Submitted by William Skinner
 “Mia Motley is being politically slaughtered by Owen Arthur because he is teaching her the age old truth”

As we continue to grapple with the floundering of the Democratic Labour Party and the blundering of the Barbados Labour Party, the collision of hypocrisy with reality stares us in the face. The inescapable truths are now haunting the apologists and desperate assortment of political henchmen and women, who never put Barbados before George or Roebuck Streets.

Mia Motley is being politically slaughtered by Owen Arthur because he is teaching her the age old truth: you cannot run with the hare and hunt with the hound. Arthur is bitter because he is confronting the harsh reality that his so-called economic management has in reality left the country no better off than he found it. He did not transform the society; he merely managed it competently and that is no great legacy to leave. Transformation is what both Grantley Adams and Errol Barrow achieved. Arthur will never and can never be seriously elevated to such heights. To put it mildly: Arthur became a ruthless self centered politician and conned the unsuspecting into believing that there was something called inclusion when in fact we all know it was nothing more than seduction and the opportunistic machinations of a frustrated group of young DLP politicians , who just did not want David Thompson to become Prime Minister of Barbados. He also easily seduced most of the rising talent that had emerged from within the ranks of the National Democratic Party.

Having squandered the chance to reclaim the government in 2013, Arthur on the night of the election made it known that he honestly believed that his chance for a second bite at the pie of power was sabotaged from within the ranks of his own party.

We are clear in our minds that he blames Mia Mottley for this. How can a candidate be accused or believed to have deployed resources and operatives to defeat his or her own party’s candidates and then expect to be given a clear path to Illaro Court?

On the Democratic Labour Party side, Stuart is confronting the reality that there is method to Estwick’s madness. Estwick had some scores to settle with Thompson and they had a lot to do with the same wrangling within the Democratic Labour Party by the group that wanted to destroy Thompson. Estwick cannot deny that he was more than familiar with some of Thompson’s arch enemies. His vengeance was always there. Had Thompson been still around Estwick’s rampage would have been more pronounced. Like Mascoll, Estwick is learning that it is really impossible to “deal” with Thompson now and there must be a valve to ease such a huge disappointment. Mascoll is left to re write the same column every week and Estwick allows his political mouth to foam whenever the pressure of disappointment becomes psychologically over bearing.

The rank and file of both parties is now politically dazed. The gravy train has suddenly stopped and the jobs that were there for the asking and taking have all but disappeared and they have disappeared for ever. Those who enjoyed fourteen years in the limelight are now confronted by the harsh truth that their days of easy living are over. They know on both sides that “being in opposition is not easy”. The Democratic Labour Party opportunists are learning that it is perhaps better, in our system of politics, to be in opposition than in a government with an essentially broke treasury! Both sides are feeling it. One is powerless and the other is broke.

The Prime Minister who all the pundits wrote off from day one is reaping sweet revenge! He has ignored them and they are restless. What Stuart has decided is that the Nation newspaper’s shareholders are not going to have their bottom lines increased by him. His Charlie Chaplin approach has been effective in that his critics have been forced to actually beg him to say something. He has elected wise or unwisely to treat them with contempt.

Mr. Sinkler, the Minister of Fine Ants is now talking about germs. He has failed to eradicate the germs that have infected the economy. It is obvious that Mottley has failed to eradicate the germs that have infected her leadership efforts.

Germs are in both houses.

64 responses to “BLP and DLP Political ‘Germfare’”

1. Owen - The Destroyer of the BLP Avatar
    Owen – The Destroyer of the BLP

There is not stopping Mia now, the DLP has ensured her rise to become the next Prime Minister of Barbados.

The great enemy of the BLP is OWEN SEYMOUR ARTHUR for it is he who says, “if its not me as PM then we stay in opposition”. How can a man without any teeth be so powerful?

2. …………………The Prime Minister who all the pundits wrote off from day one is reaping sweet revenge! He has ignored them and they are restless. What Stuart has decided is that the Nation newspaper’s shareholders are not going to have their bottom lines increased by him. His Charlie Chaplin approach has been effective in that his critics have been forced to actually beg him to say something. He has elected wise or unwisely to treat them with contempt…………………………………………..

No matter if Fumble likes it or not, some day he has to call elections……… whether it be in 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017 or 2018. Barbadians will come out en masse and show Fumble Stuart who gets the last laugh. The voters will then treat him with contempt. They will do unto him as he has done unto them.and oh what a day of rejoicing that will be.

3. I am just fed up with these idiots blaming the other side for this country’s problems. They have the power to reverse some of the stupid laws that were passed under the BLP government. Laws like not cutting civil servants salaries that was passed by the Arthur Administration. These are serious times and serious work must be done to help solve this island’s crisis. This law can be repelled and yet not one person has suggested this. They keep moaning that it is against the law to cut civil servants pay. What de rass are they in power for? If they decide to repel this law and the opposition opposes this motion then the opposition does not really have the interest of this island’s survival.
    Gasoline has gone up an additional dollar per gallon and I have not read that not one person in here has mentioned this. We have the municipal tax of 0.7% to be on stream soon and no one has heard on how this will implemented. One minister says there is an error with that tax and the MOF saying there is none. All of you who are armchair politicians are steady beating up on each other haven’t provided any solutions on how the population will be affected nor how they can organize to show their dissatisfaction with this new tax. Does this government believe that people have thousands of dollars sitting in the bank to pay this municipal tax. Yes we will be paying .70cts on every dollar on the value of our property. Do you all understand what this will do to the retired, the retrenched and the working class? This government is desperate for money and will resort to any and everything. The PM stubbornly refuses to remove the constituency councils, cut spending and fire his MOF who hasn’t a clue on what his job is. We have a Central Bank Governor that keeps changing and lying to the people of Barbados.
    Mia has warned us of the dire state of affairs of this island and yet many are more interested in beating up on each other, some trying to resurrect the dead and the half dead. Some on the BLP side are still trying to believe that Owen can save us or still has the strength to do so. Why are wunna still living in the past? The past has gone and will NEVER return we have to step forward and find new leadership. The opposition MUST promote integrity legislation for their survival. Our politics MUST take a new direction toward country first , our Judiciary and law enforcement MUST be transparent and fair.
    The government has done nothing to stimulate the economy, it continues to contract. No incentives for new businesses, agriculture and manufacturing. The bank rates have not fallen to encourage borrowing. The government has taxed the Credit Unions another tax on the people. When are we going to say enough is enough? Will we ever reach that point? Those who will blindly follow any political party will encourage these parties to run amok trampling our rights as citizens. Will the real men and women stand up to be counted?

4. […] David Submitted by William Skinner As we continue to grapple with the floundering of the Democratic […]

5. no vision ; people perish

6. Come on Skins; you can do better than this. What are you really trying to convey to readers? by the way, we are more grappling wit the BLUNDERING of the Democratic Labour Party than the FLOUNDERING of of the Barbados Labour Party,

7. @ David

It is always good to see the special insights of a William Skinner. However, we can not help but notice that his pieces seem never to get the prominence which they richly deserve and for as long. Especially when compared with certain regulars here. Those people who have not found their own voices and will peep round the corner to see if massa coming before any original ideas could be spawned, is there ever was one. And yes, while Skinner’s general theme today takes a well-trodden narrative, he unlike most, has been there and has done that political ‘thing’, we are regrettably obliged to state.

Mr Skinner could know, for example, how the pretend third party, the NDP, was sold to Arthur and the BLP for the proverbial bowl of political porridge. He may know that the membership of that party were reduced to mere AstroTurf, as the Americans like to say. More importantly, Mr. Skinner may have unique insights into the internal workings of the dominant political animals in Barbados. He may know! Certainly, anything he has to say, as a former third party operative, a (former) political consultant or a writer should therefore attract a larger weight than that of a Joe Blow or most of the commentariat in Barbados and the Caribbean.

We have always been persuaded that his political insights reach far beyond the obvious truisms they hold for Barbados or the Caribbean. The underlying truth is that we are lost, as a civilization. That the people we have so slavishly followed since the 1620’s do not have a clue for their own futures, far less ours. OSA in introducing a set of perverse Washington Consensus, Neo-liberal economic policies indeed firmly located Barbados on death’s door, culturally. FJS maybe winning the politics but the people of Barbados will loose the war for survival. So his victory, is at best, merely Pyrrhic. For all our so-called leaders can do is to wait for the bleed to lead the bleed.

Skinner is not only right about OAS. He is right about Ryan Straughan and the whole economic establishment in Barbados and the Caribbean which has no answers for us. For there is nobody within the economic establishment that has found his/her voice. It is an establishment that has fouled the people by presenting politics as economics as if there was a real distinction or if economics was in itself a real science. It is not and never was! Even when these so-called leader openly admit that there have no answers to the suffering of our people we seem to lack the intestinal fortitude to run them out of town.

8. @Pacha

Two bloggers get prominence for weekly submissions and William can arrange for a day but the deliverable is to deliver!

9. @ David
    We have previously disagreed with that inert editorial policy and hereby renew those previous arguments.

10. @Pacha

Noted.

11. Hamilton Hill Avatar

Still there are many who are unwilling to admit that what was called politics of inclusion, was really a facilitation of opportunism.Owen Arthur saw the opportunity to buy the leadership of this county and at the same time bring extinction to the DLP.Aided and abetted by the greedy, or should I in bajan parlance say the lickrish bitches like Joseph de Johnny , Romel de clown , and Kerry de know it all ,along with some others who today smelling shite like most bajans sought to canonize this wicked , spiteful bastard named Owen Seymour Arthur.

12. @ Pachamama

“Skinner is not only right about OAS. He is right about Ryan Straughan and the whole economic establishment in Barbados and the Caribbean which has no answers for us. For there is nobody within the economic establishment that has found his/her voice. It is an establishment that has fouled the people by presenting politics as economics as if there was a real distinction or if economics was in itself a real science.”

I am of the opinion that many of those individuals who beat up on economics, have absolutely no idea about the fundamentals of the subject. What you have failed to bear in mind is that although the world has seen recessions, we have never experienced one of similar magnitude as the current recession. Therefore, it will be impossible to have solutions from the onset. Certain variables may be similar, but the model to deal with that situation may be complex. For example, the great depression which started in 1930 after the stock market crash in 1929, came during the height of the industrial revolution. At that time the society was autocratic and changes in the labour structure to enhance efficiency were being undertaken. The present recession may have similar variables, but the prevailing environment is not the same. Just like any other discipline, economics has its faults; economists have faced some very difficult economic challenges for which they may be no immediate answers.

If you juxtapose economics with a “real science” like medicine; surely you must agree there are some similarities. Similar to recessions, mankind has been facing the wrath of cancer for many years, and although millions of dollars have been spent in research, no cure has been found and people continue to die from the disease. Additionally, the medical field has been challenged by diseases for which cures have been found, yet those diseases mutates thereby presenting researchers with different variables to contend with.

Deaths resulting from incorrect diagnosis, wrong medication, negligence, or unavailability of cures, man have continued to hold his faith in doctors.
    Then we have the law profession where 5 different lawyers will have 5 different interpretations of a tort. Yet, men seek their expertise when it comes to legal matters.

Moreover, those of us who seek to use our training to explain economic matters are often ridiculed on this blog by individuals who have never done CXC or GCE economics.

13. @

*Artaxerxes*

*Surely you jest?*

*You are commenting about a discipline which is built on forecasting based on assumptions.*

14. @ David

Have you ever studied economics?

Tell me what other discipline is based on actual fact. All theories are based upon or have their genesis in assumption.

15. More and more Barbadians are becoming on a daily basis more and more anti-DLP and anti-BLP, and rightly so.

More and more Barbadians are becoming on a daily basis more and more aware of the deceit and skulduggery practiced by many within both these intellectually and politically bankrupt and discredited disorganizations called the DLP and BLP.

Both the DLP and BLP must permanently go soon from the political governmental landscape of this country, or be driven eventually back into states of non-existence from the said political governmental landscape of this country by the broad masses and middle classes of people of this country.

The DLP and BLP are two very backward, irrelevant and insensate political disorganizations in this country.

16. Note there is an advisory about this company on the Central Bank of Barbados website. Who is Sir Jimmy Richardson KA and when was he Knighted?

http://www.caribbeancapitalreserve.com/executive_team.html

17. What fundamentals of the subject what!!

Economics is the most unscientific and discredited of all the academic disciplines found anywhere within any of the social studies faculties departments found in any colleges or universities anywhere.

Economics is the inverted political ideology, philosophy and psychology of the Caucasian man….

From its inception in the 1700s in Europe, it was referred to by many European political economic theorists (Smith, Ricardo, Malthus,) as political economy, as that it evolved out of the same political economy theories, principles and assumptions existing hithertofore.

Towards the late 1800s in the said Europe, in a bid to give it some greater scientific flavour (false proposition), many more mathematical and statistical concepts were included into it at the academic level, ( or we rather think to give mathematics and statistics greater relevance in the real world), and it was rebranded as economics.

However, despite the inclusion of more mathematics and statistics into it – then and up to now – its many very devious and exploitative political ideological philosophical psychological foundations have never changed. Among such foundations, is to implicitly and explicitly help maintain Caucasian world dominance in the international political material realm, aided and abetted by Western Finance.

Another such of those foundations is to present a veneer consisting of a sanitized cloroxed version of the otherwise brutal savage inhuman histories of many monarchies aristocracies and other governments of western society, by having millions upon millions of its academic and social practitioners to falsely accept that it is a science devoid of much subjectivity, politics, colonization and imperialism and of history itself, whilst at the same time falsely and paradoxically accepting that the enslaving exploitation by some of the same western political people of millions of other people across the world (even of many of their own), and that the raping looting and plundering by the some of the same western people of the resources of many other societies, at particular junctures in world history, are history (done with), and whilst falsely accepting false notions of economic power economic determinism economic development etc. as constituting fundamental parts of the way forward for their own socieities.

Well, as it stands now, Barbados is one of the very stark examples of what economics, when idealized, ideologized, philosophized, psychologized, politicized and politically instrumented, in the class rooms, in the work/business places, in the churches, in the lodges, etc., altogether by so many people in Barbados, has been and continues to substantially help bring about – utter long term social political material financial dedevelopment and degradation in this country.

Clearly too the mere incorporation of greater mathematics and statistics into a discipline alone cannot do such damage and destruction to a country!!

18. @ PDC

@ Artaxerxes

Thanks, we sometimes lack the energy to reply to the highly misinformed, like Artaxerxes. As long as the brain washed continue to lead us we will forever more be in this ‘steady state’.

19. What are the fundamentals of economics?
    What are the fundamentals of Alchemy?

20. @PDC
    We have just thoroughly reread your piece and am afraid that, on the first glimpse, had underestimated its relevance, historical and contemporary accuracy. Every word is not only correct, but should sever as a guide to properly understanding the future, to the extent there is one. Thanks again.

21. @PDC
    Yes,
    In everyday vernacular”Bullshit baffles brains”
    Understanding the “nature of the Beast”.
    Breath has yet to be put into a Decent Politician.
    Unscramble an egg .
    Unsoup a broth.
    Find truth in a Political offering.
    The “political” beast is of a pig.
    Pigs do not question from whence cometh the swill,they head down ,suck the pot dry.
    Then shite in where they lay.
    The political understanding is small but powerful.
    Few wish to lay with pigs, eat with pigs,lay in shite, creat havoc and bloat on the residue.
    Therefore once ensconsed, the pig is rarely disturbed in its stinking.selfish reverie.
    Study the stinking bloated carcasses of the political pig carcasses,paraded daily for our perusal .
    Smilingly sated, blandly breaking wind in the faces of the providers,wallowing in the shite of their existance,aware , but careless of the shite stink, they have created,suffocating the Nation.

22. Pachamama,

Thanks for the acknowledgment.

Thanks for your most worthy comments.

Thousands upon thousands of marginalized oppressed people in Barbados must know that they have the POLITICAL POWERS and CAPACITIES to usher in a materially financially strong Barbados that is in, net terms, of the better images impressions spirits of themselves, away from a Barbados that is in net terms too of the false images impressions spirits of other people.

As such, our broad masses and middle classes have the POLITICAL POWERS and CAPACITIES, at whatever levels, to help bring about a very agreeable palatable indigenized, egalitarianist, people-centred participatory model of development, away from this odious obnoxious westernist, oligarchist, dependency, exploitative “model of development”.

23. Dr Love,

Well written.

The days are coming when those political pigs will be taken to the political markets and slaughtered.

24. no vision : people perish
    sit idly by : mendicants
    faith in man: dog eat yuh supper
    politicians: do you no favour
    control you : for iver an iver
    Bajans : stupider and stupider
    BRA: Bare Ra………
    yuh young: dem old
    Unions; gone cold
    Clarke; sell he soul
    trottie: brassbowl
    members:black hole
    Govt: dishonesty
    PAD: offensively
    how many more must suffer

———————————–

Yaaaaaaaaaaaaaagga —people get ready !!
    University Graduates not helpng
    not looking out for the sisters and brothers
    Hugh Springer did it
    Grantley Adams did it
    Errol Barrow did it
    Tom Adams did it
    Owen Arthur did it
    Sandiford did it
    Richie Haynes did it
    Lammie Craig did it
    Frank Walcott did it
    Cammie Tudor did it
    Wesley Worrel did it
    Dennis Clarke ????????????????????????

25. PDC
    Very Good
    On an popping as they say
    Commendable contributiion
    Do I hear revolution ??
    Where is Francis Belle
    Where is Forbes Smith ?–Down there by Kays House sitting on the pavement.
    Dont have to ask what the PDC thinks about RONALD -THE MOUTH JONES call for a community tax

PDC says no to JONES
    –and call him names
    PDC dont have time for such persons
    PDC demands are clear

-=============================
    Yaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaagga –rides the wave at the Soup Bowl

26. David wrote “Who is Sir Jimmy Richardson KA and when was he Knighted?”

Very mysterious!

27. @ PDC

Instead coming to this blog regurgitating extracts from Weber’s Communist Manifesto, using irrational redundant statements and being critical of our political system, [and you are presenting the PDC as an alternative political party] maybe you should concentrate on informing us “brain dead” individuals, on how you, if elected to office, will manage Barbados’ open economy, and without taxes. I asked you that several months ago and you responded by stating your computer was malfunctioning.

@ Pachamama

I concede, my friend… I am misinformed. That means I have wasted my entire life achieving a BSc, MSC, MPhil and being a PhD candidate in vain. Thank you for bringing me into reality.

28. Yagga Rowe,

You are great!!

You are inimitable!!

Thanks for the encouragement again.

29. @Artaxeres
    We are not your friend. We have gone though all that you seem to hold as important and found little usefulness in any of it. But we understand the need to imbue oneself with the mentality of a student in order to be given these ‘prestigious’ accolades. You will only emerge from wherever you are begging somebody for a job after being well mis-educated with ignorance. Our congratulations are extended to you , a priori, for your uselessness to your country will not be unlike the other credentialed beggars we hold high. You may yet learn the differences between schooling, education and credentialism and the big lie that is being perpetrated on you, the sheeple. Real education is seldom found in the places where you have spent too much of your life, it seems.

30. Artaxerxes,

Whose Communist Manifesto? Weber?

We find it appalling that you would want to put your communist bogeyism on us.

It is has never worked, it does, and it will never work against us, as a way of turning some people who otherwise would come to us away from us.

So zealous are you in a bid to link us with communism that you, in your own miseducation, are wrongly linking the Communist Manifesto with Max Weber.

Also, we are not going to state for you personally again what are some of the ideological philosophical psychological political foundations of a POST-TAXATION society of Barbados.

We not going over that with you for about the third or fourth time.

We certainly are not.

31. Frustrated Businessman Avatar
    Frustrated Businessman

But the real effect to Bajans trying to move this island forward with new projects and ideas is the simple fact that ‘nature abhors a vacuum’. Regardless of his motivation and methods, for 15 years prior to 2008 Barbados had proper and firm management with prompt decision-making. While not all agreed with OSA, a bad decision is better than no decision at all.

For the past six years of ZERO management by cabinet and BOTH DLP PMs, the void has been filled by the civil service who now find themselves calling the shots. Never has corruption been so prevalent and never have ministers been so inconsequential in the grand scheme of things. But, the more civil servants that are fired, the less work they do; and it would be very difficult to be less productive than the Bajan civil service. There is no public outcry about the gov’t job losses because even the most simple citizen knows most of them have been living on Easy Street for far too long and most of them deserve to lose their jobs. This in turn is frustrating Mottley’s efforts to mobilize the disgruntled and force early elections.

Meanwhile the cabinet is trying to tax this country back to prosperity while maintaining falsely inflated interest rates which serve only do dampen foreign-exchange demand.

Very difficult position to recover from. Our crisis was internally created, if it was an external one as Fumble’s Fools maintain recovery would be guaranteed.

32. Pachamama,

Is – Artaxerxes – the pseudonym of Mr. Anthony Wood, the Lecturer in Economics of the Department of Economics at the University of the West Indies, Cave Hill, St. Michael?

Can you enlighten us, if so?

33. PDC. Continue with your alternative ideologies which is you democratic right, but leave out the identity of bloggers. It might be fair to also find out who is Pachamama – would he admit?

34. @Hart attexies
    PDC. You ask ” How will you manage Barbados etc”?
    The answer is blatently, plainly, obvious.
    It is a fact borne out by the Political Pigs revelling in the slime of corruption and filth they have created.
    BETTER,for it CANNOT be WORSE.

Further,it will be MOTIVATED, not destuctionally selfish as of now.
    People will,be of consequence again.
    NOT controlled by the filthy ,swill sucking ,money grubbing gobbling of the Political Pigs.Who Squealing, squandering and SHITE on those who have used up their lives ,providing the wherewithall ,for the Political pigs to BLOAT on ,as tho ALL of Barbados and its ENTIRE population are their Vassels and the country a private bank or Domain,for those in the STY of political POWER and Corruption.

The mere fact of displaying one is able to absorb and reiterate , information,does not necessarily indicate and ability to INNOVATE and initiate,rather a disposition to be controlled and regurgitate as and how instructed ,then rewarded with “seals of Achievement”.
    Which can be displayed as some sort of recognition that the holder is of greater intelligence and stature socially than those without such fripparies
    The value of a person is in what he or she is and does, not in “Fripparies” awarded by the ESTABLISHMENT.
    PDC has already stated,and I beleive is 100% correct.
    THERE IS A TIME FOR CHANGE
    THAT TIME IS NOW!!

35. Sir Jimmy Richardson

One Caribbean Media Limited Attorney-at-Law, Chairman

Sir Jimmy Richardson – Honorable Senator is a senior Attorney-at-Law, Counselor of the Queen (assigned) and the Peace Justice. Jimmy Richardson is an establisher and Ex – Executive Chairman of the companies of Nation Group (which is considered to be the Holding Company of Nation Publishing co. Ltd. and Starcom Network Inc). Sir Jimmy Richardson has position of Chairman in One Caribbean Media Corporation Limited as well as having private practice in the role of Attorney-at-Law in Corporate Law and International Business.

Firm engaged in law matters – Yearwood & Boyce from 1972 to 1984 had a partner in Sir Jimmy person. He had been the Disciplinary Committee of the Barbados Bar Association member from 1982 to 1995.

At present moment, Jimmy Richardson holds various positions: Joint President Commonwealth Parliamentary Association (Barbados Branch); Fellow of the British Institute of Management; Board of Directors of Caribbean Communications Network Ltd. (Trinidad) member; CGI Consumers’ Guarantee Insurance Co. Ltd. member; Hearing Committee of the Securities Exchange of Barbados member; Fortress Mutual Fund Ltd. director; CCR Caribbean Capital Reserve Limited director; Chairman, Government’s Advisory Committee on International Business; Chairman, Caribbean News Agency Ltd.

Sir Jimmy Richardson has award of Knight of St. Andrew (1996) – which is considered to be the highest honor of Barbados.

36. Is this correct?

“Sir Jimmy Richardson has award of Knight of St. Andrew (1996) – which is considered to be the highest honor of Barbados.?

37. Look past the pimp title and get to the real personality of the person, pimp title is mere camouflage.

38. @ Due Diligence,

Most of us on BU don’t believe everything on the internet.

Therefore we sometimes insist on “due diligence” when we see something unusual like a “name”

39. @Well Well,

Just looking for facts.

40. @PDC
    This Artaxeres fellow seems to be a pup at the Arthur Lewis centre for social studies or similar outfit. Seems to be an impressionable lad embroiled in things that might have been true but will never be exposed to any real truisms, let alone the existential realities of our times. A youngster who had to do the MPhil before he could start a PhD program.

41. Tell Me Why,

If it is Mr. Wood, he just made it fairly clear to some readers – who hitherto might not have thought about it – that it is he, as a result of the way he responded to Pachamama.

Also, if it is he, it is he who – in his own writing – and as a reflection of such great pomposity of declaring academic paper – alluded to who he might well be.

While we are not so much into “who is who” over those typing keys where so ever they are, we are wary of persons, like Mr. Wood, who having – via certain positions in certain organizations – been perpetrating such inglorious harmful political ideologies, philosophies and psychologies on many people in this country, are when time catches up with them, in forums networks like this, are seen by the PDC to be unable to use their own names, and are seen by us too to be unable to represent their various ideological philosophical psychological political practical positions and principles, in fundamental contrast to the ways they do publicly in various other fora when using their own official names and representing what so ever or whom so ever.

Does Artaxerxes have anything to hide therefore?

42. @David,

Have you found out if we have a “Sir Jimmy Richardson Knight of St. Andrew (1996)”

It is really important that information like this is correct.

43. @Hants

Not aware, will have to check it out.

44. We can rest assured that once it came out of Ronald Jones mouth…..it is going to happen. What about it that these dems do not get…….you cannot tax your way out of a recession.

You mean to tell me that every year they continue to impose taxes and even did so two weeks ago in the estimates debate and now Jones announcing to children that they would like to impose another tax which has to be in the works as he gave a figure of 80 million which it would yield.

How much more taxes can the people bear?

45. @ PDC

Your delight in spewing irrational redundant and verbose statements is indeed well noted. Do not waste time bothering yourself whether or not I am Anthony Wood [maybe your dislike for him stems from failing his courses]. Why not Don Marshall, Clyde Mascoll or George Belle?

It would help your cause much better if you were to outline any ORIGINAL alternative policies the PDC will undertake to manage Barbados. That is all I ask.

So far you have behaved no different from the same parties you continue to denounce in your contributions. From the DLP, you have adopted the style of Chris Sinclker, Donville Inniss, Denis Kellman, Mara Thompson and Ronald Jones, in that you attack those of us you question your lack of policies; as well as that of Fruendel Sturart, who, in his speeches, will bore us with a history lesson filled with “big word”, and at the end of the day, we are no wiser as to what he is prepared to do.

Statements such as “been perpetrating such inglorious harmful political ideologies, philosophies and psychologies on many people in this country”; or “ideological philosophical psychological political foundations of a POST-TAXATION society of Barbados” or “when idealized, ideologized, philosophized, psychologized, politicized and politically instrumented, in the class rooms” reminds me of Trevor Prescod of the BLP.

Additionally, a PhD takes 3 years full time and 5 years part-time. If an individual chooses to, on completion of his first 2 years of study, he will be eligible for the MPhil designation.
    Note: those who are employed, self-employed or unemployed.. all have to beg for a job.

46. @Artaxerxes
    Anybody who has to do an MPhil as a condition for a PhD is probably wasting the tax payers’ money. Your own VC did not even do a master’s but went straight to his PhD. This writer is another example, from your system. You obviously know little about what you are doing and will only join the hoards seeking an employer that will pay 40K per month. This is the standard OP

47. @Pachamama

“Anybody who has to do an MPhil as a condition for a PhD is probably wasting the tax payers’ money.”

Normally, I would say the above statement is indicative of a man who is clearly out of his depth, but since it is you, I’m sure it is obviously a mistake.

It seems as though you are making this blog about me. Firstly, you are commenting on the assumptions that I may be Barbadian and was educated in Barbados, …… surely you do not know that.That negates the validity of those assumptions.

I have found that individuals such as yourself habour a lot of animosity because the system may have failed you or you have failed it. These vile attacks is just your way of proving to us that, despite your apparent short-comings, you read a few books, remember some things and then use a forum like this to express yourself to the point of a “feel good, self righteous” , “chest thumping” obnoxious satisfaction that you were able to hold your own with us individuals of lesser ilk. Therefore, you have won.

However, I must remind you that a MSc is a TAUGHT post-graduate degree, whereas, a MPhil and PhD are RESEARCH degrees, big difference!!!! There are some individuals who are initially more research oriented and would opt to do their PhD on completion of their BSc. However, they must satisfy the MPhil requirement in the absence of a MSc. My advice to you is to read the information on any university’s web-site.

In conclusion, if I obviously know little about what I am doing, then concentrate the efforts of your intellectual superiority on commenting on the topic of this blog and leave me to wallow in my ignorance.
    Once again sir, I concede to you, as I am no match to your wisdom, and I do not intend to continue this pointless jousting match with you.

48. Hants…….don’t seem, this guy is of the age group of the usual suspects OR he has managed to keep quite the low profile over the years……still checking though.

49. Due Diligence Avatar

Hants

Thanks for questioning my poor due diligence

I just posted what I found about Sir Jimmy at:

At first blush the website looked legit; but on further examination, it looks like Caribbean Capital Reserve may be scam.

This is from the About Us section of the website.

Caribbean Capital Reserve is a Best Offshore Bank offering a full range of market-leading financial services in Corporate Banking, Retail Banking, Wealth Management, Credit Cards, Treasury Sales and Trading, and Investment Banking.

The Bank is licensed at Comoros Island in 2011. Bank is operative in the online mode worldwide, including the entire Caribbean basin. Account can be opened online without personal presence by the citizen of any country in the world. Caribbean Capital Reserve is represented by several licensed trust companies, with a help of which bank transactions are carried out.

The scheme of trust companies that belongs to him helps to meet the most sophisticated requirements of the clients. The procedure of receiving of the funds to the customer’s account is a little unusual and that is what guarantees an absolute privacy. CCR Bank can receive any amount from all over the world. We cooperate with the client, not with an opportunity to control unlike the other banks. Powerful staff of professional lawyers can help you develop any strategy and guarantee the success of any transfer from the client. 

Due to this scheme of the Bank work, we can guarantee our customers more privacy. Being subordinate to the Central Bank of Comoros and operating in other countries, particularly the Caribbean, we avoid the strict controls that became more frequent lately. Our CEO Presidents are well aware of Mwali government and its president that even greater help us and create favorable conditions for our customers. It is important for us

“The Bank is licensed at Comoros Island in 2011” should have been a red flag.

Googling Comoros, Wikipedia etc, discloses that: The Comoros, officially the Union of the Comoros, is a sovereign archipelago island nation in the Indian Ocean, located at the northern end of the Mozambique Channel off the eastern coast of Africa, between northeastern Mozambique and northwestern Madagascar.

From Comoros profile at: http://www.bbc.com/news/world-africa-13229685

Comoros profile

Potentially a holiday paradise with picture-postcard beaches, the Comoros islands are trying to consolidate political stability amid tensions between semi-autonomous islands and the central government.

A history of political violence has left the Comoros desperately poor. At times, the country has teetered on the brink of disintegration.

The three Indian Ocean islands have experienced more than 20 coups or attempted coups, beginning just weeks after independence from France in 1975 when President Ahmed Abdallah was toppled in a coup assisted by French mercenary Colonel Bob Denard. Colonel Denard featured in several power struggles over the years.

Politics: After coups and secession bids, the Comoros gained some stability under a 2001 constitution granting the islands of Grande Comore, Anjouan, Moheli greater autonomy within a federation.
    Economy: Comoros is heavily reliant on aid and remittances from the diaspora
    International: The African Union and South Africa have been involved in helping to stabilise the Comoros politically

The people of the Comoros are among the poorest in Africa and are heavily dependent on foreign aid.”

I found nothing to suggest there is any financial services or offshore business community in Comoros.

In the circumstances, it appears that the Central Bank’s Financial Advisory (below) is based on some good due diligence by the Bank.

Financial Advisory
    Warning To The Public: Caribbean Capital Reserve (www.caribbeancapitalreserve.com)
    04/02/2014
    The Central Bank of Barbados warns the public that the listed entity is not licensed to engage in activities regulated by the Central Bank of Barbados, in or from within Barbados.

CCR looks like a scam, and Sir Jimmy Richardson’s profile on the website a creation of the scammers spin doctors.

50. Due Diligence Avatar

Caribbean Capital Reserves is definitely a SCAM.

Thanks for getting this started with

David | April 3, 2014 at 6:28 AM |
    Note there is an advisory about this company on the Central Bank of Barbados website. Who is Sir Jimmy Richardson KA and when was he Knighted?

After posting the above, I decided to look at the profiles of some of the other CCR Executive Team members.

Here is one

“Ms. Brigit Wood

CCR Retail and Business Banking, Executive Vice-President, Retail Distribution and Channel Strategy

Ms. Brigit Wood has Executive Vice President positon, Retail Distribution and Channel Strategy. She is operating over Twenty Thousand employees in sales and service within CCR’s wide distribution web, branches, ABMs, mobile sales operations, telephone, mobile and online banking.

Ms. Wood has been occupying higher executive roles in developing CCR’s clue strategies and improvements onto mobile banking since 1987 being part and partial of CCR. She also held different leading roles within CCR’s Human Resources branch. Brigit was Human Resources Professionals Association member in Ontario.

The Boards of CCR Caribbean Capital Reserve and INTRIA Items Inc. are managed and directed by Ms. Wood. She took leading part in executing sponsorship of the CCR Women’s Network; she was Co-Chair of the YWCA Women of Distinction Awards; she was Co-Chair and initiator and establisher of the Canadian Breast Cancer Foundation, Ontario Leaders Program, and The Judy Project at the Rotman School of Management, University of Toronto former participant.

Being the CCR United Way Campaign Co-Chair for 2013, as well as the CCR Executive Sponsor of the Canadian Breast Cancer Foundation CCR Run for the Cure, Ms.Kramer assisted in increasing capital for breast cancer research in 2012 for more than Thirty million US Dollars.

Brigit has been twice awarded the Name “Top 100 Most Powerful Women in Canada” by the Women’s Executive Network. Ms. Wood has diploma of Ryerson University in Toronto.”

Note in the second last paragraph it refers to “Ms Kramer”; not Ms Wood.

NOW, look at the profile for Christina Kramer, a Director of CIBC FCIB at:

http://www.cibcfcib.com/index.php?page=board-of-directors

Christina Kramer

Executive Vice-President, Retail Distribution and Channel Strategy, CIBC Retail and Business Banking

Christina Kramer is the Executive Vice President, Retail Distribution and Channel Strategy, responsible for leading over 20,000 sales and service employees across CIBC’s broad distribution network, including branches, ABMs, mobile sales force, telephone banking, mobile and online banking.

Since joining CIBC in 1987, Ms. Kramer has held progressively more senior executive roles and has been key in developing CIBC’s channel strategies and innovation into mobile banking. Prior to this, she held various leadership roles within CIBC’s Human Resources division and was a member of the Human Resources Professionals Association of Ontario.

Ms. Kramer is a director on the boards of CIBC FirstCaribbean International Bank and INTRIA Items Inc.  She was the Executive Sponsor of the CIBC Women’s Network, Co-Chair of the YWCA Women of Distinction Awards, was Co-Chair and founder of the Canadian Breast Cancer Foundation, Ontario Leaders Program, and a former participant of The Judy Project at the Rotman School of Management, University of Toronto. Ms. Kramer is the CIBC United Way Campaign Co-Chair for 2013, as well as the CIBC Executive Sponsor of the Canadian Breast Cancer Foundation CIBC Run for the Cure, which raised more than $30 million for breast cancer research in 2012.

She has been twice named one of the “Top 100 Most Powerful Women in Canada” by the Women’s Executive Network. Ms. Kramer is a graduate of Ryerson University in Toronto.”

Whoever cut and pasted Ms Kramer’s profile and used it for the fictitious Ms. Brigit Wood should be more careful in his/her editing.

I assume all of the other Senior Executives are also fictitious.

Could I suggest that you pass this bit of due diligence on to the RBPF Fraud Squad, to the local media, and to CIBC FCIB

And kudos to CCB for the Alert