Submitted by Anthony Davis
The Transport Authority primary function is to plan, monitor and regulate the public transport system in Barbados.
“The Transport Authority primary function is to plan, monitor and regulate the public transport system in Barbados

“FROM BAD TO WORSE.” That sums it all up!

How do you expect people to be productive if they cannot get to/from work on time? It is very frustrating to hear: “We are having challenges with your services” after seeing buses with 2 or 3 passengers leave the terminal for destinations like Silver Hill which are flooded with minibuses and ZRs.

The challenges seem to be mental ones for the inspectors, because it is obvious to me that one should service the routes which have the most commuters waiting first. You cannot even ask the inspectors a question as they do not reply, or give you some stupid answer. The reason why that is so is because many government jobs in this country are political appointments, and it is very difficult to fit square pegs into round holes.

All we hear from this Government is “we plan” whatever, but the plans never seem to come to fruition. The only plans they can get off the ground are the taxes with which this Minister of Finance is destroying this country. He promises to tax us – and that is exactly what he is doing, no matter what the consequences. He could not care less how, and if, people get to work as long as he can hop into his limo – which is being paid for by the same tax payers who are being loaded with more and more taxes every time he gets up – and go to work.

Can you imagine workers getting home – after standing in the terminal for 2 or 3 hours – at 10 or 11 o’clock and have to look after themselves and their scions, and still have to be up by 4 a.m. at the latest in the hope of getting a bus which will leave its starting point at 5 to get them to the terminal only to be stuck there for hours, and will therefore be late for work?

Can they give 100 %, or near that in productivity if they are tired and frustrated? I very much doubt it. The Europeans know how valuable transport is for their workers. That’s why it is punctual and relatively cheap. They also do their utmost to help the middle class, whereas it is the opposite here. No country can prosper without a vibrant middle class!

The time for talking the talk has long passed. It is high time to walk the walk. We need punctual and reliable mass transport in this country!

69 responses to “Fixing Public Transportation”

1. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926TO 2014 MASSIVE FRAUD LANDTAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS, BARBADOS DLP/BLP MASSIVE PONZI FRAUD Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926TO 2014 MASSIVE FRAUD LANDTAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS, BARBADOS DLP/BLP MASSIVE PONZI FRAUD

The DLP / BLP / DBLP took over and have infected every part of business in Barbados, The Ministers look for every where and place that make money . The then put their filthy head mouth, hands, family and crooked friends in it, Then to drain all parts of legal business in to their own pockets TAX free, Duty free, VAT free , None dont see the inside of the courts for most are also lawyers and Minister , The police COP again its in the Pocket of the AG and brings no charges ,while the DPP sleeps while being paid, Now PVT business of theses crooks is bigger than Barbados PVT business,
    Every thing that goes wrong in Barbados , you can smell the two crook, liars and scumbags parties CSI in it, Audit need to be done, More than Dennis Lowe have more money than he works for in on and off shore accounts ,
    PIMP and hoes running this country,

2. The problem of an inefficient transportation system goes back 30 years and succesive governments.

3. “How do you expect people to be productive if they cannot get to/from work on time? It is very frustrating to hear: “We are having challenges with your services” after seeing buses with 2 or 3 passengers leave the terminal for destinations like Silver Hill which are flooded with minibuses and ZRs.”

The transport system will become worse when the children return to school, because buses will have to be taken off regular routes to facilitate the school bus service.

“The reason why that is so is because many government jobs in this country are political appointments, and it is very difficult to fit square pegs into round holes.”

That is a very good point, and both administrations are guilty of the practice of appointing their foot soldiers to jobs that they are unqualified to perform.
    I will continue to make the point that Sandra Forde should not be the General Manager of the Transport Board. If anyone read the TB’s website relative to Forde’s appointment as GM, you will observe the following:

“In its second year of office, on Thursday April 1st, 2010, the Democratic Labour Party created history by appointing the first female, Ms. Sandra Forde, to the position of General Manager of the Transport Board, whose role it will be to lead the organisation in the 21st century.”

The DLP seems to be more interested in “creating history” rather than appointing someone who is qualified in transport. Surely there must be someone who has certification in “Transport Economics”, “Transportation and Logistics Management”, “Transportation Management” or “Fleet Operations Management”, for example.

Under Forde’s tenure, the TB has gone back to the 19th century.

4. What is absolutely amazing is the unwillingness of the government to try new people and or change policy to search for a different outcome. The unwillingness to change or fire ministers. Equally depressing is the lack of alternatives from the Opposition. In this case privatization is being suggested as the solution.

5. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926TO 2014 MASSIVE FRAUD LANDTAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS, BARBADOS DLP/BLP MASSIVE PONZI FRAUD Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926TO 2014 MASSIVE FRAUD LANDTAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS, BARBADOS DLP/BLP MASSIVE PONZI FRAUD

David | August 16, 2014 at 6:16 AM |

The problem of an inefficient transportation system goes back 30 years and succesive governments.
    DAVID DAVID @@@ See who is in this , follow the money, Are you telling us that Bajans cant drive a bus on time , or know when the buses are more needed, , Look at the hands that is in the Pot of the bitches in charge, Every one wants to be over paid before a cent is made , Sorry Nickles no more cents , We kept all we can ,With CENTS , its the only way you can make change,

6. (function(d, s, id) { var js, fjs = d.getElementsByTagName(s)[0]; if (d.getElementById(id)) return; js = d.createElement(s); js.id = id; js.src = “//connect.facebook.net/en_US/all.js#xfbml=1”; fjs.parentNode.insertBefore(js, fjs); }(document, ‘script’, ‘facebook-jssdk’));
    Post by Terrance Holder.

7. “We need punctual and reliable mass transport in this country. “What we really need is a revamped political system and a people who are willing to accept the fact that both parties are bent on screwing us. Sometime recently there was a subsidy of sixteen million dollars. How much is the next projected one going to be? If we were to go back just ten years we would see just how staggering an amount we have pumped into an institution whose underperformance is matched only by this present cabinet. Subsidy after subsidy, by its present design deficit is this board’s destiny until we are ready to elect a government that is serious about the needs of the poor, an area where both parties have failed miserably.

8. @ David
    What is absolutely amazing is the unwillingness of the government to try new people and or change policy
    +++++++++++++++
    This is the trademark of a jackass. …”If at any time it don’t succeed, keep doing it and doing it and doing it…..”

But after these people decided to buy an abandoned hotel for $100M, pay to knock um down, borrow $500M to build um back and then GIVE it to a man that should be banned from Barbados….it could only go downhill…..
    …so we got to the solid waste shiite tax…..the SINGLE most stupid tax that has EVER been contemplated since Caesar Augustus decided that “all the world” would be taxed.

Wuh shiite….the next phase will likely be a tax on the (huge) savings that Bajans have been accumulating in the banks…..

Jackass leadership usually ends at the bottom of some cliff….

9. “Can you imagine workers getting home – after standing in the terminal for 2 or 3 hours – at 10 or 11 o’clock and have to look after themselves and their scions, and still have to be up by 4 a.m. at the latest in the hope of getting a bus which will leave its starting point at 5 to get them to the terminal only to be stuck there for hours, and will therefore be late for work?”

The TB has an embedded culture that has been ratified by successive governments. That is, both the BLP and DLP continue to recruit their operatives and foot soldiers, who openly tell supervisors that they are not going to certain destinations, and display rude attitudes towards passengers.
    The recruitment of personnel is poor, since in many instances, the main qualification for employment is knowing the minister.

Supervisors’ hands are tied because they fear losing their jobs, since complaining to the minister is the norm for a political appointee. Additionally, there is the scenario where there are, for example, a group of drivers who are known to be resistant to supervisors. One is promoted to supervisor….. how does he control his former colleagues, especially when he was once associated with unruly behaviour.

No wonder the Board provides poor customer service.

Terminals being filled with passengers waiting long hours for buses has been happening for years. For example, take a trip to the Fairchild Street terminal to use the service to Martin’s Bay. On some occasions commuters wait as long as 3 hours for a bus, and there are many buses parked at the back of the terminal. Passengers in the terminal awaiting buses, and drivers are seen frolicking at the top of the terminal or frequenting bars in the nearby old Fairchild Street market.

The Transport Board is now in the process of purchasing 110 new units; how things have been going at the Board recently, it would surprise me if Trans Tech Inc. is the NOT the company overseeing the procurement process.

10. Something those in authority are in possesion of information which we the private citizens aren’t subject to. So from the public perspective, or in essence, it would surely seen that all shite is rolling down hill for the lack of a more appropriate expression. And who said that the instrument of government is a well oil motor incapable of making mistakes? We as the electorate ought to have taken that fact and factor into consideration prior to casting our votes come election day because our votes merely rest on promises with are yet to be materialize. It is chance we’re taking and some have took, so the consequences we obviously have to lives with.

11. @Artarexes
    The DLP seems to be more interested in “creating history” rather than appointing someone who is qualified in transport. Surely there must be someone who has certification in “Transport Economics”,
    ++++++++++++
    On that we can agree, I’ve been critical of Ms. Forde’s appointment on this blog but is that any different from the BLP appointing the chicken feed guy as Supervisor of Insurance and Pensions? The CLICO chickens surely came home to roost, both Parties are tarred with the same brush.

12. No leadership, even as the TB crumbles we have the JAs who feel proud to echo political partisan cries. For greater than 3 decades and no attempt to improve. In the mean time we have the insurance brokers, mechanic shops, dealerships who continue to smile all the way to the bank.

13. Waiting aka passin thru Avatar
    Waiting aka passin thru

As hotel operators continue to struggle with increasing energy costs they are being urged to take up available funding to carry out renewable energy projects.

Chief executive officer of the Enterprise Growth Fund Limited (EGFL) Timothy Simmons said since the introduction of the fund’s loan facility about ten years ago, only two hotels have so far applied.

Chief executive officer of the Enterprise Growth Fund Limited (EGFL) Timothy Simmons

He acknowledged that high energy costs were “a major bugbear” for many businesses and said it was therefore critical for businesses, especially hotels to outfit their facilities with renewable energy systems.

“I would like to see more hotels and more energy intensive businesses tap into this fund. It lends at 3.75 per cent, which in this environment is literally unbeatable, and it lends up to ten to 12 years, which gives businesses a long time to repay at rates that don’t put a burden on their cash flow,” Simmons said at a media conference yesterday.
    Chatrani and Daas complaining and cursing the government day in and day out but Simmons saying there is millions of dollars there to help their energy costs and the like but the hoteliers are ignoring the money. The Central Bank has made similar comments lots of money available to the hotel people but the self appointed gods of Barbados are not utilizing it. How is Barbados going to be turned around when you have an important sector run unfortunately by people who don’t look like or think like the majority of us not taking up the massive financial and other incentives on offer. We are in the vice grip of doomsdayers. Oh for the day when the real sons and daughters of the majority of Bajans get hold of the dizzying heights of the economy.

14. Bush Tea

And his troop of utopian- ideologues ought to give the ruling party a chance to get it together. ANY FOOL CAN CRITCIZE, CONDEMN AND COMPLAIN, BUT IT IS WHEN ONE WALK A MILE IN ANOTHER MAN’S SHOES, THAT HE ABLE TO SEE THE WORLD AS IT IS FROM HIS POINT OF VIEW. Bush Tea, you’re beyond the point of reason and quite possibly in the late stages of cognitive-decline because your attempt to give voice to a human system of government, which comes with all its faults and failings is unreasonable.

15. The issue is not borrowing, it is getting duty free concessions. Also if they borrow from EGFL it is equity financing, do you know what that means? The fact the government has decided to give Sandals concessions to the industry, to which all agree, this is admission the cost for the sector is high and they are not making it up. This comment is addressed to the DLP talking head with many names e.g. Waiting, passing thru etc.

16. Bush Tea | August 16, 2014 at 8:18 AM |
    waaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaait
    THE TURNED OVER TOPSY CALLED PROFESSOR BRASS BOWL
    THIS PIECE OF SLIMEY SCUM IS OUT AGAIN

THIS FOOL CAN CRITiCIZE, CONDEMN AND COMPLAIN BUT THERE IS IS NO RECORD THAT HE HAS EVER DONE ANYTHING ELSE BUT TALK SHITE.

HAS HE HELD PUBLIC OFFICE?
    DOES HE OWN A VIABLE BUISNESS THAT EMPLOYS PERSONS?

WHAT HAS THIS SELF CONFESSED RETARD HE DONE BESIDES COMPLAIN AND CONTRADICT SCHOLARS ON BU ,

HE IS INDEED the trademark of a jackass. …”If at any time it don’t succeed, keep doing it and doing it and doing it…..”

tHIS SELF CONFESSED RETARD CRITiCIZE, CONDEMN AND COMPLAIN about the duly elected guvment of Buhbados that he help elect
    THE MAN IS A SELF CONFESSED DLP

HEAR HIM ” Jackass leadership usually ends at the bottom of some cliff…WHAT HAPPENS TO SELF CONFESSED RETARDS THAT CAN ONLY CRITiCIZE, CONDEMN AND COMPLAIN

CAN THIS BRASS BOWL WHOSE BRAIN HAS TURNED TO SHIT HAVE ANY IDEAS EXCEPT TO SPOUT HIS DIARRHOEA?.

17. David | August 16, 2014 at 9:55 AM |
    No leadership, even as the TB crumbles we have the JAs who feel proud to echo political partisan cries. For greater than 3 decades and no attempt to improve. In the mean time we have the insurance brokers, mechanic shops, dealerships who continue smile all the way to the bank.

IT OUGHT TO BE CLEAR BY NOW NOT ONLY LONDON BRIDGE BUT THE CHAMBERLAIN BRIDGE IS BROKEN DOWN

DUMMIES LEADING ALL OVER THE WORLD

TIME FOR THE ONE WORLD LEADER….WHO WILL THEN BE CRUSHED AT ARMAGEDDON

THE BU RUM SHOP CONDEMNS AND CRITICIZES WITH ITS DIET OF DAILY DRIVEL…………BUT IT HAS NO IDEAS TO IMPROVE ANY THING

LOTS AND LOTS OF HEAT BUT NO LIGHT WHAT SO EVER

BARE MOCK SPORT IN DE RUM SHOP

18. David | August 16, 2014 at 9:55 AM |
    “In the mean time we have the insurance brokers, mechanic shops, dealerships who continue smile all the way to the bank.”

This is a true statement……. we all know about CGI, Rommel Marshall and the previous BLP administration. However, when this DLP administration first took office, the then minister of transport appointed Muhammad Nassar as Deputy Chairman of the TB. It is a known fact that there is a close association between Nassar and Lloyd Brathwaite of Trans Tech Inc. During his tenure as DC, Nassar was highly critical of UCAL, and workers complained about him visiting TB during the wee hours of the morning to check on the night staff, and the hostile manner in which he communicated with them. These UCAL employees had to let Nassar know in no uncertain terms that they were not employed by the TB. It is also known that Nasser wanted the Board to purchase new buses through Trans Tech.
    Eventually buses were sent to Trans Tech for transmission repairs, at a cost higher than that being charged by UCAL. As far back as 2010, we were told on BU that UCAL charged $7,000 to fix a transmission, while Trans Tech fees goes as high as $30,000. The Board sought to justify the reasons behind switching to Trans Tech, by stating UCAL’s service was poor. This may be true, but the Board still owes UCAL millions of dollars.

What will happen after the 110 new units are acquired; will the staus quo remain the same; will the government hire a consultant to review the routes and allocate buses accordingly; what system will be put in place for the school bus service?

The culture at the TB, is one where the older drivers are given preference to drive new buses and operate the school buses. Based on this fact, Barbadians will see a number of these new buses providing the school bus service. Going forward the TB could use the best buses out of the ones schedule for retirement for a dedicated school bus service. The buses could be used for the 3 school terms and undergo complete repairs during the summer vacation.
    However, we must consider if it is feasible to operate this service free on delivery.

19. @Artax

“However, we must consider if it is feasible to operate this service free on delivery.”

How do you factor – according to the MoF – that a key reason for free school rides was based on good intelligence the nefarious activity that was occuring elsewhere.

20. David | August 16, 2014 at 11:50 AM |
    “How do you factor – according to the MoF – that a key reason for free school rides was based on good intelligence the nefarious activity that was occuring elsewhere.”

Honestly David, I did not factor that into my thoughts, and for good reason. At the time when David Thompson introduced this policy of school children travelling on TB buses free, I recalled his reasons for justifying this initiative as being quite different.
    The following excerpt was taken from the Nation News.com’s article: “Free bus rides for school children from September”, published on: 7/8/08:

“Prime Minister David Thompson threw down the gauntlet in introducing his Budgetary Proposals in the House of Assembly yesterday.”
    “The minibus culture of breaking traffic laws, playing loud, unadulterated, lewd music and liming by school children in the PSV vehicle stands has lowered our traditional values and led to lack of concentration in the classroom by our children, exposure to alien forms of uncensored messages about violence, guns, use of drugs and sex and has led to uncouth behaviour on and off those vehicles.”
    “A stop must be put to these developments and, even if we are to become unpopular for it, we will not close our eyes and fold our arms to this insidious destruction of our young people,” he said….”
    He went on to say: “Parents will also have to worry less about the costs of sending their children to school. This facility will provide a $400 per year minimum benefit for a child who has to take only one bus to school and $750 per year minimum for a child who has to take two buses to get to school.”…….”

I was quite shocked when I heard Sinckler’s reasons for the free rides.

21. Maybe Thompson and Sinclar are seeing it the same way, the crux of the issue though is if the government stops the free rides it implies the minibus culture has improved OR an admission of surrender. Which is it.

22. @ David aka ” The spin doctor”
    Go to work by bus do you..
    You should try using the facility’s, like the public hospital.
    This county hasn’t got an underground system, that you have to pay for…
    Or a health system for the norm that functions well after all these years.

23. David | August 16, 2014 at 12:36 PM |

I remember Sinckler saying that government will be reviewing the policy.

24. the minibus culture has improved
    OR an admission of surrender.

THIS IS CALLED THE FALLACY OF THE UNDISCLOSED MIDDLE
    IT IS usually IRRATIONAL TO ENGAGE IN EITHER OR ARGUMENTS

PEOPLE WITH ACADEMIC TROPHIES KNOW THAT THERE ARE OFTEN OTHER FACTORS IN EVERY ISSUE. ah lie?

25. @Artax

Based on Minister Jones’ public position on the matter it appears there is some frustration school children continue to ride the minibuses. If is is the basis for retreating from the position one has to conclude the the status quo remains. It is all politics.

26. David | August 16, 2014 at 12:50 PM |
    “If it is the basis for retreating from the position one has to conclude the the status quo remains. It is all politics.”

I have to agree with your comments.

27. Nothing can be fixed without good leadership.
    It is not primarily about money, or qualifications, or talk…. Unless we come up with some kind of meritocracy where RESULTS are what count, we will continue to decline.

It is amazing how the “adopt a Kilometer.” Highway project can use a few workers to keep a stretch in good shape …..where hoards of NCC workers could manage only occasionally to cut the grass….

The solution is NOT to privatize, but to employ COMPETENT management and focus on RESULTS.

28. Bush Tea | August 16, 2014 at 1:08 PM |

The solution is NOT to privatize, but to employ COMPETENT management and focus on RESULTS.

WHY YOU DONT GO DO IT YOU WHO NOSE EVATING BOUT EVATING
    WHERE WILL YOU GET COMPETENT PEOPLE FROM IN BARBADOS BRASS BOWL

NEARLY ALL THE REALLY BRIGHT BAJANS HAVE LEFT THE COUNTRY
    ANY LEFT ARE CROOKS

THEN THERE ARE THE RETARDS LIKE YOU WHO CRITICIZE AND COMPLAIN AND CONDEMN BUT CANT DO ONE SHITE EXCEPT PRETEND THAT YOU BRIGHT AND KNOW SOMETING

BARE RUM SHOP BEHAVIOR
    REAL FUN MAN

29. Art said:

“This is a true statement……. we all know about CGI, Rommel Marshall and the previous BLP administration.”

Art don’t get me started on that Peter Harris/CGI scam with the transport board engineered by Owen Arthur, Rommel Marshall and Mia Mottley that got me pissed beyond recognition to this day.

There are still people suffering with serious injuries because of the reckless, uncaring, rude, disrespectful and lying bus drivers working at the tansport board.

Peter Harris and CGI are more than happy to screw over the people who have been injured due to reckless TB drivers, some with life long injuries, just so he can continue to purchase every health facility, restaurant, land and houses in Barbados, while the Judges in the judiciary allow these cases to languish needlessly in the corrupt court system…..something is wrong.

By the way, straight from the horses mouth, Limegrove is in receivership, another sell-out by Owen Arthur since he allowed Paul Altman to build that ugly building on land that neither Owen nor Altman has the Deed for, yet Altman recently tried to get a bank loan on the land that does not belong to him or Owen Arthur, nothing even sells in that monstrosity, it looks like a giant laundromat, now how could things ever change in Barbados when the politicians continue to be pondscum.

From what i am told Altman been trying to get money from the Is(not)raeli’s, which is even more reason for serious concern seeing that the jackass politicians allowed the warmongering Is(not)raelis to open an embassy in Barbados, knowing that they manufacture massive guns and weapons of mass destruction, assassinate people at will around the world, are very vocal about their intense hatred of black people and think blacks are the scum of the earth totally forgetting that they themselves are at least 4 levels below scum.

Barbados being a majority black country, why would these political class of asses even consider allowing evil in Barbados and a Caribbean region that is still one of the most peaceful on earth to date…….dumb ass black politicians, Bajans cannot even trust their Attorney General and half-ass security forces to protect them whenever these warmongers decide to wreak havoc……steupss.

30. @Bush Tea & Artax

We are quickly getting to the point where something has to give but for the wrong reason. The government has no money to finance huge subsidies which have been used over the years to grease palms. The government has promised via wonder boy Lashley to rebrand the TB. We have been waiting for a few months how this will translate. Interesting times ahead.

31. @Well Well

The Lime Grove model is unsustainable in Barbados.

32. Interesting times ahead.INDEED

MORE CORRUPTION=>..MORE CHAOS=>.

AS INCREASING POOR LEADERSHIP UNIVERSALLY REACHES IS ZENITH
    THERE WILL ENTER THE MAN OF SIN AKA THE ANTICHRIST AKA THE HORN THAT COMES OUT FRO THE TEN HORNS

HE WILL FIX THE CHAOS AND CONFUSION—————TEMPORARILY

WHAT IS SURE THE BU RUM SHOP HEAT TALKS WITH NO LIGHT WONT SOLVE ANY THING

33. David | August 16, 2014 at 1:19 PM |

@Well Well

The Lime Grove model is unsustainable in Barbados.

Yes David….we all knew that, and those who did the feasibility study on the project would have known that and Owen Arthur being an economist and PM at the time would have known that, but they went ahead with the scam anyway, the main reason why everyone believes that it’s Altman’s laundromat, it’s common knowledge in the US that the Is(not)raelis have been trafficking ecstasy and all manner of drugs for years, all they needed were some gullible, greedy politicians of the political ass class to continue business……that answers our questions on why would the politicians/Altman start an unfeasible project to begin with.

34. WELL WELL
    TEACH THESE BU RUMMIES THAT YOU CAN ONLY ARGUE SENSIBLY IF YOU HAVE FACTS
    ALSO THERE ARE TIMES WHEN YOU HAVE REACHED THE POINT OF NO RETURN—-UNLESS YOU GET A MIRACLE

35. @Well Well

Agree, all is not what it seems.

36. Well Well
    The CGI/TB affair was not OSA’s doings but the GM Jean-Marie and Harris were school chums at Cawmere and therein lies the caper.
    Bush Tea
    As one of the ‘Hearts are in the making here’ boys what say ye in respect of the just released CAPE results making Cawmere as usual look poor as piss.Imagine when GP read this he will have something to say.
    Kolij 12(7scols5exies)QC 22(6scols16exies).That is performance mudda.Even the just entered Foundation got 1 scol and BCC also
    disappointing with 1 exie.
    Can’t confirm this but heard there is a move to give Kyffin a shot at TB.
    Lastly,can anyone remember a loud mouth knowall at TB called Pabo?
    Political parties always have their party hacks wherever tax payers foot the bill.Commercial decisions are alien to a paul-tish-un’s(Pornville Inniss word) thinking

37. All I want to say is this. Bush man says it all by saying nothing. Pure brilliance! No one throws stones up in an empty tree, so to the Bush man again I say simply brilliant.

38. Gabriel……apparently they were all involved including Jean-Marie, yeah, i know how tight he and Harris were at cawmere and still are today and who is now at the Bridgetown Port last i heard, no wonder this big project involving crown land around the port is being touted as Peter Harris’ next big project for an amusement park…….trust me, Owen, Mia and Rommel’s hands were all in the Transport Board /CGI debacle with AG/Chief Justice (former) David Simmons as legal adviser, not for the taxpayer’s transport board, but for CGI/Harris, nasty circle.

David…….it’s beyond sad when you can hear the snake Fraser on CBC gushing about the bajans who worked and died building the Panama Canal and sent their hard-earned money back to Barbados to develop the island after slavery, these hardworking Bajans bought a number of plantations across the island including the Lascelles property that Altman had the nerve to build on like he owned it ,with the collusion of Owen Arthur, they all have a nerve, that property does not belong to them yet they are building houses and condos, no one gave Altman permission to build Limegrove, apparently since Arthur had the Town and Planning portfolio as PM he felt he could do as he liked. I personally know the owners and holders of the Deeds.

To make matters worse apparently Barrow, Adams and Arthur all believe they had a right to sell out the properties of the Panama workers, that’s why politicians cannot be trusted, i am sure there have always been Bajans who could buy those properties but no, they sold it to those who would in turn sell the properties to people outside of Barbados.

39. Well Well wrote “I personally know the owners and holders of the Deeds.”

The original Limegrove townhouses were built in the 70s and were owned by Canadians.

The Limegrove development is on a few acres of the former Lascelles Plantation lands.

Did the Canadians sell the property to Altman?

40. @ Gabriel
    When did Cawmere ever have a history of producing bookworms with a focus on winning scholarships and meeting academic standards? It takes years of singleminded dedication to win a scholarship….then what becomes of most scholarship winners…?

That has never been that school’s forte….Cawmere has always been about BROAD character development as opposed to focused academics…..

When it comes to “rockers of the boats”, thinkers outside the box, and “grass roots oriented citizens” however, Wynter Crawford was typical of the Cawmere trend…..

LOL …the fellow Caswell is of similar vein too….but someone needs to shake him out of his slumber before he retires…

The REAL joke about the Transport Board is that it has the potential to be a global role model of a small island transport system.
    Many of the REAL challenges faced by other similar entities just DO NOT EXISTS in Barbados…..
    …a comprehensive road network
    …a highly trainable source of potential employees
    …high cost of private transportation
    …a fairly homogeneous pool of commuters
    …relatively short routes

Simple steps needed for success are:
    ..A professional and competent Board – divorced from politicians and the BWU.
    ..Competent and productive management – whose continued employment is tied to performance.
    ..A union constituted as a Staff Association – with compulsory membership for all staff.
    ..a sane and modern “vehicle parking policy” in Bridgetown…

Everything else would follow.

41. Hants…..the present owners are not Canadian and no, they did not sell any property to Altman or he would have been able to use the property as collateral to get the loan from the bank he approached, he did not have the Deeds.

42. Bush Tea

I am much impressed by the way in which you articulated your point above, and for a brief moment, I was of the opinion that it was someone either than you yourself.

And for this simple fact, I must with hold, or in other words, rephrase the impertinent characterization that I have held of you today. You’re beginning to make sense now, and therefore, my hope is that you will continue down the very narrow road of reasoning, in the not to distant future.

43. @ Well Well the owners of Limegrove up to 1978 were Canadians one of whom was from Ottawa.

I guess they sold it to the current owners that you speak of.

44. @ Dompey
    …based on your above review, Bushie is actively reconsidering his position on any possible viability for the Transport Board….
    …since you agree, there must be some inherent flaw in that line of thinking which will surely come to light upon further reflection 🙂

45. Bushie glad to see you still around.

I trying to keep a low profile.

46. wellwell
    change your name to racist drivel.
    canadians did own the land and guess what more fodder for you, they are jews. do you know any ever met any.do they have tails and horns.jesus was a jew. jealous?

47. All we hear from this Government is “we plan” whatever, but the plans never seem to come to fruition.
    ………………………………………………………………………………………….
    This government is now nicknamed Arsenal,as it if full of Gunners. We gunnah do this, we gunnah do that!

@Artaxerxes
    The DLP seems to be more interested in “creating history” rather than appointing someone who is qualified in transport. Surely there must be someone who has certification in “Transport Economics”, “Transportation and Logistics Management”, “Transportation Management” or “Fleet Operations Management”, for example.
    ………………………………………………………………
    These qualifications do not mean squat in Barbados unless they are supplemented with the additional qualification of membership of ruling political party. Having most of the above, I did not get past the General Managers Secretary for the promised interview appointment. I was f***** at the high port.

48. @Artaxerxes
    The Transport Board is now in the process of purchasing 110 new units; how things have been going at the Board recently, it would surprise me if Trans Tech Inc. is the NOT the company overseeing the procurement process.
    ………………………………………………………………………………………….
    That will never happened in a thousand years. That business will never be able to take bread put of Simson’s mout.