Adrian Loveridge - Hotelier
Adrian Loveridge – Hotelier

This last week has been what can only be described as an adventure in learning or how to maximise the results of a microscopic marketing budget while transforming a concept into a revenue generating tool.  Hopefully it will play at least a small role in maintaining viability and employment in our tourism sector. The very first lesson learnt is that you cannot expect to achieve this by yourself, but need ‘likeminded’ people who are willing to donate their time and often incredible skills to take the initiative to a higher level.

Another prerequisite is having a cluster of interested players who can see beyond normal existing boundaries or to coin a rather over used term ‘think outside the box’. It is then also absolutely critical that the initiative is supported at a national level rather than ruling out ideas that may appear to be emanating from personalities or messengers who may not garner universal approval.

Using the social media, I have frankly been amazed at the reach it is possible to achieve, at no or very low cost. By targeting specific areas and special interest groups, a higher take-up level is clearly attainable. The Barbados Tourism Authority have given their full support by compiling superbly written full page features in both local newspapers and have already, or are about to issue media releases throughout all major markets. Ideally these will be used by travel publications and trade press to spread the word to a massive potential audience.

Ultimately though, it will be the consumer who makes the final judgment as to the value-for-money the product and/or service on offer is determined. Programmes like re-DISCOVER also give an amazing opportunity for local businesses to become more involved, especially as an emphasis has been placed to source as many possible ingredients on-island or regionally. Certainly hotel and restaurant suppliers should be knocking on the participants doors to see how they could help and capitalise on the collective efforts.

Already one local bank has been invited to jointly promote a competition that will offer a monthly dinner-for-two prize when paying by any one of their issued credit cards. Some of the affinity cards also offer air miles, so it will offer the added bonus to reaching redemption awards requirement quicker. Corporate entities that support the concept will assist in prolonging the project and help dissipate any benefits throughout the economy.

We are trying to monitor the results as closely as possible and if the predicted target meets expectations it should generate another $2 million in turnover across the various partners. I firmly believe that every marketing project should be carefully evaluated with a proven analysis of its return on investment. Only then will ‘we’ be able to truly state that precious promotional dollars are being spent in the most productive and cost-effective way.

67 responses to “Discover re-Discover Barbados”

1. Miller:
    I choose not to engage you within the context of this white man foolishness. But when I think of it, most educated people in the Caribbean brek we necks to go to Harvard, Cambridge and Oxford and MIT ALL white man places of education. When we come here we like to quote “herb” studies from these white man sources to defend our positions. But you continue to spew the above non sense; I am slowly coming to the conviction that you may need more mental health help than Dompey!!

2. Dompey | June 16, 2014 at 8:41 PM |
    Artaxeres
    “Bushie decides to take Dompey’s advice based on what? On the empty words flowing out of the mouth of Dompey’s right? Bush Tea is an obvious asshole to make a decision based on his poor judgment.”

Dompey | June 16, 2014 at 8:54 PM |
    Artaxeres
    “You’re mean to tell me that before Bushie decide to fire AC and hire Dompey, that he hadn’t enough common- sense to ask around the neighborhood about Dompey work habits? Bush is a glutton for punishment”

Ahhhh…… brilliant Dompey…… my point exactly…….you have summarized my analogy beautifully……. thank you very much. Now let’s put everything into context.
    Bushie represents the electorate and you, Dompey, represent the DLP…… AC, (who will obviously catch a heart attack because of her representative role in this scenario), is obviously the BLP.

Now, Bushie (electorate) fired AC (BLP) and took Dompey’s advice based on what?……. “the empty words flowing out of the mouth of Dompey” (which most of you may have guessed, is the DLP’s 2008 manifesto and have also realised by now, contained only “empty words”).
    Consequently, poor governance, the downgrades, continuance of corruption, inept prime minister, finance and education, housing and drainage ministers, piss poor Jeptar (Jester) Ince vacationing in the MoF and the senate……. and plenty more inadequacies of the DLP……. has proven that Bushie (electorate), by hiring (electing) Dompey (DLP) “is an obvious asshole to make a decision based on his poor judgment”.

Yes, Domps….. Bushie fired AC (BLP) because “he hadn’t enough common- sense to ask around the neighborhood about Dompey work habits”….. “work habits” that were blatantly exposed during the DLP’s handling of the economy during the early 1990s and between 2008 and 2013.

But, Domps……… “Bush is a glutton for punishment” fuh trute……. because after seeing your “work habits” during the last five years, Bush Tea (electorate) hired you again in 2013.

3. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Lemuel | June 17, 2014 at 6:48 AM |

Lemuel, please don’t ‘stimulate’ me so early in the morning. I might just have to rise to the Freudian occasion.

Forget about the white man crap. We think you more fit the dopey “Dompey” mould of intellectual priapism “bent” entirely in a Judeo-Christian mindset of universal ignorance of the history of mankind and his eternal quest for spiritual enlightenment.
    I am very much of European genetic descent, live and have worked among and indeed acculturated in their educational system, modus vivendi and indeed their attractively enticing ‘joie-de-vivre’.

A visit to the Rhine Valley could do you a world of “universal’ good and hopefully broaden your perspective of what a real World Heritage site ought to look like and to be maintained accordingly as far as the immediate removal of filth, garbage disposal and environmental degradation are all about. Maybe then you would see your quaint Bridgetown in a different light and its ability to hold on to such designation for the future in the distance.

Should I let you know that Richard Dawkins is one of my favourite intellectuals? That should indicate to you (providing you have heard of him from the ‘God Delusion’ controversy) where I am coming from. Nothing to do with madness of the ‘Dopey Dompey’ diagnosis.

Why don’t you deal with the more pressing issues raised? Instead of seeing hemp and its herbal relations as enemies created by the propaganda of the same white man vested capitalist interests in synthetic pharmaceuticals and the distillation and brewing of alcohol-based beverages why not see the plant as a potential source of a new source of products of an ecologically attractive type that can help diversify your struggling economy which, as it stands, is totally dependent on the same white tourists you now accuse me of succumbing to their misleading information.

I am sure you an do better in putting up a more convincing argument.
    Don’t let Bushie’s intellectual disease rub off on you. LOL!!!

PS:
    Could you please, pretty please, get that “special-needs” person called Mark Fenty alias Dompey to stay away from the race course of wisdom?
    After all, intellectually inchoate children should not play with grown-up toys of knowledge that can burn their hands and ignite their genetic ignorance.
    Even the dull and ignorant should have their say but Dompey, your partner in religious blindness, has exhausted even your god’s level of tolerance and overstayed his presence in a spiritual place he accidentally and naively stumbled upon.

4. We stab a white man in St. Lawrence and after we spend more than 1/2 million on new ambulances, we could not find one to take him to the hospital. He went by police vehicle!! But I saw six ambulances parked by the ambulance service the other day!!

5. Miller:
    I am surprised that you make the same assumption that most on BU do that other have not seen the world. I spent time at the feet of Prof. Diop and Moore from Cuba!! Yet, I still believe that there is a GOD!! I know about Egyptology!!

I have no control and desire to have any control over Dompey. He shall subside in time. Do not make the leap that Hitchens made in believing that the RC is the true church; this is where most of you miss the point and come to the wrong conclusions. Tell me some thing Miller if Christianity is so absurd, why don’t people like yourself let us drown in our deception. Or is there a niggling possibility that these people could be RIGHT!!

But it was sure good to see all that white education coming to the fore to put up a fulsome stance!!

6. Miller:
    Last thing, all that the white man has was taken from the bowels of Egypt: science, literature etc.. Becareful how you buse you own thing my friend!!!

7. As an ex Serviceman I would like to pay my respects to a fallen Brother-in-arms. RIP , Brian Mulligan.

8. @lemuel |June 17, 2014 at 7:52 AM “We stab a white man in St. Lawrence”

We did not stab anybody.

One person stabbed another one person.

I did not have anything to do with the stabbinbg

9. Miller

Your Mentor Richard

10. Miller

Can Science teach us morals? Pensively contemplate that question Miller because the Evolution that you rely so heavily on to justify your existence of reality, is support by Science brother. And Science cannot teach my kids right from wrong, good as well as evil stupid.

The Hebrew Scriptures caution us in the book of Colossians 2:8 “To beware lest any man spoil you through philosophy and vain deceit, after the traditions of men, after the rudiments of the world and not after Christ.”

Your Mentors Richard Dawkins and his partners Steven Pinker , Sam Harris with his most confusing book to date, (The Moral Landscape), still cannot answer the questions such as: without the Divine Command theory how does one derive any sense of Right and wrong, good and evil? And can Evolutionism give us a definite answer to the question, of life after death. Listen! brother Georgie Porgie is retarded but he obviously gets it. Miller, you keep on run around this blog with your man made philososphies and childish ideologies, but come the Day of Judgment when Jesus open the Book and ask for your account. I hope you do not break down the Gates of heaven balling for forgiveness stupid.

11. Miller, this is the final answer to your stupidity sir. You have advanced the view that you do not believe what the Bible has to say, but when you examine your moral compass, you would realize the most of what you have to guide you as far as morality is concern, is predicated upon the Hebrew Scriptures.

12. Nothing Compares To You, Heaven, Imagination Avatar
    Nothing Compares To You, Heaven, Imagination

13. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

The Yacht Club at Port St. Charles is the latest restaurant to join the re-DISCOVER programme. http://www.re-discover.com

14. Simple Simon:
    When one of our idiot children go and stab a tourist in st Lawrence Gap, then all of us help stab that man!! That is my point. I do not care where he comes from he belongs to all of us Barbadians!! So when you or other Barbadians do not control your progeny this is what happens!!

15. Right in the heart of Dover / St Lawrence Gap. This should woo plenty of the sought after Chinese Visitors.
    https://www.flickr.com/photos/83717797@N04/14283429638/

16. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad