thompsonparrischeque

The following was extracted from the Forensic Audit of CLICO International Life Insurance Ltd (under Judicial Management): Report as of December 5, 2011

โ€œIncluded in the balance owing by CHBL is a payment for $3.333mm made by CIL to the law firm of Thompson & Associates (legal advisors to CIL and CHBL) in January 2009, pursuant to an invoice dated December 2008 purportedly for fees or retainers related to various legal matters involving CHBL. Mr. Leroy Parris, the former Chairman of CIL and CHBL authorized the invoice for payment. We have been advised that although payment was made to Thompson & Associates, it was in fact to the benefit of Mr. Parris as partial payment of a โ€œgratuityโ€. We note that this transaction was not disclosed in the Minutes at that time but was discussed by the Board following the appointment to the Board of the Government representative in mid-2009.โ€

72 responses to “The $3.33 Million Cheque Issued by CLICO International Life Insurance to Thompson & Associates”

1. So much for lying AC saying there is no proof of money laundering in the Thompson and Associates laundry.

2. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad

Well Well, Now you know who is who when the PIMP liars have people voting for them on line ,
    Barbados stink of Money and Fraud and the laundering goes on, as their friends get on line and defend them,

3. Plantation……part of the politician and yardfowl problem, they know there is proof out there about all their goings on and crimes against the taxpayers, but they have gotten so arrogant and comfortable in the knowledge that the people are complacent and their yardfowls would aid and abet lies, stealing and any crime that would guarantee them a few crumbs, that they tend to forget the very proof that can bury them all.

4. What is appalling about this whole CLICO/Thompson infestious relationship is that this man FOOLED Barbadians that he was this sqeeky clean politician……….I will not lie, cheat or steal…….. And behind this false faรงade was a dirty low life operator. But he never fooled me, though, always thought that David Thompson was a rat!

5. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad

Well Well, It will be a NEW DAY next time around, I have to warn you that you will never see nothing like this before and hope never again in BIM ,

These Crooks will have to Spend every last CENT for all the cents a.re gone , To get back in POWER as We Bring Back the PENNY and the Bajans that Ruled before England Took over. Think deed as the PINE APPLE wears a Crown, In the New Barbadoes..

6. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad Avatar

Where is the Check that walk out the CB for 1 Million ,, In Cash ,,,,?

7. What is Mara’s obligation to her constituents, CLICO policyholders and Barbadians arising from the CLICO mess?

8. On January 16, 2009 a,payment for $3.333mm was made to the law firm Thompson & Associates by CIL. We examined the invoice from Thompson & Associates dated December 30, 2008, which described four different legal matters in detail and the โ€žfeesโ€Ÿ or โ€žretainersโ€Ÿ for each.
    ;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;
    ;

9. Of course Maurice King QC who is listed on the invoice has challenged it.

10. All of the DLP ministers/MPs , have obligations to Barbados / CLICO Policyholders, some of the robbery money David and Leroy took , paid for votes in 08 ,and outfit all the Ministers / MPs from foot to head including new fault teeth , but the master crook and homo David Thompson dry up before he died,his wife can buy the drugs to keep her alive for some time, may God help his daughters and the rest of the DLP Ministers/MPs and their off springs

11. ac | July 2, 2014 at 8:08 PM |

โ€œOn January 16, 2009 a,payment for $3.333mm was made to the law firm Thompson & Associates by CIL. We examined the invoice from Thompson & Associates dated December 30, 2008, which described four different legal matters in detail and the โ€žfeesโ€Ÿ or โ€žretainersโ€Ÿ for eachโ€ฆ..โ€

Oh no, no, no AC, that partial quote of that particular paragraph on page 12 and continuing onto page 13 of the Deloitte forensic audit report, cannot work with the BU household. You have conveniently omitted vital information relevant to the actual reason why the payment was made, so as to make us believe that the payment was for legal services ONLY.

Below are the paragraphs in their entirety:

โ€œOn January 16, 2009, a payment for $3.333mm was made to the law firm Thompson & Associates by CIL. We examined the invoice from Thompson & Associates dated December 30, 2008, which described four different legal matters in detail and the โ€œfeesโ€ or โ€œretainersโ€ for each. THE INVOICE WAS APPROVED BY MR. LEROY PARRIS, AS CHAIRMAN. THE INVOICE WAS PAID BY CIL CHEQUE ON JANUARY 16, 2009 AND DEPOSITED โ€žTO THE CREDIT OF THE PAYEEโ€Ÿ THAT DAY. CIL RECORDED THREE OF THE FOUR MATTERS AS AN INTER-COMPANY RECEIVABLE FROM CHBL. WE WERE ADVISED THAT THE FOURTH AMOUNT FOR $237K WAS BELIEVED BY CIL TO BE ITS EXPENSE AT THE TIME THE INVOICE WAS RECEIVED AND THEREFORE THIS ITEM WAS NOT CHARGED BACK TO CHBL. IN CHBLโ€ŸS ACCOUNTING RECORDS, THREE OF THE FOUR MATTERS WERE RECORDED AS SEPARATE TRANSACTIONS AS โ€œPROFESSIONAL FEESโ€, TOTALLING $3.096MM.

WE HAVE BEEN ADVISED BY CIL THAT THE $3.333MM PAYMENT WAS ACTUALLY TO THE BENEFIT OF MR. LEROY PARRIS, THE FORMER CHAIRMAN OF CIL AND CHBL, AND RELATED TO PARTIAL PAYMENT OF A โ€œGRATUITYโ€. WE HAVE BEEN ADVISED THAT MR. PARRIS ACKNOWLEDGES THAT THIS PAYMENT WAS RELATED TO THE โ€œGRATUITYโ€ PAYMENTS OWED TO HIM UNDER HIS EMPLOYMENT CONTRACT. The employment contract was between CHBL and Professional Financial Services (โ€œPFSโ€), which we understand to be Mr. Parrisโ€Ÿ company through which his remuneration was paid, and was signed by Mr. Parris, Mr. Duprey, and Mr. Terrence Thornhill.

12. Walter Blackman Avatar
    Walter Blackman

ac | July 2, 2014 at 8:08 PM |
    On January 16, 2009 a,payment for $3.333mm was made to the law firm Thompson & Associates by CIL. We examined the invoice from Thompson & Associates dated December 30, 2008, which described four different legal matters in detail and the โ€žfeesโ€Ÿ or โ€žretainersโ€Ÿ for each.

ac,
    I can actually picture your mind and brain trying to plead with you to ponder the following questions:
    1. Out of the four legal matters, fees, and retainers, how much of them related to any work done for CIL on behalf of its policyholders?
    2. If the answer is none, then why is CIL writing this cheque in the first place?

Now here is another teaser to start your thinking juices flowing again:
    it has been asserted that Maurice King did not perform 1/4 million dollars in legal work as claimed by the invoice. IF THAT ASSERTION IS TRUE, then do you agree that Thompson & Associates should repay that ‘stolen’ 1/4 million dollars of policyholders’ premiums up front?
    Do I hear you asking to see evidence of the cheque that Maurice King QC was paid with?

13. ac | July 2, 2014 at 8:29 PM |

Thank you for the posting the report by Dr Wayne Soverall entitled:
    โ€œCLICOโ€™s Collapse: Poor Corporate Governanceโ€

The information contained therein is informative, but it would have been of significant importance to this discussion, if the research had not focused specifically on โ€œThe devastating effects of the corporate collapse of Colonial Life Insurance Company (Trinidad) Limited (CLICO) on January 30, 2009โ€ as relates to the economy of Trinidad & Tobago.

14. The employer will pay to Professional Financial Services Inc. and/or Leroy Parris a gratuity of US $5,000,000.00 on the 15th day day of May 2008 in such manner as may be agreed between the parties on terms as set out but amended herein as to the date of payment but in no way otherwise in a letter dated December 5, 2002 between Leroy Parris and Lawrence Duprey…
    We have not seen a copy of the letter dated December 5, 2002 referenced in the employment contract.

foot note as of now no mention of money laundering in the forensic reports,,,,,,,as being asserted by Walter Blackman and BU.

15. @ ac
    what will it take for you to stay off this blog ?

16. coming on this blog keep you alive, you sick f*&^%

17. David leave the task, of you writing shit, in his WILL, to you

18. St George's Dragon Avatar

I would like to compliment ac on her unquestioning support for Thompson against all the evidence.
    The plain facts are these:
    – Parris was due a gratuity (ac has provided the evidence)
    – Thompson’s firm sent a fraudulent invoice for work which had not actually been done
    – Parris authorised the payment of the invoice
    – Paris admitted the payment via Thompson’s firm was for his gratuity
    I think you would need to be a clever lawyer to prove that was not a series of money-laundering transactions.

19. Walter Blackman | July 2, 2014 at 8:54 PM |

Do I hear you asking to see evidence of the cheque that Maurice King QC was paid with?

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………
    YES …the reference which you keep making to maurice king and a cheque ..is not in the Forensic report,,,,,so Yes i think YOU should produce such,,evedience,,,, to the BU jury .
    …………………………………………………………………………………………………………………. 1. Out of the four legal matters, fees, and retainers, how much of them related to any work done for CIL on behalf of its policyholders?
    2. If the answer is none, then why is CIL writing this cheque in the first place?……
    ………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….i belive that is up to the law courts to decided…

,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,

watchman go wash yuh balls that would give something important and meaningful to do yuh dirty ole skunk ,

20. Walter Blackman Avatar
    Walter Blackman

ac | July 2, 2014 at 9:21 PM |

We have not seen a copy of the letter dated December 5, 2002 referenced in the employment contract.

foot note as of now no mention of money laundering in the forensic reports,,,,,,,as being asserted by Walter Blackman and BU.

ac,
    Some reports present the facts. It is then left to the reader to follow the facts to their logical conclusion.
    Artaxerxes showed you, in his quotation above, that CIL was simply the cash cow in a transaction that was packaged to appear as if CIL was paying for CHBL’s legal fees. An invoice was created and. based on that invoice, CIL was forced to write a cheque. CHBL recorded the reason for its debt to CIL as “professional fees”. To the unsuspecting eye, everything so far appears normal. Except the fact, of course, that the cheque is being written by CIL.
    Lo and behold, when forced to work with court-appointed officials, CIL
    admitted that the payment of the cheque was ACTUALLY for the benefit of Mr. Parris. Word also reached the court-appointed officials that Mr. Parris acknowledged that the payment was ACTUALLY part of a gratuity that he was owed.

Money was removed from a life insurance company under false pretenses. That money is therefore tainted, and the only way it should get back into our system, is by being returned to the insurance company. If tainted money comes back into our system, through an individual or entity that has no legal right to it, then to my layman’s mind, money laundering has occurred. No report has to spell this out for me.

However, ac, if I were looking for evidence of money laundering I would not focus solely on a report.

A client having large sums of money in a bank account and not being able to explain where it came from would put any international bank at risk. That bank, having satisfied itself that there is a probability of money being laundered, out of self interest alone, would have to order that client to remove her money. Anytime you get evidence like that, you don’t have to use any footnote or rely on any report. You simply rely on your commonsense.

21. Think about the following definitions before reading further:

“Fraud may be described as an illegal act involving the obtaining of something of value through willful misrepresentation.”

“Abuse also includes misuse of authority or position for personal financial interests or those of an immediate or close family member or business associate.”

Essentially, Deloitteโ€™s CLICO forensic audit revealed that Leroy Parris, trading as Professional Financial Services, was subcontracted by CIL to provide management services for CHBL. According to the terms of the contract, Parris was due a gratuity of $10M on May 15, 2008. Apparently, the letter dated December 5, 2002 outlined the terms as agreed by Parris and Duprey under which the gratuity would be paid.

In accounting supporting documentation must be presented as verification for payments. If Parris was an ordinary employee, his salary would have been paid through the normal payroll process. However, since he was providing services for CHBL, he would probably have to submit invoices on a monthly basis to facilitate payment. In other words, Professional Financial Services would be seen as a service provider, similar to Thompson & Associates (who provided legal services).

In forensic accounting, a red flag is an unusual occurrence which varies from normal activity and is indicative of a circumstance that may require further investigation.
    NOTE: For example, management red flags are characterized by (but not limited to) the reluctance of management in providing information to auditors; decisions being dominated by an individual or a small group within the management circle; and very lax internal controls.

A payment of $3,333M is certainly out of the ordinary and forensic accountants would query such payments by reviewing the invoices and authorization for payment. The invoice issued by Thompson & Associates to CHBL was for a number of legal services rendered i.e. (1) retainer in a matter concerning Marriottโ€™s = $1.8M (2) due diligence investigations, valuation expenses, etc = $1,046M (3) retainer for watching brief for Maurice King QC, re a matter concerning Grant Hotels Ltd = $250 grand (3) legal fee re a construction agreement between CHBL and UWI = $237 grand = $3.333M.
    CIL subsequently informed the auditors that the $3.3M was actually a partial gratuity payment owed to Parris as stipulated in his employment contract and he verified this to the auditors. (See page 13 of the report)
    Parrisโ€™ contract revealed he was to be paid a gratuity of US$5M on May 15, 2008 and reference was made to the letter dated December 5, 2002, which was not presented for examination.

However, CIL was able to produce a letter dated June 18, 2010 from CHBL to PFS which stated โ€œIn addition, UNDER CONTRACT COMMENCING May 15, 2005, Clico Holdings (Barbados) Limited will pay to you, a gratuity of BDS$10 million on May 15, 2008. BDS$3,333,333 of this amount has already been paidโ€. (p 13)
    The auditors โ€œfound NO REFERENCE to this payment in the Minutes of CIL or CHBL at or around the time it was made.โ€

Recall the letter dated December 5, 2002 was referenced to relative to the payment of the gratuity, BUT WAS NOT PRESENTED FOR EXAMINATION.
    Mysteriously, a new letter from CHBL, dated June 18, 2010 (8 years after) mentioned the contract COMMENCING on May 15, 2005.

Another interesting development was revealed on page 14, paragraph 2 of the report, as quoted below:

โ€œWe understand that the Executive Management of CHBL provided human resources, legal and IT services for the entire group, and as such CHBL charged a management fee back to CIL. We have been advised that management fees charged to CIL by CHBL were $35,000 a month, made up of $25,850 for management fees and $9,000 for IT services throughout the period. Although we found no formal agreement, selected monthly invoices from CHBL to CIL to support the monthly recurring amounts. Based on our review, approximately $740K was charged to CIL by CHBL for these management fees.โ€

If Parris was a member of the “Executive Management”, was he paid management fees through his company Professional Financial Services and again as part of executive management receiving his cut of, or the entire $35,000 per month? Who provided the legal services?

22. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad Avatar

David | July 2, 2014 at 7:53 PM |

What is Maraโ€™s obligation to her constituents, CLICO policyholders and Barbadians arising from the CLICO mess @

Is to tell the truth , Some thing none seem to be able to do,
    Most of the time to seal records by e the court says that a wrong was done,
    This wrong in the eyes court my have also to do with public safety , As to people in the street without permits to do so in Barbados,
    We must also look at the judges for many were lawyers when the fraud started backed up by former AGs andEx CJ David Simmons,
    covering his back with Keith Simmons His Brothers at the Head of the BAR. All we have to do is look at Ralph Thorne and and his Wife who pass Judgment in BED and cases never reach court, Cover up and under cover case of lies ,What lies beneath is more crooks liars and scumbags,

23. Artax

I am not trying to be a pain but you ought to be a little more clearer with your definition of Abuse because abuse comes in many forms. There is physical, emotional, sexual, verbal and psychological abuse sir.

Sir, you ought not use your blog as a tool to exposed the ill-doings of the ruling party, unless there is a clear and honest assessment of prior acts committed by the opposition party. This gives credibility and trust to what youโ€™re endeavoring convey in the way of truth, to an uninformed electorate.

Why do you insist upon digging up dirt on the members of the Democratic Labor Party? If you claim that this blog is a fair and impartial blog, which serves to expose the wrong doings of those in high office, then letโ€™s honor that commitment.

Because right now David, youโ€™re beginning to look more like a hypocrite who is bend on an obvious agenda which is designed to discredit members of the Democratic Labor Party. So letโ€™s us do the honorable thing and impart blame fairly and squarely David. The collective conscience of the Barbadian electorate demands it David.

24. as of right now the only reference and connection to DT is that a cheque payable to his law firm and directed to him was a payment of gratuity for LP,,yet walter blackman has still not connect the dots that 3.3milion referenced was solely for the purpose of DT The initial argument perceived and asserted over the years by the BLP yardfowls is that David Thompson received 3.33million dollars from Clico ,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,for his personal interest,,,,,, there are many angles to this story,,,,,,one which has been forcefully meant to taint the image of DT ,,by presenting and formulating a perception over the years that DT received millions of dollars and put it in his personnal account..this story continues to linger ,,,despite a forsenic report that says differently,,,this story would continue to be the top of the ledger in the camp of the blp as a response to the 75k cheque which was meant for campaign funding and which OSA deposited in his personnel bank account,,,,,,,However let the evedience show that they that their might have been inappropriate business practices from LP,,and the monies as LP stated was part of a gratuity,,,, ac FOLDS her hands on this subject and as initially stated ,,let the courts filter out the whos,,where… and whats…….BTW DT is DEAD,,,,,,,,,,while OSA is still being symbolize as being (great) and accepted by the BLP yardfowls even in the face of evedience and a story that still swirls in controversy about the truthfulness of the 75K cheque,,,,,, MY HANDS ARE FOLDED<

25. Ignorance surely has no bounds.

26. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ David[BU]

My sincerest commiserations.

For in the words of one much wiser “I do extend my well wishes to you in this your hour of need”

27. A picture is worth ten thousand words in this instance. We actually have people in Barbados who would want to deny the existence of this check.

28. Here is a call to anyone, ANYONE, who has information about the CLICO coverup to send us the info our email address (barbadosunderground@gmail) add the .com.

If we wait on Barbados governments to bring transparency legislation we will have to wait for a long time. We have been waiting for over 30 years since Tom Adams introduced integrity legislation to parliament which at the time was not supported by the DLP, what a twist. When the BLP was in office we pointed the torchlight on poor governance and now the DLP is in office we continue to do so. What makes it very disappointing is this government promised CHANGE.

The BU household will NOT be distracted by JAs who live outside of Barbados whose main source of news is online postings and who continue to demonstrate a level of ignorance which would make Job sin his soul.Again, anyone who can send us information to shed light on the sordid affair that is CLICO please do so. We have CLICO policyholders who have dies, admitted to the psychiatric hospital and most distressing, members of the political class wearing gold chains and driving luxury cars who have stolen from these people.

29. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

An assertion was made by Mr. Blackman that as it pertains to a footnote to more or less validate a claim, the matter base just needs the application of commonsense and not necessarily additional proof since the evidence pointing is quite overwhelming. The commonsense to all of this was that David Thompson all those associated with this massive fraud knew exactly what they were doing and how the benefits would have been divided.

30. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

The time line off events as presented in Mr. Blackman’s synopsis provides clear linkages that the collapse of CLICO was an orchestration involving Thompson, Parris and all the other affiliates. First of all, the two (Thompson and Parris) had shared a close relationship and friendship to the point that Mr. Parris is God father of one of Thompson’s daughters. Secondly that this friendship was important since Parris knew that Thompson now leading the DLP will need all the support he can muster to the topple the chance of the then BLP winning a fourth term. Mr. Parris pulled out all the resources possible to support the David Thompson led campaign in 2008 for his party to win that election. With that in mine, Thompson covertly ensured that his close friend will benefit from any decisions made by him. Thus in an apparent collapse of CLICO, a plot that had a very thick plan and time to expand, was unveiled. All the mechanisms were put in place to protect the interests of those who had a hefty stake in this collapse much to the detriment and pain off the policy holders whom the major players knew would only operate at the level of an invective.

31. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

With the judiciary and other high officials already under oaf to protect the inner circle at all cost, the machinery of the DLP ensured that snippets of this saga would be place in the public’s domain for acknowledgement whilst they exerted pretense in concerns that were intended never to reveal the real truths. So what did the DLP do to ensure that the collapse would be beneficial: they orchestrated a nice so called ten million dollar bail out after two face Thompson and his band of beneficiary crooks said CLICO Barbados was safe and outside the financial turmoil of its parent company. CLICO- Leroy Parris received a nice tidy bail out sum that more than likely was pseudo to appear like the company received it but the real truth is it entered into the big boys agreement for splits. If a connection of dots as required by the cunt AC is need to validate the obvious collusion in a matter that was intended to mutually benefit the personal interests of Messrs Parris and Thompson all the cunt AC have to do is look at the time line of events. CLICO’s collapse was intentional; the burning of Sam Lord’s Castle was intentional. David Thompson setting up Leroy Parris as Chairman of the Caribbean Broadcasting Corporation was intentional. It was all intended to keep certain things covert.

32. Let us examine and rationally analyse both situations concerning Owen Arthur and David Thompson.

During the 2008 election campaign, David Thompson went the length and breadth of Barbados telling Barbadians that CLICO gave Arthur a cheque in the sum of $75,000 as a donation towards campaign funding, which Arthur deposited on his personal account. Thompson substantiated his accusation by producing a copy of the returned cheque, indicating the cheque was actually deposited.
    In response, Arthur admitted he received the cheque, deposited it to his account and later paid the money to the BLP.

During the 2013 election campaign, Owen Arthur, at a meeting held in West Terrace, revealed that the law firm of David Thompson, Thompson & Associates, willfully prepared an invoice to CHBL for $3.333M in legal services that WERE NEVER RENDERED, knowing the funds were actually meant for Parris. On receipt of payment, through fraudulent means, the cheque was DEPOSITED to an account, which was later identified as not belonging to the firm, and the funds subsequently paid to Parris. Arthur substantiated his accusations by producing copies of the cheque and invoice.

Although I’m not a fan of Arthur, in all fairness to him, the cheque was written to OWEN ARTHUR and not the BLP. Under these circumstances, Arthur had two options; (1) deposit the cheque to his account and write a cheque to the BLP, or (2) endorse payment to the BLP, by simply writing โ€œplease pay toโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ at the back of the cheque and sign it. He admittedly chose the former.
    In this scenario, it will be somewhat ludicrous to assume, BASED ONLY ON THE WORD of Thompson that Arthur, by depositing the cheque on his account, kept the money for personal use. None of us will know that for sure, because we, including Thompson, are not privy to transactions conducted on Arthurโ€™s personal account or his bank reconciliation statements, and there is no report resulting from an audit of Arthurโ€™s banking transactions.
    As such, that was a matter between Arthur and the BLP, and itโ€™s up to the BLP to press charges against him for theft.

Like it or not, and no matter how the DLP yard-fowls try to spin itโ€ฆโ€ฆ.in this scenario concerning Thompson and his law firm Thompson & Associates, the forensic audit CONFIRMED Arthurโ€™s accusations. Unfortunately, the CLICO policy holders are the one who have ultimately suffered due to fraudulent and unethical practices.

33. Artaxerxes, that is a concise explanation, which sadly will not be either understood nor accepted by the blind party faithful.

34. Well, OSA has been persecuted for $75, 000 which he NEVER spent.

But David Thompson does very very well when he pockets $3.3 million of poor Bajans money!! And Parris is hailed a ONE of the FEW friends that Fumble Stuart has.

And some body bout here had problems with me calling the situation in Barbados a Banana Republic!!

35. Dompey | July 3, 2014 at 5:54 AM |

In fraud detection/auditing:

Abuse โ€“ involves behavior that is deficient or improper when compared with behavior that a prudent person would consider reasonable and necessary business practice given the facts and circumstances. Abuse also includes misuse of authority or position for personal financial interests or those of an immediate or close family member or business associate.

36. It seems that in Barbados we allow perspectives to be coloured by partisan leaning. What is wrong with using cognition to process and analyze information and generate a conclusion. Why spend billions in education and let a political prism to be the arbiter of final view.

37. Frustrated Businessman Avatar
    Frustrated Businessman

Don’t forget that the reason CLICO bought thousands of acres of loss-making St. John sugar land is because the new Minister in Charge of Planning Thompson was going to turn it into gold with the stroke of a pen and make millions in legal fees on the transactions of sales for housing. The last time this happened in Bim was under a Dippa-led DLP government and the four individuals involved were kicked out of Barbados by Tom Adams when he came to office. The only one who was allowed to return is the DLP’s largest financial supporter to this day.

38. De Real Political Intelligence Avatar
    De Real Political Intelligence

@ARTAXERXES you break it down clearly and concisely and thinking people can read and understand. @Walter Blackman could be at same level if he would cast bias aside. Justice will prevail and the depostirs got to get back something, including the political that got money in CLICO @David Underground. Your bitch comment is noted. You want people respect Underground keep the petty pips in your craw and don’t take sides. @Lemuel ya pimp. You could only be a jackass that waste free education. What part of Thompson got 3.3 million??/ Good Christ man analyse what the men put up and shut the ass up.

39. Friday, 06 June 2014 Written By BIPA E-mail Print PDF
    PEOPLE HOLDING CLICO and British American Insurance Company (BAICO) policies are gearing up for a round of court hearings that could signal the end of a five year fight for compensation.

Last Wednesday the Barbados Investors and Policyholders Alliance (BIPA) selected separate committees to continue the work on the two cases, amidst reports that a judge had been assigned to the case and policyholders could be days away from the start of the court process.

40. Lets not forget the office manager of Thompsons office. It is inconceivable to think that the office manager was not in on the money laundering efforts.

41. Hants | July 3, 2014 at 10:09 AM |

Good news Hantsโ€ฆ. The real question is who ultimately takes the burden of the expense to repay the policy holders?

In light of the evidence revealed by the forensic audit, will the funds of Leroy Parris be garnished to facilitate paymentโ€ฆโ€ฆ. or will it be the tax payers of Barbados who bears the full brunt of supplying the funds necessary to pay BIPA?

If it is the latter, then despite all the fraud and financial improprieties uncovered, Leroy Parris will be the ultimate winner. No charges brought against him; remember he may be a fraud, but according to PM Stuart, he certainly is not a leper.

42. Bushie It is likely that taxpayers will be the ones compensating the policy holders.

Leroy Parris is a winner. He did the job his boss (Duprey) asked him to do and has been rewarded.
    I am surprised he didn’t relocate to Miami like his boss.

Despite the middle and upper class Bajans making fun of use of “green verbs” they put their money in Clico.

Clico is a Trinidadian owned company.

43. Sorry Artaxes. Your reply was a “BushTeaesque reply. lol

44. When logic is repeatedly ignored because of partisan bias maybe the time has come for us all to refrain from responding to ac. An idiot convinced against her will will be of the same opinion still. Why waste your time?

45. @SDS
    Long before the 1986 election E.Barrow knew that David Thompson was a dirty something (E.B words ) at a house in St. John , after a Lodge Service at Holy Cross Church , E Barrow did not name him a senator in 1986 ,David Thompson got the St.John seat because of his relationship With C.Tudor (the homo ) king maker in the DLP at the time
    B Taitt said he felt comfortable leaving David to baby sit his daughters .
    David Thompson was the master mind in the 75k to O S A , he knew what he planning , he stage his come back to the
    DLP top knowing that Leroy an idiot would support .so the fraudulent of the CLICO policyholders money plus a bunch of like minded people some of them were unemployed and unemployable, won the 2008 election
    David first order was to hand pick a Chief justice As God don’t sleep, the man deeds caught up with him ,
    he Dry up and die The rest of the

46. All should persecuted and convicted, their homes, cars and banking accounts should be confiscated: Owen Arthur, Mia Mottley, Dale Marshall, George Payne, Gline Clark, Leroy Parris and probably Dennis Lowe. David Thompson is now deceased, his estate none-the-less should be confiscated.

47. OSA didnโ€™t spend 2+ million dollars on that Nigerian Water Heater Project, he just gave it away. Arthur invested 2+ million dollars on that Nigerian Water Heater Project. No water heaters were ever produced and the 2+ million dollars, ALL tax payers money was just lost and or unaccounted for.

48. @ look
    Where are you looking from or for? It is not about taxpayers money , this is about the Clico policyholders money that was thief by Leroy Parris and David Thompson to pay for votes to win an election on 2008 , David Thompson became PM , but his bad deeds caught up with him and he is DEAD .
    The rest of the DLP Ministers/ MP ,
    and hand pick people in positions of power that have benefit from the fraud are blocking the process of Justice for the clico policyholders The PM, AG, MoF
    DPP and a set of DLP yardfowls, are you one?

49. The DLP house is not clean. They know this, know they promised integrity legislation and transparency but know that wonโ€™t release it โ€“ canโ€™t. The BLP know their house isnโ€™t clean either, far from it but they (BLP) with audacity bark at the DLP house as if their house IS clean or cleaner; itโ€™s not. David Thompson and Leroy Parris wereindeed a crooks. Owen Seymour Arthur is also a crook as is all of the following: Mia Mottley, Dale Marshall, Gline Clark, George Payne, Sir Richard Cheltenham and Sir Charles O. Williams (COW) and more.