Name of the person withheld – Barbados Underground

John Boyce, Minister of Health

I am writing about the upsetting fact about an issue that occurs at the geriatric hospital which involves the salary of staff. I know for years it has been going on but in this day and age sometimes within a year we are paid only twice. I have known persons who had to resign because a whole year they were not paid. Management will say they have sent down your paperwork but when it arrives at Personnel Administration it disappears. Then Ministry of Health says they have no paperwork there for you even after it leaves personnel dept.

Someone has to be held accountable, we have bills to pay, kids to feed and groceries to buy. We are already short-staffed and sometimes have to work overtime for a free day which is seldom given to us. The authorities need to address this issue. Then when we do get pay, we only get one month’s salary and not the 6 months we were waiting for. Then on top of it all, management has a building that they renovated and the staff have nowhere to eat lunch, especially when it rains we have to eat standing or in the veranda.

I understand there was retrenchment but to send 80 percent of the porters home and only 6 porters left to lift heavy patients in bed is not good enough. Sometimes for the day there are none and nurses have to lift them in bed. When the few that are working go on sick leave from being burned out, overworked and drained who will take care of our elderly ? We have spoken to our respective unions and to management but enough is enough.

57 responses to “No Salary!”

1. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926TO 2014 MASSIVE FRAUD LANDTAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS, BARBADOS DLP/BLP MASSIVE PONZI FRAUD Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926TO 2014 MASSIVE FRAUD LANDTAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS, BARBADOS DLP/BLP MASSIVE PONZI FRAUD

Crooks, Liars and Scumbags, Same she-it , same Parties, Different Days.

Like they want all the old and weak to die , So they can take over their land and house,

2. i hate idle gossip……but in this day and age who will work for a whole year and only accept being paid twice,,,,,,,that person got to be mental,,,

3. The call today from the retrenched Transport Board worker was indeed very sad and touched all who heard it but like the political yardfowls will say, the poor will always be with us.

4. @CAswell

Why can’t we get the PAD to pay workers ontime, especially temps?

5. Now this has to be a joke of some kind? How can anyone in the 21st century work as a SLAVE? Because this is exactly what’s going on.
    Needless to say all the talk about so called black folks looking out for each other. Well this is the biggest laugh of all time. And by the way,I am a so called black man also. How can you expect this so called white man to treat you any differently when our own are taking advantage of us constantly?
    This Government SUCKS even as human-beings. I take my hat off to those who has stayed around even though they are being mistreated, unpaid, and taken advantage of, to help the folks in the facility who needs their help.
    At the rate that all of you are STILL being so accepting with the BULL SHIT the Government is handing out is truthfully amazing.
    This is a word to the wise The Government:- “You are going to push the people once too many times, and the end results is going to be more than you can really deal with;” These people are all a part of who has made it possible that you have the positions which you are now holding, and you are treating them this way is truly in-human. Even animals are being treated better? How can you sit and eat your lunch in comfort, but make the workers don’t have proper accommodation for them to eat who are doing all the hard work?
    You are sending a message to the world that’s not good at all. Get yourselves together, and make it possible for all to have a better quality of life in Barbados. They aren’t asking you for a hand out, only the salaries which they are entitled to.

6. This has been going on for the past 20 years I have worked as a health worker, & I would not dismiss this ac as madness. A lot of these people do this work for the love of it, but they need their pay to get the necessary things for living. We have always had problems with getting time for meals, when there are only 2 of you on a ward, & one is a junior how can you leave that person to look after the sick? Wake up Barbados it is only the politicians who have their meals served to them on a daily basis, don’t you see how fat & big they are getting? while all else are going to hell,( and I don’t mean after life hell). I have a lot of sympathy for my colleges.

7. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

The Minister responsible for the Public Service must sign off on all temporary appointments, and you know that person takes his time. That is the situation now which is coupled with the fact that they mostly assign persons for three months at a time and the paperwork has to be done all over again. Fortunately, the law only allows the PSC to do so for a maximum of one year. Unfortunately, no one not even the PSC follows the law.

8. are u telling me that people have to be paid,,well that is the very point of my first comment,,unless you miss it,,,,,,,,,as i cant see the rationale of anyone in this day and age working without pay for a week farther less a year,,just total madness,,,well tomorrow i will make some calls to verify if what is being said here is true,,,,,,,

9. I know it may not help those wanting and is clearly not helping pay bills, but with all the government cut backs the government may only have a limited budget each month to pay wages and operating expenses, to reduce expenditures.
    Perhaps, the end result of any available facts from the relevant Government department for salaries will be ” it is a problem” but not a crisis. Good luck with your calls.

10. New world order Avatar

Wow the end is near (I’m coming to see you Alice) … Something I agree with AC on for the first time and well said …

From AC: “but in this day and age who will work for a whole year and only accept being paid twice,,,,,,,that person got to be mental,,,”

11. Look life changer..the woman said the problem of nonpayment has been going on for twenty years..so don t start yuh finger pointing in one direction.

12. This is possible it happens.

13. @ ac
    ac on August 15, 2014 at 8:16 AM
    Look life changer..the woman said the problem of nonpayment has been going on for twenty years..so don t start yuh finger pointing in one direction.
    Fair comment.
    From my point of view then, is how do or did these ” Government ” people live? There contracted to work for money, not status thats the only thing that pays bills. No union to take action for twenty years, shame on them once in the first instance, shame on them twice for living like it for so long ?

14. From AC: “but in this day and age who will work for a whole year and only accept being paid twice,,,,,,,that person got to be mental,,,”

Yardfowls like AC who believe in politics, politicians and party DLP/BLP, instead of their own welfare and that of their children and grandchildren..

15. @ac
    Somebody has to tell you so it may as well be me.
    Multiple full stops and multiple commas are meaningless so why do you use them?
    Capital letters are permitted so why don’t you use them?

16. @ David.
    Truth be told, It seems that for more than three decades Barbados has been going backwards. It’s far more difficult in this country today for a child from a poor family to become a middle-class or wealthy adult. Or even for a middle-class child to become wealthy. The major reason for me is widening inequality. The longer the ladder, the harder the climb. Barbados is now more unequal that it’s been for many years, with the most obviously unequal distribution of income and wealth. Equal opportunity has become a pipe dream for the younger generation and defiantly something Barbados should seek to accomplish together as a society. It neglects the organization of it’s economy, and therefore it’s social consequences. It minimises the potential role of democracy in determining the rules of the game, as well as the corruption of democracy by big money. It overlooks the strivings for social justice.
    Sorry David, but all you hear every day, on this site is the comparison of Barbados with the rest of the world. Why not the Parishes of Barbados, and what all of the Mp’s are doing to help. Seems all about personal vanity, not reputation.

17. I have read all that have been said in regards to this situation on NON-PAYMENT to people who work faithfully in their jobs. In comparison to those who are getting big salaries for doing very little, and living LARGE AND IN-CHARGE.
    How-many of the politicians are being paid on time?
    How many of them has been laid off due to the current recession?
    If Barbados is so modernized, then why aren’t these things computerized to make it easier that NO PAPERS WILL GET LOST?
    If you continue to make excuses for the wrongs that are being done to the poor man, the Government isn’t going to change SHIT for them.
    Dam all the marches. Take your problems right into the place where they all meet to decide to fate of the people. It’s your right to be heard. A couple of people aren’t going to make any real difference. But in NUMBERS someone will get the message that you’re not taking anymore of the SHIT they are handing out to you.
    You can drive the latest cars, build modern looking buildings. Yet don’t have to correct system in place to make sure that people’s weekly records are being taken care of without any PAPER work to be done.
    This don’t even make any sense to me at all.
    Yes I AM TRULY PISSED,to read something like this happening to the people in Barbados while the folks who are being paid to make things better for them, are only making things better for themselves.

18. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926TO 2014 MASSIVE FRAUD LANDTAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS, BARBADOS DLP/BLP MASSIVE PONZI FRAUD Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926TO 2014 MASSIVE FRAUD LANDTAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS, BARBADOS DLP/BLP MASSIVE PONZI FRAUD

If I was working for these crooks and liars , and when time to be paid , That I was not.! Then all of My Bills would be send to payroll for payment ,
    We see most of these vote buyers get paid on time and over paid ,
    what a waste of VAT and TAXES nothing but scumbags.

19. just as i suspect the article is bare hog wash ..got evedience to show,,,,, only if the the writer identify herself,,,,,,coward,,,,,,

@ baremiminal

U…… can kiss………… my dotted …botsy………………………………………………………………………….

20. @ac

You are a liar. We all know if you had ‘evidence’ you would take delight in posting it.

21. AC
    THREE YEARS AGO ONE OF MY YOUNGER COLLEAGUES WHO WORKED IN THE POLYCLINICS TOLD ME THAT SOME TIMES SHE DIDNT GET PAID FOR THEE MONTHS STRAIGHT

SHE ALSO SAID THAT SHE DIDNT GET PAID FOR PUBLIC HOLIDAYS OR WEEKENDS EITHER

SOMETHING IS WRONG AC
    THIS CAN NOT BEDENIED

22. GP……..are you really listening to empty-headed AC.

23. listen GP there is a vast difference between three weeks and a period of nonpayment of twenty years,,not buying the story and i have evedience to prove it, ,firther more there is always industrial action via sick outs,they can;t fire the whole staff,, even if they are all mental ,,,,

24. Just as bogus as this article …are the crocodile tears being shed by some in the media for the retrenched workers who seem to have forgotten that They have been advocates for rethrenchment ever since this govt took office…now some of these misfits in the media pretending to be waving the flag of benelovence…a bunch of hypocrites.Recently there was one such media misfit who took to the airwaves sounding off and all it boils down to was for good. rating and advertising dollar..such people should be singled out as noise makers and handed a big breadfruit to stick in their mouth..

25. I recall the PM Stuart speaking against this practice some years ago and saying that these workers should be paid like everybody else including those who paid them.

For this to be ongoing is blatant disobedience to the highest office.

And, this is being done by people with hard-hearts, conscience-seared people. The management does not even for supplemental payments for these staff that care for the elderly.

Kindly share which trade union is responsible.

26. It appears to be a systemic problem which successive governments have not shown the will to conquer. Because it impacts working class people the most probably explains why it remains unresolved..

27. @ David.
    Wouldn’t it make sence to address the problem on behalf of those people.
    Like asking the Prime Minister why, ( copied ) and requesting an explanation for these delays. Or again are you just the ” spin ” on these subjects of no real concern to you.

28. GEORGIE PORGIE | August 15, 2014 at 6:05 PM |

You seem to be knowledgeable on various topics, so I assume you are an individual who likes to read.
    There was an article written by ROBERT B. REICH, [Chancellor’s Professor of Public Policy at the University of California at Berkeley and Senior Fellow at the Blum Center for Developing Economies], entitled “What Will It Take for Us to Get Back to Being a Decent Society?”; posted on-line….. Thursday December 19, 2013 on AlterNet website re RobertReich.org

The following are two excerpts from Reich’s article:

“But for more than three decades we’ve been going backwards. It’s far more difficult today for a child from a poor family to become a middle-class or wealthy adult. Or even for a middle-class child to become wealthy.
    The major reason is widening inequality. The longer the ladder, the harder the climb. America is now more unequal that it’s been for eighty or more years, with the most unequal distribution of income and wealth of all developed nations. Equal opportunity has become a pipe dream.”

“But that leaves out what we could and should seek to accomplish together as a society. It neglects the organization of our economy, and its social consequences. It minimizes the potential role of democracy in determining the rules of the game, as well as the corruption of democracy by big money. It overlooks our strivings for social justice.”

It’s a life changing fact, but despite a little tweaking here and there, it sure does sound familiar.

29. @ PLANTATON DEEDS
    Welcome to the BU, aka INCEST a game all my family can play.

30. Only 29 comments this explosive article was able to garnish,,,,,,but as ac said,,,,,,,a lot of malarkey and overblown mud pie,,,,even the simplest of mind would have seen the dagger hiding beneath,,,,,

31. @ ac
    Perhaps, David forgets, some Bajan’s have a “Brain” and won’t be limited or competed against.
    ” Forbidden fruit ”
    Reverse psychology works best with people who are contrary or resistant. In contrast ” the agreeable people ” those of a plesent nature, are likely to go along with you anyway so you don’t need to use it.
    So observing Davids 8 years of “World Press blog statements” – Watch out, people hate being manipulated. If they sense you are trying to get them to do something by telling them to do the opposite, a form of reverse reverse psychology may operate..
    Reverse psychology is a tricky customer both in real life and in the psych lab. Researchers have found it difficult to pin down exactly when reverse psychology works and when it doesn’t.
    Further @ David – Changing subjects, and ignoring questions ” what are you actually doing or going to do,to help these captioned matters” should be more revealing to your qualifications and destination. Not lighting the fuse, so to speak, then walking away.
    Simply being in ” Flux ” doesn’t cut it for a free site for me, more ” spin …”

32. life changer

reverse psychology is a good weapon of choice ,,it intimidates,,,,,,,it is forceful…it is unpredictable,,,,,but most importantly it filters and recycles ,,,,,,,
    Notice the voting system on BU most of the time i really ignore as i have already figured out that it serves one purpose only to suppress the flow of information or commentary coming from opposing view or in other words to intimidate,,,,,,,,,having said that i counted about fourteen negative votes cast in total to my comments …which in reality was neither YEA or NAY,,,,but was more in a context of saying ..UNBELIEVABLE……however i was heartened by the fact ,,that these clowns were so adamant in there appraisal by casting a negative vote of disapproval for me .. while in agreement with each other(or maybe themselves depending) which in fact portrayed themselves as being first class fools who would be mental by providing valuable service for an extended period of twenty years for free,,,,, now in reality that is the nature of the beast,,,,

33. “I have known persons who had to resign because a whole year they were not paid.” – taken from the above lead article.

Did such persons work in government 12 months 52 weeks straight without receiving their transfers?

The writer gives the impression that this is so!!

Anyhow, the problems related to many government workers receiving delayed transfers, for up to 2, 3, 4, 6 months, and then having eventually got their transfers, having thereafter to go through such repeatedly are well documented.

We are often told by many government temporary workers that they have to wait for such varying periods before they get their transfers, and then for other varying periods before they get the next transfers.

Such circumstances of these workers having to wait so repeatedly and inordinately long for their remunerations are absolutely outlandish and illustrate the serious and wider breakdown in government in this country.

34. @ac

Website Defacement Cyber Threat to the CARIBBEAN

Posted on August 16, 2014 by David | 8 comments

We have 8 comments to this blog, what does it mean? Do comments validate a concern more, or less? The point remains, if you have evidence to the contrary, put up or stop the lies.

35. Further @ David – Changing subjects, and ignoring questions ” what are you actually doing or going to do,to help these captioned matters” The name UNDERGROUND when associated with a blog site can aspire to variety of means from Barbados ranging from non-cooperation, disinformation and “propaganda” to a countercultural movement system operating outside of legal regulations. What’s your point….. You have more “spin”.

36. Life Changer + aka Bajan wid a Brain. Avatar
    Life Changer + aka Bajan wid a Brain.

“You need to get out more.No responce is always your responce.”

” spin ” – For you and your friends again. ( before you go to church)

• Main Entry: spin doctor
      Function: noun
      Date: 1984
      : a person (as a political aide) responsible for ensuring that others interpret an event from a particular point of view
      — spin–doctor verb

Plus -Tactical ignoring, also known as planned ignoring, is a behavioural management strategy used in response to “challenging”behaviour that seeks to receive attention or to gain a reaction from others. It is a commonly used strategy when the person displaying the attention seeking behaviour would feel rewarded even by a negative response. An example of this is a cough or noise that is excessively loud in order to gain sympathy from work colleagues, loved ones and friends, which is still seen as desirable attention by the person.
    Enjoy your day..

37. the point david ,,that at times people can see the forest for the trees,,,the e,g that u now have shown ,,shows a glaring lack of ineptitude on your part,,technology issues generating less response could be understood,,,,,however this article was a one person crusade to to mislead and misdirect facts … and miss the mark by being trigger happy,,,and it is obvious most people read sensationalism instead of facts,,,and stood away,,,reminiscent of a page torn out of the Bobby CLARKE parade,,, HOW to strike up the Band and keep people away…

38. Life Changer + aka Bajan wid a Brain. Avatar

@ ac
    Re. Dr David’ comment
    “We have 8 comments to this blog, what does it mean? Do comments validate a concern more, or less? The point remains, if you have evidence to the contrary, put up or stop the lies.”

He vainly responded to me. That the site has been up for 8 years. Only 8 blogs on a concerned subject.
    Back at you…

39. To all you detractors who are logged on to BU 12 hours a day, the BU household asks why? The question is asked because you obviously see no utility in the forum, why waste precious time here? Especially to the JAs who try to use multiple monikers, proxservers etc.

40. Life Changer + aka Bajan wid a Brain. Avatar

You skirt again.
    My stance to your ” impunity”is simple exposure to a confidence trickster, all day everyday….

41. NO SALARY,,,,,,,two days ago a friend of mine told me that she have yet to collect her income tax refund from the USA govt for 2012,,,, now go figure

42. @ ac.
    “It has often been said that power corrupts. But it is perhaps equally important to realize that weakness, too, corrupts. Power corrupts the few, while weakness corrupts the many. Hatred, malice, rudeness, intolerance, and suspicion are the faults of weakness. The resentment of the weak does not spring from any injustice done to them but from their sense of inadequacy and impotence. We cannot win the weak by sharing our wealth with them. They feel our generosity as oppression.”
    WHAT HAS THE BLOGMASTER AND HIS CREW GOT TO SAY TODAY….

43. Life changer…..weakness in the purest form can only corrupt when individuals ..or organisations as well as govts allows the few as well as the many become enablers instead of producers

44. @ ac
    “Power does not corrupt men; fools, however, if they get into a position of power, corrupt power with impunity.”

Outside investors, 20 infact have united with a force of $68 US million in an action against this Government, and the IMF, now is Barbados’s Bank.

Who will pay that impunity + costs BU ??

45. Pieceyuhderock….do not worry about the grim reaper coming afta u..i sent an email to the man upstairs requesting that u stay around long enuff not only to see your words in living color reposted here on BU ..but youalso get a chance to eat them

46. Transport Workers promised severance pay since March, this is mid August. The government leads a culture in Barbados of being delinquent.

47. Al Barrack not being able as yet to get all of the income due to him by the government; many temporary workers in government not being able to get their transfers in a timely manner; many workers that have been sent home from government in the latter’s ongoing retrenchment exercise not being able as yet to get severance in a timely manner; many of those persons and businesses that have been promised by the government monies on the basis of the filing of those disgusting TAX return forms not being able yet to get those monies consistent with the time stipulated, all and more point to the fact of how this evil wicked TAXATION SYSTEM has been despicably and horrendously feeding on itself, and at the same time grossly and disgustingly undermining the integrity and operation of the financial system of this country.

48. @ PDC

Some recorded statements, one is made by the BU apparently.

“Please don’t rush to answer.”

The surest way to corrupt a youth is to instruct him to hold in higher esteem those who think alike than those who think differently.

October 13th 2013
    Quoted by “THE BU”
    Is the government levelling with Barbadians? Are we able to remove the partisan blinkers to have sight of the priority issues? Are we confident that the current suite of economic solutions on offer is appropriate? Un quote.

IMF Concludes Staff Visit to Barbados
    “Press Release No.14/265
    June 6, 2014”
    A team from the International Monetary Fund (IMF) led by Ms. Nicole Laframboise visited Barbados during June 2-6, 2014 to review recent economic developments and discuss the main policy priorities. Staff met with Minister of Finance Christopher Sinckler, Governor of the Central Bank of Barbados DeLisle Worrell, other government officials, and representatives from labour and the private sector. Ms Laframboise issued the following statement at the end of the visit today:
    “The Barbadian economy continues to face major challenges, including low growth, a very large fiscal deficit and a high debt burden. Real GDP is expected to decline by 0.6 percent this year, as slightly stronger tourism activity is offset by the impact of the government’s deficit reduction efforts. Inflation is expected to remain subdued and private sector credit growth weak. The unemployment rate rose to 13.2 percent in the fourth quarter of 2013.
    “The decline in international reserves through most of 2013 was arrested in the first quarter with external borrowing in the December 2013–March 2014 period, and reserves have remained at about US$570 million (3.3 months worth of imports) since.
    “Discussions focused on recent developments, progress with announced fiscal measures, and the near-term outlook. The central government deficit in the fiscal year 2013/14 is estimated at 12 percent of GDP, higher than projected owing mostly to unbudgeted transfers to public enterprises, including to reduce arrears. Central government gross debt, excluding securities held by the National Insurance Scheme, rose to 96 percent of GDP at March 2014.
    “The need for fiscal consolidation is urgent. The authorities agree and have implemented most of their announced budget measures. Follow up is essential to ensure that these measures produce material results in the near term to lower the government’s financing needs. Slippages should be met with offsetting actions in order to meet budget targets.
    “Strengthened oversight and fundamental reform of the public enterprises are key priorities in the near term. IMF staff welcomes progress in this area and the government’s intention to significantly strengthen the monitoring and control of public enterprises, including through a high-level independent oversight committee and increased resources for the accounting unit responsible for monitoring performance.
    “While awaiting the findings of a review of domestic taxation by technical experts, consolidation efforts should also focus on the other components of expenditure, including ways to improve the targeting and effectiveness of social services. This should include scaling back some universal programs available to higher income groups to ensure that they reach the most needy.”
    “In parallel with deficit reduction, steps to raise growth are equally important. A number of large private and public investment projects in the pipeline should boost capital inflows and productive capacity. Efforts will be needed though to remove administrative impediments to doing business and lower production costs in the country, including unit labour costs. This is important for strengthening competitiveness under the fixed exchange rate regime.”
    “The banking system remains liquid and well capitalized, though bank profitability has declined since the prolonged recession. Staff welcomes the authorities’ commitment to implementing recommendations from the recent Financial Sector Assessment Update, including measures to enhance the supervision and regulation of non-bank financial institutions and off-shore banks, and to enhance the independence of the central bank.
    “The team wishes to thank the authorities and representatives of the private sector and labour for their hospitality and the constructive and frank dialogue.” Un quote.

“Corruption is authority plus monopoly minus transparency.”
    – Unknown

49. The powerful one percent can,t be all that foolish.the fools are the 99% who put people in such high places of power repeatedly to implement policies that are only benefical to a few which triggers and execute sufficient force to breed corruption

50. @ ac

“Money is truthful. If a man speaks of his honor, make him pay cash”
    Seems if “you stir the muddy waters, you soon see what comes to the top.”

A lot of government officials here “test” the pockets of the victims.

But there is a bigger ” puppet ” here coming under pressure. But whatever, he will still get a $ 9000bb pension and all the percs for doing his duty….