World crude oil price rising

It has come as no surprise to some us the chaos to which Iraq has descended. Former President George W. Bush and his sidekick Dick Cheney contrived to invade Iraq on a trumped up mission to find weapons of mass destruction and the world is now experiencing the consequences of  a dishonest decision.

More idiotic is the criticism which Republicans are directing at President Barack Obama over Iraq when it was former President Bush who signed the Status of Forces Agreement in 2008. One does not have to be a foreign policy expert to have known the problems of Iraq go back hundreds of years given the factionalism which exist in the region. Volumes have been written about the deep distrust which has divided ethnic groups in the region. Why does the USA and others believe it has any credibility in the region to function in the role as peace broker? The so called US Iraq invasion has served to add to the distrust between the groups.  The USA bombed a country which the dwellers believe to be sacred for chrissakes!

The emergence of the Islamic State of Iraq and the Leval (ISIL) or ISIS is a symptom of what will happen in Iraq for the foreseeable future. This will NOT be a quick fix. The boast of the USA that it trained a 30,000 Iraqi army and outfitted it with the latest weaponry has comeback to bite them in the rear. ISIL with a few thousand men have been able to overcome the ‘well trained’ Iraqi security force capturing military equipment in the process.

Ironically the Kurds, the ethnic group trampled for decades maybe the x factor along with Iran to lead the military and political solution. If the USA and or others are able to fight back against ISIL, it will be a short time before another group driven by the seeds of distrust fermented over hundred of years to dot the Iraqi landscape. The USA puppet Nouri al-Maliki appears to be losing his grip on the country yet there is no obvious replacement. The age old problem of  the Sunni waging disagreement with the Shia at the first opportunity is a high agenda item, AGAIN.

The unrest in Iraq has grave implications for the world economy and Barbados given its position as a high oil producer. Already the world price of oil is trending north. The current policy of the Barbados government to pass on the real price of oil to Barbadians consumers – if continued – will significantly impact the already high cost of living.  The local economy has not been doing well despite all effort to breath life into it by the government. It is the worse performing economy in the Caribbean, a position Barbadians have been unaccustomed in the post Independent period. The problem in Iraq if not snuffed out quickly, that is, the push back of ISIL, the headwind that will result has the potential to cripple the global economy. The implication for Barbados is not good.

What can we do to ready ourselves? One policy we can continue which has served us well in the past is to solicit cheap foreign loans to shore up the international reserves.

60 responses to “Growing Tensions in Iraq and What it Forebodes for YOU”

1. @Divid “The boast of the USA that it trained a 30,000 Iraqi army and outfitted it with the latest weaponry has comeback to bite them in the rear. ISIL with a few thousand men have been able to overcome the ‘well trained’ Iraqi security force”

Both training and guns can be purchased in the marketplace.

But neither courage nor patriotism can be bought.

2. As Iraq falls apart the price of oil will go up and the cost of managing our households will rise.

Simple.

Simon.

3. We already getting hit with increasing gas prices in Canada.

Price of Gas will go up in Barbados as well.

http://www.cbc.ca/news/business/gas-price-hike-brace-for-3-more-months-of-pain-at-pumps-1.26825.

It is all about oil.

4. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad

We can give better Prices , its just Barbados will add taxes and then blame the market,
    We can buy oil for Barbados , but will the government pass on the savings? or just fill the gaps with VAT so there is no change at the PUMPS.

5. SIMPLE SIMON

What has being well trained to do with courage? You could trained an army and man it with the latest weaponry, but without courage to face your the Foe, it means little.

6. @ Dompey
    Ya idjut!
    Dat is what the woman said.

@ Hants
    The oil problem is only the tip of the iceberg….
    This is the beginning of a major global shiite problem….and not only for Sunnis…but for the whole western world.
    Thanks to George Bush and his band of idiots, these fanatics will come to control much of the world’s wealth – and will wreck havoc on our fragile world….

7. @David
    The USA puppet Nouri al-Maliki appears to be losing his grip on the country yet there is no obvious replacement. The age old problem of the Sunni waging disagreement with the Shia at the first opportunity is a high agenda item, AGAIN.
    ++++++++++++
    Is he the USA’s puppet or Iran’s? You are contradicting yourself as that “status of forces agreement” came with a deadline for US withdrawals from Iraq, additionally Iraq refused to exempt US forces from charges laid by Iraq authorities hardly the type of action from puppet states. Iran just backed the wrong horse there were other contenders for the Presidency of Iran but al Maliki was Iran’s boy but he won’t last much longer.

8. Simple Simon | June 21, 2014 at 7:31 PM |
    As Iraq falls apart the price of oil will go up and the cost of managing our households will rise.
    …………………………………………………………………………..
    Then perhaps it will be to our benefit to raise and train a military force, ready to support which ever super power is willing to police Iraq, so that we can ran our SUV’s and keep our households going in the style that we have become accustomed to.
    Volunteer Dompey, Buggy , Sargeant and Caswell.

9. it was inevitable…….the middle east is a hot bed of religiosity…….inhumanity built on superficial and intolerance,,their rule of law is quite resemblance of antiquity and does require dictators and the likes of Saddam Hussein to keep them in check…the psychology that rules and governs the middle east is a war that america can never win,….

10. As much as I take pleasure in thinking of you in a burka, you are absolutely right. The US underestimated what a bunch of whack jobs these people are ….let Allah sort it out and deal with the winners.. trying to solve a Gordian knot of a religious type tied over the centuries is impossible.

11. Lawson, it is disingenuous for you to indict America for what has just transpired in Iraq. I think it does a disservice to those men and women of the US military, who have given their lives in support and in defense of freedom, democracy and human dignity. Who cares about the religious part? America has given to the people of Iraq, the key of self – determination, and what these people do with it, that’s they concern. You follow me Lawson? Dictatorship verses the right to determine one’s destiny, think about Lawson.

12. Hamilton Hill Avatar

We can start by tapping into the vast financial profits of the company that has benefited over the years from our oil dependence. That of course will never happen for those monies are very much a part of the under the table deals that end up as bloated bank accounts in Mum’s name, plantation houses bought in the most suspicious of circumstances, or properties in Miami bought similarly. Sunni vs Shia or Dem yardfowl vs Bee yardfowl, rabid support is the same. The rest are made to pay the price of sufferation all because of these brass-bowls. (Bush man de check in de mail)

13. David I hope you are watching. Lewis from 10th to 4th after first lap.Awesome start.

14. Hamilton Hill Avatar

@Dompey…If you really believe that the USA did anything with the interest of the Iraqis as driving factor then I got a piece of the Brooklyn bridge to sell you. My dear friend you perhaps forgot, or never knew but the actions of the American government brought tremendous suffering to an awful lot of innocent Iraqi children. America is and has always been about American interests.

15. Hamilton Hill

If you’re dissatisfied with the way in which the Barbados government has done business with these oil companies in the past. Then you use your human ingenuity and create an alternative oil source . If you think that there are robbing us blind with these exorbitant gas prices, then you used water. Let me put it this way: It’s like being at the mercy of a friend or love one when you’re unemployed. You either put up with their bull until you can do better, or hit the highways baby.

16. listen up dompey, america democracy and the middle east democracy are not the same,,,,,this war and events surrounding this war goes back to years of hatred,,,,nothing that democracy can rectify ….there are three factions all wanting to control the pie,,,,,,and with Sunnis in charge for so long and then kicked out,,,,the new govt in control failed in the similar faction.to included the others groups with much relevancy ,,,,,,,,now for whatever reason maybe poor diplomacy obama administration felll asleep at the wheel while Saddam arose from the grave with all military might and power to seek revenge to overthrow an america sponsored and backed Democracy ( with a small d) in iraq…. obama has said that military invasion is off the table but that is left to be seen as the oil barons that have had some of the pie in iraq over the last four or five years not going to sit idly by and let the old guard of saddam take control of their cuzillion…… wuhloss,,,,,,,

17. @. Hamilton
    Don’t worry about the check….Bushie will shred it….you are always welcome …

Cud dear …don’t sell Dompey the Brooklyn Bridge…again…
    Bushie understands that he already owns it…twice… LOL Ha Ha

18. Hamilton Hill

Collateral – damage or as there call is today, unforeseen -consequences is the price of war. World War Two, was fought in the interest of preserving our human way of life and the for removed the dictator Hitler, but it exacted many innocent lives. Hamilton, who doesn’t think about their own self- interest over the collective – interest? It is deeply rooted in our nature as human beings, modern philosophy even calls it a Psychological – Egoism.

19. @ David
    Skippa…you really feel you should just sit back and let those two idiots talk shiite bout things the have no understanding of….save for what they heard in passing on Fox and CNN?

Do they know anything of the standard of living in Iraq and Libya before the Americans / French/ English axis intervened?
    Do the know of the level of education and economic advancement?
    …of the historical and cultural wealth?

No doubt even the US would now be happy to have someone like Saddam or Gadaffi to re establish order and security in those countries …..now that the Dompey-like western morons have opened the genie’s bottle….
    …perhaps they now understand why these leaders HAD to be strongmen……perhaps they can see why sissies like George Bush (who did not even have the balls to join the real army) and R.Ross can only hide in the background talking shiite …but are ineffective in making ANYTHING meaningful happen…..
    Steupsssss…
    ….at least ban the two jackasses for the rest of the day nuh….!! 🙂

20. AC, I understand all of that…. but my point was centered more on America’s role in exporting Democracy to that part of the world. And Iraq’s responsibilty to utilize that freedom which has been paid for by the blood of many, to shape it course in this global age. I understand and I have read, as well as spoken to muslims from the six fractions within Islam. So I believe that I have a pretty good grasp on middle- Eastern politics AC.

21. Bush Tea,

I really have to laughter as the audacious impudicity of this modern day nincompoop, with the brain – power of an ant, who obviously thinks that he capable of articulating on any given topic the blog presents. Bush Tea, you’re a fool by common definition and popular understanding brother man.

22. bush tea u seem to to have a deep resentment for anyone who has an opinion whether in in agreement with yours or disagreement ..all signs to being a DICTATOR,,i makes one recoil internally and mentally not to entertain or for that matter engage of any plans or suggestions you and your BUP TEAM might have in mind putting forward that would be of any help getting barbados out of the economic problems,,,,,, your intolerance level and opposition to others right to have opinion is mind boggling and it seems to be a real mental problem one which you have no problem revealing, although which could be shrugged off as an old demented person in early stages of dementia,,,,,,however to others might be a sign of a dictator ,,,, not to mention your quick response of seeking retribution by way to suppression ,,having said that as one who have called on others for the support of BUP…..u must first discard that ridiculous and cantankerous ideology of U KNOW IT ALL. in order to garnish support and to be taken seriously …one must have a philosophy opened for other thoughts and opinions and not having to unleashed or resort to to psychological babble bordering on childlike behavior and dictatorial response,,,,…..BTW that is one reason Saddam was overthrown..his intolerance level had outgrown his usefulness ,,and the rights for others to opinion was seen by him as irrelevant and uncalled for,,,,,something that u have in common with him……ole man think in these things,,,,the survival or implementation of BUP would depend on it,,,,,

23. David

I know that there are those who would agree with me on this one David: you have to censor Bush Tea once and for all. Because if this egotistical nincompoop of a man, could get on social- media and advocate for two men who are obviously responsibility for the deaths of men, women and innocent children. You know for a fact David, that this man elevator does not go to the top floor. Bush Tea, do you remember when Saddam gas helpless men, women and innocent children in the middle to late 80’s. And do you also remember when Saddam daught’s husband defected to America and Saddam convinced him to come back to Iraq. And when Saddam’s eldest son met him at the Airport and cut off his head and presented it to Saddam on a platter? It this the kind of man you want ruling over the affairs of Iraq Bush Tea? I know PG was correct when he said not to long age that you had spent sometime down in Black Rock in the younger years.

24. @Bush Tea

Ignorance knows no bounds.

25. @Colonel Buggy “it will be to our benefit to raise and train a military force, ready to support which ever super power is willing to police Iraq, so that we can ran our SUV’s and keep our households going in the style that we have become accustomed to”

Gave up on the lifestyle long decades ago. No SUV. No vehicle. I long realized that the worldwide greed for lifestyle (read oil) was fueling instability and environmental degradation in the world.

I do not just talk the talk. I walk the walk.

Literally.

LOL!!!!

Healthier too.

26. Dear Colonel perhaps it is time that we stop sucking on the bubbies of the semi-literate Arab oil merchants.

27. The lies are however, still being told, rewriting the whole ugly, evil affair perpetrated by Bush, Cheney, Rice, Rumsfeld, et al…sickos.

http://www.nydailynews.com/news/national/stasi-dick-cheney-op-ed-war-iraq-full-lies-article-1.1839347

28. @Simple Simon

Have you ever visited the ME, any of the Arab countries?

29. @Dompey ” in defense of freedom, democracy and human dignity”

Dear Dompey:

There is nuff, nuff oil in the Middle East. Nuff buff ignorance, Nuff nuff religiosity,

But alas there is no freedom, democracy, nor respect for human dignity.

30. What is this editorial TRYING to say? What is the message?

Pay close attention to messages

SUN, JUNE 22, 2014 – 12:01 AM

We have never doubted the sensible approach of the people of this country to matters of public concern, and we therefore expected, and saw, decent, responsible behaviour by those responding to the call by veteran activist Robert “Bobby” Clarke to a march to show concern about the responses by the political directorate on both sides of the fence to the current problems of the economy.

The march is a statement by a representative few to the Government that the people are more than ordinarily concerned about where we are, and are wondering where we are headed

http://www.nationnews.com/articles/view/pay-close-attention-to-messages/

31. Yeah……DICK-OF-DEATH and his little dickettes…..steupss.

32. The Bushman is generally correct, except about esoteric matters, of course LOL. Before the Americans and the coalition of the unwilling came to Iraq there was no Sunni- Shia divide at the personal level, though the Sunnis ruled over a majority Shia population. Indeed, most families in Iraq are intermixed on confessional lines. That wider regional tension was then seen as a cause cilibre…..the old colonial axiom of divide and rule. So projects for dividing Sunni ans Shias were implemented with the help of Americas satrapies in the ‘Middle East’.

This simplictic fixation of a false construct failed to see the wider picture but was useful to the simpleons in the West to give legitamatcy to an illegal war of aggression as defined by the UN. A war for resources under the lie of WMD. This is what all wars are about. Achieving political and economic concessions by force. They refused to see that there were other confessions – Jews, Christians etc. Now, they want to excellerate the partitioning of Iraq for better control of its oil. Same thing in Syria and if the idiots in Arabia and Qatar think that they will be able to continue conspiring against other countries and their plots will not light their own houses on fire, they have a next thing coming. These fools will light their own houses, watch it?

More than a decade hence, now that Iraq has been destroyed, these very people, and there is no distinction/difference between Bush and Obama for they are both committed to the PNAC declaration. That declaration called for the breaking up of many states in the North Africa and the Middle Eastern regions. And that is what we have had since Clinton. Have these people no shame? Obama, a placeman, who was so against ‘Bushie’ War is not an archair warrior. This obvious tells us that the same interests Bush was responding to are those Obama takes orders from, the real hidden government, the lodges, the Bilderbergs, the international corporatists………………………..

33. @Hamilton Hill “America is and has always been about American interests”

Nothing wrong with that. Every country has to figure out what is in its best interest and then do that thing or those things.

The Simple is also self interested, This is how I divide my PERSONAL resources.

Family (including myself) first.

Friends second

Others after.

And I am sure that you do the same Hammie.

34. @Bush Tea “….at least ban the two jackasses for the rest of the day nuh….!! :)”

Where this anti-democratic rant come from.

The beauty of a democracy is that it permits shite talkers like…to talk their talk.

Ad infinitum

LOL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Ban wha!!!

35. @Pacha

The bottomline when colonial support was removed read Lybia and Iraq as good examples what have we seen filling the vacuum? Was it anticipated by the West or are they happy to brand the native people savages. Instead we have to stomach US networks babbling about a military solution 24/7.

36. @Dompey “America’s role in exporting Democracy to that part of the world… which has been paid for by the blood of many,”

Maybe democracy (unlike Coco-Cola) cannot be successfully be exported.

If the Iraqis want democracy (and looking at their history I see no evidence that they value democracy) maybe they MUST pay for their own democracy with THEIR OWN BLOOD.

Stop depending on proxies to do for them what they MUST do for themselves.

37. @Dompey June 22, 2014 at 9:04 AM “I really have to laughter as the audacious impudicity of this modern day nincompoop.”

This is the sweetest sentence that I have ever read.

Know that if I d’ed now. I d’ed happy.

LOL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

38. David

This a a clear policy. No accident! Why do you think, for example, that Africa, the richest continent on earth have the poorest people. These things are never accidents but planned processes. Recently, these same people went to Sudan and partitioned the country. Now there are all types of internal rivalries. Straight out of the military manual of Sun Tzu.

39. @Dompey “do you also remember when Saddam daught’s husband defected to America and Saddam convinced him to come back to Iraq. And when Saddam’s eldest son met him at the Airport and cut off his head and presented it to Saddam on a platter?”

All the damn Saddams were part of the problem. The son-in-law went back (from Jordan, not the USA) looking for something which he had not earned and he got what he did not expect (but should have expected.

Good riddance to bad rubbish.

40. @David June 22, 2014 at 10:02 AM @Simple Simon…. Have you ever visited the ME, any of the Arab countries?”

Yes David.

Worked there for more than a decade.

Why?

41. God bless Bu.Even if the wife has confined you to de dog house, even if the old car has chosen the worst possible time to act up, just reading the posts of some on BU is sure to uplift one’s frame of mind. …if one is able to just come close to the intellectual prowess spoken of not long ago.I nearly pee myself laughing.

42. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

While I will be first to say that the USA is indeed the purveyor of souls and Bushes Junior and Senior were the messengers of Satan in, self bombing their World Trade Towers as in the famous Operation Northwood advanced 60 years to poor ignorant masses bringing the imbalance to the Middle East.

And while i would also say that oil brings with it the imps of the Lord of the Wind embodied in the mighty machinery of the US and its “friends” (depending on who they are spying on), I also would to put this to you wise men and women for your active consideration.

WWII – Rommell the Desert Fox – soldiers frying eggs on the surface of tanks.

Fast forward thirty years to a non-descript apartment in the Bronx in winter and a few impoverished young men in an apartment holding a party without ice – eureka – open the window, pit the drinks on the ledge (close to the side where they dont fall off and kill someone 7 floors below in the street) and you have chilled drinks, without the expense of buying ice – we did not have a working fridge either.

2014, 40 years after Solar Dynamics Limited was founded in Bulbados, one should note that the leader in Solar Innovation in Barbados not only does not have its website operating any more but, in a cuntry where the sun shines 366 days a year, did not lead the “second wave” where every house in Bulbados has a PVC panel on our homes.

Now dont get me wrong, James Husbands is to be congratulated for his perseverance with the water heater, whu dis poor ole man does get a warm bath when de early morning and de late night comes cause uh he, BUT, and herein comes the shortfall, there was no second step, no moment like Ford with the model T, to revamp the whole concept and rebuild and relaunch.

So yes, we going get tied up about what the oil issue forbodes for us individually and collectively and a few of the illiterati that of late have become the scions of the Upper Temple here of late on BU can seek to “incorrectly misdirect” (an impossible combination that only they can accomplish) but the fact is that we are and have been our own worst enemy.

Water water everywhere yet not a drop to drink can be paraphrased to sunshine sunshine everywhere yet not a solar kwh to feed into the grid of our totally dependent oil based $800M energy import bill.

And to top it off, we are led by Energy Minister Darcy Boyce and a next female rabbit that their ideas about RE is taking $35M euros and giving out 5 light bulbs that are energy savers.

Here is an idea for the udder female rabbit We Jonesing to phvck up.

See if you can get the University of the West Indies, led by William Hinds at the Ministry of Energy to devise a photovoltaic project, in conjunction with the Chinese, to develop a small form PVC unit that the CXC students in the Science streams at the schools that have laboratories could be engaged to create a unit fuh we houses..

But then again that would be asking the impossible from the incompetent

43. @ Simple Simon….your point is taken. I was just responding to Dompey and his crap about American lives lost and blood spilled, as if somebody send and call them.

44. This is a Saudi joke Davie.

Says a foreigner to a Saudi “Who cleans your house”

A Filipino maid

Who does your brain surgery

An excellent Canadian neurosurgeon

Who looks after your children

Only the best of British nannies

Who works in your oil fields

Some excellent Nigerian engineers

Who fights your wars?

Oh we hire the American military to do that. Excellent soldiers. Really excellent.

Who foops your wives?

Oh dear. I guess I have to do that myself.

Proxies, David. Proxies.

Life should not be lived by proxy.

45. @Hamilton

When GWB rushed in where angels feared to thread it was the solution now Obama is saying the Iraqi people must solve their problems.

Then again it is mid term elections in the US.

46. @PODRYR

You are raising the salient point of this blog. Our national policy must be very aggressive rolling out alternatives AND reshaping consumption behaviour. It is an imperative, The below the radar approach by a minister who rivals the Prime Minister for his ability to be very obscure is not good enough.

47. Hamilton, do you remember the Chinese proverb which states that, ” You should teach a man how to fish rather than give him a fish?” Well, I think this proverb uniquely applies to the current conflict in Iraq.

David, stop making excuses and accept the march for what is was – a colossal failure.

48. Hamilton, Obama is absolutely correct in stating the position that the Iraqi must solve their own problems. America did the heavy lifting and now is the time for the iraqi people to develop the kind of courage and confidence to face their foe.

49. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

And therein lies the conundrum that faces us so squarely in the face, we the people, have voted for, and will continue to vote for “tweedledeedee and twedledeedum(b)” for two reasons

The first being this is what the nomination processes IN BOTH PARTIES, brings to the surface, like frowth on (an ole man’s) piss and the second being, even if good men were to rund for the parliament the pissy products that abound on either side of the halls of parliament who character-assasinate them all and the waste foops that we Bajans are, would carry on and laugh and then vote for the dogshi**te candidates they bring to us – Adriel NitWit Attorney General , We Jonesing, Patrick Todd, Dale Smiley Teets Marshall, Trevor Prescod and the other 51 buh-kvnts (54 less 3 with a modicum of common sense) that we have elected to, or soon will elect to, our House of Parliament.

50. Hamilton Hill Avatar

@ David. …Where angels feared to thread is where the fools rushed in. To this very day I still struggle to accord to Gen Powell the respect I once had for him. Like you mentioned the mid terms are almost upon us so Obama’s position may not be set in stone. After all an election campaign does color one’s language.If you have any doubts, ask Freundel. Right Dompey?