said above โ€œingrunt BUHKVNTS does doan hire nobody dat gots moโ€™ sense dan dem, it does show up dem incompetence.

35. Bush Tea | August 20, 2014 at 4:39 PM |
    The joke is that there ARE persons here with the required knowledge and skills to make these processes work. Unfortunately we also have a tradition of ignoring competence and performance โ€“ and making selections based on political, family, Lodge and other petty considerations.
    If only we could take a national decision to implement a meritocracy
    โ€ฆ.then people like Mr Coward (whose work in transport can still be seen on the roads of Barbados) could be used to make needed quality contributions to this countryโ€ฆ..

hi HI SLIMY SCUM AND TURNED OVER TOPSY
    ARE YA DONE MOCKING AND CHALLENGING NOW?
    YA STILL TALKING SHITE YA RETARD?

36. David
    When I read โ€œwhile the main contractor will be chosen by the Government of China, bids will be sent out allowing Barbadian businesses to be sub-contractors on the projectโ€ my initial reaction was WTF.

After some sober second thought, I am tnow hinking who better to build a 450 room luxury hotel and conference centre than China State Construction Engineering (Barbados) Corporation or some related China company. After all, he who pays the piper calls the tune. Surely the taxpayers money will be better spent than if it the main contractor is Stuart, Sinkler and Sealy Contracting (Barbados) Corporation.

The Gilkes piece quotes Layne as saying โ€œConstruction started in 2008โ€ When I visited and walked the property in 2013, all I saw was the burned out shell of the castle; and the only worker on the site was the vendor on the beach with his sea shell and flags and scarfs.

Wasnโ€™t 2008 the year this administration assume office. What have they done from 2008 until a month ago.

At the risk of being redundant I repeat my question asked earlier โ€œ… how many of the 1,000 construction jobs will go to Barbadians and how many to construction workers will be imported from China?

37. Sam Lords Castle rebuilding….. Now that’s a good one. My belly hurting.

38. @Due Diligence
    At the risk of being redundant I repeat my question asked earlier โ€œโ€ฆ how many of the 1,000 construction jobs will go to Barbadians and how many to construction workers will be imported from China?
    ……………………………………………………………………………………..
    The same percentage of Bajan workers that you have seen employed on previous Chinese projects at the Gymnasium, Old Queens College, Harrison’s Cave, finishing off Al Barrack’s Building, London Bourne Towers, The Old Town Hall, Cheapside Market. etc…between 0 % and 0.5%.

39. This whole Sam Lords thing would be funny if it wasn’t so pathetic….
    Clearly we are willing to try ANYTHING that may result in some forex in the form of loans…
    …surely they cannot SERIOUSLY be expecting this to come to fruition given our recent experiences with such projects….
    …..and how they manage to come up with these budget figures “off the cuff” is simply amazing…
    So this will cost LESS than Almond and Dodds then….?
    Will the hotel be given to the land owner?
    Is a private hotel a “public good” that justifies acquisition of the land?….or will we end up paying millions after being sued in court?

Another clear case of drowning men clutching at shipwrecks…..

40. Caribbean Lover Avatar

Barbados has announced a comprehensive and permanent overhaul of its tourism incentive legislation which seeks to treat tourism as an export industry.

The disclosure came from Minister of Finance Christopher Sinckler Friday during a site visit of the Sandals Barbados resort, undergoing large-scale upgrade at Dover in Christ Church, on the islandโ€™s South Coast. Sinckler notes โ€œ what we are going to do for hoteliers in Barbados, for tourism operators, is not a transient waving of the pen or signing of a document by the Minister of Finance under 67 (b) of the Income Tax Act.โ€

He continued โ€œThe concessions which Sandals got, all the others will get but they will get it permanently, in permanent legislation that they call on each and every time they require it rather than having to write the Minister of Finance every other time theyโ€™re doing upgrades to a property to get it.โ€

The legislation, which the minister indicated would resemble the menu of concessions offered to Sandals, would therefore allow for tax relief of up to 40 years on tourism inputs, including food and beverage imports. According to the finance minister, the new legislation will be published shortly.

The Barbadian Minister of Finance is of the view that the new legislation which his government is championing will transform the industry in an unprecedented manner. The new approach to tourism incentive on the island was used to lure world renowned Sandals Resorts International to the islandโ€™s shores with a USD350 million investment into the country, acquiring two financially challenged resorts.

Sinckler also pointed out that Sandals will not merely bring more rooms but will also inspire elevated standard levels in the countryโ€™s tourism sector.

โ€œSandals will cause many of our resorts to raise the bar and operate at a higher level. And when the Beaches Brand comes along in St. Peter it will raise the bar even further. So we are very assured that we have done the right thing by inviting the Sandals group here. Already we are seeing a different attitude from the airlines and travel community as it relates to investing in Barbados and that is because of the presence of the Sandals Brand.

Also on hand at the press conference was Barbadosโ€™ Tourism Minister, Richard Sealy who admitted that the island never understood how strong the Sandals Brand was in the US market. Sealy reiterated that the island will see tremendous boost in airlift and marketing capacity as a result of Sandals.

The 700 room acquisition by Sandals will see two of its luxury brands operating on the island in the very near future. Following a USD65 million renovation of 280-room Sandals Barbados formerly Almond Casuarina, the resort chain is also due to start a massive upgrade on the 426-room Almond Beach Village which it has also acquired for the establishment of its luxury Beaches Brand.

41. Caribbean Lover Avatar

Port Castries is poised to welcome over 685,000 cruise passengers and over 375 cruise ships for the upcoming 2014/2015 cruise seasonโ€”an increase from the previous year.

Castries Port, which has been ranked among the top 50 ports two years in a row by Cruise Insight: the Global Cruise Market Magazine, is no stranger to large numbers and has stated that it is well prepared.

A number of cruise lines are scheduled to return, including Carnival Cruise Lines, Royal Caribbean International, P&O Cruises, Celebrity Cruises, Windstar and MSC Cruise Lines. In addition, there is also an increase in calls/visits from MSC, Holland America, Thompson and Oceana Cruise Lines. Back on the itinerary this year after an eight-year hiatus is Disney Cruise Lines, which will be making approximately five calls to the island for 2014/2015.

โ€œSaint Lucia has become one of the best performing cruise destinations in the Caribbean and this is no accident,โ€ Ms. Dona Regis, Director of Marketing and Product Development said. โ€œThe port is located in Castries where there is an eclectic mix of traditional charm and modern day conveniences including the availability of duty free shopping at La Place Carenage and the Pointe Seraphine shopping malls. We continue to work with our industry partners to ensure that passengers and crew receive the warmest welcome at Port Castries and continuously promote Port Castries and Saint Lucia as the ideal cruise destination.โ€

For a copy of the 2014/2015 cruise schedule, visit http://www.slaspa.com, or SLASPAโ€™s Headquarters.

42. @ Caribbean Lover
    This “permanent legislation” that will give all hotels the same rights as Sandals will – unlike the ministerial stroke of a pen that gave Sandals THEIR benefits- require a change in the law right….?
    …this means that it must join the queue with Integrity Legislation and other political promises made by these jokers right…?

Well the transparency and Integrity laws were promised in 100 days – six years ago……
    This new legislation did not have a specific timeframe, so what do you project would be the likely date of enactment….?

Bushie wants to know …cause the Bush Hut will be transformed into a “Bush Hotel” by that date …. ๐Ÿ™‚ .with a guest room specially for Islandgal

43. Caribbean Lover

โ€œBarbados has announced a comprehensive and permanent overhaul of its tourism incentive legislation which seeks to treat tourism as an export industry.โ€

And why has Barbados tourism industry not been recognized and treated as an export industry for the past 50 years?

โ€œAlso on hand at the press conference was Barbadosโ€™ Tourism Minister, Richard Sealy who admitted that the island never understood how strong the Sandals Brand was in the US market. Sealy reiterated that the island will see tremendous boost in airlift and marketing capacity as a result of Sandals.โ€

The island never understood how strong the Sandals Brand was in the US market? Has Sandals not been a major player in the US market for many years? Has BTA not had offices in New York, Miami (Coral Gables) and LA for many years? Have those offices not observed, until now, the Sandals presence in the US market, and communicated that to the island?

So Sandals will be using its marketing might to fill the 280 rooms and 11 restaurants at Casuarina. How will that benefit the rest of the industry?
    Who will be marketing BARBADOS?

Bush Tea

โ€œThis new legislation did not have a specific timeframe, so what do you project would be the likely date of enactmentโ€ฆ.?

DD is guessing the new legislation will be enacted in January 2018, so the next administration can figure out what new taxes to introduce to replace the lost revenue resulting from โ€œthe menu of concessions to allow for tax relief of up to 40 years on tourism inputs, including food and beverage imports”

Transparency and Integrity legislation? That will be up to the next administration.

And Bushie, let me know where to find the Bush Hut, so I can drop by for a cup oโ€™ tea when I visit Barbados later this year.

44. This is kind of off-topic. BUT

In an article at http://www.barbadosadvocate.com/newsitem.asp?more=local&NewsID=38275 Minister of Industry, International Business, Commerce and Small Business Development, Donville Inniss is quoted as saying โ€œAnd I am satisfied that the government is functioning on all four cylinders and going in the right direction in these areas….โ€

DD wonders why this underpowered administration is not functioning on all six or eight cylinders like the Benzs and BMers, they are driving, or being driven in.

45. @ Due Diligence

The BLP administration before them also were not functioning on six or eight cylinders either.

The Caribbean Court of Justice (CCJ) in October 2013 awarded Shanique Myrie 75,000 for her case against Barbados for finger rape. Barbados was also ordered to refund Myrie her medical expenses, her airline ticket, and her reasonable legal expenses. Barbados has yet to pay Contractor Al Barack and now ordered to pay the Jamaican woman Shanique Myrie. Barbados must pay. Owen Arthur tells the Nation News (08/14/2014) that โ€œif the Shanique Myrie incident had occurred under his watch, it would not even have gone to court. . . . if the Barbados Labor Party administration had been in government when the matter happened, I wouldโ€™ve called Portia Simpson-Miller [Prime Minister/Jamaica]โ€ buttttttttt that Al Barack dilema you know occurred during the BLP administration with Owen at the helm. Although gifted to the DLP in 2008, it was conceived during the BLP administration.

Earlier on, Mia Mottley fussed to the Nation News (July 2012) that government owes more than $100 million to the University of West Indies (UWI) Cave Hill Campus and called for an โ€œurgentโ€ permanent solution to the mounting debt problem. Laugh. Go ahead and laugh. Laugh, laugh, laugh. Government owes contractor Al Barrack millions, a mounting debt problem that occurred because Arthur was into folly with Julie Price, had perhaps hit upon one of his drinking binges and or was sleeping. Barrack must be paid. He has in his possession a court ordered judgment.
    Then there is yet another mess created during the BLP administration headed by Owen Seymour Authur, MASSIVE LAND THEFT. Kensington Oval rightfully belongs to the estate of Violet Beckles. That property rightfully belonged to Violet Beckles. ABC Highway also belongs to the estate of Violet Beckles, Sandy Lane, Six Men and more.

David Thompson before his demise was investigating the Violet Beckles claim of which involves the BLP administration, and the National Housing Commission (NHC), a government entity. . . . . moving tax numbers from one person with deed to another person with no deed and no proof of sale. This is pure land fraud.

46. Look

DD has no party affiliation or loyalty, just an observer from the Great White North with some affection for the Barbadian people.

I thought I read that Ms Myrie’s matter had recently been resolved, and that Mr. Barrack receive a down payment on the Court ordered money due to him.

The Mavis Beckles issue is way beyond DDโ€™s level to understand, so I will leave that to you and PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926TO 2014 MASSIVE FRAUD LANDTAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS, BARBADOS DLP/BLP MASSIVE PONZI FRAUD to resolve.

In any event, Sam Lordโ€™s has all the signs of another mess that will be added to the already long list of messes that will be โ€œgiftedโ€ to the next administration, whoever that may be, in 2018

47. @ DD

Also north, way up north in the extreme cold.

48. @ DD

Like you no party affiliation, just an observer.

49. Rather amusing whatโ€™s actually going on down there on that island, what those people are doing and not doing. Amusing, drunk driving is legal, breathalyzers are not. There is no transparency or integrity legislation. There is apparently no such thing as eminent domain either.