Wayne Cadogan

Five years ago, I wanted to write this article giving an in depth analysis of the various sports programs on the island and my opinion on why I thought that we were being stagnated and not going forward, and this goes for most things in Barbados. Barbados sports has been going through a metamorphosis for more than thirty years now and there is clearly no evidence of it not been stymied.

I left the island in the late sixties and Barbados had a very strong sports program where they did well at the international level. I do not have to speak about the cricket, because that speaks for its self. A Barbados football team of the 50’s and 60’s was a power house against the likes of Trinidad, Jamaica, Air France team and visiting English clubs from England. None of the other islands in the Caribbean were capable of beating Barbados in any sport, whether it was Netball, Athletics, Football, Cricket or even pitching marbles. I returned to live in Barbados in the early 80’s and the very week of my arrival, I ventured to the what is called the National Stadium (I always refer to it as a cow pen, because I have seen high school stadiums far superior, furthermore Universities and International Stadiums, it is disgraceful.) to watch Barbados and St. Lucia play a football match. Barbados lost to St. Lucia 1-0 and tears came to my eyes, as a result of that defeat I have never watched any form of football on the island since then. I could not believe that some twenty years later that the standard of Barbados football had deteriorated so badly that St. Lucia could have beaten them. Since then, I hear or read in the press of some of the smaller islands defeating them from time to time. We were once a football power house against the likes of Trinidad and Jamaica, but now no more. Further into the article, I will state my thoughts and the reasons why Barbados is at cross roads in all sports.

Since athletics has been my life sport and very dear to my heart in more ways than one, I will speak on the pitfalls, failures and downfalls of athletics, which are also the same problems that are plaguing all the other sports programs are suffering from.

32 responses to “Sports Program Not Up to Scratch”

1. Life changer + Avatar
    Life changer +

There is only so much one individual can do to make the sport feel like a partner. It is imperative that the whole country recognises and realises the benefit of sponsorship and doesn’t look at it as a hassle. If it doesn’t, you will be unable to provide one of the core objectives of sports in the country – mutual benefits through partnership activity.

2. Sometime ago a Jamaican athletics coach wondered why is it that Barbados has such talented primary school athletes at that level but they do not continue onto higher international competions with the same result.
    Well Wayne Cadogan, you have the reason. Plain and simple. No one has any interest in true sports development. We as a nation would not provide the framework for anything developmental. Our sports leaders like to gloat when someone like the said Akila Jones succeed. They are more concerned with photo-ops than anything else.A pack of……………..l

3. Why is Springer School able to maintain a successful program?

Interesting to hear this morning from Michael Jules we have close to 40 certified coaches however several of them do not practice. There is tremendous opportunity for us to improvegiven the opportunity for young people to gain scholarships etc.

4. One bronze medal so far at the Commonwealth games for Barbados out of a complement of 104 athletes!!!!!! wow. This is mind boggling. The championship finishes on Saturday.

5. Interesting piece.I agree with the point that change the focus of the sports involved could be worthwhile.It starts with road tennis.We need to build our confidence and influence the outside world with what is uniquely ours, then a progressive attitude will grow from there.

6. HAMILTON A HILL Avatar
    HAMILTON A HILL

@ Wayne…You are on point with this piece. You and others must keep plugging away and continue to expose this foolishness that still passes for administration in Barbados. Unfortunately it extends way beyond the boundaries of sports. Not long ago Barbados sponsored a shopping trip to the republic of China for twenty members of the FORTUNATE FEW, all in the name of CULTURE. Many are still waiting on the arrival of their severance pay.

7. ”expose this foolishness that still passes for administration in Barbados.”

Lol….he is right, unfortunately…good luck with that. Everything falling apart, doh.

8. It is not only sports that sends big delegations overseas so people can see the world at taxpayer’s expense. Just look at the amount of traveling civil servants and politicians do going to many meetings overseas to do nothing except travel for themselves.

9. I work in government in one of the Ministries that had many layoffs. I have friends who can’t afford to buy their children textbooks and clothes for the new school year but the Minister and officers love to travel and boast about where they went to. The people in the Ministry still don’t understand what is the benefit for Barbados from them traveling so much but if you ask they say you are badminded.

10. One more step forward to a banana republic. The stage is set and the mindset is firmly established in the bigup class everywhere. “I is de boss man so don’t ask what I doing”. This crap is rampant in all aspects of govt, whether a sports event, conference, govt “mission”, etc.

11. Sportico | July 31, 2014 at 9:35 PM |

And yet they want to tax the average man out of existence. What they do not have the commonsense to understand, is that if the average man cannot spend because they do not have the money, the economy will go further down the drain.

That is when you have people who do not understand economics and finance running things.

They ASSume, they can just add more taxes to get more income, not realizing that more taxes out of homes and businesses mean that the homes and businesses have to stop spending to pay the taxes. And then people go home, either directly or indirectly.

And how do you think businesses will pay this solid waste tax? By cutting costs and raising margins.

To cut costs = fire people. Raise mkargins = make it more expensive to live.

And how do you think the average person will pay the tax? Simple answer = they wont pay it.

What does that bring? A failed system (VAT arrears and government not paying refunds) becomes expanded into more areas resulting in = more failed system.

It is a measure that will aggravate the failing economy and systems,

12. @Hamilton

A little correct, BU understands the China trip led by Stephen Lashley when he got the opportunity to be accompanied by his wife was sponsored by China.

On 1 August 2014 01:41, Barbados Underground wrote:

13. ”sponsored by China. ”

Lol….. And at what cost….. TO US???

14. I scracth’em your back…..

15. @Crusoe

We are all out of options.

16. @ David
    Trinidad Sports Minister resigns after audit of Sports Program.

There is no need for any audit in Bim though, since we don’t have that sort of thing bout here…. 🙂

At least you have to give Pamela that they seem to have a TOP level concern about public integrity… Perhaps it IS best that Trinidad takes over Bim….

17. @..David. .I stand corrected.

18. Thanks Bush Tea

Anil has been a very controversial minister and joins a long list of individuals Kamla has cut off at the knees BUT she has the backbench to do so.

Trinidad sports minister resigns amid probe
    Associated Press
    11 hours ago
    PORT-OF-SPAIN, Trinidad (AP) — Trinidad & Tobago’s sports minister has stepped down amid an investigation into alleged financial mismanagement of a youth athletics program.

Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar (KAL-la per-SAD BIH-sess-ur) said Thursday she has accepted Anil Roberts’ offer of resignation.

A recent independent audit has found various breaches of the sports ministry’s LifeSport program. The initiative by Roberts was intended to help young men avoid a life of crime through sports.

But an audit has found that coordinators may have been involved in criminal activity themselves. Auditors believe they have uncovered widespread fraud. Police and prosecutors are currently reviewing the matter.

Persad-Bissessar says she is “disillusioned, disappointed and distressed by the level of deception and dishonesty” of the program launched in 2012.

She says her technology minister will take over the sports portfolio.

19. After mounting calls and an online petition calling for his removal, Sport Minister Anil Roberts has resigned. 

http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/2014-07-31/after-mounting-calls-anil-quits

Trinidad Guardian with Roseann Alli

After mounting calls and an online petition calling for his removal, Sport Minister Anil Roberts has resigned.

http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/2014-07-31/after-mounting-calls-anil-quits

20. You just gotta love the way we see things. When asked about the fact that this admiinistration in the face of serious austerity blatantly refuses to trim its bloated cabinet, we were told that such was simplistic thinking for even if that was done the monies saved could not even make a dent in the deficit. The BRA is now running down k adoment band leaders for VAT money.Meanwhile Nettra Kia, Sam Couchie and the duppy owe this government money, but the small man is the only one that can be messed with.

21. Hamilton Hill,

The BRA is now running down k adoment band leaders for VAT money.Meanwhile Nettra Kia, Sam Couchie and the duppy owe this government money, but the small man is the only one that can be messed with.

Which is the company that allegedly owed Government in NIS and VAT almost 10million dollars. Reported in news late last year.

Now operating under different name…… same business.

22. Crusoe

You are right on.

Bush Tea

“Perhaps it IS best that Trinidad takes over Bim….”

Yes, before Bim becomes CHINADOS

23. Life changer + Avatar

The country’s three main economic drivers are: tourism, the international business sector, and foreign direct-investment. These are supported in part by Barbados operating as a service-driven economy and an international business centre. With so few people, it doesn’t make rational thinking, to look for the chances, of getting many Olympians out of Barbados anyway.
    My children trained of the Island, but when they returned, they said nothing has improved here. How would anyone know if Barbados had a budding Olympian anyway, that like saying “Barbados should have a World Cup football team.” There’s plenty of wannabe managers, but not a lot of money and skill to train players in this business.

24. @ Life Changer +

STUPSE!!!!!! There is plenty skill and talent, the problem is putting together programs to hone these skills, and getting people to develop their respective talents. I urge anyone in Barbados who can grasp an opportunity to leave and purse their discipline to do so. Classicism will be the death of this nation.

25. Life changer + Avatar

@ bk.
    Since the elimination of amateurism in the Olympic Games, athletes are often funded to train through corporate sponsors and endorsement deals. With both types of sponsorship, athletes receive money, and in return the company receives publicity. Tiger Woods has become the face of Nike, Titleist, and Gatorade, among many others. It is considered more prestigious for an athlete to receive an endorsement deal than a sponsor since a company may sponsor many athletes, but will only choose one or two to represent their company. The costs of training an athlete alone is out of the question from your stance.
    Perhaps you are a corporate sponsor, or you’d like to direct people to one that shows interest…

26. Read the reported comment by Cammie Burke who lead the team to the Commonwealth Games that he is happy with the performance of the team. What is the standard Mr. Burke has set one is left to wonder.

27. Here is what a local sports program should benchmark

28. Life changer + Avatar

Sometimes I wonder what planet Barbados offcials are on. Note; Studies show that a ‘vicious cycle’ is emerging as a result of the underdevelopment of sport in developing countries, in which lower investment in sport decreases the potential for athletes to build their talent.
    It also means that there are “fewer” prospects for athletes to continue their sport training or pursue professional sport careers in a developing country. In turn, the lack of talent-building opportunities in a developing country leads to less return on the little investment put into local talent, further debilitating local sport development structures and sport career pathways.
    Less developed countries, yes Barbados included, are unable to utilise the talent of their strong performers and/or tend to lose them to more powerful nations in global sport. Sport regulated by global processes can thus contribute to the underdevelopment of the country’s talent.

29. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar

David | August 3, 2014 at 1:14 PM |
    Read the reported comment by Cammie Burke who lead the team to the Commonwealth Games that he is happy with the performance of the team. What is the standard Mr. Burke has set one is left to wonder.

WHY ARE YOU WONDERING SIR? MR BURKE’s STANDARDS ARE JUST LIKE THOSE ON BU AND BARBADOS IN GENERAL. BULL SHIT STANDARDS YOU KNOW THE HODGE PODGE SLAP DASH WILLY NILLY STANDARDS THAT YOU CALL ROBUST DEBATE FOR EXAMPLE ah lie

bare mock sport in the rum shop man
    i only challenging Sir

30. If some one wants to be updated with newest technologies then he must be visit this web site and be up to date every day.

31. @ Warren

Sports – through science and conditioning…

The technology – GOOGLE GLASS
    Wi – tricity and numbers….