Submitted by Danny Gill
Danny Gill - NUPW member
Danny Gill – NUPW member

With regard to the recently retrenched workers at the NCC, a meeting for National Council of the NUPW was called. The General Secretary, Dennis Clarke, spoke to issues emanating from that retrenchment. These included, as he indicated: a breach of a Cabinet Policy of โ€œlast in first outโ€; breaches of the Employment Rights Act; an unwillingness by the NCC to sit and discuss the situation; beach of the CTUSAB Protocols; breach of an ILO Convention 158; and the appearance that the retrenchment process was biased in the favour of employees who could be viewed as constituents of the Minister with responsibility for the NCC.

What peeked my attention during the meeting was when I was asked by a fellow Councillor if I had received a call alerting me of the meeting. I replied in the negative. When the General Secretary began his list of grievances with the lamentations about people who could continue to attack him on the front page of the Nation Newspaper or on the blog, I realized why I possibly did not receive any calls from the NUPW on my cell or landline to alert me of the meeting.

From what I heard coming from the General Secretary, I had some concern that if the NUPW was not careful, the rights of those retrenched workers at the NCC would not be protected. Having sat down with the Labour Office, the General Secretaryโ€™s next move in the process must be a complaint to the Chief Labour Officer requesting that the Tribunal be set up to resolve the impasse between the NUPW and the NCC. The General Secretary seems to be of the belief that a meeting chaired by the Minister of Labour would have some impact on the impasse, but the Minister of Labour is not the administrator of the ACT; that power resides in the Office of the Chief Labour Officer. The only part of the Act that makes any reference to the Minister is in respect to making regulations.

Furthermore, when the NUPW makes the complaint to begin the process to convene the Tribunal, the Union has to make a case as to why its members have been unfairly dismissed. This is where the General Secretaryโ€™s arguments get very, very weak. His main defense, by what he said, lies in the fact the Cabinet of Barbados has posited the policy of โ€œlast in first outโ€, but what the NUPW has to clearly demonstrate is that this policy applies to Statutory Boards. For the purposes of the Employment Rights Act, Statutory Boards are treated in the same way as the private sector. Furthermore, the Act absolves ministries from its domain.

The NUPW has also to clearly demonstrate its political bias thesis, for many of the employees who went home were from St. Lucy, the constituency of the Ministerโ€™s fellow Cabinet Minister. Emotional outbursts by Wayne Walrond shall not be enough. Furthermore, the Act provides that before workers are dismissed that consultations must be conducted with the workers or their representatives at least six weeks before any one is dismissed. If that process did not occur, that may be the only ground for the NUPW to prevail in a case of unfair dismissal.

The General Secretary seems settled on the point that the retrenched workers were not given the proper paper work at the time of their retrenchment. However, if that is the basis of the Unionโ€™s complaint, those NCC worker shall remain retrenched, for the Act provides for the Tribunal only to order that proper documentation be provided, but in that case, no decision to reinstate would be possible. Obviously what the Union wants is a decision to rehire, but that can only come when the Union makes an appropriate complaint which would logically lead to such a decision. Given the current course, the General Secretary is taking, and if the process is not handled correctly, there is a possibility that even with a strong case, the NCC workers can remain retrenched.

As I sat there, it was clear that apart from the emotional hysteria and collective bargaining wishing and hoping that the General Secretary had not, or could not, make a solid case for strike action to be taken against the NCC or in the wider public service.

214 responses to “Dennis Clarke, Please Provide the NUPW Membership with a Proper Reason to Strike!”

1. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Danny Gill

I do not know why you are acting surprised to discover that Dennis Clarke is a bluffer. I have drawn that to your attention over the years but apparently you wanted to find out for yourself. Once you have sat in a meeting with Clarke making a presentation it becomes obvious that he does not have a clue.

2. Caswell:

I would say not that he is exactly a bluffer, but when it comes the Employment Rights Act, I believe that Dennis is just repeating the snip bits he picked up when the Act was being discussed, and he might not have read the full, final version, as it was believed that that Act did not concern the public service personnel; it was supposed to be more for the private sector.

Furthermore, Dennis seems to be operating as if the only bastion of industrial relations resides with him. It is like the Unions in the 1950s when most of the membership were functionally illiterate. In fact as I sat there I recognized that Dennis was like an one eyed man in a blind man land!!

3. Hamilton Hill Avatar

This is a very simple matter. The union, or should I say the Decision makers of the NUPW screwed its members and are now trying desperately to save face in the eyes of the public. All you members need to strike on your own, but against this union. The high handed actions of this circus clown gathering that now run the affairs of our country started long before the first phase of the retrenchment program, yet no steps were taken to safeguard the interest of those from whom this union was taking fees.Your beef is with your leadership and not with those walking gingerly on an economic trapeze.

4. @Danny

Surely at this stage there must be like minded members?

5. Hamilton Hill:

During the election of the last Executive, the Maloney team actually was telling the membership that a vote for the Danny Gill Team would mean that workers would be sent home. The workers in the Beatify Barbados Program were shuttled to the Airport and NUPW H’Q to vote for the Maloney Team. And a large part of the membership showed little or no interest in the election, so we are getting what was voted for!!

The DLP pundits here like Fractured BLP were on this blog celebrating another victory for the DLP!! But I believe that if the Government knew that it was dealing with a Union which was more concerned about the rights of the membership, the retrenchment process would have been more transparent.

6. @Danny

What is your position on the need for government to retrench.

7. David:

The history of the NUPW is one where a certain faction of the membership has cornered the process in the union to their benefit. The other members are only concerned when there is a crisis. Like minded people are castigated until they run, but their problem is that as a friend of mine once said to me “I run from no man.”

Right now nobody wants to discuss the financial impact of this retrenchment, but they will come to me secretly trying to get me bring it up at Council.Nobody wants to discuss the leadership crisis that we now have, but they would gripe about the General Secretary over staying his time on the job!!!

8. David:

I believe that he Government had to do the retrenchment; however, I also believed that it should have been done with more consultation and openness. It is my opinion that the union leadership did not do enough to ensure the rights of the members were maintained.

9. David;

I have been witness to the crying and strain put on the civil servants who had to say to others that they have to go home. I know it was not a pleasant exercise, but I also believe that with enough information and workers not believing that they were targeted in some way, it could have been better. Bush Tea’s boy Robert Ross would have been a wonderful asset for this moment!!

10. Poor Dennis………….I am actually feeling sorry for him nowadays.

To see him begging for an audience with a manager of a statutory board was downright pathetic. Can you imagine what action the unions would have taken if under a BLP government, a NCC boss had treated the union so disrespectfully did last week………bearing in mind the poor excuse given ……..he was on the phone while the union waited for three hours outside? Dennis would have said……hell no…….we going on strike.

But Dennis, if you sleep with dogs, you will get fleas! You sold the workers out in secret with the wild boys. Now you reaping your just rewards. And to think the garrison wild boys then turn around and laugh at you behind your back……………..now Dennis, you know that was not nice, you helped them out by selling out the workers and then they laugh at you!

I feel your pain but you deserve it!

11. A friend of mine who works in the service told me that government went about this retrenchment all wrong. The person said that there were a lot of workers close to retirement age and who have in “their” years who would have liked to go but these people were saying no one asked them. So?

12. look a wunna no body being screwed…. the country was being screwed fyh years and no body say nothing…now the tables are turned every man and jack looking out fuh self ,,,its not about wunna so called impotent retards,,, its is about saving the country,,now everybody can take a back seat fuh a few years and give the country some time to reconstruct and stabilize,,,,,,,jesus,,,,,meeee meeeee meee,

13. Danny —I do see why you think that Dennis Clarke knew any thing about industrial relations,he kept selling out the workers for all these years ,now he wants to sell them out again by hoping to get his underhand partner Walter Ma money Maloney appointed General Secretary of the NUPW.-well if that should ever happen then the union will be fully broken .
    can any one see why LIME will employ a copper salesman or a bank/financial instruction having Jessie and James as their top financial managers
    mr .Gill the members of the NUPW got the management and Executive that they wanted .Ma money and the one foot man Dennis Clarke along with the sheepish council had a lot of lies to say doing the last Union elections but up to now Walter Maloney has not paid back the Union its Money in regards to the $18000 cell phone bill or the bar bills
    The union so call leaders at NUPW has used that organisation to see /travel the world ,to see how many women they can have sex with through the Caribbean and most of all to be rich over night .None of them are interesting in the welfare of the workers =now the NUPW should have been keeping noise with the minister Lowe from the time he made those foolish remarks but that is the same Minister who sent the bus loads of workers to vote for the underhand Maloney –do any one recall Ma-money calling for the Board at NHC to be fired ,Maloney cannot attack his cousin in law Dennis Lowe ,but he wants the N C C board fired but he has a point in that the NHC board should have been fired when they moved an uncertified/unqualified clerk to act as a marketing manager -keep singer for you supper ma money

14. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

When the Government came to office in 2008, some were already saying that there were too many people employed by the Government. I do not subscribe to that view but for argument sake let’s say that was the case. The new administration was forced into a situation, having been away from the purse strings for 14 years, where they had to provide work for the long-suffering party faithful. Coupled with the world recession that indiscriminate employment of yardfowls put too much pressure on the finances of the country.

Also, rather than go after the more than $1 billion in tax arrears, these nincompoops went on a campaign of raising taxes which brought in less revenue. As a result, they had difficulty meeting current commitments including salaries. Even in this situation,as the 2008 general elections approached, these power hungry fools employed even more people in the public sector in order to win.

The weight of their incompetence was too much to bear and the economy is on the verge of collapse, and the corrective measure that is best known to a DLP government is retrenchment.

To cut a long story short, the Government created the situation that made the retrenchment of public workers necessary.

15. EErice:

You seem to have more information than I do.

16. @Caswell

Given the exogenous shock which the local economy has had to endure perhaps exacerbate and not create is a better description.

By adopting a political motivated recruitment policy and increasing taxes in an economy which needed stimulus i.e. spending to generate commercial activity and to promote confidence in the private sector. Looking back there is a case that there were miscalculations by the government, the one year idle time when Thompson was on sick bed added to the mess.

How do we get out, this government was voted a second term.

17. Smooth Chocolate Avatar
    Smooth Chocolate

it is obvious that Dennis Clarke and the union are aware that john public knows that they do not and NEVER will work on behalf of its members who are paying them. it is glaringly obvious now so they assumed that the NCC workers are imbeciles who would firmly believe that they are helping them,.. the union is quite aware that this crap at meeting to negotiate will NOT yield any fruits but never-the-less, they press on with their feign pretense of looking out for its members

18. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

You must realise that the Government is not directing the show in Barbados. The IMF has determined that the public service was overstaffed by 6,000 people. Even though Freundel Stuart announced, at a meeting at Hilda Skeene School on October 13, 2013, that Government had realised enough savings from the cutbacks so there would have been no need to lay off any workers. Apparently, the PM did not check with the IMF before he made that comment and they still insisted on the lay-offs in order to sign off on Government’s restructuring programme.

19. @Caswell

It is too late now, confidence has returned to buy Barbados debt in response to the cuts. We are free to borrow.

20. danny –when I go to pay my dues i often take the time to speck with the staff and members .that’s how I knew of the plan to easy Maloney in as General Secretary and that he has not repaid this depts.
    This is the same MA-money who stated that Government needed to cut loose the middle class

21. EErice:

As I said I do not of this move to put Walter as the General Secretary. However, if it is tried, how do the perpetrators get over Maloney’s lack of formal training in industrial relations. Being the President for three terms does not suddenly convey this knowledge to a person.

22. @Danny

So you are about a more transparent process accepting that the workers had to go home anyway?

23. What advice/suggestions do you give to the workers?

Having paid union dues for years and now on the breadline, and of course the Union will not be paid since staff is terminated, what advice do you give to the employed?

Does it make any sense continuing to pay union dues?

For the retrenched workers, are we advised to ensure to report to NIS and discontinue paying our Union pending outcome on discussions?

Will negotiations continue now on our behalf although we are not paying union dues?

24. No-one is saying how this retrenchment has impacted financially on the Unions.

Did any of the Unions retrench its workers during this time? Was there a major conscious shift in spending in these Unions to safeguard the jobs of their workers?

25. Brief:
    Although the retrenched workers can not now pay their dues, the union MUST still continue to fight for their rights.

The Union has not retrenched any of its office workers in response to losing membership fees because of the retrenchment. However, I understand that the General Secretary is busy developing a new job. I did not see the proposal come to the National Council yet, but I shall utterly opposed to such a scandalous move!!

My concern is for the NCC workers to follow the process to ensure their rights. if the General Secretary does not file a complaint to convene the Tribunal, then workers according to the Act can file their own complaint with the Chief Labor Officer and seek the Tribunal’s ruling to reinstate them. But these workers have 3 months to do so from the date of the retrenchment.

26. BU understands Sir Leroy Trotman is recuperating from surgery. We wish him all the best.

27. David:

I join with you in wishing him the best.

28. David:

A more transparent retrenchment process would have allowed, if the NUPW had insisted, the various shop stewards to communicate what was about to happen to the workers. All the particular of the retrenchment were kept safely in the bosom of the General Secretary and the Executive.

For instance, the General Secretary is always on about the “last in first out” rule; he continues to say it is a Cabinet decision, but it was never presented to the National Council. I like the others took his word that the document existed. I have never seen it. Even at the last meeting, he did not even wave a piece of paper to suggest that it existed!!

29. I wish him (Sir Leroy Trotman) a speedy recovery.

30. Danny:

How then can workers expect NUPW to file a complaint to Tribunal?

Shouldn’t these workers represent themselves now as individuals? Will it be worth it to go to the Tribunal?

The two items are separate (1) retrenchment and (2) Barbados now being able to get a loan on international market:

but, will the Tribunal take into account the process was breached and order compensation of employees being a creature of the same Government who released them to project savings to meet an end (securing loans on the international market)?

Will it not make more sense then to go to the Court?

31. Brief:

Remember the role of the Tribunal is to look at the case to see if the workers were indeed unfairly dismissed. Their best case, the NUPW workers, is that the consultation that should have taken place six weeks before the retrenchment did not happen. That is a clear breach of the ACT.When the Tribunal rules in their favor, it has the power to reinstate them and the NCC would have to start the retrenchment process all over.

My difficulty though is that I am being told that the BWU was consulting for all the workers at the NCC; if that is so, then the NUPW workers could have a problem because the BWU did have consultations with the NCC. However, the NUPW workers can maintain that they did not confer to the BWU any right to negotiate for them!!

32. Brief:
    When the NUPW workers win their case, it does not mean that the NCC can not start a fresh retrenchment program. However, this time it has to be more transparent! Then the NCC has to justify sending home people with more years and keeping people with less years. They must present criteria.

33. Hamilton Hill Avatar

For the good of all retrenchment of some was necessary lets say, the million dollar question is still how does your union permit its members to be severed empty handed without a modicum of pressure being applied in these hard ass times? On whose behalf are these vultures working? …@ Danny Gill…like Fractured BLP I too celebrated when this government won.However when people of my ilk are crying daily and those cries continue to fall on deaf ears it becomes difficult to offer support and still maintain a clear conscience. The CCG is clearly less experienced but just as callous as the Owen Arthur led BLP.

34. Hamilton Hill:

You may have misread what I wrote. I said that the DLP supporters on this blog like Fractured BLP rejoiced when Maloney won and treated his victory as a DLP victory. The thread is there for all to see.

The retrenched workers are not supposed to go empty handed the Employment Rights Act dictates how much time must be paid for with respect to weekly, bi weekly and monthly paid workers.

35. St George's Dragon Avatar

I also wish Sir Leroy Trotman a speedy recovery from his surgery. I also wish him a similarly speedy retirement.

36. All this hullabaloo can be summed up quickly. The Union leaders ain’t give a damn about workers being sent home. Sir Roy retiring and will be getting nuff money until he dead. Dennis of the NUPW retiring and will be getting nuff money til death do he part. The politicians who are just waiting until the pension date comes ain’t give two hoots. This is the reason why this country is at its lowest point. Come next year, the government nipples will be all dried up and all de bald pooch cats will be close to starvation due to the selfish behaviour of our Union and political leaders. Opps. I forget the Unions are politically focused – more ambassadors on its way.

37. This is the right time in Barbados for as many very politically conscious active country first people as possible in the country to form social political organizations that will directly make sure that they become PARTNERS/PART-OWNERS in the enterprises in which they currently operate.

This is the time for the broad masses and middle classes to really help create not just a new entrepreneurial class in this country, but a newly and entirely evolved entrepreneurial society for Barbados as part of the basis for creating a world class society for the country.

What this necessitates is the total and outright dismissal of the vulgarity, the backwardism, the ossie moorism of trade unionism and trade unions from the political landscape of this country.

Trade unions serve no useful purpose what so ever in the continued social existence of this country.

Their principal, wicked and horrendous objective is to make sure that – rather stupidly and abominably – many otherwise vibrant productive people in this country (especially unionized workers) see their fullest professional commercial potential being realized by being workers in this country.

What sickness and madness!!

Trade unions must go in this country!!

38. Tell me why-Dennis will not get no nuff money until death do part my understanding and Caswell can confirm it that Dennis took out his pension years ago from the NUPW ,that why he has been trying to work pass the legal requirement age ,now he is wishing and hoping the his LODGE brother MA-money get the job as general secretary so that he can be a consultant to nupw –crooks setting up schemes to get more money -by the way I have left for New York this afternoon the JETBLUE flight was great ,but before I left I was told by a air traffic officer that cedric Murrell ran away from the lashes that he got on the Blog from those who were calling for his registration and the Auditing of the CTUSAB and NUPW funds by the Auditor General -well these books has not been audited but the pressure has been working or has worked .
    By the way DANNY GILL I am told that Dennis Clarke wants to take that car with him when he leaves NUPW with out paying for it .
    You councillors better check to ensure that the receipts are in the NUPW name ,check on all aspects of the purchase of that car and the arrangement of it for Dennis Clarke told me approx. two years ago that when he leaving he taking it that what he and Walter did to JOE GODDARD will not happen to him .I will be back in Barbados on the 2rd of June but I shall checking in on this blog since I will have my ipad with me .

39. David | May 11, 2014 at 6:42 PM |
    @Caswell

“It is too late now, confidence has returned to buy Barbados debt in response to the cuts. We are free to borrow.”

David if you believe this, you will believe anything! I hope that the cloud-cuckoo-land that you seem to inhabit has not lured the majority of bajans to its shores. Just because the 1991 adjustment process was relatively brief is no ground for thinking that a real turnaround in today’s bimmyconomy is around the corner. There are a few more bends and dead ends ahead.The RHOSA years have so changed the fundamentals of our economy, that its current sickness can’t be cured by just a tweak of the teat here and there!

Owen Arthur failed to understand what the 1991 program was all about, as did many would-be political leaders. They have shown a dismal failure to understand the script. Arthur’s economic common sense conflicts with his desire to remain Bim’s “forever leader.” And Honey MAM doesn’t have a clue! More is the pity that she has to rely on the metronomic econometrician Muh-ass-cull.

No wonder the leaders of the BWU and the NUJPW are confused! I wish Sir Roy as full and complete a recovery as Dennis. has been!

40. @LHarper

Tell us what the 1991 program was all about.

And you need to appreciate sarcasm.

41. It has much worse for the retrenched NCC workers than I had feared. It was never mentioned that the Union had prior consultations with the NCC and was told the basis of the retrenchment. That is confirmed by the Nation Newspaper this morning.

I now is why the General Secretary is stuck on the details of the letters which the NCC workers received. I now see why there is no rush to go to the Tribunal. The Union’s case is weak. I now see why there is this big move to talk about strike action!! This last in first out policy seems like the straw which is being grasped by a drowning man!!

Again, General secretary come up with a proper reason to strike. Do not use strike action to cover up your failings!!

42. EErice:

I do not have any information on the details of the car which the General Secretary drives. I do know it was bought by funds from the NUPW and remains the property of the NUPW. But if he is thinking that he can leave with it, then he would have the police at his door investigating the theft of the property of the NUPW.

43. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

L . Harper

You wrote:

No wonder the leaders of the BWU and the NUJPW are confused! I wish Sir Roy as full and complete a recovery as Dennis. has been!

Don’t be so sarcastic, you know that Dennis’ recovery was not complete: his faculties were left even more impaired.

I am not mean and I am still hoping that Dennis makes a full recovery. Mind you, his full capacity was not much to speak of in the first place.

44. Danny-I see that you have referred after the today’s Nation Paper ; is thp is the same paper that that Crook Dennis Clarke called and say that he finish giving them stories , well when you read what is reported and what he has been saying then a baby that was just born would have done more ever a baby that was born still birth would have done much better ,there will be no strike none what so ever ,
    @caswell you have been very kind in your last post to that crook Dennis Clarke ,please let me enjoy my vocation in NY with the grand children
    Caswell and Danny becarefull,Dennis have friends at the Cement plant ,he may get some more free cement but this time to place as a big Blockage from you two
    BTW can Dennis Clarke tell us about the parts that were paid for ,for that car but the car was never off the road ,
    can he also tell us if any family members of his has a similar car ,which came into the island broken down ,
    can he also tell us what claims that was made to the insurance company after the accident his son had . .

45. just want to know Avatar
    just want to know

Many of the people who were removed since the beginning of the year have not been paid yet, how come?

46. Just want to know:

I guess that the funds were not voted for last year or the various ministries or boards just do not have the funds right now. But as long as theses workers have been working for more than a year, the Employment Rights Act sets out what monies they should get.

47. EErice;

You enjoy your vacation and do not let this situation cause you to have about of ill health!!

48. Local media is reporting this evening that NUPW will be calling workers on Wednesday.

49. David:

It seems that the General Secretary has boxed himself into a collective bargaining corner, and he is trying his damnest to box himself out of it. I do not see any strike action having any impact unless the powers that be feel for Dennis and give some ground and allow him a small victory.

Could you indicate what exactly was said ; was there a call for the NCC or the public service?

50. What is so futile about this is that the NUPW does not have a strike fund. The BWU was in position to give the sugar workers something but the finances of the NUPW is in such a mess there is nothing to assist any one!!

When you are contemplating a strike these are things that have to be considered. But the old model is to run out and then beg the government to pay for the days on strike.