John Boyce, Minister of Health

It has come as no surprise to many tthe Queen Elizabeth Hospital (QEH) continues to be affected by shortages of critical medical supplies. Despite assurances from Barbados Association of Medical Practitioners (BAMP) officials that  care to the critically ill will not be compromised by the current state, BU remains stoutly sceptical and pray to the gods members of the BU household do not become afflicted by any serious malady in the near future.   To listen to Minister John Boyce condescendingly advising Barbadians not to panic in the Lower House has done nothing to dissuade our view.

Who in their right mind believed that a 35 million dollar cut to the health budget 2013 would not have adversely affected healthcare delivery in Barbados? Explaining the cuts last year Minister John Boyce also gave an assurance , “ … that cost reduction measures at QEH were being taken in consultation with the Barbados Association of Medical Practitioners, the Medical Staff Committee, and the Barbados Registered Nurses Association” – see  Boyce lists QEH cuts. BU is willing to be corrected but it seems the government through its agent Minister Boyce picked a number, in this case it was  $35 million, with the unrealistic expectation to be able to find budget heads to cut to achieve the target. Bear in mind the CEO Dexter James was quoted in the media in 2012 confirming that the QEH required $200 million to finance the current hospital model and had received a budget of $154 million, a shortfall of 46 million.

The idiocy!

Is this the same John Boyce who was transferred from the Ministry of Public Works and who literally added to the woes of the Transport Board by requesting the biggest subsidy in its existence? What confidence therefore can he command as head of the Ministry of Health, one of the biggest ministries?

The Barbados Labour Party (BLP) is not blameless, before being booted from office in 2008 Barbadians were promised a change from a QEH managed as a government department to an autonomous Statutory Board. And that it would have resulted in better days for the QEH.

You be the judge!

The health of a nation is the wealth of a nation.

181 responses to “QEH on Death Bed”

1. @ Davjd
    Ding, ding…pure smoke and mirrors,

2. The man who is an imposter for a PM has really lost his senses. I had to laugh yesterday, this man needs help, this has gone past being funny.

The doctors who work day in and day out in the hospital come out and informed the public of what is happening in the hospital and this ignorant man disputes what the doctors have said by saying there is no crisis. So in other words, he is calling the doctors liars.

Late last year, Professor Fraser raised the alarm about the shortages at the hospital, the airhead for a minister dismissed the revelations. In other words, he called Fraser a liar.

These dems should really stay away from calling people liars when you think of all the lies they told during the last election.

The economy was supposed to be stable during the last election, remember? and look where we are today. Not one public servant would lose his job, months later 3-5 thousand gone home, some without severance pay to this day. The BLP will make old age pensioners pay bus fares, now no buses and the pensioners have to pay and the list goes on and on.

I am convinced that the PM’s diabetes is affecting his thought process……..from saying that this government will go down in history as the best government this country ever had to the QEH is not in crisis…..he has got to be delusional!

I pity Barbados.

3. David
    Who caused the budget planning to be flawed?

4. Colonel Buggy Avatar

Prodigal Son | July 9, 2014 at 4:48 PM |

The man who is an imposter for a PM has really lost his senses. I had to laugh yesterday, this man needs help, this has gone past being funny.
    ………………………………………………………………………………..
    Like Mrs Thatcher, when this man expires ,or voted out of office,which ever come first, Bajans will be celebrating with street parties.

5. Did anyone else hear Donville Iniss on VOB’s 4.30 news?

At least he seems to be hearing the cries coming from the people of this country and is saying that maybe the government needs to look at this solid waste tax not like Maxine McClean who came on BU to justify what she said in the Senate.

As much as I am critical of the DLP, I must say at least Donville calls a spade a spade and is not afraid to break ranks as you know Freundel cannot rein him in………we know Donville fancies himself as the leader of the DLP…………………..in all truth he would be far better than the two jackasses Freundel and Stinkliar.

To show you are THE man,……….Donville, take what you said today to the Cabinet meeting tomorrow. Ask Freundel and Stinkliar to have a heart, hear the pleas of the people……………rescind this tax. After all Donville, this tax is hurting you just like us …………you do have a lot of bills to pay, dont you?

Donville, the masses are depending on you to get rid of this albatross from off our backs!

6. Iwatcha………i don’t ever remember depending on a white, black, or any other group for anything, i am an independent and free thinking individual/female hence the reason i cannot live in Barbados, everyone in Barbados is expected to be dependent on lying politicians and sing their praises AC/Dompey style, bow down and kowtow to the likes of cow, bizzy, bjerkham et al, are unable to voice their own opinions because they are afraid of being victimized, cannot create, produce or gain any wealth because there is always someone to in the government or another lowlife around the corner to stop them so that the scum above can prosper better, i have never had such a problem, say what i have to say and catch a plane, who don’t like it, too bad, so sad…. don’t know about you but there are people in this world who have never had to depend on that group of parasites to survive…….i love my life.

7. did you yardfowls come up with a guaranteed and workable plan of financing the QEH problems ..ac waiting to hear ONE ,,,only ONE,,,,,,,,,,,bunch of political mongrels…

8. AC…….your head is so hard, it’s the DLP government being paid good taxpayers dollars to come up with a guaranteed workable plan for financing the QEH problems, and they get paid every damn month at least $17,000 per month, they said last elections they had it all under control, DLP had all the answers, there was no problem with the economy, all systems were go, there were the only ministers in the whole wide world that could prevent the Barbados economy from falling into the hands of the IMF, prevent layoffs, raise the forex up to at least 20 weeks, build a whole new hospital and y’all had the money to build a brand new hospital in Kendall Hill, doubt me, ask Dumbville…….and that was just over one year ago…….you goddamn liars…….lol

9. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

You say, “QEH on deathbed”: I say QEH has needlessly become the deathbed of far too many people. Even those who enter the hospital with non life threatening ailments end up at Coral Ridge because QEH is cutting back on everything including disinfectants.

The hospital has become so nasty that it has reached the point that it has become uneconomical to clean it, the only option is to raze it to the ground and build a new structure on a different site. All manner of disinfectant resistant bacteria is lurking in all crevasses around the building waiting to kill persons whose resistance is low or if they had surgery.

Doctors have been discharging their paying patients and friends directly from the recovery room and advising them to bring in a nurse at home if they want to live.

Last year one of my very best friends was in hospital and the shortages include toilet paper. We had to supply it ourselves.

With all of that the PM say there is no crisis. That man is delusional!

10. Are y’all sure these politicians are not working for the undertakers, death is now big bucks…..why would any right thinking person allow a hospital to degrade to such a level.

11. BAMP: No short-term fixes

Wed, July 09, 2014 – 12:40 PM

DOCTORS WELCOMED Government’s pledge yesterday to urgently inject $22 million into the Queen Elizabeth Hospital (QEH) in response to their plea for a swift resolution to the critical shortages of supplies.

But they said the discussion in Parliament on the matter clearly demonstrates the severity of the situation at the island’s lone tertiary medical institution is not fully appreciated.

“As the Prime Minister so verbosely outlined yesterday, shortages at the QEH are not new. However, these shortages are more severe and more frequent than ever, and are definitely compromising the standard of care at our only tertiary care institution.

“For example, the lack of a crucial test to measure blood gas levels has presented significant challenges to the monitoring and treatment of intensive care patients, including newborn babies,” said the Barbados Association of Medical Practitioners (BAMP) in a statement this morning.

BAMP again cautioned against the strategy of providing short-term financial supplements saying this has only contributed to the chronic and recurrent nature of the problems at the QEH. And it stated it was encouraged to hear a Government minister acknowledge this fact, and agrees that a new approach to financing the hospital is necessary to reverse this worsening trend.

Additionally, it acknowledged their press release on Monday which highlighted the extraordinary situated at the QEH would have caused significant concern among the general public, but it believes that Barbadians have a right to be aware of the truly unprecedented and dangerous levels of shortages that exist.

In the statement, which was signed by the association’s acting public relations officer Dr Joseph Herbert, BAMP reiterated it was ready to assist the Government wherever it can but stressed that they would never retreat to a position of silence when patients’ safety and welfare are at risk.

“As concerned citizens of a democratic country, we reserve the right to warn Barbadians,” BAMP stated.

The association emphasised too that their position is not partisan.

“It is not about individuals or politics, it’s about patient safety and it is our duty as doctors to protect our patients,” the statement concluded. (SP)

12. BAMP is in a position to demand an apology from the Prime Minister and Minister of Health. BAMP represents the single most important stakeholder and what they say or is concerned about must be taken onboard by the authorities. This political sparring must stop, the health of people (babies) is at stake. There is an issue of credibility, the PM promised the NCC matter would be dealt with soon, we hear that the ERT is not ready to mobilize.We were told the Paradise Project would have been mobilized so many times, the Barrack file was on Minister Kellman’s desk for sign off months ago, A CLICO and Barrack day was promised to debate these issues, on and on we can list which add up to a crisis of confidence.

13. You guys don’t know how to handle the hospital system.. if you hurt yourself the wait at a hospital to be seen is about 4hrs…but if you take your pains to a big store and pretend it happened there you get medical treatment immediately

14. iWatchya@gmail.com Avatar
    iWatchya@gmail.com

Well Well;

It is amazing to see that you think you live in a bubble – or maybe in some wilderness where you are not on the grid.

You ARE dependent and just unable to come to that state of enlightenment.

You ARE a consumer and owned by big corporations which have a global impact on the way we live… all of us.

BIM is small and the players are easy to pick out and rumours are rife… but it is just a microcosm of the global system.

If you do not have a degree or skill in the US / UK you are caught up in the world of working poor – slaves to the BIG CORPs. Just look at the people working at Walmart, Amazon, etc, working two and three jobs to pay the bills. Are they “free” somehow?

If you wish more information I can gladly provide.

15. iWatchya@gmail.com Avatar
    iWatchya@gmail.com

lawson:

…the wait is usually more like 24hrs… guh long and brek yuh han’ an see.

16. David, please delete my email – thanks.

17. Caswell,

You are right. I had a relative in the private ward recently and the doctor told us one day, I want to get this patient out of here as soon as possible as that A floor had the bacteria. I noticed that in one room, all the visitors had to wear masks! Woe betide us!

18. i didn.t think so,,,,,well i guess the Blp yardfowl association does not have any answers,,to the QEH problems…. anyhow but to babble and carry on as if they had invested a fortune in the upkept of a Hosiptal that was once governed an controlled by The Blp administration and was left in dysfunctional disarray for umpteenth years,,u guys really tek people fuh fools, ….steupse…….

19. ac. Can you inform bloggers how many times since the construction of the QEH that a financial crisis affected this institution.

20. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Prodigal Son

Those face masks that you saw are only comfort for fools. The bacteria can enter your body through a break in the skin and if your resistance is compromised, it is good night nurse.

21. […] Barbados Underground fears that the primary medical facility in the country, the Queen Elizabeth Hospital, is on its death bed. […]

22. From The Nation News…Jan 2007 a failing QEH…..

A GROUP OF PROMINENT BARBADIANS, including the former head of the Caribbean Development Bank, Sir Neville Nicholls, has come together in a bid to raise as much as $50 million to help the Queen Elizabeth Hospital (QEH) tackle some of its challenges.
    The group has a long list of projects it wants action on – 42 in fact – but is starting with a short list of ten, including installation of new X-ray and other medical imaging equipment.
    “We have some 42 projects that we have identified,” chairman of the QEH board, Horace Cobham, told the SATURDAY SUN. “They have been prioritised and we are working on about ten of those projects.”
    One result, he said, was that “by the end of March we will have a totally new state-of-the-art imaging department at the QEH”.
    The new QEH Board Trust is yet to be officially launched. Sir Neville chairs the group, whose trustees include Sue Springer, Amor Mottley and Dr Basil Springer. Cobham and his deputy, George Griffith, are also members…

23. Prodigal Son July 9, 2014 at 5:05 PM “Did anyone else hear Donville Inniss on VOB’s 4.30 news?”

I may not have heard the whole report but Donville seemed to be more concerned abut the impact of the muni tax on the business community than with its impact on the poor, the middle class, the widows and widowers, the NGO’s like the Boy Scouts and Girl Guides and on his constituents.

David: Can you run the clip which VOB played at 4:30 today (Wednesday)

24. Colonel Buggy Avatar

Well Well | July 9, 2014 at 6:34 PM |

Are y’all sure these politicians are not working for the undertakers, death is now big bucks…..why would any right thinking person allow a hospital to degrade to such a level.
    ………………………………………………………………………….
    Why should they care? If any of these bastards take sick, they can always fly to New York or Miami at the taxpayers expense.

25. EMERGENCY MEDICAL JOURNAL Research
    Waiting and interaction time at Barbados QEH

Original Article

Waiting and interaction times for patients in a developing country accident and emergency department
    Correspondence to:
 Anne O Carter
 School of Clinical Medicine and Research, University of the West Indies, Queen Elizabeth Hospital, Bridgetown, Barbados; annecarter@uwichill.edu.bb

Accepted 27 July 2005

Abstract

Objective: To determine the interaction and waiting times of patients in Barbados Queen Elizabeth Hospital Accident and Emergency Department (A&E), identify their determinants, and compare them to international benchmarks.
    Methods: Trained research assistants monitored all patients attending A&E during a one week period in 2003. The time in and out of each step in the process of care was recorded along with demographic data, diagnosis, and acuity. Time elapsed was calculated for various steps in care and compared to international benchmarks. Determinants of timely care were identified.
    Results: Of 882 eligible A&E patients, 675 (77%) had accurate data and were entered into the study. Interaction times were short, with median total interaction time 13 (IQR 9–21) minutes. Waiting times were long ranging from median 6.5 (IQR 2–22) minutes for registration to 213 (IQR 154–316) minutes for lab results. Of concern was a median wait of 10 (IQR 2–46) minutes for triage and 178 (IQR 105–305) minutes to be seen by a doctor. Mean total length of stay was 377 (SD 261) minutes compared to US benchmark of 90 minutes. All other waiting times were at least twice US benchmarks. Paediatrics cases and children aged 0–11 years had the shortest waiting times and length of stay, whereas medicine patients and those over 49 years had the longest. Those with highest acuity had the shortest waiting times and length of stay.
    Conclusions: The A&E could improve patient care processes by shortening waiting times, especially for laboratory results, triage, and seeing a doctor, particularly for older medicine patients.

foot note,,all governed by a now defunct bunch of malcontents who left the QEH in total disarray for thev taxpayers to fix,

yes and there is more pictures and alll..

26. Colonel Buggy Avatar

David | July 9, 2014 at 7:10 PM |

BAMP is in a position to demand an apology from the Prime Minister and Minister of Health.
    …………………………………………………………………………………
    Dictators never make apologies. Not even when they are cornered like rats in a hole like Saddam and Ghadaffi.

27. I have no doubt that Donville and the boys are getting an earful from the people who own properties on Broad Street, Swan Street, Warrens, the West Coast etc.

The politicians do not have to listen to elderly widows but they have to listen to the money bags

28. AC you are proving to be a DLP plant here on BU ! NO ONE CAN HAVE A LOGICAL CONVERSATION WITH YOU!

29. yuh blp yardfowl associates need to disassociate yourself from political propaganda cause the higher you jump the more your a..sses get expose..

30. Colonel Buggy Avatar

lawson | July 9, 2014 at 7:48 PM |

You guys don’t know how to handle the hospital system.. if you hurt yourself the wait at a hospital to be seen is about 4hrs…but if you take your pains to a big store and pretend it happened there you get medical treatment immediately
    ………………………………………………………………………………..
    No so in Barbados. With many of the businesses now owned by Trinidad, it will take at least a week,before an executive with any power, can make the trip.

31. AC AC your PM is delusional ! Your government is DELUSIONAL ! THE CHIPS ARE FALLING FASTER AND FASTER! THE FOUNDATION IS CAVING IN ! WE ARE WAITING FOR THE NEXT SHAKE!

32. @Colonel Buggy “If any of these bastards take sick, they can always fly to New York or Miami at the taxpayers expense.”

And whey fly to New York and Miami are they paying thier bills or do they think that American medical care is free? Or are they ripping off the American hospitals.

And if every Bajan who had treatment at an American hospital had to show the receipts in order to get a visa could anybody get a visa?

LOL!!!!!!!

33. imagine a govt of fourteen years……leaving the QEH bankrupt and citizens having to come together to rescue it,,YET…again i say Yet….these political perverts have the nerve to criticize govt as failures,,when in the most prosperous times,,,under the BLP govt,,the QEH was left to drift aimlessly further and further out to sea,,,,,well u guys really got the nerve,,,steupse,,,,

34. i bet none of the blp yardfowls gonna talk no more crap,,cause ac got the pictures and articles to post on how mismanaged the QEH was under OSA administration,,in preference to projects which never got started or if got started handed the taxpayers a bill of millions of dollars in cost overruns,,do not get me started,,,,wunna really tek people for fools….

35. ac. Can you inform bloggers how many times since the construction of the QEH that a financial crisis affected this institution.
    ……………………………………………………………………………………………………
    It is official. ac has proven that she/he is the biggest illiterate, brainless blogger on BU. She/he is so caught up in partisan politics that she/it will give he.hisr life to represent the present administration. Your 2007 extract from the Nation were prominent Barbadians looking to source new equipment to improve health care. Did you see any info regarding shortage of drugs, lack of surgery items or the entire medical staff crying out about health care being compromise. ac, wear your dumbert crown with pleasure.

36. “,do not get me started,,,,wunna really tek people for fools….”

AC have you looked in the mirror lately?? LOOF is imprinted on your forehead!

37. Tell me Why | July 9, 2014 at 10:48 PM |

“It is official. ac has proven that she/he is the biggest illiterate, brainless blogger on BU. She/he is so caught up in partisan politics that she/it will give he.hisr life to represent the present administration.”

Here, here…… it is rather disturbing to think one person is so political bias and that they perceive the 16 DLP members of parliament are much more intelligent than other Barbadians, having all the solutions to our problems.

38. AC:
    Do not let John Boyce give you bogus information to bring here on BU. From 2008, the budget for the QEH got less and less and less. Furthermore, if the QEH was promised 140 million, it never got what was promised for any given year. You do not know of what you speak!! Every year under the DLP the QEH has been short changed!!

39. ac | July 9, 2014 at 9:46 PM |

From The Nation News…Jan 2007 a failing QEH…..

A GROUP OF PROMINENT BARBADIANS, including the former head of the Caribbean Development Bank, Sir Neville Nicholls, has come together in a bid to raise as much as $50 million to help the Queen Elizabeth Hospital (QEH) tackle some of its challenges.
    The group has a long list of projects it wants action on – 42 in fact – but is starting with a short list of ten, including installation of new X-ray and other medical imaging equipment.
    “We have some 42 projects that we have identified,” chairman of the QEH board, Horace Cobham, told the SATURDAY SUN. “They have been prioritised and we are working on about ten of those projects.”
    One result, he said, was that “by the end of March we will have a totally new state-of-the-art imaging department at the QEH”.
    The new QEH Board Trust is yet to be officially launched. Sir Neville chairs the group, whose trustees include Sue Springer, Amor Mottley and Dr Basil Springer. Cobham and his deputy, George Griffith, are also members…

just incase tellme why and arterexes forgot…

40. David

During the BLP tenure the care at the QEH was atrocious and you’re cognizant of this reality. So let’s stop playing these childish games and state the facts the way their ought to be stated rather than way you wish them to be. My madda took ill and was seen there during the above mentioned time and her care was what I had expected to be; third world standard to say the least. And you’re expecting the DLP government to perform magic, in an effort to make conditions at that antiquated medical institution ideal in such a time as our? David, can’t you and your troop of BLP toptimers get it through your HARD, HARD COCONUTS, that we’re slowly emerging from one of the worse economic meld- down since the Great – Depression? Now let’s be honest here for a moment David: when has care at the QEH been ever acceptable? David, stop twisting words to suit your preconceived agenda because the Barbadian populace are much smarter than what you and your well learned friends perceived them to be.

41. David

That group of prominent Barbadians should have throught of this idea twenty- five years ago. Why wait to one of the worse economic crisis in recent times to realize such a brilliant idea? But then again, we ought not underestimate the collective power of the Barbadian intellect because it’s always two steps behind. lol

42. the DLP govt came in power in 2008 and found a hospital in crisis ….from outdated bathrooms and surgical equipment they were horrific stories told going as far back as anyone can remember under the blp administration…when money was flowing and the govt was busy funding projects that have not benefited the barbados economy,,,,,like gems and the world cup,,,,,then the blp yardfowls got nerve to catch stink about what is happening,,,they ought to be ashamed of themselves,,,,,,,,

just a reminder ……http://barbadosfreepress.wordpress.com/2007/09/19/your-child-is-sick-welcome-to-barbados-queen-elizabeth-hospital/

43. Artax

If AC is bias in her support for the DLP, how should we describe your comments regarding the BLP? It looks like the pot is calling the cattle black here Artax? Just a little something to chew on for now Mr. Impartial. lol…..

44. We have reached a sad place when our primary health care institution is under threat and we see benefit in making it a political debate. The issue here is that BAMP and citizens who live IN Barbados have a real fear of service compromise – this is OUR reality. It does not matter what happened in 2007, the BLP people were booted because of similar dissatisfaction.

45. AC, my madda took ill in 1994 ( or around the time President Clinton visited Barbados) and I had the unfortunate pleasure of visiting the QEH, while she was in the ICU. And let me tell yaa, I saw the despicable state you’re describing above during my frequent visits to the QEH at the time. And Now David, is asking the DLP government to pull a genie from a bottle to set things right at the QEH. Man you and whoever believe in magic, ought and must be rush to Black Rock with a quick dispatch.

46. Let this government continue to govern with a fractious style it has called its own – not dissimilar to the partisan dribble we often see posted on BU – and see what develops. Have we ever had policemen beaten by citizens in Barbados before? Remember we are building a society first!

Two detectives beaten

By Sanka Price | Thu, July 10, 2014 – 12:08 AM

Two police detectives were beaten in Wilkinson Road, Richmond Gap, St Michael, yesterday evening, and the man they arrested freed by residents.

One lawman was cuffed in the mouth and sustained other facial injuries, while both suffered soft tissue injuries from the blows rained on them from individuals in the area.

Both were taken to the Queen Elizabeth Hospital for treatment.

The incident has led to the Royal Barbados Police Force issuing a strong warning that anyone who attacks the police while they are executing their duty, as well as assists offenders in any way to evade apprehension, will be arrested and prosecuted to the full extent of the law.

Please read the full story in today’s DAILY NATION, or in the eNATION edition.

47. David

You sound like you’re three cent short of a dime David because if the situation at the QEH in 2007 was bad at a period of economic stability. Why wouldn’t any reasonable person believe it would have gotten worse, given the state of the Barbadian economy and the unpredictable nature of the global economy? David, hospitals all throughout this country have taken draconian steps to address the economic pressure this global recession has brought to bear upon their medical institutions. (I recalled with great horror during the inception of this economic – melt- down, reading about St. Francis Hospital layoff seven hundred employers which included doctors and nurses) So why should Barbados be anymore different than the rest…. in implementing measures to address its particular set of circumstances there at the QEH? If there is no money, there is no money!

48. Here is what the DLP posted in its 2013 Manifesto when the dire state of the economy was known to all and sundry, among the many promises is that it would construct a new hospital.

http://www.caribbeanelections.com/eDocs/manifestos/bb/DLP_manifesto_2013.pdf

Read from page 11 of 60 in the DLP manifesto.

49. But there is money for big cars and travel sprees! Dompey you are a Donkey indeed!