Submitted Neil Watchman
Stephen Broome, Chairman of BCC

There is growing concern among staff at the Barbados Community College where the Board or more accurately, the Chairman, seems to have developed a tight stranglehold on the institution. Staff cannot recall there ever being such a high level of politicization at the institution until the advent of Mr. Stephen Broome who served first as Deputy Chairman and is now in his second term as Chairman.

Some, perhaps out of fear, believe that the Chairman’s mission is to destabilize the institution as a precursor to the Government’s phasing it out. They point to the recent spate of sixth forms set up by the MOE headed by Ronald Jones in support of this supposition. This, coupled with the imposition of higher fees on UWI students from 2014 makes for a very confusing educational policy. One could be excused for thinking that the Government would have put more resources into the BCC but then again, if it didn’t do that when things were well, one cannot expect them to do it in these dire times. So what? Such confusion and contradictions seem symptomatic of the Freundel Stuart administration, anyhow.

Meanwhile, the destabilization of the BCC continues – permanent appointments at the College are being made into temporary appointments.  Case in point is the non-appointment of the head of Fine Arts Division, Dr. Alison Thompson.  Dr. Thompson has been acting in this post for some four years, now.  She applied for the permanent post in 2012 but to date the Board has not chosen to appoint her and has not had the decency respond to correspondence seeking an explanation.

It is understood that in the case of permanent appointments at the BCC, there is a time-honoured tradition in which the successful candidate serves a three month probationary period at the end of which he or she is confirmed in the post. It should also be noted that Dr. Thompson’s appointment should have been made long before the August 2013 budget which proposed a freeze in public sector appointments.

It does not require a degree in rocket science to understand the rationale for this malfeasance.  The Fine Arts Division, under Dr. Thompson’s leadership, managed to secure foreign funding for the Division to the tune of some $300,000.   When the overseas donors refused to pass the money through the BCC’s coffers, the Chairman refused to grant permission to make structural upgrades to the Fine Arts Division resulting in the loss of funding.  Dr. Thompson’s non-appointment followed.   Can you believe this; that in these times when the Government has cut the BCC budget several times, that a Chairman would cause a Division involved in the cultural industries to lose over one quarter of a million dollars in foreign grants?  The contradictions grow!

In the meantime, the Chairman continues to run a one-man Board and micro-manage the College. He has bungled the firing of a non-performing principal, subsumed the Liberal Arts Division under General Education and is now playing Russian roulette with the appointment of a Senior Tutor to the largest and most profitable division, namely the Division of Commerce, where, as a result, operational processes and staff morale are beginning to slide.  BCC staff members are becoming increasingly annoyed at the Chairman’s belligerence, the principal’s tacit consent and the MOE’s silence. It is only matter of time before serious industrial relations problems erupt at the Eyrie educational institution.

101 responses to “Destabilization of the Barbados Community College (BCC)”

1. Michael Saunders Avatar

It seems that the whole dam country is being controled by these A-Holes…..Power hungry morons who feel that they, when they get into a position either through bribing those in power or through rigging the electric, are above the common people.
    I look at Tom Haughton, the counterfeit drug king who based his illegal business on your shores, and those who were in his back pocket…..he was able to walk away without any forms of charges (AFTER IMPORTANT P[APERWORK MYSTEROUSLY DISSAPEARED) being laid…..
    Yes your country has a very good reputation for this type of behavour……
    Just maybe it is time that the people stood up and statred to take ????CARE??? of these morons.

2. Members of the Board are:

Mr. Stephen Broome – Chairman
    Mr. Victor Hutchinson – Deputy Chairman
    Mrs Candace Browne
    Mr. Patrick Cozier
    Mr. Reudon Eversley
    Ms Winifred Grant
    Mr. Adrian Kirton
    Ms. Karen Prescott
    Ms. Joy Gittens, Deputy Chief Education Officer (Ag.) – Representative, Ministry of Education and Human Resource Development

http://www.bcc.edu.bb/About/ManagementSystem.aspx

3. You mean to tell me that every, every institution, every facet of governance in this country that this DLP touches, they contaminate and destroy. You mean to tell me that they cannot get one thing right? Lord have mercy!

There is another education institution that is headed by another Broome on which a friend of mine was serving.The person left because this man hold meetings every month even if there is nothing of importance on the agenda and every meeting last between 6-8 hours.

4. Come to think of it, now I look at the picture, this seem to be the same man!

5. RE
    The Fine Arts Division, under Dr. Thompson’s leadership, managed to secure foreign funding for the Division to the tune of some $300,000. When the overseas donors refused to pass the money through the BCC’s coffers, the Chairman refused to grant permission to make structural upgrades to the Fine Arts Division resulting in the loss of funding. Dr. Thompson’s non-appointment followed.
    THIS IS NOTHING NEW IN GOB ACTION
    LEADERSHIP CANNOT ACCEPT AND ACKNOWLEDGE THE COMPETENCE OF “UNDERLINGS”

HERE THIS PERSON HAS BEEN ABLE TO ACQUIRE FUNDING- SCARCE MONEY- TO HELP RUN THIS DIVISION, ONE WOULD THINK THE OFFICER WOULD BE LAUDED AND APPLAUDED!

6. David,
    Victor Hutchinson resigned from this board some time ago!

7. @Prodigal

As you can see from the link the info is currently posted on the BCC website.

8. Bare lackies on these boards destroying everything in de country. When de head bad what do we expect.

9. @Caswell Franklyn can we impeach these incompetent rulers before a riot starts?

10. It would be a pity to lose Dr. Thompson. She is an Ontario scholar, and a Fulbright scholar, with qualifications from UWI and from excellent Canadian and American universities. (the woman real bright ya hear!) and many years of teaching experience.

An American or Canadian university would be happy to snap her up tomorrow and that would be a great, great loss to BCC, to Barbados, and to young artists and art students.

Barbados’ lost would be some other country’s great, great gain.

I hope that she is not being punished because she was not born here (but she chooses to live here)

I hope that she is not being punished because she is white.

What is Stephen Broome’s claim to fame anyhow?

Beside being a member of the DLP?

11. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fulbright_scholar
    The Fulbright Program, including the Fulbright-Hays Program, is a program of highly competitive, merit-based grants for international educational exchange for students, scholars, teachers, professionals, scientists and artists, founded by United States Senator J. William Fulbright in 1946. Under the Fulbright Program, competitively selected U.S. citizens may become eligible for scholarships to study, conduct research, or exercise their talents abroad and citizens of other countries may qualify to do the same in the United States.
    The Fulbright Program is one of the most prestigious awards programs worldwide, operating in over 155 countries.[1] Forty-five Fulbright alumni have won Nobel Prizes seventy-eight have won Pulitzer Prizes.[2] More Nobel laureates are former Fulbright recipients than any other award program

12. @simple simon

Mr Stephen Broome is the owner/ceo of Systems Consulting Ltd located in Wildey.

http://www.systemsconsulting-ltd.com/tc.php?id=24&SectId=2

13. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

I read the purported accounts and in all fairness it would be good to hear the response of the man who is at the centre of this controversy. Nonetheless, if what is stated is true, then this man is ruthless and personal. His agenda is clear and dictatorship obvious. He needs to be taken down,.

14. Education especially tertiary is critical. Why do we feel we have to appoint some of these political lackies we see listed on the website. The Ministry representative should be enough to represent government’s interest.

15. 7 When God approves of your life, even your enemies will end up shaking your hand. 8 Far better to be right and poor than to be wrong and rich. 9 We plan the way we want to live, but only God makes us able to live it. It Pays to Take Life Seriously 10 A good leader motivates, doesn’t mislead, doesn’t exploit. 11 God cares about honesty in the workplace; your business is his business. 12 Good leaders abhor wrongdoing of all kinds; sound leadership has a moral foundation. 13 Good leaders cultivate honest speech; they love advisors who tell them the truth. 14 An intemperate leader wreaks havoc in lives; you’re smart to stay clear of someone like that. 15 Good-tempered leaders invigorate lives; they’re like spring rain and sunshine. 16 Get wisdom – it’s worth more than money; choose insight over income every time. 17 The road of right living bypasses evil; watch your step and save your life. 18 First pride, then the crash – the bigger the ego, the harder the fall. 19 It’s better to live humbly among the poor than to live it up among the rich and famous. 20 It pays to take life seriously; things work out when you trust in God. Proverbs 16 (The Message)
    With all the church thing that the DLP was about one would think that they would follow the WORD.

16. All politicians are atheists.

They have to be to do what they do.

But they have to fool the ordinary people with this church thing.

They want the people to believe that they believe.

But the only believe in themselves.

Church what???

17. Reading Broome’s BIO I submit he might be better placed as a personal
    adviser to the PM.The Marketing Analyst seem better suited to advise the MoF on Finance

18. Simple Simon, you ought to know that you ought not use an ABSOLUTE in an effort to besmear any group of people. It obviously does a disservice to those persons who aren’t party to such conduct but what do I know?

19. BCC is going down the drain fast fast!!! and its due to the fact that people have been given jobs because they know people and are returning favours!!! another issue is that people get away with bad behaviour, ineptitude, and plain old nastiness because they have friends in high places.
    imagine that there is an uncouth, loudmouthed, INEPT woman teaching of all the things political science there. she humiliates the students, calls them names, has favourites, even had a physical fight with a student, yet SHE IS STILL THERE.
    she messes with young minds, manipulating them, some of them are so afraid of her that they comply and become her puppets, carrying back messages to her about other students.
    All the senior tutors of the COmmerce division so far have been her friends so NO ONE LISTENS TO US STUDENTS. The principal is afraid of her and she talks bad about him in class…….

as a young person, I have no HOPE IN THIS COUNTRY

20. btw, WE WILL GET PUNISHED IN CLASS WHEN WE GO BACK TO SCHOOL IN JANUARY…..COS SHE WILL SEE THIS. OUR PUNISHMENT MIGHT CONSIST OF ONE HUNDRED TOTALLY IRRELEVANT QUESTIONS WHICH ARE BADLY WRITTEN AND NOT CLEAR ON THINGS AS VARIED AS CHINA OR RUSSIA, AND DRAWING MAPS. OR SHE MIGHT RANT AND RAVE ABOUT US AND GIVE US BAD MARKS…

21. What is the name of this political science teacher?

22. David, if the name of the teacher is revealed, most likely all students might end up paying for Peter and Paul.

23. @David,
    Has anyone sought to determine what the rules and regulations are regarding the process for receipt of grant funding? Has anyone determined what the accounting proceedures are, the chain of accountability etc? The man is not an idiot, he knows what he has to do. In my experience all such funding would have to be entered in the books of the institution and monitored. After all the funds are being given to the BCc not the individual. If there is not a proper chain of accountability the institution may not get further funding either from that granting agency or others.Check first and then condemn.

24. @Candid

So we do nothing.

25. @Neil Watchman “The Fine Arts Division, under Dr. Thompson’s leadership, managed to secure foreign funding for the Division to the tune of some $300,000. When the overseas donors refused to pass the money through the BCC’s coffers, the Chairman refused to grant permission to make structural upgrades to the Fine Arts Division ”

Notwithstanding this funding agencies nowadays are becoming increasingly strict. If money is approved for 100 yellow pencils they don’t want the recipient to buy 50 red pens instead. It is all about accountability to the tax payers in the donor countries. And some of those “foreign” taxpayers are our own hard pressed brothers and sisters (literally) So if this money was approved for structural upgrades to the Fine Arts Division, then it had to be used for exactly that and could not be used instead for anything else at the college and that is so even though the college in its good judgement might have needs which they perceived to be more pressing. So grants nowadays are not so much to the institution, but for very, very specific projects. And donor agencies require verifiable receipts for materials purchased or services rendered, and donor agencies can and do call materials suppliers to see whether 2×3’s really sell for X dollars per foot, and whether the going rate for labourers is Y dollars per hour, and whether the labourer really did receive his fair wage.

Accountability, accountability, accountability peoples.

No more 80 million dollar never used landfills. No more highways to nowhere.

No more wasting of the tax payers hard earned dollars.

26. The teacher’s name is Natalie Walthrust-Jones. An uncouth, aggressive, madwoman who some fool has found it fit to allow to teach our nation’s children. The woman is incapable of speaking or writing proper English but masquerades around the place as a “political scientist”. Her claim to fame is stealing other people’s work and passing it off as her own. She is so inept that she cannot formulate a curriculum, exam or marking scheme for the course she “teaches”. Her solution? Lift everything from other people, mostly university staff. Imagine a situation where you take 16 year olds straight out of secondary school and confront them with a course outline, reading list and seminar questions, all formulated for 2nd and 3rd year university level students. Walrus as the pupils like to call her is able to get away with it all. After all she has been close friends with two former senior tutors and is now kissing up to the senior tutor in General Ed who is performing the head of department duties in the absence of a senior tutor for Commerce.

27. And of course no more prouges/bribes/over-invoicing/insider trading/no more giving contracts to friends/relatives/lodge brothers/school mates/church brothers/sisters..

De fun dun.

De taxpayers want to know “wha u do wid my money?”

“Iz my money, tell me wha happen.”

28. @My Poor Bim “Natalie Walthrust-Jones.”

Wunna got Nat-Nat?

LOL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Poor wunna.

29. @ David, I am glad to see this article tonight. I am a former BCC student and am saddened and appalled at what has been done to this once fine institution. A few days ago I was speaking to a friend of mine about the dire situation there including the disgusting circumstances in the Commerce/Liberal Arts Division whereby people like Walthrust-Jones get away with terrorising students and just retired History teacher get away with sexual abuse of female students. My friend suggested that instead of bitching, I take action like penning an article for one of the popular blogs. I may still put pen to paper so if I do, I hope to it is received positively by you and posted here.

30. Dear David: Can you do a piece reminding those teachers and other civil servants who are left, that they are being paid with OUR MONEY and that we expect – no we demand – excellent service at all times.

Otherwise they can go and find work elsewhere.

31. @stealing other people’s work and passing it off as his/her own…is know as plagarism and is a serious, serious academic offence.

Ya cud lose la li’l pick fa dat

32. @ Simple Simon,

Not in Bim it seems! She has been “teaching” at BCC for over a decade.

The History teacher who recently retired taught for over a quarter of a century and got away with sexual assault, physical assault, verbal assault among other things.

33. @david 7:50
    Herein lies ALL of our problems.

“Will the real leaders please stand up?”

34. Oh Gosh! Wunna gun mek Nattles torment dem childrun next term cause she gine say is dem dat complaining bout she and got people mekking a fuss. Dem poor childrun gine be termblin wid fear all de while she rant and rave and threaten dem and fail de ones she dont like.

35. Thank for your comments, folks! There are very heartening! I hope this is the beginning of an avalanche that will remove “political pimps” like Mr. Brome (and I use that word “pimp” very deliberately and consciously) from the BCC and get things cleaned up at the BCC; what I have revealed is just the tip of the iceberg!

But I am glad that the BU community has raised the subject of Natalie Walthrust-Jones. You don’t know that half of it! However, my research says that there was one acting Senior Tutor, now Dr. Aidan(?) Tull, who tried to defang NWJ; that was back in 2010, I think. Dr. Tull is regarded no-nonsense person who has had a wealth of experience with CXC as a Chief Examiner and moderator. His major field is marketing and I gather he has done some fairly significant consulting projects for several local and international agencies. In the space of one semester, I am told, the man set about creating a student rep system for the Division of Commerce and made other administrative changes to get the Division of Commerce to function in a professional manner especially in regard to academic issues.

Needless to say he was swiftly removed by a very vicious plot involving NWJ, the current Principal, the last permanent ST (one Barbara Babb-Cadogan) and Kay Thompson (nee Skeete) (who was given the post presumably to stop Dr. Tull from rocking NWJ’s boat) and of course the Board! She even boasted to her students how she got him fired!

Do you know that a few months ago this Kay Thompson person protected NWJ when a parent came to the college to deal with her? Unbelievably, Kay Thompson has just left for greener pastures at the UWI, but it should not surprise you that NWJ hosted a farewell party for her at her home!

The woman (NWJ) seems to be a cancer to the DOC! Aren’t there laws about abuse of children in this country? Can someone in the BU post the legislation under which the AG prosecuted the Nation for the recently published school porno piece?

The post of Senior Tutor in the Division of Commerce is now open but no one seems to want to take the job because of the presence of this NWJ. And guess what: the same Board is advertising it as a temporary job! (I’ll try to get a copy in my next post.)

The job should go to Dr. Tull who not only is the most senior academic in the Division of Commerce but has also demonstrated the ability to lead it even in the face of fierce opposition. But I don’t blame him if he is not interested in a temporary post. What? Fine Arts all over again?!?

To those students in NWJ’s class: Now is not the time to give up! Raise the pressure, WRITE your political representative, get your parents to write the principal en masse; get the entire class to demand a meeting with the principal (amoral and nincompoop though he be); record any abuse (put your cellphone to good use) write a petition to the Board; talk to a lawyer and do write that article in that blog. Stop being ordinary Bajans (i.e. running with your tail between your legs) and be termites for a change! Freedom is not free! Remember Mandela and Martin Luther King? Stand up for something, for God’s sake!

36. Mr Neil Watchman
    yes It is heartening to see all these comments (including yours). It means that people are aware.

The Pol Sci ‘teacher’ (and she does a great disservice to that title) and the History one, of which MY poor Bim talks, are good friends.

NW is the worst thing that has happened to BCC and she has been protected for over a decade by Barbara Babb-Cadogan, the spineless principal, and Kay Thompson (nee Skeete). These individuals should remember that God dont like ugly and that day does run till night catch it!

She boasts to everyone that no one can touch her and tells her students that the senior tutors are her friends!! she has spies everywhere at BCC who report back to her. One particular individual works in the Student Affairs section.
    now that Kay Thompson is gone, im guessing that the chosen senior tutor for commerce will be one who will continue protecting her abuse of our children; and abuse them she does!!!

37. Mr Neil Watchman
    8 years ago, I entered BCC to do a Liberal Arts subject and was put to do Politics as a second subject. I didnt know what it was but told myself that i could possibly manage it. well i endured 2 years of torture, fear, anxiety attacks. Now I look back, i wonder why I never told my parents. well i did and my mother threatened to come up to BCC but I tearfully pleaded with her not to since NW always says in class that she doesnt talk to parents, and that she slams doors in parents’ faces. i hid a lot of things from my parents since I didnt want any confrontation. It seemed as if EVERYONE was protecting her and i mean EVERYONE. the babb-cadogan woman (nasty woman- but then birds of a feather flock together) would screech at my classmates in her low class accent to get out her office!!! other teachers seemed afraid of her and would pretend not to notice that we were being abused.
    this is how the abuse happens:
    depending on how she feels, she will treat students
    there were times she came in class and talked about everything else except what she was supposed to teach. she would rant and rave about the principal or about other random teachers who she hated and would go on and on bout who couldnt teach and so on
    she would target certain students and proceed to do everything to destroy them.
    others, mostly stupid ones, would be her lackeys and would be rewarded with A grades. these are the ones who would spy for her, carry back gossip to her, and tell her what other teachers might be saying and teaching
    she is ugly so she hates goodlooking girls LOL and targets them

and MR Neil Watchman
    she KNOWS she is incompetent and therefore is adamant about cell phone use. no chance there of anyone taping her

and
    at teh end of the day
    what use will it be?

she is BEING PROTECTED BY THE SAME ADULTS IN HIGH PLACES.

what messages do this type of thing send to young people?

38. “Oh Gosh! Wunna gun mek Nattles torment dem childrun next term cause she gine say is dem dat complaining bout she and got people mekking a fuss. Dem poor childrun gine be termblin wid fear all de while she rant and rave and threaten dem and fail de ones she dont like.”
    @ Nattles
    how you know sa gud?
    that is what it will be. and she will reinforce that ‘nabody caaan do me nutten…
    and will throw in random comments like
    “all a wunna nasty…wunna does go and sleep wid de men and breeding fa dum”

39. Overseas donors, knowing full well the way things work in Barbados, offer $300,000. for the good of our young people but with strict conditions of how that FREE money is to be used that must be followed. And this mental midget Broomes says no. His haughty opinion of himself damaged that it wasn’t his idea. Shame. These other incompetent teachers who can only speak Bajanomics: why not REQUIRE that all teachers submit to a “competency” review once a year to ensure they are competent to teach. Natalie and Barbara, both double barreled name phonies, would fail miserably. Both are dumb as the hair from a box that sits on their heads. That is the sole reason the lot conspired to oust Dr. Tull. He exposed their fraud, ignorance, and inability to add 2 + 2. And we wonder WHY the country is fast becoming the lost city of Atlantis? Morons with certificates and titles who lack the ability who are in positions far above their IQ levels.

40. The test is to analyse the results and performances of students who have since graduated. How are they doing?

41. LOOK DAVID…..
    This situation could be applied in MULTIPLE organizations across Barbados….and in most schools…. Yuh just have to change the names a bit…

What we have done well in the past is to have COVERED It up – maybe because brass bowls were afraid of “being sued” for defamation ….(as if the damn lawyers were even competent to do that)….Steupssss

If this snowball starts, you may have to start another blog call “Bajan underwear exposed”….cause you would come to see what an avalanche is like….. 🙂

42. Natalie Walthrust-Jones, the senior tutors like Babb-Cadogan who protect her, the former History teacher renowned for molesting students, the incompetent fool of a Principal, Worrell the inept senior tutor in General Ed, the Board and all the rest are symptomatic of what Barbados has become. Those political party loyalists who like to blame each party for the malaise are part of the problem. Some of those names above are linked to the current Opposition so it is not as if the situation at BCC is solely a result of the DLP’s folly. They all share in the blame because both parties have presided over the decline.

43. Wunna serious fuh truth doe? Wid all due respeck Mr. Neil Watchman you tink dat dem students gine really do sumting? Dem frighten fuh de Walrus and dem know she protected so dem aint gine challenge she. Dem know de fate of dose who do so dem does join she bandwagon. Why you tink she does purposefully recruit into her class all de students dat cant get into any other BCC programmes? It much easier to torment and control students who got one CXC at Grade 3 and who aint got nuh confidence or who aint know anything bout anything. In de land of de bind de one eye man is king so Walrus does pompasett in a classful of students who in trute aint know nuh betta.

Wunna shud blame de foolish parents who does let she torment dem childrun. Wunna feel she cud hit my chile or wrestle my chile for a cell phone and tek it way? Or cuss and scream and insult my chile? She wud learn dat dere are still a few Bajans dat aint passive receivers of crap.

44. Wait I aint hear nuh body talk bout when Nattles use she connections to go and “present” a paper at some education conference and de people walk out in disgust when duh hear de crap dat come out she mout when she open um. And de fools let she present again a next year and de same thing happen.

Nuh matta what wunna cahn get de ghetto out uh she. Or de mechanic shop. She used to be a refrigeration technician before some brilliant person tell she she is an academic. Not dat anyting wrong with being a refrigeration technician but people need to stick at wat they good at. If yuh good at writing write and shine. If yuh good at football play football and shine. If yuh good at fixing cars den fix cars and shine.

45. In a section on persuasive writing, I presented my students with an option of penning a speech or a letter of complaint. Many chose the latter, and of those, nearly all turned in diatribes about BCC, particularly the Fine Arts division. I hesitate to say more, so will let this speak for itself.

46. Dear Young & Jaded and Bitter,

I appreciate the consternation you are expressing and the fun you are poking at the situation respectively. It’s the Bajan way – talk it off or laff it off. Regrettably neither approach has or will ever solve difficult problems such as NJW.

According to Proverbs 18:21: Death and life are in the power of the tongue: and they that love it shall eat the fruit thereof.

Analyze your language and you will see that your own rhetoric is your enemy. If you do not believe you can change anything it will show up, as it has, in your language. Young & Jaded, your actions of not telling your parents and then stalling when they wanted to do something about is typically how Bajans get nothing done. It is called “shooting yourself in the foot!” That is one of the reasons why domestic violence persists.

So keep telling yourself that nothing can be changed. I’ll bet you there are people out there who still believe that the Bajan dollar will never be devalued! Go on now; dig your head a little deeper in the sand and pooch back in the air!

Look! this is all about fear. But fear is a very cruel taskmaster! It sees obstacles when there may be none; failure rather than success; giants when there are only harmless windmills –the Don Quixote complex. Brave men and women are not those who don’t experience fear; on the contrary, they are those who recognize the risks and dangers but have decided to take on the challenge nonetheless. Ditto, being an entrepreneur. Ditto, getting married !!!! Hello?! Need I remind you of MLK, Mandela, Obama? There are many others but heading the list is His Most Excellent Highness, Lion of the Tribe of Judah, Christ Himself! This Xmas, read how Jesus dealt with the oppressive scribes and Pharisees!

Now let’s get practical; has anyone formed a resolution to do any of the things I suggested about NWJ? Look, if you are still in NWJ’s class why don’t you check out this Dr. Tull and see if he will offer you some ….shall we say…logistical help? If he is the man of valour he seems to be, I reckon he will. I won’t offer this advice again!

But think about this. Every semester NJW stays is one more opportunity for your friends to meet her and experience trauma! And probably one more opportunity for one of them to go to jail! Ever thought about that? Not every student is going to be as docile as you appear to be, you know! Is that what you want? You can prevent this, yes you can! Go, look at the man (woman) in the mirror and stop thinking about me, myself and I for a change!

47. @ Sarah Venable

Complaining is part of our culture in Barbados as you would well know. It is a vicious cycle. Nobody takes action. Complaining is the end and be all. It is drummed into our young people from the time they enter our education system. Has any of these students who write diatribe about BCC ever sought to band together and protest? The odd student who probably spoke out and tried to rally the troops was in all likelihood labelled a troublemaker, a radical, a weirdo and margainalised. Students around the world are known for protesting against wrong but not here in good old peaceful Barbados. We in Barbados like to boast about our stability but in effect we mean we like to take no action to correct wrong.

48. I totally agree with Ms. Venable with regard to complaining and doing nothing about it! There are the following examples!

The NHC sold plots of land to prospective home owners, and then handed them over to Al Barrack!

In my opinion, this is fraud, because you cannot sell someone a plot of land and then give it to someone else without feeling the consequences. Instead of banding together and hiring a string of lawyers, all these people are doing is complaining! Whether the NHC is a statutory organization, or not, it too must comply with the laws as laid down in the Constitution of our country! They cannot ride roughshod over the rights of the citizens of Barbados in such a way and get away with it!

The other one is Government’s firing of 3000 public servants without telling the unions! They complained, and when they met with the MoF, they said that they discussed it, and resolved it! How was it resolved without telling the people whom they are supposed to represent?

This shows that they have no backbone!

Neither of these two cases would have gone down well with trade unions in Italy, Germany, France, or Spain!

They would have shut down the relative country!

Barbadians must wake up and stand up for their rights, and – as we say – smell the roses or the coffee, or whatever they feel like smelling, instead of letting people put manure in their mouths and telling them it is chocolate!

49. To say that Barbadians are complainers is an understatement; try critics for the lack of a better term.