Submitted by Lemuel
...Class of 1969 (Professor Henry Fraserโ€™s Class) 50% went to the US to do their internship and most of them never returned...
Class of 1969 (Professor Henry Fraserโ€™s Class) 50% went to the US to do their internship and most of them never returned

The University of the West Indies (UWI) was established in 1948. Currently, it has full campuses in Jamaica, Trinidad and Barbados. The Mona Medical Faculty started in 1948 with 33 students. To date, the UWI has produced over 7,000 medical graduates. In 2008, the Cave Hill Campus took the bold step to establish a full faculty of medical sciences.

History

The UWI took over from Codrington College, which was the only institution that offered higher education at the degree level by 1953. Degrees in the Classics, Humanities and Theology were offered. All of this was done in affiliation with Durham University. However, it should be noted that the primary intent of the Codrington Will was to ensure that the College would have offered medical degrees. It is not clear why that was not done.

Therefore, any Caribbean national seeking medical education had to journey to Canada, the UK and the US. By September 1946, with an affiliation with the University of London, a medical school was set up in Mona, Jamaica. Over 600 students applied for entry, but only 33 were accepted after enduring a โ€œspecial entrance examinationโ€ and interviews.

By the 1960s, although UWI had expanded the medical school to accommodate more entrants, a large number of its graduates did not remain in the Caribbean. For example, in the Class of 1969 (Professor Henry Fraserโ€™s Class) 50% went to the US to do their internship and most of them never returned.

By 1967, Trinidad expanded its capacity and the St. Augustine Campus emerged. This expansion also allowed further access to medical training by Caribbean applicants. However, the St. Augustine Campus was not allowed to expand into a full medical faculty. Barbados followed suit, and the Mona Campus then expanded its capacity to increase its student numbers. Because the Trinidad and Barbados medical schools did not have a full medical school status, it was agreed in 1974 that both Campuses would facilitate students to complete their 4th and 5th years.

So by 2008, the Cave Hill Campus only had a School of Clinical Medical Research, and it would have been 40 years that Cave Hill was facilitating the completion of the two finals years for medical students. All of this was accomplished at the Queen Elizabeth Hospital. The St. Augustine Campus also morphed into the Eric Williams Medical Sciences Complex by 1989.

Hence, in 2008 and after 40 years of providing facilities for the final 2 years, the Cave Hill Campus took what is now regarded as the bold step to morph into a full Faculty of Medical Sciences. The Government of Barbados approved the process and provided a Bds$ 25 million loan to accomplish the physical expansion.

A business plan was developed and produced by the University Business Office and Ernst and Young. The Business Plan projected that the medical school would funded by:

• The University Grants Committee,
  • Tuition from private students,
  • Endowments and donations, and
  • The expansion of the existing student number from 40 or 50 to 100 in four or five years.

Reasons for the development of the full medical faculty at Cave Hill:

• The economic cost for student at Cave Hill was Bds$ 75, 000 a year. This cost was more than Mona or St. Augustine, and there were only 25 students per class.
  • Students from the Eastern Caribbean were not applying.
  • Only Barbadian student were registered.
  • Mona and St. Augustine only accepted 1 in 5 or less applicants and were concentrating more on attracting international students.
  • A huge demand from international students.
  • By expanding, Cave Hill would be in a position to utilize its spare capacity and reduce its economic costs.
  • More spaces for students from the Eastern Caribbean could be accommodated at Cave Hill.
  • Both Mona and St. Augustine had expanded the intake to 200 annually.

Benefits

It was expected that the following benefits would have accrued:

• Lower economic costs from Bds $ 75, 000.00
  • Expanded medical training places
  • Improve Cave Hillโ€™s reputation
  • Improve the critical mass of faculty staff
  • A full five year medical program
  • Expanded post graduate medical training programs
  • Development of a degree program in Biomedical science

I have provide the facts as detailed by the University of the West Indies Strategic Plan 2007 โ€“ 2012 and an article by Professor Henry Fraser, which was published in the West Indian Medical Journal in 2008.

101 responses to “Whither the School of Medical Sciences at Cave Hill!”

1. @Bushie

We are all aware, and we hope Margaret Sivers is as well, doctors maintain two ‘books’.

On Sunday, 27 April 2014, Barbados Underground wrote:

2. LOL Ha Ha …oh Shiite!!! …….hear Dompey…
    ++++++++++++
    “As for Bush Tea: we havenโ€™t as yet invented the appropriate terminology to properly describe this twisted character. I am down to my last brain cell and trying my best to figure out what makes this character function in flesh.”
    First thing donkey, …it is not as though you have that many brain cells….your last one is actually quite near to your first…..so stop trying to ‘figure out’ Bushie before you hurt yourself…. ๐Ÿ™‚

Second, there is no need to INVENT any terminology to describe Bushie…the bushman has ALREADY provided the terminology….
    Bushie is one of BBE’s boys…..what more do you want? A miracle?

3. Lemuel

I am afraid I do not share your pessimism, regarding the young mind in Barbados. Because if India, which was arguably, one of the poorest countries in the world some fifty years could do it. Then certainly, there is hope and optimism for the young minds in Barbados Lemuel.

4. Bushie:

You have not factored in the “old boys club” which operates in the Caribbean that will never allow the field of medical education to be accessed by any tom fool or henry winkle. So that graduate for each house hold model is for the humanities not medicine or law. You are fooling yourself.

Don’t think I am going to be side tracked by those kinds of attacks; I am not Georgie. Come again Bush Man. I aint no Dompey. You are a real bald pouch attacker. I can not do the smilie thing or I would send one!

5. Dompey

What are you talking about?

6. @Lemuel

It goes back to a leadership vacuum, the tail is wagging the dog. The UWI’s plan has to feed off a national and regional strategic plan. This is where leadership should be coming from Caricom.

7. Dompey…..I am told you can also get a neurological test, NCV, done in Barbados, using a computer,shock and needles, heard they are very accurate….kudos.

8. Lemuel
    ….don’t miss the point
    Bushie is NOT saying that riff raff are inducted into the medical field, but that the school was CREATED to attract the hoards who dream of being doctors …and set for life.
    OBVIOUSLY, with a target roll of 50, and a natural high demand, the academic standard would be high….but Sir Cave’s bill to us brass bowl taxpayers would be EVEN HIGHER…… $$$$$$

…and leave out the smiley thingy bozie….there is a Jack donkey blogger blamed Boremann who does catch a fit when you LOL or ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚
    Ha Ha Ha

9. Bushie:

I thought that Easter smoke had gone to your head. I can agree with the last point but ONLY that last point! The old boys club was getting very scared by Cuba’s policy of training nuff nuff doctors, and they have Sparman to contend wid, with him actually lowering the cost of medical care for heart disease.

10. Who are the two doctors before the medical council?

Obviously Sparman must be one of them?

11. Why does Lemuel want Bajan Scholars/Exhbition winners, one and the same, to be stuck in Barbados where they do not have many options to spread their wings and expand their brain cells, but only stagnate in a society that hates creativity……I know scholars studying disciplines in countries around the world that would take UWI another 50 years to understand not to mention be able to pay professors to teach, all the while Lemuel wants students to come to Barbados in droves so they can spend their money and enrich the island, India, China, Japan, US, Canada, England, Trinidad etc, exports their students by the hundreds yearly, all may not return but alot do……..sounds kinda strange.

12. Well

We do our undergraduate medical program very well. These winners can go unto their graduate studies any where they want and at the same time save the government money. We spend enormous sums sending these students all over the world but then they go and live somewhere else and Barbados does not benefit.

Well Well if you do not understand this business stay out of it. It is not as simplistic as you would want to make it.

13. Lemuel…….it appears you are speaking about med students only, still there are some specialties of medicine that IS NOT done in Barbados, telling me staying out of it will not solve the problem, nothing is simple or simplistic particularly when you are dealing with people whose minds are warped and stagnated, I understand their are med students in Barbados who graduated and interned and cannot be placed, WHY?? Barbados has ONE frigging hospital, so tell me, where would you have those new doctors go? and work for Seale, SY Adams…..As far as i know the scholars who leave Barbados (some were my relatives) are more than happy to contribute but are told upon their return to Barbados “you think you could come back here and change things, you better go back where you come from’ so don’t try to feed me bullshit Lemuel, I know much better.

14. Georgie Porgie Avatar

I find much of the above very amusing- especially by those who think they know and have gone off at a tangent.

There is a man who owned two of the leading offshore schools in the Carribean. He spent 20 years at Ross and learned the offshore school buisness before he made his move. As the geru, he said that having 90 students is the break even point.His schools were both booked up two years in advance

Since 2002, when I first started teaching at these schools over 20 new schools have started. UWI, Mona, which previously catered to West Indians have expanded the physical plant and the intake to include overseas students.

15. Well Well
    That is unfortunate that that happened to your family. However, get me carefully, Barbados does a very good job with the undergraduate degree in medicine. Obviously, if these graduates wanted to specialized they would have to go overseas. However, they should pay for their specialization not the tax payers of Barbados, unless they are coming back here to practice which means the government would have sponsored them to do the specific specialization.

If an individual wants to specialize in whatever out side of what is needed here then he or she should pay for it. If that is bull shit , I am very sorry. If the only one hospital needs x number of GP why train Z number?

16. Everybody I am taking a break to eat something.

17. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad

Lawyers should never ask a Georgia grandma a question if they aren’t prepared for the answer.

In a trial, a Southern small-town prosecuting attorney called his first witness, a grandmotherly, elderly woman to the stand. He approached her and asked, ‘Mrs. Jones, do you know me?’ She responded, ‘Why, yes, I do know you, Mr. Williams. I’ve known you since you were a boy, and frankly, you’ve been a big disappointment to me. You lie, you cheat on your wife, and you manipulate people and talk about them behind their backs. You think you’re a big shot when you haven’t the brains to realize you’ll never amount to anything more than a two-bit paper pusher. Yes, I know you.’

The lawyer was stunned. Not knowing what else to do, he pointed across the room and asked, ‘Mrs. Jones, do you know the defense attorney?’

She again replied, ‘Why yes, I do. I’ve known Mr. Bradley since he was a
    youngster, too. He’s lazy, bigoted, and he has a drinking problem. He can’t build a normal relationship with anyone, and his law practice is one of the worst in the entire state. Not to mention he cheated on his wife with three different women. One of them was your wife. Yes, I know him.’

The defense attorney nearly died.

The judge asked both counselors to approach the bench and, in a very quiet voice, said,

‘If either of you idiots asks her if she knows me, I’ll send you both to the electric chair.
    DBLP will face the same thing, if they ever go to court….

18. @GP

How do we compare the standard between UWI and the offshore schools?

Are the facilities comparable etc?

19. Georgie Porgie Avatar

No comparison. The Americans go at a quicker pace. Inconceivable how students can learn anything.But their system is not designed to produce the basic alround doctor but to produce slaves for what they call a residency–in which you specialize.

Have a friend a surgeon from the Univerity of Kenya who was put to teach Anatomy in 4 months. He was accustomed to doing it thoroughly in 18 months.

I thank god that I went ti UWI. THE EXTERNAL EXAMINERS SPOKE HIGHLY OF OUR STUDENTS CLINICAL SKILLS

20. Georgie Porgie Avatar

FACILITIES ARE GENERALLY POOR EXCEPT THE VERY BEST SCHOOLS.
    IN THE YEAR I TAUGHT AT AIMU THERE WERE NO CADAVERS TO TEACH THE ANATOMY DISSECTIONS, AND STUDENTS WERE GENERALLY PASSED WHO FAILED EXAMS. THIS TO PREVENT THEM FROM TRANSFERRING TO OTHER SCHOOLS

21. Thanks GP, so the question for the guys at UWI selling to the world is to show how UWI is different vis a vis offshore?

22. Georgie Porgie Avatar

UWI NEEDS TO ADVERTISE THEIR MBBS PROGRAM TO STUDENTS FROM COUNTRIES OF THE WORLD THAT DO THE MBBS, AND WHO CAN NOT GET INTO THEIR OWN SCHOOLS BECAUSE OF CORRUPTION ETC

23. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad

One response to โ€œIf tourism is our main economic engine, letโ€™s ban billboards on the ABC Highwayโ€

If tourism is our main economic engine, letโ€™s ban billboards on the ABC Highway

Barbados billboards
    Sign the petition today@  And We can post our fraud lookout WARNINGS

We the residents of and visitors to Barbados do not want to see billboards on the ABC Highway. We respectfully insist that any current or future proposal to erect billboards on the ABC Highway must be subject to an Environmental Impact Assessment to evaluate the negative impacts on road safety, nearby property values, hurricane preparedness, scenic environment and tourism.

Sign the petition HERE

Barbados Environment Minister Denis Lowe, DLP Government โ€“ Plan To Build On Graeme Hall WetlandsIn โ€œBarbados

Recent Posts
    If tourism is our main economic engine, letโ€™s ban billboards on the ABC Highway
    Win-Win situation? Luxury Link offers discounts for travelers and increase opportunities for Barbados hotels.@ MORE FRAUD.

Barbados โ€“ New Jersey Spring Fling coming May 25, 2014
    Trinidad grapples with corruption and misconduct by elected officials
    Genetically modified organisms (GMOs): Threat or salvation?
    Barbados China Friendship Association โ€“ Happy to not talk about Chinaโ€™s slave camps,
    Amnesty International says Barbados police torture prisoners
    The Chinese credit bubble โ€œChinaโ€™s economy dang
    Beggars Belief on Harlequin fraudste
    Aviation Barbados Barbados Tourism Blogging Business Business & Banking Celebrities Consumer Issues Corruption Cricket Crime & Law Culture & Race Issues Disaster Economy Environment Ethics Freedom Of Information Freedom Of The Press Health History Human Rights Island Life News Media Offshore Investments Police Political Corruption Politics Politics & Corruption Religion Traveling and Tourism
    Airline News Aviation Barbados Barbados Corruption Barbados Courts Barbados Crime Barbados Economy Barbados Election Barbados Environment Barbados Government Corruption Barbados Health Care Barbados History Barbados Human Rights Barbados Immigration Barbados Investment Barbados Justice System Barbados Police Barbados Political Corruption Barbados Politics Barbados Real Estate Barbados Tourism Barbados Tourism Authority Barbados Tourist Safety Building Collapse Canada China CL Financial CL Financial Bailout CL Financial Fraud CL Financial Scandal CLICO CLICO Bailout CLICO Barbados CLICO Fraud Conflicts of Interest Consumer Issues Corruption Crime Dave Ames Environment Ethics Freedom Of Information Freedom Of The Press Government Corruption Graeme Hall National Park Graeme Hall Nature Sanctuary Harlequin Hotels and Resorts Health History Human Rights Islam Leroy Parris LIAT Airlines Mia Mottley Money Laundering Music Offshore Banking Offshore Investments Owen Arthur Police Political Corruption .

CORRUPTION IS THE NUMBER ONE MONEY MAKER IN BARBADOS.
    SEE PROOF AT YOUR NEAREST LAWYER OFFICE AND REAL ESTATE OFFICE OF FRAUD NO- CLEAR TITLES CAN BE HAD,

24. @ DAVID & G P, THERE ARE A LOT OF STUDENTS IN CANADA WHO CAN’T GET INTO MEDICAL SCHOOL EVEN THOUGH THEY ARE A+ ACADEMICALLY.

UWI BARBADOS COULD TARGET THESE STUDENTS.

25. Lemuel…..the government PAY for children of the RICH to study, what is the damn difference.

26. @ DAVID & G P, THERE ARE A LOT OF STUDENTS IN CANADA WHO CAN’T GET INTO MEDICAL SCHOOL EVEN THOUGH THEY ARE A+ ACADEMICALLY.

UWI BARBADOS COULD TARGET THESE STUDENTS AS WELL AS STUDENTS FROM OTHER COUNTRIES.

27. Deeds:

I just love that lawyer joke. I never thought with all the fraud and thing that you had such humor within.

Well Well

If the children from poor families would learn something then they could be scholars like the rich who invest in lessons and other preparation from the 11+. We are caught up with being the next Rhiana and smoking crap like it out of style. The rich can send their pickney overseas for treatment but we have a paro paradise here for the poor with a dash of Jenkins!

28. Hants:

I agree and Georgie has been making that point. Cave Hill needs to know where it can source potential students. However, we must ensure that these student are safe. A recent incident would suggest that we are not paying enough attention to safety for these people. Like telling them Barbados is no paradise and there are places you should not go alone.

29. @Hants

Correct which is why GP was asked the question about how do we differentiate in our marketing effort.

30. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad Avatar

Lemuel | April 27, 2014 at 6:38 PM |

Deeds:

I just love that lawyer joke. I never thought with all the fraud and thing that you had such humor within@

THANKS , I am as real as they come. Yes plenty of Jokes and fun, Those who know Me cant believe that i a this age, No need to be an grump when its not needed,
    Many have said i should be the most VEX man on this Island , Understand and know when you are dealing with truth none can get you VEX nor mad ,We enjoy seeing them run and hide like little Bitches for the Sins they are still doing and the people pay the price in more TAXES and VAT , All will end soon , Hold us to out word, All you have to do is VOTE when you see up coming .

31. I hope that the brainiacs at UWI has done the cost comparison between fees at UWI and Universities in Canada.

Seems to me it cost twice as much in Canada.

32. Lemuel……the rich, i repeat, the rich in Barbados do not have to pay out of pocket for their children’s education if they do not want to, the taxpayers foot that bill, I don’t know which Barbados you live in, but it is a reality….so there is absolutely no difference whether the government funds specialized studies for scholars because they fund studies for kids of the rich.

33. Hants……slightly over twice, very nearly three times as much

34. Barbados has been educating people from all over the Caribbean.

Remember when the rich Venezuelans sent their children to private school in Barbados?

Create great schools and market them. Education is a commodity.

35. Hants and Well Well:

Somebody needs to talk to Prof. Branday; he took over from Prof Fraser. Or somebody needs to talk to Hilary, while he is selling repars he can sell the medical school.

Well Well:

We seem to be talking in different directions, and you are becoming frustrated. We need to connect.

36. Well Well:

If the rich are paying their taxes why shouldn’t their children benefit from the educational system. By the way, they only send their children to Harrisons, Queens or St. MIchael. Then it is private schools.

37. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad Avatar

Schools

The word DISTRICT is a code word for black and all other none whites in America , Means that these type of people children go to school there,
    Also as in WASHINGTON District of Columbia . DC

SCHOOL SYSTEM is a CODE word for where most white kids go to school,

Curriculum is what is different , but yet they both seem to take the same SAT.
    What information is leave out of the books and what is tested is to be the same no matter where you go , And even if you fail the test , they may move you on to the next grade
    The slave plantation is now McDs, BK , Walmart,Price Clubs, BJS and so on.
    The reason the children have summer time off ,is so that the big companies can have cheap , slave labor for the Summer , As in Summer JOBS and not Summer Work.
    The Word JOB pays less than WORK , SO ask for Work and not for JOB,

The Question is < Do we seem to have that In Barbados Also? Are all the books the same in all school and subjects? Most will never past what they never was taught.

38. In case you dont know Lemuel, if the kids of the rich in Barbados get a scholarship, they too are allowed to choose a university outside of Barbados at taxpayer’s expense, they do not have to pay if they choose not too, again, what is the difference to taxpayers funding specialized studies for scholarship winners. I don’t know if you ever lived in the US, but scholarships are for those who cannot afford to pay for university, not for the kids of rich people.

39. Lem……it might sound like frustration to you, but there was a method to the madness…….lol

40. Just because rich parents pay taxes does not mean taxpayers should pay for their children’s university education when they themselves can afford to do so, children of the poor who pay taxes and cannot afford university should be given preference, that is and will always be my point, i cannot see where it is fair to the taxpayers that a rich parent can afford university but it’s the taxpayers paying for their child’s education……it’s a little more than ass backwards.

41. Deeds:

The books are the same but the preparation differs. You do not have to bright to do well at the top schools. What I find is that even in our top schools critical thinking is lacking. And at times all of us a joyous about (Barbados Scholars) someone who just remembered more than the others with little thought to what was being remembered.

42. Well

I think we are back in business.

43. Well Well

They are bright people in the US, black, white, Hispanic, Haitian , there are scholarships for bright people in the US too. All scholarships are not developmental in nature.

44. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad Avatar

Lemuel | April 27, 2014 at 7:11 PM | @

Please understand the LITTLE ROCK 9
    THE so- whites did not want the poor so called blacks to see what the so called whites were learning in schools, It seem they needed time to remove the information. College of University level is were now the blacks had to go to see what they were learning for free, But the blacks did not have money to pay for the next level .
    New York State Constitution , says , the State will provide for free common school and a elementary education, Which is only to a 8th grade level, After 8th grade and age they dont care if you are in school or not, Be on the street and jail is next ,
    Is Barbados headed that way?

45. The main issue is the opportunity for Barbados to improve the “Education Industry.”

Selling Education is not a new idea..

46. Lemuel can you shed light on this project?

US group to open hospital focused on attracting medical tourists

The company currently is developing similar projects in the Dominican Republic and Barbados.

http://www.ticotimes.net/2014/04/28/us-group-to-open-hospital-focused-on-attracting-medical-tourists

47. @Vincent

Yes online will be integrated more and more but some disciplines will always require land based universities and also there is the optional experience for those who can acford it to experience cultural diversity.

48. David:

From what the Advocate carried when Wayne Kirton was running Invest Barbados, this is a group, American World Clinics, who leased or was supposed to lease the St. Joseph Hospital property. The project never got off the ground, as the group seem to have had some difficulty attracting investment.

Some of our eye specialists and dentists have a difficulty with the project as it could put more choices in the health market here.

49. Vincent:

There is a training process that happens through face to face that online can not replace. Even when courses are being run online in Europe there is normal practice to factor in a certain percentage of face to face. It is like moving from cape or A levels to a graduate degree with the experience of the bachelor.