Submitted by the Guyana Trades Union Congress (GTUC)
“Free at last, Free at last, Thank God almighty we are free at last!” (Dr. Martin Luther King Jr.)

The GTUC shares with the world and more so Guyanese the celebration of 1st August which 180th years ago brought an end to chattel slavery in the British Empire. Full emancipation came four years later after the slaves served a four-year period of amelioration (1838). Freedom in its present form is a continuous process of education, putting in place systems, and safeguarding same in order that people and society can be rid of the shackles of that era in whatever form it appears today. One does not have to be physically enchained to be mentally enslaved. The mind is a powerful tool and weapon and when it remains shackled to messages of non-achievements, worthlessness and inferiority, there is no need for physical chains to enslave, oppress and marginalise.

Our African ancestors were brought to the so-called New World against their wishes and through sweat, blood and tears-despite the whips reigning down on their bodies- they contributed significantly in laying the foundation and topography for this land. They built a system of dikes and drainage canals, seawalls and roads network, constructed buildings and factories, laboured in the sugar and cotton estates, planted rice, fruits, ground provisions and other crops with their hands.

Our forebears fought against the oppressive system, with some giving their lives for the cause that led to chattel freedom, indentureship, internal self-government, independence and republican status. It is because of them we have a constitution of our own and laws to protect us from marginalisation and discrimination from any individual, group or system. They have fought the good fight for equality and dignity grounded in the belief that all men and women are capable of acting toward each other in a spirit of brotherhood and sisterhood. This ideal was institutionalised in the 1948 United Nations Human Rights Declaration.

In as much as there were exploitations and their labour was unpaid and undervalued, immediately after emancipation they set about ensuring a society that will have their meaningful participation. Through the cooperative economic model they pooled their moneys and bought villages that started the Village Movement and development of their communities, a system of local self-government, education, health and business ventures, coupled with the values for discipline and family structure with the needed mix of religion and entertainment. The African proverb, “It takes a village to raise a child” was not only exemplified in the biological extended family but in the wider community, including the school, church and even on the streets. These foundations are still relevant today.

Even as society becomes more complex these values must not be lost on us. For it is out of and through them the sense of belongingness and fairness are shaped. As Guyanese, irrespective of our racial identity, association, sex, class or other experiences, the foundations laid by others are what we today walk on and must build on. Given that this nation has travelled the path of resistance against domination and oppression- through its various forms- it behoves us today as we commemorate another year of chattel freedom to rise up and re-commit to continue the journey started by our forebears for our inalienable right to equality and dignity.

1834 (Amelioration), 1838 (Emancipation) , 1905 (trade unionism), 1917 (end to indentureship), 1947 (universal adult suffrage), 1953 (internal self-government), 1966 (Independence) and 1970 (Republican status) are significant dates in this nation’s calendar, but these achievements can only have meaning when we not only work to deepen and strengthen the march for freedom, but we also resist the efforts and actions, in whatever form they appear, of those who seek to undermine and undo these achievements.

Less we forget, freedom is not free; it requires eternal; vigilance, struggles and sacrifices to protect what have been achieved and ensure the enabling environment to realise civil, social, economic, cultural and political equality and dignity. Only then as a people all voices can truly ring out, “Free at last, Free at last, Thank God almighty we are free at last!” (Dr. Martin Luther King Jr.) The work began in 1834. It is not yet completed. But the dream still liveth and the hope must never die! There is still work to be done and as brave warriors we must put our shoulders to the wheel and march on….!

63 responses to “Emancipation Message”

1. How emancipated are we? Banks all foreign owned, food importers foreign owned, citizenry live in enclaves where house prices are exorbitant and politicians thieving from masses.

2. Walker

You’re not held on the island of Barbados at gunpoint. As was the case for most Cubans at the inception of the Revolution; man get yourself a make shift boat and puddle yourself to the Land of Liberty brother. Listen! from a philosophical point of view, the concept of Freedom is a metaphysical as well as psychological because a man locked behind bars could possibly enjoy a greater level of Freedom, than a man who believes that he is schackled constraints of society. Are you following what I am driving at Clark? Well, there are External and Internal constraints which limits our idea of Freedom as human beings brother. All throughout human society Clark, there are prohibitions and hindrances, set by the will of others against things you and I want to do, and all of these conditions of which are deprived can be expressed as Liberty/freedom.

3. Pardon me Walker because my attention was fixed else where in the home while transcribing the above comment and I innocently addressed as Clark several times. Nonetheless, I wanted to also impart to your understanding the fact that Freedom quite possibly, can be found in the agency of Self.

4. @MR.C

“If you have gained Independence why then does the Queen still have a Representative in the form of a Governor General in the island? But here in the USA no such position, or person exist. If being Independent means FREEDOM from your oppressors. Why do you feel that you need the Queen’s blessing……………………………..

This same very question was posed by the greatest super power that the world has known, the Soviet Union.They could not figure out why a group of countries given their independence would want to form an alliance with their former colonial master. And in the Soviet Union, they have to send in T64 Tanks, Massive artillery pieces, Army Divisions. Install local poppet governments and send uppity individuals off to the mines in Siberia,and invade rapidly in the middle of the night to keep these “friendly” countries in czech.

5. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad

Emancipation @ What, Barbados being over TAX is not freedom , It slavery by another name , Nigger Please

6. A Swedish film director called Göran Hugo Olsson who I’ve never heard of has just released a must see documentary entitled “Concerning Violence” – http://www.theguardian.com/world/2014/jul/21/-sp-frantz-fanon-documentary-concerning-violence – which is based on the writings of the black Martinique Frantz Fanon’s 1961 book entitled The Wretched of the Earth.

This clip shows the director being interviewed on his recently released documentary: https://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=OBYMyJ8AuFA

Some twenty years ago I tried to read an impenetrable book written by Fanon called “Black Skin, White Masks”. Alas, I did not complete it as I lacked the patience and intellectual rigour to comprehend it!

This Swedish guy previously produced an impressive documentary entitled The Black Power Mixtape 1967-1975. In this documentary you will hear from an amazing woman called Shirley Chisholm listen to her accent you may be in for a big surprise!

7. The following received via email:

Please see below a video link of the highly successful Reparations and Repatriation March that took place on Friday 1st August 2014 – a truly historic event.  African people united in a common goal to demand Reparations.  All thanks and praises to the Rastafari community who organised this momentous event.  It demonstrated that we are a blessed people with the power to effect change.

We are living in dangerous times.  Just look at the deliberate crushing of states in the Middle East and North Africa by the imperialist powers, so that they are now failed states.  The imperialist powers are heading for Sub-Saharan Africa.  We must unite, be strong and organised.  We must stand up to the imperialist oppression on our Motherland, and here in the UK – with the increased attacks we are facing in our communities on the judicial, employment, healthcare and education front.

8. @Exclaimer

Yes we have.

9. How many troops from the Caribbean fought in World War One? Click on the link below to find the answer.

http://i100.independent.co.uk/article/map-the-troops-from-around-the-world-that-served-britain-in-ww1–xJIQVBP_fl

10. If we are emancipated,then we have jumped from the proverbial frying pan into the fire. Looks like our new slave masters are our neighbours in Trinidad and Tobago.
    I overheard a person lamenting today , that for the past couple of weeks, the banks in Barbados, which are mostly owned by Trinidad, were turning down loans to aspiring business people who wanted to start our a business,as well as some established ones who wanted to expand.. in preference,It appears to Barbadians, who wanted money to secure a US-$1800 costume to jump up on kadooment day.
    If this is true, the Trinis are laughing all the way to the banks in Port of Spain.

11. @ Colonel Buggy | August 5, 2014 at 11:35 PM |
    The word emancipation has no significance for a people who seem at their happiness when consuming, revelling and liming. It is a clear to me that this apathy stems from an education system which has failed to sufficiently address the historical significance of slavery and how it has impacted on the life of those slave descendants.

It is no coincidence that the Trinidadians and others are taking over the reins of power in Barbados. I have already stated part of the reason for this. We have a government, both past and present, which has both capitulated and mismanaged Barbados.

How can we reverse this process?
    1. Re-evaluate land ownership. For example a landowner in possession of more than one acre of land must be instructed that the remainder of his/her land must be used as agricultural land.
    2. Ban the importation of the motor car. We should invest in public transport.
    3. Ban all fast food foreign outlets.
    4. Ban the building of residential swimming pools. Decommission all the remaining swimming pools.
    5. Decommission all existing golf courses. Grant permission to build up to a maximum of four 18 hole golf courses spread evenly throughout the island.
    6. Develop an alternative social, economic and political system which will become the envy of the world.
    7. Ban the importation of drugs and guns.
    8. Develop research laboratories which concentrate on our natural assets such as our plant and sea life, developing alternative medicines, and developing the knowledge to utilise energy from the sea and sun.
    9. Cultivate the hem plant. This plant has many uses.
    10. Develop a real sporting culture.
    11. Ban the importation of white and red meat.
    12. Limit the importation of processed food.
    13. Pass legislation enforcing the masses to ensure that their properties and gardens are kept impeccable.
    14. Pass legislation that protects the environment from noise pollution to littering.
    15. Reforest Barbados and develop national parks.
    16. Ban gated communities and private security companies.
    17. With regard to the presence of aliens living in Barbados or carrying out business activities in Barbados? I would have a fivefold test. If they can prove that their residence or business activity is not detrimental, exploitative, manipulative, and parasitical; and is a source of good then they should be allowed to reside and or carry out business activities in Barbados, but NEVER GIVEN full citizenship status. If they fail this test they should be politely taxed out of Barbados.

Boxers use the mantra “No pain; no gain”. To become truly emancipated you have to be able to bear the pain before you can make the gain.

12. @Exclaimer
    6. Develop an alternative social, economic and political system which will become the envy of the world.
    ………………………………………………………………………………………….
    And here lies our problem. Sadly the only politicians we have known in Barbados who could bring about changes to achieve the above, are long gone, Errol Barrow and Tom Adams,and who would not be afraid to implement some of the other items you mentioned. Today before any drastic changes could be made to the status quo in Barbados, it appears that proposals must firstly be ratified by the some of the same very people involved in some of the things you outlined.
    i .e ;- Car Importers,foreign fast food outlets,swimming pools,golf courses,meat importers etc etc. The very people who hold this government and people at ransom.