Submitted by William Skinner
Peter Wickham political scientist ‘...gets almost all his polls right and has only missed one big one here...’
Peter Wickham ‘…gets almost all his polls right and has only missed one big one here…’

At some point, an individual has to look at life and determine whether it is going the direction he or she would want it to. Countries must do the same. As I survey the political scene and pay rapt attention to the rapidly decaying socio – political environment, I am forced to ask myself if Barbadians are really serious about the direction the country is taking.

It is obvious to all objective citizens that the country is in turmoil as it transitions from the quaint little village to the world stage. A stage for which it failed to prepare. Hal Austin, a regular contributor to this blog, got it right sometime ago, when he opined, that we were perhaps fooled by the praise that we constantly heaped upon ourselves and that which others gave us. We were told by the world’s top diplomat that we were “punching above our weight”. We bestowed the title great economist on former Prime Minister Owen Arthur. We declared Errol Barrow the father of the nation. We have thrown about the word brilliant with great carelessness. For example, Leader of the Opposition Mia Mottley has been accused of being brilliant! We are a people who declared we had the best of everything: the best education system; the best roads; the best hospital; the best schools and of course a literacy rate of 97% percent.

The irony of the situation is that all of the above is very true when we look at other Caribbean islands. Anybody visiting our sister islands would have to agree that Barbados does have the best schools in terms of construction; the best roads although ours are in a state of disrepair in many cases; the best hospital of any that is used by the entire public, never mind we cannot get the accident and emergency department to function properly and of course we are rather literate. We have Cave Hill producing graduates on par with any of our neighbours; never mind employers say that some of our graduates cannot understand basic arithmetic and English. So what am I complaining or criticizing? Well, we have all these positives and yet we seem very determined to turn them all into negatives. Almost forgot, we have the best public transportation system although we can never make it profitable and our rolling stock is hitting the road with bumpers and fenders missing. Of course the failure to maintain the buses ensures that about 30 or 40per cent are either parked waiting for parts or have been forced to early vehicle graves by bad driving habits.

I now come to our incredible democracy. Every five or so years, we enjoy three weeks of hectic campaigning. And yes, once again, we can brag that it is probably the most incident free elections anywhere in the world. Nobody gets killed. I think a few decades back, Muhammad Nasser got cut with a bottle throwing thing but I don’t think that it ever made court. No problem. Gone are the days of the half bottle of rum and a few soda/eclipse biscuits with our treasured corn beef. We have transitioned to giving the voters: lap tops, iPods, top end cell phones and Sir Grantley’s image looms large in hands and pockets. According to our dithering, Charlie Chaplin (Silent Movies) Prime Minister, Mr. Freundel Stewart, he actually saw money passing during the last elections. Imagine the Prime Minister witnessing crimes in broad daylight and not one report to the police. Not one arrest. What a crime free democracy!

No more under forties debating the pros and cons of independence; no more exceptional grass roots politicians such as: Lionel Weeks, and Lloyd Smith. Not a Mencea Cox or Ronald Map. No Neville Boxills in site. Oh no, those guys use to throw the occasional jab but talk about policies and were close to their constituents. Even a very well educated fellow like Frederick “sleepy “Smith was down to earth. And according to a young man, whom I have great respect for, Mr.Peter Wickham, that particular breed has no place in his modern Barbados political make up. As far as he is concerned Hamilton Lashley was the last of that ilk. Sad thing, Wickham may be right!

Well, Wickham represents the new breed, armed with a university education and a profession grounded in political science and polling. He is a highly sought after political scientist. He gets almost all his polls right and has only missed one big one here- the very last one when Charlie Chaplin overcame all the fancy sound effects! Maybe if there were more of the above mentioned grassroots politicians, his polls would be more accurate because people back then were a bit more genuine.Oops…

Allow me to close with our esteemed labor movement. In the current debacle regarding the severing of 3000 according to the DLP or soon to be at least 10,000 workers according to the BLP, the unions find themselves out to sea. They are suggesting policies after the so-called Minister of Finance; Mr. Chris Sinkler has enunciated the policy on the floor of the house. I say so –called because Mr. David Estwick is apparently acting as Minister of Finance today (Thursday 12th. Feb 2014) when he presents his own personal views to cabinet to rescue the economy. Just like the unions, he is presenting policies to stop retrenchment of workers AFTER the retrenchment has commenced. Brilliant!

So the workers are left to another regular contributor of this blog, Caswell Franklyn, to defend them while their president runs up cell phone bills in the thousands. Now I don’t know much about wages in our public sector but I seriously believe that $6000 could have kept one of those workers on the pay roll for quite a few weeks or even six months. But the NUPW does not have that kind of strike fund. Modern unions have: Excessive Use of Cell Phones by Presidents Funds! I digress. The workers voice is now Caswell. Now I have quoted, to support my little contribution, two regular contributors to this blog: Caswell Franklyn and Hal Austin. Note I have not attempted to big up anybody from the mainstream press because the problem we have, is that mainstream Barbados, has crashed like mainstream Wall Street and that caused all the confusion.

Stay way from mainstream Barbados thinking and we may just survive this crisis. And a great shout out to Pachamama. Thanks for BU. Sometimes a nation (newspaper) has to take a look at itself.

247 responses to “Barbados at the Crossroads”

1. We love to use terms and be verbose,it is part of our makeup as WS demonstrates….note this is not a criticism ….We started going wrong in the late 60’s and have never deviated from that course…..our education does nothing for Bim,commonsense has flown the coop and except for BBE BT is correct with the Brassbowl thinking that permeates our island.
    Implementation deficit disorder is what we are suffering from.

2. @Vincent

Former PM and Ambassador corroborates your position, he stated he has no less than 12 projects awaiting government implementation when he served in Ambassador to China. Implementation disorder indeed!

3. David
    The Opposition is in disorder?

4. @Gutterperc

The Opposition not…stable.

5. @David

Unstable opposition. Unstable government. Unstable cabinet. Unstable political parties.

well well well.

Just observing

6. @ Vincent
    “Except for BBE”……EXCEPT FOR BBE!!!
    Boss man Vincent, ….in the actual scheme of things, the ONLY thing of relevance and of any meaningful value ……IS BBE.
    Every thing else is brass bowlery….

If only you had the necessary eyes to see….. 🙂

7. Unstable government, unable Opposition?
    Unable government, unstable Opposition?

We are well and truly screwed.

Ready…..Set…….March, just kidding.

8. “We were told by the world’s top diplomat that we were “punching above our weight”.

That is a fact.

Tiny Barbados developed a relatively high standard of living given its lack of natural resources.

So now we have to make a massive adjustment in order to create prosperity in a new economic reality.

So there will be some pain before there is gain.

Barbados will not disappear into the Ocean. Life will go on and maybe a leader will emerge with the intelligence and foresight to rapidly diversify the Barbados economy.

9. What crossroads? The IMF has been in Barbados for years, (didn’t LIB hint that his wife work for some International NGO during his sojourn in Barbados) that few knew or paid attention to the IMF speaks to the level of transparency of those in charge or apathy that is the hallmark of most Bajans until the wolf is at their door. LIB used to wonder why Barbados was rated so highly so presumably he had access to inside information.

Barbados is full of “experts’ on every subject under the Sun, so what did the Council of Economic Advisers ever recommend? It seems they have gone inert or have been beset by paralysis by analysis when it comes to the stagnant economy.

10. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926TO 2014 MASSIVE FRAUD LANDTAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS, BARBADOS DLP/BLP MASSIVE PONZI FRAUD Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926TO 2014 MASSIVE FRAUD LANDTAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS, BARBADOS DLP/BLP MASSIVE PONZI FRAUD

Earth Quake in Barbados 5:27 am ROCKLEY

11. Many people may still be sleeping but Barbados appears to have just experienced an earth tremor.

12. Adrian Loveridge Avatar

I did not feel it , but my wife did at about 5.31am and lasted for 4-5 seconds.

13. @Adrian

The BU household felt it and immediately evacuated in less then 20 seconds.

14. Adrian Loveridge Avatar

I have reported it to the Seismic Research Centre at the University of West Indies. Hopefully they will update the public soon.
    We will check for any obvious structural damage as soon as it gets light.

15. http://earthquake.usgs.gov/regional/neic/

The international websites have the recordings:

16. Adrian Loveridge Avatar

Magnitude 6.7 off Martinique at 5.27am local. Have sent link.

17. “When Charlie Chaplin overcame all the fancy sound effects”

I only hope that you’re not addressing the Prime Minister of Barbados in such derogatory terms because you’re not qualified to spew such sentiment if you haven’t walk a mile in the man’s size 13 shoes.

18. Who heard Judy Thomas on the VoB 6:30 news? This is the problem with Barbados and hypocrisy. Judy please give your successor a chance, your tour of duty must be at an end.

19. Download Earthquake Alerts Smartphone app to get live real time notification

20. wunna think the QEH can withstand an earth quake,,,, the signs are on the wall for the big one, hard ears uh wont hear ,,,,,,,,one day wunna would feel this is not a joke, this is time for bajans to stop being selfish and put the HOUSE in order,

21. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

I told Dr. Estwick not to present that report. Now the Prime Minister has awoken and shake the parts of Barbados he will deal with. We are all screwed now….

22. Even in a Mother earth even we seek to make polical fodder. Then again Barbados is God’s country.

23. @….David I said that same thing when I heard Judy Thomas this morning. I wondered what was the point of going to her. She said nothing. ..@….Mark Fenty…I am now convinced that you are the newest form of what bajans used to call a gallows bait.What qualifications does one need to recognize a bald pooch cat? Given the level of suffering about to be inflicted upon poor bajans, worse should be said.

24. Every cloud has a silver lining, I can see the party rhetoric now …..you would not be having earthquakes like this if the BLP was in power

25. The earthquake has damaged the Bussa statue in the round about….AC has offered to stand in for it till a new one can be built.

26. Somebody call on Judy Thomas? Just goes to prove that Bajans have a sense of humour they were hoping for a replay of the last tremor when she was shopping on Swan Street and run out in the street shouting “Murda!! Murdaah!!!! like all the other shoppers.

27. Its only been a few hours but the quake has caused major concerns for the opposition, the leader has already eaten her 10 day emergency food supply.

28. Now Judy thomas takes precendant to an occurence that had the potential to do major and signifcant damage to an economy that is already shaken by the vibrations of a global economic earth quake the earth ha spoken .it is time to get Your house in order .enough of this selfserving attitude.

29. “EARTHQUAKE” Hum, did one of our politicians FART!

30. lawson on February 18, 2014 at 7:47 AM
    Every cloud has a silver lining, I can see the party rhetoric now …..you would not be having earthquakes like this if the BLP was in power

@ Lawson

The last earthquake Barbados experienced before this one was on 29 November 2007…. which party was in power then ?

31. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926TO 2014 MASSIVE FRAUD LANDTAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS, BARBADOS DLP/BLP MASSIVE PONZI FRAUD Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926TO 2014 MASSIVE FRAUD LANDTAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS, BARBADOS DLP/BLP MASSIVE PONZI FRAUD

ON THE 9 , DATE 2.18TH.2014 =9
    OUR DATE 12 .18. 2013=9
    49TH DAY OF 2013 49TH =13=4
    SEEN AND UNSEEN 6.7 =13 =4
    SEEN AND UNSEEN NUMBERS ALL ADD TO THE SAME
    THY KINGDOM COME ,
    FEB 6TH, 21ST OF 2013 WAS TO = TO 9 FOR THE ELECTION , START FINISH,
    YES God is not sleeping ,,After all that junk by your PM last night .

32. My problem with the contribution is the liberal use of the word “we” … People in the main are not even allowed to determine who their representatives are, as even that is determined for them. “We” really are not involved in this, and the fact that Mis Mottley is now lamenting this “Political Stability as Barbados’ only asset” bullshit further suggests that “we” will have an even more difficult time at changing that reality.

As for Sandiford, his role “should” be to find opportunities for Barbadians in China, not the other way around. A diplomat is a highly skilled operative. Old politicians and trade unionists have no business performing a role that “should” made be an integral part of the Foreign Exchange generation agenda.

Look, just push for the registration of political parties as non-profit organizations. That is a pretty basic place to start

33. The grinding of the plates and subsequent earthquake has added six feet of land at the north end if the island…CO
    Williams was heard to say ..I’ll buy it

34. Hants @ 11.27p Feb 17
    Barbados will not disappear in the ocean.A rather curious statement given we experienced an earthquake/tremor a few hours later

35. Look how this contribution getting high jack because of some covert US experiment …

36. No natural disaster will destroy this island but only lies,pride and the inability to act displayed by this hindsight of an article will send it to the depths of the ocean it came up from.

37. @William Skinner
    “Mia Mottley has been accused of being brilliant”

What utter rubbish. MIA MOTTLEY IS ONE OF THE MOST BRILLIANT YOUNG WOMEN IN THIS HEMISPHERE.

stop being jealous. from your writings, you need to sit at her feet and hope some drops of intelligence falls near you

38. lawson | February 18, 2014 at 8:37 AM |

Its only been a few hours but the quake has caused major concerns for the opposition, the leader has already eaten her 10 day emergency food supply…………………………………………………..

This comment could only come from what we call a low life person! How low can you go because of your political agenda. Why dont you say the same of Fumble or Stinkliar?

39. Over the years barbados has shown it has the strength to withstand the turbulance of economic force and forces. .but can barbados withstand the forces of nature in the form of earthquakes when the inevitable occurs. for lack of vision we all shall perish…1st 2nd or third parties no vision …no chance of survival.

40. Prodigal , you must be one insane phuck do you really think I give a rats ass about who is in power in Barbados ? There all the same, a bunch of people smart enough to know that a top level govt job with salary and benefits is a great gig. But to appease you here goes
    The DLP are worried….the house of cards they have erected was only rated for a 7.0.

When the quake hit 14% of Barbadians ran out on the street, 22% took cover in an archway, and 74% answered their phone

The quake loosened the gun hill lion from its base and it came thundering down the hill crushing the member of parliament for St George walking nearby Emergency cruise worked tirelessly at the scene…and I am happy to say the lion is back in place.

41. I remember when Koffi Anan said the island was punching above it’s weight, given the information he was privy to at that time, before 2004, as head of the United Nations, he was sending a very important message to the leaders of Barbados at the time, unfortunately it was misinterpreted.

42. Sargeant….you are right, at that tremor Thomas panicked, ran out and fell and broke or fractured her tail bone, fine one to be talking. lol

43. David, is Parliament due to meet today?

44. Thank God for humour in adversity. Good on ya L……ya phkn low life. They tell me ‘someone’ wears asbestos boxers so I suppose that’s the explanation.

45. @ Pinkie
    What makes Mia Mottley brilliant? I don’t know the woman but what distinguishes her from others in the region? I must say though, I admire your uncommon courage for using an absolute to describe this woman. But, what has she done that others haven’t yet done in the region?

46. @ Pinkie | February 18, 2014 at 11:07 AM |

William was only expressing his opinion, and you can disagree without cussing him.
    William is one of the relative few Bajans to date who was willing to take the plunge into party politics.

47. Such humour.Sargeant,Well,Well and now Ross.Yea Judy run out of SY Adama store and bruggadung,brek she foot.Now she pompasetting on the radio this morning,telling people don’t panic,there en nuh surinam,like she is a seismic expert surinamese.As if this cabinet of stinking dems in enuff
    jokers ….

48. Right you are Robert…. With the prediction of many more quakes and after shocks, retailers say there may be a huge drop in vibrator sales on the island . Store owners and Well Well’s dentist fear huge loss of income.

49. Parliament was adjourned until next Tuesday -the 25 th

Lets hope they resign -who should resign- by the date mentioned